User Reviews Overview

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(27)

27

4 stars

(4)

4

3 stars

(0)

0

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(0)

0

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5 / 5

Value for Money

5.0 / 5

Customer Support

5.0 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Browse ToucanTech Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - 0 of 69 results

November 2019

Catherine from The Princethorpe Foundation

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2019

An excellent, "one-stop shop" software for all your Development Office needs

Toucan Tech were extremely helpful during the decision making and transition phase and since we began using the software have been incredibly supportive and taken any feedback on board and further developed the product. We now have over 300 members of our online community since we launched it 6 weeks ago and the numbers are climbing daily. Communications with alumni are simple to use and look fantastic. Record keeping is also easy and efficient. We are absolutely delighted with the product and very happy to recommend it.

Pros

One software for alumni relations, communications, donations records, moves management and online community feature Ease of use Excellent support and training Attractive user interface Continual expansion and development of the product following feedback from users Ease of migration from previous provider to Toucan Tech Commitment and knowledge of the product from all the staff from top to bottom An understanding of Development Office work and what customers want

Cons

No major complaints - any queries have been dealt with quickly and efficiently

Reasons for Choosing ToucanTech

As previously described, Toucan Tech could offer all the features of an online community, communications, alumni relations and donation records under one umbrella. Although a higher cost than our original provider it was less than other competitors and offered more features. It was a very easy decision to switch and we have been very impressed with both the service and expertise of their staff all the way through the process.

Reasons for Switching to ToucanTech

Our previous provider was able to supply a rudimentary database for alumni and donor relations but could not offer the level of online presence we required and was in danger of being "left behind" in the development of the product compared to others on the market. Support was poor and the product was inefficient and cumbersome to use. We wanted a piece of software that could do all the things we wanted in one place at a competitive price and Toucan Tech perfectly fitted the bill.

March 2021

Kelly from Claremont Fan Court School

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2021

The perfect solution to kick start your community management and engagement

We needed to get all out data in to one easily accessible system and have a single comprehensive interface dedicated to our alumni community.

Pros

ToucanTech has a simple to use and navigate user interface. It manages multiple functions which is great for a small office. The customisation is good and I have been impressed by the product enhancements and development since we started using the software.

Cons

The fundraising and donation logging feature could be improved. I would also like to see more ability to managed the news images that are uploaded.

Reasons for Choosing ToucanTech

Functionality and price were big factors. We are a small office so I need something that could be installed quickly without lots of additional costs for data migration. I was also mindful that while we needed a more comprehensive solution we did not need to 'over tool' ourselves. The customer support provided by ToucanTech was spot on from the start, provided just the right level of support and autonomy for me to manage the system in house.

Reasons for Switching to ToucanTech

We started to move from a paper based system in 2016 and by 2017 had reached the software limits of InTouch CRM, we were looking for software that provided an integrated database and user portal and ToucanTech fit the bill.

June 2021

Tuija from International School of Paris

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2021

Toucan Tech Alumni Platform

We finally have an alumni database and a possibility to encourage our alumni to get in touch and create their own subgroups, still within the realm of the school.

Pros

The absolutely best part of Toucan Tech is their responsive support and development team. Whenever there have been issues, the team has responded rapidly and with a determined goal of resolving any problems.

Cons

The software is at time clunky and the user experience is not always the best possible, but with little tweaks these can be improved.

Reasons for Choosing ToucanTech

Price and accessibility.

May 2021

Michael from King Edward VI School, Stratford upon Avon

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

May 2021

Needs fulltime use, otherwise very frustrating to use occasionally

I use it very seldom, but find it frustrating to obtain the results I require. Help information is on separate webpage and the search on that is not comprehensive.

Pros

It's comprehensive and obviously has many features that are not relevant to some users

Cons

It's not intuitive, and no hints are given when an error occurs

Reasons for Choosing ToucanTech

Not in my remit

Reasons for Switching to ToucanTech

Not my decision!

March 2021

Lucy from Solihull School

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2021

Alumni Engagement

We have been delighted with the service from ToucanTech, there is always someone on hand to deal with glitches or queries. We have been happy to recommend it to other schools

Pros

This is easy to use and intuitive. Its an excellent way of keeping in touch with former pupils and updating records. Recently we have launched our first fund raising campaign using the site and have found it invaluable, keeping us up to date with donations, making gift aid claims simple and linking back to the record of the donor. We also love the ease of setting up news items and galleries and sending mass emails.

Cons

We have a number of donors who give on a regular basis. Each of these donations have to be added manually each month. It would be really helpful if this happened automatically. This is the most difficult part of the site to navigate

Reasons for Choosing ToucanTech

It gave us all we needed at a competitive price. The design is attractive and the team were approachable and friendly. They understood our business and what we wanted to achieve.

Reasons for Switching to ToucanTech

The sales pitch was good! There was a real energy and enthusiasm from the sales and training staff. The previous system was cumbersome and very expensive. The training was mediocre and it was difficult to contact support for problems or queries. It was not delivering what we needed. ToucanTech gives us both ends of the equation, excellent data storage and an easy and intuitive way of refining searches with an attractive and easy to use front end. Within three years we are now actively engaged with 1600 members of our community.

March 2021

Jas from Reading School

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Fund-Raising

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2021

All in one place with Toucan Tech

After taking the steps to use this CRM package we have been really pleased with the great customer service experience, everyone is friendly and super supportive. We have been guided through initial set up and migrating over to using all the functionalities which we continue to develop as we improve our confidence in this product as a user.

Pros

Everything is in one place. You can track, record and maintain you relationships for fundraising, communications and events. It is intuitive. The reporting stats are easy to read.

Cons

I was nervous of the migration of data over but with the support of the TT team I overcame this very quickly.

Reasons for Choosing ToucanTech

Mainly price and I liked the fact the product housed so many functionalities in one place and was very easy to use.

Reasons for Switching to ToucanTech

Required good customer support. Needed something easy and intuitive to use . Needed something that was cost effective and housed in the one place to help us build our relationships.

March 2021

Jennifer from Cheadle Hulme School

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2021

Best alumni website and fundraising database

This database gives us everything we need in one place. It is also constantly evolving and taking advice from customers to improve and increase its offering.

Pros

It's very easy to use and the support Toucan Tech provide is very personal and they always resolve any issues you send. Having our alumni website, fundraising data and email manager in one database has been the biggest advantage. This allows us to much more effectively report on engagement, identify new prospects and link up better between fundraising and alumni relations.

Cons

The initial move was tricky as our data is quite complex. However, the data team are very used to migrations like ours and helped us through the process. Any issues are very quickly fixed even when you've moved to the live site.

Reasons for Switching to ToucanTech

RE and Graduway together were very expensive to run and were difficult to properly sync up. Toucan Tech provided us with a platform that was half the cost, allowing us to look at our data more effectively.

April 2021

Anna from Worth School

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2021

All in one system

TT has been so easy to learn how to use and I love the all in one system. Onboarding was smooth and efficient. The online networking community has been even more helpful than usual during the global pandemic, with the mentoring and careers sections being especially popular. I would highly recommend this product.

Pros

My two favourite things about TT are: 1. it's intuitive: you can work out what you need to do, ease of use, common sense approach 2. the online community accessible to our network is part of the package, not an add-on

Cons

I think the app should be included with the annual fee, not as an optional add-on.

Reasons for Switching to ToucanTech

We were looking for an all in one system and one that was more user friendly and intuitive.

April 2021

Rebecca from Twyford School

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2021

Twyford School

Toucan Tech is a powerful tool that enables a School or organisation to keep in touch with their alumni and families. Communication is tracked and streamlined, Donor giving/fundraising is trackable and reports easy to produce.

Pros

Toucan Tech is very user friendly and has been designed with School use in mind - which is fantastic! Data entry is straight forward. Emails can be designed by template or you can create your own and the fundraising function is superb.

Cons

We have not found too many complications. It can be frustrating having to enter the same address multiple times when adding details of a family.

Reasons for Choosing ToucanTech

The team at Toucan Tech gave a great demonstration, and we liked the functionality, the ease of data entry and the general look, feel and approach of both the product and the team behind it.

Reasons for Switching to ToucanTech

We had used Donor Strategy for 9 years, but it was not user friendly and the reporting function complicated, and we felt it had reached the end of its time with us.

March 2021

Laura from Concord College

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2021

Good software

Pros

Easy to use and personalise, great customer support.

Cons

Currently only accepts small image size uploads, but feedback has been noted by Support Team.

Reasons for Choosing ToucanTech

Toucan Tech has a more UK centric customer base which is beneficial to them understanding our needs more.

March 2021

Roger from The Lerpoolians

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2021

Bells and whistles aren't everything, but you get a lot of them and much, much more from ToucanTech

There is a well known saying, "are you a person who knows the price of everything but the value of nothing?" If you are that sort of person then you will not see just how good value and comprehensive the product and service you get from ToucanTech. I am NOT that person.

Pros

The number one stand out feature is customer support. Having made contact with at least three other companies offering similar services, ToucanTech's "pro-activeness" was immediately apparent from the very first phone call I had with them. They had a "can-do" attitude. ToucanTech were patient as we groped towards deciding which software company to go with. I'm sure it must have been frustrating for them as we kept coming back with additional requests for clarification, and asking for a further demonstration so all "decision-makers" could see what was on offer. ToucanTech were proactive in helping set up the software for us and continue to respond promptly to pleas for help. There is a culture of ongoing development of the product with so much support provided for free through the weekly emails, the free webinars, the free online support, the free telephone advice. Support continues all time at no extra cost. They have recently increased the hours when support is available and it is important to note when deciding upon a company to realise which time zone they may be operating in.

Cons

When making our initial assessment of what systems are available across the market, ToucanTech looked expensive. But that is not the case. (There are no hidden extras. Most of what you want is included in the price quoted and which is prominently displayed on their website. There are add ons at extra cost, but again these are easy to find and quantify.)

September 2020

Susanna from The Lady Eleanor Holles School

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2020

We are delighted with our ToucanTech alumnae website

We are delighted with our new alumnae platform, which looks great and works well at the front end, and is easy to use and navigate at the back end! Our alumnae have been very complimentary about the improvements and the increased level of communication that we now offer. We have seen a dramatic increase in engagement levels as a result. The excellent level of customisation has allowed us to create a site we feel proud of, which we believe best reflects who we are and that has increased the level of support we can offer to our alumane.

Pros

We have been using our new alumnae platform, which is powered by ToucanTech, for about a year now. It offers much greater functionality than the previous site and the engagement levels have soared accordingly. It allows events to be organised efficiently and effectively and we are now seeing increasing use of the more interactive elements of the platform, such as our mentoring schemes and alumnae clubs. Over the past 12 months, ToucanTech have continued to develop and improve the software and are always working on new features and welcome additions to their offering.

Cons

The ToucanTech support team offer an effective and well-run helpdesk and customised training. They were very hands on with the set up and integration of the new platform. The software has designed to be very user-friendly. The team work hard to resolove any issues or queries.

Reasons for Choosing ToucanTech

It offered the best-looking, most user-friendly, bespoke solution specificially for alumi and fundraising, which is exactly what we were looking for.

Reasons for Switching to ToucanTech

We wanted to be able to offer greater functionality and customisation.

May 2020

Rachel from Abbot's Hill School

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2020

User friendly and great support

It has significantly helped with my workload! Getting our alumni database in order and in one place was the main goal and the whole process in doing this has been great. It is easy to export the data as and when I need it.

Pros

The set up process was pain free, and from this support has been readily available with hints and tips being shared regularly. Overall, the ToucanTech software is easy to navigate and offers a lot of features. We have mostly been using this to maintain our alumni database and to promote and manage our events and news, however there are plans to build up our mentor network, open an online shop and to eventually begin fundraising - the fact that we have a piece of software that can do it all is fantastic.

Cons

I don't have any particular negatives about ToucanTech. The staff there have been completely supportive from the initial contact to today (4 years later!). The software can take a bit of time to discover and there are some steps that you need to remember, but that is no different to any other platform.

Reasons for Choosing ToucanTech

Helpful staff, who were not pushy in the process of 'selling' the product. They explained the features, pricing structure and offered various demonstrations but were completely led by me throughout this. This is certainly not the case for a lot of companies! I also liked that they were UK based, and therefore were able and happy to meet face-to-face for any training required.

November 2020

Felicity from St Albans High School for Girls

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2020

Impressed and pleased with Toucan Tech for our school alumni online portal and database

Really fantastic - great database, online portal and brilliant customer service.

Pros

I have used a number of member databases with online portals in my time in alumni relations and by a long stretch, Toucan Tech is the most intuitive and easy to use. It looks lovely with all the different colours and is clear and not overly complicated. If you can't figure something out initially , there is a brilliant list of resources on their support website. When we have had the odd further complication, the support team have worked through the problem with us on the phone until it is solved. The system really allows the administrator to feel like they have both ownership of and a brilliant overview of their data. Our alumni seem to find the online portal and interactive features easy to use and appealing aesthetically. When we have fedback to the support team that we would like a certain feature included, they have responded positively and actioned this when they can.

Cons

There honestly isn't much to criticise! Small gripes are currently the list of member records does not come up with the most recenty viewed first, which I have found a useful feature in previous systems for instance if you working through a load of data entry. When you are embedding a video in a news article, you have to have a static image at the top of the page (and the video link beneath) whereas due to social media and Youtube users now expect to be able to click on the image and go straight into a video playing. That's about it!

June 2020

Alana from Arden Anglican School

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2020

Arden Anglican School review on ToucanTech

This is a fantastic way to communicate with our alumni and it definitely filled a hole in our communication with this target market.

Pros

I have no experience administering a website so was a little daunted at first. However, the training we received was effective and practical. After being shown the features of the site I found it was set up in a logical way that was easy to understand and use. Adding content and news items is very simple and they look great when published. I also like the flexibility of the design hub which gives me the ability to change the design to suit our corporate branding. The integration of our database was managed by the Toucan Tech support team and our IT department and and was fairly seamless and easy. After the data transfer we were able to send mass email communications to our alumni very easily. The design of the emails is customizable and they look very professional. I also like that we can share our stories straight from the site to our socials.

Cons

Some of the advanced filters are difficult to master. However, the support site is very helpful and has lots of resources available to use when we are stuck, or we email the support team for advice.

March 2021

Alison from Aylesbury Grammar School

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2021

Great return on investment

The customer and support services are excellent and the site meets the School’s needs now and as we grow for the foreseeable future. The team at TT are quick to respond to our evolving needs and update requests and there a significant opportunities for training should we need it. A great team of people to work with.

Pros

I am extremely pleased with site and the support from the Toucan Tech team. As a state school we are very mindful of cost/benefit and we needed to througherly understand what was available to invest in an easy to use, agile system that holds our data in one place with the opportunity to create dynamic and creative communications. This site does all this and more. It's agile, very easy to use, and we've had some great feedback from our users - it's easy to navigate, professional and content rich and importantly, it's mobile friendly. A great return on investment for our School.

Cons

Actually, very little. There is always the opportunity to feedback and request minor tweaks and these are invariably actioned unless there is a justifiable reason why certain requests cannot be done.

Reasons for Choosing ToucanTech

I felt the team at Toucan Tech really listened to our needs, understood what we needed, and the solution they offered was very good value for money.

Reasons for Switching to ToucanTech

We identified there were much better and more cost effective products available.

March 2021

Victoria from Cranleigh School

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2021

Toucan Tech reviews

Overall, our experience with ToucanTech has been incredibly positive. They are receptive to feedback, and welcome suggestions on how to improve their product and implement them where possible. They are happy to work with their customers on the development of their software to ensure it meets their needs. In terms of support, ToucanTech are always respond quickly to support requests and can normally resolve problems very quickly.

Pros

ToucanTech is an incredibly user friendly piece of software and it's very easy to build the online portal. The features we use the most are the mass email function, the events page, the online shop and the news section. Recently we've launched a second online portal for a different section of our community that can all be managed from the same database.

Cons

There isn't a feature of Toucan that I would say I like the least. We were early customers of ToucanTech and the features and functionality that have been developed since we first used the software have only improved what was already a very good product.

Reasons for Choosing ToucanTech

We chose ToucanTech because it is a very cost effective piece of software and also because of how user friendly it is. We liked how much we could customise the online portal and the functionality the database provided. It's a piece of software that we would recommend using.

February 2017

Sara from Concord College

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2017

More than a product/service provider...this company consistently go the extra mile

I have been working with ToucanTech for the past two years using their Alumni Software. They are more than a 'service provider'. They listen and adapt and change to feedback from their users, which is not something I have experienced before. Other companies I have worked with say they listen but nothing ever seems to change. ToucanTech have a thirst and desire to be the best and this comes across in everything they do and in my humble opinion they are the best. They go the extra miles every day and make their customers, like me, feel part of their family'listened too, respected and willing to grow together. Their software is intuitive, easy to use and most of all FUN to use. I come into work excited to see what has happened on my 'network' and keen to do more. We really are seeing a change in the way our Alumni 'see' our school...they are seeing the value we can add to them now and how they can use their network to benefit them. We could not have done this without ToucanTech. I really can't say a bad word - ha ha apart from the fact that I now have Alumni connecting with me every day now so I am very very busy!!!

Pros

Easy to use Links to SIMS so makes downloads easy FUN for our end users If you see improvements they really will listen! Additional Services they provide e.g. Report on how your network is performing making it easy to feedback to your school They have a network where you can link in with other people using the software to share ideas/experiences

April 2020

Daphne from Summer Fields Preparatory School

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2020

Summer Fields Preparatory School

We have just embarked on trying to engage with our alumni after a long time of not really doing very much so it's great to see people starting to engage. Over the time we hope to look for ambassadors and alumni who may wish to start up clubs, offer mentoring and careers advice as well as promote their own services. Migrating the data was much easier than I imagined it would be and extremely thorough. It's been a pleasure working with Toucantech.

Pros

The online alumni community is very impactful, the news stories create a real feeling of community and there are many features such as Clubs, Events, Support Us, Forum, etc. which can be developed over time. I also like the fact that when you capture new members they update their contact details straight into the database. The software is very user friendly and is a pleasure to work with.

Cons

I don't think there is anything I don't like about the software. The company is constantly reviewing and upgrading features and software and respond to customer feedback where appropriate. I am still learning to use the fundraising software and I think it would be great to have some webinars on the fundraising side of the database as well as how to create clubs, etc.

Reasons for Choosing ToucanTech

Value for money, the fact that you offer both the online community and a very user friendly fundraising database.

Reasons for Switching to ToucanTech

I found Donor Strategy very cumbersome and there was no online community facility.

March 2021

Lesley from St George's, Edinburgh

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2021

Intuitive system with good support

Alumnae communications - very easy to send targeted emails by user group, location, industry, etc. Alumnae support - eg, identifying people who can offer work experience to students. Events management - advertising and booking in attendees for events.

Pros

We were offered a tailored training day before setting it up - we could specify the main features we would use so the training was adapted to our needs, eg, how to produce reports we needed to replicate. It is pretty intuitive, but online / telephone support is good when needed. The team are very friendly and helpful, and will 'take over' the PC to talk you through solutions if necessary. The weekly support emails are helpful and let you keep on top of new developments. Graphics are good, we have had good feedback about the 'look and feel' of communications from our alumnae community.

Cons

Integration was quite a significant task due to volume of data but it was well managed on both sides. The advanced filters and mass emails are possibly the least intuitive parts to use but this was resolved with good support and increased user familiarity.

Reasons for Choosing ToucanTech

I was not involved in the decision but ease of use was a factor.

September 2020

Joshua from Concord College

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2020

Concord College's Alumni Network - Powered by Toucan Tech

The overall experience is fantastic, and I feel that the more you engage with Toucan Tech's helpful support team, weekly emails, updates and webinars, the greater the possibilities become for your Alumni Network. It's very helpful to test out new features and understand how they can benefit you site. Any problems, the team are always quick and responsive to emails and calls, fixing or overcoming issues no matter how big or small.

Pros

The design hub is extensive so you can really personalise your network, however at the same time, it is straightforward to learn and implement and helps to create a professional looking site. I particularly like the customisable layout of the homepage and the types of menus you can select. The recent update allowing drop-down menus is also beneficial in creating a more user-friendly network. Lastly, the content editor is simple and allows for excellent article-creation in no time at all!

Cons

I feel there is further scope to boost engagement, such as enhanced capabilities to 'like', 'comment' and 'share' other users' content. There are often small bugs or technical errors when using the 'advanced filters' to organise records for emails etc.

April 2019

Rachel from Princethorpe College

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

ToucanTech Software

Our aim was to purchase a software solution that would manage our 15,000 plus dataset in a bright, intuitive and logical way. In addition, we required a third party (alumni) interface which would engage our alumni from the off, and give them a responsive, interesting and easy to use platform which would allow them to interact easily with the school and their peers. ToucanTech has provided such a solution. They have been a pleasure to work with thus far and the whole team have a pro-active, can do approach to work. We never have to chase ToucanTech, but rather they engage with us at every step. Their online forums bring another layer to the user experience, and any technical difficulties are resolved immediately by their technical team. I can highly recommend the product and the company behind it.

Pros

The ToucanTech software is engaging from the word go! Its bright, colourful appearance does not betray what lies beneath. The best thing about the software is its intuitive design which make operations simple, straightforward and easy. Almost everything you want to do/find is underpinned by logical thought and programming, so that the user can navigate easily around the software.

Cons

I am honestly not sure there is an answer to this question. My whole experience with ToucanTech to date has been positive, from sales, to customer service to to the user end of the software. Although a cost is involved, I would say the value for money and customer care makes this well worth the expenditure.

December 2019

Polly from Surbiton High School

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

How Toucan Tech transformed our ability to communicate with our alumni

Toucan Tech has enabled us to grow our alumni community, tripling the number of members we have online since we purchased the system. The package offered is affordable and the support from the team is second to none.

Pros

It is an all-in-one product so we did not have to purchase a separate database. It is user-friendly making it easy to use and understand. It has revolutionised our ability to contact our alumni and store information on both alumni and current pupils . The support team are always willing to help and are constantly offering webinars and networking days. The analytics offered enables us to tweak our communications to meet our customer needs.

Cons

I have nothing negative to say about this software.

Reasons for Choosing ToucanTech

We chose Toucan Tech because it offered an all-in-one solution that would enable us to keep all our data in one place and manage our communications efficiently, enabling us to provide a personalised customer experience for our alumni.

November 2019

Lee from Windlesham House School

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2019

ToucanTech for the Technophobe

As an individual who has never been in a role where I have had to use a data base before I have found the Toucan Tech software relatively easy to navigate. Also the constant improvements and their ability to react swiftly to software 'tweak' requests have made my job easier and me much more confident using a data base.

Pros

It is aesthetically pleasing and easy to navigate with clear and simple titles. The team are often improving the software and listen to the end users requirements. The 'Dashboard' gives and instant picture of activity within the alumni community and the statistics provided are clear and concise.

Cons

I would like a spell check built into the system.

Reasons for Choosing ToucanTech

We chose Touch Tech because it offered us a comprehensive package. A data base, a fund raising tool, a good website with many other links to social media.

Reasons for Switching to ToucanTech

Intouch was not offering us the all round package we required and the system was clunky and not user friendly

June 2020

Vitali from The Anglo-American School of Moscoq

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2020

Best customer service across industries

Very happy with our relationship and the service provided. As with any software, you need to dedicate some resources to learn the tips and tricks to make the most out of it.

Pros

Customer service, issue resolution, responsiveness, new product releases, ease of use, competitive pricing, willingness to find custom solutions, training, and lots of resources, a community of users.

Cons

Can have slow load speeds at times and other bugs (but those are quickly fixed with support)

February 2020

Nick from Nick Prestnall

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2020

View from Mill Hill School Foundation and a wider perspective

Overall experience very good. It has enabled better alumni communications , event management and fundraising campaign management. It has made reporting where required easier.

Pros

Ease of use for non-database professionals - you don't need to be a professional to retrieve the information and reports you want. Appearance - clear and accessible screens with good explanatory notes Integration - database, comms and outward-facing web presence all in one place

Cons

Tendency to slow down from time to time making searches and adding images or news difficult Tendency for blue "shading" to appear over every word and element of a search

Reasons for Choosing ToucanTech

See above

Reasons for Switching to ToucanTech

We were looking for a database which integrated fundraising and communications and one which was easier for non-database professionals to use. GDPR meant that the need for the biggest and strongest backend database was reduced.

September 2020

Suzannah from John Lyon School

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Primary/Secondary Education

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2020

Fantastic alumni management system with website

ToucanTech are a very responsive company - they reply quickly and very helpfully to queries and feedback. They are also proactive in making suggestions for improvements - for example, recently suggestions and help with redesigning our fund-raising page.

Pros

I love the mass email tool - which allows the creation of attractive emails and analysis of recipients' responsiveness to the content. I also love the integration of our website with the database.

Cons

Ideally I would like some more flexibility about some of the pages on our website, but I can probably achieve this by asking for help with creating some bespoke areas.

Reasons for Choosing ToucanTech

ToucanTech offered better value for money.

Reasons for Switching to ToucanTech

The previous company were difficult to contact and any additions or updates were very expensive. ToucanTech offered a fresh start, a modern design, easy use and integration with a website.

October 2020

Michele from Watford Grammar School for Girls

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2020

A Complete Package

The main advantage of the software for us is that everything is centralised and no longer disseminated throughout the school. We can create emails with the look that we want and confidently send them knowing they are compliant with data protection laws. It is simple to stay in touch with our members via the site or direct contact and there are a number of facilities available to them. We have increased our database tenfold since starting our site and we know that our members really appreciate being able to pop in and catch up or get involved.

Pros

Not only does the software offer a secure space for our members to communicate but it provides a central database to pool all our contacts with all the relevant data protocols in place. It is easy to use with a handy dashboard in the ‘back office’ for an instant snapshot of activity and engagement.

Cons

The software has developed as Toucan Tech have addressed the needs and requests of their clients so our site has grown with the software and if anything we have had to keep up!

Reasons for Choosing ToucanTech

Toucan Tech offered the most potential and suitability to our requirements. We were very keen to have an up to date 'front face' for our members and not just a CRM system for us - Toucan Tech offered this at good value.

November 2019

Lynn from Solihull School

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Events Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2019

Solihull School Community Review - It does what it says on the tin!

We as a department are very pleased with ToucanTeach. It does what it says on the tin and more.

Pros

ToucanTech is user friendly with great functionality. Adding news, events and photos is so much quicker and easier than our previous system. The front facing system is very smart and easy to navigate. The Support Team are very helpful right from the set-up, design, transferring of data and the daily use.

Cons

No dislikes about the software. We are kept fully up to date with any updates they may be carrying out and receive a weekly news update about new functionalities and software updates which is very helpful.

Reasons for Choosing ToucanTech

We liked the database, design of it and the functionality and it seemed easier to navigate.

Reasons for Switching to ToucanTech

Raisers Edge was too complex for what we required. We saw ToucanTech at an IDPE Conference in 2017 and decided to book a demo. We spoke to other Development Offices who were using TT and everyone was very positive about TT.

December 2019

Pippa from Tonbridge Grammar School

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2019

Toucan Tech Customer Relations Management at Tonbridge Grammar School

My experience of Toucan Tech is very good. We can now communicate with our school and alumni audiences and involvement on our online community is growing every day. Toucan Tech's customer support and other network opportunities is excellent.

Pros

Over my twelve years experience of schools development and fundraising, Toucan Tech is the first software that I have come across and used that provides a communications and a fundraising capability under the same 'umbrella'. Toucan Tech is advanced, progressive, and highly responsive to user feedback

Cons

Not much not to like. A few niggles to improve on but upgrades coming on stream regularly. The transfer of data from our old system to Toucan Tech, was more involved and took longer than expected. But Toucan Tech resolved all issues.

Reasons for Choosing ToucanTech

Toucan Tech offered us a one stop shop - better value for money - no add ons

Reasons for Switching to ToucanTech

The platform was closing its current offering to merge and relaunch. Toucan Tech won the tender process.

August 2020

Louise from RGS High Wycombe

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2020

Review of Toucan Tech

I like the collaborative nature and forward thinking approach. Toucan are excellent people to work with.

Pros

I like the ongoing updates to the software and fresh ideas

Cons

You need to constantly use it to understand its full functionality. Training is always a must.

Reasons for Switching to ToucanTech

It didn't deliver a wholistic approach to Development, Comms and Marketing.

April 2021

Michelle from Institute of Development Studies

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2021

ToucanTech For Alumni Relations

Consistently good. For example, since we started with TT (6 years ago) we've upped our contactable constituents from 66% to a stable 87%.

Pros

I like TT because it is an integrated Database, CRM and CMS - and the system is easy to use with training others a fairly simple process thanks to support from TT. It provides all the engagement tools we need, it's keenly priced, they respond quickly to queries, implement customer product requests regularly, and are constantly refreshing and upgrading their offer.

Cons

Volunteer management could be better, but there are useable workarounds.

Reasons for Choosing ToucanTech

ToucanTech have always provided us with a excellent level of customer service. This combined with their keen pricing and ever improving system encourages us to stay.

April 2020

Roger from Bishop Wordsworth's School

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2020

Toucan Tech new User / Administrator

The possibilities the Toucan system offers for everything from Event Management (an Eventbrite set-up), News Postings and Communications are only limited by the User/Adminstrator - i.e. me! I have enjoyed seeing ideas become realised on-screen.

Pros

Being completely new to working with databases and similarly-based communication systems the most important aspect for me has been the great help from the Support Teams. They are always very willing to help; extremely patient; thoroughly professional and yet friendly and approachable at all times.

Cons

Again given my inexperience in this area - and I find it similarly with Mail Chimp as well - I can't set up pages and the like in a way that seems obvious to me. Hence, I find the Support Team vital as I slowly learn what can be done and how to achieve it. Normally, I would have delegated such things to a competent professional. The Toucan Support Team has, with great understanding, taken on this delegated role whenever possible.

Reasons for Choosing ToucanTech

RE was too expensive and too involved for our needs.

March 2021

henry from Rossall School

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2021

Toucan Tech Software System

The experience so far has been extremely positive and has enabled us to improve our communications with our Alumni and this has led to higher levels of fundraising for the School.

Pros

The product is very user friendly which is very important when you have "Users" who will not be accessing the system on a daily basis. The Toucan Tech system allows us to combine our internal database system with an Online platform for our Alumni, and this was a very important part of the decision making process when looking to change systems.

Cons

Our previous database system was very limited and so all aspects of the Toucan Tech software are an imrovement for us.

March 2021

Sarah from Wrekin College

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2021

Highly recommend ToucanTech for managing alumni and school community relationships

ToucanTech provide so much support for customers through weekly newsletters, sharing inspiration of other schools and customers as well as all the training you can access on demand on the support site. If you have a question they are happy to help and if you come across an issue it has always been resolved promptly in my experience.

Pros

The integration between database, email communications and a community website where our members can reconnect with one another.

Cons

Generally the system is pretty intuitive and very easy to use, the only section I find a little tricky is reporting but this will be because I don't use it often enough to be familiar with it.

Reasons for Switching to ToucanTech

We wanted to integrate our mailing and database and donor strategy was not equipped to provide this.

March 2020

Walter from The Old Campbellian Society

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2020

Providing Support

The team at Toucan are excellent at providing support to the myriad of queries that I have. They are quick, polite, professional and always helpful. I commend and thank them for their patience, understanding and ability assist as and when requested.

Pros

Never stands still and happy to incorporate ideas from users.

Cons

It can be complicated to achieve what you want the system to do.

Reasons for Choosing ToucanTech

Costs and the ability to provide what was/is required.

Reasons for Switching to ToucanTech

In order to improve communications

August 2020

Nicholas from Old Diocesans Union

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2020

Huge potential

Very responsive business, capable and eager to understand their clients' needs and apply improvements

Pros

As a database driven alumni platform, ToucanTech enables us to link to and connect countless records to grow the engagement of our association. It is reliable and its myriad functions - which you need to find out about and leverage - are useful and helpful

Cons

Report-writing can be tricky and not all fields are able to be selected. Sometimes the Toucan server can be slow to respond

Reasons for Switching to ToucanTech

Clumsy and content driven (and not very good at that)

July 2019

Lucy from The Judd School

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

Fantastic Product so glad we decided on the right software.

I haven't worked with the financial fundraising side much but my colleagues do and they would be able to expand more on their experience of this side of things. I think it has a lot of powerful potential and is close to being a very good bit of financial fundraising software to work with.

Pros

The intuitive ease of use, the slick layout and constant updating ToucanTech are prepared to do and if you have an idea of how things could perform better they try to work it into the next upgrades which happen really quickly. I like the amount of flexibility we have free of charge with website design, and not having to pay for every little thing which is so annoying with other companies. Very forward thinking and refreshing company to work with.

Cons

The photo gallery portal is a little outdated, both aesthetically and un-user friendly - reordering photos is time consuming and dated.

April 2020

Lucy from RGS High Wycombe

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2020

Essential tool in our development and alumni relations programmes

Huge benefits in efficiency across departments - particularly integrating the functions of fundraising, alumni relations & careers. Excellent customer support, huge wealth of resources on all elements from design to data collection.

Pros

Intuitive operating system integrating all the key functions of a database and external comms platform designed specifically for use in a development and alumni relations setting.

Cons

Automatic upgrades, particularly affecting page format

Reasons for Switching to ToucanTech

Raisers Edge only really worked for our fundraising requirements. We needed a product specifically tailored towards schools that could integrate a number of our functions without providing unnecessary functionality.

March 2021

Rebecca from Tonbridge School

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Fund-Raising

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2021

All-in-one system and a great help

Pros

The ToucanTech system has been a great help to join all areas of our team together. It means that instead of having to use multiple different providers for our emails, fundraising, events and community records we can have it all in once place with all our donations, records, emails and events all connected together in one place - so we get a full view of our whole community

Cons

None - This system has been a huge improvement for our team from our previous product

March 2021

Michael from The Lerpoolians

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2021

Community integration so easy with ToucanTech

From a very low base of engagement we are building are strong and varied community of alumni and friends which should prove to be invaluable as we push for income generation.

Pros

Ability to be operated remotely, so that central office not required. Ability of membership to contribute to aspects of the website. Different levels of access as required. Ease of integration with previous database.

Cons

Nothing personally, but am not involved with all its function areas.

Reasons for Choosing ToucanTech

For reasons stated above in pros

March 2021

Craig from The Abbey School

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2021

New customer's early reflections

Fantastic, thorough, lighteningly fast repsonse rates and a good understaning of what our business needs are in this educational environment.

Pros

Intuitive, engaging, connected and modern

Cons

Integration remains a problem. This is a universal issue when one migrates data from other systems into a new one. Constituent codes and lables remain 'dirty'.

Reasons for Choosing ToucanTech

[SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] (and her sales team) were persuasive. Great deal done on encouraging us to make the switch earlier than our contracts allowed for. TT's nimble and accommodating approach was refreshing.

Reasons for Switching to ToucanTech

Wanted all our data in one place. TT offered an App too which was great. Raiser's Edge were remote and frankly not that interesed in our issues and business challenges. We felt that we were too small an operation for them to take us seriously and their suppport was pedestrian. Both products show cased 'best practice' as being very American and in many ways University oriented. Just not approrpaite nor relevant to our issues and experiences as a school in the UK.

August 2020

Alexandra from Chipping Campden School

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2020

Education community platform

Using the Toucan Tech platform has helped our school development office create a community platform and manage two fundraising campaigns. The software is constantly improving and they listen to clients feedback.

Pros

Managing data. Setting up fundraising campaigns. Communication with database.

Cons

As with any software, human error can come into play.

Reasons for Choosing ToucanTech

Just the best product on the market for functionality, adaptability and cost.

March 2021

Victoria from Old Cranleighan Society

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2021

Old Cranleighan Society and Cranleigh Network

Pros

The ability to build newsletters within the software, the business directory and the ability for alumni to be in touch with each other safely and without sharing contact information.

Cons

Some things were buggy when they came on line, so my least favourite thing is needing to iron out the wrinkles.

Reasons for Switching to ToucanTech

Cost and usability.

June 2021

Siobhan from Badminton School

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2021

What more do you need?!

Pros

Usability, customer service excellence in their support offering, intuitive software, wonderful interface, record management, just a fantastic partner to work with!

Cons

Really can't think of anything; genuinely! I really enjoy the user experience. Which is why we renew our contract year after year!

July 2021

Michelle from Sir William Perkins’s

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2021

ToucanTech is a very user friendly package

Very helpful company and staff. Queries quickly answered. Helpful one on one calls when needed

Pros

Easy to use great customer service. Weekly updates from TT

Cons

We do not use some of the many features as yet but know they are there as and when we need to eg fundraising

March 2021

Jane from Bavarian International School

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Fund-Raising

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2021

Fantastic tool for Alumni Relations & Fundraising

Fantastic so far - super happy with everything

Pros

I like how easy the software is to use. It is visually appealing, easy to use and the customer service is amazing. I have the best project manager [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN], who is always there to help and responds usually on the same day I write to her. The Support website is really useful, with clear guides on how to use elements of the tool. Our Alumni are really excited about using the platform!

Cons

So far I have not noticed anything major that I would change. One thing that is not ideal is when someone registers, you have to approve them first, before they can make a donation. This could stop someone from making a donation, but on the other hand, it is important to approve the people to the platform.

Reasons for Choosing ToucanTech

Good customer service, excellent sales pitch from [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] and the other companies were too big for me.

March 2018

User Profile Picture

Brian from Bishop Vesey's Grammar School

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2018

Great product, outstanding service!

This software has enabled the development office in the school where I work to attract over 800 alumni to one place. Here, we are able to keep them up to date with current developments, and allow some reminiscing about the good old days to take place between members.

Pros

The platform is extremely easy to use and navigate. If you are stuck, then the service team are always willing to help, either over the phone, a webinar or travel up in person. Truly outstanding service.

January 2021

Huw from Wrasse Industries

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Design

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2021

ToucanTech Review - Highly Recommend

Our experience has been overwhelmingly positive. I feel like I am working with a partner, rather than a provider. I'm really grateful that I found ToucanTech and would recommend them to anyone looking for a membership solution.

Pros

1. Amazing team, genuinely helpful and interested in our project 2. Great support, Australian contact, awesome resource library 3. Flexible, adaptable software that suited our needs 4. Australian-based data centres

Cons

ToucanTech was really easy to use, there was nothing I disliked about the experience.

Reasons for Choosing ToucanTech

ToucanTech took the doubt out of the process for us. It is a robust system supported by amazing staff.

Reasons for Switching to ToucanTech

We wanted a solution that could handle the membership and the crm all in one, and that was a supported software solution.

November 2019

Eleanor from St James Schools

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Fund-Raising

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2019

Great support

ToucanTech have always been very helpful, very prompt at responding to questions or issues and always offering helpful suggestions. They also have examples of great ways people have made use of the software.

Pros

The software is easy to use and is constantly being developed and further improved depending on the need.

Cons

Importing data from another site is not that easy.

Displaying 1 - 50 of 69 reviews