All Submittable Reviews

1-25 of 153 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Blake

Non-Profit Organization Management, 11 - 50 employees

Used more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

Reviewed December 2021

I look forward to using Submittable when I use it.

User Profile

Chila

Verified reviewer

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2017

Submittable has made our publishing experience enjoyable, rather than laborious.

PROS

Its ease of use makes it a joy to work with: it's a clearinghouse, a reply tool, and an organizational tool all in one.

CONS

As it has in the past two years, I'm sure it will continue to improve it's functionality in a few of its features. For example, I'd like our readers/editors to be able to receive submissions immediately instead of me having to assign everything, but remain on a blind level, and also not be able to decline the work, just leave notes as they currently can.

Cierra

Arts and Crafts, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2022

Submittable for Regranting Programs

Generally, I really like it! It definitely makes my job easier and is a very organized space for me to keep track of hundreds of artists and their information .

PROS

As an administer of grant funding to artists, this software works great for tracking, reporting and collecting data from artists who apply to our programs.

CONS

A lot of the times I'm unable to edit the content if needed when an application is live already. Which is understandable however. I have to duplicate and make additional forms which takes longer. It's also hard to assign team members or jurors and help them use the software when I can only see it from an admin's point of view so it's hard to let them know how to navigate the software.

Reason for choosing Submittable

I was trained on the software when I started the job. Previous coworkers had already been using the product.

Sydney

Non-Profit Organization Management, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed September 2022

Submittable is user-friendly, but only for applicants.

PROS

The product is easy for applicants to use, with simple forms and clear application guidelines. Generally, we have had many applicants have no issues while applying, which is definitely a positive about the platform.

CONS

For administrative staff who work grant programs on the back-end, features such as advanced reporting are sorely lacking. It's difficult to build these reports and pull through the data you need. Additionally, there are many small issues that Submittable merely provides "work-arounds" for, rather than solving problems. For example - tables that are put directly into an application form export as a separate file, and then would need to be merged in order to package applications. While the platform might make the process of applying smooth for applicants, there seem to always be headaches for our staff when processing applications afterwards.

Vendor Response

Thanks for your feedback. We're always working to improve the product, and constantly release new and improved features. Feedback like yours helps us make sure that we're solving our customers problems better and better as time goes on.

Replied September 2022

Ilana

Entertainment, 11-50 employees

Used monthly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2023

Submittable is a reliable resource for grant makers and awardees

It's been very positive having Submittable as a central hub for most of my grant work. I've lost data twice, but both times were issues on my end with the network or computer going down. I've learned to click "Save" when I step away from the application each time, and that's fixed that problem.

PROS

I like the ease of use, as an award applicant. Every grant that you fill out, or begin filling out, can be seen from a main list. Once you click on a specific opportunity, everything about that grant is accessible and in one place. When answering questions, there is a feature that tells you how many characters you've used, so you don't go over what the granting agency wants.

CONS

This isn't so much a problem with Submittable as it is with the way agencies title their grants. It's not always easy to tell which grant is which based on the automatic name the grant is saved under.

Edith

Government Administration, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2022

Great for a small non-profit

I've had overall great experience and I've been using Submittable about 5 years. I like accessing a real customer service rep in the old days, and I like the older version of Submittable better. The change didn't help me. But I am impressed that I can usually make Submittable work for whatever online application I need.

PROS

It really allows me to collect and manage information and input from so many of our members and stakeholders for many different purposes. My members and applicants find it very easy to use.

CONS

We always seem to bump up against one or two little issues that make any form less than perfect. For example, applicants attaching new files with their submission, or exporting notes from an application.

Reason for choosing Submittable

A colleague organization was using it and the forms looked sharp. I didn't know much about how it performed

Seth

Philanthropy, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2022

It works!

It is easy for our applicants to use and our support staff to modify.

PROS

Submittable really does the job for what we need it for most- reviewing grant applications. We have a diverse and busy review team and this tool allows them to do their work efficiently.

CONS

Although it is fairly simple to use, it is not entirely intuitive. Some of our users have required a bit of coaching to make it work for them.

Reason for choosing Submittable

It seemed to be the most closely tied to our immediate needs.

Devon

Philanthropy, 2-10 employees

Used monthly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2022

Submittable: The Go-To Contest Submission Playform

Using Submittable seriously cuts down on the amount of troubleshooting or user error, thereby saving us time.

PROS

Submittable is very easy to use both on the end of the administrator and the individual submitting. People who have used it a lot or are only using it for the first time all express ease at getting their submissions in.

CONS

There are only a limited number of times that you can export your data per month on the basic plan.

Reason for choosing Submittable

Submittable is the industry standard; those submitting to our contest are familiar with it and confident in it.

Reasons for switching to Submittable

It was becoming onerous and time consuming to accept mailed-in submissions and Submittable was the natural step into the digital world.

Tanzi

Civic & Social Organization, 2-10 employees

Used monthly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2021

Great flexibility for building a workflow for grant management

PROS

I like the transparency and the ease with which we were able to implement the software into our grant management procedure. The forms are easy to build, I can create a lot of them to cover the gaps for subsequent applicant communication. We were also able to do blind review to eliminate biases and separate groups of reviewers with different sets of questions.

CONS

1) The number of seats comes expensive. As a charity, we have a pool of scientific volunteers who give back to the community by reviewing grants with us. But with the limited number of seats, we had to narrow down the pool to the bare minimum and restructure the whole review process in order to fit in our tight budgets. 2) There isn't an open API available for us to integrate into our mobile app. There is only a read-only API that we were able to connect to but it gives limited connectivity and doesn't allow us to sync the internal grant management process with external-facing community commitments.

Reason for choosing Submittable

High level of review and submission automation, user-friendly interface, no need for coding background in order to use the features we need

Reasons for switching to Submittable

Automation and follow-up with the applicants wasn't possible in our previously used software.

Maggie

Non-Profit Organization Management, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2023

Seamless use for admins and applicants

Being able to keep all program data in one place has proven the investment into Submittable time and again. I rarely need to reach out to customer service to solve problems because of how easy the product is to use.

PROS

Implementing this product was simple. It makes it seamless to use on the administrative end, and rarely do applicants have questions when applying. Having all data and messaging in one place is especially important so that multiple admins can access this easily.

CONS

Changing information on forms can be improved. It would help to have a 'Hide Question' option so we can take out a question yet retain the data from past applicants without deleting the question and answer entirely.

Angel

Publishing, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2023

Submittable is a staple for me.

I have used Submittable for years. It has never let me down.

PROS

The flexibility. I've used Submittable for so many different types of projects from manuscript submissions to personnel data to event applications, and so much more. You can create any kind of form you want and track the data.

CONS

There is a learning curve, but Submittable offers great help.

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed August 2018

Great platform but could work better

In my opinion, user experience and interface matter. Submittable has a clean look that is welcoming to users. It's not a perfect platform and we've had to work around it. The team is very responsive, however, and seems open to improving their product. If only they could move a bit faster.

PROS

Submittable is easy to use and intuitive. With drag-and-drop options, creating an application takes minutes. Logic branching also helps when you want to gather more info based on an applicant's response. The file upload features are also very helpful. Once your application is live, you can track and label applications as they come in. This is helpful since a quick perusal of an application can determine eligibility. One quick label and you can filter it out during the full review process. The reviewer portal is equally intuitive. With side-by-side views, your reviewers can read and answer questions or rate the application without having to switch screens. You can also set certain application fields (such as name, gender, etc.) to blind so that there is no bias based on these questions. Overall, Submittable is a great application portal and get your money's worth.

CONS

Recommendation letter request emails don't get sent out until AFTER the applicant submit their application. This is fine in most cases but you do have to offer a small grace period to recommenders. It would be great if applicants can enter a recommender and hit a button "Request Letter." The forms can also become rather long if you have a lot of questions. It could affect completion rates. Finally, just as you are able to remind reference letter writers through the portal, it would be great to be able to remind those with incomplete application about the upcoming deadline. Right now, you can request a list of incomplete applications but you only get name and email addresses. It would be good to see some of the data that the applicants have completed so far.

Donna

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2017

Not entirely intuitive, but doable for digital immigrants. "Chat" folks are responsive & helpful.

Ease of receiving submissions, as opposed to the manual email system we had in place. Also the ability to link donations as an option when paying. It's a timesaver in processing submissions that allows us to get right to the content, rather than shuffling emails back and forth to our editors.

PROS

It works VERY well for receiving, tracking, reviewing literary submissions. So organized. Helps our statewide editorial team stay connected for working and communicating. Tutorial and articles are helpful tools when setting this up.

CONS

"Up ad running in 15 minutes"? Not likely. Big down side, is that it is EXPENSIVE for non profits, despite the discount. Monthly plans ding you bigtime for signer and submission allotments. We use Premium plan, the next step up is a GIANT leap up in price but also benefits. But we cannot afford that. I would like to see a product for bonafide all-volunteer non-profits with small budgets. Arts organziations are struggling these days.

Paul

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2017

This is everything we could have hoped to help keep our submissions on track and organized.

The only glitch I've had was when the "status" column was not working, but after contacting your service representatives, the problem was fixed within 24 hours. But that's not really a con, more a pro I guess.

PROS

As an editor, it keeps the entire process of submissions very organized. The ability to archive and track all the submissions that come through here, along with all the automatic data in graph form that Submittable contributes in regards to either our regular day to day submissions or our annual competition, is everything we want it to be. Not to mention that there are numerous places which one can tuck notes about this or that author whose work is on track to be published by us. In addition, allowing the person whose work we're considering to leave notes for us about their submission should parts of it be accepted elsewhere, is a huge bonus for any editor.

Kelly

Education Management, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed February 2023

Robust workflow,

Quick response and helpful for the most part. I have heard of a few colleagues across the org, not as lucky in getting timely responses and help on their forms. As noted above, poor communication in some cases.

PROS

The robust workflow and ease of creating and editing/adjusting the application form are the best feature from our perspective. Little to no need for in-house IT support.

CONS

Reporting (exporting applicant/form data) is not intuitive but fudgeable. I've grdaully learned to make it work... kind of.We also have several separate Submittable contracts across our org, but we have not been bundled to provide greater cost savings across our groups as would seem more than fair considering the amount of business we give this platform. Also, I've heard from other colleagues that the account manger tends to change frequently, sometime with no notice or handoff.

Reason for choosing Submittable

We saw the pitfalls (from other users) in not having a robust workflow.

Rebecca

Arts and Crafts, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2020

Incredible Software for anyone!

Incredible. Again, this software is incredibly easy to use and the features it provides help up tremendously.

PROS

It is easy to use, and if anything happens that we are unsure about, the support team replies quickly and provides incredible instructions!

CONS

There is nothing that I dislike about Submittable.

Reasons for switching to Submittable

Submittable is cheaper, and easier to use.

Garth

Banking, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed February 2023

Easy for Everyone to Use

It is a great platform that is easy to use on the front and back end.

PROS

Applicants with low-tech/computer experience can use it. Works well on all types of devices (even an old iMac).

CONS

As a grant manager, I want to be able to view more details regarding Draft Applications submitted by applicants, so that I can provide better technical assistance. At least, it would be good to be able to view the names of applicants in the draft applications report or be able to filter by city or zip code. Also, I wish that in the main application view you could filter by address- This would be very helpful.

TJ

Publishing, 1 employee

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2019

Easy submissions

Being to able to track the progress of multiple submissions is worth the cost.

PROS

Tracking the progress of my submissions is amazing. Everything is there and I don't have to chart it on a separate document.

CONS

The existential angst of a submission "in progress."

Reasons for switching to Submittable

Industry standards are evolving.

Jim

Used less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY