Classy Software Reviews

Classy Software Reviews

Find out more:

FrontRunners 2018

Find out more:

User Review Highlights

Overall Rating

4.32

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5

Customer Support

4.5

Value for money

4

Functionality

4

  • icon"The fact that Classy makes daily deposits to our bank account is incredible for a smaller non-profit like ours."
  • icon"I like the ability to customize the donor page and the ability to see information in the back end. It is easy to navigate and easy to pull info that I need."
  • icon"I like Classy's ability to build great looking campaigns that are targeted for specific purposes."
  • icon"Price is WAY over market; customer service reps LIED about pricing offers; vendor lock is tough to get out."
  • icon"If you were to be starting from scratch this might be a moot problem."
  • icon"During our peak season - Dec-Feb - sometimes it can be hard to get through - but it's rare."

All Classy Reviews

1-25 of 115 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Jen Mazgajewski

Company size: 11 - 50 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

February 2022

Streamlined Fundraising Tool

User Profile

Claire

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

March 2019

The best fundraising platform for our needs

We have been using Classy for many years now, and have raised tens of thousands of dollars from our growing community of donors. Classy is incredibly easy to use, and has amazing support, even though we're on a completely different time zone to the support team! The peer to peer campaigns, which we use at least once a year, are super straightforward and look great even if you don't know what you're doing or could never dream of creating something from scratch. We also shopped around and truly found that Classy offers the most competitive rates for what we need. Thanks!

Pros

Easy to use, and really prompt customer service.

Cons

Nothing! We're really happy with our use of Classy. I'm sure there's more we could do to make the most of all the platform has to offer but right now we're meeting all our needs.

Jen

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

January 2022

Streamlined Fundraising Tool

Their customer service is amazing!

Pros

It's very easy to use, implement, and train on. Donors are very happy with the ease of transactions

Cons

I wish they had a more robust donor database so it could be an all in one solution for us.

Reasons for switching to Classy

eTapestry's interface for donors was very dated and not user friendly

Jessica

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

November 2022

Classy makes fundraising easy!

Pros

While I can spend all day talking about how wonderful the software is in its ease of use, aesthetic, and features, the most amazing part of Classy is the customer support. Every time I have a question, I am able to get an answer from the chat in minutes, and the support specialist is able to get me an answer or solution almost immediately.

Cons

I truly can't think of anything I dislike, but I will say that if there is ever something you can think of that will improve the platform, you can let a Classy representative know and they may be able to find a comparable solution for you.

Heleen

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

2

June 2022

They overpromise, and wildly underdeliver.

All, I'll say... there's a reason they wont let you trial the platform before signing up.

Pros

Peer to peer platform is slick and easy to set up.

Cons

They promised a whole lot during the sales process. And since you can't trial the platform, you need to take the lunge and pay the $4k subscription fee. We've been struggling for 7 days to install donation form on our website. The sales, product and support teams are very disconnected. Their integration with Mailchimp is very weak; as they only send name, surname and email data to MC. But, for some bizarre reason, no data about which campaign was donated to, or whether it was a standard, recurring or peer to peer donation. How do they expect you to build donor relationships without that data? We figured out that they integrate with Salesforce, and via Salesforce we now send data to MC. But, that cost us a week of engineering fees. All this for a $4k per year platform. For $4k per year, you have certain expectations. But, I waited 54mins on the customer support

Reasons for choosing Classy

Came highly recommended by a reputable NGO.

Reasons for switching to Classy

Classy offered more integrations and modals. But it's taken us weeks to try and implement these... we have not been successful.

Joseph

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Civic & Social Organization

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

August 2022

Classy - an excellent solution for robust fundraising programs.

Pros

Classy is very easy to use, from the moment it is set up. Implementation was relatively straightforward, and had a dedicated Classy representative to walk us through the process. Upon set up, we were able to immediately reap the benefits of the platform, and the Support - from documentation, to regular training webinars, to the assigned Client Success Manager has been very useful.

Cons

There are certain design features/elements that I wish had more customization, especially within the crowdfunding and peer-to-peer campaigns and email acknowledgement templates.

Reasons for choosing Classy

We chose Classy because it seemed like the best fit for our organization, given our needs, existing and planned tech stack, and cost in comparison to some of the other frontrunner fundraising solution options.

Reasons for switching to Classy

We wanted to take advantage of some specific features for our primary fundraising solution, including Peer-to-Peer fundraising, multiple payment methods, and a donation self-service portal.

Kristina

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

July 2018

Fully Featured Nonprofit Fundraising Software - with a price to match - but not a CRM

Pros

You can make really beautiful and functional things with Classy, there is lots of room to customize and design. The peer to peer fundraising pages as part of event registration is great (this is what we are using it for). There are lots of moving parts so it is good that they have such great customer service - people on the phone have been great, also chat and email options. The onboarding process was really hands on - which it should be as the price/year is very high and taken with the percentage is even higher. We are early in our relationship with them trying to see if this powerful tool will bring in enough extra donations to be worth the added cost. No doubt its a good product with good service.

Cons

It's pricey, almost 3k/year - we've just launched our fundraising campaign and it remains to be seen if we can increase donations enough to cover the cost - but the biggest downside is you can't move your donor database in - at all. So let's be clear that this is not a CRM in any real sense- you can't upload files of people or donations to it - it is a one by one manual thing. It seems like a great way to manage people who have given through classy but if you have donor files already, you'll need another database - which you'll also have to pay for so this seems like a lot to pay for not a total solution. If you were to be starting from scratch this might be a moot problem. For us - we are keeping our Donor Tools account and just using classy for events as a test - but two donor portals is not an ideal situation.

Daniela

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Design

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

November 2021

Good fundraising platform

Pros

Having a Peer-to-peer and crowd funding options is a nice tool to have under our belt.

Cons

The transaction fees are too high. We have several donors that call us and mail us checks because, when they cover the fees for their $1,000+ donations, takes away from the money they have set aside for our cause. We wish the fees were a little lower for small charities like ours. We are already paying to have the software (which is not cheap) and on top of that we need to give from the donations.

Reasons for choosing Classy

We decided to give Classy a try because of some aspect of the software we wanted to try.

Reasons for switching to Classy

Anedot had a lower transaction fee but did not have the fundraising platform.

Cindy

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

July 2021

Easy to use

In addition to loving the platform, we love the organization! Customer support is awesome!

Pros

We love how easy it is to create a fundraising campaign. Our users find it easy to customize their personal fundraising pages and share with friends and family.

Cons

Occasionally we find that it is not as feature rich as we would like, but Classy support is always there to suggest a work around and we prefer an easy to use platform to one with all the complexities that make it hard to use.

Reasons for switching to Classy

We switched from TeamRaiser because we were looking for an easier to use platform for our volunteer fundraiser and a simpler way for staff to set up fundraisers. We definitely accomplished these goals.

Adrian

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

April 2022

Simple Sharp Peer2Peer Fundraising Website

Classy allows us to run multiple similar events across Canada with the same professional quality of user experience and administrative management. When those two things are easier, we can focus on our priorities like recruiting participants and ensuring a quality event. We have had increased participation since using Classy and having measurably fewer user problems means having more returning participants year after year.

Pros

Ease of making a personalized website that matches our brand and has all the functionality that we need. Our participants find it easy to navigate and use which is so important when you are asking people to voluntarily fundraise for your cause.

Cons

I wish there was a way to highlight our sponsor logos in an upfront way so that participants and website visitors see them without it impeding their ease and ability to find information relevant to them. A sidebar or something?

Reasons for switching to Classy

Improved back end synchronization with our accounting department/software and better overall front end user experience.

Hannah

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Philanthropy

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

June 2018

Is it the best bang for your buck?

Classy meets our needs, but as an organization we are shopping around. Overall I would say it is mediocre. It’s not terrible but also not the best out there!

Pros

Classy covers most of the bases in donor engagement/ management platform. It is well known and integrates with most other platforms. Most donors are familiar and the customer interface is pretty simple!

Cons

No app. This was a huge disappointment for our organization. Also, customer service is slow and not always helpful. Classy is an investment and for small nonprofits might be too much and for large scale organization might not offer enough.

Henriette

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Airlines/Aviation

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

November 2022

Great fundraising tool!

So far it's served our needs and looking forward to using more.

Pros

The customization of each of the campaign pages.

Cons

the mapping from classy into salesforce was not as smooth as I thought.

Reasons for switching to Classy

Givelively did not have enough customization or donor tracking

Stephanie

Industry: Philanthropy

Time used: Free Trial

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3.5

FUNCTIONALITY

2

February 2015

Great base, but far from perfect functionalities

Pros

Easy to use to set up events and track information.

Cons

The functionality between registration and fundraising.

Nikicha

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Civic & Social Organization

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

February 2019

Simple, modern platform that makes processing online gifts a breeze!

Pros

We had been using Classy for a few years and then decided to switch to a different platform. That was a HUGE mistake. We ended up switching almost immediately (even paying for two platforms at once). We love Classy's modern design for it's fundraising and event pages. We love how simple it is to edit the design of these pages and doesn't require any knowledge of HTML or really graphic design experience. The best part of Classy is how smooth the integration is with Salesforce. While we have had some issues with certain data not being pushed in, the team is always responsive in trying to correct the error. The chat function is especially useful when I have small questions to ask. Additionally, I enjoy their blog posts and resource emails and can always count on their site to have resources to download for all our communication and fundraising needs. Overall we have had a great experience using Classy and will continue to use their platform to manage our online giving.

Cons

We do wish there was a bit more flexibility in the kinds of things we can edit when designing campaigns but it gets the job done well as is. For example, we often wish to customize certain colors on one button vs. a theme but are unable to do so. Another small con is that we have donors who sometimes mail in their credit card information to us but with no email address. This means we have to use an email associated with our organization, which sometimes causes classy to join or replace users who have had that email associated with their record as well. This is just the nature of basing users off email addresses as well as our fault for not indicating that we need a donors email to process online gifts. This is usually pretty simple to fix.

Anonymous

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

January 2018

Online Fundraising Made Beautiful and Easy

Pros

At my job, we administer a variety of charitable funds, many of which participate in different types of fundraising activities. Using Classy, we are able to tailor-make fundraising sites utilizing easy-to-use templates that address each of our donor's wants and needs. I often tell donors that their Classy page can serve as a stand-alone website for their efforts, which is wonderful for our grassroots groups who may not have money in their budget for a web designer or to buy a domain name. The customization allows us to add photos, change colors, and many other features, which result in some really gorgeous looking sites. Classy makes it easy to access donation information, which can be easily viewed when you log into the system as an admin and exported to an CSV file. They have an event-specific template which can be used to sell tickets or registrations to an event. Since you can export all the purchaser info, it allows you to go green with your ticketing -- there's no need for purchasers to print out the email confirmation they receive when you have easy access to all buyer info. In addition to the license fee, Classy does take a 1% fee on each online donation received. There is an option for the organization to pay the fee or for the donor to pay the fee. We ask our donors to pay the fee, and there has never been a complaint as fees are much higher on other comparable sites (EventBrite for ticketing, GoFundMe for crowd-funding, etc.).

Cons

Overall I love Classy, but there are a few areas it can improve. The user dashboard is not the easiest to navigate through. It lists the names of donors and the amounts, but not what campaign they donated to. So you have to go to through your campaigns to find the donation. For an organization like ours which administers many Classy pages at once, this can be needlessly time-consuming. I love the custom options that each template has, but sometimes there are glitches. For instance, I was unable to upload a background image to a recent campaign page. But a quick email to customer service fixed the issue in a very short amount of time. Classy is constantly upgrading and adjusting features though, so I imagine they will work out some of these kinks in the future.

David

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

July 2021

Highly recommended!

Our experience has been very good with Classy—so good that we regularly suggest to other non-profits who are friends of ours to consider Classy if they are not already working with them.

Pros

We love the simplicity of page design, the self-service aspect is a big positive (see below), and the fact that we have dedicated customer service pros assigned to our account who provide monthly consultation is a bonus. Classy's integration with SalesForce (our CRM) and other third parties helps us to design and manage our own ecosystem of, for us, best-in-class platforms. Classy also provides, for a fee, an internal design team that can further customize donation web pages for unique situations.

Cons

The platform is still evolving and we find that the self-service aspect of the software (which in aggregate is a huge plus) doesn't allow for as much customization as we would like. Their customer care is very responsive, however, and always forwards our suggestions/concerns to the tech team.

Cassandra

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY