What are ShelbyNext Financials users saying about the software?

Read what people like you have said about using ShelbyNext Financials software through verified user reviews

User Review Highlights

4.04

162 Reviews

5
50
4
75
3
32
2
3
1
2
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Customer Support

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5
  • icon"I love the import and export features of ShelbyNext. It makes doing budgets and journal entries so much easier."
  • icon"That it is true accounting software, it does what a good system should do and functions fairly well."
  • icon"It is relatively easy to pick up and learn all the tasks you would need to know. Having the PO Management system has been one of the most cost beneficial additions to our organization."
  • icon"It's frustrating looking for an invoice that was created in December because it lines up somewhere other than after November and there is not a sort option."
  • icon"It is difficult to alter or personalize reports."
  • icon"We needed more time but couldn't afford more training time. It was quite a battle getting everything going and understanding how to use it."

Jump to:

Browse all ShelbyNext Financials Reviews

  • Have you used ShelbyNext Financials and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a Review

Apply Filters:

X

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

ResetShow 162 Results
Filters

Showing 1 - 25 of 162 reviews

Rex

Company size: 2 - 10 employees

Time used: Unspecified

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

July 2021

ShelbyNext Financials User Review

Norm

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

December 2021

It's Been Around a Long Time - Still Serves Its Purpose

Guess I should have written here first than listed pros and cons separately. See above.

Pros

Lots of capability to manipulate record track church financial activity. Not so easy to use as it does have a steep learning curve. Customer support is nearly always sterling and most reps know their software. Lot's of features if you want the, but you do pay for what you get.

Cons

Module sales approach. "Oh, you want that feature, then you need to get the xxxx module too." Deployment can be a bit ion a challenge.

Reasons for choosing ShelbyNext Financials

We were previous V5 users, so in the end, it made most sense to stick with the product.

Shawn

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

April 2021

Great All in One for Churches

Shelby is a great system for a church looking for a one stop shop for a financial system. While some of the software is cumbersome and not intuitive, it still offers everything you would need in one stop.

Pros

While it was definitely a step back from QBO, what I admired the most about Shelby is that offers so many services in one without having to bounce back and forth between various platforms. I have everything working together right there in one service. It is relatively easy to pick up and learn all the tasks you would need to know. Having the PO Management system has been one of the most cost beneficial additions to our organization.

Cons

There are several features that are less than intuitive. I will say the biggest area that is lacking in Shelby is a better credit card management system. I would love to have organization users be able to submit and code their own expenses. Their often times where updates don’t get made properly because of the excessive amount of click throughout.

Reasons for choosing ShelbyNext Financials

The fact we could have everything we needed in one area.

Reasons for switching to ShelbyNext Financials

We were looking for something that could eliminate the various programs we were working with at the time.

Response from Ministry Brands

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review. Your feedback is critical. We will be sure to share this with our product leaders.

Replied May 2021

Amy

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

May 2021

Poor Project Management and Lazy Programmers

I will say that I like being able to access my financials online without having to host the data myself. The basic accounting functionality works most of the time allowing me to process checks, deposits, journal entries, and payroll. Their tech support people are nice enough, but if you have any complicated issues, good luck. Their software is buggy and the project manager/programmers don't seem overly concerned about sending out code that hasn't been fully tested.

Pros

I like that I can use the basic features such as cutting AP checks, processing payroll, entering deposits, and posting GL entries. Posting those things are pretty straight forward.

Cons

There are often bugs that make it into the live software that take a long time to get fixed, they assume the customer is wrong and it takes a lot to prove to them that there software is buggy, they don't want to program for multiple browsers causing bugs that are browser-specific, and they have to release emergency patches to fix buggy software issues. Hold times for support are often ridiculous and I have fixed the problem myself on several occasions (after waiting on hold) because I know more about the software than their techs. They have a non-existent API so don't expect this software to work with anything else. Their reporting leaves much to be desired and if you need to create a custom report, be prepared to spend hours setting it up because every change or account added forces the page to reload all of the data. I'm still waiting for them to fix the printing problem they introduced 6 months ago and still trying to get them to admit that their payroll vouchers don't show data properly (despite several examples of the problem). Three years in and I regret going with ShelbyNext, but the process of moving to new software is time-consuming thus I haven't moved away from them yet.

Anonymous

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
2

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
1

Customer support

out of 5
2

Functionality

out of 5

May 2018

SN financials nothing like V5, disappointment and cancelled after 9 months of struggling

none

Pros

* As a church with many funds I liked the ease of creating new funds and departments. * ease of adding GL accounts for multiple funds * When sold we were told complete system; membership, giving, and financials. * When we purchased we like that Ministry Brands will pick and choose from their purchases the complete solution. * price compared to other cloud solutions for the complete solution was reasonable and very competitive. *SaaS/monthly billing. No software purchase.

Cons

As I mentioned in the best "that Ministry Brands will pick and choose from their purchases the complete solution" After trying to get this ShelbyNext Financials implemented for 9 months, SN is not the answer. * Customer service on all of their pieces was terrible. Constantly we were in the queue for hours. Consistently we could not get into the queue. Major disappointment as V5 had good support. * Income statement and balance sheet when exported you could not download groupings requiring long name convention and work arounds. * There was not a complete solution as you were required to sign into different websites and you had to push data from membership to financials. If you have online giving that requires duplication and pushing into membership and then to financials. *Downloading into XLS was just a flat file/csv; no formula's, no headers *If multiple funds you could not consolidate the IS & BS for downloading to excel. PDFs you could. * downloading the chart of accounts was terrible. if you have 3 funds with 100 accounts, your reports had 300 line items. Not 100 with fund info. * Implementation for membership was good but financials was none existent. * GL accounts for multiple funds you were required to delete accounts in each fund if changes were made. The negatives far outweighed the few positives we saw. And the positives we saw were really promises of functionality that was not delivered.

Larry

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

August 2019

Shelby Financials Overall Viewpoint

Overall, as stated previously, it's a solid product and is light years ahead of our old software. There was a learning curve, but---it was well worth the effort.

Pros

The software is easy to use. I love some of the "short cuts" it offers when referenced against our old software package. (i.e.--the ease of voiding a check for example). It's pretty user friendly. I can usually find what I need by just looking through the menu options. Additionally, I was initially concerned/skeptical about a web based platform for our financial software (our previous setup was in house stand alone installation. No web interaction needed) But, it's been a very pleasant surprise! I have had few, if any, issues with this setup. Plus, being web based, I can get a quick view of every check or giving batch I ever enter---all on one page. Again, this was not available on our old package. Overall, a solid product.

Cons

Just a few little things. The initial setup for check printing was horrid. A lot of trial and effort went into that process. A second little thing that really annoys me. There is a set "time out" feature that the user cannot change. Meaning...I may be sitting at my computer but just not, at that moment, using the financial module of Shelby. If I don't access it in (what seems to be 2-5 minutes) I have to log back in again. As stated, this is just an annoyance. It would seem to me that the end user should be able to alter, or even disable, the automatic log off feature.

Reasons for choosing ShelbyNext Financials

Pricing was a consideration plus Shelby offered both a payable financial package along with the membership/giving package that integrated perfectly. We didn't have to purchase two standalone packages and try to make them work together.

Reasons for switching to ShelbyNext Financials

We wanted a platform that was more flexible. RDS had, what seemed to be, too many limitations. Other software packages we have didn't connect or work well with RDS. It was difficult, if not impossible, to integrate those with RDS.

Anna

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
2

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

August 2019

ShelbyNext Financials

The wait time on support calls is very long. It takes 20+ minutes before speaking with a person. One of the last times I spoke with support, the person was incredibly rude, instead of helping me seek out the answer to my issue, they believed I did not understand how a payroll itself worked and multiple times attempted to explain it to me when told that wasn't the issue. When we converted the trainer assigned to us did not correctly set up our chart of accounts. Accounts from other churches were being placed in our COA. We required an on-site visit from a Shelby trainer to clear this up and continue using the software as intended. The software itself is working well, now that the COA is cleaned up. For the most part there is help available either through a support call, or through the Help function in each module. I recently received notice of the new online training MPOWER. I am looking forward to implementing and utilizing this feature.

Pros

The software is user friendly with clear modules, and help within each section.

Cons

I would like to see more personalization options with reporting, and the ability to save a set of reports from period to period; a "one-click" option for a commonly used set of reports.

Reasons for choosing ShelbyNext Financials

We are a fairly large church and growing (600+ members currently). We were looking for software to grow with our needs, that would not require a huge conversion to a new product. That if necessary could be done with little impact to the congregation.

Reasons for switching to ShelbyNext Financials

Our previous software was 1.) no longer meeting our needs 2.) going away, a forced conversion was ahead

Jennifer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

August 2019

Great value and easy to learn

Overall, switching to Shelby has simplified many processes in our office. Our old billing systems had become very slow and required a lot of work from management to roll over from year to year. Now the workload for those rollover procedures can be done by the benefits team, and billing takes much less time and effort than it used to.

Pros

The system is easy to learn and navigate. It covers all our basic needs, including billing systems for our pension and insurance invoices. I love that it is cloud-based and easily accessible from anywhere.

Cons

New releases seem to introduce bugs into the system. They are usually resolved relatively quickly with a patch, but more in-depth testing before releases would be more helpful. I've had to spend a lot of time fixing things which is very frustrating. Detail reporting for more than one year gets time-consuming because you have to switch back and forth and adjust filters and dates each time.

Reasons for choosing ShelbyNext Financials

The price was right and we liked how the billing systems were really geared toward our organization. It felt like a good fit.

Reasons for switching to ShelbyNext Financials

Our system had been used for over 15 years and our database was really slowing down. We needed to reduce costs as well as simplify and improve our processes.

Ivela

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

September 2019

ShelbyNext Financials

Pros

We transitioned from Shelby v5 and it was a very smooth transition. ShelbyNext Financials is very similar to Shelby v5 so we were able to pick right up and keep working. I like the task bar that allows me to easily switch from one thing the the next without having to close and open different modules. It is also very easy to run reports.

Cons

I had a hard time figuring out how to get all the various totals we needed on our balance sheet and income statement. I was able to get everything in place with the help of their support staff, but it was definitely not intuitive.

Reasons for choosing ShelbyNext Financials

Since we were already on Shelby v5, we were able to transfer 100% of our financial data. If we had gone with another vendor, we would have lost all our history.

Reasons for switching to ShelbyNext Financials

We were on a server based product and needed a cloud based option so our staff would have access to information when they were not at their desks. The driving factor was the membership needs for our pastors.

Laura

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

August 2019

Shelby Make It Easy for us

The financials for Shelby is a plus for us. I like that you can create categories for everything.

Pros

Very helpful with custom lists and financial statements. Easy access and easy to learn and understand quickly.

Cons

They is nothing that I don't like about Shelby. I've been using the software since it came out. Very happy with it. Just hope we can upgrade to ShelbyNext soon. Currently we are still using Shelby V5 version.

Reasons for switching to ShelbyNext Financials

Shelby was a more up to date software to use.

Kip

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

August 2019

Love the updates

I think that ShelbyNext does a great job implementing the financials with the rest of the membership program.

Pros

Creating custom forms for events and activities at the church has been very helpful. Especially after switching recently to the new forms. They do a great job of making the forms easy to use.

Cons

I think that there could be a little more customization with the layout, design and graphics involved with forms; but, honestly, I'm not sure if I would have the time to use any more features than I already use.

Reasons for choosing ShelbyNext Financials

Easy connection between ShelbyNext Membership and Financials.

James

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

August 2019

Solid, Church-focused Financials

Being web-based was a huge need for us. With employees being mobile these days, we needed a solution that could go any where and be used on any platform.

Pros

The software is regularly updated to improve functionality and adjust for changes in financial regulations. Support is responsive and typically willing to help, including remote screen sharing.

Cons

It can be a little cumbersome for those who don't use it everyday, but you can subscribe to reports you need and get to them fairly quickly if you take the time to do that from the start.

Reasons for choosing ShelbyNext Financials

ShelbyNext Financials integrates seamlessly with our church management system

Reasons for switching to ShelbyNext Financials

Needed to move to a web-based solution.

Monica

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Accounting

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

August 2019

Shelby Next Financials

We are able to process our normal transactions in a timely manner.

Pros

It allows us to process transactions (payroll/ap/general ledger) for our multi-campus church in a fairly simple manner.

Cons

1) I am not aware of any "ticket/notification" process to notify Shelby of a need we have/special report request. There are a couple of routine processes that we do not get good reports from Shelby. 2) The change from Shelby V5 to Shelby Next resulted in a general ledger report filter process that is more difficult.

Reasons for switching to ShelbyNext Financials

The former product was not capable of processing multi-campus transactions.

User Profile

Roger

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

May 2019

Comprehensive share for churches

We have used Shelby for several years now and will continue to do so. Their upgrade to ShelbyNext was a good move.

Pros

Because It has been around a while, they have added lots of features wanted by churches.

Cons

Can be a little complicated with a bit of a learning curve.

Reasons for choosing ShelbyNext Financials

Familiarity

Connie

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

September 2019

ShelbyNext Financials

Able to process checks for monthly invoices quickly. Enables us to report PR taxes on time and with very little effort. Workers' Compensation report provides all information needed for annual audit; simply run, print and send. Custom Reports allow organization to produce information particular to our need. Creates reports that are easy to read. Cuts down on need for large financial staff.

Pros

Shelby software is organized into modular components, Accts Payable, Gen Ledger, Payroll, Bank Mngmt & Insurance Billing. These are stand alone modules, but work together to achieve overall outcome with good audit trails. We do not use Insurance Billing. I have worked with ShelbyNext Financials for 4 yrs & Shelby v.5 for 8 yrs; believe it would be challenging to breach either system. Invoices post to Accts Payable module. Once posted/reviewed info sent to Check Processing where checks are issued. Chk Processing does not allow changes to be made & can only clear entry by processing checks. Mistakes cannot be deleted must process as checks, then voided creating an audit trail for entry. Detail of transactions can be printed prior to processing into Gen Ledger. Gen Ledger does not allow changes to info (date, name, amount) from Accts Pay; must be processed as sent. Errors corrected by reversing journal entry; leaving audit trail. Accts Payable features Recurring Payments for various billing periods. Initial set up of invoices is quick & new vendors are easy to add. Invoice #s/amounts are quick/easy to change as needed & provides significant time savings to check processing. 1099s are printed through Accts Payable. Payroll maintains info for next PR & finalizes to General Ledger. Easy to run Earning reports, Federal/State taxes, W-2s & Worker's Comp reports for WC audits. Shelby has ability to produce customized reports and all reports can be exported to Excel.

Cons

Have yet to find something I do not like about Shelby software. There is a learning curve as ShelbyNext is multifaceted and takes a little time and patience to use proficiently, but is easy to learn and tech support is always available to help with problems. There are times when I have waited in que for 20 minutes for help from tech support, however understand other people are needing help as much as me; therefore, should my problem take an unusual amount of time to answer, I know tech will stay with me until my issue is resolved . Shelby techs have ability to remote in to system and see your screen which makes solving problems much easier and quicker.

Reasons for choosing ShelbyNext Financials

Upon deciding to upgrade our data and financial software in 2005, we contacted other churches in our area to see what they were using. We were told by other church employees Shelby is "Number 1 non-profit software" & "Best non-profit software on market." Our experience with Shelby v.5 was awesome. Shelby tech support are professional, knowledgeable, efficient, interested in resolving your problem , go to Support Leads if they don't have answers, supportive of customer, encouraging, personable and very nice with which to interact. Know their job is to help customer and they do it!

Reasons for switching to ShelbyNext Financials

Switched to Shelby v.5 as previous software wasn't meeting company's needs. Switched from Shelbyv.5 to ShelbyNext to avoid buying new server. ShelbyNext provides storage in "cloud" alleviating need for servers. Cost and space effective, does not require server room.

Ana

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

September 2019

ShelbyNext Financials

Pros

I have been using ShelbyNext Financials only for a year, so I believe there are a lot still to learn; but so far I like it a lot. It's non accountant user's friendly, which help Financial Dept let the others see their updated budget information; with the setup of the correct security parameters In general all the configuration is really easy, while modifying the COA you'll be able to see the levels on the screen which it will help to setup new accounts. The option to have the reports in different formats is useful. Importing the annual budget, the credit card into ShelyNext saves a lot of time and reduce the errors. There is a lot of features that you'll be discovering as your needs appear. In my position, have access from anywhere to the accounting is awesome.

Cons

The cons that I found is the exporting in excel, most used for finances; the reports include additional lines and columns that you basically have to re-format the entire report. We are coming from v.5 which was giving us the option to refresh in excel at any time the monthly balances, with ShelbyNext we have to export in excel every time an once again re-format the report. No much information for the Ad Hoc Reports, which are extremely hard to understand and use them; reports from Payroll relate to employees information only, and reports from Purchasing Management (no reporting at all) are important to us and ShelbyNext doesn't give options. We would like to be able to have consolidate Financial Reports for the different campus we have directly from the software.

Reasons for choosing ShelbyNext Financials

We were told Shelby Systems was considering in not give more support for v.5 in the future.

Reasons for switching to ShelbyNext Financials

We were growing and need something modern and with more options.

Rachel

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

August 2019

Longtime user

Pros

We previously used Shelby v5 financials and so we liked that we were somewhat familiar with the brand already. We knew Shelby is an established company. We like that it is web based which makes it possible to work from home on occasion. The payroll, accounts payable, and general ledger modules seem to work well for our needs. Overall it meets our needs and because we previously used Shelby we felt it was a safe choice.

Cons

Based on our experience switching from v5 to ShelbyNext, we miss certain feature that we were used to. I wish that Shelby had a better solution than Accounts Receivable for registrations (we have a preschool and other events). The "relationships" feature in Accounts Receivable needs some work. There is an online payment piece, but we stopped using it because it seemed that it needed much more development and just didn't work for us. We were also very disappointed to learn that ShelbyNext Financials does not share data with ShelbyNext membership like v5 did. This is a pain to keep addresses and other contact info updated in both systems. There is no "Globafile" equivalent in ShelbyNext Financials either, so it can be hard to look for someone if you want to see if they are in the system and update an address or something. We also have had issues with "bugs" frequently in the software that we have to work around (sometimes these bugs happen after software updates). Support is usually friendly but depending on who you get, some are definitely more knowledgeable than others. The support phone line waits can get kind of long. Last thing I would say is the built in reports frequently don't meet all our needs, I wish we had more options for pulling data.

Reasons for choosing ShelbyNext Financials

The two big things were 1) that we already had a relationship with Shelby, and 2) we wanted our membership and financial software to be integrated. To us that meant that they shared a database of people which help maintain the integrity of our data (contact information, family members, etc.) However, during our training we learned that "integration" to Shelby did not extend to the people/member records, but by that point we were too far in to turn back.

Reasons for switching to ShelbyNext Financials

Shelby v5 was ending product support, and we also wanted to upgrade to something more web based.

Jennifer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

August 2019

Very happy with this product!

Overall I have been very pleased with ShelbyNext Financials. It was easy to use and figure out if you have experience with other accounting software. When you get through to Customer Service they are very helpful and have always been able to help me resolve my issues.

Pros

- cloud based so can access from anywhere - user friendly - can do most anything I need

Cons

- sometimes glitchy - customer service isn't always easily accessible - doesn't communicate with ShelbyNext Membership

Reasons for switching to ShelbyNext Financials

Arena was more complicated than we needed and the price differential.

Blane

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

August 2019

Next Financials Pros/cons

The support is top notch and Shelby is constantly adding features and updating the software. We are large non-profit organization and I see no issue with the software handling our needs going forward.

Pros

Easy to use. Common menus in every module. Customizable dashboard. Add on modules available.

Cons

Some specialty features would be nice, but feature request are constantly being added.

Reasons for choosing ShelbyNext Financials

It was an easier migration since we had an older Shelby product already.

Reasons for switching to ShelbyNext Financials

To upgrade to a simpler, better product with better features.

Louie

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

August 2019

Excellent Church Accounting Program

We do bookkeeping for 75+ churches in Illinois and it adapts for our smallest churches to our very largest ones. Good payroll management is always a challenge for churches. The ShelbyNext Financials payroll module does a very complete job of handling all the aspects of payroll and payroll reporting.

Pros

Very easy to learn to use the software. Focused for the unique needs of a church.

Cons

More flexibility in designing reports. This would include text edits, data selection, and formatting.

Reasons for switching to ShelbyNext Financials

ShelbyNext Financials is a more fully developed program with better support.

Kacy

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

August 2019

Helpful Program

Once you understand how it works, and get it all set up, it is very effective.

Pros

The Purchasing Management portion of this module makes requesting purchases and the approval a breeze.

Cons

We were trained on how to use it in 3 days. We needed more time but couldn't afford more training time. It was quite a battle getting everything going and understanding how to use it.

Reasons for choosing ShelbyNext Financials

It was set up more for a church than the others.

Reasons for switching to ShelbyNext Financials

Was told it would be easier to use

Jonathan

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Accounting

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

August 2019

Shelby V5 upgrade

We have had a wonderful experience with ShelbyNext | Financials and would switch again if we had to do it again.

Pros

We truly enjoy the ease of use with this software. We enjoy that we can manage all of our accounting from one program. (ie. accounts receivable, payable, ledger, payroll, etc)

Cons

The overall cost is pretty significant compared to other accounting software. However, we use the membership side of it so it is seamless.

Reasons for switching to ShelbyNext Financials

We had to upgrade in order for it to be seamless between ShelbyNext | Membership and ShelbyNext | Financials.

Kay

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

August 2019

Shelby Financials Review

We use Shelby Financials for our Accounts Payables and Credit Card statements. We have found it to be very reliable. The customer service support has been excellent. The techs know their stuff and will work to the very end to come up with a solution for us.

Pros

I like the ease of the software. It's fairly easy to navigate and meets our needs as a church. I like the cues when I am on the wrong account number or I did not put the right amount in the que. It has a great in balance/out of balance feature that prevents a lot of error. And, when there are errors, it's pretty easy to make corrections.

Cons

Some of the drop downs seem to move quickly before I can make a selection, such as choosing a category on the drop down on the Posted Journals. I can't seem to be able to click fast enough before it disappears.

Reasons for switching to ShelbyNext Financials

We were offered the more efficient, updated Shelby Next.

Carrie

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

August 2019

Extremely satisfied with ShelbyNext Financials

We use ShelbyNext to provide administrative support to many Assembly of God churches throughout the state of Illinois so they can focus on ministry and we can do the administrative work that is extremely necessary but not always at the forefront of the priority list. ShelbyNext Financials provides the software to enable us to remove the stress of church administration and finances so the church can dedicate their time to reaching others through Christ.

Pros

ShelbyNext is an extremely efficient, effective software that is able to provide very detailed information while still being user friendly and easy to learn.

Cons

There are a few idiosyncrasies throughout the software that I feel are unnecessary and often time consuming. For example, requiring the user to enter a description for every AP transaction, or requiring a confirmation number for each EFT AP transaction is often not necessary information that the church needs.

Suzy

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

August 2019

ShelbyNext Financials

SN Financials helps us to track both receipts and expenditures in such a way that is easy for our congregation to understand. Basic reports generated have created a consistent reporting of church finances.

Pros

I like that all of our church management software is through Shelby. The transition to ShelbyNext from the v.5 product was challenging, and yet, Shelby was something of a “known” product for us. Not all church management packages have a financial component, and yet, Shelby did. It is fairly easy to use with basic accounting knowledge.

Cons

Some of the “fixes” for glitches in the software have taken considerable time to resolve. Have never been confident enough in the syncing process to sync up on-line gifts to the GL. Creating special reports is not user friendly.

Reasons for choosing ShelbyNext Financials

Because Shelby offered the whole package - membership AND financials.

Showing 1 - 25 of 162 reviews
ShelbyNext Financials

ShelbyNext Financials

4.04/5 out of 162 reviews
PriceDemo