All VolunteerLocal Reviews

1-25 of 184 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Abhishek

Biotechnology, 5,001 - 10,000 employees

Used less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

Reviewed May 2022

VolunteerLocal is fantastic

User Profile

Jana

Verified reviewer

Individual & Family Services, 51-200 employees

Used more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2018

Great service

VolunteerLocal has been an invaluable service for Youth Emergency Services & Shelter (YESS) and our annual special event, the YESS Duck Derby. The site is incredibly easy to use and the communication features make it easy to share shift updates and last-minute details to volunteers all in one place. I highly recommend VolunteerLocal for anyone managing an event that utilizes volunteers.

PROS

I love the ease of use, both from the administrative side as well as the general user.

CONS

There can be some clumsiness if you choose to only confirm a volunteer once they have clicked a link in an email to confirm. In the interim the shift does not appear to be filled, so you can end up overfilling a shift pretty easily. It would be nice if it could place a "hold" on the shift for maybe 24 hours or some set amount of time. There is a simple solution to this, though, which is just to change your settings so that the shift is automatically confirmed.

Gillian

Philanthropy, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2022

VolunteerLocal is the only way to go for Volunteers

Excellent in every way. Thank you

PROS

User friendly. Excellent training videos are available to use at any time. Knowledgeable and helpful staff who handle training and follow-up very well. They answer questions and " please help me calls" the fastest I have ever experienced. Most valuable to keep on working in the area I needed help. The ability to populate a current event from a previous event is valuable. Archived volunteer information is always avaiable.

CONS

I can't think of any. Everything I need is taken care of with their software and follow up

Reason for choosing VolunteerLocal

Price, value and all the features that suited my needs

Talisa

Used free trial

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

Reviewed November 2012

Volunteer Local for special events

Yes, I would recommend this for sure to any organization that needs to recruit volunteers. Thanks

PROS

Amazing support from Brian: thanks for all your efforts to make it streamline for our company easy to customize sign up sheets when working with numerous groups.

CONS

unable to generate a report after the event. downloading info: would pick certain titles: still showed the entire info in excel: still had to format the sheet, and delete columns

Regina

Museums and Institutions, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2023

New at this

PROS

Costomer Service team has been wonderful with helping us learn. I became our volunteer scheduler, when the former volunteer needed to leave.

CONS

I am still learning. So far, I am finding what I need.

Reason for choosing VolunteerLocal

I was not involved in the decision to change.

Reasons for switching to VolunteerLocal

Usability was what I was told when I ask a board memeber.

Heather

Non-Profit Organization Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2023

500 Festival x VolunteerLocal

My main area of concern in choosing a new platform was communication and background screens. VolunteerLocal completely simplified communication to the thousands of volunteers we have by allowing us to schedule emails and creating templates to have. With background screens, I wanted a platform that allowed volunteers to complete a background screen without having to send additional seperate links and an easy way to keep track of background screens. VolunteerLocal allowed that to happen and even made updates, so I was able to see who completed a background screen / who still needed one instead of having to go into each volunteer profile.

PROS

VolunteerLocal is extremely easy to use. When it came to building out events and scheduling, it was very straightforward. The best part is being able to add in PDF documents within shifts to help minimize distribution of paper and be able to send all necessary information through VolunteerLocal. Also, the integration with background screens and communication templates made it so much easier to track and communicate with volunteers.

CONS

One of the areas I would like to see updated would be the mobile app. I think it does do it's purpose but could have some upgrades to the looks of it.

Vendor Response

We're so glad VolunteerLocal has simplified your systems! Updates to the mobile app are in the works!

Replied August 2023

Natalie

Sports, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2023

Volunteer Local is worth it

PROS

This is an extremely well thought out software. One the surface it may look more expensive than others, but once you dig into the features it is worth it. I find the volunteer platforms with adds everywhere very annoying, and once you pay to remove them you are in the same ball park as VL. The customer service is personal and very responsive. You can tell they really care about finding your solutions. We are a very small non profit and they help us customize our packet to get what we really needed and keep the cost affordable.

CONS

Their automatic emails system is good, but I have not found a way to automatically send emails on a rolling basis (i.e. if someone signs up after the email has gone out) -- don't take this as a negative because it could just be me.

Reason for choosing VolunteerLocal

Better overall solution, no adds on the webpage. A company that truly wants to help you and listens to you.

Vendor Response

We appreciate the feedback and are so glad you're part of VolunteerLocal! If you need support with the automated emails tool, never hesitate to reach out to our support team. You can set up as many emails on a rolling basis as you need, regardless of when someone signs up.

Replied December 2023

Shelby

Sports, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2023

Florida Citrus Sports

Great!

PROS

Very easy to navigate and self-teach. Lots of great new features! Customer service is great! [sensitive content hidden] has been very helpful from the beginning!

CONS

Nothing. This software is very great. Easy for volunteers to navigate as well

Reasons for switching to VolunteerLocal

Switched companies

Mary

Entertainment, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2023

Great support staff

It's been a work in progress for me but, the product have really elevated our volunteer recruitment and communications.

PROS

I like the flexibility in customizing Fields to accommodate my needs. The ability to set up templates to communicate is great. The support staff is always responsive with clear and concise information/directions. They also act on suggestions to make the productive better.

CONS

Occasionally I couldn't find the information needed and had to reach out to support staff for help. improvements have been made over the last year or so to make it more user friendly.

Reason for choosing VolunteerLocal

It had the most options specific to volunteer needs.

Michelle

Individual & Family Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2023

Customer Service Review

Fantastic!

PROS

Customer Service outstanding, prompt, attentive

CONS

Creating reports that are specific, setting up templates

Reason for choosing VolunteerLocal

Director's choice

Vendor Response

We're very proud of our incredible customer support. Never hesitate to reach out if you have questions and/or feedback!

Replied August 2023

Jeff

Sports, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2024

Using Volunteer Local to manage 1500 volunteer shifts for our event

This will be our 4th event using the platform.

PROS

Ease of use, good tutorials, great customer support.

CONS

Nothing, we could not manage our 1500 volunteers without a robust and user friendly platform like this.

Vendor Response

We're so glad you had success with your events using VolunteerLocal. Never hesitate to reach out to support if you need anything.

Replied April 2024

Teddy

Sports, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2022

Wouldn't use any other software!

After using other volunteer registration platforms, VolunteerLocal has saved me several hours of time as it provides all of the features that I need and it's easy to maneuver. I have used other platforms that were not user friendly which cost me a lot of extra time in preparing statistics, reports, etc. which had to be done manually. Being able to send email and text communications directly from VolunteerLocal (and being able to choose specific recipients) was a huge time saver. VolunteerLocal also allowed for me to invite team captains to have limited access to their volunteer jobs on VolunteerLocal so they could remain updated with their volunteer recruitment, whereas, other platforms I would have to do on a regular basis because they didn't allow for outside user access.

PROS

This software is very user friendly and easy to maneuver around to the different features, especially for someone like me who is not extremely savvy with technology. It provides all of the features that I need for volunteer recruitment for our annual race.

CONS

I have used other platforms for volunteer recruitment, and to be honest, there was nothing that I didn't like about VolunteerLocal. It provided everything that I needed, whereas other products didn't have all of the features that I needed, which meant I had to do a lot of my recruitment manually.

Marcia

Music, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2021

I LOVE Volunteer Local

Wonderful!

PROS

Over the years and with various organizations, I've used an array of volunteer sign-up programs. None come close to the user-friendly features of Volunteer Local (and a few were disasters!). Also, outstanding customer service--professional, personable and prompt.

CONS

There have been a few very minor points, but their staff always listens and makes efforts to improve the software for the next time around.

Reason for choosing VolunteerLocal

User friendly features, much better customer service access when compared to similarly priced programs.

Reasons for switching to VolunteerLocal

After a terrible experience with another product, my technical counterpart and I independently investigated an array of sign-up software. We both landed on Volunteer Local. That was 4 years ago and we would never switch!

Tara

Non-Profit Organization Management, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2018

Why I recommend Volunteerlocal.com

I recommend this service whenever I can. It's very helpful when collecting volunteers and communicating instructions and details. We use the program for more than just events - we sign up staff members and volunteers for training and have used it to schedule staff interviews too. It's an effective way to decrease the number of times you have to say or email a detail or instruction.

PROS

Ease of use and support. Volunteer Programmers hear from 100's of volunteers a day, especially when recruiting for an event. Sending the link with instructions and confirmation has significantly reduced the number of calls and emails I have to send with the same message. The communication tool is my favorite feature - that and the password protection for certain volunteers roles.

CONS

Would be nice to have an easier way to archive. There a few too many steps.

Krista

Religious Institutions, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2023

Amazing Customer Service

Customer service is one of my favorite aspects of Volunteer Local. From the top down, I receive immediate responses from the whole team. And it's usually on features not yet created, but the team will figure it out and make changes to the product to accommodate our needs the best that they can. I just can't say enough praises for this team!

PROS

I use Volunteer Local multiple times per day, every single day. Our organization could not run efficiently without it. It is very easy to set up events and also very easy for volunteers to navigate

CONS

There's nothing that I don't like. Maybe in the future a more useful app for both the admin and the volunteers? (I haven't been on the app in a while, maybe it's more helpful now.)

Reasons for switching to VolunteerLocal

Features that we needed.

Vendor Response

We're thrilled to help make sure your programs run efficiently! Our team is available whenever you need support and your feedback is invaluable to us.

Replied March 2023

Rayshoun

Non-Profit Organization Management, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2023

It's A Breeze

Data summary.

PROS

I love the flexibility of this software. The ability to get the very much needed data from activities associated with the volunteer work is very important via the reporting tool. I also enjoy being able to stay plugged in to them and send them thank notes, reminders and special messages like Happy Birthday.

CONS

I will have to think a little more on this part. At this time I am pretty pleased with the software.

Vendor Response

Staying connected with your volunteers is such an important piece of building relationships with your volunteer base. We're thrilled VolunteerLocal makes that process easier for you!

Replied February 2023

Colby

Events Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2023

Vol Local Review

Positive. Way better than what we were doing several years ago.

PROS

Way to capture volunteer information. Categorize them and organize them for each area of the event.

CONS

Too many steps or clicks to get to all the main information. Many parts of this could all be on one page.

Reasons for switching to VolunteerLocal

Company decision.

Lesley

Non-Profit Organization Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2022

Great Asset to those who manage volunteers

The customer support for this company is out of this world. [SENSITIVE CONTENT] has gone above and beyond to help make this process possible for us.

PROS

I can integrate messages to go out to volunteers without having to remember to do it. I have 5 different message that go out within a certain time frame and once it's set up I never have to do it again.

CONS

Nothing as of right now. I've only been using the system for 4 months so I feel I'm still learning and asking questions.

Chantelle

Used free trial

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

Reviewed March 2013

Wonderful people, AMAZING product!

If you're not using VolunteerLocal, you should be! This product has been so perfect for our small nonprofit. I went from sending at least 5 emails back and forth between a potential volunteer and trying to manage a 150-column, 5-page spreadsheet (and that's on legal paper) to simply copying and pasting the link and letting volunteers do it themselves! I can easily pull weekly reports to track our recruitment progress and send emails out when needed! Couldn't ask for a better product and so proud to call them a part of our Des Moines community.

PROS

VolunteerLocal features a simple, user-friendly interface with features even in the free version that you have to pay for with every other online volunteer system (unlimited jobs, shifts, volunteers!). You can define what information about each volunteer you want to receive, set maximums for each position, and copy jobs and shifts so you don't have to recreate the wheel for similar events. Features increase with the paid versions including the ability to blast emails to volunteers, multiple users managing different jobs, and event check in. THE single most important pro is the people! The team is a group of local developers who regularly seek feedback from the community about how to improve their product, and it shows in the execution! Kaylee is SO receptive to customer needs and easy to work with and I look forward to every time we talk.

CONS

Haven't found one yet!!