VolunteerMark Software Reviews

VolunteerMark Software Reviews

Find out more:

Find out more:

User Review Highlights

Overall Rating

4.13

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

4

Customer Support

4.5

Value for money

4

Functionality

3.5

  • icon"It's great how specific this software is. It really makes managing volunteers more smooth and keeps communication in one place."
  • icon"I do like the user friendly interface when interacting from a laptop or computer. I think most items are very intuitive and like the customization that can be done for each each event and shift."
  • icon"Includes texting to volunteers; easy to send texts and emails for very reasonable price and a good number of features. Fairly responsive customer service."
  • icon"It's hard to incorporate our older, non-computer literate volunteers."
  • icon"Inability to transfer data (volunteers) to another volunteer option."
  • icon"My graphics/logos have a somewhat distorted appearance. Volunteers have expressed they are not able to sign up for multiple shifts at one time- they have to sign up for each one individually."

Browse all VolunteerMark Reviews

  • Have you used VolunteerMark and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a Review

Apply Filters:

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

Showing 1 - 25 of 31 reviews

Joshua

Verified reviewer

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

May 2021

VolunteerMark for Education

Volunteermark is easily to use, and useful to organize people, events and groups. It is a must for any organization.

Pros

VolunteerMark is easy to set up and very useful in organizing and managing volunteers and vistors in any school. From setting up specific appointment times for parents to come in to organizing specific meetings and grade level parents, all are easy to manage. It can be accessed through social media, apps and links. It is readily accessible to all.

Cons

The only drawback was making an inpromtu event or a one time event. If it is not reoccuring, it is hard to create an event for this. It would have to be specified in the description.

Reasons for switching to VolunteerMark

It is more compatible with social media apps. It is more user friendly and easily accessible.

René

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

August 2019

Using VolunteerMark to reserve volunteer groups

Overall, my experience with VolunteerMark has been fantastic. We like the system and will continue to use it.

Pros

VolunteerMark is functional and easy to use. We use the system to reserve and book volunteer groups for our Family Meal program. I like the ease with which volunteer groups can view availability and sign up for a volunteer date. The process is short, simple and quick. Another feature of the software that I like and it's not related to the software itself, but the system's tech support and customer service. There have been a couple of instances where I have made suggestions to the tech team to improve our end-users experience. Not only were they receptive to my suggestions, but the implemented them as well. Most recently, they created custom links for my organization within the system so volunteers could easily and quickly find the next available volunteer date. Previously, volunteers had to click through several informational pages to get to the calendars for availability. Now, they are directed straight to the calendars. It's been a great improvement.

Cons

The system is frequently revised and tweaked for improvements/efficiencies, etc., and I'm not always made aware that changes to the system have been made. I wish that the organization's software administrators were told when changes are made and what the changes are before users discover them on their own.

Reasons for choosing VolunteerMark

We chose VolunteerMark because they use a calendar format to display available volunteer opportunities instead of a long running list.

Molly

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

August 2019

Easy to use- Wish it had more features!

This product works well for our organization, but it still needs some adapting to better suit our needs. There are some missing functions and customizing capabilities that would make this software really stand out. In general, it is easy to use and serves its purpose, but could use some more functions.

Pros

- I like that it is easy for users to sign up and pick a date to volunteer. - I like that I get an email every time someone signs up for a volunteer shift and that I have to confirm it before it goes on the calendar. - I like that when someone has applied for a date, it appears as "blocked" on the calendar until I confirm it. - The customer service reps are always quick to respond in the chat and help me solve the problem. It is not always a fast fix, but they are always helpful.

Cons

- You should be able to un-click a volunteer opportunity to not see it on your main calendar, or make it so that specific administrators can only see the volunteer opportunities that they coordinate. I have to go to our web page to see the calendar that the users would view to see which dates are open or covered. - The messaging in the software is not user friendly. - The customer service is helpful but it takes a long time to get answers. - You cannot add one-time shifts to an ongoing volunteer opportunity. This means the one-time shifts will not be added to the main calendar for the volunteer opportunity, so all volunteer shifts are on fixed days and times. This works, in theory, but it is not realistic for the ever growing needs of an organization and its volunteers. It would be great to be able to track everything all in one place! - In general, I think I wish it were more customizable.

Tom

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

August 2022

Volunteer Management Made Easy

Has been great. The team is very responsive and go to extra lengths to make sure we have what we need.

Pros

Ability to customize to our needs. Ease of use for our volunteers and booth managers.

Cons

Would prefer the unique identifier for users to be phone number instead of email.

Reasons for choosing VolunteerMark

Best met our needs, willingness to customize as needed, responsiveness

Response from VolunteerMark

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, Tom. We really appreciate your kind words. It was our pleasure to customize VolunteerMark for St. Mary's Country Fair. We will have our team consider the phone number as the unique identifier to be on the road map.

Replied September 2022

Danielle

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Environmental Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

August 2019

Good platform with room to grow

Pros

I like that volunteers can sign themselves up and it's less logistical work on my end to schedule them. the IT service is fantastic and always available which I NEED. Features are updated and built in regularly.

Cons

I'm not a fan of some of the less than user friendly features - can't delete multiple events or users at a time. The shift level volunteer maximums is a HUGE deal and its taken months to create when it should have been around the whole time. on calendar view, the highlighted color for the current day is so faint that it blends in with the rest of the calendar and you can't find it easily. There's no easy way to print a weekly schedule of volunteers from either view pane. I could keep going. There's a lot of room to grow in the program.

Reasons for choosing VolunteerMark

The 24/5 IT Service was invaluable in my opinion. I also like be able to provide the feedback that can help the website solve issues that other users may be experiencing.

Reasons for switching to VolunteerMark

Was looking for a platform that had more features per position and interactive calendar. Still waiting for an 'upto' style calendar from VolunteerMark to be developed.

Jennifer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

2

August 2022

Volunteer Mark Review

difficult. Like I said, I have to do all the signing up of the volunteers. Your customer service is very helpful. But I have needs at times that you can not do or help with. We want to stay with it, but that has to be made more user friendly as well as the email options. You have to be able to send invitations and flyers in the text.

Pros

The customer service is great. I can see the calendar and the activities. I can make changes to my volunteers. It is a good communication tool.

Cons

Very hard for volunteers to use. It is not user friendly at all.....I have to assign almost all of my volunteers because they can't seem to get into the system to do it themselves. This is really bad. We might have to find another option because it is so hard on our volunteer. Also the email will not let you put PDF or other poster type invites to send out. You can not even use a document from word. It takes all the different fonts away. You can only use as an attachment which is bad. Volunteers don't want to open attachments. They want to see the invitation when they open the email. That needs to be made user friendly. also as the administrator you can not see all the volunteers who signed up for the month at once. You have to click on the day and the event. This is hard. you can't print out a calendar with all the names of volunteers when and what time.

Reasons for choosing VolunteerMark

I thought had all the volunteer items we needed. The calendar and the database. but not user friendly

Reasons for switching to VolunteerMark

Wanted to have more than a database, but an sign up place for our volunteers

Response from VolunteerMark

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, Jennifer. It's a pleasure to work with Oak Cottage for Women. Volunteers have a dashboard just like the organizations and self-sign up themselves. Here is the video all about what volunteers can do: https://support.volunteermark.com/article/volunteer-dashboard/ Please provide a sample poster so that we can work on it. There is no print option in the calendar but we have it in the weekly planner view. Also under the reports tab >> volunteers by date, you can filter with dates and download the volunteer sign ups report.

Replied September 2022

Nichole

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

August 2022

Vital Feedback For Backend Support

Okay. I am currently searching for another software company that can offer more inclusive reports and data.

Pros

Great look. Was able to publish to non-volunteers.

Cons

The data available from the backend is very, very bad.

Reasons for switching to VolunteerMark

VM had better options for a mobile use than When to Help did.

Response from VolunteerMark

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, Nicole. It's a pleasure to work with Tri-Lakes Cares. Could you please specify what kind of data you are looking for? We would really like to help you here.

Replied September 2022

Sean

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

December 2019

Solves a very common issue with non-profits

A non-profit that I'm advising was having trouble keeping track of all their volunteers and "who was doing what and when."

Pros

It's great how specific this software is! It really makes managing volunteers more smooth and keeps communication in one place. This is a specific area of pain for a lot of non-profits.

Cons

This is really a feature request versus a con; it would be great to have other functionality built-in to the platform. An example would be email campaigns. Instead of using something like Mailchimp to see metrics, it would be great to have it in one place.

Chris

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Museums and Institutions

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

2

June 2021

New User

Our experience has been positive so far!

Pros

We did the free trials for several different Volunteer Management software options. While it didn't have as many bells & whistles as the more expensive solutions, VolunteerMark seemed to be one of the most intuitive solutions. The VolunteerMark support was the thing that stood out the most for me. They were very responsive during our free trial and were easy to work with!

Cons

We haven't been using it long enough to really create an exhaustive list. 1. I do wish it had a way of entering hours that were put in pre-VolunteerMark from the our end. Right now, that has to occur from supports end. 2. VolunteerMark really needs to add a way of adding a profile picture from the organzation's end. Right now, the only way to do this is from the voluteer's end which doesn't make sense; especially for non-tech savvy volunteers.

Reasons for choosing VolunteerMark

Price, Responsiveness of Support, User Interface, Communication

Dena

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Individual & Family Services

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

August 2022

Suggestions: I am new to this program and I would like to find a manual to assist with my learning.

Positive experience at this point.

Pros

It isn't a difficult software program and I have learned some of the basics but I would love to see what all of the capabilities are.

Cons

I would like to make suggestions, but I am not proficient enough to make suggestions at this point.

Reasons for choosing VolunteerMark

It is what we have at this time.

Response from VolunteerMark

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, Dena. Please find step-by-step tutorial videos here: https://support.volunteermark.com/ If you're interested, we would be glad to provide you with a demo based on your requirements. You may schedule at your convenience here: https://calendly.com/volunteermark/30min/

Replied September 2022

Jenn

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

February 2018

Friendly and helpful customer service. Quick and easy event set-up. Good reporting tools!

Saves me time and the hassle of trying to keep track of things on annoying spreadsheets and paper. Automation allows my volunteers to self manage, and I can better communicate with my volunteers and them with me. It's not easy to pull the trigger on software because it's an initial expense and everyone thinks they can save costs by doing it themselves, but once you use the software you realize that you're actually SAVING money by automating your processes. It makes the volunteers happier, improves retention and gives you time and sanity back to your day!

Pros

My favorite aspect of VolunteerMark is the customer support. They're easy to reach through chat and patiently walk me through my questions. They have a lot of FAQ, online tools and educational materials to help me not only with the software but practical volunteer management tips as well. I also appreciate the simplicity of the design. I don't have to hunt and find data because the interface is very user-friendly. I also appreciate that my volunteers have a lot of autonomy and can sign up for events on their own, which I can see and track. That alone has saved me so much time. Being able to see volunteer hours, which volunteers have signed up for what, and the ability to tag volunteers helps me match events quicker too. I will NEVER go back to spreadsheets and paper sign ups, that is for sure.

Cons

I don't have any major complaints. There are a couple of customized features I'd like, which I can get with the price plan a step up from what I have, but overall I'm happy with the software for what I use daily.

Nicole

Industry: Fine Art

Time used: More than 2 years

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4.5

March 2015

Fantastic volunteer management tool for Nonprofits

Pros

The VolunteerMark team is always accessible. I can communicate my questions or suggestions. They truly want to help and make the product work for our organization. I love that all of our volunteer opportunities can be showcased online and that we can manage that easily.

Cons

There are a few enhancements that I know are in the works. For example, we would like to have a "Pending" option when a volunteer applies for a volunteer opportunity. This would allow the volunteer that we received their interest, but we are in the process of reviewing, interviewing them, etc. before we can actually "Accept" them in the volunteer role.

Alex

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

2

August 2019

Volunteer Mark review

Pros

it is a site that our volunteers can use to sign up for volunteer shifts and log their volunteer hours. I also like the live chat

Cons

it's complicated for our volunteers and some staff. It's not mobile friendly. It's not very easy to navigate through. I get a lot of volunteer complaints about little issues like them not being able to sign up for shifts, or not receiving the initial invite email, etc.

Reasons for choosing VolunteerMark

unsure

Reasons for switching to VolunteerMark

Previous director's decision

Karyn

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

February 2018

Love VolunteerMark!

I love the ability to track volunteer hours!

Pros

I love the user friendly website and the ways I can track volunteer hours. I appreciate the customer support that is always available.

Cons

Sometimes parents have a hard time using the app. They get confused on whether they have to pay for an account or can become members on our team. They also say sometimes volunteer opportunities do not show up.

Douglas

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Sports

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

2

August 2019

Great Concept - But Room for Improvement

Overall, the product is good, however there is definite room for improvement as mentioned above. I will say, support has always been quick to help where they can and answer any questions we throw at them.

Pros

I do like the user friendly interface when interacting from a laptop or computer. I think most items are very intuitive and like the customization that can be done for each each event and shift.

Cons

I don't like that exporting data (and specifically custom data) is not easy at all and typically results in someone having to reach out to support just to extract that data (in our case, t-shirt sizes). Also, in reporting functionality, there is no easy way to export calendar or agenda views of the day in order for organizers to get a better idea of resources spread when event occur longer than one day. Also, most organizations require volunteers to sign waiver so I'm surprised that option has not been built into the workflow, where an event organizer could require a waiver to be signed, when a volunteer signs up for shifts.

Margaret

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Political Organization

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

June 2019

Not good for event management, buggy, also user interface has room for improvement

it was difficult for me to set up in the way that I needed and there were so many weird bugs that were alarming. And there were many times when it was difficult for me to remember how to do something or I spent a lot of time learning how to do something (support documents leave out a lot of info) because the user interface isn't totally intuitive and it's easy to think that you go to a certain section or click on a link/button to do a task when you're actually supposed to use a different button or section to get to the right place to handle that task. I also don't have confidence that our data is secure with them. In the end I concluded that it didn't have the capabilities to serve our somewhat complex needs going forward.

Pros

Includes texting to volunteers; easy to send texts and emails for very reasonable price and a good number of features. Fairly responsive customer service.

Cons

lots of bugs. Too many to list. I spent a lot of time reporting all kinds of weird bugs that had to do with basic functionality. Even though they fixed most of them within 1-3 days, it was not confidence-inspiring. To their credit they did address/fix almost everything and their customer service is responsive. If you're doing event management, this software is not up to snuff. I spent a lot of time having to reconfigure how I entered stuff to be able to assign multiple shifts to specific coordinators to coordinate for a larger event. If you are a nonprofit with mostly day-to-day and simple volunteer scheduling needs, it will likely be adequate for you.

Reasons for choosing VolunteerMark

includes free SMS to volunteers, was more affordable, also allows you to add tags to volunteers. There's another software package I'm going to explore that found today that's very reasonably priced and seems to have the functionality I need to send texts.

Tara

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Events Services

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

February 2018

I rely almost entirely on volunteers. VolunteerMark definitely contributes to my team's success!

It is a comprehensive platform for managing my events and volunteers.

Pros

There is so much to like about this software. It's user friendly for our volunteers. They can easily view and sign up for open positions and easy for my committee members to manage them and see at a glance where we are needing more help. We are also able to communicate directly through the platform. Many of our volunteers have to keep track and report their volunteer hours. VolunteerMark does this for them.

Cons

I like to work through problems myself which usually means starting with a FAQ page. There is not much to the FAQ page and definitely think it can be built up a little more.

Anonymous

Company size: 11-50 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT