User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.0 / 5

Value for Money

4.0 / 5

Customer Support

4.5 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(17)

17

4 stars

(15)

15

3 stars

(3)

3

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(0)

0

  • Pros

  • "I like that you can configure the system for the most part to the needs of your own business and the payroll module which really cuts the time it takes to process payroll."

  • "The modules of COINS are very integrated with each other and the software is very reliable."

  • "COINS had a thorough understanding of the construction industry and the product reflects it COINS has excellent technical support - tickets logged are resolved quickly "

  • Cons

  • "The COINS interface can cause some initial confusion for new users but they quickly adapt."

  • "DM module. the scan/index and upload are helpful but I think the keyword maintenance (service order) can be better."

  • "Product is updated often, which is a pro & con. Some testing involved, but normally worth it for the enhancements."

Browse COINS Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - -15 of 35 results

February 2020

Drew from Amteck

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 2 years


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2020

COINs use and configuration

We were trying to consolidate all our different software and data points used to run the business. While not all have been realized or implemented yet, those that have been has increased productivity in those areas tremendously.

Pros

I liked that that software was cloud based and had a user friendly interface.

Cons

The data migration was difficult mapping our old structure to the COINs structure. After a few calls with the COINs team though we got it figured out and imported.

Reasons for Choosing COINS

COINs outperformed the competition in most all categories we deemed critical to our business.

March 2020

Steve from The Tustin Group

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2020

Coins OA Review

We are an long time Coins client and felt the transition from the old platform to Coins OA could have been a little easier. The migration from Coins Ti to OA was more like a new software implementation than an upgrade. We still have a few punch list items pending from our Go Live, but Coins is working to resolve and has been committed to fair resolutions to any outstanding issues. We have been live on OA for 1 year and are begin to realize some efficiency improvements already. I feel strongly we will continue to improve our processing efficiencies and our customers' experience by utilizing more feature within Coins OA.

Pros

The Mobile Technician feature sets us apart from our competition. Giving our technicians the ability to take photos and add notations on equipment issues gives our customers validation to what our technicians see. The ability to use one system to run our entire business from operations to accounting allows us to function seamlessly. The bulk import and export functions allow us to easily update and manipulate data.

Cons

Implementation was challenging, partially due to the flexibility of the software configuration and our users not adapting to new processes.

Reasons for Choosing COINS

We have been with Coins for 20+ years, so it came down to familiarity, functionality of Coins OA, and Coins continuous improvement efforts on product development and support.

July 2017

Bill from NG Bailey

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

3.0

July 2017

Single focus software that completes its tasks as designed

Pros

Has the functionality for reporting and data storage that works well in a business and construction based environment. Nice design with good accessibility. Unix based softwares are fast and reliable.

Cons

Can be difficult to understand and the documentation isn't the most well detailed for the type of software. Support can be lacking in certain areas.

February 2020

Matthew from R.H. White Companies

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2020

A Company with Similar Values

This complete ERP system has provided us with a single source of truth for data, and has allowed us to develop more efficient business workflows.

Pros

Software most fully addressed our numerous business needs as a complete ERP system and has a high degree of available customization.

Cons

Some areas of the software were newly developed and a bit clunky when we started, and the customization increases our QA load. However, great strides have been made in both areas.

Reasons for Choosing COINS

Being a contractor that performs multi-million dollar Construction Management projects in addition to Daily Service Work and Unit Price Work, COINS was the product that best addressed our varied business needs. We also felt that company values aligned and that we would be a relevant customer, not just a number.

February 2020

Holly from Armour & Sons Electric, Inc.

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2020

Coins Software

Pros

I like the amount of data that the software can process and report. In payroll, I especially like that you can make an effective date for all payroll item changes and union rate changes. It makes payroll preparation that much easier during tax or union rate changes. Coins is also easy to use overall and helps us manage our jobs from forecasting to tracking actual job costs. Mobile tech is another great feature that makes it easier for our service department. And finally the support that we receive from the Coins help desk is usually timely and thorough, they are usually very knowledgeable and eager to help and assist us to correct any problems that we have.

Cons

I think the least thing I like about the software is I would like the ability to be able to create my own reports without having to go through the process of having Coins create one for me. So a little more flexibility with generating reports would be awesome. I also do not believe that we should have to pay to have a report made or modified, that we are paying the bi-annual license fees and have already paid for the program itself. I just don't think it should be a separate charge.

Reasons for Choosing COINS

I was not here when the switch was made, but I believe that it was the mobile tech that made your program more attractive.

January 2020

Joseph from Shaw Electric Company

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 12 months


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2020

COINS easily connected our field and office teams.

With SM we were able to shorten both the dispatch and invoicing processes. With CDR we have been able to eliminate a third party software platform and make the daily task of approving field time more than just bearable. Both modules have increased the overall level of effective communication between field and office. The COINS implementation and account management teams have both been great to work with despite some implementation bumps (as to be expected of course); in the end a solution was always found.

Pros

While we are still relatively new to COINS, our initial wins have been with the Service Management (SM) and Crew Daily Reports (CDR). COINS SM has allowed our service team to step away from an outdated, manual, paper-intensive process to a fully integrated, paperless, mobile supported process. As a result SM has allowed us to more effectively service our customers. On the project side, CDR has connected our field and office teams with a mobile real-time data collection solution that replaced a third party time collection platform.

Cons

COINS is extremely flexible and at times can require a lot of initial setup, but the work is worth the effort.

Reasons for Choosing COINS

The SM and CDR played a role in our selection as noted above, but other areas of functionality such as on-line forecasting and document imaging played a role in our decision.

February 2020

Tom from Rieck Services

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2020

COINS OA

We were originally a long time Coins TI system user and was looking to upgrade our system to a more modern platform. Upgrading an existing ERP can be a daunting task. Coins consultants worked with us every step of the way during our implementation process. When we experienced some development issues we were able to work directly with Coins developers to resolve our issues.

Pros

Browser-based and runs on-premise or in the cloud. Very configurable. Runs on open-source Linux software. Covers most all our ERP requirements. Native iOS applications for service management and construction and CRM. Active and ongoing development of the product.

Cons

A small learning curve for first-time users.

February 2020

David from Conti Corporation

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2020

COINS Product

The fact that we are able to run all of our entities and quickly maneuver from one to the other is great. Our company has had an overall very good experience with COINS.

Pros

The project management portion is great. Very easy to use for our project managers. It has helped tremendously in managing our jobs. Also, the support team is VERY good. Usually very quick and to the point helpful answers

Cons

Upgrading can be a slight problem when you are not totally familiar with the product. This gets easier with usage though.

Reasons for Choosing COINS

Best PM software along with pricing.

January 2020

Robert from McIntosh Corporation

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2020

COINS Software

By moving to COINS we were able to eliminate several Excel spreadsheets that we were doing outside the system.

Pros

What I like the most about COINS is the ability for our project manager's to see progress on their jobs. COINS allow the project managers to manage their cost on each project, which in turn makes a more profitable job.

Cons

COINS provides several useful reports, but setting up the reports take more time than I like to spend on designing a report.

February 2020

Peter from Gagnon Inc

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2020

COINS is Adaptable

We bought COINS back in 1996 to handle the complexity of being a Industrial Specialty Contractor that works in multiple states and with its employees from many unions. I don't think there was a situation that it could not handle. As we changed and grew over the years, so did COINS. COINS also helped us mange that change.

Pros

The latest version COINS is very adaptable, it can handle changes to business process, last minute customer reporting requirements.

Cons

Since it is so customizable, implement can take while.

Reasons for Choosing COINS

The handling of union payroll.

January 2020

Francis from Penn Line Service, Inc.

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Construction


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2020

COINS has been helping us to achieve success for over 30 years!

Our payroll is a huge challenge. We pay close to 2,000 employees weekly and we have a mix of union and non-union jobs. We were able to collaborate with COINS to create a method to quickly create and edit time cards that streamlined the process. COINS Customer and Technical Support are extremely knowledgeable and responsive. COINS Consultants and Project Managers are top notch and have always done whatever was necessary to help us configure and enhance the software to maximize it's usefulness for us.

Pros

COINS is constantly working to provide the best and most relevant software for the construction industry. They do this by collaborating with their clients and not by blindly making decisions behind the scenes. The product is robust from back office accounting and payroll to job performance/management and business intelligence.

Cons

The Health & Safety module leaves a lot to be desired. It is not at all user friendly to set up, rigid to maintain and frustrating to use.

Reasons for Choosing COINS

We originally ran our business on software that was written completely in-house. We chose COINS to replace that. We were obviously heavily invested in COINS and had always had exceptional results with the software and had developed great working relationships with their staff. Our companies grew and evolved together over the years. We knew that COINS (the software and the people) would not disappoint us and would work together with us to ensure our ongoing success.

January 2020

Clarissa from MLN Company

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2020

COINS Experience

COINS has helped our company process invoices, purchase orders, payroll a lot quicker than any other program.

Pros

COINS workflow invoice approval process, submitting time payroll time, job cost change orders.

Cons

The number of clicks to open a image or find data in the system.

January 2020

Chrissy from Structural Technologies

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2020

Great company, great product

COINS is a growing, dynamic company and is very responsive to customer interests and needs. We've been a happy customer for years.

Pros

It is construction-focused and helps meet the needs of what we do every day. Job information is always at our fingertips.

Cons

International functionality is difficult.

Reasons for Choosing COINS

Construction focused

February 2020

Joe from Conti LLC

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2020

COINS Review

Pros

COINS has a convenient web platform with user friendly interfaces. Access to a wide variety of project data has been made easy.

Cons

Product is updated often, which is a pro & con. Some testing involved, but normally worth it for the enhancements.

February 2020

Jimmy from Goyette Mechanical

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Facilities Services

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2020

COINS for a Mechanical Service Contractor

Pros

The bulk, concurrent, and multi update functions allow me to maintain our information quickly and efficiently. COINS OA has very powerful reporting and analysis tools along with tons of options to view your information so you can see it however you'd like.

Cons

It's not that intuitive. Even with training from COINS, you have to dedicate some serious time to learning this software.

Reasons for Choosing COINS

This is the only product that we have found that the market that does everything we need it to. We do everything from small residential service calls to multi-million dollar construction jobs and COINS helps us do it all!

February 2020

Tony from Hooper Corporation

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2020

COINS OA Review

Pros

COINS OA is very comprehensive; as well as addressing backoffice needs, it has allowed us to expand our reach (data collection, reporting, etc.) to remote users. In addition, it more broadly addresses the needs of our operational units.

Cons

Development is always forward looking. While this is not necessarily a bad thing, there could be more focus on versions that customers are using to run their business on a daily basis.

February 2020

Christa from Crowder

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2020

COINS

Pros

COINs system for a does work for our company. The ease to run reports for things such as Jobs, AP & Employee Services is very user friendly. The test environment is very helpful especially when it is time to upgrade system. I have use other ERP systems in the past..... compare to other systems COINS is very effective.

Cons

The COINS Documentation needs to be update. I have tried to use it when I had questions and the info is either missing or is not update.

February 2020

Matt from Burns Brothers Contractors

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2020

Burns Bros. Contractors

We are doing fine with the OA installation. It has given us opportunity to introduce effective workflow into our payroll and procure to pay cycles. Also has given us better visibility into our job costs and project management. We think that there will be continued opportunities to "grow into" the full capabilities of the COINS application, where needed.

Pros

Ease of use. Relatively simple set-up Customizable user configuration

Cons

during year 1 of the OA install we still run into misc. and unexpected bugs in reporting and/or functionality

February 2020

Andrea from Piping & Equipment Company, Inc.

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2020

Configurable Accounting

COINS has really streamlined the payroll process for our company the COINS OA system has a very easy to use payroll system.

Pros

I like that you can configure the system for the most part to the needs of your own business and the payroll module which really cuts the time it takes to process payroll.

Cons

My biggest issue is the frequency that updates are required as that requires quite a bit of testing for the end user.

April 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

Relevant and powerful ERP system

My employer needed to replace the old DOS system and COINS was perfect. Accounting, CRM, job costing, payroll compliance, project management. COINS is highly customizable and perfect fit for the company.

Pros

Reporting (especially ability to schedule reports), integrated with CRM and had the ability to upgrade to customize our subcontracts and purchase orders.

Cons

Took a year or so to feel at ease using. Steep learning curve.

February 2020

Steven from Rieck Services

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2020

Long Time User

COINS has helped us improve our data analytics and increase customer service. The employees at COINS are the biggest difference maker. They are helpful and really care about the customer.

Pros

The modules of COINS are very integrated with each other and the software is very reliable.

Cons

The COINS interface can cause some initial confusion for new users but they quickly adapt.

January 2020

Erin from Structural Technologies

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2020

Easy to Use

Pros

COINS had a thorough understanding of the construction industry and the product reflects it COINS has excellent technical support - tickets logged are resolved quickly

Cons

Occasionally sluggish, likely due to a big increase in our number of users.

Reasons for Choosing COINS

We wanted an option specific to the construction industry

March 2020

Nick from Prism Spectrum Holdings, LLC

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2020

COINS OA

Pros

Highly configurable system allows our multiple companies with various lines of business to function in their own respective way. It is Fully Web-Based and takes advantage of canned API and Webservices to connect to other software’s that we utilize.

Cons

As it is a highly configurable system, there is an initial learning curve that takes time to understand and learn, though worth it once learned.

February 2020

Almas from Feeney Brothers

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Utilities

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2020

Flexible, Innovative, Growing ERP System

Pros

System security scheme, Job Cost and BI Reporting module. Very easy to follow and provides flexibility and efficiency.

Cons

DM module. the scan/index and upload are helpful but I think the keyword maintenance (service order) can be better.

January 2020

Michael from United Infrastructure Group, Inc.

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 6 months


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2020

Extremely Customizable Product

Pros

It is very customizable to meet most of the needs of our organization. The user interface is nice and modern and most of the screens function the same so it feels fluid throughout the product.

Cons

The customization can get overwhelming and it is very complex so setup and implementation is quite a challenge, but nothing that can't be overcome with a proper team in place on both sides.

January 2020

Michael from Structural Technologies

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2020

COINS Review

Overall, my experience with COINS has been a good one. I just wish they had better reporting.

Pros

It fits well for construction companies.

Cons

I'm not too impressed with the reporting.

January 2020

Cheyenne from Emcor Gowan

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 2 years


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2020

COINS ERP

Pros

The mobile and CDR app capabilities have made our business more efficient.

Cons

Security functions can be overwhelming and robust. Specifically for our company it has been hard to manage.

January 2020

Lynn from Shaw Electric Co.

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Time Used: Less than 6 months


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2020

Coins Review

It has been a long process to get up and running. Our operations consultant worked very hard to make sure that we were successful. I would recommend [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] to anyone who has to implement Job Cost. He is the best!

Pros

The best part of the software is that it was a huge upgrade from the software that we were moved from. The forms are nice once we had them uploaded.

Cons

Some of the tasks that I am required to complete are as easy. There are many places to look that will give you part of what you are looking for. For example there isn't a payroll register you have to go to a couple of places to get what you are looking for.

February 2020

Kathy from Engie North America

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Environmental Services

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2020

COINS OA

overall coins is a great system for what is needed for the companies

Pros

how it has a search feature. it is user-friendly as well

Cons

how many functions and parameters there are in the system, that can easily be changed with an upgrade or service pack

Reasons for Choosing COINS

it was decided by upper management

December 2017

Kyle from VSC Fire and Security

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Review Source


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2017

COINS is inclusive but is in a niche

Overall, it is a good product but must need to be comfortable with what you are getting along with being satisfied with the price. Each can get out of control and must essentially stay with what is out of the box.

Pros

COINS has all of the features covered in the construction market and will easily work with your operation. It is solid and scalable with a huge customer following.

Cons

Don't try to integrate anything or customize it much. Integration will be completely custom and even still will have a challenging time maintaining it. To customize, must have COINS involved to make it happen and their ongoing help to maintain it. Make sure to have a good relationship and documentation so that each of those burdens are smoother.

February 2020

Samuel from ERMCO

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 6 months


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2020

Customer Service Oriented

Since I have recently started working with COINS, I have been asking a lot of questions. And the people at COINS, Especially [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN], have been great at getting my questions answered in a fashionable manner.

Pros

The thing I like most about the software is that there is unlimited potential when designing how you want the software to work for your company.

Cons

Like most software, there is a learning curve.

February 2017

Victoria from NG Bailey

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

2.0

February 2017

Mind blowing software

I use this on a regular basis to raise requisitions, GRN and check the ledger. It is not the most easy piece of software to use. You can easily get lost in the menus and forget which buttons to press

Pros

A lot of mouse work isnt required

Cons

Not the easiest software to use. Not very intuitive and very confusing at times

January 2017

Brynne from Lansdowne Construction LLC

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 6 months


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2017

COINS

Working for a general contractor in construction, I find COINS to be a very useful tool. It is great for record keeping as well as creating custom reports - all of which are very important for project managing. The software is rather user-friendly, as long as you put in an effort to learn how to properly use it. This can be done easily via tutorials provided. The customer service is also great and I found they are eager to help when needed. COINS best use in my opinion is that it helps with managing all costs associated with the project. It gives you a good analysis of expenses, budgets, projections, etc. all of which help project managers be more efficient.

Pros

Cost Management.

Cons

Sometimes COINS can be a bit slow.

January 2020

Howard from Shaw Electric

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 12 months


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2020

Coins

Makes doing time quicker and easier for me

Pros

Easy to use, user friendly, easy to train other users

Cons

When approving time sheets, don’t need to see the warnings each time

January 2018

Ben from MMC

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source


Ease-of-use

2.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2018

Clunky and old

Pros

This program does allow you to gather a lot of information, and view it. I also really like how you can export pretty much anything to Excel. It makes viewing the data much easier, and you can sort it as you need.

Cons

It is a very clunky, and very outdated design. It is not very intuitive. You need a training calls, or three, to really get a handle on how it works. IF they updated the user interface, it would really help. It can take a long time to learn all the quirks to this program.