User Reviews Overview

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(64)

64

4 stars

(14)

14

3 stars

(2)

2

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(0)

0

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

5.0 / 5

Value for Money

5.0 / 5

Customer Support

5.0 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Browse DNSFilter Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - 0 of 80 results

June 2018

User Profile Picture

Gabino from BACTA

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2018

Excellent

Pros

Simple to install and it actually works !! Support is excellent always prompt and knowledgeable. And the override button sorts out any issues

Cons

No fixed per month fee and sometimes bank websites don't work and need to be whitelisted. Otherwise it would be nice to have separate password levels for accessing websites

June 2021

Kevin from Sentree Systems, Corp.

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Computer & Network Security

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2021

DNSFilter is a great solution for the first layer of security

Pros

The ability to offer it to my clients and their MSP program. It is very easy to deploy it to my clients, easy to bill and manage.

Cons

In the beginning the reporting wasn't as well as I'd like but it has evolved.

Reasons for Choosing DNSFilter

Their MSP program was not nearly as good. plus it cost too much for my small clients.

Reasons for Switching to DNSFilter

They didn't have as good of a MSP partner program.

March 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2019

Great product - but if I wanted to be stuck with email-only support I'd use Umbrella

Content filtering with exclusions (teachers can get to facebook but students can't)

Pros

Flexible deployment with a mix of DNS and software client base deployment options...

Cons

Support is email only - and inadequate when you have a K-12 client who needs an answer quickly.

Response from DNSFilter

Replied April 2019

I apologize for your thoughts on e-mail only support. For what it's worth, please note that for customers who are Tier 2 and above we do start to offer chat and phone support.

March 2021

Gregg from HavenZone

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2021

Great filter for MSPs to offer

We have been using the service since day one and it has been great to see how far it has come over the years. Truly a great service.

Pros

With one panel we can admin all of our clients and protect the users from many different threats.

Cons

With the addition of the client on the workstations giving detailed reporting, there is not much else we could want other than maybe even more detailed reporting.

Reasons for Choosing DNSFilter

price and ease of use as well as a single pane of glass for all clients.

Reasons for Switching to DNSFilter

Better performance.

June 2021

Ali from Precision IT

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2021

DNS Filter review

DNS Filter is amazing tool to have as a MSP. It adds another layer of security for our clients. We have been using it for past 2-3 years for all of our clients and it seems to do its job.

Pros

Easy to implement. Easy to navigate GUI.

Cons

Reporting can be better and better granular reporting per end point.

Reasons for Choosing DNSFilter

It was very easy to sign up and get started with DNS filter. At that time pricing was per usage model which fit in perfect to sell to even smaller clients.

March 2021

Paul from Hawaii Visitors & Convention Bureau

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2021

DNSFilter is an extremely versatile and flexible solution.

Extremely easy to set up and configure. This product just works, with very little tinkering required.

Pros

Very, very easy to set up. All I had to do was provide them the outside addresses of our routers. They figured out if they were in the same geographic area, and created unique 'sites' for each area. I could then customize each site with its own rules and logo, or apply the same filtering across any or all sites. Choosing what will be filtered could also not be simpler. All of the functions are clearly displayed and easy to configure. You can filter by categories, or create black/white lists individual sites. More importantly, unlike with a local appliance, by installing a DNSFilter client, users remain protected when they are roaming. Unlike a lot of companies DNSFilter has not lost their customer focus as they have grown. They constantly reach out to users with webinars to explain new features, and actively solicit (and act on) customer feedback. Billing is straightforward, and customer service (the very few times I needed to contact them) has been excellent and fast.

Cons

There is only a single password to override the filtering.

Reasons for Switching to DNSFilter

DNS Filter requires no hardware appliance, and can be implemented for remote offices as well as portable machines.

June 2021

Marc from Fabriweld Corporation

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2021

Great Product

I'm very pleased with this product overall.

Pros

I've used this service for several years after switching from a pricier competitor. DNSFilter is very simple to deploy and maintain. I use it for 3 different networks. It's reliable, performs well, and the policies are very configurable. I don't currently use all the features they have to offer.

Cons

We started using DNSFilter when the pricing model was per internet request. They've since changed pricing to a per user model which recently made it more costly for us. However, the service is still tremendous value for the $ and is probably still less costly than competitors. I didn't even bother researching alternatives when our rates went up.

Reasons for Switching to DNSFilter

I was seeking better value for basic DNS services and features and this product hit the mark.

June 2021

Lonnie from Up & Running Computer Services, Inc.

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2021

DNS Filter filled a gap

Overall the experience has been great! We needed a software to add web protection and this fit perfectly. We’ve only used the Windows deployments so far but I’m happy to know that we can expand to various other setups if needed. It’s protecting us and our clients from online threats that would’ve otherwise not known about.

Pros

The software is lightweight but very effective. Very easy to deploy once you get used to the online portal.

Cons

The filtration can be a little bit too strict. There could be an ad or a link on the page that shows is good, but the page won’t open until you dig deeper to find the culprit. Whitelisting usually resolves that. Sometimes it’s hard to find the culprit.

October 2019

User Profile Picture

Anthony from Hillcrest Home

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

Went from usage to user pricing... Not impressed

Pros

It's easy to use. Cloud DNS filtering that was cheaper than an appliance? Great!

Cons

They changed the pricing model from usage based (Which they were so proud of) to user based. We have lots of users and many volunteers with little usage. This pricing strategy invalidates any reason to use this company over the competition.

Reasons for Choosing DNSFilter

They used to have a usage based pricing model that I liked. I will be leaving DNSFilter since the change to user based pricing.

Reasons for Switching to DNSFilter

It WAS more cost effective and easier to manage.

April 2021

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2021

Simple cheap content filtering

DNSFilter provided a quick and easy way to add security to our company network.

Pros

Very easy to setup, cheaper than the competition, and provides an easy way to secure your network

Cons

We had a few problems with the chrome os support, but dnsfilter were helpful resolving them.

Reasons for Choosing DNSFilter

Better pricing and a better feel regarding quality of support.

June 2018

Don from Christ the King Church and School

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2018

DNSFilter is the best value for money in content filtering we've found.

Great feature set, solid performance, easy admin control, fair pricing. Gives us a way to do advance content filtering at a very affordable price.

Pros

OpenDNS went from free to unaffordable under Cisco. DYN got bought by Oracle, which then shuttered DYN's Internet Guardian. It was almost as if the market was conspiring to take away all affordable options. We were thrilled when we found DNSFilter (to their credit, the DYN people referred us!) DNSFilter gave us sound filtering at a very affordable price. We've got options to whitelist and blacklist , to create a bypass password, to customize the appearance of block screens and even allow users to submit possible false positives for follow up. DNSFilter offers a range of reports on usage and blocks on a level you'd expect to see only in higher priced alternatives. Their "per DNS request" pricing scheme is an innovative approach that's fair and reasonable and puts advanced web filtering out there for organizations which otherwise could never afford the features and functionality. After the initial configuration, it's more or less "set it and forget it" if you choose to take that approach, but even if not, normal admin work takes little time.

Cons

Sometimes it can be hard to keep up with new features. The company does send email announcements out, but I'll have the experience of logging in, seeing something new and wondering how long it's been there. That's about the worst thing I can think of to say about our relationship with DNSFilter. They deliver what they promise, and they continue to innovate and improve their product.

May 2021

Greg from Cristo Rey San Diego High School

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2021

DNSFilter works well with pfSense firewall/router at our high school.

I found myself wanting to find and use all of the features of DNSFilter, so I called their excellent tech support and the sales rep, who also knew his product very well. It was necessary to learn more about Google Workspace for Education in order to take advantage of

Pros

First, it worked with my specific firewall/router, pfSense. Second, the cost was appropriate for our school. Third, it is easy to make separate policies for students, teachers, administrators, staff, and IT. Fourth, a roaming client is included. We successfully tested it's capabilities, and will be installing it on all of the students' Chromebooks by pushing it out from the Google Workspace for Education dashboard.

Cons

Insights Reporting shows yesterday's activity when you first use it. It is a small annoyance when you want to see current activity.

December 2019

Matt from Miss Hall's School

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

We've been incredibly happy with DNSFilter!

At our school, we switched from Cisco Umbrella to DNSFilter just before the 2019-20 school year and couldn't be happier. The initial setup only took 30 minutes or so, and that included creating a custom block page with our logo. Filtering is set by categories, blacklists, and whitelists. In addition, there are options to block threats like cryptomining, malware, phishing, proxies, and others. You can also create different policies based on the source IP address. So, we could have the faculty and staff VLAN have one policy while the student VLANs have different policies. The pricing is also great in comparison to Cisco Umbrella.

Pros

Easy to use filtering DNSFilter is an easy to use content filtering solution. Policies are easy to update, the DNS servers are fast, and support has been great the couple of times we've run into issues.

Cons

Like any DNS content filtering solution, you need to prevent users from using different DNS servers to get around the filtering. We use our firewall to block outbound DNS traffic to any other hosts which does the trick.

May 2021

Matt from Frontline Technology

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2021

Finally, DNS Filtering that makes sense

Our overall experience has been great. No complaints from end-users regarding their internet connections, and the admins are very pleased with the intuitive management dashboard.

Pros

- The product has been incredibly reliable and any issues we've encountered were a result of a configuration on our end, not an issue with the product itself. - The overall configuration of sites and granular policies is very intuitive and easy to use. - The reporting features are far more in-depth than are previous solution.

Cons

The lack of alert notifications is the only issue we've encountered while using the software.

June 2018

Alexander from I.T Namibia

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2018

As straightforward as it gets when it comes to HTTPS filtering and haven't had any complaints over t

It is far far simpler than private HTTPS decryption firewalls hosted on site.

Pros

Fast to setup Fast to update rule sets Filtering is comprehensive Pricing is very fair Dns Servers are reliable Instructions are clear and simple

Cons

Not as much a con as an suggestion but if it could detect/exclude your ddns provider from the rule set it would sure help deployment speed especially in smaller environments where you find equipment which do not always allow ddns to be setup in the device itself or static IP's . I know its not really meant for that type of environment but it is an potential market I am exploring and the product is well suited to it. If you could release something like the small DUC client from No-IP that would be great.

Response from DNSFilter

Replied June 2018

Hi Alexander, Thanks for your feedback! We so already support/exclude a large list of dynamic DNS providers, which you can find here: https://help.dnsfilter.com/article/9-dynamic-dns-setup If you use one not on the list, please open a support ticket and we'll see what we can do!

April 2021

Adam from Garland County Library

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Libraries

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2021

Solid Backup Solution

Overall, the service was easy to set up and even easier to install. They've improved over the years, too, making some options even easier than "way back when".

Pros

DNSFilter provides a quick and easy option for CIPA filtering, allowing some peace of mind that we are doing our best to maintain compliance at every step. Between the custom DNS options and the roaming client, we can cover our bases.

Cons

No options are foolproof, and DNSFilter is no exception. Without some pretty tight rules, it's easy enough to overcome most custom DNS settings.

May 2021

Shaheed from BRISTECH

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2021

Fantastic additional layer of security

Overall DNSFilter has been a great additional to our security layer protecting us from malware and viruses before they have a chance to enter our network. The added ability to block certain categories is additionally hugely beneficial and aids in increased productivity for our organisation.

Pros

From sign up to deployment was only a matter of minutes. We now have an additional layer of protection and insight into what sites staff are using. In addition to our standard antivirus and firewall technologies this solution with DNSFilter helps us better manage our remote devices as well and ensures our fleet is protected even now with remote working becoming the norm.

Cons

No real cons though it'd be good to see the reporting capability further improved whereby we could get scheduled reports based on user activity.

July 2018

Breandan from MCCDC

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2018

Simple and Easy to Use. Needs more browser support.

Pros

Filters like a boss. Can't beat the price. Easy setup and forget about it. Multi NAT, Filter by Catagory. CIPA compliance. Black/white list abilities. Filter by PC or Filter my Router / Switch / NAT / All depending on how you want to set it up. You can Set the DNS at your Security Gateway level and/or set it at the Switch and/orAP and/or machine level.

Cons

Sometimes I have to change browsers in the website to manage it. Short of that nothing else even comes close.

April 2021

Taylor from Axon Consulting Services, LLC

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer & Network Security

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2021

It doesn't get any easier

It has given us the ability to greatly improve web security for our customers and icrease profit margins for our business. We were early adopters of DNS Filter when the only other option on the market was OpenDNS Umbrella at a really high price point. Consistent improvements, and the DNSFilter team pays very close attention to what their partners would like to see in the product and implements those changes fairly quickly.

Pros

Global policies, ease of configuration, speed, integrations with AD, it just doesn't get much better than this.

Cons

I can't think of any cons. The software does exactly what it claims it will do and effectively.

November 2018

John from Alliance Group International Ltd

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Insurance

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2018

DNSFilter Review

As well as my comment in the Cons section, it is likely to early to actually tell the full business benefits however it's pretty obvious that by reducing the ability to waste time browsing the likes of Facebook and streaming media the benefits will be reflected in bandwidth consumption and work output.

Pros

1. Simplicity to configure. 2. Ability to monitor individual use through agents rather than Active Directory. 3. Ability to set schedules for policies including free time for surfing during lunch which appeases the staff somewhat from the shock of having filtering introduced. 4. Attractive GUI. 5. Superb value for money. 6. The additional features such as crypto mining protection, bot protection, etc are very welcome.

Cons

I really don't have any criticisms for this product. It does so much more than other cloud based DNS products on the market, and that I tested, that within a day of installing it for a 14 day trial I had already decided to buy this for my company.

June 2021

Dennis from Great IT Pros, LLC

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2021

DNSFilter Internet Security

Simple to install, with notifications via email.

Pros

DNSFilter gives us an addtional, always on, internet security layer to help protect our customers.

Cons

No active monitoring, it would be nice to have a quick app to see network status.

Reasons for Switching to DNSFilter

Cost and ease of use.

May 2021

Fabian from Colegio Valle del Miro

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2021

Good value

So far, so good. We have tested several alternatives (Umbrella, TitanHQ, Qustodio), and DNSFilter is the best overall.

Pros

Easy to deploy to our 600+ iPads. Great integration at JAMF School. The management console is full of useful features.

Cons

Query log should be longer than 24 hours. Also query log search is a bit slow.

Reasons for Choosing DNSFilter

As easy to deploy and powerful as Umbrella, but it has several times lower cost. Full of features not available at both Qustodio (lack of useful console, force full VPN traffic) and TitanHQ (individual identification).

April 2021

Robert from PostcardMania

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2021

Great Web Filtering Product!

DNSFilter has been a great addition to our overall security package.

Pros

Easy setup, great value for features offered, good customer support.

Cons

Some of the features take a little bit of figuring out in order to configure. Submitting domains for re-categorizing is not intuitive.

June 2018

Nathan from Advanced Family Eye Care

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2018

We have been with DNSFilter for quite some time, and WE LOVE THEM!

Secure data, employee productivity

Pros

Great functionality, easy to use, easy to configure and manage. This software helps keep our systems safe and has increased employee productivity.

Cons

I honestly have no cons. We have been very pleased with every facet of DNSFilter. Any cons I ever have, the very quickly make an update that fixes them before I can even complain.

June 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2018

Easy and very helpful

Pros

Filtering at a great price, It is easy to setup and select the filters you need for that particular site and I love the branding feature

Cons

Does not have an option for School Filtering, I use this application to filter schools and home internet but I have to also use K9 filtering because this doesn't cover it all and sometimes SSL could not be filtered

June 2018

Christopher from DataSpring Inc.

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Networking

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2018

The product has been solid and works perfect for our needs so far.

Malware protection, end user surfing auditing, and general organization protection.

Pros

Ease of use and the fact that there is an agent that allows me to create filters per user. This is very useful.

Cons

There is no way to submit requests to a "wish list" in the panel or in general. If possible I would like a button in the panel where I could submit ideas for improvements. I would also like to be able to add my own RBL servers to the filtering.

Response from DNSFilter

Replied June 2018

Hey Christopher -- Thanks for your feedback! Actually we have always had a feedback function on the site where you can suggest, and upvote features. If you click your image in the upper right, there's a 'Feature Request' dropdown. You can also visit it directly here: https://app.dnsfilter.com/feature-request

June 2018

Graham from IT Company

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2018

Completely bulletproof

Bulletproof reliability. Secure as all hell.

Pros

The interface is responsive, reliable and two factor authentication is a godsend. It's never gone down for even a minute in the 5+ years we've been using the service.

Cons

For some reason multi-select editing doesn't work. It's possible it's not meant to do this but the checkbox makes me thing it could?

June 2021

Eli from Wolf Consulting, LLC

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2021

Good Product with Better Functionality than Competitors

Overall, my experience with DNSFilter has been positive. I would recommended the product.

Pros

DNSFilter helps keeps systems secure and monitored. Roaming agents allow the systems to be protected where ever they are located.

Cons

False positive malware detections can cause frustrations with customers who are not aware of the current IT security landscape.

Reasons for Switching to DNSFilter

Cisco Umbrella roaming agents cause problems on systems that we do not have with DNSFilter roaming agents.

June 2018

Rob from Blackburn Radio

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Broadcast Media

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2018

I have tried them all, DNSFilter exceeds all my expectations.

Save money, protect our users and network from Malware.

Pros

Quick response, low cost. Excellent alternative to the slow and expensive competitors. New features are constantly coming.

Cons

No email alerts available. Reports could be better, I would like the ability to drill down to the user/machine level.

June 2018

Jason from Smart Business Resource Center

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2018

Amazing value and an effective reliable service.

Pros

Very good value and constant improvement of services offered. Service has never been down and easy to implement.

Cons

Filtering sometimes has false positives but support is quick to respond. The interface Is light on details in the account management section.

May 2021

Lee from Paul B. Zimmerman Inc

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Retail

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2021

DNSFilter

Pros

This product was a drop-in replacement for a previous DNS filtering service we had been using. The previous solution was not dependable but DNS Filter has been a marked improvement. DNSFilters DNS servers respond quickly and reliably.

Cons

I have only been using DNSFilter for a few months and I have not yet found any serious flaws.

June 2018

Christopher from Centerpoint Technology Solutions

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2018

Overall software is great. It allows for easy management over multiple sites and groups within sites

Pros

Ease of setup and configuration. I was able to get sites up and running in no time and with the templating option it makes it that much quicker.

Cons

If anything, web interface is a little clunky when trying to manage from a tablet or phone. There are times I'm not near a workstation to make minor quick adjustments and using a phone would be great.

February 2019

User Profile Picture

Levon from Shift Computer Services

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2019

Layers of Security

We use DNSFilter at our clients sites as part of a standard "Border" security set. It is used along side Hardware Web Filtering, Malware/AV scanning, etc. It is great to add as an additional layer, as well as having the client software on roaming laptops help us protect these devices when they are on the go!

Pros

Ease of integrating into customer sites.

Cons

At this point, there is nothing I do not like.

June 2018

Andrew from Soleil Foodservice Ltd

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2018

Great, awesome service, does what it describes

Security and reporting

Pros

Its quite easy to use and the dev team has a great plan for the future. They are actively listening to their customers and I personally hope to increase my 'Features and Functionality' rating to 5 in the near future!

Cons

Some of the missing features specific to my business, and the adaptation of the service in our business was slightly difficult. Its sometimes hard to determine the cause of a problem (ie, SMTP mail failures due to false positives by DNS Filter).

June 2018

Anass from Behavioral Health Services North

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2018

DNSFilter was definitely the right choice for our company. Easy to install and easy to use .

Pros

DNSFilter is a software that offer a lot features that we may find somewhere else but really expensive. We have been looking for a good web-filter with a limited budget, DNSFilter offered a better, easy software to use and a perfect price for us. The support team are awesome, always answering quickly and efficiency. I will would recommend this software as they keep doing update and add more features without asking to pay more. Really good deal.

June 2018

Dustin from Datacom Professionals

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2018

Exactly the content filtering system we've wanted for a long time!

A solution to our content filtering woes. All other solutions were convoluted or expensive. This comes from a guy that held frequent video calls with OpenDNS engineers helping them design and beta test their early content filtering system even before it was re-branded Umbrella..

Pros

Ease of use. Reliability. Performance. Cost. Stellar support team!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Cons

AD integration is still a need. Would also like to see a master view map that shows stats from all locations with the bubbles.

June 2018

Joseph from Programming Methods of Florida

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2018

Great, very reasonable cost, and just works!

Filtering our internet connection.

Pros

Compared to the competition their service cost is very reasonable! The features are great and everything just works.

Cons

*Needs a mobile client (they are making one though) *Does not currently support IPV6 (however neither does most of their competitors)

September 2018

Scott from Gerlinger Steel

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2018

Good bang for your buck

So far its filtering has been less intrusive than previous products that have been tried. Other products that were attempted also did not have a Domain Lookup tool to see whether or not a domain might be getting blocked without a block page to display it (like for mobile apps).

Pros

It is effectively turnkey. There are enough categories to filter that it feels granular, and the reporting features are a good start.

Cons

Currently there is no Chrome OS app. At this point deployment of different policies, like for a Guest Network, is difficult as it requires changes to the DNS server of choice for those devices (either on a network or device level).

June 2018

Mark from Home Use

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2018

Good function for good value

Pros

Easy to use, easy to set up, easy to monitor. Very simple to use in multiple locations. Good support. Minimal performance impact.

Cons

The online reporting sometimes has issues when switching between time periods. It appears to get confused on the time period.

June 2018

Ike from YMCA of SPBC

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2018

Great service and affordable

url filtering

Pros

It helps us block websites by name or classification which is great. It also allows us to setup multiple locations.

Cons

The reporting is a little light. Would like to see detailed reporting especially for those trying to circumvent the filter.

March 2019

Brett from First Baptist Church Friona

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2019

Easy, helpful and effective

This has been a great experience, as we did not have any type of specific dnsfilter that was near what dnsfilter is. This is a great product and I look forward to continuing to use it in the future.

Pros

DNSfilter's services are so helpful because it adds a layer of protection between the clients on our network, and what may be trying to get on their screens or devices from the web. This also prevents people from using our internet service for purposes that are not in line with our organization.

Cons

The router we use on our network is a big step above a simple home router, so it took some research to make sure I was setting it up properly. Even in that, the dnsfilter team was helpful in directing me to some online articles to help guide me through the process.

April 2021

Matthew from Fremont Pres

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2021

Great Product

Very happy and would recommend it.

Pros

Ease of use. Simple to deploy. Configuration made sense.

Cons

Block pages are tough to configure at times

November 2018

Ken from Tripp Enterprises, Inc.

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2018

A DNS Filter for the rest of us

I found DNSFilter very easy to get up and running with my two sites. I have one corporate site and another small retail store. Both are covered now and it is very easy to keep an eye on what is being blocked and allowed. Making adjustments to white and black lists is very easy and quick.

Pros

This collection of tools is not only robust and easily implemented but it does its job at a reasonable cost. I reviewed several others before picking DNSFilter and all of the others were over the top in terms of cost.

Cons

There is only one thing wrong in my view. The text on the web page interface is too light and is difficult to read at times. I have a question in to support to see if this can be adjusted.

April 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2019

Dnsfilter review

We have a very good experience with DNSFilter and it's very easy to use

Pros

I liked that their website explains very clearly what how their service works and has a very tech oriented approach. The road map is a very open way of seeing progress and when certain features will be available. The DNS response time and filtering is also very good

Cons

IOS and MacOS agent is not released yet. Hopefully will become available soon

March 2019

Kelly from Maverick Academic Prep

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2019

New to this...

Overall, it fits our security needs for our students and our budget! Great service and product!

Pros

I loved that it was quick and easy to set up and "install". The weekly reports help keep our students safe and the faculty aware of nev'r-do-well activity. It gives our faculty, me and our parents an assurance that we are looking out for their student's best interest.

Cons

At first it was difficult to figure out where I could access the specifics of the weekly report. But after simply responding to the report email , I received an answer that was mostly helpful.

June 2018

Nicolas from GPConnect

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2018

Great Alternative To "Package Selling" Cisco Umbrella :)!

The fact that i can protect users connecting to our free wifi system at a short price is a real benefit !

Pros

Adding Networks is easy ! Dashboard is responsive ! A lot of informations ! Great pricing ! And Whitelabelling Options making it as yours ! Glad i found them !

Cons

Look like More and more features will come and dnsfilter will be even better in the future ! DNS over https is here ! but DNSSEC Please !

April 2021

Paymon from St. Mary’s Elementary School

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2021

Affordable content filter for schools

Our students are protected from online threats, inappropriate content and advertisements thanks to DNSFilter.

Pros

Affordability, ease of use and functionality.

Cons

When license price is increased significantly.

September 2018

Carlos from Nueces County Community Action Agency

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2018

DNSFilter is a great service!

Our Agency was up for renewal with our Barracuda WCF, and decided to take a look at other options. Signed up for the free trial and tested out the service at our main office. It was great and very ease to deploy even with creating additional firewall rules to ensure our users could not cheat the system. In addition we were able to protect all of our location (We have over 20 small remote locations) at a fraction of the price, and don't have to worry about hardware failure.

Pros

The service was very easy and quick to setup. No issues with deployment.

Cons

I have not run into any issues as of yet. I really like service so far.

March 2019

William from Grandview colony

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Farming

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2019

A DNS solution worth paying for.

So far I have enjoyed DNS filter to the fullest. They offer everything that I have been looking for as a company.

Pros

This DNS Solutions is diffrent then other old school providers. With their AI technology they can instantly calagorize website. Which is what others lack. They offer the option to enable safe search and they are a very transparent company that is willing to adapt and work with their customers.

Cons

I would not be telling the truth if I would claim there is something is company is doing wrong. Simply no cons.

June 2018

User Profile Picture

Andrew from Network Solutions and Consulting Services LLC

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2018

The service works well and is reliable.

Better internet speed, and in today's world that is huge.

Pros

Easy to use, setup was a breeze, and the service reliability has been 100% uptime. The response speed of DNS resolution and the reliability is better than the local ISP. DNS resolution affects the user's perception of the internet speed and reliability. This service is becoming a must-have for my customers.

Cons

I would like the ability to blacklist and whitelist IP addresses for customers who do not have a local router.

Displaying 1 - 50 of 80 reviews