All Bloomerang Volunteer Reviews

1-25 of 79 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Waqas

Pharmaceuticals, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2022

One of the best Volunteer management software

We always wanted a VMS to recruit, screen, train and manage all our volunteers and Initlive has saved us hours of work. Best VMS so far.

PROS

We have been trying many different VMS for ages till we found Initlive, which has been very easy to use, with great UX and the best pricing product. It is the best one for scheduling and recruiting volunteers.

CONS

I have never encountered any flaws within the software except for sometimes we get some bugs within the mobile app.

Sarah

Education Management, 51-200 employees

Used less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2016

Good for organizing volunteers pre-event, not as great for day of application

All in all the app is great for organizing volunteers, especially in large numbers but for a smaller group of volunteers we found our current method of organizing volunteers on an excel spreadsheet worked just as well. We were hoping that we'd get more communication functionality from the app but think there is still room for improvement in that respect.

PROS

The back end website is user friendly. It is easy to upload an excel template of your volunteers or add people individually. If you are looking for a way to organize volunteers and schedule volunteers that's where the product shines most. You can build roles, assign individuals and set schedules easily. There is a good deal of customization in this area which is helpful. You are able to assign multiple event managers so they also have the "power" to make changes on the website and within the app once your event goes live as well.

CONS

Shifts are built by location rather than by role which wasn't logical for us because we pre-assign roles and the location isn't relevant. It would have been nice if there was more automatic assignment rather than manual when it came to putting volunteers into specific shifts once you had already assigned them a role. As a planner it was hard for me to not be able to test the app before the event went live. You see nothing in the app until it is live but at that point all your volunteers see what you are seeing and any changes being made get broadcast out. Day of we found communication via the app was limited. Only event managers can send messages to everyone or filter and send messages to specific groups. Individual volunteers can only send messages to their shift supervisor or the event managers. They weren't able to send even within their role assignment.

Vendor Response

Hi Sarah! Thank you so much for sharing your experience. We look forward to working with you and the team at Johns Hopkins University again. There have already been great improvements to InitLive since your commencement event in the Spring. Some highlights: you are able to create one general Location to help you organize the event by Roles. Now we also have a system in place for volunteers to communicate with each other one-on-one through the InitLive app. Let's reconnect and go over the changes! Your designated customer success rep will reach out via email. Cheers!

Replied August 2016

Andre

Events Services, 51-200 employees

Used monthly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2019

Good shift management tool but still have a lot to improve

PROS

The mobile app was improved and now it is much more flexible and provides much more info

CONS

If you need to change any information related to your team shifts, it is really heavy to do - the rational is not intuitive.

Vendor Response

Hi Andre, thank you for sharing your experience with us. I'm so sorry to hear that your first time using InitLive was not as easy as you had hoped, especially since the volunteer team from for your event had such a positive experience. I've spoken with the Head of Volunteers and the Volunteer Coordinator in regards to some big feature improvements coming to our scheduling and rostering tool that I think will drastically improve your experience using InitLive at the next event. I'll reach out personally via email to schedule a time to discuss and even see if you'd be willing to participate in BETA to provide your input on the coming changes. Thanks again and we're excited to continue to work with you and the entire team. -Avery

Replied May 2019

Al

Sports, 2-10 employees

Used less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed August 2016

InitLive Feedback

Used the software project at the Marshes last year during the World Girls Juniors. We used the software application to acquire, register, and track around 100 volunteers for a 3 day international golf tournament.

PROS

The application handled a lot of the volunteer registration and shift scheduling well. It gave us a good idea of where we required additional volunteers. It assisted us in tracking volunteers shifts and determine when volunteers were late or did not show.

CONS

I found that because a lot of the volunteers were seniors who did not use current computer applications regularly, many were confused with initial emails that were sent to them. Also, because of the lack of computer application knowledge of the users, many of the volunteers did not register on-line by themselves but were entered onto the system by Initlive staff or team leads. I do not believe many of the team leads utilized the mobile on-line during the event. It was interesting to find out the many spouses had registered as volunteers but only used one email address. This became very confusing since the system was geared on the email address as and id and communication was through emails regarding shift assignments.

Vendor Response

Hi Al. Thanks for taking the time to share your experience. We were thrilled to work with the World Junior Girls Championship last year and happy that we were able to be on site to see InitLive in action. A lot has changed since then and we continue to make improvements to InitLive based on input like yours. In regards to the issues with users being required to have an individual email address, InitLive needs this information to ensure efficient and accurate communication, especially in the case of an accident or emergency. Additionally, as Event Managers, all team leads have easy access to input and update volunteer information and schedules. We hope to work with you again and show you all of the great changes to the system. :)

Replied August 2016

John

Education Management, 2-10 employees

Used monthly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2021

Powerful, professional voluteer platform

Choosing InitLive was our first step into a serious volunteer management system for our regional science tournament. We reviewed many competing platforms, and even though it was a bit pricey for our limited budget, we have been pleased with our choice. Every year the features get better.

PROS

One of the unique aspects of InitLive was its mobile device capability, which we hope will improve how we manage our tournaments. And hands-down, it has the most attractive user interface. It helps us put forward a professional image to our audience.

CONS

Every platform has it's limitations. Quite honestly, I don't think about this anymore. We have integrated InitLive into how we manage volunteers, and it is part of our normal processes.

Reason for choosing Bloomerang Volunteer

Professional appearance, mobile capability

Vendor Response

Hi John, Thank you so much for your kind words. We are excited to continue to work with you and your team.

Replied November 2021

Allison

Non-Profit Organization Management

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2017

Very helpful when you are organizing several hundred participants

PROS

I love the integrated app and how easily you can reach volunteers during the event. I like that the database is downloadable to excel so we can edit as we see fit. The process is simple from the users standpoint as a click and save model.

CONS

It is time consuming to schedule different hours, dates, etc with specific supervisors across different shifts. Also, the inability to see emails sent from the system or reply to emails within the system itself. It would also have been nice to signup from the app/use app prior to main event.

Vendor Response

Hi Allison, thanks so much for sharing your experience with us. Input like yours helps us ensure we're moving in the right direction! Your Customer Success Rep will keep you posted about those feature requests. :)

Replied June 2017

Heather

Sports, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2017

Outstanding customer service! Easy to use and allows the export of a large variety of information.

organization and ease of tracking of volunteers.

PROS

Easy to set up and edit shifts, staff, and roles. Overall, the software is user-friendly. There are many custom features that allow it to fit the needs of a variety of organization. We are a soccer club that needed software to manage volunteers for a tournament and corresponding set-up and tear down dates. The information that can be exported is very useful and easy to access. Our customer service representative was amazing! She provided timely help EVERY time I needed it and was always willing and able to look at my issues and solve my problems. Overall VERY pleased with InitLive!

CONS

The inability to customize automated notifications to staff. Individual staff can control their notifications, but managers cannot customize the timing and information provided in automated notifications (texts, not emails). You can send push notifications and emails when needed, however.

Vendor Response

Thanks for your review, Heather! We're glad you enjoyed InitLive and look forward to working with you again and again!

Replied December 2017

Grace

Museums and Institutions, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2021

InitLive for multiple events and tours

We are able to manage volunteers within three programs we offer: -Doors Open Milwaukee which requires 200+ volunteers -Spaces & Traces, requiring 100+ volunteers -Weekly walking tours, total of 30+ volunteers

PROS

Ability for volunteers to log on and confirm shifts and easily sign up for different events and opportunities within our org. The platform also allows staff to delegate volunteer management to other volunteers. The messaging tools within InitLive work well.

CONS

In setting up shifts, form questions could be streamlined.

Vendor Response

Thank you so much for the review. We are so glad to hear you are benefiting from InitLive's custom volunteer registration workflow features for each of your events and opportunities.

Replied November 2021

Lely

Entertainment, 11-50 employees

Used monthly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2016

Love this app and this Company

We run a convention company that has been in business for 10 years. We tried this app at our last show and it became a great help with our volunteers. Now with the updates this has gone to the next level. Our next show is in a week and our schedule is up and people picking shifts and getting excited. There are so many great things about this app. I can't wait till they add in the function of availability. That will elevate it more. Avery and her team has gone out of her way to help us and to show us how to utilize this app. At our last show she was always there to help us at anytime which took away a lot of the stress I had about using a new app. I know this show will be even better!

PROS

The volunteers being able to pick shifts, the ability to leave reviews on the volunteers that's hidden, and the different role levels that are based roles (shift supervisor, check in administrator)

CONS

I want to be able to put in their availability and it alert me if I schedule. But it sounds like it is a future possibility as the company grows

Vendor Response

Thanks for sharing your review, Lely. We love working with Eyecon and are excited for your convention next week. Availability is certainly something we want to add in a future release of InitLive, but we're glad to hear that the ability to let volunteers schedule themselves has worked just as well for you! As for the schedule, there is another improvement coming to this area in a week or two that will make things even more seamless for you! Best wishes for your upcoming event!

Replied November 2016

Maggie

Wine and Spirits, 11-50 employees

Used less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2018

INIT LIVE makes large-scale events easy

PROS

I love that INIT Live makes staffing large events easy and helps guide you through holes where more staff could be useful. I also really liked the in-app communication aspect. The interface is incredibly user-friendly and looks organized.

CONS

There is no way to test the event setup within the app before the day of the event. This means you have to make last minute changes to your setup while the app is live where all of the staff can see as they are made.

Vendor Response

Hi Maggie - thanks for taking the time to review your experience. We've recently added some capabilities to allow you to see InitLive from a different perspective before the event kicks off. Please reach out to your Customer Success rep for an update on new features as you get ready for your next event. Thanks again! :)

Replied December 2018

Allyson

Translation and Localization, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2017

Great platform for managing volunteers

I can't say enough about this app. It really made scheduling volunteers for our conference much easier. There are a ton of videos on how to use it, and the customer support cannot be beat. They are truly proactive in meeting you needs. They will sit down and explain the system to you and help with anything you need. The app is great, but the customer service is world class.

PROS

Easy to use, great tool for managing large groups of people with instant communication.

CONS

The addition of some simple features (like the ability to toggle between volunteer profiles and displaying shift names on schedules) would make it a lot better. I also wish there were a drag and drop feature (like, drag the person you want into a slot on a time view schedule.)

Vendor Response

Hi Allyson, thanks for sharing you thoughts on InitLive. Those are great suggestions and we'll make sure the product team hears them as well!

Replied March 2017

Lauren

Used free trial

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed October 2016

A Great First Experience

This was our first time using an app for any kind of volunteer management. We used it to help streamline communication with our volunteers for Homecoming. I found that it was advantageous to me as an admin in that it was quick and easy to contact individuals as needed. We got great feedback from our volunteers about how it was easy and convenient to reference their job descriptions. The shift reminders also came in handy. One thing that wasn't so important for us to have was the check-in and check-out features. On the day of the event, both the volunteers and the staff were just too busy to keep track of check-ins or outs. Our main concern was being able to quickly get a hold of someone if there was a major problem. If there had been any emergencies, we would have been able to do so. I believe we will use the app for future events.

Vendor Response

It was so great working with you, Lauren. We're glad you had a great first experience and look forward to working with you again!

Replied October 2016

Yesenia

Events Services, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2017

InitLive has taken a load of extra work off my shoulders

Less tedious work. The features of being able to copy/paste staff, roles etc. Has taken a lot of steps out of my job.

PROS

Ease of use. Support was great help on getting me started, but I was able to self teach myself on a lot of things also just because it is so user-friendly.

Vendor Response

Hi Yesenia, you are such a pleasure to work with. We're definitely looking forward to the next Town of Addison event! Keep up the great work and thanks for sharing your review. :)

Replied August 2017

Peter

Marketing and Advertising, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2016

Exactly what I was looking for !

This app is crucial to the success of my event planning and execution. Also prompt response from the support team always.

PROS

Great UI and excellent features.

Vendor Response

Hi Peter - so glad you found what you were looking for in InitLive. We're excited to continue working with you!

Replied August 2016

Danika

Events Services, 1 employee

Used monthly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2022

Functional and accessible

Overall, this did serve the purpose to manage our volunteer needs. As a user, I found it just as easy as any other platform we've used in the past.

PROS

The product was easy enough to use however I know that it's always a challenge for the team to get a software integrated and setup for what we need it to do.

CONS

There are always tons of additional features for software that we don't end up needing but the features that are available don't quite fit our needs.

Reasons for switching to Bloomerang Volunteer

Cost and ease of use

Tim

Sports, 2-10 employees

Used monthly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2016

Returning Volunteer Manager

Every year I needed a new volunteer manager because it was a lot of work for not a lot of reward. I used InitLive for my event this year and we could easily sign up volunteers, send them schedule reminders, and then check in volunteers as they showed up. I knew exactly who was on site, where they should be, and what staffing gaps I had. I also was able to save this data for next year. For the first time in a while, my volunteer manager said this was easy and they want to help out again!

PROS

- on-site check-in - group messaging based on job title and/or location

CONS

Building the schedule took some time but the client success team was there to help.

Vendor Response

Thanks for the Review, Tim. Great to have you work with us.

Replied January 2017

Pamel

51-200 employees

Used less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2016

Highly recommend!

It was great for helping us manage our complex schedule. We also really liked being able to generate reports after to see hours worked by each of our staff.

PROS

The customer support was really great - thank you!

CONS

A little time consuming to set up.

Vendor Response

Happy to hear you enjoyed InitLive's reporting features, Pamel. Thanks for the review!

Replied August 2016

Kellie

Used free trial

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY