User Review Highlights

Overall Rating

4.82

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5

Customer Support

5

Value for money

4.5

Functionality

5

  • icon"Studio 3T admin portal is reliable and easy to use. Prices are more than fair for services this fast."
  • icon"I've been using this since 2017. Compared to other products, query builder feature, detailed graphics and software GUI are very successful."
  • icon"What I like most about the Studio 3T is the ease of managing a large number of connections. It's very easy to query the database and manage indexes."
  • icon"It changed the visual, time ago and it makes more difficult to make searchs."
  • icon"I did not find anything to dislike ahout Studio 3T."
  • icon"The exporting of large datasets can be very slow and often crash."

Browse all Studio 3T Reviews

  • Have you used Studio 3T and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a Review

Apply Filters:

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

Showing 1 - 25 of 33 reviews

User Profile

Sean

Verified reviewer

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

April 2021

While the cost of a license is high the functionality of 3T is unbeatable

In my experience with 3T I have found it to be a superfluid way of managing the multiple domains that we at our company host. Studio 3T makes it easy to bounce data around between sites when necessary while also providing you with a fundamentally sound way of hosting a local site with multiple datasets for a personal instance. I would recommend it to anyone looking to step up their DBMS game.

Pros

Accepts multiple languages Has a build-in visual query builder for ease of use Made database management easier and fluid for my team Incredible for managing multiple domains

Cons

The price of the license is high which means not everyone on my team is able to have access. This doesn't seem to be much of a hindrance however as many team members don't have the skillset needed for this to be useful to them.

Neha

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

March 2022

Studio 3T - Time saving and effective tool for noSQL to SQL

We have data in documentDB today and Studio 3T makes it easy to convert to SQL so our end users can use it.

Pros

Easy to use with little to no technical knowledge require. Migration is easy with flexibility in languages. Visual query builder is a great tool that simplifies the complexity of noSQL data. Scheduler is great for running it off of own laptops. Import Export option is great.

Cons

Task migration is tough if you switch laptops, also a dedicated server would be nice to run on the server instead of running on the laptop which has to be always ON.

Reasons for choosing Studio 3T

Easy to use with little to no technical knowledge require. Migration is easy with flexibility in languages. Visual query builder is a great tool that simplifies the complexity of noSQL data. Scheduler is great for running it off of own laptops. Import Export option is great.

Reasons for switching to Studio 3T

Ease of use, super fast.

Response from 3T Software Labs

Hi Neha, thanks for this feedback. I've passed your queries concerning Task Migration and the server idea onto our team for review. We appreciate the time taken to provide this!

Replied March 2022

Adrian

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Internet

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

September 2022

It is good but expensive

it is a good product, but it can have improvements

Pros

It was easy to set up and start with it

Cons

It changed the visual, time ago and it makes more difficult to make searchs

Response from 3T Software Labs

Hi Adrian, sorry to hear that you find searching more difficult now. Can I ask for more detail on this perhaps? Where are you searching? What was different before? It would be great to hear this.

Replied September 2022

Jason

Verified reviewer

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Government Administration

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2022

Studio3T Review report

Excellent

Pros

It is easy to navigate and a flexible query bar, you can also query using a single line

Cons

it only has a max of 100 rows per page when querying

Reasons for choosing Studio 3T

while using mongoDB compass I found out studio3T was more user friendly

Aaron

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

March 2022

Manage Data, build aggregations

I think it's the best tool out there as of 2022 for managing data in MongoDB.

Pros

Aggregation builder is intuitive. It helps to be able to run through a long aggregation and pause at specific stages to see what the input will be to the next stage. Software is updated frequently and there is clearly active development going on.

Cons

It's a memory hog! Segfaults are not out of the ordinary and it can be incredibly frustrating to lose where you are at in your work.

Response from 3T Software Labs

Hi Aaron, we're sorry to hear about your comments concerning the memory issues. If you experience these again please let us know via hello@info.studio3t.com with logs so we can look into this.

Replied March 2022

Shane

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

March 2022

Preferred GUI for MongoDB

Nothing but positive. The additional tools and features go beyond free tools for the same purpose.

Pros

Visual Query Builder and Aggregation Pipeline tools within Studio3T are by far my favorite. It allows me to sample different queries before every writing the implementation code in the respective project I am working on. The aggregation tools are fantastic allowing you to step through the different pipeline stages previewing the input outputs each step of the way.

Cons

Hardly a con but it is definitely a little more pricey than something like Mongo Compass. But if the budget can swing it, it’s definitely worth the price.

Reasons for switching to Studio 3T

More features and tooling available.

Response from 3T Software Labs

Hi Shane, thanks for taking the time to provide this great feedback! We've just started offering monthly subscription options so perhaps this is convenient for those looking to try the tool out before making a longer term commitment.

Replied March 2022

Anonymous

Company size: 11-50 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

January 2022

Best GUI for MongoDB

For MongoDB, no need to search for another software. Studio 3T is amazing!

Pros

I've been using this since 2017. Compared to other products, query builder feature, detailed graphics and software GUI are very successful. Many years ago, as a student, when I wanted to use this application, they gave me a one-year free membership within a few hours. Since that day, I have been using studio 3t in my professional business life.

Cons

In older versions, the software would crash occasionally. There were also connection problems. But thanks to the feedbacks, most of them have been fixed.

Response from 3T Software Labs

Hi there, we're happy to hear that you're still using the tool since your student days! We are pleased to have been able to help :)

Replied March 2022

Robert

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Arts and Crafts

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

March 2022

An Escential tool for developers using MongoDB

An essential tool that every member of our team uses every day. I've tried all the free tools and there is really no comparison. Studio 3t saves money in time and productivity.

Pros

The aggregation builder, the CSV export, Multi-document update.

Cons

It was a bit expensive. There is no ability to increase the font size in text fields such as criteria, sorts, etc..

Reasons for switching to Studio 3T

Ability to easily connect to a cluster, aggregation builder and exporter.

Response from 3T Software Labs

Hi Robert, thanks for your feedback - we appreciate it! I've passed on your comment regarding the font sizing to our team who will review this.

Replied March 2022

Anonymous

Company size: 51-200 employees

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

March 2022

Essencial and the best tool for Database exports

Positive! I use it frequently with a constant level of success.

Pros

In the company we use it to generate reports and easily export versioning information so our CSM can pass this information onto customers.

Cons

The exporting of large datasets can be very slow and often crash. It's a great tool but I run into this issue frequently.

Response from 3T Software Labs

Hi there, we're sorry to hear that you've experienced issues with exporting large datasets. Could you please send any details on this, to support@studio3t.com? We'd be happy to look into this for you.

Replied March 2022

Tashauna

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Internet

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

September 2022

Studio 3T Review

Pros

I like that you can take control of the data, edit, and so on.

Cons

It's a bit of a learning curve, It gets complicated at times. However, once you get used to the features you really need then you'll be okay.

Response from 3T Software Labs

Hi Tashauna, thanks for this feedback. Have you seen our Knowledge Base (https://studio3t.com/knowledge-base/) for information on using the tool? If not, we'd recommend it. Hope it helps!

Replied September 2022

Thiago

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

March 2022

Easy-to-use advanced client for MongoDB databases with SQL translation

Studio 3T is a pretty complete solution for a company that relies in MongoDB databases and multi functional teams. Migrations its really a topic that Studio handles well and make your life easier when need to run batches of data at once. The Schema analysis also its useful to help clean up and normalize the NoSQL database, which sometimes has old properties on it.

Pros

Studio 3T has a built in shell solution called "Intelishell", which makes out of the box to create JS scripts to run directly in the DB with a good performance. Also, the easy translation to SQL help other team members that isn't familiar with NoSQL language being universal used. Other thing I would highlight its the Explain tab on the query: specially for companies that has sharded collections, it helps out explain how much time its taking for each shard to gather the result of the query. This is really useful in our production daily logic and performance improvements.

Cons

I would say that the UI isn't the best appealing and has too many tabs and modals that pop up in my opinion. Sometimes I just wanna a way to easier manage all the tabs I have opened (and maybe save them if have a crash). Also I think leak in integration with other products or even maybe with MongoDB Atlas (would be useful to expand the setup on Atlas directly from the Studio 3T UI).

Response from 3T Software Labs

Hi Thiago, thanks for this great feedback! If you had more specific information on how you'd like the UI to function (especially related to your tab comment), that would be great, as we do always take time to consider feedback like this. You can contact us via the hello@info.studio3t.com mail.

Replied March 2022

Lanny

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

March 2022

Better MongoDB Development Client

Pros

The UI design is user friendly. It did not take too much time for me to get started with Studio 3T when I start develop my application with Mongo. It is also very helpful to manage the Atlas instance with Studio 3T. I can clearly manage all of my local and cloud instance in 3T

Cons

The customized query is not as easy as the GUI query. I have to open an console in 3T and type my own command. It would be better if 3T can have auto-complete and helpful messages (like sample) when I type my command.

Response from 3T Software Labs

Hi Lanny, thanks for this feedback. If you had more specific feedback on the "customised query" comment you made, you could send us screenshots via the support@studio3t.com address so we can further investigate. Our IntelliShell does offer Auto-Complete and we've worked on consistently improving this. Have you tried this?Thanks!

Replied March 2022

Srikanth

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

March 2022

Studio 3T Fabulous Tool of the Decade

Pros

user friendly and also not expensive tool . Easy to Learn and implement applications using this tool.

Cons

IT would be nice if the export feature have further more formats to export. Also if there is free version similar to compass db limiting to 1GB so helpful for beginners and students.

Response from 3T Software Labs

Hi Srikanth, thanks for this. What formats would you like to see for export? Also, we released Studio 3T Free in April, and you are welcome to try it. Just download 2022.3.0 minimum and go to Help>My License and skip the trial. Have a nice week!

Replied May 2022

Anonymous

Company size: 11-50 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

June 2020

Best that I know of

Studio 3T is sufficient for my usage, however a more IDE-like IntelliShell would be a great enhancement.

Pros

Studio 3T provides a lot of conveniences that I haven't seen from other MongoDB clients. The ability to interactively create indexes, aggregation pipelines, and view your data in various formats increases my productivity and I can see it being a good way to learn about Mongo.

Cons

Studio 3T's IntelliShell feature could be more customizable and consistent. It is a bit cumbersome to use compared to modern IDE's.

Fabian

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

March 2022

Best MongoDB Browser/Editor

Great appliation to work with MongoDB. It's really easy, especially if you don't work with MongoDB on a daily basis.

Pros

This application was made for MongoDB. All the views and actions are aligned to work with MongoDB. Other products can handle MongoDB too, but they still behave like SQL tools. The visual query builder is a great help for quickly filtering your data. The aggregation view gives the required structure to build larger pipelines.

Cons

It's not distributed via package manager on linux platforms. The date type in the query builder could provider a date picket widget, so I don't have to edit the dates manually.

Response from 3T Software Labs

Hi Fabian, thanks for this great feedback! We'll pass your comments on so that our development team can look into your 2 comments re. the Linux package manager and the query builder.

Replied March 2022

Zach

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Logistics and Supply Chain

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

March 2022

Expemsive but the best

Great experience overall, maybe I'm being too nit picky but sometimes things crash

Pros

Generally stable, good UI, feature rich offering

Cons

Expensive, sometimes migrations crash and you have to use another tool

Reasons for choosing Studio 3T

Feature set, nice GUI

Response from 3T Software Labs

Hi Zach, sorry to hear that you find that migrations crash on occasion. If you had time, we'd like to look into this more closely for you. Please send any detail you have on this to hello@info.studio3t.com and we'll reply right away.

Replied March 2022

Yuri

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Semiconductors

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

March 2022

Easy transition from SQl to NoSQL database

Great software from variety of similar products . Based on users feedbacks that is very important

Pros

I do not need to know NoSQL query syntax, it has automatic conversion from SQL to NoSQL

Cons

Some of features are not trivial and should spend a sufficient training

Reasons for choosing Studio 3T

SQL feature, not so expansive license

Reasons for switching to Studio 3T

Because that Compass does not have SQL to NoSQL automatic translator

Response from 3T Software Labs

Hi Yuri, thanks for this feedback. We're pleased to hear how it helps you transition to using NoSQL databases! Your comments on using the tool are interesting and we'd recommend looking at our Knowledge base (studio3t.com/knowledge-base) as well as our frequent AMA articles (https://studio3t.com/whats-new/ama-how-can-studio-3ts-tasks-make-me-more-efficient/) to get more detail on how to use the tool. You can also always contact us via hello@info.studio3t.com for more help.

Replied March 2022

Daniel

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

March 2022

Must have

I like this software a lot and no other free software propose these features.

Pros

Manage your mongo databases very easily. Build aggregations easily and reuse your scripts with the save feature. Export your data easily and import it elsewhere (even single documents from one db to another db). Dumping easily

Cons

The user experience should be improved in some screens

Reasons for choosing Studio 3T

Features

Reasons for switching to Studio 3T

features were laking

Response from 3T Software Labs

Hi Daniel, thanks for this! If you have more detailed information on this, you can mail us via hello@info.studio3t.com

Replied March 2022

Anonymous

Company size: 11-50 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

FUNCTIONALITY