All Corner Bowl Server Manager Reviews

1-25 of 60 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Asaf

Verified reviewer

Financial Services, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2021

Reliable & Efficient

Excellent High Tier software. Does exactly what we need and more. Allows reliable log and SIEM monitoring for security and compliance with custom options including retention. Feature requests are taken into consideration most of the time. Support is outstanding.

PROS

Installation and setup was very fast. It's very reliable and runs smoothly on the server. Support team is super responsive, attentive and extremely professional. The first setup is easy with excellent guidance from the team over the phone and/or remote support. UI is very easy to navigate after a short period of time.

CONS

Missing custom range filtering by date for logs.

Reason for choosing Corner Bowl Server Manager

The previous product we tried was too heavy on our system and consumed high cpu and memory.

Reasons for switching to Corner Bowl Server Manager

The previous product we tried was too heavy on our system and consumed high cpu and memory.

Vendor Response

Thanks so much for the great review. To view data in a custom range create a report then when configuring the report specify the custom date range to include in the report from the Date Range tab.

Replied November 2021

Nathan

Farming, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2023

Best Value in Monitoring & Log Managment

I have only scratched the surface of what I can do with this software. While initially looking for a low-cost replacement for our previous tool that was primarily used for AD user account monitoring (e.g., new accounts created, privilege escalation, etc.) and some basic auditing of activity on network shares, I found this tool that can do those things and so much more. It can do everything from basic alerts on server free disk space to helping discover & troubleshoot network issues using the syslog server and everything in-between and beyond. The documentation is thorough and accurate. There are also numerous YouTube videos available to help get things configured. The developer's passion for this software is evident, as he's eager to assist with any issues. I look forward to finding more ways to expand my company's usage of CBSM.

PROS

The flexibility and extensibility of this software is amazing. The ability to easily monitor and receive alerts on so many diverse machines (basically anything that produces any type of a log - even text files in the filesystem) through one tool makes this a great fit for SMBs, but it's also evident that it can scale to enterprise infrastructure as well.

CONS

It takes a little time to get a firm understanding of how the software works. Although you can get it installed and monitoring/collecting logs from a single server in ~10 minutes, you will want to spend some time learning how to properly configure your database to suit your environment and how to customize your templates. The documentation and tutorials on the website cover all of this and more.

Reason for choosing Corner Bowl Server Manager

Cost, ease of use, flexibility, support

Reasons for switching to Corner Bowl Server Manager

A 30% cost increase for annual renewal had me looking for alternative solutions. I recalled Corner Bowl from one of my previous employers. The cost is a fraction of the competition, and it can do so much more.

Vendor Response

Thanks for the detailed review, Nathan. As always, please let us know if there is any functionality you would like to see added to the software.

Replied June 2023

Karim

Marketing and Advertising, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2024

Great SIEM / Monitoring / Log collection / Alerting solution

PROS

It's an all-in-one solution! Cornerbowl provides supports us with Regulatory and Alerting.

CONS

Currently testing with SQLlite. There is a possibility that we may have to move to MS SQL, which we'll need a license for.

Reason for choosing Corner Bowl Server Manager

Cornerbowl met our company requirements and was financially attractive in comparison to other solutions

Vendor Response

Karmin, thanks for the great review. We just discovered the issue with Sqlite throwing database lock issues and have released a fix! Sqlite cannot process multiple transactions from different threads.

Replied March 2024

Randy

Government Administration, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used monthly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed January 2022

Fair product that needs refinement

It seems to provide some alerting, but setup is difficult.

PROS

General log monitoring. Product pricing was good.

CONS

The interface is not intuitive. Searching is difficult. Support is non-existent.

Reason for choosing Corner Bowl Server Manager

Pricing with the expectation of minimal log management.

Vendor Response

I am so sorry to hear you say support is non-existent. I just checked our support email history for the last two years and I do not have a single request from anyone at your organization for support. For others reading, the number on complement we receive is our excellent support. We offer email and phone support M-F 8-6 Mountain Time. We do not outsource our support. If you are using the latest version, searching has been greatly enhanced. If you are unable to search the logs please contact us and we can do a remote session to help resolve any issues you might have.

Replied January 2022

Ansan

Banking, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2024

CornerBowl is very simple and friendly tool for SIEM and FIM solution.Highly recommended

CornerBowl is very simple and friendly tool for SIEM and FIM solution. Once you are familiar with tools very simple to use.

PROS

CornerBowl is very simple and friendly tool for SIEM and FIM solution

CONS

some tabs little confusing.But once get familiar with it. then easy to use.

Reason for choosing Corner Bowl Server Manager

CornerBowl is very simple and friendly tool for SIEM and FIM solution

Vendor Response

Ansan, thanks for the great review. If you have any idea's how to make some of the tabs less confusing, please let us know and we can look into making some usability changes.

Replied March 2024

Knut Kristan

Publishing, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2022

A *perfect* but not only real-time eventlog monitoring tool

We use this tool the the maximum. We had about let´s say 100 hours to understand completey the architecture and possibilities provided. This tool can be as complex as the questions you want to drill down with. It can analyse the most complex situations - but *then* you need the know-how (or just let you help). As we want to develop this tool ourselves, it was not a kind of "make it work for us and finish". It was like a "program these functions missing also into it", so that it gets even more capable. We are under permanent development as there are new alerts to be made visible with nearly every month. Different behaviour in NTLM, Kerberos, LDAPS, ... ... ... gives us the need to find legacy systems running into problems.

PROS

We were analysing the capabilities of a dozen other produts. Nearly none of them is as capable as this. One competitor we used the last 15 years was quite good. But they decided not to follow the path into the cloud. With corner bowl our Azure AD audit-logs, sign-ins and risk events are as easy to control as our on premises active directory events.

CONS

This software a completely modular. To an extent you would not have expected. This gives numerous options to achieve the goal. Some pathways are better, there is not a single way to built a solution. We had to find out what works best for us. And we had some redesign of the hierarchies of rules and so on we built. It is not totally easy to understand. (But that should be obvious because of the dramatic functional possibilities!)

Reason for choosing Corner Bowl Server Manager

The *only* product which provides real-time monitoring (offloaded intelligence to the distributed agents) of about 150 different event IDs and their correlation in a landscape fo about > 50 million events a day and event log sizes of 100 GB native Windows events logs growth per DAY.

Reasons for switching to Corner Bowl Server Manager

They were no longer able to support our German SQL database servers, german texts, Ä,ö,ü,ß and so on. Not 10 % of the capabilities and modular logic - and a complete lack of Azure AD monitoring.

Vendor Response

Knut, first, thank you for the great review. We are happy the software is monitoring your on-premise servers and Azure environment as required. Yes, you are correct there are many ways to accomplish the same task. This can be overwhelming and confusing at times. With powerful software comes complex implementation. We will be working diligently in 2023 to include more tutorials so users can better understand the best method to implement their monitoring and audit compliance requirements.

Replied December 2022

Paul

Defense & Space, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2020

Simple software with a good amount of features, great price and gets the job done

I have been using this for the past 8-10 years (I don't remember when I first started using it) and it has been a lifesaver for me and my customers. No budget, no infrastructure, no technical experience then no problem. I didn't even read instructions when I started using it, just clicking around and looking at what the product does with the built in templates got me going.

PROS

The product is as close to plug and play as you can get for a log management software. Some built-in filters get you started and making your own is pretty simple. This software is made for small businesses and small environments. I use it for collecting logs from a few systems and applications then spit out a report for me weekly. It assist me with meeting compliance requirements without the big cost and infrastructure to make it happen. I like how it can help with other features, such as processor utilization, disk drive space and setting up a near-real-time monitor for functions (account lockout, services stopped)

CONS

If you are looking for something comparable to Splunk or Alienvault OSSIM, this is not it. This software will help you grab logs, parse through it (based on what you want it to look for) and generate a simple report for you. If you need to parse through large amounts of data (6-12 months) and correlate them with each other, it will be a little more work for you and it will take a bit more time.

Reason for choosing Corner Bowl Server Manager

Ease of use, functionality needed, within the budget, ease of deployment and limited infrastructure needed.

Vendor Response

Thank you very much for the reiview!

Replied July 2020

Marshall

Defense & Space, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2023

Corner Bowl Server Manager

PROS

Preconfigured to meet JSIG and NIST compliance. Excellent customer service and support.

CONS

I would like to see more preconfigured items such as agent staying connected out the box however this is as simple as checking a box on each machine so not really a con

Reason for choosing Corner Bowl Server Manager

Cost, ease of use, customer support, and preconfigured auditing compliance.

Reasons for switching to Corner Bowl Server Manager

Cost, ease of use, customer support, and preconfigured auditing compliance.

Vendor Response

Marshall, Thanks for the review. If you install our latest build, new hosts are now configured to automatically stay connected. Thanks for the option request.

Replied September 2023

Manny

Printing, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2022

Great Product

Great

PROS

I like the ease of setting up the event log consolidation, directory size monitor, and many more I think I have to explore with this product that will be helpful in monitoring our network devices. Honestly, I am learning a lot, not just the features of this product but as a whole this product helps me improved my IT knowledge and skills.

CONS

Nothing right now. I believe the product is being developed for more features and I am looking forward to see more in the future.

Reason for choosing Corner Bowl Server Manager

Inexpensive and perfectly fits to what we currently need.

Vendor Response

Thanks for the great review. Please let me know what other features you would like to see.

Replied November 2022

Barry

Wholesale, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2024

Awesome Support

PROS

Besides the software being able to do what we need it to do, the support when needed has always been prompt. [sensitive content hidden] is always quick to help, get on your system, fix any problems that he sees that may be from a user setup to an occasional bug. Excellent product and excellent support.

CONS

So far there is nothing that we don't like about Corner Bowl Server Manager.

Vendor Response

Thanks for the great review Barry.

Replied March 2024

David

Banking, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2023

Lots of functionality for the price!

PROS

Seems to be almost unlimited possibilities for logging, monitoring, and reporting.

CONS

Too many possibilities to configure but I guess that could be a good thing.

Reason for choosing Corner Bowl Server Manager

Overall cost and knowing support is always there for help.

Vendor Response

Thanks for the great review. Look out for new tutorials to help with all the logging options.

Replied December 2023

Marc

Packaging and Containers, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2020

Great features for a reasonable price

We started using another tool many years ago, to collect eventlog information for SOX reporting. Although that system was supposed to have redundancy builtin, we experienced quite some downtime on several occasions so, we decided to install a second, different eventlog collection system for better redundancy and went for Cornerbowl server manager. It’s very stable and is quite low on system resources.

PROS

The rich feature set and the reporting are great at this price range. We use another product too that is much more expensive and has less features and with poor reporting.

CONS

The rich feature set is perhaps also its weakness as it makes it a bit difficult to find things from time to time.

Reason for choosing Corner Bowl Server Manager

We had already used Cornerbowl log manager many years ago, with great success so, the choice was easy.

Reasons for switching to Corner Bowl Server Manager

Application stability, poor reporting since v.5 and high system resource usage, high yearly maintenance costs

Vendor Response

Thank for for the great review Marc. Please let me know if you have any suggestions on how to find things better.

Replied August 2020

User Profile

Alan

Verified reviewer

Insurance, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2020

Corner Bowl in a Small Company

With a very small IT department each member performs multiple tasks. Server Manager is great because it allows me to automate some things that I otherwise would have to manually check each day. The developer has always been very responsive to inquiries. I have used Server Manager for several years. At one point the software the was acquired by another company and I was delighted when ownership and development returned to Corner Bowl. This is a great product; definitely worth your time to try it out.

PROS

The breadth of features is great. I doubt I have scratched the surface of what can be done with Server Manager. The two main features I use are monitoring failed login attempts and monitoring Windows Service status. I use the service monitor to automatically start a service that has stopped for some reason. Server Manager will alert me to the stopped service and then also notify me when the service has been started again.

CONS

No real faults but I struggle at times with configuring different options. This is mainly due to the fact that it could be months between setting up a new monitor. By the time I think of another use for Server Manager it has been so long since I last configured something that it takes me a while to get a new monitor going. That is no fault of the software and the developer now posts how-to videos I believe so I should check those out.

Vendor Response

Thanks so much for the great review!

Replied July 2020

User Profile

William

Verified reviewer

Automotive, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2020

The "ONLY" Monitoring Solution

CornerBowl allows us to leave our eyes on other issues, and it tells us when we need to look at problems. Overall, this is the "ONLY" monitoring solution you need. We have 3 instances doing very different work for us and love it.

PROS

This software had a little learning curve for me, but with the help of the development team, we were up and going in no time flat, easy to add in devices, and it just plain works. Never any production down incidents as we have had with others. The support is fantastic

CONS

Missing a couple of reporting features we would like, but overall, nothing to complain about and no problem children with Corner Bowl.

Reasons for switching to Corner Bowl Server Manager

6 months ago

Vendor Response

William, thank you for the great review! If you could please let us know which features are missing from the reports we would love to add them for you.

Replied August 2020

Markus

Government Administration, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2020

Great product

Easy to use. Doesnt need a fulltime technician to run it.

PROS

After ditching Microsofts scom because of its complexity. We were looking for a easy to use software with support for basic functions we wanted to monitor. Servermanager does tick all The boxes for us. Easy to use ready templates for all basic monitoring needs. Customizable for more advanced monitoring and logging.

CONS

The oldfashioned gui. The new tabs opening everytime you edit a setting is Hard to navigate.

Reason for choosing Corner Bowl Server Manager

Price. Functions.

Vendor Response

Markus, thank you for your review. I am curious how you would like to see settings changed without opening tabs. Would like like modal dialog boxes instead or is there something else you have in mind?

Replied August 2020

User Profile

Ricardo

Verified reviewer

Insurance, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2020

Smart choice for Log Management...

PROS

After having evaluated several choices, we decided to use corner bowl as our core log management solution, reports are easy to build and storage is easily managed through standard DB structures. Cost is a great advantage of the software

CONS

Report creation interfaces can be improved to simplify summarized results

Reason for choosing Corner Bowl Server Manager

Cost and simplicity

Reasons for switching to Corner Bowl Server Manager

It was the most cost-benefit efficient solution

Vendor Response

Thank you for the review! If you don't mind reaching out to our support team with your report creation interface suggestions we would love to get more detail so we can resolve the issue for you.

Replied July 2020

Todd

Verified reviewer

Retail, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2022

One Stop Shop

I have had this for years. I keep a tight ship, however there have been alerts that prompted me for further investigation, and and a result my server preventative maintenance has been above reproach.

PROS

This software allows me in one console to view and evaluate all my servers. My servers range from 20-30 servers. Microsoft Hyper-V hosts and their guest VM's. Having this many is time consuming going to each machine. I have my templates set to monitor what I need. This software even has a certificate expiration warning template. Which is great for me with On-Premise Exchange Servers.

CONS

There is so much that has been added, sometimes I get lost when trying to build a new report or trigger. But it is not terrible. I just found out there are tutorials that are listed on the website. I think the weakest link is me going to fast. Wizards I think are a thing of the past unfortunately.

Vendor Response

Wow that's a great review. Thanks. Please let me know if there are any new features you would like to see added to the software.

Replied July 2022

Tiziano

Chemicals, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING: