All Aplos Reviews

1-25 of 181 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Don

Religious Institutions, 2 - 10 employees

Used less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

Reviewed June 2021

Great for church finances and more

User Profile

Abdelati

Verified reviewer

Accounting, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2023

The best in accounting and financial management, It' the Best one product..!

The wonderful experience made me love my work and the Turk in clear and good financial reports thanks to this product in accounting.

PROS

Actually, this product contains the good tools in order to manage good financial reports.

CONS

A wonderful product that crushes to be the best in this field.

John

Religious Institutions, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2021

Aplos Review

I can always get the help we need from Tech. Support.

PROS

Easy to set up and use. Good tech. support.

CONS

It seems a little pricey . Some of the screens do not have enough contrast to be easily read.

Reason for choosing Aplos

Aplos was much easier to set up for our church use.

Reasons for switching to Aplos

ChurchPro seemed over complex for our needs.

Kathy

Non-Profit Organization Management, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed December 2022

Sounds Great, poor accounting functionality

There is no ticketing system in place. You can report a problem; they may even fix it. You would never know unless you test the system. No update notes to follow. No user group - so they believe they have a good product.

PROS

Contributions are easy to track and report on. The software is relatively easy to use. I can keep a simple Chart-of-Accounts and use Tags, allowing more detailed reports as needed.

CONS

Even many basic accounting functions are missing: Default Expense Codes for Vendors; Contributions do not post in detail at the GL level; it's hard to drill down and find out where the transaction came from. If there is a NSF check; you have to enter it 2 times; once in GL and once is the Contribution module otherwise the detailed contribution report will not match the general ledger. The software does not post journal entries as entered. It batch totals cash account lines, making it impossible to reconcile to cash: example Payroll when you have some people getting direct deposit and others a check. Support is useless. I have to figure out my own work-arounds for accounting transactions. They don't understand the basics. You can't print a comparative financial report: This Year vs Last Year.

Reasons for switching to Aplos

We changed from QB because of the lack of fund accounting. The accountants that did our install did a poor job and we struggled with QB. We maxed out our COA. But the accounting functionality and reporting was much better.

Bonelle

Accounting, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2021

Aplos is great

The Fund Accounting is most helpful for the churches I help. The monthly reports are great to send to my clients so they can see where their money goes and how much they take in. On some clients, the WePay feature is great for online donations going right into Aplos. I love being able to message Aplos right from the client's account with questions.

PROS

The ease of use is best and the access to help in a timely matter.

CONS

You can't set up Vendors with a specific Account # like in QuickBooks.

Reasons for switching to Aplos

QuickBooks doesn't work well for Non-profit and Fund accounting.

Tracy

Religious Institutions, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2022

Life Made Uncomplicated

When it comes to a business like APLOS it is all about service and they shine in this area. Wish more of our friends would give them a try and break the Quick Books strangle hold on them.

PROS

Fantastic Support and training available. Staff is quick to respond and worked with us to resolve any questions or issues. Easy to get started website maker that gave our site a professional appearance relatively easy and has substantial flexibility out of the box. Reporting is a big selling point...many reports and lots of filters that allow for detailed customization.

CONS

Not having a larger number of initial users allowed under the basic package.

Reason for choosing Aplos

Price, depth of functionality and real Fund Accounting mentality

William

Religious Institutions, 2-10 employees

Used monthly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed June 2020

Very Difficult and Complicated, With Poor Tech Support

Not good. I need help, and the support never provides help that works.

PROS

Had potential for non-profits vs QuickBooks

CONS

Bank integration does not work. I've used QuickBooks for non-profits, with integration that works fine. In Aplos, what shows up in Aplos doesn't match what the banks say. Tech support answers fairly quickly, however, they come up with all kinds of solutions that don't work. And different people will offer a different solution. None of them work. Then they drop it leaving me hanging. I may go back to QuickBooks which once you get a few words down (business terms vs non-profit) it is actually quite easy, and more dependable.

Reason for choosing Aplos

I believed the Aplos advertising, and the trial offer of a low price.

Reasons for switching to Aplos

I believed the Aplos advertising that their app is so much better. It isn't.

Vendor Response

Hi William! Thank you for your feedback, and I'm sorry to hear of the trouble you've had concerning bank integration. You also mentioned using QuickBooks instead, so if you don't mind I'll briefly speak to both. QuickBooks creates and maintains its own bank integration feature, whereas Aplos has a partnership with Plaid and Finicity, which are industry leaders in the space. Plaid and Finicity both connect with the financial institutions and pass the information back to Aplos. We have very little control over the information received. However, we do have a great relationship with both partners, and consistently work with them on improving the experience for our customers. As for using QuickBooks, this may be a better fit if you do not need Fund Accounting and donor management. Our Customer Success Director, Alex Acree, will be reaching out personally to help troubleshoot the bank integration issues you're seeing. If you have any other questions or feedback please let us know.

Replied June 2020

Lisa

Religious Institutions, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2021

An excellent accounting program for Churches!

PROS

I have been using Quickbooks for our church for many years. It does not handle funds accounting or tracking of giving very well. I was so happy to have found Aplos! It is a true funds accounting program and tracks giving seamlessly! It is a robust program that I believe excels where Quickbooks falls behind. I highly recommend it!

CONS

No real cons so far. When members split their giving between multiple purposes, I'd like to be able to add them without having to add another row.

Reason for choosing Aplos

Aplos is a much more robust funds accounting program than Churchtrac.

Reasons for switching to Aplos

Quickbooks is not a true funds accounting program

Jennifer

Non-Profit Organization Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2021

Great Software Great Support

PROS

User friendly, provides fund accounting, integrated online giving, and customer service is great.

CONS

I would like to see some more report features

Reason for choosing Aplos

Aplos provided fund accounting

Reasons for switching to Aplos

Recommended by our Foursquare national office

Julie

Non-Profit Organization Management, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2022

Great Experience

We have a positive experience with Aplos

PROS

The Aplos software has served us well the 10 months we have been using it. It allows us to use the fund accounting process for our church. It is user friendly, customer service has been quick to answer our questions, and reporting options are easy to read/understand. Aplos offers training which proves to be helpful.

CONS

We are still within our learning curve for the Aplos software.

Reasons for switching to Aplos

The old software was cumbersome, did not use fund accounting, and did not produce helpful reports that were easy for our board to read.

Leia

Non-Profit Organization Management, 2-10 employees

Used monthly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed April 2021

Working with Vince

Please see the PROS comment. [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] WAS THE BOMB!

PROS

The software is pretty easy to use for the most part. But what made it even better was the fact that [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] literally helped assist me with some features in my books I wasn't sure of. I was so confused, and he was SO PATIENT! I love being connected to great customer service and overall great people!

CONS

I hate that I have reconnect my bank account on a monthly basis

Reasons for switching to Aplos

Quickbooks has terrible customer service and was not intuitive!

Patty

Religious Institutions, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2018

Aplos far out performs its competition

Overall, this is the best software for the money and I highly recommend it both for the product and the customer service.

PROS

The set up and functionality of the software is wonderfully easy. I've been using it for a little over a year and the security of having it all online and not having to worry about backups or workstation failures is great. Report flexibility is fantastic. I can create any report for any time period with ease. The customer service people are generally very helpful and on the rare occasion that a question doesn't get answered, the second attempt is always successful. But, it's rare to have to call back.

CONS

The only problem is that the donor statements are not posted from any screen other than the contributions screen. You cannot effect the donor statement from A/R, A/P or AJE's. You must then prepare a deposit and mark it to NOT post to the system. While this is a small inconvenience, it is not highlighted in the tutorials and takes a couple head scratching hours to figure out when first using the software. Once understood, it's a simple workaround.

Sharon

Non-Profit Organization Management, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2022

Training is Key

I really like the APLOS software and it has been very instrumental in helping me get our finances uncontrol as well as to see what is needed financially.

PROS

I like the fact that the checkbook register, banking information, letter writing, fundraising campaign and donation tracking is in the same software. The software is easy to use especially if you already know what you are doing. Integration was easy for us because we already was using APLOS.

CONS

I don't like that you can't deleted or change charts of accounts once created. I don't think there are products that are difficult to use but just the person knowing what to do. I didn't have to bring our information from another software, I just had to add it to APLOS.

Reason for choosing Aplos

After purchasing APLOS software and using it for years, I decide to purchase Network for Good to go along with our APLOS product. The things that I thought Network for Good has that APLOS didn't . I realize that APLOS offered more and I cancelled the contract with Network for Good. I thought that they could help me with connecting to potential donor.

Brandon

Religious Institutions, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2017

Perfect Solution For A Church Plant

Starting a new church comes with a lot of tasks for a small group of people that are typically spread out between many in larger churches. We didn't have anyone with professional accounting experience, and we didn't need anything complicated to start out. Aplos was the perfect solution! They offered us a discount as a church plant, and got us moving in the right direction. Now four years into the process, Aplos has grown with us. We have been able to easily add others to the account management, add new funds and new features as we have grown, and the customer service has been quick and helpful whenever we have needed it. Some things I like best: *easy to use *the "dashboard" gives a quick read on finances at a glance *fund-based accounting makes it easy to track various donations *customer service is excellent *cloud-based design makes access easy from anywhere Things I would like to see improved: *I would love to be able to integrate payroll with Aplos *Report can be customized, but not always as much as we would like Overall, this is an excellent product for the value and I would recommend it to anyone starting out.

PROS

Ease of use Fund-based accounting Cloud-based design Scalable Excellent customer support

CONS

Wish it included payroll integration Would like to be able to customize reports more

Brian

Religious Institutions, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2017

Great Church Software with wonderful customer service

We have been very satisfied with Aplos as our main accounting software. The customer service has been top notch and many of our suggestions about improving the software have been implemented into new versions. Hoping for a more robust Contacts module (email, texting, more information tracking) in the future!

PROS

Its online. Multiple user access. Great reporting. Easy to use. Great customer service.

CONS

The Contacts module is very limited - would be great to have more contact management tools (email, texting, grouping, tracking) so that we wouldn't have to have a separate software for that. Other software was somewhat disappointing - hasn't always worked correctly and a bit confusing on how it integrates with Aplos.

April

Religious Institutions, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2020

The Aplos Advantage

Our church accounting is much more efficient with Aplos. It is easy to set up and use. I'm able to keep track of multiple accounts with ease. Two of us use the software almost daily and have never had any issues or hiccups.

PROS

I love that this software is cloud based. All entries are automatically saved and easy to correct or delete. Because it is "in the cloud" I can access from anywhere.

CONS

Instead of using accounting terminology, they use simpler words or methods. It all makes sense, but I had to get used to words such as tags and purposes.

Reasons for switching to Aplos

Easier to use and great tech support.

Vendor Response

Thank you, April, for the review! We are happy to hear that you like our product and our tech support.

Replied August 2020

Priscilla

Religious Institutions, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2017

Best customer support ever!

I have been very happy with Aplos Accounting and have used for over 4 years now. My favorite thing about Aplos is the customer support. The Aplos team is easy to reach by phone and have always been willing to help answer questions, give suggestions and solve problems no matter how much time it takes. It's nice to talk to a real person and not to have to email the question and wait for a reply back. Thank you Aplos team for your help over the last 4 years!!!

PROS

Easy to use and Tech support.

CONS

It's hard to think of something but a couple times I have wanted certain items on a report that I couldn't get.

Gregory

Religious Institutions, 1 employee

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY