What are ACTIVE Net users saying about the software?

Read what people like you have said about using ACTIVE Net software through verified user reviews

User Review Highlights

3.95

37 Reviews

5
12
4
12
3
11
2
1
1
1
3.5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Customer Support

out of 5
3.5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5
  • icon"Customer support, friendly service, on-time delivery, fast response and diversified solutions."
  • icon"Provided us with an excellent platform to run our event off. Dashboard allows us great snapshots of our participants."
  • icon"The registration system for camps is excellent. Online registrations is great and easy to use."
  • icon"I found all of the functions and set up very difficult. The function to add any image/artwork was nearly impossible and very time consuming."
  • icon"It can glitch or delay after modification or change/updates."
  • icon"Product can sometimes be slow to respond. No other issues that I can think of."

Jump to:

Browse all ACTIVE Net Reviews

  • Have you used ACTIVE Net and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a Review

Apply Filters:

X

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

ResetShow 37 Results
Filters

Showing 1 - 25 of 37 reviews

User Profile

Chelsea

Verified reviewer

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Recreational Facilities and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

October 2018

Active Net from YMCA program director

It is great for Ymca use. We use it for membership, programs and childcare. I can use apps and online features to make it easy to check children in and out and parents love the ease of the website for online payments, registration and account viewing.

Pros

I love the easy interface. It is user friendly and intuitive. There are many functions and many ways to get what you need done.

Cons

There is no “shopping cart” to register for an activity and let them pay later. You can do a payment plan but not a save for later type.

Response from ACTIVE Network

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review, Chelsea, it's great to hear ACTIVE Net has worked out so well for your YMCA. We really appreciate the 5-stars!

Replied October 2018

Helen

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
2

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

May 2018

Implemented and used activenet after switching from CLASS for six plus years. it was quite good.

Pros

Once I got used to activenet, I really like a lot of what it could do. our initial set up caused problems from the start and we did not properly set up (based on how rep suggested) to maximize ease of use. I love the roster reports, booking was easy to do, as was registrations, membership sales. Editing information on the clients was very easy. when things went well, Activenet worked okay for us. calendar views were an awesome tool to see what was in the facility for the day and the totals reports were really prowerful. it was great to be able to generate reports in a variety of formats.

Cons

customer service was slim to none for the majority of our time. We only had a dedicated person for a small window of time to help show us and train us on how to advance the functionality of the programme. initial logistical problems in set up stalled our progress without the product. promises of bridging with current accounting software did not ever happen. As was the promise of bridging with red cross classes, which class did, was another thing that never happened. Helpline improved for last year of use, which was great, but kinda too late. Activenet had a habit of running updates, and not letting us know. Changes to our system would occur and we would have no idea how to troubleshoot and then have to wait several days for help from activenet. (via email or phone) Contract was renewed without our organization being consulted (you cannot automatically renew a contract without consultation) and then, when we heard our fees would be increased, with no promises of anything improved for our end, we opted to seek other software that may better fit our needs. Too bad because there are many many parts of Activenet I really liked, and really miss!

Response from ACTIVE Network

Thank you for your review Helen; we're sorry to hear that you were left feeling frustrated by a lack of support and options when it came to your technology. I've passed your feedback along to the head of our ACTIVE Net team for their consideration. We wish you the best and appreciate your valuable insight.

Replied May 2018

Laurie

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time used: Less than 2 years

3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

July 2017

Lots of functionality - is it the right fit for your purpose?

If your organization needs to handle complex registrations, events like conferences and the like, it's probably one of the most full-featured out there. However, they way it defaults doesn't really apply broadly to other uses, so setup gets difficult, and sometimes you just have to workaround or accept something that doesn't quite do what you want the way you want it. Still, for smaller organizations, it's a good value for the cost. Their fee structure is fair, and lower than most.

Pros

Easier to use queries and data reports--they have really worked to make the user experience better in last several years. Abundant tutorials, many are pretty good, some are redundant or not that informative. Fulfills its main purpose well and offers functionality to handle rather complex organizational needs.

Cons

For our needs to track interactions with our constituents, the system required a lot of workarounds outside of conference management. Membership reports were difficult to set up to get the information needed. Setup is difficult and complex in general, particularly if your organization doesn't quite fit the model they used to develop the software. Although we realize they have to have some sort of fee model, to be charged a fee for charitable donations is hard to accept, .

lori

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Recreational Facilities and Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

November 2021

Daily user for my Job

I've used Active Net for three years and it was very easy to learn and help customers with.

Pros

The features that makes it easy to use are the different categories that are clear and easy to use.

Cons

I think that when updates are going to happen they could be described better and more thoroughly.

Laura

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

October 2018

Activenet for small schools

Generally, this software has work well for is to bring clarity to the revenue and payroll streams and helped us greatly reduce past due balances and reduce staff time with registration transactions.

Pros

We appreciate parents' ability to login to manage their accounts, register for the correct classes and make online payments. The private lesson management on the staff side is efficient and generating the needed payroll information works well for us. Communication module is also much appreciated for targeted emails by course registration or level of participation. We have been able to fairly easily configure this software to work for our small school.

Cons

Reporting is very hard to trust and manipulate. Activenet seems to be trying to address this with AdHoc reporting and Insights, but the time and $ involved in incorporating those aspects is with our small staff is prohibitive. Also withdrawing students from a lesson course after they have had one or two lessons is impossible and necessitates adding fake money into the system to close the receipt. We find frustration that all the product enhancements are generally geared to YMCA type organizations and the smaller school needs are not often addressed.

Response from ACTIVE Network

Thank you Laura for taking the time to give us feedback on ACTIVE Net.

Replied October 2018

Isis

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Music

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
2

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

October 2018

Activenet is powerful & adaptive but not for the tech savvy

Overall, we like Activenet because it keeps us organized and gets our company off a paper and pen system.

Pros

Activenet is a powerful educational programming software tool. It is highly adaptable for all kinds of programs and faculties for both private lessons and group programs. It makes managing inventory, staff contact lists, sign-ins, program lists, registration fairly easily.

Cons

Activenet is a very large learning curve for new staff. It is hard to train to new staff and requires a lead staff who can oversee its evergrowing functionality. Being on Internet Explorer also has it's quirks and can make using it on different types of computers problematic. The program is expensive and sometimes you cant adapt certain functionality to your needs. Their development team rarely follows through on making customized improvements to suit your companies needs. Some of the features are out of date & do need updating shortly to maintain a competitive edge for the future.

Fernan

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Civic & Social Organization

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

October 2017

Working with Active Net

From a customer service perspective the team at Active is working with us to address the issues identified as cons. The objective is that the end user experience on the back end is congruent with the end user experience on the front end.

Pros

The business intelligence dashboard is quite robust and provides us with real time data and trends that we are able to act upon.

Cons

The member interface is not user friendly. It is not intuitive and takes the user down virtual rabbit holes that seem to meander without any destination or logic which is quite frustrating and not a good experience.

Alexandria

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

June 2018

Use program for sports team/ community class registrations

Pros

It is quick and efficient since each activity is assigned a designated code. The receipts are neat and organized upon printing.

Cons

At times, the program can be really slow to sign in on. Inputing the activities can be time-consuming and tedious.

Response from ACTIVE Network

Thank you for your review Alexandria, we especially appreciate the 5 stars for customer support. I've passed along your feedback about how time consuming the platform can be to our product team so they can be aware of your experience. Thanks again for taking the time to give us a review, and for all you to do help keep San Diego active!

Replied June 2018

Shelly

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Hospitality

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

October 2018

ActiveNet

Mostly positive. There is a lot of power in this product but can be difficult to figure out.

Pros

Versatility and lots of customizable options for activity setup.

Cons

Not easy to import/export or run certain reports to get info. Extremely difficult to customize report for your needs.

Response from ACTIVE Network

Hi Shelley, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your feedback, and our apologies for the frustrations you've had with the reporting functionality. If you run into troubles running reports again, you can always turn to the online help center: https://support.activenetwork.com/activenet/AN_Tutorials

Replied October 2018

Amy

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
1

Ease-of-use

out of 5
2

Customer support

out of 5
1

Functionality

out of 5

October 2020

Lack of Features, Outdated Appearance and Poor Customer Service

Customer Service Representatives were very difficult to understand with their heavy accents. The online help search was next to impossible to find the subject you needed.

Pros

I would not say that I had any "pros" with the software. Daily use was a struggle and very frustrating.

Cons

I found all of the functions and set up very difficult. The function to add any image/artwork was nearly impossible and very time consuming.

Reasons for choosing ACTIVE Net

I was not a part of the purchase, design. This product was purchased, contracted and implemented prior to my employment with this organization.

Kyle

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra

3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

December 2016

ACTIVE Net Review

It a great system to allow memberships to be tracked and run reports of information that may non-profits use on a daily basis.

Response from ACTIVE Network

Kyle, thank you for taking the time to review our software. It¿s great to hear you¿ve been able to get valuable information out of our robust reporting features. Your feedback is integral to our continued development, and if there is anything we can do to make your experience easier, please reach out!

Replied December 2016

Chris

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Recreational Facilities and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

December 2019

RTP|One - Ski Resort and FB

ACTIVE is helping us facilitate our Ski and Food and Beverage operations. Ultimately we hope to roll it out across our district which includes a very large recreation district along with the previously mentioned operations.

Pros

SQL Database Once you grasp the product/system hierarchy it is somewhat easy to navigate and troubleshoot throughout the system as needed. As far as Ski Resort solutions go, RTP is it.

Cons

E commerce platform is lacking in flow and functionality. This seems to be known issue within ACTIVE and is said to be something that will be resolved moving forward. If this is not resolved internally, it can be handled by partnering with someone like AspenWare.

Jason

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Government Administration

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

December 2018

ActiveNet - Municipal Recreation

Experience has been very positive. Implementation was a lengthy process, but we had excellent support to get it done. We use it for memberships, POS, facility booking and program registration and camps. Reports are excellent.

Pros

The registration system for camps is excellent. Online registrations is great and easy to use.

Cons

Facility booking was very difficult to use and not user friendly. ActiveNet listens to their customers though, and they have created a new one that is much improved. Still some glitches, but getting better.

Response from ACTIVE Network

Thank you for the 5 star review, Jason. We're so happy that you're seeing improvements with our new facility booking features, hopefully this helps get the town of Essex more active!

Replied December 2018

Bryan

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

October 2018

Activenet Endorsement

I have been with Activenet for 6 years. I have demonstrated the site to 4 different organizations.

Pros

What is there not to like - easy to learn, has programming, scheduling, etc. Love the fact that the trainer site is 99.9% of the real site (does not process payments) so easy to try things on before using main site.

Cons

Nothing. It does everything we need it to do.

Response from ACTIVE Network

Thank you for your review Bryan, it's great to hear that ACTIVE Net has been able to cover every need you've had! We really appreciate the 5 star review.

Replied October 2018

Sylvina

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

September 2017

My experience with Active Net overall has been positive. Any snag was always resolved pretty quickly

Pros

What I like most about this software is that it takes care of everything my business needs. There's nothing lacking. And once I learned the basics, learning how to search or change something is pretty easy. I can figure things out without being "trained" by a more experienced co-worker or user.

Cons

Sometimes the software can be a little convoluted. Trying to change something proved difficult at times.

Response from ACTIVE Network

Thank you for the feedback, and we appreciate you as a customer of Active Network where we strive to not only serve our clients but to be their partner as well. We are happy to hear our solutions are helping you run your business with ease.

Replied October 2017

Kristin

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Recreational Facilities and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

October 2018

Recreation Department User

Pros

Ability to take registrations online and in person in live time, ease to print rosters for staff, web based and can access at any site on the go.

Cons

Learning curve to use, many steps to complete each function.

Response from ACTIVE Network

Thank you Kristen for taking the time to give us your feedback!

Replied October 2018

Felisha

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Recreational Facilities and Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

January 2020

Still working out kinks

I like it and will continue to work out the kinks!

Pros

It has multiple capabilities that allows maximum options with organization.

Cons

It can glitch or delay after modification or change/updates.

Reasons for switching to ACTIVE Net

Price for product

Melissa

Company size: 11-50 employees

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
2

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

October 2017

Good Option For Some

Active net is a good option if you are a massive outfit. It can be extremely expensive for small, medium and most large parks and recs, non- profits, etc.

Pros

- Great features such as membership management and online registration -User friendly for parents and staff - Looks good

Cons

- Extremely expensive product, especially after new price increases - Added features cost additional money

Jeff

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Sports

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

September 2017

We have been looking for an all around management system and finally found one.

We are a sport organization with a large membership and have been looking for a management system to assist in the everyday registrations, membership accounts and billing. It is helping us streamline.

Pros

We have used several different management systems and finally found one we can settle down with. The staff have been easy to work with and go out of their way to assist with any issue we have needed. Set up was relatively easy considering the functionality of the software.

Cons

Although the Active program is so all encompassing it can be a struggle learning the system to get the most out of it that we expect.

Response from ACTIVE Network

Thank you Jeff for taking the time to review Active Net! We really appreciate the 5 stars!

Replied November 2018

Diane

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Fine Art

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
1

Ease-of-use

out of 5
1

Value for money

out of 5
1

Customer support

out of 5
1

Functionality

out of 5

December 2018

Not responding, taking thousands of dollars from our business

This company has breached their contract with our organization-- taking thousands of dollars of our revenue and will not respond to repeated inquiries and requests to correct the error. Do not trust this company!!!

Pros

I used to like the ease of use but they are now not responding to our repeated requests to correct their contract breach.

Cons

I used to like the ease of use but they are now not responding to our repeated requests to correct their contract breach.

Rosemary

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

October 2017

ACTIVE NET

IF THERE IS ANY OTHER PROGRAM THAT I FEEL NEEDS TO BE UPGRADED, IT IS THIS ONE. CAN BE GREAT BUT NEEDS WORK.

Cons

THIS PROGRAM HAS MANY GLITCHES AND GOES DOWN ALMOST EVERY TIME YOU USE IT WHICH MAKES IT VERY DIFFICULT TO SAVE INFORMATION STORED.

Brittani

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Recreational Facilities and Services

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

July 2019

Confusing

Once you get the hang of it it's a great software.

Pros

The reports! Has ,amy different filters and options for reports and as being a Rec facility that comes in handy.

Cons

CONFUSING. There is not just a single way to access something which i think in the end just makes the software that much harder to understand and learn.

Jessica

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Sports

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

November 2019

Excellent Product

Great. Would recommend this to races with over 500 runners. Support from the office is great

Pros

Provided us with an excellent platform to run our event off. Dashboard allows us great snapshots of our participants

Cons

Not wild about the volunteer module of the software. I find it clunky and doesn't function the way I need it to.

Reasons for switching to ACTIVE Net

Customer service

Mark

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Primary/Secondary Education

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
2

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
2

Functionality

out of 5

April 2018

Active network review

Pros

1. The system is reliable in term of network security. 2. Can handle a large volume of concurrent registration. 3. Back-in system is easy to use.

Cons

1. Back-in system although easy to use, it requires a lot of time to input all data especially if you have a large registration system. 2. Can't handle complex registration system.

Ashley

Company size: 201-500 employees

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

September 2018

Great for Nonprofits!

Pros

Last year, we were going to hold a 5K as a fundraiser and had no clue on where to start or what to do. From our standpoint, they really fulfilled their promise in helping provide us with the tools to hold a successful 5K. Ultimately, we ended up nixing the idea, but we will use Active Network in the future!

Cons

The main con that we encountered was the fact that the products were not available a la carte. We already used a robust CRM that offered event management, but didn't offer event management that catered towards a 5K. The pricing was outrageous for our needs, but again, we were looking for something a la carte.

Showing 1 - 25 of 37 reviews
ACTIVE Net

ACTIVE Net

3.95/5 out of 37 reviews
PriceWatch Demo