Review Highlights

Overall Rating

4.74

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

5

Customer Support

4.5

Value for money

5

Functionality

4.5


Pros and Cons

  • icon"Great integration at JAMF School. The management console is full of useful features."
  • icon"The overall configuration of sites and granular policies is very intuitive and easy to use. The reporting features are far more in-depth than are previous solution."
  • icon"Easy setup, great value for features offered, good customer support."
  • icon"Some of the missing features specific to my business, and the adaptation of the service in our business was slightly difficult."
  • icon"There is only one thing wrong in my view. The text on the web page interface is too light and is difficult to read at times."
  • icon"Any cons I ever have, the very quickly make an update that fixes them before I can even complain."

Have you used DNSFilter and would like to share your experience with others?

Write a review

All DNSFilter Reviews

1-25 of 82 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Matt

Company size: 2 - 10 employees

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

September 2021

Finally, DNS Filtering that makes sense

Anonymous

Company size: 11-50 employees

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

April 2021

Simple cheap content filtering

DNSFilter provided a quick and easy way to add security to our company network.

Pros

Very easy to setup, cheaper than the competition, and provides an easy way to secure your network

Cons

We had a few problems with the chrome os support, but dnsfilter were helpful resolving them.

Reasons for choosing DNSFilter

Better pricing and a better feel regarding quality of support.

Eli

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

June 2021

Good Product with Better Functionality than Competitors

Overall, my experience with DNSFilter has been positive. I would recommended the product.

Pros

DNSFilter helps keeps systems secure and monitored. Roaming agents allow the systems to be protected where ever they are located.

Cons

False positive malware detections can cause frustrations with customers who are not aware of the current IT security landscape.

Reasons for switching to DNSFilter

Cisco Umbrella roaming agents cause problems on systems that we do not have with DNSFilter roaming agents.

Dirk

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

2

February 2022

Very promising but does not deliver…

Pros

Deployement is easy to start, Dashboard looks good.

Cons

fine tuning is difficult and lacking in several domains. The usefull extras are expensive. Customer support is not responsive at all. Be careful with sharing your credit card data during the trial period. They charge you immediately and if you cancel you lose access to the service (even when charged).

Don

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

June 2018

DNSFilter is the best value for money in content filtering we've found.

Great feature set, solid performance, easy admin control, fair pricing. Gives us a way to do advance content filtering at a very affordable price.

Pros

OpenDNS went from free to unaffordable under Cisco. DYN got bought by Oracle, which then shuttered DYN's Internet Guardian. It was almost as if the market was conspiring to take away all affordable options. We were thrilled when we found DNSFilter (to their credit, the DYN people referred us!) DNSFilter gave us sound filtering at a very affordable price. We've got options to whitelist and blacklist , to create a bypass password, to customize the appearance of block screens and even allow users to submit possible false positives for follow up. DNSFilter offers a range of reports on usage and blocks on a level you'd expect to see only in higher priced alternatives. Their "per DNS request" pricing scheme is an innovative approach that's fair and reasonable and puts advanced web filtering out there for organizations which otherwise could never afford the features and functionality. After the initial configuration, it's more or less "set it and forget it" if you choose to take that approach, but even if not, normal admin work takes little time.

Cons

Sometimes it can be hard to keep up with new features. The company does send email announcements out, but I'll have the experience of logging in, seeing something new and wondering how long it's been there. That's about the worst thing I can think of to say about our relationship with DNSFilter. They deliver what they promise, and they continue to innovate and improve their product.

Paul

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

March 2021

DNSFilter is an extremely versatile and flexible solution.

Extremely easy to set up and configure. This product just works, with very little tinkering required.

Pros

Very, very easy to set up. All I had to do was provide them the outside addresses of our routers. They figured out if they were in the same geographic area, and created unique 'sites' for each area. I could then customize each site with its own rules and logo, or apply the same filtering across any or all sites. Choosing what will be filtered could also not be simpler. All of the functions are clearly displayed and easy to configure. You can filter by categories, or create black/white lists individual sites. More importantly, unlike with a local appliance, by installing a DNSFilter client, users remain protected when they are roaming. Unlike a lot of companies DNSFilter has not lost their customer focus as they have grown. They constantly reach out to users with webinars to explain new features, and actively solicit (and act on) customer feedback. Billing is straightforward, and customer service (the very few times I needed to contact them) has been excellent and fast.

Cons

There is only a single password to override the filtering.

Reasons for switching to DNSFilter

DNS Filter requires no hardware appliance, and can be implemented for remote offices as well as portable machines.

Lonnie

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

June 2021

DNS Filter filled a gap

Overall the experience has been great! We needed a software to add web protection and this fit perfectly. We’ve only used the Windows deployments so far but I’m happy to know that we can expand to various other setups if needed. It’s protecting us and our clients from online threats that would’ve otherwise not known about.

Pros

The software is lightweight but very effective. Very easy to deploy once you get used to the online portal.

Cons

The filtration can be a little bit too strict. There could be an ad or a link on the page that shows is good, but the page won’t open until you dig deeper to find the culprit. Whitelisting usually resolves that. Sometimes it’s hard to find the culprit.

Matt

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

December 2019

We've been incredibly happy with DNSFilter!

At our school, we switched from Cisco Umbrella to DNSFilter just before the 2019-20 school year and couldn't be happier. The initial setup only took 30 minutes or so, and that included creating a custom block page with our logo. Filtering is set by categories, blacklists, and whitelists. In addition, there are options to block threats like cryptomining, malware, phishing, proxies, and others. You can also create different policies based on the source IP address. So, we could have the faculty and staff VLAN have one policy while the student VLANs have different policies. The pricing is also great in comparison to Cisco Umbrella.

Pros

Easy to use filtering DNSFilter is an easy to use content filtering solution. Policies are easy to update, the DNS servers are fast, and support has been great the couple of times we've run into issues.

Cons

Like any DNS content filtering solution, you need to prevent users from using different DNS servers to get around the filtering. We use our firewall to block outbound DNS traffic to any other hosts which does the trick.

Reasons for switching to DNSFilter

We initially made the switch from Cisco Umbrella (OpenDNS) based on cost as we were trying to find ways to stretch our tech budget.

Nathan

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

June 2018

We have been with DNSFilter for quite some time, and WE LOVE THEM!

Secure data, employee productivity

Pros

Great functionality, easy to use, easy to configure and manage. This software helps keep our systems safe and has increased employee productivity.

Cons

I honestly have no cons. We have been very pleased with every facet of DNSFilter. Any cons I ever have, the very quickly make an update that fixes them before I can even complain.

Graham

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

June 2018

Completely bulletproof

Bulletproof reliability. Secure as all hell.

Pros

The interface is responsive, reliable and two factor authentication is a godsend. It's never gone down for even a minute in the 5+ years we've been using the service.

Cons

For some reason multi-select editing doesn't work. It's possible it's not meant to do this but the checkbox makes me thing it could?

Lee

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Retail

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

May 2021

DNSFilter

Pros

This product was a drop-in replacement for a previous DNS filtering service we had been using. The previous solution was not dependable but DNS Filter has been a marked improvement. DNSFilters DNS servers respond quickly and reliably.

Cons

I have only been using DNSFilter for a few months and I have not yet found any serious flaws.

Reasons for choosing DNSFilter

Cost

Reasons for switching to DNSFilter

Reliability issues with Webtitan

Anass

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

June 2018

DNSFilter was definitely the right choice for our company. Easy to install and easy to use .

Pros

DNSFilter is a software that offer a lot features that we may find somewhere else but really expensive. We have been looking for a good web-filter with a limited budget, DNSFilter offered a better, easy software to use and a perfect price for us. The support team are awesome, always answering quickly and efficiency. I will would recommend this software as they keep doing update and add more features without asking to pay more. Really good deal.

Brett

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

March 2019

Easy, helpful and effective

This has been a great experience, as we did not have any type of specific dnsfilter that was near what dnsfilter is. This is a great product and I look forward to continuing to use it in the future.

Pros

DNSfilter's services are so helpful because it adds a layer of protection between the clients on our network, and what may be trying to get on their screens or devices from the web. This also prevents people from using our internet service for purposes that are not in line with our organization.

Cons

The router we use on our network is a big step above a simple home router, so it took some research to make sure I was setting it up properly. Even in that, the dnsfilter team was helpful in directing me to some online articles to help guide me through the process.

Anonymous

Company size: 201-500 employees

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

April 2019

Dnsfilter review

We have a very good experience with DNSFilter and it's very easy to use

Pros

I liked that their website explains very clearly what how their service works and has a very tech oriented approach. The road map is a very open way of seeing progress and when certain features will be available. The DNS response time and filtering is also very good

Cons

IOS and MacOS agent is not released yet. Hopefully will become available soon

Paymon

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

April 2021

Affordable content filter for schools

Our students are protected from online threats, inappropriate content and advertisements thanks to DNSFilter.

Pros

Affordability, ease of use and functionality.

Cons

When license price is increased significantly.

Reasons for choosing DNSFilter

Affordability

User Profile

Andrew

Verified reviewer

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5