OneCause Software Reviews

OneCause Software Reviews

Find out more:

FrontRunners 2021

Find out more:

User Review Highlights

Overall Rating

4.67

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5

Customer Support

4.5

Value for money

4.5

Functionality

4.5

  • icon"This platform allows everything to be in one place and is appealing and ease to use on the front end for donors and participants."
  • icon"The event page is very pleasant to look at and has everything in one place. There are also many ways for people to donate and provide money to the organization."
  • icon"I love how intuitive the entire process is to set up and run an event. And the reports are awesome."
  • icon"At times it was clunky and users had a hard time getting logged in."
  • icon"I found the page design section very difficult to manage and frustrating. It should be more user friendly."
  • icon"Customer support the day of event was difficult to get in touch with which caused much anxiety."

All OneCause Reviews

1-25 of 280 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Terri

Company size: 51 - 200 employees

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

August 2021

Good Option for Mobile Bidding

User Profile

Christal

Verified reviewer

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

July 2020

Great Auction Softward

They are great with online auctions, they help give you insight and ideas to help you reach your goal

Pros

Customer service is great and friendly. They are knowledgeable and help you succeed. Quick responses anytime I had a question.

Cons

I wish they had a built in duplicate checker for donors who register twice. You have to run a report that shows you duplicates but it would be nice to check for duplicates without running a report.

Reasons for choosing OneCause

price of product

Reasons for switching to OneCause

More control over the auction site and price of product

Response from OneCause (formerly BidPal)

Christal, Thank you so much for taking the time to share a review for us! We are grateful to be able to help support #FearlessFundraisers like you advance your cause. Fundraise on!

Replied July 2020

Susannah

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Civic & Social Organization

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

October 2022

Overall ease and functionality

OneCause support was extremely helpful and responsive, which I appreciated. Overall this is a great product that is easy for both attendees and admins to use!

Pros

I liked how easy it was to save credit cards and log guests in at registration. Being able to start bidding with just the click of a link in their text messages was great.

Cons

I wish each auction item generated an QR code i could print and put on our physical display sheets for people to scan. Also, the scoreboard is limited and ugly. Wish there were options for customization without paying more. And finally, I would have loved for it to directly integrate with our CRM but exports were easy enough.

Reasons for choosing OneCause

Give butter is free and user friendly, but it didn’t have auction capabilities yet. Considering other platforms, OneCause was the least expensive for the most amount of features.

Reasons for switching to OneCause

Mobile bidding was clunky and hard for guests to use with Qgiv.

Elizabeth

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

April 2021

It'll Get the Job Done

I would say that overall the end-user experience has been good with minimal complaints and confusion. The back-end for these systems is very confusing and takes a lot of technology understanding, Googling, calling the help center, and trial and error. There was a lot of frustration in our office as we navigated setting up the system (both years, because we unfortunately had to learn an entirely new system this year from the one we learned last year). I am so glad the events went well and the end-users were pleased with the experience, but the set-up was definitely hard to navigate. I hope the new VEC is more set-up friendly, and will integrate more of the OneCause products into one location.

Pros

The end-user experience was seamless and fairly easy to navigate. Our donors were impressed and excited about the interactivity and the ability to participate in the silent auction and get reminders right on their phones. We hosted an event last year in-person and used the Mobile Bidding Software for our silent auction, and our revenue was significantly increased because of the engagement. We then used the Virtual Event Software for an entirely virtual event this year including a silent and live auction and appeal. The engagement was great, and our live auction went far better than expected.

Cons

The fact that the Mobile Bidding Software (MBS) and the Virtual Event Center (VEC) do not integrate and the VEC was still under construction make it hard to leave a review for what I liked least. But in terms of the MBS; the software is not very intuitive and there are a lot of areas where I didn't like having to duplicate my process (like in the item vs. package). The reports you could run at the end using the MBS were really helpful, but the VEC had hardly any options for reporting and we had to create a lot of our own reports, which was incredibly time consuming. The lack of ticketing functionality in the VEC led us to use the MBS for ticketing only and then we had to comp every single ticket individually because the VEC did not allow us to upload a csv file for all of our comped tickets. There are a lot of pieces that can be improved in the VEC but they are planning to improve them as they continue to build the software. More knowledge about the system in the "help center" and "knowledge bank" would have been really great.

Reasons for choosing OneCause

The cost was very affordable and the system provided the tools we needed and worked well with our Donor Management System at the time.

Response from OneCause (formerly BidPal)

Thank you for your review, Elizabeth! We're so glad to hear your event went even better than expected. Happy to be partnered with you!

Replied April 2021

Mikayla

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Fund-Raising

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

December 2020

Absolutely seamless software and such a game changer for our non-profit!

I cannot fathom maneuvering the pandemic as a non-profit without the use of OneCause, much less any other year. We incorporated it into every single virtual event and in-person event and were able to stay financially stable thanks to its use. We actually surpassed our budgeting goals for the year and had the most successful mobile bidding gala silent auction in the Zoos history. We look forward to using OneCause for many years to come!

Pros

OneCause, including their mobile bidding, peer-to-peer and online giving platforms, has absolutely set the standard for fundraising software for the best price. The software has been invaluable to our non-profit, paying for itself after a single event. Our team seamlessly incorporated each platform into our in-person and virtual events with ease. The mobile bidding software is not only a breeze for administrators to create and manage from the back end, but we have received countless compliments from users/guests as to its ease of use. Even older audiences were able to easily navigate the auction, donate and even set bots/watch different packages. The peer-to-peer platform was unreal. Not only does it have the best aesthetics and options for design, it's seamless in its reporting and analytics. Our peer-to-peer Walk was praised for being a interactive, exciting way to build networks and fundraise for the Zoo for an extended period of time. We cannot stress the effectiveness of this software enough!

Cons

There is truly so little that we dislike about OneCause. Our customer support contacts were so easy to reach, communicate with and work through any dilemma with. Our only "wish list" item for OneCause's mobile bidding software is simply to be able to categorize fixed price packages. That's all we can think of to improve the platform, which speaks strides of its excellence.

Reasons for choosing OneCause

OneCause has superior aesthetics and their staff were significantly better to work with. We had an unprofessional interaction with Classy staff that put a bad taste in our mouth.

Reasons for switching to OneCause

OneCause is more affordable and offers a better experience for the administrators on the back end and guests/users. Reports/CSV files also seamlessly download and upload into our donor database, DonorPerfect.

Response from OneCause (formerly BidPal)

What a helpful review, Mikayla! Thank you so much for your kind words and for your partnership. Fundraise on!

Replied April 2021

Spring

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

2

November 2022

Feedback

For the cost, there should be an option for in person communication. The training videos are outdated. Considering the amount of time that the sales person spent with us, we expected the help team to do the same.

Pros

Can be used by multiple teammatesTexting capabilitiesSilent auction functionality

Cons

Not easy to explain with the team. Very time consuming. For the cost, it should also include all donations, not just silent auction. Other platforms include it all for less money.

Reasons for choosing OneCause

The salesperson did a nice job explaining how the platform would meet our needs

Sheena

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Fund-Raising

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

April 2022

User friendly and a must-have for large events

While the community was sure it wouldn't work for them, it did! The ease of bidding from anywhere you are and sharing the items with friends and family near and far is extremely beneficial. Our auction proceeds have nearly doubled since we started using Onecause to its full capacity.

Pros

I love the max-bids function. We try to push this out to our constituents so that they can attend and enjoy the evening without worrying about getting outbid.

Cons

Three suggestions: Be able to select who has to enter a credit card to bid and who doesn't. As a school we know almost everyone attending and some of our parents prefer not to enter a credit card up front. While some attendees are not known to us and requiring a credit card would be a must. Secondly, allowing for more than one photo upload would be great. The added URL option is wonderful, but it's sometimes not easy to find photos of items online, especially if they are one of a kind. Another suggestion: We use the Auction Catalogue as our displays at the event. It would be really great to single page display option for items that need to be highlighted. A larger picture or event logo at the top would add to it.

Reasons for choosing OneCause

It was mostly the UI and ease of access. The reporting was also a big selling point. The look off the bidding websites are top-notch.

Reasons for switching to OneCause

Auction tracker only offered paper bid sheets and the UI was not nearly as easy as Bidpal.

Response from OneCause (formerly BidPal)

We are so glad to be partnered with your cause, Sheena. Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with a review. We are happy to hear that our software provides a user-friendly experience and has allowed your proceeds to grow.

Replied April 2022

Anonymous

Company size: 11-50 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

3

March 2021

OneCause for peer-to-peer fundraising

We use OneCause to support our peer-to-peer fundraising campaign.

Pros

OneCause is easy to set up, and easy to understand. Configuration is straightforward and can be done by someone with minimal tech skills.

Cons

Using OneCause - as an administrator or end user - is unintuitive. The design is poor and users receive unintelligible error messages. It really doesn't inspire confidence in the platform, which is pretty bad when you're trying to convince people to share their fundraising pages with others.

Reasons for switching to OneCause

OneCause offers an integration with Salesforce, which was necessary for us at the time we switched.

Response from OneCause (formerly BidPal)

We love hearing we could help support your peer-to-peer fundraising. We're constantly adding enhancements to create the best user experience possible - thank you for your input!

Replied April 2021

Justin

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Food & Beverages

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

November 2022

Proves Tools for Success

OneCause has been an overall positive addition to our fundraising toolkit. They provide immediate support when needed.

Pros

OneCause provides the tools including a knowledge base and customer success managers to ensure your event goes off without a hitch.

Cons

The OneCause software is split between BidPal and P2P. The P2P is a lot more modern and has a sleek design. The BidPal software could greatly benefit from an upgrade with a more intuitive and user-friendly backend.

Reasons for switching to OneCause

The customer service for OneCause has been extraordinary. They take the anxiety out of an event by making sure we are on track for success every step of the way from the first to the final gift.

MaryEllen

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

October 2022

Worth the purchase

Pros

Customer service is key and I have been more than satisfied with the chat feature and the representatives I've spoken to. Ease of reporting is also a plus.

Cons

The color choices for customizing the event pages should offer the ability to change the secondary color. Only the option to change the primary color. I also wish there was an option of displaying the guest list to the public if necessary.

Reasons for switching to OneCause

Customer servie and ease of reporting. One Cause also offers many more ticketing features such as limiting the amount of tickets to be sold, etc.

Renea

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2022

First Time User

My overall experience was excellent. The online bidding made my job much more simple.

Pros

The software was very user friendly once I got the hang of it. It made our event go very smoothly.

Cons

The only complaints I had from users was the logging in process as this was something new to a lot of our audience.

Reasons for choosing OneCause

I was recommended by a previous user and OneCause was able to work with me to meet my needs.

Stella

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

July 2022

OneCause User

I like using OneCause because it is easy to manage and easy to train people on. I love working with the OneCause staff online and most especially on site. The OneCause support staff is knowledgeable and promptly responds to questions or needs. The onsite staff is very friendly and work really hard to provide us with feedback on how best to maximize the features of the platform. They make recommendations but make sure they know who the client is and not overstep their bounds.

Pros

I have used this platform in my previous job and I found it to be very easy to use, like the newly updated features i.e. sponsors able to send a unique invite link to their guests. Our events team was able to jump in and use it right away. I also like that disbursements are made the next day after the event and the financial reports are easy to use or download..

Cons

Not being able to upload images directly on the site. I have to use a dropbox link to store the images I use for the pages.

Reasons for choosing OneCause

Previous user and knows the benefits

Reasons for switching to OneCause

Bad service experience

Response from OneCause (formerly BidPal)

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us this review, Stella. We love hearing how our software was easy to use and seamless for your organization. So glad we get to partner with your cause.

Replied September 2022

Sean

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

June 2022

Great Event Processing

Pros

Above and beyond, OneCause's customer service is one of the main reasons to try this product. The customer service is readily available for any support large to small and responds to any inquiry with efficiency. OneCause is also a great platform for event payment processing - simple for donors and simple for staff.

Cons

The reports features could have more definitions/learning on which report pulls what. The registration/log-in for donors to the online giving could also be simplified - a few of our donors didn't want to go through a log-in process and just donate, but we couldn't figure out how to do that.

Response from OneCause (formerly BidPal)

Thank you for the thoughtful feedback, Sean. It is with the insight from customer's like you that we can continue to build upon our software capabilities. Thankful to get to partner with your cause.

Replied June 2022

Catherine

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

July 2021

Set up of Custom Pages

I have been very happy with the response from our representative. [SENSITIVE CONTENT] (new position) responded when I needed help. Also, I can't tell you how nice and helpful the tech support people have been for me. I could not have completed our auction without their support. Awesome job!

Pros

It is so nice to have registration, donations, and auction all at the same place and using the same platform. Seems that our users are pretty comfortable with it's use.

Cons

I wish you could just upload a document from your computer for custom pages. It's a bit cumbersome going to drop box. I'm not sure why that is especially since we're able to load auction photos from our own computer. I also think that the check boxes for auction featuring, etc. are a bit confusing. Not always intuitive with the enabling, etc. check boxes.

Reasons for choosing OneCause

Actually, we have years of history, so I'm not sure whether other platforms would offer the same or even better support.

Response from OneCause (formerly BidPal)

We love hearing how user-friendly our software was for your supporters! Thanks so much for your input, Catherine.

Replied October 2021

Jill

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

November 2022

Excellent product

We lost many in-person fundraising opportunities with Covid and this has been the perfect pivot. While first holding only virtual fundraisers, we have been able to do a hybrid one as well as a silent auction. Going forward, the hybrid option seems to be the best choice for us, as our members are worldwide and this can be open to every one of them.

Pros

During Covid, it was critical to pivot from in-person fundraising to virtual fundraising and I learned about OneCause from my son's school fundraiser. The program was easy to learn and we've progressed from virtual only to hybrid fundraising and also held a silent auction. We have converted another department to also use the program and had two different fundraisers happening at the same time.

Cons

Our members are international. My own department only works with members in the United States, but when bringing this to other departments in the company we ran into difficulties with members outside the U.S.; however customer support has been awesome and helps walk us through everything when these issues arise.

Reasons for choosing OneCause

We weren't sure where to start looking when the pandemic hit. Our children's school used OneCause for their fundraiser and when we reached out to those who set things up, everything we needed to do was possible and relatively easy to set up. As a bidder on their fundraiser and the administrator for ours, it was easy to set everything up and get running and also to make improvements each time.

Teresa

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY