All Blackbaud Altru Reviews

1-25 of 36 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

William (Bill)

Verified reviewer

51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2018

After 8 years we have found the promised land!

PROS

The support and the solution go hand in hand. We went "live" just over 12 months and we are learning more and more everyday on how we can leverage the solution. 100% integrated with our accounting. Blackbaud has setup a platform that is engaging and interactive for users to connect with others in the community as well as developers. The solution is improving and so are we.

CONS

Sometimes we find development improvements that seem critical to our organization to take longer then we would like. But we live in a day of instant gratification and once recognized we can be patient.

User Profile

Adam

Verified reviewer

Museums and Institutions, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2019

A complete non-profit fundraising and ticketing tool

Initially, we saved tens of thousands of dollars migrating our POS, CRM, and online ticketing platforms to the single Altru platform. We've never regretted it. That was about seven years ago, and we're still happily using it. Altru generally does everything we want it to do. It's great for admissions and event ticketing but not a great tool for email marketing or running a gift shop, though it does send bulk emails and allows you to sell merchandise. If you have an email marketing tool or gift shop software, keep it.

PROS

All our donor, patron, and visitor information is in one place, secure in the cloud. We rely on Altru to keep all our sales, donor, and member records together so we can see all the ways our constituents connect with us. This also makes reporting much easier, having all earned and contributed revenue recorded in one database. This also makes training easier, as there's only one system that many of our staff need to learn and interact with, everyone from ticket sellers to fundraisers. Finally, using one cloud-based system requires fewer administrators and no server hardware, streamlining staff and IT costs.

CONS

The financial and revenue setup can be intimidating, since there's a general ledger behind all the sales and revenue transactions. A general ledger must be set up, fiscal years created, transactions mapped, payment types created, payment methods created, etc. It can be daunting without a background in accounting or bookkeeping. You will need a trained financial professional to help oversee the financial configuration. Blackbaud will help you set this up initially, but you will need someone knowledgeable to oversee those parts.

Reason for choosing Blackbaud Altru

We talked to museums using Tessitura, and they were frustrated by their need to constantly customize it.

Anonymous

11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed March 2019

Altru by Blackbaud Review

I know a good amount how to deal with things on Altru, but if something comes up that you don't know, it's not always self-explanatory how to get done what you need to get done. Sometimes you have click on quite a series of things that you would never things to click on to make something happen. That being said, it doesn't seem to glitch often, which is nice. Again, having all the needed resources right there in one software is a helpful.

PROS

I love the amount that you can do on Altru and that it can all be done in one place. Whether it's keeping our volunteers organized, scheduling tours, selling event tickets, etc., it can all be done right there in Altru.

CONS

There are multiple ways you can do everything. Rather than having one concise way to do each action, you have to search to find many not simple ways to do everything. Sometimes, screens look slightly different on different computers as well, even though they've all been updated. It's amazing how much you can do, but it would be so much easier if the methods used were more concise.

Breanne

Museums and Institutions, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2021

That 360 Degree View

While there are several things that I would like to see improved in Altru, I still believe it is still the best product out there for non-seated venues that need a ticketing solution. Our reporting has gotten so much better because we *can* see what members, donors, volunteers, etc have done with our institution. I find the support and ongoing education webinars that Blackbaud offers to be lacking and they need to improve their discovery process.

PROS

The absolute best part of Altru is that it offers a 360 degree view of our constituents. We can query on many different types of engagement with our institution to see who our donors are or how likely a member is to renew. For frontline staff, the user interface for ticketing is easy to use and very intuitive. Training staff is so much more pleasant with this software!

CONS

Group sales and group sales reporting are woefully underdeveloped (I will never understand why the entire group sales sales method was just left out of the Program Revenue report). Refunds and exchanges are also really terrible in the system. There is no room for human error and trying to offer customer service to our constituents often results in our institution looking bad because the system just won't let us help them in a timely/efficient manner.

Reason for choosing Blackbaud Altru

It was the best product to fit our many needs (admissions, education, fundraising, membership, summer camp, etc).

Reasons for switching to Blackbaud Altru

We switched because Patron Edge was a terrible product from the start, but also it was sunsetting and we needed a new product. Raiser's Edge has more fundraising capabilities that we wish had been included in Altru, but we do love the well-rounded product.

Lisa

Museums and Institutions, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2021

Gotta have me some Altru

Once trained, employees are more likely to become more engaged with the product and will see the advantages of one CRM instead of bouncing from one CRM to another. Customers are happier when they don't have to wait. In fundraising, it is vital to be able to see what donors are also members or ticket buyers opening the door to the ask. Stewardship of donors is simplified with everything about the donor on the screen in front of you during a call or even on your phone on the way to a meeting. Many processes are automatic once set up correctly. And again, customer service and support are tremendous assets for Altru.

PROS

Ability to have fundraising, ticketing, events, membership all in one CRM is amazing. It has increased employee production, made patrons and donors happier (less waiting, ease of use), increased fundraising ability by having the ability to see who hasn't donated yet attends/purchases abundantly and relationships between constituents. I absolutely LOVE this CRM and would only consider moving to another organization that uses the product! Training and support are amazing. Support is always available through knowledge base, community, videos and when really stumped, through online chat. And they CARE about helping you with find the answers you need.

CONS

No CRM is perfect. The canned reports aren't always easy to manipulate when downloaded while the queries can be difficult for those not using them on a regular basis. The prospect management is not as flexible (would like the ability for one person to handle all the fundraiser's management) and can be redundant in places. There are small glitches here and there, and the email ability from Altru is poor, but they are constantly listening to their customers to make needed improvements.

Reasons for switching to Blackbaud Altru

Ticketing was needed and Altru made sense handling the various aspects of the organization.

Glynis

Museums and Institutions, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2021

A big improvement over our legacy system

In my role, I primarily use Altru for scheduling programs, both onsite and offsite. We've had to develop creative solutions for complex scheduled programs like field trips and outreach visits, but more straightforward scheduled events were easy to implement. The ability to maintain a large database of individual constituents and organizations is very helpful for scheduling. Prior to implementing Altru, we used an in-house built legacy system that was impossible to maintain, and after the initial launch pains it has been a great improvement.

PROS

Queries and exports are very helpful. The ability to maintain and manage a large database of constituents is an essential function for us. Blackbaud support and training materials are wonderful.

CONS

Altru is not intuitive to use, and was very intimidating for my team. There is one major flaw where you can too-easily delete an entire program with all of its events when you intend to only delete one event. This can be avoided by selling a ticket to any of the events, but happens sometime for us when a program is used to populate an internal calendar. Another flaw is that sales orders will sometimes glitch and get sent to "unresolved sales orders" with no notification, and unless checked regularly can be overlooked.

Reason for choosing Blackbaud Altru

Altru was selected with the hopes that it could be used across the entire museum, from ticketing to membership management to school and public programs. I believe the membership team members were the real driving force for choosing Altru.

User Profile

Lisa

Verified reviewer

51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed May 2018

My experience with Altru began about 2 years ago. It was easy to use and had many useful features.

Reporting and database management

PROS

I really enjoy all the reporting and smart queries Altru can produce. It allows your job to be much easier and efficient. I also really am impressed and appreciate the customer support. Since I'm fairly new to Altru, I have a lot of questions. Knowing someone is there to assist means a lot to me.

CONS

Some of the features are great but at times you have to do 5 other steps in order for something to work. If there was a SOP for everything in Altru already created...I'd be in heaven.

Anonymous

11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed April 2018

Wide-ranging data management software with improving support/training options.

PROS

Covers every aspect of museum data management, from fundraising to programs to events and more. Excellent customization of data queries to manage data and run reports. Offers many levels of depth, to serve both front-line staff and power users.

CONS

Little/no training and support offered until very recently. Limited customization of layout, view options, colors, and categories in constituent records. Sometimes requires many, many clicks to achieve simple goals/record changes/reports.

Stella

Museums and Institutions, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed March 2021

System is difficult to use

PROS

Blackbaud Altru has many types of uses, from POS to Donation center, the system has functions for every part of our staff in our museum, from Admissions to events and fundraising.

CONS

The system is extremely difficult to work with - the system is complicated to set up memberships, membership renewals, ticket sales, and unfortunately, doesn't work well with other systems since it was first created so long ago... There are manuals and courses to learn about the system, but they are very time consuming, taking 3 hours or more per course sometimes.

Anonymous

51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed June 2018

An improvement over our previous system, but still needs some fine tuning

PROS

We now have the ability to get a true look at all the ways our constituents are interacting with our organization. Prior to implementation, our organization was very siloed, with each department using separate databases.

CONS

The product has a long way to go with the web forms and email functionality. It would be great to have usable metrics for online behavior.

Chelsea

Museums and Institutions, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2018

Altru does it all!

I have been using Altru for about a year in a database management position. There were so many training resources available when I first started, and continued support from our account manager and chat support. There is an article for every problem I could run into. It has been a great experience learning how to use this database and implementing the use of awesome features that we weren't previously using!

PROS

I love that my company doesn't have to have many different databases to perform various tasks. Altru allows us to have a complete 360 view of our organization and our customers. We use it for all of our CRM needs - ticketing, programs, special events, donors, memberships, revenue reporting, etc. The support available through the parent company Blackbaud is so helpful for working out the kinks, as well.

CONS

This software is very expensive. Especially since the primary organizations who use Altru are non-profits.

Shannon

Used free trial

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

Reviewed June 2015

6 Reasons that Altru Rocks

The RISD Museum has been using Altru for almost 3 years. While some aspects of the product could use improvement specifically web forms, email analytics, and merchandise there are many ways that Altru rocks: 1. The conversion of our old data went very smoothly. The database experts at Blackbaud were extremely helpful and knowledgeable. 2. Second, Altru is very easy to use. Our Visitor Services staff was up and running at the front desk with only an introductory session and some in-person support that first week. 3. Altru tech support at Blackbaud has been more responsive and helpful than any other software company I've worked with. They understand my work, not just the software. 4. You don't have to be a database expert to become an expert at Altru. My team members have taken ownership of their data and processes. I love sitting in a meeting and having someone else say, "Did you know you can do this in Altru? Here's what I'm doing and I think it will work for you." 5. Blackbaud is actively trying to improve the product. I've personally been involved with discovery by development teams working on reporting/queries and security/access. 6. The Altru Community is very active and supportive. Often, I don't need an answer to how the software works. I know how to make the software work but sometimes there are multiple right ways to do something. So my question is more about best practices and how others are doing it. It's helpful to hear what has worked at similar organizations and what hasn't. The bottom line is that there are pluses and minuses with any enterprise system. We evaluated six different systems before selecting Altru and chose based on what we thought would work best for our organization, our team members, and our business processes. As someone once told me, when you buy an enterprise system, you're not just buying software, you're also buying a business model. It turns out that Altru does, indeed, work well for the RISD Museum.

Sarah

Museums and Institutions, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed June 2020

Only if you like to spend your money for nothing

Unfortunate. Don't expect support, or anyone to get back to you. If they do get back to you it's going to be a while. I hope it isn't importat.

PROS

This software is expansive and is probably intuitive if you have an IT background.

CONS

This is a cumbersome and difficult software. If you have IT to work on this full time, or can commit to it for 40 hours a week it's probably great. Don't expect to get any significant support to make this operational. They will tell you to get your IT to do it. It's painful. Avoid.

Dannielle

Non-Profit Organization Management, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2016

Altru - 360 Degree View of Your Constituents

What Altru does really well for arts & cultural organizations, that other CRMs do not have the ability to do, is create a holistic view of your constituents - ticket buyers, donors, event attendees, etc. Everything is in one database, and there is no need to deal with various imports and exports in order to view your data in one place. Some areas of the system lack flexibility and depth - web forms, ticketing - however Blackbaud releases new features on a very regular basis, so it's constantly improving.

PROS

Brings together ticketing and fundraising/membership in one CRM Helpful Support available to chat online

CONS

More flexibility needed with web forms More flexibility needed with fundraising reporting Sales Orders are too rigid - need to be able to edit and add appeal codes

sandy

Non-Profit Organization Management, 51-200 employees

Used more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed November 2020

Review of Blackbaud Altru

frustrating

PROS

At the time we selected it there was little else available on the market that did so much, especially of rarts organizations

CONS

Altru proved unruly to manage / non-intuitive / overly expensive, espoecially as new products came along, like Bloomerang

Reasons for switching to Blackbaud Altru

cost / efficiency / ease of data input / clarity and ease of creating reports / retention focus

Anonymous

51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2021

Endless possibilities

Teaching tools are wonderful. Possibilities feel endless. I enjoy the continuous challenge to use the program in a new way.

PROS

Ability to creatively use the data base to accomplish analysis, ticketing, membership, fundraising and interdepartmental cohesion!

CONS

This takes a long time to learn all the different features.

Reasons for switching to Blackbaud Altru

More integration

Anonymous

51-200 employees

Used more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed September 2018

Definitely not a great took for volunteer management

PROS

From what I can see, this software looks like it could be a great tool for some applications. As I mean it is great for the money if you are looking to have a tool to maintain unlimited accounts, but that is really the only true good aspect of it.

CONS

I have head to use the software for volunteer management at several locations, and to be honest besides from keeping track of personal information the volunteer side is terrible. They trying to force you to buy they're really expensive side a volunteer management, but there are better programs out there for much cheaper. To give you an example, to run a report you literally have to go through 8 to 10 steps and hope it is what you're looking for. It is really not user friendly

Sharon

Fine Art, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT