Giveffect Software Reviews

Giveffect Software Reviews

Find out more:

FrontRunners 2017

Find out more:

User Review Highlights

Overall Rating

4.51

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5

Customer Support

4.5

Value for money

4

Functionality

4

  • icon"It's also very helpful that the event software and forms are integrated into the platform."
  • icon"Also, the ongoing training opportunities, customer support and ever evolving aspects have been incredibly helpful and have allowed us to make our processes even more efficient."
  • icon"I feel that my input on how I use the software and what I would like to see improved is not only heard, but considered valuable by the Giveffect team when working on updates."
  • icon"The marketing aspect of give effect is lacking. There are other systems that we use because of the lack of data collected from marketing tools."
  • icon"While software problems are to be expected the lack of customer service is awful and our biggest issue with this system."
  • icon"I have yet to have a negative thought about Giveffect."

Browse all Giveffect Reviews

  • Have you used Giveffect and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a Review

Apply Filters:

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

Showing 1 - 25 of 45 reviews

Edward

Verified reviewer

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

June 2022

Incredible All-in-One Platform and a Fantastic Team of Caring Professionals!

We have connections to a number of nonprofits struggling to balance time-consuming tasks with opportunities to be more involved with their cause. Many of the leaders at these organizations have seen the value in Giveffect’s platform and are on the road to implementing the software into their day-to-day operations.

Pros

Giveffect is a powerful all-in-one platform that streamlines the coordination and management of nonprofit organizations so staff and volunteers can focus on making a positive impact. You’ll be hard-pressed to find another tool out there with such a comprehensive set of tools specifically designed to serve the nonprofit industry. But what really makes this platform stand out is the people behind the scenes. It’s been a pleasure working with the Giveffect team. Their desire to help nonprofits make a difference drives them to continually serve their clients at a higher level.

Cons

Nothing at all to dislike. We are excited about the platform and have found that Giveffect checks all the boxes to solve some of the toughest challenges nonprofits face when it comes to collaboration, data fluidity, donor tracking, and much more.

Melissa

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Individual & Family Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

February 2021

Comprehensive CRM system review

I began working with Giveffect from the very beginning when we were working on selecting a new CRM. Therefore I have worked with their sales, training, implementation/migration, and now support team. While there is a lot to learn with Giveffect due to how comprehensive the product is it has been an overall good experience with very minor hiccups.

Pros

The features that are the most impactful with Giveffect is that the volunteer and donation platform integrate seamlessly. I can easily look at a supporter's account and see how many hours and dollars they have donated to our organization. It's also very helpful that the event software and forms are integrated into the platform. The donation forms are easy to use and you can set up campaigns very quickly that will help increase support for your initiatives. We have also been impressed with the reporting feature - it has allowed us to track a lot of different analytics quickly that we weren't able to do with our previous CRM.

Cons

The feature that I like least about Giveffect is their email marketing - this feature needs serious attention and upgrades. It is lacking a lot of features that would really allow us to communicate better with our volunteers and donors. I'm hopeful they will implement drip campaigns in the near future. You also cannot embed videos into emails which is a huge downfall for storytelling.

Reasons for switching to Giveffect

We switched to Giveffect to get all of our products under one umbrella. We were not able to look at one supporter and see all of their interaction with our organization which was hindering our ability to cultivate and retain donors and volunteers.

Aimee

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Environmental Services

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

3

October 2019

Very Disappointed in Customer Service

Since the membership system in Giveffect isn't as robust as we need, it is not the all-in-one solution we expected.

Pros

This software is easy to use, intuitive, and the knowledge base and on boarding are well done. After orientation and with the help of customer support, our team quickly got a handle on our average tasks. The CRM features are very easy to get at a glance overviews of donors & I feel that we have a better handle on our prospecting since switching to this software.

Cons

The data migration progress for us was glitchy in our membership. Their automation was one of the reasons we wanted to switch, however, their automation when it doesn't work correctly can be a nightmare. During migration, their system encountered a glitch that ended up emailing over 700 donors with information about their membership expiring, even when it wasn't. While you're given a 2 week review to make sure your data is correct, it is useless if something like this happens as the database is "live" and will communicate with donors for a glitch like this. Our other issue is the membership module is quite basic and does not meet our needs. During our trial, we asked our sales rep about membership tiers to address the issue and she believed it was an easy fix. When we got to our transition in June, we questioned work arounds with our client success team. For 5 months, we have been chasing them down for answers. Their client success team and a separate feedback team keep promising that product team is working on a fix and deadlines pass with no communication and no fix. They have actively ghosted us on the issue now and it is appalling. They were promoted as incredibly responsive and were until we encountered a problem and now it just feels like we are being strung along for the duration of our 1st year contract. While software problems are to be expected the lack of customer service is awful and our biggest issue with this system.

Reasons for switching to Giveffect

We were looking for an all in one software solution to replace disjointed marketing, communication, event management, and donor CRM management software solutions.

Michael

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

August 2020

Giveffect

My overall experience has been great. I have a very lean staff and we all multitask. The software is intuitive. As a busy executive, I can login anywhere to get information. I wish I had more time to spend with the software. Currently I'm working to set up the data structure to better integrate with Quickbooks.

Pros

I found Giveffect in an online search when I took the new role of Director for Institutional Advancement at Los Angeles Community College District. In my role, I serve as the Executive Director for the non-profit auxiliary Foundation for the Los Angeles Community Colleges. Giveffect has been a life saver. It is easy to use and I love that the software has email capability, online giving, relationship management tracking and great reports.

Cons

The main downside it that at the basic price level, I don't have access to many of the other great processes. Wealth screening for example. I also wish the Spark Post was integrated a little better. It works well but requires signing into two accounts to manage.

Reasons for choosing Giveffect

I like having the ability to do many business processes in one system. Ease of use was incredibly important. Giveffect's team members were great with onboarding and set up.

Reasons for switching to Giveffect

We used Blackbaud at the previous organization where I worked. It is very complex and required a full-time person to manage the database.

Martin

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

June 2020

Impressive from the start

GivEffect has been a tremendous time, energy, and cost savings to us over the past 5 years. I look forward to the new features and functions that they build out over the next 5 as we scale our organization.

Pros

We have been with GivEffect from the very beginning in 2015. We took a leap of faith with the platform and have had the opportunity to see it grow over the past 5 years from a simple software to something much more robust that more than fulfills our organizational needs. We are most impressed by the CRM and peer-to-peer fundraising features. With the CRM, there is so much capacity customization, automation, and segmentation. The peer-to-peer fundraising also allows great flexibility and automation all while still aesthetically pleasing and user-friendly.

Cons

The email WYSIWIG (what-you-see-is-what-you-get) email editor is lackluster but it's understandable as GivEffect is not an email platform. I anticipate that they will make make the editor more customizable in the future.

Reasons for choosing Giveffect

We chose GivEffect because it met all our requirements at an amazing price point.

Reasons for switching to Giveffect

Blackbaud Kintera was an outdated software that charged a significant amount for the age and clunky features of the product.

Charleen

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

July 2020

We love using Giveffect

Pros

Creating online events is a breeze and looks great! With our old software, we had to pay per online event and the process is antiquated. With Giveffect we can have an idea and create a page for it in no time at all!

Cons

Cutsomizing emails and landing pages is not very user friendly.

Reasons for switching to Giveffect

Etapestry was antiquated and we wanted something easier to use and more with the times.

Stephanie

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

April 2017

The best fundraising software available!

Before Giveffect, we were using BlackBaud Raiser's Edge, and no one in our office could use it well. Just to learn how to use it, our employees had to pay a large fee and go to a week long training seminar. It was not convenient, and that knowledge was lost as employees turned over. I managed to figure out how to use it myself, but wasted a lot of time. Training others on my team was next to impossible. During the initial demo, we could tell that Giveffect was leaps and bounds ahead of Raiser's Edge. With Giveffect, the software itself is very intuitive, and the provided free training video tutorials and webinars are really helpful. Even before those resources were available, it was so easy for me to just start using the system. I've since been able to set up my entire team using the system, and they've had few to no difficulties learning to use it. Our focus is now on building better relationships with our donors rather than fighting with a system to enter gift information. Giveffect has been absolutely wonderful for our team.

Pros

It's so easy to use. The capacity of this software improves about every 2 weeks when they release a new update to the system. It's grown exponentially since we started using it about 2 years ago. They now provide amazing resources: training video tutorials, webinars, a Facebook group page to network with other users, etc. They just keep upgrading the system and adding new features so regularly, I truly believe Giveffect can literally do anything you need it to.

Cons

Nothing really. The only downside for us is the price. Honestly the price is a great value for what you get, it's just a little high for smaller non-profits...but you can literally do everything you need to.

Response from Giveffect

Love it! Thanks so much Stephanie!

Replied April 2017

Kris

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

March 2017

Giveffect.com Review

"By switching to Giveffect we have eliminated having to use multiple platforms to function. Everything was separate for us before and we basically were spending a ton of time moving between software, platforms and systems that didn't communicate well together and/or did not allow us present the look and feel of our agency. With Giveffect we can easily accomplish all of our tasks from one platform AND on the front end of things it integrates seamlessly with our own website! From the get go, Giveffect's customer service has been top notch - they've had an answer for every question we've had and their team is readily available whether it is through their online "Chat with Us" feature, via phone or via email. They also do an amazing job of listening to feedback and the needs of their clients then turning around and implementing updates which allows them to offer all of us a continually evolving solution. I can't even begin to explain the amount of time we now have available each day to focus our energies on the important stuff - the kids in our program and our mission. Highly recommended!"

Pros

Giveffect has consolidated our process for us and eliminated the need to use multiple platforms. The time savings for our staff has been huge! Also, the ongoing training opportunities, customer support and ever evolving aspects have been incredibly helpful and have allowed us to make our processes even more efficient. The software is also very intuitive and easy to use/understand. In addition, the team at Giveffect actually listens and evolves the software based on the growing needs of users and the clients we serve.

Cons

I have yet to have a negative thought about Giveffect.

Response from Giveffect

Thank you, Kris!

Replied March 2017

Pam

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

July 2020

Giveffect makes impact

Great relationship. Quick to respond if needed. Good to work with. Provide great videos regularly for training.

Pros

Besides the user-friendly system, I really appreciate how they "listen" to the needs of the customers and then in a month or two they've actually addressed it and made an adjustment or tweak in the system. This system puts donor database needs with your volunteer management needs along with public relations. Plus the fact it's web-based makes it easy to access at any time.

Cons

For our affiliate this was a huge investment compared to what we'd spent in the past.....but now it's lined with others, just the fact - something good isn't going to be "cheap". And again like I said they're always working to improve. We love it here.

Reasons for switching to Giveffect

User friendliness

Anonymous

Company size: 11-50 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

June 2020

Giveffect - Great All-In-One system for nonprofits

Giveffect has allowed us to have an all-in-one system to track donors, volunteers and in-kind donors. We are also going to begin utilizing the grant tracking that was rolled out earlier this year.

Pros

Giveffect is a great all-in-one system for nonprofit organizations. It's comparable to other all-in-one systems on the market. They are continually making updates and effectively communicating with users. They also offer webinars and trainings every other week. The system helps automate manual tasks. Giveffect provides solutions to nonprofits for donor management/CRM, event management, auction management, volunteer management and more! We have been using Giveffect for two years and are continuously learning on how to better optimize the system.

Cons

More automation and easier integration and tracking of marketing emails would be ideal! They are working on these improvements. We also would like to see a better use of the app for fundraisers who are on the go to be able to enter meeting notes and look up contacts through the app.

Kathleen

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

March 2017

So glad we changed to Giveffect, I wish we had done it sooner!

I looked at a lot of different systems and spent a long time trying to decide and they mostly had too little functionality. Giveffect was more expensive than what we intended to spend, however we felt like we were getting more for our money to bring so many processes under one roof and I was absolutely sold how the back end of the system talks to the front end. Saves us a lot of work every day, and also provides a higher level of accountability. As far as the campaign pages and website solution, they are so attractive. We used Razoo for individual fundraisers, which would be a manual upload and a higher rate for processing fees. We used Giftworks for our CRM and donation pages, very anti-intuitive system, difficult for donors to use and we got constant complaints from the donors. So to be able to create these really attractive campaigns on top of using the website builder has been great. We are already getting a lot of positive feedback from our board, supporters, and key volunteers. The functionality is so much better, being a cloud based system, GE is much more manageable because our old system was constantly freezing or shutting down. Also, the old system had really bad customer service, we could never get any questions answered and sometimes couldn't even get a response. Giveffect gets so much credit for having people there even on Friday night to help people with their chat support questions. I really like the chat support, you just hop on the chat box, explain your problem and clearly everyone over there knows how to solve your issue pretty quickly and its been so much faster and so much more efficient for us. Highly recommend this system for any nonprofit, especially if you need a website too.

Pros

Very good, friendly customer service, fast response time, forward thinking system, easy for donors to use, complete system includes CRM, campaign pages, email contact system, website and so much more.

Cons

It is more expensive than other softwares we looked at, but probably worth the price.

Response from Giveffect

Thank you, Kathleen!

Replied March 2017

Charleen

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

May 2017

Easy to use and perfect for our needs!

Pros

Prior to Giveffect we were using eTapestry. We felt eTapestry was antiquated and was not updating their service to keep up with the times and our needs. This is when we started looking at new software that could be a home for our data and our fundraising campaigns. In terms of features, we really enjoy the look of the campaign fundraising pages we can generate in Giveffect and how modern and up to date, they look. We can also create these campaigns quickly and it doesn't cost us anything extra to create as many campaigns as we'd like. It is also really great to see all the feature updates and how receptive Giveffect is to ideas and additions to the system. Giveffect has helped us with our Bowl for Kids' Sake campaigns as well. The ability to create teams is easy and user-friendly for our staff and the majority of our supporters. Overall, Giveffect is a great piece of software to track donors and host campaigns. It has been a great experience and I recommend Giveffect to anyone looking for software

Cons

Minor bugs here and there that are addressed quickly. Duplicates not auto removed. Would love to see auto capitalization added when users add their own info in.

Response from Giveffect

Thanks so much Charleen!

Replied May 2017

Melanie

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Fund-Raising

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

May 2017

We've used GivEffect since Dec 2015. It is the easiest CRM/fundraising software I've ever used.

Makes my job so much easier. The ability to customize letters, communications, campaigns saves me time. Also, it makes segmenting donors incredibly easy so that communications reach the right people at the right times.

Pros

It's so intuitive and easy to customize to your needs. There are no tedious forms to fill out to change or add fields, you can do most of it yourself. The campaigns are so easy to set up and easy to promote. Once your staff is familiar with the user experience troubleshooting is incredibly easy to manage. Donations come in with little to no issue. The team is so incredibly responsive and if we need something done differently it's almost always made available on the next upgrade. The tutorials are quick and painless to sit through and you can access them whenever you need to. Their webinar series is great and they do a wonderful job of keeping us up-to-date regarding changes, new functionality and upcoming tutorials and training.

Cons

There are a few pieces that are only available in the upper tier, which is a bummer. Also, the number of administrators we can have is limiting. The cost to add what we need is probably as much as moving to the next tier - which is slightly higher than we're prepared to pay right now.

Response from Giveffect

Thank you Melanie!

Replied May 2017

Joe

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

February 2020

Great support, good features, fine functionality

Pros

It’s been great to experience Giveffect’s growth over the past few years. The software is user friendly, versatile, and always improving. The best part of working with Giveffect is the support staff, especially in the help chat. Their willingness to help and their responsiveness to feedback are beyond what you would experience in another CRM. I feel that my input on how I use the software and what I would like to see improved is not only heard, but considered valuable by the Giveffect team when working on updates.

Cons

The biggest problems are not with features but with functionality. Because the software aims to do so many different things, we often find that some of the more basic features are glitchy or not well-executed. We also had problems in the past where, after bringing some of these issues to their attention repeatedly, they were never addressed - though that has improved.

Krista

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

April 2019

Giveffect for a Food Bank Development Team

About a year in to our service with Giveffect, we trust our data much more. I pull reports every day and can rely on their accuracy. Our satisfaction with the software has gone up and down, but because of the efforts of their customer service team we are the happiest we've been to date. We look forward to its continued growth and development.

Pros

I love the easy reporting and the ability to create custom advanced queries to pull the information I need. I also love how a single donor can be viewed from multiple dimensions -- as a volunteer, major gift maker, and direct mail donor, etc.

Cons

My organization struggles with slowness on Giveffect, regardless of which computer we are using. Additionally, there are many functions we'd appreciate more development on. We submit feedback very often, but our suggestions haven't been implemented yet. Hopefully it improves over time!

Lenora

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

November 2020

Easy to Use & Fantastic Customer Service

Giveffect has enabled me to attract and retain more volunteers than I ever thought possible.

Pros

I started used Giveffect with the start of a new job and was basically on my own to "get up to speed" and use the software optimally. It is really intuitive in its design and after viewing the relevant training videos, I was able to apply it's use to my daily workflow. For the first time, the branch I was working for was able to have volunteers sign up online, check in and out on an iPad, and have their hours tracked in real time. Anytime I needed a little help, the customer service team was available through the "Chat" feature and incredibly responsive and patient.

Cons

Honestly, I have suggested several changes or additions and often they implement the change with their next update. They are very open to suggestions and adopt them! Amazing!

Olivia

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Food Production

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

March 2019

Kids meals review

“We had a vital need for improvement in our online giving system and Giveffect delivered. We were not able to access important information before to ensure accuracy, but all of that has changed by switching to Giveffect. Also, combining volunteers and donors was a difficult and cumbersome process for us, we used pen and paper to gather information for our volunteers and members. With Giveffect we were able to decrease the amount of manpower used to gather information and expand our reach into the community and create efficiency within our staff.”

Pros

The ease of learning the software. It was all in real time. You can run a report and see it right there on the screen. I also like the birthday campaigns.

Cons

Sometimes there were options in the reporting tables that needed more training. But it worked out that chat support can help.

Christine

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE