BasicFunder Software Reviews

BasicFunder Software Reviews

Find out more:

FrontRunners 2017

Find out more:

User Review Highlights

Overall Rating

4.61

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5

Customer Support

5

Value for money

5

Functionality

4.5

  • icon"The customer service we've received from BasicFunder has been FANTASTIC. They are always very helpful in answering our questions and expanding the program to meet our needs."
  • icon"Mostly I love the software program and recommend it. The customer support is very helpful and always willing to take the time to explain."
  • icon"Easy to use for general computer users. OUTSTANDING CUSTOMER SUPPORT."
  • icon"Some of the reports are difficult to figure out how to produce - if it is not a common report."
  • icon"Queries of specific information wanted is sometimes confusing."
  • icon"While you may not need to send things often to Microsoft Word, when you do, it exports things in RichText format. This will be frustrating to some."

Browse all BasicFunder Reviews

  • Have you used BasicFunder and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a Review

Apply Filters:

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

Showing 1 - 25 of 33 reviews

Anonymous

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

April 2018

An amazing software for nonprofits that allows you to manage events while

Pros

Basic Funder is a great software for events needing registration as well as ticket sales. Not only does it offer these great features but it collects information and gives you data for the funds you have made.

Cons

I didn't find anything I disliked about basic funder! I would recommend to anyone in the nonprofit field.

Response from Jellyware

Thank you fro the review. Event management is not a primary feature of BasicFunder but it is a simple tool to assist in registration and administration of an event.

Replied May 2018

Bill

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

January 2012

Bang for the buck!

BasicFunder is a very capable product. It offers an intuitive inferface and it's its very easy to use. Jellyware continually adds imporvements to the software and bugs are repaired as soon as they're spotted. Support has been exemplary. When you think about it, what more do you need? Consider BasicFunder.

Pros

I'm sure there are development software packages available with many more features and likely more capable of serving the needs of really large non-profits, but they are exponentially more expensive than BasicFunder and much more complicated to implement and use. If you're a non-profit operating on a small budget, with a small staff, then you should really consider BasicFunder. It s inexpensive, but not cheap. It's a sound product that does everything I've asked of it and frankly it's capable of doing more than we really need. It's constantly updated and continually improved. There have already been 3 updates in 2012 to add new features and fix bugs! Despite an inexpensive annual maintenance fee, technical support is great. I haven't had many problems, but when I have Walter has been prompt, courteous and thoroughly knowledgeable. Finally it s easy to use. I can teach a volunteer to enter donations in a matter of minutes. Even more complex tasks are easy to learn.

Cons

I'm sure there are limitations; why else would other donor management software packages be so much more expensive. For a small non-profit like ours, with a small staff and a small budget, Basicfunder works very well.

Ellyn

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

September 2014

Intuitive, User-Friendly Nonprofit Database

When we created our first nonprofit organization six years ago, we needed a simple donor-based system that would be easy to learn and use. A friend recommended BasicFunder, highly praising it for offering everything needed at a low price. I tried it out and found that it did indeed give me everything I needed in a database. In fact, it helped me become more organized and shaped the way I corresponded with our growing group of donors. Whenever I ran into an issue that didn't offer an immediate, intuitive solution, I found the user's manuel well-written and informative, and, if that didn't help, a quick call to friendly customer service always provided my solution within the hour. If I could change anything about the system, it would be to add more flexibility to the letter writing function. There is no way (to my knowledge) to save drafts of letters, or PDFs of processed letters onto the computer. You must copy the text and paste into an email or word doc if you want to send it to someone other than the recipient. (Which sometimes comes up when you need something edited or proofread, or if you want to save a processed letter for future reference outside of the database.) The graphic designer in me would also prefer a larger selection of fonts, and the ability to insert photos into the letters. One other down side is that I am normally a Mac user, and hoped that a Mac-compatible version of BasicFunder would one day be released. But I must say that this hasn't stopped me from using the program. It is so affordable for the organization and easy to use that I have installed software on my Mac to be able to switch to the PC operating system. When we started to have people from different states using the same database, we thought we might have to switch to an expensive web-based program instead. But the Basic Data Safe feature allows us to save changes off-site so that other users can download those changes from wherever they are. This, too, is quite affordable at one cent a day. Overall I have been very satisfied with this program and would recommend it to any nonprofit with typical needs.

Response from Jellyware

Yes - you can save drafts of letters and PDFs to the hard drive!!! The Print Dialog - where you can select a printer - also allows you to save the report (ie letter or any report) to File. The you have the option of what kind of file. PDF, Spreadsheet, Document. There is even a check box to Open File after save. On Print to file you could open it up immediately and edit it.

Replied September 2014

Fraser

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

January 2012

Basic Funder Fits the Bill!

As a smaller United Way, we were looking for a cost effective, yet powerful tracking tool for our donations and receipts one that would move us away from the basic and cumbersome Access database system we had been using for a number of years. Basic Funder certainly fit the bill, and more! The system allows very easy tracking of donations, and the effective creation of receipts. We wanted the ability to generate a more appropriate thank you letter, to go with the receipt, and are pleased with what we are able to do. The report-generating feature also assists in generating details for our accounting software of specific donations, and other reports. This feature rich product, coupled with the outstanding support package, makes it ideal for us would not hesitate to recommend Basic Funder to other non-profit and charitable organizations.

Pros

- ease of operation - ease of install - clean interface - clear manual - easy to use for general computer users - OUTSTANDING CUSTOMER SUPPORT!! Should be 6 stars! - Any issues/questions addressed quickly - response times are excellent, and answers are detailed and effective - product offers generous customization features, in many areas. - excellent value for cost of acquisition - ability to e-mail from within the program, i.e. PDFs of receipts

Cons

- some actions are not as intuitive as they could be, but this is a very minor concern - only reason it did not get a 5-star rating. - would be nice to have some more flexibility in some areas - however, any suggestions for improvements are acted on, and implemented quickly (only reason it did not get a 5-star rating for that catagory)

Robin

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

November 2016

CDVPC - Choices

The Basic funder program is top - notch. We have been using it for years. The Customer support is superb! There is always a quick response to questions and a friendly voice to guide me through my experience! I would highly recommend this easy to use program to anyone looking to track donors

Pros

ease of use. Customer support! Thank you letters are easy to do! LOVE the program

Cons

Queries of specific information wanted is sometimes confusing.

Response from Jellyware

Thank you!

Replied January 2017

Amy

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Civic & Social Organization

Time used: More than 2 years

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

July 2017

Great Product - Great Price

Recommend this product for any small non-profit!

Pros

Basic Funder is very easy to get started with. We have been using it for over 5 years and find it very easy to work with. We are a small non-profit, so the cost was a big factor - we don't feel we've "given up" anything - and the support is very responsive!

Cons

The "in memory" and "in honor of" letters and notifications are a little awkward in that you have to set up each honoree individually and link to recipient. Once you figure it out, it's easy!

Tom

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

January 2017

Hard to live without

BasicFunder has the flexibility and built-in-intelligence to understand our development and fundraising needs. Off the shelf, it provides a robust platform for gathering and managing data and transforming that data into meaningful information. When there are questions or issues, BasicFunder staff are very quick to respond. The program is easy to use, but I would encourage new users to be sure that they understand the underlying logic of the database before entering too much information. The program comes with a sample database so you can play without damaging any data.

Pros

robust, ability to customize reports, fields that are intelligent to the real world (I don't have to shoe-horn data into obscure or wrongly-titled fields), quick support

Cons

This is necessarily a complex software, so it takes some 'playing' to understand it. This isn't a fault of the software'just a bit of a learning curve that is inherent in data management for fundraising.

Mary

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

July 2017

Wonderful!!!!!!! We Love It!! You cannot go wrong purchasing this software.

Able to enter and retrieve information very, very quickly. Reports didn't take too long to learn, the manual is a great help. IN Honor & IN MEMORY setup is much better. Not as many screens to go through to just enter name, address etc. Being a non-profit of home delivered meals we are able to quickly enter what we need.

Pros

Very, Very easy to learn and use and the cost is unbelievable, soooooo much cheaper than others and better to work with. Support is wonderful also.

Cons

The "edit" button on the pages and the red " Delete the currently selected User Created List". right under the Preview & Export tab in User created lists under reports. In the setup for Honor and Memory you cannot use an apostrophe. But so much better even with these cons, you can deal with it no problem.

Amber

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

June 2018

BasicFunder has fantastic customer service.

Pros

The customer service we've received from BasicFunder has been FANTASTIC. They are always very helpful in answering our questions and expanding the program to meet our needs.

Cons

Some of the functions are a bit complicated and confusing. Sometimes, reports have to be run a very precise way or it will give you the wrong numbers.

Shirley

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

August 2017

I used BasicFunder to set up our Development office 6 yrs. ago and it has served me well ever since

It's useful and affordable.

Pros

It's relatively easy to use and when I don't understand something, your support service is readily available.

Cons

There are features on BasicFunder that I still don't use because I don't really know what they're for or how to use them. I guess I need a refresher.

Christine

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

January 2017

BasicFunder is an excellent product.

BasicFunder is easy to navigate and the support is superior! Every time, I needed to create a spreadsheet report, Customer Support has provided easy step by step instructions.

Pros

Ease of navigation Great support!

Cons

No cons.

Daniel

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

January 2012

Investment Worthy

I highly recommend this program.

Pros

This program is simple and packed fully of powerful tools for a reasonable price. After initially setting up the program, I was able to show others how to enter contributions and produce receipts and reports in very quick order. I have installed the program for our church and a volunteer pregnancy care center. I have recommended to two other firms. This is not a bookkeeping program like QuickBooks, it is a donation receipting and volunteer tracking program. It allows you to track and reports on donations by donors, events, funds, appeals, etc. It does what QuickBooks non-profit version cannot and will not do. The program does interact directly with QuickBooks posting financial information in either summary or detail. BasicFunder gives us the reports needed. And the customer support gets a 5-Star rating (Thanks to Walter). I highly recommend BasicFunder for churches and para-church organizations.

Cons

While you may not need to send things often to Microsoft Word, when you do, it exports things in RichText format. This will be frustrating to some.

Response from Jellyware

Thank you for the review.

Replied January 2012

Debbie

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

May 2017

Once I had help with some of the set up, I love this program

Pros

The reports that are able to be produced. Mostly I love the software program and recommend it. The customer support is very helpful and always willing to take the time to explain.

Cons

Some of the reports are difficult to figure out how to produce - if it is not a common report. But this may also have been easier for other people.

Response from Jellyware

Our built-in "common" reporting is very easy as you said. Just select the report, date range and filtering you want. These are all point and click. Debbie, you are referring to our ad hoc - User Created Lists - where you build your own by specify the fields and criteria to select the records to make your own special report. Yes - it can take a bit of time to understand the data and structure in order to use this function easily. Thank you for the review!!

Replied May 2017

Ashley

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

June 2018

Best Tracker for Volunteers!

Pros

We use this product for our volunteer database. It allows us to keep track of volunteer hours, events, and their personal information. It is so easy to make a group and contact that group of volunteers for a certain event. Direct mail is our best friend for saving time when it comes to getting information out.

Cons

I use this product a few times a week, and I have no complaints! It is a great addition to our non-profit!

Bob

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

February 2015

Basic Funder Review

We have been using BasicFunder for a little over 4 months. The data migration was almost painless. There are always a few hiccups of things that need tweaking after importing from another system. The support has been the best I've seen for any product. Always get back to you same day sometimes within minutes. They make customizations for you almost instantly. The product does more than most similar products and at an affordable price! If it doesn't do what you want they will make sure it does. The interface takes a bit of getting use to as you can tell its designed by a programmer but it has all the features we need and has automated some things like generating month end fund reports. It creates multiple files automatically which is ideal for non profits that need to send a fund report to fund managers. Great Product and superb support!

Response from Jellyware

Bob: We are not finished yet.. we will work harder to improve out user interface and user experience. Thank you for your insight and kind remarks.

Replied February 2015

Danielle

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

August 2014

Basic Funder Ease of Use

In having never worked with a software program that centered around fund raising before, I wasn't sure what to expect. At first it seemed like a lot to take in, but as I learned how to use the features on Basic Funder, I have become very pleased with this program. I am able to enter in the pledges, assign the donor to a group and have the banking even labeled as to where the funds have been allotted to. I use the reports in multiple fields to cross reconcile and check for errors from the data entry level. I haven't used the excel spread sheets yet, however, I have printed reports on my donors by their donation amounts and have been able to better communicate with them based on their donations amounts and the frequency of their giving, which can be all tracked. There is still a lot for me to learn about Basic Funder, as I am certain that there are more features that I could use that would better serve my purposes. Overall I am very pleased with this program.

Lori

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

January 2012

User Review

I would recommend (and have) to any non-profit organization that wants complete information on their donor base and outreach to buy this product for its functionality and ease of use.

Pros

Customer Support is direct access to the program's designer, complete full answers, solutions and friendly. The database is easy to learn to use and has many functions built in. It is limitless (or so it seems) in the number of donors you can have in the database. Reports are quick and can include a lot of information. There are tools for analysis and statistics and many other functions. The letters to donors are completely customizable and changes are very simple.

Cons

There is nothing bad about this product that I can think of.

Response from Jellyware

Your organization was one of our first customers, it's hard to believe is has been 10+ years!

Replied January 2012

Louis

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

January 2012

Basic funder review

A very good program with a lot of potential. I look forward to working with Basic Funder. I thank Walter for the excellent support and progarm.

Pros

The program is easy to use and enhancements are made to make the program that much better. The customer support is fantastic with help just a phone call away. The screen is visually appealing and easy to navigate.Reports are what we want and need. Other reports can be created easily. We have used the program for two diocesan appeals and I am still learning new features that will help get the job done faster.

Cons

There is not much that I can say that is negative. When i have asked for support it was provided. When I needed enhancements they were made.

Sharon

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

August 2014

Great Software for Charities

We chose Basic Funder because it seemed to have all we needed to track the donations for our charity at a reasonable price. When I started working with it, I realized it had the potential to do so much more than I even needed! Though sometimes I think the program is a bit too congested in the amount of information on the screen, once you are used to what you have to do, it's very easy to input. I also LOVE that the entries can be uploaded into QuickBooks so no more double entries!! Support is always available with a quick phone call, and Walter is very knowledgeable and helpful. He will not stop until a solution is found and he believes that you understand how to continue on.

Joe

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

September 2014

BasicFunder comes out on top

In my review of various software applications which would allow our small non-profit organization to track donations, I discovered BasicFunder which did the job for us in three important ways: 1) BasicFunder was easy to use and very straightforward to set up; 2) I found an energetic user of this software at another non-proit who confirmed what I discovered; 3) this software was far less expensive than other software I had reviewed. After purchasing this software for our organization I urged another non-profit with which I'm associated to seriously consider this software and they did purchase BasicFunder also. Keep up the good work!

Dawn

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

November 2014

Happy Customer:)

We have been using Basic Funder for over 7 years now and it keeps getting better and better. All of our donor information is accessible in one place, and we can run reports for every type of data/information required. Being multi-user is great for us as a staff team with our previous database only one person could open it and work on it at a time. The customer support is really excellent; several times we have requested additional functionality and it has been added. Basic Funder is great value for money, it integrates with other programmes which is very helpful and it does everything we need it to.

Diana

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT