User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

3.5 / 5

Value for Money

3.0 / 5

Customer Support

4.0 / 5

Functionality

3.5 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(3)

3

4 stars

(11)

11

3 stars

(10)

10

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(1)

1

  • Pros

  • "I like that it integrates almost seamlessly with Raisers Edge! I love how the Constituent 360 database tracks every interaction a user makes."

  • "I like that it syncs with Raiser's Edge and is very easy to upload data into the system."

  • "The flexibility and the integration are the best parts."

  • Cons

  • "It has been difficult to get used to using the Community when issues arise however on the other hand the Community is an excellent resource. "

  • "The learning curve is steep. There is a big up tick in learning the product and using it to meet best practice standards. "

  • "It's similar to other products but, it seems to lack some of the features of Salesforce."

Browse Luminate Online Marketing Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - -25 of 25 results

February 2015

Ali from Southlake regional health centre foundation

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: Free Trial


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.5

February 2015

Easy to use, amazing results!

Pros

I like that it integrates almost seamlessly with Raisers Edge! I love how the Constituent 360 database tracks every interaction a user makes.

Cons

I don't like that the C360 database doesn't allow for Organisational records. That's silly Blackbaud! And the preceding alpha and zeros on a receipt number don't transfer to RE.

August 2014

Keri from GVFBS

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Civic & Social Organization

Time Used: Free Trial


Ease-of-use

3.5

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2014

We purchased the platform nine months ago

Pros

This product integrates with Raiser's Edge, which streamlines data entry. They have a great program called Go!, which takes you through three different email campaigns and provides specific direction and feedback to grow your email lists. It is not difficult to set up new action forms. Emails are not difficult to send (especially if you are working off a template designed for you in the Go! Program). Blackbaud has been quick to respond to concerns and problems that arose from the integration with Raisers Edge.

Cons

Navigating to some of the reports is less intuitive than I would like. But, like anything, once you understand the structure, it is okay.

February 2019

Emily from Environmental Defense Fund

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Civic & Social Organization

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

2.0

February 2019

Walled garden that failed to keep up with changing world

For a small nonprofit trying to accomplish simple tasks, Luminate's all-in-one nature would be an advantage, but I can't imagine a small nonprofit having the budget for this tool. Any nonprofit who can afford this product is likely doing things far too sophisticated to accomplish without a lot of hacky workarounds. Blackbaud is a company that competes by acquiring their competitors and letting the product wither. LO's predecessor, Convio, was a pretty good early online nonprofit platform, but after the Blackbaud acquisition, they lost most of the original staff and fell permanently behind the curve on innovation.

Pros

As an all-in-one tool, there were some built-in easy personalizations and a universal login.

Cons

Very difficult to flow information to and from other tools. Query tool has significant limitations in capability - no nested parentheticals, e.g. ((a AND b) OR (c AND d) OR e) AND (x or y) AND z - and takes forever to run. Reports similarly limited and run slowly, occasionally hanging up and never finishing. Spend a lot of time exporting reports, manually manipulating them in Excel, and reuploading them back into the system. Limited number of custom fields available. Clunky interface that's difficult to train new employees on. No significant automation capabilities. Always 1-2 years or more behind the curve as new features become industry standard. Eventually started building a next-gen product that operates in parallel to the legacy product and requires the user to toggle back and forth between products and push data from one to the other (with a wait, of course) instead of all the features being available in the same product. Nickel and dime you with additional costs for anything remotely advanced or new.

November 2015

Shaun from AIDS Resource Center Ohio

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Civic & Social Organization

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2015

Great product with a lot of potential

Pros

The flexibility and the integration are the best parts.

Cons

Blackbaud has acquired a lot of products over the years and even though integration is happening, your needs may be slower at integration than others.

May 2015

Keri from Greater Vancouver Food Bank

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Civic & Social Organization

Time Used: Less than 2 years


Ease-of-use

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2015

Luminate Go!

Pros

I loved their Go! Program. It enabled us to get up and running with our eNewsletter, and various eCampaigns. Providing templates and guidance.

Cons

Not as intuitive as I would like. Also you either have to use the WYSIWYG Editor (which can be buggy) or know HTML.

September 2016

Jamie from Project Angel Heart

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Civic & Social Organization

Time Used: Less than 6 months


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

3.5

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.5

September 2016

Luminate Online: Sophisticated, Imperfect

Pros

Overall, I really like Blackbaud. I'm an expert user/administrator of several of their products. And to be perfectly frank, Blackbaud is THE industry standard software. You can go with another vendor, but Blackbaud WILL end up buying that product out. Luminate in all of its iterations is a perfect example of this. It used to be Convio, its own, standalone non-profit software company. It is now a product in the Blackbaud family. I use Luminate in conjunction with Raiser's Edge via a Blackbaud-provided integration plugin. One thing I really like about this is that my two database software components communicate with one another. I also really like that you can use formulas--from simple to complex--to generate targeted ask strings for constituents in emails and donation forms. And that is the best thing about Luminate Online. It is powerful and customizable. It is capable of nuance and automation. It has API access for developers. These things are vital in the world of internet marketing, communications, and donation processing. I am also thrilled with its capability to automate recurring giving, providing recurring donors with logins to self-manage some of their giving information. Recurring giving in Raiser's Edge is a relatively manual process still. For orgs with large recurring donor groups, this product can help save a lot of time and energy by automating many of the aspects of managing these donors.

Cons

My biggest beef with Luminate Online is that it is ill-equipped to deal with non-individual, organizational records, such as businesses. There really is no functionality for org-type records, let alone the ability to manage and communicate with contacts. I would really like to see this part of the product fleshed out more in a similar way to the Raiser's Edge. I also really dislike the event management piece of Luminate Online. It lacks basic functionality, such as the ticket buyer being able to provide guest names (!). It's almost unbelievable that any 21st century software product that provides event management functions would be incapable of collecting the most rudimentary, necessary information for an event. Both of these issues are points in the software that make it clear this product was acquired by Blackbaud and not designed from the ground up by Blackbaud. Small snags in integration and imperfections in the product become sore points after a while, and the only way to overcome them is to have some serious web-developing firepower at your command. Many of Luminate Online's issues CAN be overcome by having a consultant or in-house web-developer customize the product for you. However, small non-profits rarely can afford this.

April 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

April 2019

Not very user friendly

I have used TeamRaiser in Luminate a few times to create fundraising pages for kids in need of care and shared giving links via our website, social media however we weren't very successful with campaign and the platform could be updated as far as design, templates offered.

Pros

It's a great tool for event, volunteer management and crowdfunding. The TeamRaiser portion of Luminate offers a crowdfunding feature where you are able to create different fundraisers and share links via your website to direct people to make a gift.

Cons

Not very user-friendly and very tedious to me as far as the TeamRaiser software part of Luminate. It's very time consuming and tedious to create crowdfunding pages and requires you multiple steps to create a profile for another donor. I spent an hour trying to create one before giving up. If you want to create fundraising pages and share via your website it's easy however it gets complicated if you want to have your donors create their own pages and share with others as it requires just one person to manage all accounts so basically we need to create their profiles for them and all donations from their personal link go through my one email for all donors.

January 2016

Sally from Carry The Load

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

2.5

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

January 2016

Bad Timing for us

Pros

It is powerful in the use of the data and also in the production of web pages.

Cons

It seems like every time we pay for some customization, then not long after, it becomes a feature or fix in a future release. I just feel like we're not being advised very well. We aren't a cookie-cutter blackbaud client, so it doesn't always fit with what we are trying to do.

September 2015

Jackie from Interfaith Ministries for Greater Houston

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Civic & Social Organization

Time Used: Less than 2 years


Ease-of-use

3.5

Customer support

4.5

Functionality

4.0

September 2015

We use LO in conjunction with TR. We have several TR events each year.

Pros

It is easy to use once you spend the time to learn the product and receive the appropriate training.

Cons

The learning curve is steep. There is a big up tick in learning the product and using it to meet best practice standards.

June 2015

Angie from Van Andel Institute

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: Less than 2 years


Ease-of-use

2.5

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2015

Luminate Online is a great email and fundraising tool

Pros

I like that it syncs with Raiser's Edge and is very easy to upload data into the system.

Cons

I wish the donation pages were a bit easier to design.

May 2019

Abraham from A&N Steel Ltd.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

2.0

May 2019

Good for a very select group

Pros

As an all in one solution, it works very well. If you can afford it and aren't looking at any of its more advanced competitors, this will get the job done in a basic, matter-of-fact sense. Sleek design with intuitive, though limited, interface.

Cons

We found the pricing to be more than we were willing to put up with for long. Very limited in the ability to customize your dashboard and tools. More affordable alternatives exist on the market with more powerful tools, resources, and support staff. I also did not appreciate being charged for any little feature I wanted to add to my account that really should have come standard.

April 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

1.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

1.0

April 2018

Horrid, stay away!

Pros

Nothing. Since this space has to be filled with 100 characters I will reiterate that there is nothing positive to say about this platform.

Cons

Blackbaud is a hydra with a thousand heads and zero direction. It's products, including Luminate, are archaic and outdated, lacking in user experience, features and functionality. Platform support is laughable. Choose an alternative and stay far, far away!

July 2017

Amanda from BoatU.S. Foundation

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Maritime

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2017

Easy to use without a programmer, but much better with programming experience.

The biggest thing I've been using this for lately is event registration and management. Without this product we wouldn't be able to pilot the programs we're piloting right now.

Pros

Very robust software with a ton of features built in. It requires some initial training to get started but once you get the hang of it, figuring out all the menus and features gets easier.

Cons

The interface can be clunky at times. Some things require navigating multiple menus and clicking multiple times to complete a task. But overall the functionality is incredible.

August 2015

Barb from Hephzibah Children's Association

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Civic & Social Organization

Time Used: Less than 12 months


Ease-of-use

3.5

Customer support

2.5

Functionality

3.5

August 2015

Luminate Online "Go to the community"!

Pros

It's a wonderful way to engage with your constituents and look at online marketing as a tool for growth.

Cons

I want a live person to ask questions to, without having to be told "post it to the community" every time an issue comes up. And then having to wait a day or two for a response or comment.

September 2015

Molly from Hephzibah Children's Association

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Civic & Social Organization

Time Used: Less than 12 months


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.5

September 2015

Luminate provides an on-line branded look!

Pros

The look of the finished product is incredibly professional. The software is also easy to use after you spend time learning it.

Cons

It has been difficult to get used to using the Community when issues arise however on the other hand the Community is an excellent resource.

August 2014

Alicia from National Relief Charities

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Civic & Social Organization

Time Used: Free Trial


Ease-of-use

4.5

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.5

August 2014

Used service since 2006

Pros

I love that I can do everything in one tool. The initial training and ongoing resources are great. The support team is helpful, and if you ever use client services, they are even better.

Cons

The price is a little steep, and the reporting could be a little more in-depth.

October 2014

Anna from Four Oaks

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Civic & Social Organization

Time Used: Free Trial


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2014

Luminate Online Rocks!

Pros

Luminate Online is a cutting-edge and forward-thinking software that leverages the strength of the world's leading fundraising software developer with the input from actual end users of the product. Blackbaud listens to us!

Cons

It's slightly expensive, but you get what you pay for.

October 2014

Jody from Canadian Cancer Society AB/NWT

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Free Trial


Ease-of-use

3.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

3.0

October 2014

Luminate Review

Pros

It allows us to create online fundraising sites when you have little knowledge of website design.

Cons

Their eCommerce module is out of date, and many times, we find that we are battling the system to do what we want and writing custom code to get what we want.

March 2015

Kelsie from Columbia University

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Environmental Services

Time Used: Free Trial


Ease-of-use

3.5

Customer support

4.5

Functionality

3.5

March 2015

Luminate Review

Pros

This product is fairly easy to use, and if I have any questions the FAQ or Luminate employees are easy to get in touch with.

Cons

It's similar to other products but, it seems to lack some of the features of Salesforce.

September 2018

Felipe from Serradell A.C.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2018

is really necesary?

I really don't like at all, but i have to work with

Pros

I love web pages that can help us with the task we need to do, and this tool do that I need to do, but personaly i do not really liked

Cons

Sometimes need a previous training before you start and its a little bit complicate, if you are not familiar with manage web pages

October 2016

Shawna from Union Rescue Mission

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

3.0

October 2016

Workhorse, but clunky and challenging to use

Luminate's email marketing tools are clunky. The segmentation is challenging as is building split tests. The support materials are dense but the support team itself is knowledgeable, which is the only saving grace in this review.

February 2015

Lance from Westco

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Free Trial


Ease-of-use

4.5

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2015

Mysurvey22

Pros

The speed. It is very reliable and dependable. Like the aspects.

Cons

There is really nothing at all except for maybe the costs.

February 2015

stella from Unibank

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Environmental Services

Time Used: Free Trial


Ease-of-use

4.5

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2015

Accountant

Pros

Very professional and prompt on getting back to me

Cons

It's sometimes hard to reach people. Initial contact is hard.

March 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

3.0

March 2019

Expensive for some clients

Pros

Lots of features built in if you have the time to learn them

Cons

A bit too complex for your everyday user and pretty pricey for smaller companies/nonprofits who may need to utilize something like this.

June 2019

Hannah from Chico Animal Shelter

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2019

Great, intuitive system!

Overall experience has been positive! Would defnintely recomend!

Pros

I loved how easy it was to navigate and learn.

Cons

There are a few features I wish I could do more with.