All Notability Reviews

1-25 of 42 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Daniel

Non-Profit Organization Management, 2 - 10 employees

Used more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

Reviewed February 2022

Helpful Note-Taking Tool That Syncs across Devices

User Profile

Mohammad

Verified reviewer

Civil Engineering, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2023

Notability has, & will always be my go-to note-taking utility.

Notability offers exceptional note-taking & sharing flexibility to carry on my work. Being able to draft my notes from my phone & continue where I left off on the bigger iPad screen is a great experience thanks to its flawless synchronization. As such, I always draft my work reports (& personal notes) using the reliable software, & will continue to do for the foreseeable future.

PROS

Ever since I started using the app nine years ago during college, I was easily able to write down notes, sketch important details on snapped photos of the class whiteboard from my iPad mini & even share my notes to classmates in PDF format. Upon graduating & starting my engineering career, Notability has remained faithful with its feature-set & stability to continually support my productivity requirements. The highly-detailed, yet small-sized PDF exports of my notes are easily shareable especially on sites that have upload limit. The ability to move around & resize writings & inserted photos without messing the note page ensures content tidiness, & the wide selection of page UI options substantially elevates the note-taking experience.

CONS

I have absolutely no complaints with the app. It's just great.

Reason for choosing Notability

What compelled me to try Notability first among other considerations were the reviews praising the user interface & overall experience. So, I installed it & gave it a try (& kept on using it since then).

Angelica

Verified reviewer

Pharmaceuticals, 5,001-10,000 employees

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2023

Notability: Unleashing the Potential of Digital Note-Taking

Notability proved to be a crucial tool for recording and compiling research findings, meeting notes, and study materials during my internship in the university's Department of Pharmaceutical Development and Research. I was able to take notes, highlight crucial details, and annotate PDF documents with ease because to the app's user-friendly design and plethora of writing options. The option to record meetings and courses was especially helpful for later listening. Even when working from different places, Notability's synchronization across my Apple devices made sure I always had access to my notes. Overall, Notability greatly improved my productivity and organization while I was an intern in the pharmaceutical industry.

PROS

A broad feature set makes Notability a remarkable option for digital note-taking and organization. Users can easily create rich and interactive notes with its user-friendly design and powerful writing tools. The program offers versatility for information capture by supporting a range of input techniques, such as typing, handwriting, and sketching. The synchronization features of Notability allow for smooth access to notes on many devices, assuring consistency and ease. Users can improve their note-taking capabilities and better record meetings or lectures with features like audio recording and annotating. Furthermore, Notability provides sophisticated organizational features like folders and tags that make it possible to efficiently categorize and retrieve notes. Overall, Notability gives consumers the tools they need to advance their note-taking.

CONS

Even while Notability succeeds in many areas, there are a few things to keep in mind. One drawback is that Notability is only available to iOS and macOS users because it was initially created for Apple devices. It's possible that users of other platforms won't have access to all of the app's features. Lack of real-time collaboration tools makes it less ideal for collaborative work than some other note-taking apps, which is another possible downside. Furthermore, even while Notability offers good handwriting recognition, it could not be as precise as other handwriting recognition software. Despite these minor drawbacks, Notability is still a strong and functional tool for personal note-taking and planning.

Reasons for switching to Notability

Due to its concentration on handwriting and annotation features and its flawless connection with the Apple environment, Notability stands out as a top option for digital note-taking. Users who like handwritten notes will find the app to be the perfect tool thanks to its close integration with the iPad and Apple Pencil. Users may view and edit their notes on any Apple device thanks to Notability's synchronization between iOS and macOS devices, which guarantees a consistent note-taking experience. The organization tools in the program, such folders and tags, offer efficient methods to categorize and find notes. Notability is a versatile companion for both lectures and document-based workflows thanks to its audio recording capability and PDF annotation features.

Sage

Education Management, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed December 2021

Notability

PROS

The feature I like most with Notability is the ability to screen mirror pdfs to my tv. Being able to do this makes it quick and easy to share and edit documents with my students. I love the ability to use my pencil stylus to write directly on the document. It is also great to be able to use all of the other features that Notability offers, such as highlighting, cut, as well as being able to easily share documents with others.

CONS

One issue I have with this product is that sometimes I have to make several attempts to scan and upload a document. There are also times that after it scans it does not show the correct orientation. Otherwise the product does what I need.

Carsyn

Veterinary, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2024

Notability is a life saver when it comes to note taking, planning, and keeping files organized

PROS

As a vet student, I use notability daily for 6-10 hours each day. I have found that it is the most efficient app for taking notes as well as studying, planning, and it keeps all of my power points/ files easily accessible. I appreciate that you can design your own subjects for organization and with Notability Plus you have access to many planners and others that have replaced almost every paperback notebook that I have.

CONS

Very rarely, there can be glitches and lagging but it is usually when a new update of the app comes out.

Blake

Marketing and Advertising, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed June 2023

Wonderful note-taking app for small teams and personal use!

We have been able to find a great note taking and to do list system with Notability. They have been outstanding in the features that we needed and we have no issues with it to date. We are anxiously awaiting the ability to use the app with WindowsOS, but other than that, our expectations have been met/exceeded.

PROS

It was nothing for us to integrate it into our routines, which was great because we don’t have a ton of time to deal with things like that. I love that we were grandfathered in to the pricing, because the amount of subscriptions we are forced to have for apps today is ridiculous. We got grandfathered in at $8.99 for life, so that was nice. They have unfortunately switched to the subscription model for new users though, which was disappointing. I love the personal customization options, and the robust document editing capabilities. I also live the filing system. It is neat and organized well.

CONS

The inability to use it on windows systems and devices. We do not use MacOS, so we can’t use this app on our laptops. Only mobile devices.

Reason for choosing Notability

We didn’t want another subscription fee each month on top of the 23 we already have ‍

Saurabh

Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2022

One of the apps you need to have if you have iPad

I like Notability and I hope it keeps improving. Import/Export can be improved a little more.

PROS

Easy to keep track of my subjects, courses, etc. It also has interesting planner themes to incorporate. I had a great overall experience so far.

CONS

I just came across one problem so far which is the page divider. It seems that when you use lines for your page it's the same color as the page divider and it often gets ignored. I hope there was an option to change the color of the lines

Reasons for switching to Notability

Notability was much more accessible and had a great interface.

Anonymous

11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2022

The Best Note-Taking App

After I got an iPad I put a lot of time into choosing the right note-taking app for everyday use, school and work notes and I am very glad I found Notability. It is very simple yet full of useful tools and possibilities. Some things could be improved but the app is constantly getting better and better which is great. I love that I can automatically sync my notes to OneDrive so I can access them on other devices as well.

PROS

- Simple, easy to use - Zoom-in function for handwriting - Customizable pen and paper setting - A lot of templates and stickers - Gallery of other people's notes - Writing over multiple pages - Supports gestures - A lot of useful tools - OneDrive synchronization

CONS

- I would appreciate more paper and pen settings: the current options are good but there could be more (for example brush-pen with higher stabilization for calligraphy) - Hard to format when writing with a keyboard (iPad)

Reason for choosing Notability

Notability offered some functions the other did not.

Naja

Medical Practice, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2022

Notability, multifunctional Note taking app with many built in features, great for Students

Overall I think notability is a great software and I utilize it every day for hundreds and hundreds of notes over the course of my higher education.

PROS

Some of the things that I like the best about not ability or the ease of organizing different courses or topics and the ability to put in multiple different tabs within a specific course or within a specific project. Additionally I like that you are able to directly back up your notes into another storage feature such as Google drive or box.

CONS

Some of the things that I like the least about this software are that if you are running out of space on your device it is extremely difficult to upload the notes to be used. You would need to delete some notes or back them up somewhere else and then delete them. Otherwise as you are trying to open the notes up it just says downloading from the cloud and that typically takes a long time if it even downloads at all.

Stefania

Marketing and Advertising, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2024

The best note taking app

The best note taking app. I started using it in 2018 and I still use it, it’s perfect and it’s complete

PROS

You get a lot of functions, different pens, different colours. The best part is that you can also record the professor or the manager when they speak and it automatically synchronises with what you are writing.

CONS

Maybe the zoom tool, it’s not easy to write using it

Baylie

Veterinary, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2024

User friendly, stay organized, all notes in one place

PROS

Organize each subject separately. Making calendars, note taking, downloading files and more is so easy, fast and convenient! I have thousands of pages of notes and downloaded files, the app saves them all on google drive if you want it set up. Easy to navigate and have separate subjects and files within drop down menus.

CONS

Nothing bad to say about notability. It has truly done wonders for my studying at veterinary school .

Himanshu

Hospital & Health Care, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed October 2022

Good notes taking app for school and university students in need to develop productivity skills

having bought it as my first notes taking application and having it at base price with no annual pricing. I initially had no such use of the application. however overtime with understanding of notes and reducing paper footprint in long way have been major motivators for me utilising this application. however due to its annual pricing the feature that I bought initially have been the only one that I am using as the feature that I forgot to buy in initial phase due to restricted financial income have not really affecting my work but same may not be said for current new user who go though annual subscriptions. overall the application is great for usage and has good interface in comparison to goodnotes and native notes taking application.

PROS

to be able to work on text, scribble and subjects to divider mechanism to divide each section in predefined format. also having different notes template that fits in school, university and research background which are handy. one can also work it out in social experiments requiring working on multiple pdf questionnaires into subject specific. also the with audio ability to record interviews and lecture is plus point in case for individual which like taking up revision and optimising the notes at later phases

CONS

The pricing mechanism on the application have been shifted annual which is downside for those individual for whom this application have been designed. if following could have been something like 30-50 $ for version and if there are major feature updates, they could make version once in every 3-5 years which can be provided as upgrade for exisintng user at certain discount and retain the 30-50$ price. additionally family sharing could be restricted to single user across multiple devices, instead of provided family sharing which can provide better ability to understand usages and version upgrade feasibility.

Bree

E-Learning, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2021

Simple & Amazing Organization with Easy Features

My overall experience has been fabulous. I have used Notability for two years now and tried many different note-taking applications, but this is the simplest and user-friendly app I have used.

PROS

My favorite features about Notability is definitely the organization of notes. You can create folders that are easy to access with as many separate notes as you need, and you can create categories to separate the folders. Everything is super easy to access and create as a user. Importing and exporting are easier than making coffee. The Lasso Tool in Notability can move things around, make them bigger or smaller, copy it, and duplicate. You can turn handwritten words to text, and you can even keep recorded notes!

CONS

There isn’t anything super specific that is outrageously bad, but this is definitely not an app for drawing or being creative. It’s only function is to take notes in all different ways.

Reasons for switching to Notability

Ease of Use

Madden

Hospital & Health Care, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2023

High Utility, Promising New Features

Despite the small flaws, I don't see a near future where I'm not using Notability on a daily basis - its essential to my workflow as a student.

PROS

I have used Notability the past five years as a student and it has been essential in keeping my information organized and easily accessible on all my devices. I also love the new tape feature, it has already been a quick addition to my workflow for learning.

CONS

The cloud syncing really should be much faster, if I have the same document open on my computer and iPad it takes far too long for them to catch up. That and I often have to restart the Mac app as pages will just randomly be blurry.

Reasons for switching to Notability

Notability was much simpler to use and accessible across my devices.

Alexandre

Higher Education, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2022

Good for subscription only

PROS

Notability is a robust app for taking notes in which there’s a possibility to create open access link to share content. Anyone can use this link to view the notes in any browser or on any device. While drawing, I love the favorites bar, though it is limited to three items on the free plan. I could also add the amazing audio recording feature for notetakers.

CONS

I see benefits for Notability only if one can afford a premium subscription. The free plan otherwise make this app very comparable to other note-taking apps

User Profile

Francisco

Verified reviewer

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2022

Good but pricey

Great. I would recommend it if you have the money but there are plenty of free options to choose from.

PROS

Overall this software is great, I have used it for about 3 years and once you learn how to use it it works great. The best thing is how easy it autosaves files and loads them on all your devices ( I use it on my iPhone, MacBook, and iPad). There is no need to worry as all your files are saved and updated automatically. It has many functions and the keynote feature works like a charm.

CONS

On its last version now you have to pay for it and it is expensive. it used to be free but not anymore if you are a new user.

Sean

Higher Education, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2021

Notability for grading assignments

As I've mentioned, Notability is a game-changer for me. It is the greatest piece of software written for IOS mobile.

PROS

Notability on an iPad is the single best application for business purposes that I have purchased. Using this with an Apple Pencil is like using pen and paper. The palm rejection is superior to Adobe's. Even now that our university is back in person, I have maintained electronic grading. I even did this for in-person exams. This made it possible to return the exams electronically to students and maintain a complete record of what was completed.

CONS

Honestly, I have no cons about the software. It is brilliant. My only complaint is that I would like a version for a PC. I would purchase this in a second.

christine

Libraries, 1 employee

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2023

Notability pour tout noter efficacement avec indexage audio de vos prise de notes

Notability est un logiciel dont j'avais rêver qu'il existe un jour, c'est chose faite et je m'étonne qu'il n'ait pas existé plus tôt, ceci étant dit, grâce à ce logiciel je peux enregistrer des heures de conférence audio que j'accompagne de photos, croquis, textes et dessins, et lors de l'écoute je peux ne sélectionner que les portions audio qui m'intéressent grâce aux notes en cliquant sur le zone que je considère comme importante à réecouter, donc un gain de temps gagner incroyable dans l'archivage audio des passages clés

PROS

Le fait de pouvoir enregistrer l'audio et que cet audio soit synchroniser avec les dessins, prises de notes, textes et photos insérer est juste une révolution, lors de la réécoute de l'audio, il suffit de cliquer sur la portion qui attise notre curiosité pour entendre la portion audio concernant la prise de note, le fait de la reconnaissance des textes manuscrits en texte OCR est puissant

CONS

J'ai la version ou l'on payait une fois, aujourd'hui ils sortent, comme la plupart, une version avec souscription annuelle... Je suis contre ce modèle économique depuis toujours

Jussi

Management Consulting, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2022

One of the best note taking/making apps available

I have been using Notability since it became available. It has had a very good roadmap and the company has been very careful not to convolute the tool with unnecessary features. It is a very tight and well rounded product. A true workhorse of note taking.

PROS

The ease of use and UX are way better than any other similar tools. The audio recording and its synch with the note taking is a killer feature and works like a charm.

CONS

The folder structure is not flexible enough for advanced use.

Reasons for switching to Notability

Notability has better feature set and its UX is superior to those other tools.

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT