All Salsa Engage Reviews

1-25 of 138 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Kalyn

Verified reviewer

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2018

Great drag and drop system!

We can combine all of our external communications including event pages, donation pages, and email marketing into one platform!

PROS

Love the easy marketing platform engage has built with the ability to craft visually dynamic emails and all of our event/fundraising pages!

CONS

The company does quite a few updates, which is great, however, sometimes these cause a bug in the system and it will interfere with functionality temporarily.

Paulette

Civic & Social Organization

Used more than 2 years

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2015

Two organizations. Five years. Salsa makes it easy.

PROS

Simplicity of use - at least the basics - regardless of the web development skillset of the staff. The packages are also customizable for the needs of one's organization: if you need the whole kit 'n' kaboodle, you get it. If not, you get only what you need. You can also set permission levels for staff to control who can do what to which parts of the packages.

CONS

The look of the forms! For orgs that can't splurge on a web developer/designer, it can be absolutely frustrating to have to clean up so many of Salsa's forms just to get them to be visually pleasing. Also, much of the common changes that orgs want to make seem to be found in some special coding: wouldn't it be easier to provide the types of forms with info most people want, but give them the option to take it off (rather than having to know and trust their coding skills to add them)?

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Used monthly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed September 2018

Designed to make Life difficult

We have been using it for two years and have done several events and countless email blasts and the learning curve is still way too steep. We frequently have requests for simple things like linking directly to the ticket sales page and we have to wait a year for implementation because the process is in a widget. We will be switching to something more user friendly.

PROS

It was not as expensive as some of the other professional suites.

CONS

This is the most non intuitive program i have ever used. It can do what you need but it is not going to be easy to get there and will take days if you have to go back and forth with the help center. They don't appear to be super compatible with safari. They open helpful windows and the close function will be off screen. Nothing is more frustrating then trying to get something done and have a pop obscure your window and you can't close it. I stopped to write this review because thats where I am and it has happened more then once this year. The help documents on-line frequently do not match the program or the information is obtuse. They will give an instruction but not how to reach the page where the function is buried and the screen shot will look nothing like the current program. Do you assume its outdated or spend an hour looking for the secret portal...It will not be where you logically thing it should be. There query system for generating and outputting mailing lists is cumbersome and takes several steps to achieve what seems like a simple task. If you need to know who was added to your database this year you have to select several pulldowns before you can select the date. If you output the wrong way it will delete the first digit of any zip code that starts with zero. The design engine for email blasts is clunky and leaves too much space between elements that can't be adjusted. It makes for some awkward spacing and alignment.

Erin

Used less than 6 months

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2015

Salsa - flexible, multifaceted and great support team

PROS

Our non-profit aids other smaller non-profit organizations in outreach and advocacy efforts around a variety of issues. Salsa has been great for us because it so flexible and capable of many different types of outreach and advocacy. It has helped us with large scale campaigns and small scale, regular communication with supporters. We are even starting to use it for donor management. One really useful feature in Salsa is its ability to seemingly integrate into our webpage for advocacy actions, so folks can visit our page and take action without feeling like they're getting shuttled somewhere else where their contact information/identity may feel less secure. It is also fun to watch the action unfold and track response on the back end to evaluate the effectiveness of our campaign. The best part - if you run into a wall using the software, Salsa's support team is very quick to respond and amazingly helpful.

CONS

Salsa, at times, can seem very complicated to use, but that is because it is such a powerful, multifaceted tool. And, like I mentioned, when it gets complicated, Salsa's support team is right there to help. One wish for the software would be that web and email templates could be a little more easy to put together, more flexible and more polished. This may speak more to my lack of design code knowledge than of Salsa Software, but I feel like my final html email products aren't as shiny as some I've produced in html email specific software.

Emily

Non-Profit Organization Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed October 2019

Salsa for Non-Profits

Salsa is good for general tracking of activities, donors, etc. I would recommend other CRMs over Salsa due to the outdated platform.

PROS

Salsa was good for making secure notes about participants/donors and tracking relationships and touches with the participant/donor.

CONS

Running reports is extremely difficult in Salsa. I think this feature could be updated and your customers would be a lot more pleased.

Vendor Response

Emily - Thank you for your review. It looks like it has been a couple of years since you have seen our software. We'd love to show you what we can do now! Please let us know if you are interested.

Replied November 2019

User Profile

Jessica

Verified reviewer

Marketing and Advertising, 1 employee

Used monthly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed July 2019

Not My Favorite for Email Marketing

I use Salsa to send monthly newsletters and occasional standalone emails to supporters of a non-profit I do marketing consulting for.

PROS

I like that it integrates with Salsa CRM. That's about it, though.

CONS

Pretty much everything. The user interface--while greatly improved recently over what it used to be--is clunky, outdated, and not user-friendly. It looks like a drag and drop editor, but it's far less intuitive than one would hope. Everything is 10x more complicated than it needs to be. Having used other email marketing platforms, this one is definitely my least favorite.

Reasons for switching to Salsa Engage

I didn't make the choice. I wish we hadn't switched.

Adrienne

Non-Profit Organization Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2018

Business Manager

Salsa has a great training program and their customer service department is very friendly and is able to help me out when I need assistance. Salsa Engage allows a small nonprofit to afford customized event forms.

PROS

Allows us to customize online forms for fundraising events at an affordable price. Easy to use and pull reports.

CONS

I do not like the fact that the donation information flows into the system without any way to approve it.

User Profile

Grace

Verified reviewer

Non-Profit Organization Management, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2019

Hard(ish) to learn, but great functionality

Our nonprofit uses Salsa Engage for grassroots advocacy, fundraising, communications, and event planning. Being able to combine four different services into one integrative platform has saved the organization countless hours and effort.

PROS

Salsa Engage really seems to do it all. We use it as our grassroots advocacy platform and are able to track interactions from our campaign. This allows us to collect tangible data about how many people called, emailed, or mailed their representatives. Salsa Engage has also replaced our giving pages, Eventbrite, and MailChimp. It's been so great to have one platform for all our communications and be able to track and connect everything. When things get complicated, customer support is usually a 10-minute hold and are able to walk me through it.

CONS

Setting up Salsa Engage and CRM took FOREVER! I didn't have a whole lot of time set aside to set it up, but even if I had, I expect it took at least 20 hours. Now that it's set up and I've completed the online training, I still find hidden issues with just about everything it does. The good news is customer support is always able to explain exactly what I need to do to fix it. I know eventually, I'll have worked through all the issues and will just know better.

Frankie

Used free trial

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

Reviewed October 2014

Efficient and Effective

DonorPro has a great capacity for maintaining and reporting detailed information! DonorPro allows detailed input of patient information, relationships, services provided, as well as donor and donation data. And then, DonorPro makes retrieval of that information quick and easy. DonorPro's software is designed with the final output in mind. It "asks the questions" that a user needs in order to maintain a detailed and functional database. The user can maintain detailed information on each constituent and can also view the big picture through reports and queries. Also, the training and support are outstanding! There are so many ways to use DonorPro to its max that it is a waste to try to figure out everything on your own. The ease of use is dependent upon the user's investment in the opportunities and resources that are offered. Deep, thorough training is offered regularly; and, when I hit a bump in the road, the support staff is always prompt, courteous, knowledgeable, and helpful. Every single time I have needed support, the team has responded quickly and accurately. There's not much about DonorPro that I don't like; most problems are caused by "user error."

Ashley

Non-Profit Organization Management, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2016

Easy to use!

DonorPro is so easy to navigate! Any one of our staff can learn how to use it within minutes. It's a great tool for many nonprofits to use as a donor database.

PROS

Ease of use

CONS

Email blasts

Jacquline

Used free trial

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

Reviewed March 2009

We do not hesitate to recommend this software to anyone!

We do not hesitate to recommend this software to anyone! After comparing it to some of the other software programs available we have learned two very important things. 1) It incorporates so many things that you would otherwise have to purchase multiple software programs to accomplish what Donor Pro does with just one. The result of this is a very significant savings which means everything to a non-profit. 2) No company has yet compared to their customer service team. They are always ready to hear customer feedback on what they can do to improve their software to better accomodate their customers, and they not only listen, but they actually follow through and incorporate those suggestions.

PROS

We cannot say enough positive things about Donor Pro. We are able to operate almost our entire office off of this software, and use it to accomadate the employees that work from home. It can easily be adapted to fit so many of our non-profits needs. We would be lost without it. The best thing about the company, by far, is their customer service. They always exceed our expectations. Our Director of Development has used several donor management software programs in her previous positions, and stated on many occasions none of them compared to all the features that donor pro offers. She is constantly amazed when she learns about a new feature and the ease of use. One of the things that highly impresses me is how easily you can make a request for an enhancement, and then how quickly you see it incorporated into a future upgrade.

CONS

We have been customers for almost 4 years now and still have no negative feedback to offer.

Keith

Used free trial

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2016

Comprehensive Tool that is not user friendly

We used Salsa for a number of years. We really appreciated the large number of tools under one roof. Also supporting an up and coming tech company located here in DC was an added bonus. However, a couple of recurring problems forced us to switch to Neon CRM and One Click Politics. First, the interface for creating emails and webpages is glitchy and inconsistent. Unless you know HTML, the user tools they provide are inconsistent in their quality. They do not do what you expect. One particularly troublesome piece was simply adding a url link to an image for folks to click on. Either the picture would be there with no link, or the link with no picture. About every 10th time you tried it would work as it was supposed to. But very frustrating when you are rushing to get an email out or setup up a time sensitive advocacy action. The second and bigger problem is Salsa has a bad reputation with spam houses. 50-75% of our listserv messages would get caught in folks spam filters because of its low reputation. I don't even want to imagine how many of our fundraising emails went into spam folder. There are many powerful things within Salsa, but it lacks consistency and reliability to make the broad range of tools available worth the aggravation of too many glitches in quality.

PROS

Large number of tools, powerful query and reporting capacity

CONS

Glitchy, poor spam reputation

Karina

Non-Profit Organization Management, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2020

Salsa Engage review

excellent

PROS

Ease of use, intuitive. Support is great!

CONS

Email driven. If corporate contact is used for private gift - record gets screwy

Reasons for switching to Salsa Engage

Too expensive

Vendor Response

Karina, We are excited that Foundation for Youth has found an intuitive, user-friendly solution with Salsa Engage! Thanks for your review.

Replied January 2021

Ziggy

Used less than 2 years

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2015

Mostly happy, but with some concerns.

PROS

As a full service product Salsa is an easier to use alternative to Salesforce (I used Salesforce for several years).

CONS

The administrative area is very hard on the eyes, sometimes buggy and poorly designed. The templating feature is draconian and lacks modern features like drag and drop. I encourage Salsa staff to sign up for a Mail Chimp demo and looks at how easy it is to create templates, on the fly, with no need to manipulate or import code. This applies to the donation page templates as well. Also, there aren't enough built in reports and building reports requires a degree in Salsa. It would be good if Salsa integrated with a greater number of merchants.

Lauren

Environmental Services

Used more than 2 years

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2015

Great all inclusive product, attentive and helpful customer service.

PROS

I like that a variety of our needs are met by one sleek product. Not only is this convenient, not only does it centrally store our supporter data, it also provides invaluable context about that data, that would otherwise be very difficult to see. The ability to see these connections and trends is vital to the success of our campaigns.

CONS

The price is difficult to justify for a small non-profit.

Alissa

Philanthropy

Used free trial

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed November 2014

Horribly Disappointing

PROS

When evaluating products, it looks like a nice one-stop-shop solution. But I am totally dissatisfied with this product. The vendor misrepresented the product, and it does not function well for most online donation functions and is extremely hard to use.

CONS

1) The pages are not mobile friendly at all. 51% of donations come via mobile, and yet, the templates they provide are not adaptive to mobile. 2) Emails that you use through their system are not viewable in a browser. This is a huge issue if you want to forward your newsletter and fundraising emails. 3) Configuration and setup were a nightmare. It's not something that someone who isn't a high level it person could do. We spent tons of time and money getting it set up, and it still was barely useable even after all that effort.

Lindsey

Used more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed May 2018

I have used this software for campaigns in the past.

PROS

I like the friendly and welcoming look of the appeals I have received. The layout and ease of use are great.

CONS

I feel like it is not as advanced as other software products with similar features. I think they could modernize and be more user friendly.

Frederick

Fine Art

Used less than 6 months

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed June 2015

Perhaps the worst decision I made in the last five years...

PROS

It's slightly less expensive than other options...

CONS

It's not worth it... There are so many problems with both the software and the service. The software is completely unintuitive. Nothing makes logical sense. It seems to have been designed by field organizers for political campaigns, not by customer friendly coders in the IT world. The service is hardly better. It's very difficult to get a live person on the phone. It's easy to get someone via email, but then it takes a back & forth of 4-5 emails before they get to the question you want answered (the first answers are usually "have you read the online help manual?" or "can you send me a screenshot of what you're talking about?", and half the time the final answer is they can't solve the problem you have. Within just one month we started running repeatedly into limitations of what the software can do. And we're a very small non-profit that's hardly sophisticated.

Tara

Environmental Services

Used more than 2 years

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed August 2015

ESC alerts

PROS

User friendly, easy to navigate, fairly easy to search, useful records such as donor files, etc. Like the groups and tags to be able to categorize our supporters.

CONS

Doesn't have basic functionality like spell check, font choices, etc

Simon

Environmental Services

Used less than 2 years

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY