All Greater Giving Reviews

1-25 of 83 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Jenny

Events Services, 2 - 10 employees

Used unspecified

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

Reviewed April 2024

Greater Giving Review: Easy Simple & User Friendly.

Carey

Education Management, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2023

Review of Greater Giving Software

This software has allowed us to take our annual auction to the next level and it has allowed us to grow our bidder pool to include people who aren't able to attend the live event. It has helped increase our profits.

PROS

I like how easy the software is to use and our guests find it easy as well. The customer support is wonderful.

CONS

I am not a fan of how the image downloading is set up. We shouldn't have to do so much to configure our images to fit. I also would like to see a feature added that would save time when entering packages. I would like to have the option to enter in an item number when adding items to packages, not just words. When you have multiple people getting packages ready, not everyone uses the same wording and it is putsy and annoying to have to go out of Packages and into Items to find what I'm looking for if I don't use the same words that someone else used to identify an item. If you are going to have us assign numbers, maximize that. Elsewhere in the software, you have the capability to look up package numbers and item numbers.

Ron

Used daily for free trial

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2016

Greater Giving: Great software for event management

We use Greater Giving to manage our Marquee events (galas, golf, wine tasting, etc.) - events that usually have an auction component and the staff, volunteers and constituents love it. I've personally used Greater Giving software for the past eight years and have never worked with a software vendor that is more in tune with their customer's wants and needs. They actually ASK for ways they can improve the product and LISTEN! I've seen our suggestions appear in product updates repeatedly over the years and they never stop trying to improve their product. We began using their mobile bidding service over the past couple of years and the staff and patrons love it. Their Go Time event night software is so easy to use I barely have to train volunteers on event night - the software just walks them through the check-in/registration process and makes check out at the end of the night a breeze. As previous reviews mentioned, their website and reporting areas are a little more cumbersome to use, but I know that they are working on that too - we've already seen some great advances in reporting with the latest software release. Greater Giving software and event support is outstanding - they are only a phone call away anytime, but most importantly on the day of your event and a LIVE person answers the phone who knows the product and can fix your issues and get you back on track in no time! They are fantastic. I would highly recommend Greater Giving to any non- profit interested in experiencing a great event management tool. This is one fantastic organization!

PROS

Ease of use, outstanding customer support, mobile bidding option/component, auctioneer features for a professional live auction, leader boards, smooth check-in/check-out event process, ability to e-mail receipt to patrons at check out, volunteers absolutely love it! Patrons are very impressed at the flow of the event when we move the event management to Greater Giving.

CONS

Reporting is confusing and needs work and they need to make improvements in the backend website creation process but we are able to get the information out of the system that we need and we have great looking, easy to use websites.

Anonymous

501-1,000 employees

Used monthly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed July 2020

More features this year...they seem to be focusing on Auctions

It's getting better as an auction platform. They recently added a lot more functionality and updated the look and feel. They are also doing a better job with training and calls, esp. they quarterly update calls.

PROS

We use Greater Giving for our online and in person auction. Auction software is such a niche market, we had to purchase this for fundraising purposes.

CONS

No longer use it for other fundraising since it was cumbersome and clunky. While they have templates there are SO MANY screens to click through to get the data you need.

Judi

Music, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2024

Great for Online Auction Fundraising

Helpful improvements are made and functionality is added on a regular basis. Easy to use and reasonably priced.

PROS

I would highly recommend Greater Giving. It is a great event management tool for any non- profit fundraising events.

CONS

Website updates can take a while to learn.

Kiki

Higher Education, 10,000+ employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2016

Greater Giving - really does give!

Our development office has now been using Greater Giving for a little over 2 years, after doing some extensive research and choosing it as the BEST option. This has given us the opportunity to use it for many different events more than once and across different departments/colleges within the medical university. Because it is web based, there are no restrictions on number of users and you can lock/unlock per event we have used it with select "third party" events- where all proceeds benefit us but the event is run by a group of volunteers and not a formal organization. It helped us streamline some of our functions for all our various events. It has also given us an opportunity to try some peer to peer fundraising. Other departments have now begun using it and others are now attempting events because this platform is available. We've found the ease of use in training our volunteers and interns a plus. The fact that almost anyone can be trained to create a landing page for ticket sales, auctions and peer to peer campaigns is a huge advantage for our organization. Go Time (day of event) process is another favorite aspect of Greater Giving. Overall we have been so pleased with both the customer support- some of our suggestions have even been incorporated in 2 upgrades since we've been using it! And they've actually lowered instead of increased the cost on Mobile Bidding (you used to have to pay per mb event and now it's a once a year cost) Not only are more funds raised, Greater Giving give us back time as well!

PROS

It's overall ease of use and convenience.

CONS

Some of the features are difficult to use/not up to par- peer to peer fundraising for ex. Also the webpage/landing page building can be quite complicated and the tutorial isn't comprehensive enough. Same goes for the reports- we know that there are so many but the training just touches the surface.

Laura

Philanthropy, 2-10 employees

Used more than 2 years

Review Source
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2018

Greater Giving Event Software

Overall it is a still a great software that has great functions and so far is the best I have used to run a large silent auction 50 items plus.

PROS

The software purchase covers features dealing with ticket sales, silent auction bids, community partners, sponsorship purchases and can safely store credit card information. Also, if your organization hosts more than one event per year you can add several events and track for no extra cost and store all donor information for those events.

CONS

The ease of use of this program is lacking. It is a bit confusing to run reports. It also doesn't make it very easy to set a Max capacity for an event and have it close down automatically. Someone has to go in and do so, or at least this is the experience we found. Also, you can only attach one checking/banking account to the software so if you have two large events and two separate accounts for them in order to use the software without having to repurchase you must stick to the one account.

Anonymous

1 employee

Used more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed May 2019

Gets the job doneish

I used for organizing fundraising - I'd personally reaearch other software in the future to see if they have better search options for easier fill-in or better grammar checks for entries.

PROS

It wasveasy to keep track of lots of different pieces for donor fundraising and an auction event. In export functionality, it was great.

CONS

Woof, not very intuitive at first. Also just time consuming. It feels like there should be a built in feature to search businesses and addresses or such. That would elevate the software to gold in my donor assistant standards.

Ryan

Non-Profit Organization Management, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2024

Meristem - Happy Customers!

I have had an excellent experience with Greater Giving so far. We have had two events since last November, and both were very successful using Greater Giving as our platform!

PROS

I really appreciate the customer service Greater Giving provides. We ran our first silent auction and fund-a-need using Greater Giving last November. I had about 3, 1-hour phone calls asking questions and troubleshooting. Everytime I called, I was able to make great progress in the system.

CONS

Honestly, I have no complaints. Greater Giving is wonderful!

Jenny

Events Services, 2-10 employees

Used monthly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2024

Essential Tool for Fundraising

PROS

We have used Greater Giving for years while fundraising for our private elementary school. Having the consistency & info between the years is really helpful as the volunteers change each year. The available tutorials make it easy to search for whatever topic you need to learn and anytime we've had to call customer service they have been prompt and friendly in their response.

CONS

The cost of setup and annually can be a bit high but doesn't outweigh all the benefits.

Angela

Non-Profit Organization Management, 51-200 employees

Used monthly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2024

Greater Giving has a great ROI

Greater Giving has been a great software for our event. They continue to upgrade the features and provide good customer service.

PROS

Greater Giving is a robust software that allows for multiple feature in preparing for and executing online auctions. The Dashboard is easy to use and comprehensive if providing access to all features without having to hunt for things. Can be used by multiple users.

CONS

The reports are sometimes hard to extrapolate the exact data we are seeking.

Leslie

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2016

Transform your Auction experience!

Our school has benefited tremendously by using the Event Software and Mobile Bidding. In a few weeks we will be using both for the third time at our next Auction fundraiser. After the first year, we not only paid for the software and mobile bidding BUT increased our silent auction profit by $10,000! The program is very easy to use, streamlines all of our donations, and allows us to perform quick reviews post-event. Customer service has been exceptional. Several calls are set up with the Greater Giving team prior to the event and a team member is available during the entire duration of the event. All questions have been answered quickly. The Greater Giving team continues to give suggestions each year as to what we can try at our next event to help increase our profit. And both years the software has been updated with new features. Biggest benefit for our school has been the elimination of long checkout lines at the end of the night. With Mobile Bidding, guests having registered a credit card either before the event or during check-in are instantly notified of their winnings as soon as the Silent Auction closes. Priceless! We continue, a few years into our experience, to get great reviews from our attendees about the significant improvements that this package has made to our annual funraiser.

PROS

ease of use, customer service, mobile bidding function

Rebecca

Non-Profit Organization Management, 11-50 employees

Used monthly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2022

Really nice program but not in our budget

I like Greater Giving. It is a very good program. It's just the cost priced us out because we are such a small organization it makes a significant difference to our net fundraising.

PROS

I like that is it an all-in-one program, so don't have to cobble together multiple programs. Everything we need is included in Greater Giving. I have helped with fundraising events for multiple organizations that used Greater Giving and I found it intuitive and easy to use.

CONS

The cost. I checked it out during 2020 to use for an online/virtual auction and found the pricing had dramatically changed from the last time I used it. We tried another program recommended by an event planner. The next year I again checked several software programs and discovered one that did about the same thing (at least everything we needed ) for dramatically less cost. We are a very small non-profit, so for us, that is a deal breaker. We would rather have a not-so-robust program and work with it than pay more for a program. Turned out the one we used was absolutely fine and we made a lot of money. So much that a lot of other clubs contacted me to ask which program we used.

Reason for choosing Greater Giving

Did not use Greater Giving last 3 years.

Reasons for switching to Greater Giving

Cost.

Angie

Non-Profit Organization Management, 11-50 employees

Used monthly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2023

Alzheimer’s Disease Association of Kern County

We have been utilizing Greater Giving for our annual fundraising events. It is easy to operate and allows us to be confident in tracking and managing our sponsors, attendees and funds collected.

PROS

Text to donate is what our organization utilizes the most. It has been very easy to set up and operate and we are very happy with this feature. The support staff is always helpful and aides in any questions we run into quickly and professionally.

CONS

There is a little bit of jumping around when setting up a project and some double entry, but that could easily be user error!

Amy

Higher Education, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

2

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed February 2022

Greater Giving is not so great.

Frustrating.

PROS

The best part of Greater Giving for auctions is the cost; but you get what you pay for.

CONS

Trying to pull out the reporting information needed is very difficult. It is very evident this software was not created for auctions!

Reasons for switching to Greater Giving

Different organization.

Tracy

Education Management, 11-50 employees

Used monthly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2024

Simple Event Software

We have used this company for years and will continue on.

PROS

Greater Giving made the event process so much easier with transitioning into an online event during Covid. We were still able to host a fundraising event and families could still participate from the comforts on their home.

CONS

We have not had too many issues with Greater Giving.

User Profile

Dawn

Verified reviewer

Non-Profit Organization Management, 501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

2

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed January 2019

Greater Giving Review

PROS

I like the Customer Support and I like the standard reporting otpions.

CONS

I think it is VERY hard to navigate and very hard to set up a set. I feel the program is outdated and needs to be more admin user friendly.

Allie

Non-Profit Organization Management, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2024

Greater Giving is great for nonprofit fundraising

PROS

We use Greater Giving to track our events and it is very convenient. The card readers and system help us keep track of and charge donors immediately.

CONS

It isn't as intuitive as I would like but still works well.

Ashley

Civic & Social Organization, 2-10 employees

Used less than 2 years

Review Source
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2018

Great for Fundraising Event Logistics, Bidding

PROS

The best thing about Greater Giving is the mobile capability that allows attendees at our annual gala to bid on silent auction items from their seats. We've yet to find this capability with any other fundraising software.

CONS

I'm a newer user and still getting used to the platform, but I'd love for it to be more user-friendly.

Cara

Used free trial

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY