All Kindful Reviews

1-25 of 312 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Robert

Non-Profit Organization Management, 11 - 50 employees

Used less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

Reviewed March 2022

Incredibly Useful and Powerful

User Profile

David

Verified reviewer

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2017

I use Kindful for our non-profit accounting and donor management (CRM)

PROS

Kindful is designed to be part of - not the whole of - a CRM/fund accounting strategy. The upside of this is that you are not pigeonholed into one system forever - it is designed to play nicely with other programs/systems. Once you go through the learning curve, the program is straightforward and easy to use. Customer support is fantastic for questions. I have to manually enter quite a few transactions, and it is much easier to do with Kindful than with Quickbooks. Automatic reports to my board of directors are fantastic. Also, for fund based accounting, this is much simpler to use than quickbooks - I do the math through kindful and my accountant does it through quickbooks - the information is automatically shared through the quickbooks integration. Zapier integration means you can get information in and out of kindful easily. Different price points for different organization sizes is key - a low cost entry point was a big deal for me.

CONS

Not the most intuitive layout, so takes some time getting used to, but once you do it is a very powerful tool. Looks good on a desktop, but not on iphone display. Integration with quickbooks is my main goal and is not perfect - numbers sync fine but sometimes followup is necessary to make sure the accounts/funds are credited properly. Would love to see an integration with campaign monitor for emails and a better to-do/task sharing interface (like basecamp).

Vendor Response

Hey David, Thanks a million for the positive review! We're extremely grateful for the overwhelmingly positive comments you have about Kindful. Our main focus is being a platform that can connect to the services you need ¿ so it's a huge pat on our back to hear that you're able to use the QuickBooks and Zapier integrations to improve your accounting and database management. We also appreciate the critical feedback. Improving the QuickBooks integration is on our radar, as well as improving mobile friendliness. It's also good to know how our customers prefer to use tasks/to-do's, so that feedback is huge as well. Thanks again for the awesome review. It's very thorough and lets us in on the ways our customers are using Kindful. We're grateful to have you in the Kindful family! ¿¿ - Jared E

Replied October 2017

Maggie

Non-Profit Organization Management, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed October 2022

Made with the user at the forefront

Overall, Kindful's customer service and their willingness to teach you how to use any tool could outweigh any negative. It's extremely user-friendly and you can tell was created with the user in mind.

PROS

I like most that I can see a very clear snapshot of a donor's activity on their profile. Donations, if they recently opened a mailing, if they have been acknowledged etc.

CONS

For fundraising, I feel that there could be a better way to host a fundraiser for an event through Kindful.

Reasons for switching to Kindful

Classy became too expensive to not also include a donor management system.

Jim

Non-Profit Organization Management, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed February 2021

Strong for "Cash" Transactions - NOT so Strong for "Non-Cash" Donations

Currently, our overall experience is rough to say the least - particularly with "non-cash" approach/needs. They have made the "non-cash" part of this software so cumbersome that it truly has become a "time waster" and not efficient for us. Their team has certainly attempted to be helpful - but most times it's merely referencing "blog" articles, link, etc... (which I've typically done BEFORE ever reaching out to the support team). And, suggestions don't really appear to be taken seriously - since no one follows-up with those, nor do they indicate any changes for upgrading and/or making significant changes based on suggestions.

PROS

Ease of use is fine for "cash, checks, credit card, etc." transactions - but NOT for "non-cash" donations. Monthly subscription and pricing. I also really like the "interface" and virtual/multiple access for our entire staff/team. The "dashboards" nice - but missing a lot of detail - especially for "non-cash." I do like the "help" section which is part of the dashboard - which allows you to also ask direct questions and provide a related URL. Integration is nice - but even then the vendors have issues related in how they actually integrate with Kindful proper - adding more work in the end (ex: ClickBid).

CONS

Kindful's treatment of "Non-Cash" donations is so far removed from the way "cash, checks, credit card, etc" transactions are handled - it simply works against us and makes to many "hoops" to jump thru in attempting to manage data for "non-cash" donors. Especially, since 85% of all our donations are "non-cash." If you have a lot of "non-cash" donations - this is probably not the best choice for you at this point. The "email editor" is archaic given today's need for appealing design and fast-paced email communication cycles - to all areas of donors. The "dashboard" is nice - but again is geared mostly to "cash, check and credit, etc" transactions and not "non-cash" - and limited stats. Attempting to prepare and issue "tax receipts" for ALL donors - has been extremely difficult and frustrating. The "reporting" approach is cumbersome and not instantly informative in regard to statistics, especially. Most reports have to be exported to sort and manipulate the data. Further, most PDFs and reports have to be "sent" later from Kindful - there's very little instant access/immediate download.

Reason for choosing Kindful

They were both on my top list. I felt the Kindful "interface" was more "user-friendly" for our staff/team, thinking the majority of features were pretty identical. I was wrong. However, the "non-cash" and the limited "email" capability (beyond an external subscription) approach in Kindful has become a repeat offender for me and continues to frustrate - time after time - when working on "non-cash" donations, follow-up and approaches.

Reasons for switching to Kindful

We needed to switch to something with a reasonable cost - and some updated features. We liked the ability to have monthly subscription with Kindful - and we like the integration idea.

Jim

Music, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2019

A step forward

To date, it has been a positive experience from data entry to reporting. I hope, with the recent hire of an administrative manager, that we will make better use of the software.

PROS

After one year of using another product, I requested that my team member investigate other options. After reviewing several options, Kindful seemed to match the needs we had and addressed the paths that we hoped to go. We are still in the learning curve of the many features, but the software has been very helpful in achieving what we need.

CONS

I have not had too many negative experiences with the software. I wish there was a way to print the dashboard for overview reports for my board. If there is a way I would like to learn it.

Reason for choosing Kindful

At the time, my recall is that it seemed the most user-friendly.

Reasons for switching to Kindful

I did not find the data pertinent to what I needed and subsequently, the reporting was pointless.

Heather

Religious Institutions, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2021

Intuitive, Useful, and Friendly

Our overall experience has been good. Have worked out most of the kinks over the last year and have been able to train other staffers to use it with ease. Thankful for the support and quick answers to our questions and resolutions (though not always solutions) to our challenges.

PROS

Easy to use. Has most of what we need without being overwhelming or requiring our own IT/programming team. Friendly and helpful support.

CONS

Not as customizable as some CRMs are, so while Kindful Is taking care of most of our needs, we have had to hobble a few things together with it to make it serve all of our needs.

Reason for choosing Kindful

We chose Kindful because it made the most sense with our organizational size and needs.

Reasons for switching to Kindful

We did not have the technical capacity to make Salesforce meet our needs and we did not require a system that was quite as robust as Salseforce was.

Mark Senyo

Hospital & Health Care, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2021

Through kindful, we have raised funds to cover treatment & reintegration costs of over 100 patient

We were struggling to provide essential and proper care to poorer clients who could not cover the costs of their treatment, often resulting in premature discharge of clients needing additional care. Once we established our foundation to help raise funds for such cases, Kindful has been really great in helping us source donations, particularly from international benefactors. We are now able to reach a lot more of clients needing financial support than ever before.

PROS

Unlike most fundraising platforms, Kindful provides very clear and concise pricing plans that do not conceal any hidden fees or fine-print clauses that trick clients out of funds raised. This is a very transparent process that allows us to be confident in the financial reporting of each campaign to our partners and donors without any impact on the trust they have in us. Also, Kindful makes the process of donation extremely easy by making contributions possible through multiple quick processing channels.

CONS

Compared to other alternatives we tried, I find that their training resources are a little too narrow in focus. They could be broadened further to cover all other related elements of nonprofit management and financing.

Reason for choosing Kindful

For fundraising campaigns to cover treatment costs of individual client cases, Kindful seemed better suited. We rely on the others for the much bigger campaigns.

Jennifer

Primary/Secondary Education, 1 employee

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2019

Kindful has saved my life (only partially kidding)

The customer service is fantastic - every person is helpful and kind and I can get someone on the phone. An actual PERSON. Our data migration was handled beautifully. There is so much training I wish I had time to take advantage of.

PROS

This program is so intuitive and well designed it just blows my mind. I'm still learning the ropes but every time I think "Hm I wonder if I can do ...." I realize that Kindful either automatically does that thing or makes it incredibly easy to do. Tasks that used to take me 20 minutes are now literally done automatically. It has a great "brain" that seems to sense what I need and how to deliver it to me quickly. The user interface is also beautiful, which is super important to me.

CONS

The only thing I don't like is that it does not make it easy to work with couples as a contact. (So Mr. and Mrs. Jones vs. Mr. Jones.) You can convert them to an organization vs and individual, so it's a minor quibble. I also wish that you could use and add more images on the templates.

Reason for choosing Kindful

I liked the interface a lot more. Also- the sales for DP were pretty pushy. Frankly Kindful speaks for itself.

Reasons for switching to Kindful

Etapestry is an unmitigated nightmare. I despise it. It's like using a Blackberry in 2019.

Jeremy

Non-Profit Organization Management, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2020

Kindful continues to grow

We needed a place to both store historical donor data as well as organize a capital campaign as well as a sustaining campaign.

PROS

Ease of setup and use Capture of information from Paypal Automated tax receipts and easy end of year tax documents

CONS

Lack of ability to setup and link different paypal / payment accounts to each of the different campaigns Awkward interactions when you are both an admin and a donor Limited customization of public facing donation pages.

Reason for choosing Kindful

It was simpler, cheaper, had a smoother look and was easy to train people on. It was also a new product and it looked like it had a lot of people working on making customer-led improvements.

Lorien

Non-Profit Organization Management, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2022

Ease of use and customizable

Customer service is amazing! Really great value for the cost. It's intuitive to navigate, not overly cluttered. The financial reports are SO customizable. The tax-document send-out is so simple and fast, and they have options to update addresses (like when people move) from the post office database. So many other integrations make this a platform easily customizable to different nonprofits' needs.

PROS

Customer service and set-up was a breeze! So helpful being able to contact real people for custom solutions. Importing records from other systems is one of the easiest I've seen.

CONS

It's not quite as robust on the CRM side as some of the other options out there- however even with that, they have easy integrations with most of those major programs!

Reason for choosing Kindful

We found this early on and were pretty sold. With our background using other systems, we just knew this was easier the ones we've used in the past.

Reasons for switching to Kindful

Pushpay had terrible customer service- no phone number, wouldn't hear back on email for months. Their system was clunky and not user-intuitive. We couldn't help donors update their payment information either.

Mohammed

Non-Profit Organization Management, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2021

a very personal touch to fundraising and donor management

Kindful has helped us manage our fundraising campaigns significantly better. The best part of working with Kindful is that it takes very little getting used to, and training new team members on how to integrate it optimally into their daily routines is not very complex.

PROS

Kindful's payment processing tool works exceptionally well and provides all the security assurances that often have donors concerned about making payments online. Another favorite feature of mine is that multiple admins are allowed per campaign, making collaboration much more effective. Also being able to generate reports on each donor's lifetime of activity always adds a personal touch to our monthly and annual emails.

CONS

Direct integration with major platforms and associated services is quite limited and can mostly only be achieved with third party facilitation. With confidentiality and trust being a very critical element in our relationships, the fewer the number of outlets with data on our operations, the better it would feel.

Reason for choosing Kindful

Most of the other nonprofits within our network recommended Kindful over the others.

Brittany

Non-Profit Organization Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed August 2017

We use it daily and it is very user friendly. Even those of us who aren't tech-savvy can 'get it'.

More streamlined than our previous interface, more user friendly.

PROS

I like the way everything is organized, Dashboard/Activities/Contacts... I like how reports can be automatic from the system straight to my email, daily. I like that once the credit card/ACH info is entered, we don't actually have access to those numbers, and helps with PCI compliance. When there is an issue, we email support and they respond promptly, within 24 hours, and are very friendly and very helpful. I love the size of Kindful, because I feel like they still take input from clients to improve their systems.

CONS

When a donor makes a donation and pays for the transaction fee, you have to go in manually and split the transaction fee from the donation. On days that we have recurring transactions come out, it takes us an incredible amount of time for us to find and go through all the transactions to manually split the transaction fees from the donation itself. That is very time consuming. I personally call donors often, and there is a way to make a 'note' on the donor's profile, however, to access the last time I called, I would need to scroll through transactions to find the last note or go out and create a report. There should be a 'note book' that I can open and see all our correspondence, no matter if the call was in 2012 or today. (Both of which I have brought up with Kindful Support, and they know it's an issue we have with the software).

Vendor Response

Hi, Brittany! Thanks for such a great review. It sounds like you're getting a ton out of the software, and that really excites and energizes us. We love seeing our customers succeed! I really appreciate what you had to say about the size of Kindful. We really want to be personable with our customers (which includes receiving and responding to feedback!), and it sounds like you've had that experience. I also wanted you to know we've also started rolling out phone support for all customers, so you can reach our nice folks during normal business hours at (888) 854-3230. As for the transaction fee splitting and notes view, those are both great ideas that I'll pass along to our product designers. I'm hopeful we can work on those as future updates! Thanks again for writing in. Talk to you soon, - Jared

Replied August 2017

Manny

Used free trial

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

Reviewed August 2015

After 7 Months with Kindful, we pulled the plug. Be cautious!

The customer support team was fairly prompt in replying, but often they weren't on the same page. Not only that but we were being strung along for much of the time we were working with them. We were often promised that if they received a file, that it would be up in no time. After 7 months we were done with the broken promises. We were originally attracted to Kindful because of the ease of use and because it appeared to take something complicated (which some donor management systems can be) and make it simple enough for anyone in the organization to use. They offered support, and unlimited users which were a plus. Not only that but we were promised from the time of uploading our previous database and quickbook files, that it would be a month max before we were online and running. Unfortunately, we did not received what was promised. We were asked multiple times for different files and tweaks to the files and it was clear that we were not a priority for the staff. After back and forth of needing different files for 6 MONTHS, we gave an ultimatum that we would need to have the system up and running by the end of the 7 month or else we would need to find another provider. By the 7th month, we were still promised it was almost ready (something they had been promising since the 3rd month that we had been paying for the service). In the end, the system was never finished and we were never fully functional. We filed a complaint with the better business bureau. Kindful responded with a timeline that made it look like they were diligent. We responded with scores of emails that left no doubt they had dropped the ball and there has been no reply since then. We are a small non profit with basic and general methods of receipting. We use Quickbooks but Kindful required multiple practices which forced us to create work arounds simply to use some of the methods we have used before. We are all about change, but when the new methods require more work, we tend to want to keep it simple and efficient. Kindful made some things easier while making other things harder.

Vendor Response

Kindful is not looking to throw stones here. While we certainly would have preferred a different outcome in this situation, and believe we had finally arrived at one before World Link decided to cancel, we can provide a timeline to show all the interruptions faced. There was a longer than anticipated timeline we experienced during this process, and we spent many times waiting on necessary information from the organization at multiple times throughout the process; this review fails to mention the countless calls we took and after-hours support we provided. While this process has taken longer than expected on both sides, we worked diligently during business hours and even overtime for World Link. Some of these discussions happened prior to weekends and resumed the following week, as well as after organization representative's weeks away for missionary work. World Link successfully used Kindful's software to receive donations and automatically thank those donors repeatedly.

Replied August 2015

Brittany

Non-Profit Organization Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed February 2021

Kindful cannot do it ALL

Onboarding and uploading data was smooth, however it could not run robust reports, could not customize event page with something as simple as adding a field for participant to choose shirt size.

PROS

It had a good price point that included CRM and event and peer to peer platform

CONS

Customer service was horrible. You could not talk to a live person. You would use chat box or email only to get a link to a response 48 hours later.

Vendor Response

Hi Brittany It's been a while (over 3 years now), but it's good to hear from you! Though we appreciate you sharing your feedback, Kindful looks much different than it did in 2017. We take our customers' feedback seriously, and with our hard-working product team, we're making updates every month to make Kindful even easier and more powerful to use. We offer free phone and email support to all our customers. Our Nashville-based support team is available 8 AM -5 PM CST Monday - Friday. They will respond to all requests within 24 hours, although most requests are handled even faster. We also launched our event registration feature just last year, completely customizable with your own images, branding, and URLs. We understand we may not have been a good fit in 2017, but we work to be better for our customers every day. I hope you've found a solution that works well for you, but if you ever do want to give Kindful another shot, don't hesitate to reach out. Take care, Brittany!

Replied February 2021

Allessia

Religious Institutions, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed February 2019

Big Upgrade for our NonProfit

Honestly when we first signed up for Kindful we needed a lot of help with integrations and the general function of Kindful. At that time customer service was only through email and Kindful was in another time zone. I vented quite a bit in the beginning because as a new customer the tutorials didn't always provide specific solutions for our problems. NOW THEY HAVE A PHONE CALL OPTION!!! I would say that although we have grown as a customer in understanding the platform, Kindful too has grown by leaps and bounds in customer support. I feel like their IT is more knowledgeable about the platform and provides better solutions. This is one of the greatest improvements since coming on board 2 years ago! THANK YOU KINDFUL.

PROS

I love that this platform houses all of my donor information and that the donors have access to their information. I love the ease of creating new campaigns and receiving donations! I also love the ease of getting out the end of year tax receipts!

CONS

My least favorite thing about this platform is the reports. All though you can pull a report on virtually anything it doesn't provide totals and is a bit clunky. I am also still hoping for proper integration with our email platform Active Campaign to make our communications more seamless.

User Profile

Marion

Verified reviewer

Public Policy, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2019

A great tool for small to mid-size nonprofits

We got Kindful in July 2017 to replace Salsa, which we found overpriced and clunky. We chose Kindful because, combined with Mailchimp and Eventbrite, it met our needs very well, and enabled us to reduce the cost of our development/communications/event toolkit by over 50% overnight, while substantially improving the quality of our tools. We found the Kindful team very easy to work with, always helpful and responsive. We also appreciate that Kindful keeps getting better and more sophisticated.

PROS

Kindful is very easy to learn to use, and it offers all the features that fundraisers at most small to mid-size nonprofits will want, without needless complexity and at a very reasonable price tag. It also integrates very well with best-in-class tools like Mailchimp and Eventbrite, enabling you to build a suite of tools tailored to your organization's specific needs. Kindful's dashboard is very good, and their reporting features are solid. Help materials are great. We also really appreciate the very responsive and very friendly staff, always there to help!

CONS

Some aspects of Kindful aren't super intuitive, and if you don't use them frequently, you may spend some time confused and looking around. That said, the help materials will usually solve these problems quickly.

Roberta

Legal Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2023

Kindful is a very useful product

Kindful's customer service is above par. They are always available and thorough when researching issues.

PROS

The ease of use and quick training is essential and very much in the Kindful brand. Custom reports are easy to generate and extremely helpful.

CONS

I am not able to generate my custom receipts in Kindful but that is easily remedied with a CSV file and Word. I am not sure that there is anything that I don't like about Kindful. I know that there are things that I may not be utlizing, but that is due to time constraints on my part.

Reasons for switching to Kindful

We did not have the ability to pull data or make changes - that had to be done through a 3rd party which costs time and lots of money. It also was designed 20+ years ago.

Laila

Non-Profit Organization Management, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY