What are BrowseControl users saying about the software?

Read what people like you have said about using BrowseControl software through verified user reviews

User Review Highlights

4.73

37 Reviews

5
27
4
10
3
0
2
0
1
0
4.5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4.5

Customer Support

out of 5
4.5

Value for money

out of 5
4.5

Functionality

out of 5
  • icon"Ease of use on account of its very robust admin console that allows for nuanced control of PCs and delivers excellent and useful reports (BrowseReporter)."
  • icon"Easy to install in Server and Client Workspace. Its a Web based application, has lot of features like allowing or disallowing the internet access at the scheduled time and lot more."
  • icon"Amazing, one-stop solution for all security and network monitoring task."
  • icon"One drawback: it only works on Windows machines. It also took me months of searching to find this solution after testing and rejecting products from other vendors."
  • icon"Client side to disable filtering can be a bit clunky, if you stop the currentware service, it will disable. Rebooting brings everything back up."
  • icon"Blacklisting and whitelisting Urls where a little troublesome to get fired up."

Jump to:

Browse all BrowseControl Reviews

  • Have you used BrowseControl and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a Review

Apply Filters:

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

Showing 1 - 25 of 37 reviews

User Profile

Karen

Verified reviewer

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

June 2022

Network control and security.

We can prevent access to various software and web pages from the office Internet by using browsing control. It enables you to block specific URLs for security reasons.

Pros

It is a complete tool for all network control tasks, security and device usage in the organization. It is easy to update and import settings from one user to a new user. It can be programmed to allow or deny Internet access at various times and devices.

Cons

The management software is a bit slow at times.

Response from CurrentWare

Thank you for your review, Karen! Great to hear that proliferating security policies between user groups has been easy. We're always looking for ways to improve our products; keep an eye out for client connectivity enhancements in future releases!

Replied June 2022

Anoop

Verified reviewer

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Automotive

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

March 2022

Software that Punches above it's weight

the purchase and on boarding process was very smooth and customer support is very efficient . I had an executive who helped with the renewals although it was a non working day in his country , I would recommend it to anybody.

Pros

The software is easy to install and was cheap to purchase and Cost wise very high ROI. What we especially like about the product is the ease of report generation and monitoring such that it could be taught to no technical staff like the HR executive for instance. It required very less resources and licensing model is simple

Cons

Interfaces although easy to use feels a bit outdated

Reasons for choosing BrowseControl

Primarily Cost

Response from CurrentWare

Thank you for your review, Anoop! I'm delighted to hear that BrowseReporter's reports have served your company well. I'm happy to report that we've introduced a brand new browser-based web console in version 6.0; in addition to the modern UI, we've introduced new data dashboards that allow you to review your workforce's computer activity data much easier than the static reports. Feel free to reach out to us for a free trial of BrowseReporter 7.0; you can also check out the new dashboards here: https://www.currentware.com/products/browsereporter/computer-activity-reports/

Replied March 2022

Ethan

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

March 2022

Works Well, Great Support

The system works very well. Features like being able to provide a custom block screen are great. Being able to rename the system from the actual PC name helps to better identify the system in the admin interface. You can create a custom installer for client systems. It's easy to update the client settings, and to import settings from an existing client to a new one.

Pros

The software is easy to distribute to client systems.

Cons

The administrative software can be slow and a little bit cumbersome. The list of systems is missing a search or an easy way to filter the full list of installed systems. This may have changed with the newer web based interface.

Reasons for switching to BrowseControl

Price was a large part of making the switch. BrowseControl is very reasonably priced. The software works for its intended purpose. The staff is very responsive and friendly.

Response from CurrentWare

Thank you for your review, Ethan! I'm happy to report that the new web console includes a PC/User search function to make management easier. Feel free to check out the live demo to see the search function in action: https://www.currentware.com/demo/

Replied March 2022

Al

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Computer & Network Security

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

May 2022

High security network monitoring

Pros

BrowseControl ensures that our internal network is secure with its high-end network monitoring infrastructure.

Cons

BrowseControl should have a native MAC version which would be definitely useful for us.

Response from CurrentWare

Thank you for your review, Al! Happy to hear that you've benefited from combining BrowseControl's web filtering with BrowseReporter's user activity monitoring features. I agree that cross-platform support is a great growth opportunity, I'll pass your comments on to the rest of the team.

Replied June 2022

Gerard

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Medical Practice

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

July 2019

Amazingly easy setup with great support

It allows my workers to use the internet and make money for the practice without distraction/temptation to use personal websites/email/shopping.

Pros

The support and ease of setup. As a “novice” I was able to set up with help from support in about an hour. Previous software took forever and didn’t work as advertised. This software worked right out of the box.

Cons

No cons to speak of, I have zero complaints about the software

Reasons for switching to BrowseControl

Software stopped working and the company closed for business

Response from CurrentWare

Hi Gerald, Great to hear that BrowseControl meets your needs! We pride ourselves on our simple setup & support so we're excited to hear that you had a great experience. Regards, The Currentware Team

Replied July 2019

Anonymous

Company size: 11-50 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

March 2022

Browse control as part of our security solution

We use Browse control and other CurrentWare products as an essential part of our security practices. I like the product, and it works great. We have utilized CurrentWare for the last eight years, and I've no complaints. Responsive support and willing to take feedback and suggestions. Highly recommended

Pros

Browsing control settings per user with URL white and black lists. File download control

Cons

File download control wouldn't work with HTTPS. Doesn't have the ability to request to open a site on the block page, like an unblock button which will trigger an email to the admin, it does include an email link on pages that are within the blocked URL list but not for those in blocked categories

Response from CurrentWare

Thank you for your 5-star review! I appreciate your honest feedback. I'm happy to report that we'll be introducing HTTPS download control in a future version. Thank you for bringing the category filter's need to have a "request URL unblock" feature that matches the URL filter, I have reported this to our development team and they will add it to our product roadmap. If you get in touch with our support team we will notify you personally when this feature becomes available!

Replied March 2022

Onur

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Broadcast Media

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

May 2022

Advance level network security

Pros

BrowseControl ensures high level network security by means of its advance network monitoring features.

Cons

Monitoring dashboard needs to be planned in a much more user-friendly way to provide better user-experience.

Response from CurrentWare

Thank you for your review, Onur! Happy to hear that you've combined BrowseControl's web filtering with BrowseReporter's computer activity monitoring features. Is there anything specific about the dashboard that you've had an unexpected experience with?

Replied May 2022

Jared

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Retail

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

March 2022

Excellent Product

Very satisfied and I would highly recommend this product to other IT professionals in the field looking for a monitoring solution.

Pros

Very easy to setup on a server and monitor. Reporting function is very nice as well.

Cons

Brief interruptions sometimes when updating clients. You can choose a auto update feature that will reach out to the clients and upgrade them while in use. We have run into some issues at times with this feature.

Reasons for choosing BrowseControl

N/a

Response from CurrentWare

Thanks for your 5 star review of BrowseReporter, Jared! Happy to hear that the reports and user activity dashboards have served you well.

Replied March 2022

User Profile

Ajoob

Verified reviewer

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Chemicals

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

March 2022

Best for internet filtering and blocking.

The browsecontrol helps us in restricting unsafe software accessing from the office internet. We can block the unwanted URL's using the software.

Pros

Browsecontrol is a best software for internet filtering. We can block specific websites and applications using from the organization's computer and internet. We can add and remove the restrictions instantly is a great feature. They have a great customer support to solve our queries.

Cons

No issues are faced. The software is easy to use.

Response from CurrentWare

Thank you for your review, Ajoob. I notice you provided a 3* score for features and function, is there a new feature you'd like to see offered in BrowseControl?

Replied March 2022

Andrea

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Mental Health Care

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

March 2022

Love it!

Pros

Once the software is implemented, its easy to manage. Never encountered "glitches" or interruptions with it.

Cons

When new versions come out, it can sometimes be tricky to upgrade if you're not experienced in the tech area, however we usually contact their customer service for assistance.

Response from CurrentWare

Thank you kindly for your review, Andrea! I appreciate your honest feedback about the upgrade process. I'm glad our support team has been able to provide the support you need!

Replied March 2022

User Profile

Valarie

Verified reviewer

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

June 2022

BrowseControl and a very Secure Data Management Package.

BrowseControl is the effective Cloud system to migrate data and other information management and easy on data analytics creation.

Pros

BrowseControl is a professional data flow management platform with secure environment for easy project data management. The simplicity is effective and the easy to manage big data across Cloud services is excellent and the reports are very accurate.

Cons

No issues on BrowseControl and the features configuration and the training on its basic usability is excellent.

Joemel

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Wholesale

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

June 2022

My Favorite

Satisfied, however maybe the lower cost to a company with 100+ employees.

Pros

Being able to block non-work-related sites.

Cons

i have not found anything we don't like and we haven't really fully use all parts of this program.

Response from CurrentWare

Thank you for your review, Joemel! As your company grows feel free to reach out to your account executive prior to your renewal to inquire about discounts for bulk licensing.

Replied June 2022

User Profile

Md Jahan

Verified reviewer

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Internet

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

June 2022

"An incredible tool for keeping secure web activities."

Pros

BrowseContorl is a powerful tool for safely restricting browser activities. It has a number of filtering features to protect your online activities from undesired content and malicious websites. In addition, it is quite simple to use and set up. I strongly advise you to use BrowseControl!

Cons

I didn't come across any difficult challenges, and it's a great resource for me!

Response from CurrentWare

Thank you for your review, Md Jahan! Great to hear that BrowseControl has been easy to use and provides your team with the control over internet access it needs to keep your endpoints safe from undesired content.

Replied June 2022

Tari

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Libraries

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

April 2022

Browse Control Works Well for Our Library

Pros

It is very user friendly. All members of our staff have been able to easily access it.

Cons

The only issue we had was the setup. I had somebody help me online and it wasn't completely set up and it caused a few billing hiccups. Once I contacted the company it was easily rectified.

Response from CurrentWare

Thank you for your review, Tari! I'm happy to hear that BrowseControl has been so easy to use that your entire team can make adjustments without a dedicated tech. Sorry to hear that there were some hiccups during setup, I'm glad our support team was able to get you the help you needed.

Replied April 2022

Eromonsele

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Farming

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

March 2022

The best Browser control tool out there

Pros

This really helped manage network bandwidth in our head office by controlling and providing visibility into how the bandwidth was consumed. We were able to implement controls that optimized business productivity and from our results it was evident.

Cons

Well, I feel reporting can be a more optimized

Reasons for choosing BrowseControl

The ease of implementation

Response from CurrentWare

Thank you for your review, Eromonsele! Happy to hear that using BrowseControl and BrowseReporter together has provided what you need to enforce your internet use policies.

Replied March 2022

Ken

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Recreational Facilities and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

August 2019

Great software and support

We have used other web filtering and block programs before and CurrentWare has been the best for us and at a great price. Some of our workstations work via VPN and once the agent is installed it still does what we want.

Pros

The software actually does what was advertised and the support is great same day! We were able to have the software up and running on the same day with no issues or even a call/email to their support. We are able to have the control over web access on either the hardware level or user level. We chose user level since our users move from workstation to workstation. Plus we are able to create user groups that define a level of access and move the users between them as needed.

Cons

The only Con that comes to mind is sometime while upgrading the license needs to be reapplied. Not a big issue but only con I have.

Reasons for choosing BrowseControl

Price and after testing the product itself.

Reasons for switching to BrowseControl

The software stopped working in Window 10 pro and even after many hotfixes never worked as good as CurrentWare does

Response from CurrentWare

Hey Ken, Thanks for the great review! Regards, The CurrentWare Team

Replied August 2019

Jude

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

August 2019

Very Glad We Found BrowseControl

Since going live with BrowseControl, the number of requests that have come in about the "blocking" software not working has decreased dramatically. Before, it was almost a daily issue, and now it happens every now and then. This is fixed by restarting the Client Service.

Pros

BrowseControl is very simple to setup, and it is very easy to install on the client's computer. Also, the ongoing administration of the devices is easy to maintain.

Cons

The password keeps getting reset to the default value on our client's computers. This is a little concerning overall, but this is not a threat with our current client base.

Reasons for switching to BrowseControl

WebTitan kept blocking our client's computers due to the fact that it could not remote update when the local IP address changed. This occurred despite the fact that they market the product as being able to do so.

Response from CurrentWare

Hey Jude, Thanks for the great feedback! We appreciate it. Regards, The CurrentWare Team

Replied August 2019

Luis

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Luxury Goods & Jewelry

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

July 2019

BrowseControl

That's the one the company owns. We use to used a GFI blocker app which never worked properly. The policies were terrible to set at that moment. Furthermore, the annual fee was increased dramatically.

Pros

After a trial and some Help desk support calls, I learned how to use it. What I like most is the simplicity of its configuration.

Cons

When an update comes or is installed, some times is a bit messy the way to recover the new license and those stuff, in terms of time I'm speaking. Also, the Remote Client Install has never work in my case.

Reasons for switching to BrowseControl

Price/Simplicity

Response from CurrentWare

Hi Luis, Thanks very much for the positive note about BrowseControl. Our team is always working on trying to improve the upgrade process so we appreciate the feedback! Regards, The Currentware Team

Replied July 2019

Khiem

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

March 2020

Effective with easy customization and implementation

The product did the job effectively for it's intended purpose.

Pros

Very light footprint on all machines and easy to implement. Support is first class if assistance is ever needed.

Cons

Nothing. Did the job for the intended purpose of monitoring and blocking website traffic.

Reasons for choosing BrowseControl

Cost and ease of implementation

Response from CurrentWare

Thanks for the great feedback Khiem, glad to hear CurrentWare meets your needs. Regards, The CurrentWare Team

Replied March 2020

Nicholas

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

August 2019

Easy to Setup and Administer

I've been very happy with the product. We bought it and deployed it and it worked as described from day one. We've had no issues.

Pros

I like that once the software is setup and deployed, the mainlining and updating of the product is self contained. I don't have to worry about creating new update packages or configurations. The product works like its supposed to.

Cons

There can be slowness in the product when running the management console on a client machine, but thats not a unique problem to this product either.

Reasons for choosing BrowseControl

Yes, because other products gave me what I needed, but I would of had to purchase a whole suite of products. They allowed me to purchase exactly what I needed, so that is great from a cost perspective.

Response from CurrentWare

Hey Nicholas, Thanks for the great 5 star review, our team really appreciates it. Regards, The CurrentWare Team

Replied August 2019

Dan

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Government Administration

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

July 2019

Great software to lock down users access.

Pros

Easy to use and deploy, intuitive interface.

Cons

I wish there was a way to have users request sites to be unlocked.

Response from CurrentWare

Update 2022: Great news! BrowseControl now allows users to request that a blocked website become unblocked. Thank you for suggesting this feature! Learn More: https://www.currentware.com/products/browsecontrol/customized-message/ Original Message: Hi Dan, Thanks very much for the positive feedback! We appreciate the feedback on allowing users to request sites to be unblocked and will raise this with our product team. Regards, Neel

Replied March 2022

Anonymous

Company size: 2-10 employees

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

July 2021

Lucky to find this!

I am really lucky to find this out. COOL one. Kudos to developers.

Pros

Easy to install in Server and Client Workspace. Its a Web based application, has lot of features like allowing or disallowing the internet access at the scheduled time and lot more.

Cons

I feel like its a complete feature rich software already, sufficient for Small and Mid Scale companies.

Reasons for choosing BrowseControl

More feature than the alternative product like Whitelisting only the required sites by blacklisted all other sites.

Response from CurrentWare

Thank you for the great feedback, we're glad BrowseControl is meeting your needs. Regards, The CurrentWare Team

Replied March 2022

james

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Utilities

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

July 2021

Browse control

Very good experience and the support is very quick.

Pros

I love that there is always new features that get added, The product has improved so much over the last 12 months with these features. Easy to use once you know way around it. Quick to block websites. Cost

Cons

Would love to see a username option added as when trying to unblock a website for user i have to go by computername, which i have to find out.

Response from CurrentWare

Hi James, We're glad BrowseControl is meeting your needs & we will bring up your feature request with our product team. Regards, The CurrentWare Team

Replied July 2021

Scott

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Maritime

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

September 2019

Browse Control is a time saver!

Pros

This software was easy to install and customize to our needs. Within minutes we had it up and running with a clear understanding of all the basic tools. Category Filtering is such a time saver and of course saving time is saving money!

Cons

The only con I have is not finding it sooner!

Response from CurrentWare

Hey Scott, Thanks for the great feedback, our team appreciates it! Regards, The CurrentWare Team

Replied September 2019

Anonymous

Company size: 201-500 employees

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

March 2022

Best Security Enhancer Software!!!

Monitoring and tracking sites were challenging for our organization. but, with BrowseControl it becomes really easy. Filtering advertising and CDNs was easy with this software and we could actually see the productivity status of all of our staff.

Pros

I like the overall suite features of BrowseControl. Enforcing policies and monitoring websites was really easy with BrowseControl. Blocking apps and websites was a quick thing. Moreover, it has an amazing feature called a productivity tracker which helped track your productivity level and you can see how much time you are wasting on unproductive sites. Amazing, one-stop solution for all security and network monitoring task.

Cons

Overall, BrowseControl has amazing features. Couldn't find any issues yet.

Response from CurrentWare

Thank you for your review! Happy to hear that you've found value in combining BrowseReporter's computer activity monitoring with BrowseControl's app & site blocker.

Replied March 2022

Showing 1 - 25 of 37 reviews
BrowseControl

BrowseControl

4.73/5 out of 37 reviews
Visit Website