All Fluxx Grantmaker Reviews

1-25 of 63 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Deb

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Banking

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra 

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

December 2017

Allows us to be responsive to both our grantees and staff and provide best possible experience.

Flexibility, better data collection and improved ability to query data, world wide access - I travel a lot but I can still administer the back end from anywhere in the world and have done so. It has caused staff to imagine more because we have been able to implement almost anything they have asked.

Pros

Flexibility to be responsive to staff and grantee needs, easily configurable. On simple customer support requests turn around time is excellent. Because of ongoing training we don't need a lot of support. My all time favorite part of Fluxx is the community where we share ideas, solutions and documentation. The community is knowledgeable and generous.

Cons

Customer support on design issues (things outside maintenance) turn around time can be very poor since Fluxx is growing so much. We have had only one request like that and by time they got to it we had developed our own solution which we actually like better than their proposed solition.

Marci

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra 

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

April 2022

Flexible Grants Management

Pros

What I like most about Fluxx is that changes to the live process or forms can be made on-the-fly. This is very helpful for us as a new foundation still iterating on really everything to do with our grantmaking cycle. Another thing I like is that the company really does listen to its user community, incorporating our ideas into their updates.

Cons

What I like least aboutFluxx is that it's capability is deep, but there isn't a good way to tap into all that is available. When we set up the system, the implementation folks map the Fluxx system to your current process without really sharing what is available/possible. So now that we are changing our processes, there could be features that we could use but we don't even know what is available. Also, there is a lot that can be done with liquid code, but if you aren't fluent in liquid, there really aren't any resources to help except for other users who are busy with their own jobs.

Reasons for choosing Fluxx Grantmaker

We selected Fluxx Grantmaker over the alternative products because of the promised integration with our accounting system. And, because we were a brand new foundation, we needed a system that was flexible because we knew our processes would change over the short-term.

Response from Fluxx

Dear Marci, thank you for your feedback and for being a valued member of the Fluxx community. Fluxx is a powerful tool that can grow with you, wherever that growth takes you. Your customer support team is here to guide you through the changes you should make to your system to best support your latest needs. Please contact them for help!

Replied May 2022

Adam

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Philanthropy

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra 

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

4

April 2022

Fluxx works

The system works best when it is in the background doing its job and doesn't require much energy or attention. For the most part, Fluxx meets that need.

Pros

Consistent performance, good uptime, simple data visualization and organization.

Cons

Complex upgrades, inconsistent customer support and engagement, overly complex in some areas.

Reasons for choosing Fluxx Grantmaker

Greater customization, seemed to be more robust at the time, had colleagues that were using.

Reasons for switching to Fluxx Grantmaker

Inadequate performance and service by Cybergrants.

Response from Fluxx

Dear Adam, thank you for your feedback and for being a valued member of the Fluxx community. We are hearing your concerns and are thriving to constantly improve our processes to get you the support you need. Please contact your customer success manager to explore ways other Fluxx users are leveraging to make their grantmaking easier.

Replied May 2022

Kimberleigh

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Philanthropy

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra 

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

April 2022

Incredible tools and functionality, lots of set up!

Pros

Fluxx is incredibly customizable. We were able to build and implement grant processes that reflect our values and the desired relationship we want to create with grantees and applicants, rather than needing to create workarounds based on an out-of-the-box or one-size-fits-all system. The connected data structure mirrors the relationship-oriented way we work and makes it very easy for members of our staff to move through the network of grantees and applications. Complex reporting tools are available and there are many features and integrations to experiment with and refine our processes so it can improve from year to year. Additionally, there is a strong Fluxx community to rely on with questions about those features or ways of maximizing the impact of Fluxx.

Cons

Shifting from an out-of-the-box GMS to Fluxx meant that we weren't prepared for the amount of work it would be to set up, build, and maintain Fluxx. Some back end tools like document and email templates require strong knowledge of liquid code. Staff members who are not fluent in Fluxx can't design their own reports, for example, because of how complex reporting in Fluxx is (the knowledge of backend field names is required, as well as understanding the relationships between models). Operating Fluxx, though it results in strong report, a flexible workflow, and lots of customization, is a heavier lift for the grants team and required new staff hires with past Fluxx experience. Additionally, the support team, though thoughtful and helpful in the moments when something goes wrong, is not available to brainstorm solutions, just solve problems. It would be helpful to be able to consult with someone inside of Fluxx when we have questions about new features or tools that could benefit us, rather than needing to seek that out from the community or pay for an additional contract.

Reasons for switching to Fluxx Grantmaker

We were seeking a system with greater customization and stronger reporting tools so that we could move away from working in shadow spreadsheets and towards a unified system for all grants data.

Response from Fluxx

Dear Kimberleigh, thank you for your feedback and for being a valued member of the Fluxx community. Please note that your customer success team is here to help you get all the value from your Fluxx GMS. They will guide you through steps you can take to adjust your configuration to your current needs that will change regularly. It actually one of the benefits of Fluxx: your system can grow with you, wherever that growth takes you.

Replied May 2022

Maheva

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Renewables & Environment

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra 

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

4

May 2022

Good grnt management tool but steep learning curve

Mostly positive. There is a great community that provide a lot of support and help in getting to learn the product. The product itself is very flexible and offer a lot of possibilities to custom it so that it fits our needs. However, it requires some time and energy to learn how to administrate it properly, especially when you are a small team (like ours)

Pros

This product is very flexible and offer a lot of opportunities to custome it if you have the skills and time for it

Cons

There is a steep learning curve. In addition, it is sometime necessary to re-adjust some settings after an product update release, which might be frustrating

Reasons for choosing Fluxx Grantmaker

Description of various features, flexibility to custom the product, opportuniyt to have a coprehenisve grant management system

Response from Fluxx

Dear Maheva, thank you for your feedback and for being a valued member of the Fluxx community. We are hearing your concerns and are thriving to constantly improve our processes to get you the support you need. If you have any issue, please contact your customer success manager to find a path to resolution.

Replied May 2022

Facoumba

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Philanthropy

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra 

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

May 2022

Reviewing my Fluxx

great experience

Pros

The design, online access, easy configuration, user friendly, integration, emails alerts,

Cons

reporting option, document edition and management

Reasons for choosing Fluxx Grantmaker

The reference check makes the difference ,Additionally Fluxx is being used by most of our partners

Reasons for switching to Fluxx Grantmaker

wanted a more transparent and collaborative tool an online plateform easy reporting and visualization

Response from Fluxx

Dear Facoumba, thank you for your feedback and for being a valued member of the Fluxx community. We are constantly adding new features and capabilities to address the most pressing needs our user community surfaces and are confident your concerns will be met in the near future. If you have any issue, please contact your customer success manager to find a path to resolution.

Replied May 2022

Kathleen

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra 

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

April 2022

Fluxx Grantmaker for Non-Profit Grantmaking

We open requests for proposals continuously throughout the year, and have about 200 active grants at any time. Fluxx is able to scale with our needs quite well. While building new functionality in Fluxx requires a technical learning curve, we've had good luck with Fluxx service support.

Pros

The degree of customization, as well as customer service and support for Fluxx are strong selling points.

Cons

Using the admin panel to customize Fluxx features requires a fair amount of training. I was worried about this initially, but found that Fluxx has several options to provide user training and/or consultation.

Reasons for switching to Fluxx Grantmaker

We needed more specialized grant management features than were available from Blackbaud.

Response from Fluxx

Dear Kathleen, thank you for your feedback and for being a valued member of the Fluxx community. If you need additional help for training our customer success team is here and happy to help

Replied May 2022

Stephen

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Philanthropy

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra 

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

May 2022

Super Flexible Grantmaking System

We have been able to streamline our operations considerably with Fluxx, so that our standard workflow can be operated by one person, and the quality of the generated reports taken to our Board is exceptional. The flexibility is so great that it can be a challenge to know when to stop refining processes! Having got to this stage, however, it means we can concentrate more on higher-level concerns like outcome reporting, equity issues, and community engagement.

Pros

The positive experience started from the beginning: the onboarding process. The onboarding team helped guide us through organising all the exported data from our old system and mapping it into the new structure. I learned that there is no "default" setup - everything was set up from scratch to match our desired workflow and existing data. As we have grown and needed to make changes to our grants programmes, we have customised Fluxx more and more to our particular needs. The majority of this we have been able to do ourselves or with the help of the active and helpful Fluxx community from around the world. There is a huge amount of knowledge and goodwill on the Fluxx community forum, there are local user groups, and an annual Fluxxcon conference. The Fluxx community is well supported by the company (dedicated member of staff) and by far the quickest way to get help when needed. Fluxx's Advanced Services team are available to take on bigger customisation projects, but we have not needed to use them (yet). Another stand-out for me about the product is that you can modify the system using (limited) lower-level coding in a reporting language called Liquid HTML, and its underlying language Ruby. This opens up possibilities for incredible customisation of reporting, workflow, external data access, and processing.

Cons

From the beginning I realised "there is no manual". Yes, there is documentation within the help-desk system and this is growing over time, but it tends to be task-based rather than actually describing the interface and what everything does. Support is sketchy at times. There is often better information and help from the rest of the global community than from the Helpdesk; over time, too many of my bug reports have gotten stuck at "With Engineering" and not resolved. Offsetting the support issues is the way that Fluxx provides levels of certification for users and admins, though online courses. These appear to be valuable conduits for product knowledge and good practice. Recently, Fluxx has locked down some of the things that we used to be allowed to do with Ruby programming within the system. Thankfully, they listened to users' voices and have allowed some more flexibility than they were planning, but the net effect has been that it takes some more time and effort to learn the programming environment and to implement features using it. The cost is quite considerable, about 1.5% of our granting budget. This could be prohibitive for grant-makers smaller than we are. We feel we get good value for this.

Response from Fluxx

Dear Stephen, thank you for your feedback and for being a valued member of the Fluxx community. We are hearing your concerns and are thriving to constantly improve our processes to get you the support you need.

Replied May 2022

Anonymous

Company size: 51-200 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra 

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

May 2022

All-in-one grantmaking solution

Pros

Before Fluxx we had a different system for each program application, it was very inefficient and difficult to manage. Fluxx has given us means to streamline and improve our application intake process. The software is highly customizable and we have been able to optimize application intake, reviews, and internal and external reporting.

Cons

I think the registration process could be improved, there isn't an effective way to match existing organizations so each registration request is currently processed manually. It's time consuming but only way to keep our Organization data clean.

Response from Fluxx

Dear Fluxx user, thank you for your feedback and for being a valued member of the Fluxx community. We are hearing your concerns and are thriving to constantly improve our processes and product to get you the support and capabilities you need. If you have any issue, please contact your customer success manager to find a path to resolution.

Replied May 2022

Tiffany

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra 

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

January 2023

Using Fluxx helped us manage 3x the amount of grant applications we had previously manages

Overall the experience with Fluxx was great. A software build/ implementation is no small undertaking but our implementation team really supported us through the process.

Pros

The automated alerts that we we’re able to customize.Application trackingPayment tracking

Cons

There were aesthetic design limitations when it can to our landing page. We would have like our Fluxx site to have matched a bit more with our org branding but it still did the job.

Reasons for choosing Fluxx Grantmaker

Build timeCustomization capabilitiesAutomated correspondence Price

Nita

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Philanthropy

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra 

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

May 2022

We made the right choice

We made the right choice for our Trust in choosing Fluxx for our grants management. It's reliable, generally easy for grantees and staff to use after little training, and we can count on the data being right. The visibility of applications, grants, and payments though every workflow stage is easy to navigate and brilliant. The generation of outcome emails and letters has been a major timesaver over our previous system. We find the Fluxx staff very supportive, and interested in product suggestions.

Pros

Both grantees and staff find Fluxx easy to use and it is quick to learn. Grantees particularly like that several Trusts in New Zealand use Fluxx so they are familiar with the system and how to use it. Staff like that we can see applications while they are still in draft. When a grantee gets stuck we can see where they are struggling with their application, and help them through it. The system has very few outages and the 'Fluxx community' is a great resource for trouble shooting.

Cons

Some of the non-configurable fields and forms are not overly intuitive for grantees or staff. The log in screen is a good example. The existing users signing in on the left of the screen, and the instructions for new users on the right is a good example. New users often attempt to make up a username and password rather than read the instructions on the right. This layout can not currently be changed. Where multiple select dropdown lists are used the data export is not in a format that enables easy reporting. This makes reporting and impact measurement a little cumbersome.

Reasons for choosing Fluxx Grantmaker

Fluxx had better migration support, reporting, configuration options, and conflict of interest management than the others.

Reasons for switching to Fluxx Grantmaker

It was not cost effective for the 12 Trusts to share the costs of a full support team to keep the customised system working.

Response from Fluxx

Dear Nita. Thank you for your feedback and for being a valued member of the Fluxx community. We will share your insight with our product team.

Replied May 2022

Faye

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra 

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

May 2022

Great for customization

Overall, I enjoy using Fluxx and have found it easy to use after being trained and having been the administrator for a while. Now that I understand how the system works, it's easy to troubleshoot and customize features to our needs. However, for new users on the grantee and employee side, it can be a bit tricky to figure out. There are certain features that I wish could be improved, like financial reporting, reporting out on impact, and types of data collection.

Pros

As the admin user of Fluxx, I like all the customization features of Fluxx that allows us to create a grant application that perfectly matches what we want to collect. The ability to customize applications and reports as an admin user is great, and I like the independence of using the system without needing technical support from Fluxx. The same goes for troubleshooting issues - the admin panel is overall easy to understand after you have been trained and used it for a bit.

Cons

The reporting features or methods of measuring impact data are not as strong as I would like. In order to learn more about our grants, we have to either do an excel export manually or create an AdHoc report to show data. AdHoc reports are a bit tricky to set up, and still end up in an excel format instead of a summary card on Fluxx. I would like a better way to report on grants, and share reports or impact data with leadership at my organization. Fluxx is also not easy for all to understand if users are not tech-savvy. It might benefit from working through some kinks and being a little more user friendly on the grantee side.

Response from Fluxx

Dear Faye, thank you for being a valuable member of the Fluxx community. You will be pleased. to know that we are rolling out a brand new reporting and analytics capability soon. We will make sure to connect with you and get your feedback!

Replied May 2022

Grants

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra 

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

August 2016

Fluxx Review by New Grant Making Organization

We started an ambitious re-granting program to provide access to funds for local organizations throughout the state. Through this program, smaller organizations can apply for grants up to $50,000. We knew how we wanted the re-granting program to work, but we were extremely green when it came to applicable software and data management. I was brought on as the Grant Program Manager after the decision was made to go with Fluxx and I couldn't be happier. After a small issue with our initial contact at Fluxx, we were reassigned Kris Tan as a project manager. The rest of the process went very smoothly. Kris was extremely attentive to our needs and coached me through learning the software and building our initial instance. I had little background in software applications and after going through the tutorial and practicing (this was key!) I feel completely comfortable as the site administrator, even to the point that in the last three months, I was able to completely re-engineer our workflow and build new application forms. Although Fluxx set everything up for us pre-launch, we decided to reconfigure our instance after learning some tough lessons during the first grant cycle. Overall, Fluxx was pleasant to work with and guided us step-by-step through the build, implementation and any support we needed.

Pros

- Support from Fluxx team ----They are very responsive when submitting support tickets. A member of Fluxx support team usually responds within the hour. - Easy to make changes to forms, workflow and landing page - adaptability of software and converting data easily into an excel sheet - Filtering of Cards. We have multiple cycles of grants occurring at all times. I can easily filter which cycle I want to focus on by filtering the cards. This allows me to be organized and "remove" applications by filtering them out of the card without actually losing any applications. - Multiple warnings if you decide to delete a record in the system -Fluxx also gives you a pre-production site to test all of your solutions before implementing on the live site. -The Fluxx Community site is a great resource for problem solving and asking experienced users if they have ever encountered a particular situation before.

Cons

-Card re-load times are occasionally slow, but I have never had a problem with the site crashing.

Suki

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra 

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

July 2016

A Grants Management System for Learning Organizations

We selected Fluxx after poring over a dozen possibilities and two like-functional contenders, chiefly because we knew our staff would value well-designed, anywhere anytime access (great web and app interfaces); our grantseekers /grantees would appreciate how Fluxx's portal design addresses common frustrations of applying for and managing a grant; and the Fluxx company itself is the brainchild of extremely thoughtful people who not only understand philanthropy first hand, but are as committed as we are to making these tools advance our effectiveness, not bog us down. Our instance of Fluxx is used by the entire staff every day as a knowledgebase and resource for understanding the impact of our grantmaking, a first for us, and it has simplified the regulatory work of our grantmaking beyond expectations.

Pros

Fluxx has a great process for working with you to build a grants management system that reflects your grantmaking culture while connecting you to the power of its software and effective practices in the field. The underlying architecture is fast, reliable and secure, and training (from grantseeker to reviewer to program team to hard core admin) is an easy path. They are great listeners, and demonstrate how critical our grantmaker experiences are to product design and features. Yet the value of Fluxx is not exclusively on the technical side, it's also in how it can support a transformation of attitudes about what the role of grants management is going to be in your organization. Last but not least: Fluxx is as accessible as they are brainy: they are catalyzing a community of users using grassroots principles (their annual (un)Conferences are completely user-driven), and their leadership is as likely to join a conversation as the first-touch support staffer.

Cons

Fluxx is growing fast and on the way to ramping up its support and implementation teams to meet a dramatic increase in demand. Until they catch up, the out-of-the-box training materials and knowledgebase can reflect outdated material. This is further exacerbated by the fact Fluxx often turns on a dime (yay), improving features before full documentation is updated (uh-oh). Luckily, their user community is filling in the gaps as is a new program of quick training webinars.

Response from Fluxx

Hi Suki, Thank you so much for your thoughtful review. We are so happy to hear that Fluxx has exceeded your expectations by simplifying your grantmaking workflow and that you recognize that we truly listen to our client's feedback and thoughts as we continue to improve our product. You will be happy to know that a major area of focus for us in 2016 has been on increasing training, communications, and product documentation. We continue to add to our Knowledge Base where we now have over 250 articles and have expanded our Support and Training teams. Keep an eye out for more product and training resources in the very near future and let us know how else we can better support you as a customer! Best, Pej Azarm, VP of Client Services

Replied August 2016

Mark

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra 

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT