User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.0 / 5

Value for Money

4.5 / 5

Customer Support

4.5 / 5

Functionality

4.0 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(13)

13

4 stars

(12)

12

3 stars

(5)

5

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(1)

1

  • Pros

  • "Customer service is easy to contact and extremely helpful. Ease of volunteer application storage. Great tutorials."

  • "I love the setup of the page and how user-friendly it is. I also like that once you are a super-user, you can see how many have registered for each day. "

  • "VolunteerHub is great for storing detailed database on our volunteers. It's easy to use on their end and easy to manage on my end."

  • Cons

  • "Volunteer Hub is an excellent tool but it can be a bit pricey for our non profit shelter running solely on donations."

  • "Honestly, I think it is great. I don't have anything that I don't like. "

  • "The layout is somewhat boring and bulky. I think the information would look more enticing if it was cleaner. "

Browse VolunteerHub Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - -19 of 31 results

May 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2018

We went from paper and pencil to our first volunteer software (VolunteerHu after extensive research.

Pros

We love how customizable it is and how we can make it match all of our other branding. We felt VolunteerHUb offered us the most options of any other available software.

Cons

Having to set up the system from scratch was very time consuming. Understanding the wording and how to set up the system isn't very intuitive at first but once you understand it set up is easy and tech support is fantastic!

October 2018

Tyler from So Others Might Eat (SOME)

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2018

Saves so much time with high demand, one-off or shift-based opportunities!

Overall I am very pleased with my VolunteerHub experience. When I joined the organization 1.5 years ago, we had been using its most basic functionality for a few years. Since then, I have learned from webinars, help docs and extremely responsive support team emails how to use nearly every feature. We've implemented each feature successfully, which has saved time and allowed us to rely on a huge pool of volunteers in new ways. Although I think the price increases have been a bit disproportionate to the increase in the number of active users we can have, VolunteerHub is meeting all of our major needs at the moment, and most of our minor ones, too.

Pros

Perfect for empowering thousands of individuals and group leaders to claim space in our twice-daily, year-round meal service opportunities with minimal initial interaction from our very small staff Volunteers can join groups (skills, interests, corporate, etc.), on their own or automatically through a customized link, and we can email those groups to recruit in a way more targeted than emailing all volunteers at once Easy to record volunteer hours automatically, and print useful nametags, with minimal interaction from a staff member, for opportunities with set start and end times (regular shifts, one-off opportunities, etc.) and to report basic attendance for those opportunities Automatic confirmation, reminder and thank-you emails Modify events, reservations, user groups, etc. in large batches and pull useful general participation reports Make notes about individual volunteers in their accounts

Cons

Volunteer Hub shines with scheduling volunteers for opportunities with set start and end times. Much more attention is needed for creating irregular opportunities and scheduling volunteers/recording attendance for them. For example, opportunities with flexible start and end times, just gauging interest in internships, and volunteers who don't stick to a regular schedule but are welcome any time, can be a bit complex in Volunteer Hub. Unfortunately, there is no dashboard or easy view of major trends Some of the text that administrators have no control over provides constant confusion for volunteers. For example, the sign in button(s) in the Kiosk feature say "new" and "existing users," which often causes first-time volunteers - who have created accounts at home - to create a duplicate account on-site (and we need volunteers to be able to create accounts on-site for other reasons). Very basic email generator

April 2020

Stephanie from Girls Inc. of Orange County

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2020

Ease of Use and Reporting!

VolunteerHub offers excellent customer service, and they are always open to feedback. Not only do they work directly with their clients, but they also have a fast turnaround and frequently apply client feedback to improve the site. There are also a variety of tutorials on their customer support page.

Pros

User-friendly interface, easy to modify and customize, and an excellent reporting feature. Our organization opted for the eTapestry integration, which automatically replicates volunteer data into eTapestry for efficient volunteer and donor tracking. VolunteerHub has simplified event management, volunteer tracking, and makes reporting quicker and easier than calculating numbers and formulas on a spreadsheet. The new filters on the events page also make it easier to navigate between opportunities. Staff is also able to use the kiosk feature, which allows volunteers to check-in and check-out remotely and more accurately.

Cons

The communication features such as the internal email system are helpful; however, it lacks the option to add attachments. A few of our less tech-savvy users and volunteers complain about ease of use. Still, our team is typically able to walk them through most areas of concern.

December 2019

Heather from Heritage Foundation

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

2.0

December 2019

Volunteer Hub Didn't Work for Us

The person who helped me set up was nice but the program didn't work well for us. We couldn't easily copy big events that are the same each year.

Pros

We didn't have any pros. This product didn't work for us. We gave it a year but in the end we needed something different.

Cons

It seemed difficult to use and not end user friendly. Our users complained that it was much more difficult.

May 2020

Catie from Meals on Wheels People

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2020

VolunteerHub is an Invaluable Resource!

Overall, our experience with VolunteerHub has been great. We have a level of functionality that we did not have before. We are able to recruit, onboard and train volunteers easily with the help of this software. If we ever have an issue or a suggestion for a new feature, VolunteerHub is quick to respond and very supportive.

Pros

VolunteerHub has taken us from paper sign in sheets and manually recording hours to an all-automated process - saving us time and increasing overall efficiency. The reports that VolunteerHub offers is AMAZING! We are able to report on exact volunteer hours, total volunteers and compare data easily. I absolutely love the communication feature. I can send an email to all 10,000+ volunteers in our database with one click! The email/SMS feature is extremely helpful when we have last minute volunteer opportunities become available and we need them filled ASAP.

Cons

This is a great software and has really transformed our volunteer program. Any concerns or suggestions we have had are attended to quickly by VolunteerHub staff. No complaints - thank you!

May 2020

James from Tampa Bay Lightning

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Sports

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2020

VolunteerHub Review

VolunteerHub is a very easy, yet dynamic software to use. Although there have been minor difficulties to work through, our overall experience is fantastic.

Pros

VolunteerHub is a very easy platform to use from both an administrative and user standpoint. There are several features, such as instant registration, reminders, reporting, and new user registration that is very straightforward and easy to work with.

Cons

There are only a few minor difficulties with this software. Some problems arise with user log in, duplicating emails, and user "hour" view. Additionally, our users have to create multiple VolunteerHub accounts, if a partner non-profit organization also uses the software. This creates confusion and difficulty with our staff for registration and reporting hours.

April 2020

Leslie from Upper Valley Haven

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Individual & Family Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2020

Great investment!

Pros

We operate a final pantry and homeless shelter and have approximately 450 active volunteers plus host about 75 volunteer groups a year. After a pretty exhaustive search, we settled on Volunteer Hub and signed on about 9 months ago. We absolutely love this platform. It's easy to use and has all the features we need. You can create templates, edit events in batches, and communicate directly with volunteers both individually and in groups from within the system. Their support team is amazing - from onboarding to regular support, they are responsive and helpful. We are very happy with the Volunteer Hub platform and team.

Cons

Volunteer Hub has a reporting function and you can download data to analyze it outside the system. We would like to be able to create custom reports which is not currently an option. The canned reports in the system don't always meet our needs.

May 2020

Jason from Alzheimer's Association

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2020

Solid management software

VolunteerHub has been a great tool for staying organized with volunteers and data. Thanks!

Pros

VolunteerHub is great for storing detailed database on our volunteers. It's easy to use on their end and easy to manage on my end.

Cons

VolunteerHub is great as a database and management software, however volunteers can only find it with your organization's personalized link. Don't expect anyone to stumble upon your site when looking for a way to volunteer- you have to promote the software yourself.

April 2015

Katherine from Habitat for Humanity

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Civic & Social Organization

Time Used: Less than 12 months


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

2.5

April 2015

We use VHub to track our group and individual volunteers.

Pros

It is a fantastic forum for individual volunteers. It makes signing up and canceling registration very simple.

Cons

It's not a great tool for group volunteers. Once they have an account we have to register them manually, and the process is a bit convoluted for our corporate, faith, and student groups.

April 2015

Naomi from Habitat for Humanity East Bay/Silicon Valley

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 2 years


Ease-of-use

2.5

Functionality

3.5

April 2015

Satisfied with VolunteerHub

Pros

We are able to provide all the details needed to explain and sell volunteer opportunities, and give volunteers the information they need for a successful event. It allows us to sign up every kind of volunteer we have as groups or individuals.

Cons

I wish there were more functions to post many events at once with just small changes rather than posting most events individually.

September 2014

Amanda from Children At Heart Foundation

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

4.0

September 2014

Stop Letting the Tail Wag the Dog and Use VolunteerHub

Before VolunteerHub, each call or email that came in from interested volunteers was receiving a personal response. Then I liken the next step to "pin the tail on the donkey", because you would tell them of opportunities guessing at which ones would be a good match. Time intensive, and not highly effective. Since VH, here's an actual example- Volunteer A calls and wants to do X. We don't really have a need for X. In the past we would either have to try to accommodate, or cut the volunteer loose. Now that we have VolunteerHub, Volunteer A calls in and is immediately directed to a list of current opportunities on the website. While X is not listed, Volunteer A found 4 other opportunities that he did like, and signed himself up to meet our actual need! Pros- We also use Blackbaud products and like the intentional product integration. We are a very complex organization, setting up multiple programs and sites. The software allows for this complexity all within the same database. We like the live support vs some of the competitors that require you to just read posts or email in for help. Cons- Lack of enough training time, and training seemed a little too flexible. "What do you need to know?" I don't know what I don't know. By the end of our given hours we hadn't covered some of the basic uses of the system. They have provided phone support, but reporting and exporting to me should certainly be covered during training. Everything is logged as an event. If you choose to automatically credit hours to volunteers, a simple 3 day drive would credit a volunteer with 72 hours, which skews reporting. We're getting to where we can't manually go in to fix these. Or tasks that could be done anytime- short of putting that in the description, it's confusing to volunteers. We have events with shifts of volunteers for child care. We'd like to have the ability to click on multiple groups/events and email all those volunteers one message. At this point, that is not easily done. We understand that continual product plans are underway, and any time we provide feedback on what we need, it is sent to development, so they are aware of the need for future roll outs. There may be a few cons, but we are pushing this product to the max. The freedom of posting our volunteer opportunities and allowing our volunteers to customize their experience based on what they want to do has taken our volunteer program to the next level.

March 2015

Eliza from Habitat for Humanity

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Civic & Social Organization

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

3.5

Customer support

4.5

Functionality

3.5

March 2015

VolunteerHub - customizable enough, with lots of usable features

Pros

I like that our users can choose to view the opportunities in different formats (date, calendar, or grid) and can skip to a certain date in the future. I like that we can create a one-page user form, so our users can see all the information they're asked to provide before beginning to input information into the form. As an administrator, I like that we can choose which fields are optional and which are mandatory, that we can create template events that repeat themselves (we just change the date), and that we can embed hyperlinks within the event descriptions to navigate users back to our website. I like that we can reserve events for a group and give the group leader a join code, and then the group members can reserve spots within that group reservation, while general users can reserve the remaining opportunities outside of the group reservation. Once the event fills, it will say "full" if users claimed the spaces, or "reserved" if we the administrators reserve the spots for groups on their behalf.

Cons

It would be neat if VolunteerHub appeared to be seamlessly embedded into our website, so that it used our URL, instead of VolunteerHub's URL.

September 2017

Sarah from Humane Society of the Treasure Coast

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Civic & Social Organization

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2017

Volunteer Hub is an invaluable tool for our shelter!

Our shelter wouldn’t be where it is today without Volunteer Hub. I highly recommend it!

Pros

Customer service is easy to contact and extremely helpful. Ease of volunteer application storage. Great tutorials.

Cons

Volunteer Hub is an excellent tool but it can be a bit pricey for our non profit shelter running solely on donations.

April 2020

John from The San Diego Food Bank

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2020

Great software for large organization

Pros

The support team is quick to respond when I have any issues.

Cons

Some but not much of the activity isn't traceable

June 2017

Camellia from Habitat for Humanity of Northwest Metro Atlanta

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2017

Volunteer Hub is definitely one of the top volunteer management systems in the market for a reason!

Most of the entire office was able to use the system in some capacity.

Pros

The ease of use, accessibility and features for volunteers are incredible! Our office enjoyed using Volunteer Hub. The different ways each department could utilize the system was impressive!

Cons

It's so overpriced compared to other systems that do the same (if not more) as Volunteer Hub makes it unrealistic for any non-profit to invest in.

March 2015

Ruth from Titanium Lacrosse (former with Ohio Premier Soccer)

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2015

Ohio Premier Invitational Tournament Director

Pros

Very easy to use and by far the simplest way to get volunteers to sign up, and as the director, a very convenient method of tracking said volunteers.

Cons

I was thoroughly satisfied and have nothing to report on the negative side.

October 2014

Anne from Habitat for Humanity of Wake County

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

October 2014

The Hub!

We've used VolunteerHub at Habitat Wake County for about 6 years. It was certainly vital for growing our volunteer program to manage 10,000+ volunteers per year. This includes multiple Construction sites, Deconstruction, A Brush With Kindness and now four ReStores! Pros - Support from Christine and the team is stellar. They are always willing to work with you to find a new solution or fix challenges. You also get regular notices about updates to the software. Once you are fully trained, it is easy to use. VolunteerHub allows a staff of 2 to communicate effectively with a multitude of volunteers and track them for metrics and volunteer recognition. Cons - Reports can be clunky, but they are always adding more options. We would love an option for regular volunteers to easily register for multiple events, i.e. every Friday morning shift for the month. We're happy to use the Hub to it's full potential and appreciate the open dialogue between ourselves and the team!

September 2014

Jan from Habitat for Humanity of Winchester-Frederick County

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

September 2014

Our Experience with VolunteerHub

Habitat for Humanity of Winchester-Frederick County has been using VolunteerHub since the late 1990s, primarily to manage the 300-400 volunteers per month who come to us to help build our houses. During our high build seasons, the ease of programming our ongoing construction events and specific details about each build day, and the ability to e-communicate with each volunteer who signs up online leads to an efficient effort by the one staff person responsible for volunteerism. Our monthly volunteer reports, and the ability to convert volunteers into invitation mailings to our annual volunteer appreciation picnic are only a few features we use on a regular basis. Also important is the VolunteerHub support staff. They have provided quick responses and even spent one-on-one time with me when I needed help in setting up a "private" ongoing construction schedule for volunteer employees of a major corporation to access.

April 2015

Kate from Habitat for Humanity Greater San Francisco

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

1.5

Customer support

1.5

Functionality

2.0

April 2015

Challenging

Pros

It is a great tool for allowing individuals to sign up for events on their own, with minimal work on the part of a volunteer coordinator.

Cons

The sync tool to Raiser's Edge has been a huge threat to our data integrity. And the process that we have to use for group members to register and get signed up for events is quite complicated to explain and takes a lot of staff time.

Response from VolunteerHub

Replied May 2015

Thank you for sharing your concern, and we’d love the opportunity to assist with your situation. To our knowledge, none of our other clients who use this integration are experiencing the issue you are describing. Please contact us at support@volunteerhub.com at your earliest convenience. ~The VolunteerHub team

April 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

Great volunteer management.

Pros

Easy to engage volunteers and let volunteers do things they need. Group management is a breeze.

Cons

I don't make use of its fundraising capabilities at all. They're fine but I don't really see the additional value.

September 2014

Jan from Foodbank of Southeastern Virginia and the Eastern Shore

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

September 2014

Best Customer Service and a Great Product

At the Foodbank where I work, we have used VolunteerHub for more than 5 years and we love it! It really is a full-service tool for managing all aspects of a non-profit organization's volunteerism department. The program is flexible, with many options that work for groups of various sizes. And the customer service is the best! Christine, Mike, and everyone on their team are responsive, smart and personable. Service tickets are handled quickly, too. I would recommend this product to anyone who wants to effective manage a volunteerism department with an inexpensive, easy-to-use tool. We only have two staff members managing over 6,500 volunteers - and the VolunteerHub makes it easier!

April 2015

Barbara from Pro Portsmouth, Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Fine Art

Time Used: Less than 6 months


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2015

Four years and counting!

Pros

With the festivals, races and other events we produce, VolunteerHub allows us to note the varied opportunities in each along with detailed descriptions. Our volunteers can access a great deal of information by logging in. When we signed on in 2011, it was a brave new world - now it's yet another valuable tool that we rely on when producing an event.

Cons

Wish they could opt in for other things like our eNewsletter when signing up for an event.

April 2015

Sara from Habitat for Humanity East Bay/Silicon Valley

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Civic & Social Organization

Time Used: Less than 12 months


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

3.5

April 2015

Teaching and Outreaching Volunteers for Habitat for Humanity

Pros

I love the setup of the page and how user-friendly it is. I also like that once you are a super-user, you can see how many have registered for each day.

Cons

Honestly, I think it is great. I don't have anything that I don't like.

September 2014

Debbie from Habitat for Humanity of Forsyth County

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

4.0

September 2014

VolunteerHub

As the volunteer coordinator for Habitat Forsyth, VolunteerHub has freed me up from receiving a phone call or email from every single person who wants to volunteer with us. They get to the site from our Habitat site. Groups still need to contact me, but that's fine. It's easy to load and easy for volunteers to use. My only complaint is that it is not real flexible as far as running reports. I would like to be able to know who worked on specific houses so that when the house is dedicated, they can be invited. I haven't figured out how to do that yet - or if it's possible.

March 2015

Meeta from Miriam's Kitchen

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time Used: Free Trial


Ease-of-use

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

March 2015

Good Tool for Volunteering

Pros

Easy sign up process and ability to look at different dates. It's straightforward and sends reminders in advance.

Cons

I do not appreciate that for various areas that I volunteer that I have to have separate usernames and passwords. I wish the portals could be combined.

April 2015

Mae from Habitat for Humanity East Bay/Silicon Valley

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Civic & Social Organization

Time Used: Less than 12 months


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2015

Our organization uses VH to engage and coordinate volunteers

Pros

I really like how VolunteerHub is easily integrated with CRMs.

Cons

The layout is somewhat boring and bulky. I think the information would look more enticing if it was cleaner.

October 2014

Kawanise from Dallas Area Habitat for Humanity

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Customer support

4.0

October 2014

Review from Dallas Area Habitat for Humanity

Great software! I love how easy it is for everyone to read. We have had some issues with reports we need from volunteer hub but were not able to pull them because of its limitations. Some volunteers who have logged on with Apple products have problems with the website. I also wish there was a way to control the conformation, reminder, and thank you emails without having to go in every single event.

March 2015

Lehuanani from Lehua Design

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Free Trial


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.5

March 2015

tons of opportunities

Pros

Very easy to use, many great results on any search. Introduces many previously unknown events.

Cons

There is nothing that I like least. It's a great site.

October 2015

Julia from Broad Street Ministry

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

October 2015

Easy to use and volunteers love it

VH is a great tool for out volunteers. They love being able to sign themselves up/see when they're registered. It's great for the volunteer department because we no longer have to be the "middle men" for volunteers.

September 2014

James (Dick) from Cityteam Ministries

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

September 2014

Volunteer Hub

Ease of Use; Good Reports; Compatability; Reasonably Priced; Service is excellent Super User feature not easily controlled This system has limited phone traffic during the holiday season, What a blessing!!

May 2018

Hannah from Chico Animal Shelter

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Civic & Social Organization

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2018

Smooth Transition

Pros

Super easy interface. When we transitioned volunteer software, it was incredibly smooth. So easy to use.

Cons

Some data transfer was a little difficult but not necessarily because of the software, nothing too crazy though.