User Review Highlights

Overall Rating

4.65

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

4

Customer Support

4

Value for money

4.5

Functionality

4.5

  • icon"Deployment is simple enough in non-virtualized environments and the deployment can scale well with very typical server hardware, with no special requirements."
  • icon"Easily configure any trigger like a watchdog for any process, event or other. Fast email delivery, integration with other collaboration tools."
  • icon"It makes it easy to track machine health, and you can integrate with software like Pagerduty to warn of incidents."
  • icon"There still small problem is some vendor not provide the snmp template to zabbix, so need to discuss with zabbix community."
  • icon"Difficult process to migrate from one version to another. Does not have multiple MFA authentication."
  • icon"Also, it can be difficult in the beginning because the alert workflow is not easy in first."

Browse all Zabbix Reviews

  • Have you used Zabbix and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a Review

Apply Filters:

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

Showing 1 - 25 of 64 reviews

Grant

Company size: 51 - 200 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

April 2022

Pretty Good Monitoring Software.

User Profile

Chamroeunrith

Verified reviewer

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

September 2021

Zabbix Best Network Monitoring for Enterprise Network

previously we were using cacti, but its very mess related to the pooling, and crontab sometime work sometime not, sometime system/server down 10min but cacti still not alert, finally we find the solution to use the zabbix monitoring, we solved all these problem, even the less storage on server, high io in server, server temperature, router temperature zabbix can report very well. i recommend go with zabbix server save your time, you implement one time use forever, until now i use more than 3 years since 2017.

Pros

zabbix is not the same other platform, its elastic of graph can generate graph very well. zabbix support both protocol agent and snmp protocol that easy to integrated for all product including server. zabbix support the alert notification that is perfect and the best notification is integrated with telegram, so each time there have alert it sent to telegram, system administrator/network engineer just sit and look at the telegram chat only. networking map can draw the map of system and network devices that connect to each other, and it give the accurate information related to traffic bandwidth, cpu process very well.

Cons

there still small problem is some vendor not provide the snmp template to zabbix, so need to discuss with zabbix community.

Reasons for choosing Zabbix

zabbix is powerful, at the first time i use cacti, i don't know that there have such a great product like this, i know zabbix by searching online and try to read features and install and use it. also zabbix is free for use, as my network there have 60 cisco switch, 4 dell server, 2 SAN storage, and 4 core switch 20Gbps,mikrotik router on the other branch, and there have around 60VM including windows server, ubuntu, debian, redhat we integrated it all into zabbix for monitoring.

Reasons for switching to Zabbix

the pooling and graph of cacti is not dynamic and no notification alert, need to have one pc to monitor all the network traffic, but using zabbix no need to do like this, all notification are sent to telegram chat by telegram bot.

Anonymous

Company size: 1 employee

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

November 2019

Zabbix is a Flexible, Reliable, Extensible monitoring solution

This is the heart of our business and has saved the day a number of times by alerting us to issues before there was a catastrophe. It also helps us to see issues to resolve on our own and our clients systems. This has been the heart of our business for two years.

Pros

Zabbix has so many preconfigured templates for servers and service profiles. Is easy to extend and adapt to monitor and alert in new and different ways. Presents a clean dashboard of problem alerts, can track system inventory and can autodiscover hosts and devices. It has become an essential tool for us and is the heart of our business.

Cons

I would like to see it able to run in a leaner hardware profile. Obviously if we're monitoring hundreds of machines we need storage space and cpu/memory to do so, but it can be resource hungry.

Reasons for choosing Zabbix

We tried observium for a while but once we got to know Zabbix we didn't look back, shut down our Observium tracking server and moved everything in to the Zabbix infrastructure.

Reasons for switching to Zabbix

We had looked for years for a more comprehensive solution than simple up/down monitoring of systems such as PHPServerMonitor. This has the flexibility, ability to expand and the easy to use problem dashboard that we needed.

Anonymous

Company size: 11-50 employees

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

August 2019

Difficult, but funcional

Pros

It makes it easy to track machine health, and you can integrate with software like Pagerduty to warn of incidents. It saves you the trouble of scanning a screen and an action because so much you can automate

Cons

It is difficult to use and configure, you need to study the tool hard to get a good potential for use of it. The courses are kind of expensive too

User Profile

Yasas Sri

Verified reviewer

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Hardware

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

March 2020

Server monitoring just became easier

With Zabbix, currently I'm monitoring physical and virtual server performance and usage [CPU, Memory, Storage, etc]. I have realized that Zabbix made my life easier since it sends me alerts as e-mails if any issue occurred in my servers. Specially it helps me to manage my server storage since it sends alerts after severs reach the threshold limits, so I am able to take necessary precautions to maintain my servers.

Pros

Zabbix is the best open-source monitoring tool that allows me to customize templates as I want to monitor any server and desktop operating system and set different threshold limits for alerts by simply editing the xml file. Not only operating systems, It allows me to monitor VMware ESXi hosts and also the enterprise network devices such as Routers, Switches and Access Points as well.

Cons

With Zabbix, I have tried to monitor Cent OS, Ubuntu OS and Windows 10 OS using SNMP and I have noticed that it takes more time to identify services that are running in the OS (Some times it takes more than 1 hour) and also it can identify only few services with SNMP. But later-on, I have installed Zabbix agents to all the 3 operating systems and then add them to Zabbix server. Then the server started identifying all the host services with in seconds. So, my recommendation is to always use Zabbix Agent if it is available for the client.

Reasons for choosing Zabbix

Price of Zabbix is really low compared with other alternative products in the market.

User Profile

Kudzai

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

September 2021

Zabbix Setup in a Medium Enterprise

Zabbix solved the monitoring problem for all our platforms at little cost. Troubleshooting is relatively easy once the devices are set up. Zabbix needs less monitoring for it to accomplish its tasks. Alerting and integration is excellent.

Pros

It is open-source. This allows for the person responsible to learn a lot with respect to monitoring. As a training tool, it brings trainees up to speed on a lot of concepts quickly. As an open-source tool, it delivers on when compared to its paid alternatives. Setup is relatively easy for an open-source project. The interface is modern, clean, and easy to navigate. Support for popular platforms is wide from operating systems to firewalls and everything in between. Setup is relatively easy for platforms such as operating systems. It can be up and running in less than 15 minutes. The reporting function is excellent with beautiful graphics that show you what you need to know. There are more than enough options for notifications with email, SMS, Teams to mention a few. There is a lot of functionality and documentation before the option to pay for support. Forum support is high and assistance is relatively quick.

Cons

Some of the errors do not provide enough information to troubleshoot issues. Documentation regarding firewalls needs to be updated as some of it is several years old.

Reasons for choosing Zabbix

It is open-source. Free. Assists in training juniors with less abstraction compared to it alternatives.

miro

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

March 2022

Excellent tool for server monitoring

Overall, Zabbix is one of the essential tools in our company and allows as to be monitored about important server events immediately. It's a reliable, cost and time saving tool. We will be implementing this in bigger scope. Customer support, both official and unofficial is excellent and also was one of the deciding factor in choosing Zabbix.

Pros

We use Zabbix to monitor all VM on our network. The most useful feature is the ability to configure the notifications (disk/cpu usage, server restarts and availability) to use Telegram, which mean we are notified almost immediately after the event. Group notifications work faultlessly. The user Zabbix forum and Telegram/Discord channels provide a great support from other Zabbix users. We found answers to all our questions.

Cons

There is a slightly steep curve in sense of understanding the templates and triggers, but once this is understood, adding more network devices is a matter of minutes.

Reasons for choosing Zabbix

After a consideration, we chose Zabbix over Grafana because of the ongoing support, knowledge base and cost.

Carlos Hugo Martin

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

August 2021

Experience with Zabbix

Pros

Its ease of implementation, the options it offers for the different environments that one may face in companies, its capacity for horizontal clarification, its ease of integration with other tools either as data sources or as a receiver.

Cons

There are configurations, such as SNMP, which depending on the vendor and the model can be very complex. It does not have the option of high availability or scale-up unless third-party tools are used.

Reasons for switching to Zabbix

Zabbix has a greater reach and offers more possibilities.

User Profile

Martin

Verified reviewer

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

May 2020

Excellent Enterprise Monitoring Solution

Zabbix is the perfect solution for our organization to deliver proactive monitoring. It gives insights in our business processes and services.

Pros

The software has a very active community. Next to this the options with Zabbix are enormous, you can monitor server and networkcomponents.

Cons

More integrated views and graphs. We are using additional tooling like Graphana, to get additional insights.

Reasons for choosing Zabbix

Zabbix is very strong in their network capabilities, especially compared to other solutions in this segment.

Franz

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Computer & Network Security

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

April 2022

Inexpensive and complete monitor solution

Pro-active customer support

Pros

Big range of monitoring options, like active and passive agents and proxies, SNMP and IPMI monitoring, provides me the tools to do a pro-active support to my customers

Cons

sometimes a bit overwhelming due to the quantity of options

Andreas

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer & Network Security

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2022

Monitoring mit Zabbix

Pros

Flexible Software, die man einfach an seine Bedürfnisse anpassen kann.

Cons

Vorhandene Dokumentation könnte besser sein.

Faustine

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

February 2021

A powerful, stable, flexible and customizable and extensible monitoring solution

Zabbix caters for our monitoring needs and I am very happy with it. We can now monitor thousands of devices and hundreds of thousands to millions of items. The solution is stable and customizable to handle different monitoring needs of my organization.

Pros

Rich in features, a lot of possible Intergrations, out of box templates and multi-tenancy support, powerful API, supports most monitoring protocols for networks, servers, services, applications and IoT. Can monitor pretty much everything using standard protocols of custom scripts.

Cons

Initial setup requires a lot of work and a lot of optimization is needed in the long run. The documentation isn't so clear for first timers, especially when common issues arise during installation or post installation administration.

Reasons for choosing Zabbix

Zabbix is more flexible, free and open source, customizable, stable, powerful templates, multi-tenancy support, flexible, powerful auto discovery of devices, applications, services and items (LLD), extensive media support for alerting, granularity of user roles, automatic actions, supports external scripts, powerful API for integration, frequently updated and has a clear and open roadmap.

Franco

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

January 2020

Zabbix monitoring tool

In my experience of use, this tool has helped me a lot to monitor my clients' infrastructures, in particular I have zabbix cloud installation templates (aws) and it is easy for me to make a first delivery, then according to the needs Customer configurations are made to monitor the services, it helps a lot to take preventive and reactive measures of the equipment listed.

Pros

- Easy installation on both linux operating systems - It has many templates for integration with networking systems - Complete infrastructure and web services tool - Very easy to modify according to the need of the company

Cons

- Delay in integrating with new services, such as the Slack tool and cloud services such as AWS - Difficult procedure to backup all configurations - Difficult process to migrate from one version to another - Does not have multiple MFA authentication

Reasons for choosing Zabbix

Because is open source and you only pay support.

Reasons for switching to Zabbix

Because Nagios is too odd for configuration services and hardware, often requires more knowledge to maintain the service.

Mohammad

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

4

August 2020

Excellent free to use monitoring solution

This monitoring solution with excellent dashboards with great in depth data and alerts on your email provides a worry free network operation.

Pros

If you want to monitor your network with a free available product then this one is easy one to go with. You can monitor your firewall, switches, load balancers, UCS servers, VMware servers and other snmp based devices using there respective templates.

Cons

If you don't know Linux, you will face a hard time while installation, but there are many youtube videos which will assist step by step installation.

Reasons for choosing Zabbix

Zabbix is free.

Reasons for switching to Zabbix

Zabbix is free.

Omar

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Plastics

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

July 2019

Very good Tool to monitor almost everything everything in one place

Easy Installation Implementation takes time. Adapting it to your environment and customizing it also requires some time, but in the end, it's something that's going to help save you from checking device by device. My experience has been very good, I have used many monitoring tools that have also been good but this is the one that has convinced me the most. It requires time for implementation but it is understood that it is a free tool.

Pros

I implemented the appliance with Ubuntu and if you follow the manual the installation is simple. A variety of monitoring resources can be added and triggers can be customized according to your needs. The dashboard gives you a very wide view of all the computer resources and gives you the possibility to prioritize in a more efficient way. You can create your own maps, review detailed graphs of resources, create macros and view the online information of all devices. In general, it is a very useful tool.

Cons

It takes patience and time to adjust the triggers so that it only shows you the problems that really exist in the infrastructure but once you adapt it to your needs becomes an ally to be aware of the resources and be able to react in time. When a problem arises with the tool, there aren't many forums and it requires you to invest time in finding the solution. In almost a year and a half that I have using the tool I have only had the monitoring stopped for a few hours because the service stopped, I found the cause looking in the forums and I could solve the problem.

User Profile

Vandana

Verified reviewer

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Management Consulting

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

April 2019

Automation Monitoring the complete Infrastructure

Zabbix is an open source monitoring solution. We are using it from last 2 years to monitor our complete infrastructure using it. The immediate feedback using email and Jabber helps to dig fast and on right place. Monitoring always needs protection on roles and permission as it has access to sensitive data also, so the new tag based management provide the roles and triggers that need to be executed. The new HTML based email looks more nice in all new Zabbix 4.2 version.

Pros

Zabbix is an open source monitoring solution to monitor our complete infrastructure. Zabbix helps in monitoring any kind of IT solution like servers, network, services, virtual machine, database or website monitoring. The new interface and features included in Zabbix 4.2 are really impressive. Zabbix helps in storing the data in JSON format so other application can also use it. Zabbix proxy is highly recommended for large scale of production system. The low level discovery automatically search the new nodes without any effort.

Cons

Zabbix notification and per-user view are the areas that need to be enhanced more and come with the more customization options. The support tickets sounds expensive if you buy some start packs so an Enterprise pack is always recommended if you need to implement it to complete infrastructures of a large organization.

User Profile

Nidhi

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Games

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

April 2019

Zabbix automation for all kind of IT soutions.

Zabbix is a great tool for automation monitoring. The easy administration help in managing the permission and roles for users. The customized audit log view can be modified as per the roles and permission to maintain the privacy of data. Trigger display can be customized. The availability report have the new time filter that can be used to select a time frame to view the particular data.

Pros

Zabbix is the one-stop software tool for monitoring the complete infrastructure. The end-to-end security and distributed monitoring help to track and audit the remote data centers. Zabbix proxies server help in isolating the network and speeding up the response from node. Best thing I like in Zabbix is that the agents never get out of dated as New Zabbix version always supports its previous agent version. Zabbix 4.X also support the IPv4 or IPv6 or mix internet protocol for addressing.

Cons

The problem detection and metric collection display should be configurable for each user view. The configuration for event correlation need to trigger points and it should come with the test feature button to check the functionality.

Bill

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Information Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

August 2018

Serious power for technical users

Zabbix is one component of my managed services platform. It handles multi-tenancy well. It has been 100% reliable at watching my clients' machines and alerting me to problems that require action. Zabbix can be fine tuned so that you are notified of just the problems that require your attention, without a lot of noise. I use the notification options to control how, where and at what times I am alerted, based on severity.

Pros

With Zabbix, you can monitor and automate just about anything. Highly, HIGHLY configurable and scalable. It can monitor processes within a machine, connectivity between machines, performance, availability, SLA compliance, and so on using TCP/IP, SNMP, IPMI, JMX. It's actively developed Free software with a large community, so you can expect frequent updates and new features. The server is Linux based but there are monitoring agents for all the major OSes.

Cons

Zabbix takes some time to learn the framework. There are several parts to construct just one monitor-trigger-action item. Pre-built templates make it easier to begin and provide some examples to study, but this is not a plug-n-play application. More like a box of Legos. Not that I like this aspect least, but mention it as fair warning for those prospecting for a monitoring solution.

User Profile

Abhinav

Verified reviewer

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5