User Reviews Overview

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(45)

45

4 stars

(19)

19

3 stars

(0)

0

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(0)

0

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5 / 5

Value for Money

4.5 / 5

Customer Support

4.5 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Browse Nessus Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - 0 of 64 results

January 2019

User Profile Picture

Héctor Joel from GFx Soluciones

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

Nessus, a great tool for the analysis and remediation of vulnerabilities

Tenable, in its variety of versions has a large section to train its customers, it is not a surprise that escalate positions with the passage of time and with every improvement that creates true expectations. Within the company we have deployed Nesss and it really has been helpful to fin every vulnerability that the scans throw at us, the information is very complete from the discovery stages, we feel very satisfied, that the tool has been implemented in other infrastructure and the results are very heplful.

Pros

Nessus and its graphical interface is attractive, I would say that minimalist but punctual and charming, it is very clean, it should be applauded that in each version they improve it and include some types of scans that can bring you more complete results when you carry out an analysis. It is very remarkable that the plugins in your database are up to date and that your community generates an adequate response on time.

Cons

For now all the experience I have with Nessus has been nice, with the constancy that you have in your team working every day to improve it I know it will be a good tool for vulnerability detection.

August 2020

Kevin from Merit Network, Inc.

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2020

Nessus Professional Gets The Job Done

This product does a great job of informing your IT and security groups on what may be vulnerable in your environment. Especially if your organization is looking to begin a program, start small and use this service to build up your processes and program before sinking large amounts of money into other services or products.

Pros

Nessus is still the industry leader in this arena, and the ability for the product to identify vulnerabilities accurately is still the high water mark to beat. You can be up and running in just a few minutes, and the ability to have recurring scans is a great way for this product to help you with your security program. The "Plugin Output" fields help greatly when trying to determine if tests are a false positive, and lends additional credence to your system administrators when you can show them exactly *why* something has been detected as a vulnerability.

Cons

There are no ways to track vulnerabilities or your efforts to monitor them over time; this truly is just a point-in-time view of your environment unless you upgrade to a much more expensive product.

Reasons for Choosing Nessus

The cost was a no-brainer; by paying one low fee instead of a per-IP address model we can ensure that there are no hidden surprises and that we have enough money to address other security projects at our organization.

December 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2020

It's a vulnerability scanner

The client side agent is lightweight and easy to deploy once you get it successfully installed and reporting in. The adminstrative console is somewhat confusing, but provides very detailed reports that you can customize to your liking.

Pros

Does what it is supposed to. Provides a good overview of vulnerabilities across systems for internal security assessments and audits. Easy to deploy MSI package

Cons

Support is something to be desired. During initial setup in our environment, there were several complications when attempting to connect machines to the tenable.io cloud and provide the client machines with updates. The support group couldn't provide necessary assistance and we ultimately left to troubleshoot on our own.

November 2019

User Profile Picture

Nguyen from ECQURITY

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2019

The quality is OK but they should support more API call to do automation

Simple, the quality of report also good. The price is reasonable for Pro version.

Pros

Simple interface, even end-user can use it. Easy to install.

Cons

Everything is good, but since they stop nessus manager, I can not find the way to do automation.

Reasons for Choosing Nessus

Price is cheapter, the quality is Good enough.

Reasons for Switching to Nessus

Because the price

July 2019

Geoffrey from Robinson, Bradshaw and Hinson

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Law Practice

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

Nessus for vulnerability scanning

After our first major client security audit, we implemented Nessus to run weekly internal and external vulnerability scans. Not only does this help satisfy our client demands, but it helps us find vulnerabilities in our systems and helps us find patches and solutions to the vulnerabilities.

Pros

Easy to set up, use and report on. We started using this application after our first major client security audit a few years ago. It's a been great tool.

Cons

Not much to dislike with Nessus. Maybe some better reports, and the cost could always be better, although it's not bad.

Reasons for Choosing Nessus

It was what several security companies use and it was recommended by the security expert we hired to perform a risk assessment of our network.

June 2021

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2021

Nessus Vulnarability Scanning Tool

Nessus is #1 Vulnerability scanning tool which I ever seen and also Nessus tool has given fullest support to get PCIDSS certificate to our organization. I strongly commanding others to protect there organization with Nessus tool.

Pros

Administrator can simply use predefined policy and easy to apply related product as a template. Also the reporting is 99.99% accuracy and easy to understand and easy to find a solutions.

Cons

When we define a bulk scan, Nessus tool is getting more Computer/Server resources.

Reasons for Choosing Nessus

While compare with reviews and others recommendations.

May 2019

Josh from UK Flooring Direct

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Retail

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

We use and we like it

We implemented Nessus very easy, with the support from the vendor. Good price and very good solution.

Pros

We use Nessus because is very good tool to manage you vulnerabilities. Fast scan and easy to make reports and to monitor vulnerabilities. Easy to adjust the profile scan, easy to add scan targets. Good price and a lot of features.

Cons

We did not find any problems with the Nessus vulnerability management.

Reasons for Choosing Nessus

The features. Easy installation. Mature tool. Very good support from the vendor.

May 2019

Darius from DIGITAL IT CONSULTING S.R.L.

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

Good vulnerability manager

The project was a success. I recommend Nessus.

Pros

The soft is very useful to identify and manage vulnerabilities. The implementation was fast. Easy to scan and easy to generate reports. Predefined report for the management. Also you can generate compliance reports.

Cons

We did not find problems. Nessus is working very well.

Reasons for Choosing Nessus

Very good price. Easy to use. Fast scans. Very good reports.

April 2021

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2021

Nessus Vulnerability Scanner

Pros

I used Nessus everyday and the UI is very friendly and easy to use.

Cons

It took Tenable after placing the order and while to get the license key. It took abit of back and forth to get an admin account but once created it was easy to use and set up team members

July 2021

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2021

Nessus - Stay compliant

When it comes to compliance, Nessus really plays major roll. Nessus ensures that your network is accurately assessed.

Pros

Nessus gives you scan presets that are designed for each compliance body such as PCI, HIPAA, NIST etc. Administrators can easily select the patch level and run the vulnerability assessments. And even you can customize it as per your requirement too.

Cons

Nessus scanner becomes bit laggy when it comes to scanning of nodes with large data sets and applications.

September 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2020

Nessus made the day easy with vulnerabilities !!!

Nessus is excellent for O/S vulnerability detection. Compared to other scanners Nessus provide less false positives. Reports needs to improve. It is better if nessus professional have option to track an assets progress over the time with vulnerability management features. Scanner is quiet faster compared to other scanners and worth for money you pay.

Pros

Nessus professional is a leading vulnerability scanner and can be easily deployed. It can be installed on both windows and Linux environments. Interfaces are simple and easy to navigate. It provides vulnerabilities and recommendation with detail descriptions. You can purchase the product according to the size of your network. Nessus professional supports integration with SIEMs . Nessus agents are doing great job and can be used to continuously monitor the network.

Cons

Nessus professional doesn't provide overall visibility of an asset with the time. No trend information available and cannot track whether asset has reduce vulnerabilities over the time. I'm not satisfied with given reports and need to improve the reports. It is better if they can fine tune the compliance reports. Web assessments area is still weak on Nessus. It can not conduct comprehensive assessments against web applications. Card data discover plugin is bit difficult to configure and we didn't get the expected results.

September 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2020

Worth the purchase for Vulnerability assessment

Overall the scan results are very efficient and reports generated are very effective in securing the network assets of an organization. The setup was easier and application is user-friendly once you get the hang of it.

Pros

The application is very useful in findings for vulnerabilities in the network assets and reporting them with quality reports containing where exactly the issues are found and its mitigation. The tool updates are very relevant and even reports zero day vulnerabilities for particular software and technologies made use by the network asset. It covers almost all the security issues present in a network device or servers with proper credentialed scans.

Cons

The application has to be kept up to date for covering all the latest patch vulnerabilities and it lists even ssl and ssh related vulnerabilities for database servers or internal routers, so our team has to identify the necessary findings to report to customer.

September 2017

Christopher from US Government

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

September 2017

Easy to Use Vulnerability Scanner

Good canned reports and dashboards, which show where your critical risks are. Ability to export date into CSV or Excel format was welcome and made manipulating data easier.

Pros

What I like most about Nessus is that they have many plugins available for the various vulnerabilities that are out there. The ability to scan static and dynamic asset lists is great. The ability to schedule recurring scan jobs is helpful and aids in the scanning of systems. Integration with ticketing systems such as ServiceNow is also great.

Cons

It would be nice if their website had the published or revised date of their plugins. Resolving issues related to their Nessus Agents would also be nice. The UI could be improved so that queries didn't take so long. It would be nice if there was an easy way to purge old data associated with particular IPs.

January 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

One of the best vulnerability scanners

Nessus has allowed us in the company to develop a timely remediation system, since with the results of the scanners our clients can manage the remediation in a more timely manner without needing to apply more invasive policies on the client. Additionally it has helped us that the scans can be done in a short period of time in comparison to others in the market and in this way improve our service.

Pros

This product is one of the best network scanners on the market. After properly installing the server with the scanner in the network and placing the credentials of the administrator, the system works perfectly. Vulnerability scanning and compliance scanning are executed properly, all the standards included in Nessus are very useful.

Cons

The vulnerability scanner is not totally accurate in some situations and some results must be checked to verify the vulnerability. Therefore, it is possible that there are false positives. Many times the supplements are not updated in a timely manner and this hurts even more with the false positives generated.

April 2021

Leonid from NBM

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Banking

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2021

Nessus - best vulnerability manager

We use Nessus and we are very satistied.

Pros

The price. Dashboards. Very fast scans and very detailed reports.

Cons

User group management can be more efficient.

Reasons for Choosing Nessus

The price and the functionalities.

March 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2019

Most comprehensive tool for security and compliance assesments

Best money/capabilities balance.

Pros

Tenable products dictates market standard for securty assesment. Nessus Profesional is part of that family. It has simillar capabilities like Tenable.io but can be run inside your datacenter as a stand alone solution. It's easy to configure, reliable and what's most importand it will give you a hint how to solve every voulnerability detected inside your infrastructure.

Cons

It misses some interesting predefined reports and usefull configuration options comparing to Tenable.io.

September 2019

Chris from CHS

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2019

Nessus, Finding all those vulnerabilities!

Tenable is one of the best scanners out there to me. Easy to use and easy to hire people with experience in it

Pros

Nessus is great about releasing new plugins for vulns. It's lightweight and has an agent option or a hardware scanner option. The cost is pretty standard.

Cons

The reports that tenable can generate are lack luster at best. We use the API to pull the info we want, but that takes more work and development time than we like

Reasons for Choosing Nessus

The price and scalability were what we liked the most

August 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2018

Best tool in the market for Vulnerability scanning

It is very much efficient than any other tools offered by the competitors in scanning. Overall Value for money solution for VA scans in enterprise

Pros

It has up to date plugins to scan latest vulnerabilities or malwares are in the market. Plugins are updated every week to cover latest vulnerabilities. It can scan the scope system based on various standards like PCI DSS and HIPAA which other scanners in the market don't have. It performs credentials scans which other scanners like Qualys,Openvas doesn’t offer.

Cons

Nessus doesn’t detect any active protection on scope system which can block the credential scan. It cannot scan device if the 2FA is implemented on the scope system.

April 2019

User Profile Picture

Mohit from Provensec LLC

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer & Network Security

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2019

Nessus Vulnerability Scanner

Its a good tool but in my personal opinion using the free version of software is enough for testing purposes.

Pros

- Ease of use for non-authenticated scans - Trusted in case of Network Infrastructure Scanning - Can scan almost everything on a network - Can take a subnet or range for scanning in one go

Cons

- Needs improvement in case of web application scan and authenticated scan. - Very difficult to schedule an authenticated scan for a web application - There are some other tools that take login URL and landing URL. Meanwhile prevents the logout URL for session termination itself which increses ease for users

June 2018

User Profile Picture

Jose A from GB Advisors, Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

June 2018

Vulnerability Management from the Pioneers of VM

Vulnerabilities across the network, devices and the whole environment. Secyrity needs to be based on several systems that can consolidate data about your security posture and with NEssus is a great place to start when you do not have visibility on what is happening further that your PC and internet.

Pros

Trust on leader on VM market and movement Plugins updated daily so, threats and breaches can be identified as they are scanned into the environment Using Nessus Manager you can deploy scanners and agents across subnets, you can schedule multiple scans in your environment Best in class configuration audit data base for compliance check Credential and uncredential scans Agents for sensitive devices or services that can be affected by an active scan or are in transit

Cons

Nessus in the Pro version is limited to one user Not follow up or comparison between latest scan and recent IP address Change on the network or location increase the IP count even when it is the same device reports customizing can be difficult depending on what is expected to have invasive scan. you are not aware that a specific device or service can be sensitive to Nessus untill you finish with the service stopped or the performance of a service gets compromised.

September 2018

User Profile Picture

Tejas from SISA Information Security

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2018

Great vulnerability assessment tool

Very good tool to perform vulnerability assessment for home users to business users.

Pros

It supports from simple host discovery scans to detailed vulnerability scans like malware scan, credential path audit. This tool can also perform scan to test the latest vulnerabilities like Meltdown and Spectre and WannaCry ransomware etc. This vulnerability scanner has almost up-to-date plugins. The plugins are updated almost daily to weekly to scan the latest vulnerabilities in the market. Nessus scanner can perform the vulnerability scan for various operating systems like: Windows, Amazon linux, CentOS, FreeBSD, MacOS, Redhat, Debian etc It also supports vulnerability scan for various compliance standards like PCI DSS. This scanner can also perform credential based scan on the target machine. The major advantage is, this scanner gives the most accurate vulnerability details about the machine with very few false positives which other scanners in the market fails to do.

Cons

The professional version of this tool is very costly. It yet doesn’t support credential based scan for machines which have 2 factor authentication implemented on it.

January 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

Nessus An Excellent Tool For The Vulnerability Management Process Of Any Company.

Nessus it’s an excellent tool for the vulnerability management process of any company. Its super easy to use and implement on any network, and the tenable university and the community it’s a plus that make it even easier. There are many way how to export the result of any scan, but the best are in HTML and PDF, because are easy to understand and explain to any person. I really like it and going to continue using it

Pros

That it was really easy to implement and use

Cons

The reports are very basic and need to improve.

August 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2018

Great audit tool

After comparing it with other tools, in relation to quality / price it is a great tool beating its competitors in price

Pros

A very low false positive rate and a very intuitive interface

Cons

It would be desirable to make comparisons possible between different audits over time

September 2021

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2021

Nessus Scan - A tool to start your test with.

Great tool to meet sudden deadlines and effective reconn tool for Network penetration testing.

Pros

This software is great for new bees and profressionals in network penetration testing. I would like to share some highlights and good points I feel: 1. The UI is really good and easy to use. 2. The results are shown in an organized manner. 3. Reports can be easily shared with excel exports. 4. Vulebrabilities are prioritized for you with Critical, High, Medium and Low. (CVEs results) 5. Scheduling time and date. 6. Sharing it with the team - nice access management.

Cons

With the product proven to be great, some drawbacks of this product are: 1. False Positives are present, and its not your only tool to rely for a pentest. 2. It is not a web application scanner, its mainly a network scan. So if you are expecting to work like any other web app OWASP scanner, its not.

February 2018

User Profile Picture

Ivan from GB Advisors, Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2018

Enterprise-grade vulnerability scanner

Nessus provides me with an in-depth overview of the vulnerabilities of every asset in the organization. The vulnerability management system integrated with it makes prioritization very easy, so you can quick work progressively towards a secure environment.

Pros

Very easy to use. Very easy to configure a scan. Very easy to export a report and data about a scan. Very easy to customize scan templates. You can also create your own audit templates, so you can customize this tool for the specific policies of the organization. If you get to know the ins and outs of the scanner, you can get the most value from it.

Cons

Most of the time the documentation is incomplete if you get picky with the use cases. Support via Tenable Support Portal has been very slow lately, it seems like if they had a single person to handle all the support cases they have everyday. It used to be slow, but that's been improved a lot in the latest version I've used (7.0.2).

May 2021

Thusitha from TechCERT

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer & Network Security

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2021

Best Vulnerability Scanner

Nessus is one of the best vulnerability scanning tools in the Cyber Security field. There are no arguments with the functionality of the tool providing itself. As an overall comment, Nessus is very good to manage your infrastructure assets from cyber attacks.

Pros

Nessus is very unique and has a user-friendly interface. Also, the deployment is very easy and we can update plugins by using GUI.

Cons

As per my 2+ years of experience with the Nessus tool, sometimes it contains false-positive results. Therefore, we need to manually go through all results before submitting them to our customers.

December 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2018

Vulnerability Scanner

It is very useful for sever scanning for protecting user information. In addition, Nessus will give clear devices scanning for data base scanning and firewall scanning. This is very ideal for security auditors and cyber security analysts. Nessus tool gives recommendation for fixe the bug.

Pros

Nessus is a vulnerability Scanning tool helps to identify Known Vulnerabilities, Malware, Patches and etc. There is a free trial version every use can use. Nessus can work under any OS version. It is very helpful to protect our PC and Servers from any fraud or threat. Simply it’s very effective and compliance with user preference.

Cons

In the paid version includes more features than trial one but license cost is higher. It takes too much time to scan security devices.

October 2018

Luca from Freelance

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Computer & Network Security

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2018

Nessus Professional On Premise

I currently use it to perform vulnerability assessments towards the customers' targets. The results are usually accurate but it's always better to evaluate them manually to confirm/deny their existence. The readability of the results is much easier through the Nessus interface than via the exported reports (PDF or HTML).

Pros

Very frequent vulnerability database updates Easy to use Good pricing

Cons

Some false positives Some false negatives Running it in a virtual machine in NAT configuration sometimes does not give results as good as in bridge mode The reporting phase could be much better and should be more customizable

March 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2018

Great product and easy to set up and use.

Pros

It did what it was advertised to do and did it well. The updates to the plugins were done regularly and it found everything out there that was a vulnerability

Cons

Lacked reporting module that helped show more of the picture for non technical people and pretty graphs. To get those you needed to move to Tenable.io or SecurityCenter.

January 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

Scanning for vulnerabilities

Even though it is time consuming when a scan is running, the end result is pretty amazing. It's great using Nessus.

Pros

I use this scanner often to scan web application and also to run other scans. It provides the best results and it is really helpful as this also saves some time. There's are variety of scanning types available in this scanner and after scanning it gives a full report including the url when scanning a web application.

Cons

It takes a really long time when doing a scan but

April 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

THE vulnerability scanning software to beat

Pros

Nessus is the gold standard of vulnerability scanning. A robust solution, highly customizable for every organization with cloud, on prem and client install options.

Cons

Without the local client or group policy that shuts off wifi when your on wired you may get hit with 2 licenses per device because it sees both the wireless and wired instance. Something to know going into it if you are buying.

November 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2019

Bang for your buck!

Overall, we have been very pleased with the trial. The software has helped us identify and re-mediate vulnerabilities in our environment and fills a gap in our security requirements.

Pros

We are currently trying out Tenable.io and using the Nessus scanner to run local vulnerability scans and remediation at our company. I like the ease of setup and use of the Nessus scanner and the detailed reporting that is available with Tenable.io (cloud version).

Cons

The Nessus scanner does utilize a lot of system resources and the scan (less than 50 nodes) can take up to 2 days to complete. It would be nice if the scan was faster.

Reasons for Choosing Nessus

We had a conference call with the BreachLock CEO and felt we were brushed to the side due to the size of our company and the timing of our purchase. We went with Nessus instead.

April 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2020

Effectiveness

I have a very good experience with Nessus . I highly recommend it.

Pros

This is a one of best software for the vulnerability assessments. It ha lot of functions and features to do the tasks.

Cons

Sometimes it's getting slow to conduct the scans and also I think it need to contain more attractive reporting methods.

October 2018

User Profile Picture

Pasan from AIESEC

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2018

Essential tool for Vulnerability scanning

Overall it is a great tool for basic vulnerability scanning and because of plug and play ready to use feature of it Security teams use it often.

Pros

It's Simplicity of use to the user, great tool for vulnerability scanning for any enterprise. the reports are detailed and easy to understand

Cons

So far there is not much but if it has the function to record the previous records it will be better

January 2021

Houcem from TPS

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2021

One of the best vulnerability management solutions

An excellent vulnerability management tool, with reasonable pricing

Pros

Rich set of plugins and scan templates Frequent updates Ease of use Fair pricing Free version available

Cons

Not the best tool for scanning web applications Free version is quite limited (e.g. does not allow CIS benshmark scanning)

June 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2019

Run and Gun!

Pros

Nessus allows you to perform both authenticated and unauthenticated scans for a list of hosts within your network to check for potential vulnerabilities and missing patches, out dated software etc. The post presentation so nicely done and all referrals are there to plan out the remediation process if there are any.

Cons

You have to have a powerful rig to get the most out of this software since it's a bit CPU hungry. It'll get days to run a scan for 100 hosts if you have low end system.

March 2018

Jason from Chesapeake Bank

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2018

Scanning and reporting by setting a schedule

Pros

We have an amazing scanning functionality with NESSUS and it's scheduled so all I have to do is look at the report then can use that to report to the committees

Cons

It can be troublesome to setup the very first time but when it is set up it is a breeze to use

October 2017

Matt from PBCM

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2017

Good network scanner

Pros

This is a really useful scanning software to help us detect any vulnerabilities in our network that need to be patched.

Cons

The software can be difficult to use sometimes and it doesn't always scan with the credentials needed to have compliant scans.

August 2019

User Profile Picture

Darshana from TechCERT

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer & Network Security

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2019

Excellent Visibility

Vulnerability assessments in client domains both internal and external have been highly simplified with the usage of Nessus, making security recommendations easier.

Pros

It is relatively straightforward to scan an entire enterprise network due to the ease-of-use with the policies that are available. Customized creation enhances the overall process.

Cons

Configuration expertise is required when it comes to specifically tailored assessments in separate domains. This can be slightly tedious with expected results; but once you get it right, the scans are highly effective.

February 2017

Joevanne from Greensky Trade Credit

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2017

Great Vulnerability Management Solution

Tenable offers great vulnerability management products and Security Center is very easy to use. Great reporting capabilities and an overall great product.

Pros

Ease of use Reporting

Cons

Lacking in application security

March 2021

Kevin Matthe from University at Albany, SUNY

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Research

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2021

Decent general-purpose scanner

Nessus is my first local and network scanner. So far it's doing a pretty decent job!

Pros

For threats that are generally manageable and can easily be detected, Nessus is the to go-to scanner of choice

Cons

For novice administrator, more especially for those with less computer savviness, the configuration of this is very challenging

July 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

Vulnerability scanning at its finest

Very happy we purchased and implemented this software. It allows you to be proactive in locating vulnerabilities on the network and patching them before something bad happens. Well worth the cost.

Pros

Ease of use and simplicity. Rarely have had to reference online documentation. They make it very easy to figure out and use right away. For more specific sets of scans or devices, the documentation is helpful. There is also a very active community on their forums. Reporting is very informative, and scheduling makes it so you don't have to interact much after everything is all set.

Cons

Sometimes there are some false positives that take time to realize. Also seems to think many of the things they mark as medium risk are low risk. This depends on your situation and network, but for me most of the medium risks can be disregarded.

August 2018

User Profile Picture

Gianni from Ptrace Security GmbH

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Computer & Network Security

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2018

Nessus is the best tool for vulnerability assessments

Pros

Nessus has the largest database of vulnerabilities and will most likely find any known vulnerability.

Cons

In some cases, Nessus assumes that a service is vulnerable to a vulnerability just because it is listening for incoming connections, so you always have to go through the results and carefully double check each finding.

September 2018

User Profile Picture

Ben from Computer Revolution

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2018

Amazing Security Tool

Overall Nessus is incredibly powerful, it seems better setup for corporate environments and I think in that environment you could not ask for a better software.

Pros

Nessus is very easy to use and it houses a lot of known vulnerabilities. Reporting from a scan couldn't be easier. Timely updates are also necessary for any vulnerability scanner worth its salt, and Nessus updates regularly to cover any emerging threats in a timely manner.

Cons

For the paid version its pricey but you can't put a price tag on keeping things secure. My experience lies in the free version that is available for home use. It requires you to request a key, which is fine but it took close to 3 days for the email to be sent with the key. I'm hoping this was a fluke but it was unfortunate. Occasional bugs have also occurred, but what software doesn't have the occasional bug.

June 2018

Ahmed from ANAcademy

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2018

Worth it

A very good vulnerability scanner

Pros

I've been using Nessus since it's very beginning. Frankly speaking, I like the older implementations more. But the recent developments are more mainstream and corporate ready It's fast, comprehensive, and up to date vulnerability scanner that save huge deal of manual testing

Cons

Some plugins are buggy and can crash the testing system. Also licensing is a bit of a turn off, even though it's really worth it for professionals

July 2018

User Profile Picture

Mairina from Cibersys

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2018

excellent tool to mitigate security breaches

With this software it is possible to perform network analysis to determine if there are vulnerabilities in the systems, malware, among other types of ramsomware. It also allows analyzing web environments and ensuring that companies know what threats and vulnerabilities are present in their information assets.

Pros

That I can analyze networks, web applications, elements in the cloud and customize the type of output or analysis that will be executed, either manually or I can program it. Additionally I like the section to make scanners and comply with PCI policies.

Cons

So far the tool has covered my expectations. So far the tool has covered my expectations. I usually use it to perform advanced scans where I can select which elements I want to enable.

August 2020

sunny from MNP

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Computer & Network Security

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2020

One of the Best Scanner

This is one of the best value for money network scanner out there.

Pros

Installation and Implementation is really easy Number of Plugins available to scan different environments The UI is very user friendly

Cons

Scan time can be improved. Progress of scans is can be improved and list can be broke to IP's finished vs IP's still being scanned

October 2018

User Profile Picture

Edwin from OPENLINK_

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer & Network Security

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2018

The most perceptive Vulnerability Scanning Software

Use Used to perform vulnerability scanning from small networks to applications of critical use, which need to be kept safe by high confidentiality

Pros

It is easy to use very intuitive, completely modular, mature and highly scalable from small networks to operational networks critical for security

Cons

The License schema need be modular according to the user's need.

August 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

August 2020

Nessus security scanner

Pros

Nessus is an industry-standard tool for doing security evaluations. It is well known and does an admirable job and finding vulnerabilities. It provides clear and concise reports.

Cons

It does take some familiarization to new admins to create new scans. This process could be more intuitive.

November 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2018

Best tool for vulnerability scanning

Overall very helpful to understand your network security posture. Value for money at enterprise level.

Pros

Very handy, powerful and easy to use software for vulnerability scanning. This can be also utilize for web application scanning and system configuration review. One can schedule the scanning and get the report. It gives standard and custom reports which are helpful for presentation purpose. Nessus scanning reports suggest the required patch for their respective vulnerabilities. To get the best possible result plugins should be up to date with latest release.

Cons

Report doesn't show in graphical format. It doesn't scan system with 2FA enabled.

Displaying 1 - 50 of 64 reviews