All Galileo Reviews

1-21 of 21 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Moise

Verified reviewer

E-Learning, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2023

Easy to use and implement in classroom

PROS

It is easy to implement in classroom, very spectacular.

CONS

Nothing to complain, it is wonderful to use.

Michael

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2023

A great tool with capabilities far beyond our ability to understand and exploit them

Overall, Galileo has been very useful to us, relatively easy to use at the basic level at which we use it, and the vendor support has been outstanding.

PROS

Great vendor support - very knowledgeable and extremely willing to explain and assist.Great graphing and charting; flexible enough to do almost anything if you take the time to learn how. It did not take us long to activate the features which we needed most, and it has been very reliable and robust, requiring very little maintenance.

CONS

It is frustrating that for real-time monitoring, very few metrics are available for which we can view current data which would help with problem diagnosis like a performance problem. (many exist which are of little use to us) . Compared to non-realtime data, almost nothing important is immediately available. We should be able to choose which metrics to collect in order to trade off usefulness (to us) against collection time.It is perceived that to make use of any more functionality would require a large investment of time. We are probably doing it wrong, but we find it very hard to add new systems and configure them into our existing notifications - we have to do them one by one and feature by feature rather than being able to add a list of hosts to an existing object or capability.All systems send data to the cloud at the same time and that can result in some performance issues.We would like to be able to send alerts to distribution lists defined and controlled at our site so that the Galileo configuration does not have to change (e.g. the on-call paging), but with the monitoring hosted at AWS, email alerts take so many hops in AWS to our site and back out to MS365 ( hosted elsewhere) and through those mail hosts, that email alerts are rejected by cloud mail servers (over which we have no control) because they have been forwarded too many times ; we cannot leverage our on-site DLs and have to manually update the addresses in the Galileo GUI, which is tedious

Reason for choosing Galileo

We were able to get it going at a basic level with relative ease, and with outstanding vendor support. With other products we were pretty much on our own and the staff member assigned to the task was not up to the challenge.

Andrew

Hospital & Health Care, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2024

Galileo Review

I like the product and have been using it for several years, back to about 2016. It has a ton of real time data and can help you manage your enterprise better. It just takes time to learn how to use.

PROS

Real time data helps us troubleshoot with current data. Its ability to work with all of our storage device types makes integration easy. Its reporting trends helps us be proactive with our storage capacity planning.

CONS

It sometimes takes a while to figure out how to find what you are looking for. This is good and bad. Its all there, its just a matter of finding out where to look for what you need. It takes time to dig around and figure out how it works.

John

Computer Software, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2019

Performance Data Analytics as it should be SIMPLE!

Analysis of a total customer environment could have taken weeks before Galileo, now it take a couple of days to present data encompassing years years.

PROS

What is most impressive with this product is it's intuitive nature and it's simple deployment paradigm.

CONS

The product need to allow the user community to define its own reporting based on all the data collected.

Derek

Insurance, 10,000+ employees

Used monthly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2023

Galileo Review 10-26-23

I was the initial PM on the Galileo POC. Working with [sensitive content hidden] and others at Galileo has been great from the start. I've been in the IT infrastructure filed for 35+ years and they aren't a typical technology company. They are just as engaged post sale as pre-sale. Once purchased and deployed we had numerous Galileo led technical sessions on how to get the most out of the product. When we need a report Galileo showed us where we could gather the info or they created and customized a report just for us. We find their pricing very reasonable and we've not seen any large increases in license fees since we purchased. We're currently looking into a Galileo site license to expand our trouble shooting, capacity planning, reporting and governance capablilties.

PROS

Galileo provides our company numerous benefits. We have the Galileo AIX agents installed on all of our AIX machines. We use Galileo to do real-time troubleshooting, performance management and reporting. The tool is also used by our governance teams to ensure our service provider is meeting our SLA and KPIs. Our service provider uses Galileo to gather data they can't get from the native in house tools. Reporting on the environment is critical in my role and the Galileo staff has been more than willing to create and customize reports for myself and numerous other areas.

CONS

I have no real cons related to the Galileo product.

William

Higher Education, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2023

Early Adopter of Galileo, Troy University

PROS

As early adopters of the Galileo Suite, Troy University has significantly benefited from its robust IT infrastructure monitoring capabilities. The tool's predictive analytics and custom dashboards have been instrumental in proactively identifying system performance issues, preventing potential downtime. Its secure, agentless architecture and insightful exploratory analytics have streamlined our IT operations, enhancing efficiency and reliability across our campus networks.

CONS

Exceptionally pleased with the tool, no complaints.

John

Hospital & Health Care, 10,000+ employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2020

Galileo User Review

We've used this to determine the impacts of application upgrades and for troubleshooting issues. We've also been able to identify anomalies and get them resolved before they became larger issues.

PROS

It's comprehensive - it captures things many competing products don't. It's fairly intuitive once you've started using it a bit.

CONS

Due to the vast functionality available, it can be tricky to find/configure things exactly the way you want.

Reason for choosing Galileo

We spent an extensive amount of time at a Galileo demo at an IBM Technical University presentation. They also were willing (and did) come to our site and gave us a demo and answered our questions face to face. As a side note, they have been the most responsive vendor I have ever dealt with in almost 40 years of working in IT. The staff is highly knowledgeable, very customer oriented and very proactive with us.

Reasons for switching to Galileo

SolarWinds was a nightmare to configure and didn't work well with AIX. Uptime didn't offer the full suite of metrics that Galileo offers and they were unresponsive to feature requests.

Scott

Hospital & Health Care, 10,000+ employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2020

Galileo delivers analytics for my enterprise

We are able to see statistics and trends which VMware does not provide out of the box. This help determine performance baselines and give us historical views on our environment. We can plan for improvements and upgrades and determine how our needs have changed.

PROS

Galileo is an essential tool in my day to day work. I can quickly troubleshoot any storage issues from the array all the way to VMware in one place. I can see response times, utilization and if needed I can download the inventory and records which has helped me create my own storage reports as well. We have identified bottlenecks we did not know existed. I like being able to show trends to determine when we will need to upgrade based on statistics rather than subjective opinions.

CONS

Galileo's always working on improvements to the application. They could do a better job informing their customers of the changes, with emails and classes.

Reason for choosing Galileo

This software was recommended by our 3rd party vendor and used for health checks.

Ron

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2020

Galileo Performance Explorer

PROS

Automation of monitoring and notification. Timely reporting on issues.

CONS

Have not reported any Cons to anyone on the team.

Reason for choosing Galileo

As mentioned earlier, GPE yields more with much less configuration necessary.

Reasons for switching to Galileo

Galileo gives more with less configuration.

Brian

Hospital & Health Care, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2023

Galileo Review

My experience with Galileo has been fantastic. I don't recall ever having an issue with usage and availability.

PROS

The few times I needed assistance from support it was a good experience allowing private one on one time with support to work thru the issue to resolution.Having the history of the data available has been extremely beneficial.

CONS

There are other features that I haven't tapped into yet such as reporting aspects or customized reports which I am unsure how to get started and what is offered.A heatmap is a feature that I would like to see implemented.

Mark

Retail, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2023

Galileo review

I am able to review performance information and use it to troubleshoot issues. i like that the data remains in Galileo for as long as it's collected and you can revert back to old data for comparison.

PROS

I like that Galileo supports multiple platforms, including cloud. I use it for problem determination, scoping growth, troubleshooting, report generation. I have it installed on my IBM iSeries partitions as well as my AIX/VIO/Linux machines as well.

CONS

If anything, I think there should be a centralized page describing what each feature of Galileo does- Explorer, Cloud Compass, Observatory, etc. For users that are new to the product, understanding what each of these can show you is important.

sandy

Hospital & Health Care, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2020

Single Pane of Glass

its is a great product with amazing sales, support, and development teams' backing it

PROS

its ease of use, and details of performance and you can see your infrastructure in one location

CONS

wish we were able to alert on Storage. ie.. when one or a few metrics spiked - i.e Host Cluster Service time spiked over 2milliseconds.. But we have started working with support and development to get this implemented

Reason for choosing Galileo

we could monitor and view the IBM i from Galileo as well as Storage, SAN , and VM....

Nathan

Government Administration, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2023

From a SAN Admin Perspective

Galileo has found bottle necks in our network environment and help resolve issues with our customers by the numerus and excellent charts provided by Galileo.

PROS

I like that I can see from end to end via storage arrays to core switch's, to the hosts. I also like that Galileo can see into multiple vendors and provide the detailed data with very fast response time.

CONS

Not FED ramped. We were not able to leverage galileo in the federal cloud as a service.

Earl

Retail, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2023

A product that works as expected for Monitoring

Exceptional we use daily exec reporting to identify potential issues

PROS

It monitors a variety of OSes and is comprehensive with details and summary

CONS

I have no dislikes at all - products just work

Paul

Information Technology and Services, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2020

Lewisville ISD

Support is top-notch , quick response on questions or problems. I like that data is never deleted always available to compare. We had a reports that payroll was running slow after upgrade. I was able to run reports that proved it was program and not the network, storage, virtual environment down to the VM's (payroll vm's)

PROS

The ability to quickly troubleshoot problems and prove that the environment is healthy. Easy to look end to end view of you network and virtual environment.

CONS

Updating clients software. Sometime solution enablers vm's need rebooting.

Reason for choosing Galileo

Partner recommended this program.

Steven

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 10,000+ employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2023

Power Infrastructure value

Very useful from a governance view.

PROS

View of all aspects of server performance and resource usage as governance of Power systems.

CONS

Not features but maintenance of agent health.

Michael

Retail, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2020

Review

Really well, support rocks

PROS

Overall Views into our Datacenter, supports many OS

CONS

Always having to resync Azure Vms and send in emails to correct duplicate issues

Reasons for switching to Galileo

Enterprise type Solution

Anonymous

11-50 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT