About BestNotes

BestNotes is an HIPAA compliant customer relationship management (CRM) and electronic health record (EHR) database system designed for the behavioral health and substance abuse industry. The software merges CRM and EHR tools into a highly effective and functional product that improves client interactions.

BestNotes is offered as a fully integrated suite that includes scheduling, patient portal, practice management, documentation, medication administration, outcome tracking, e prescribing, lab tracking, and reporting features. Documentation is designed with the behavioral health specialist in mind by helping eliminate double data entry, enabling point and click documentation and allowing users to quickly create group notes and treatment plans. 


Read More

Supported Operating System(s):

Mac OS, Web browser (OS agnostic), Windows 2000

51 Reviews of BestNotes

Average User Ratings

Overall

4.15 / 5 stars

Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.5

Functionality

4.0

Ratings Snapshot

5 stars

(18)

18

4 stars

(24)

24

3 stars

(7)

7

2 stars

(2)

2

1 stars

(0)

0

Likelihood to Recommend

Not likely

Very likely

Showing 1 - 5 of 51 results

June 2018

Dominic from Q2i

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2018

Great product!

Pros

Best product on the market! Too many other ehrs are way too expensive for what they feature! Love bestnotes!

Cons

I cant think of anything negative to say, i widh we wouldve went with bestnotes from the beginning! Thanks BN!

September 2019

James from BRC Recovery

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Mental Health Care

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2019

Excellent CRM

Overall our experience with BestNotes has been great. Their support staff is really on top of things. We are very much looking forward to what BestNotes Fresh has to bring.

Pros

I think the CRM functions of this software are fantastic. We run a multi-facility drug and alcohol treatment center and BestNotes certainly meets the needs for the varying levels of complexity that each client's chart needs based on their level of care. The note templates are highly customizable and the reporting functions have been a massive asset as tool for our chart audits.

Cons

Honestly, our biggest problems with BestNotes come from its integration with other software and the eMAR. As a CRM BestNotes functions well, but we use an integration with DrFirst for ePrescribe that disrupts some functionality within BestNotes. We also use a lab integration through HalfPenny that has been left wanting. The eMAR is nice to have, but the ability to audit and track medication changes is fairly limited at this point.

Reasons for Choosing BestNotes

Cost was a big factor in our decision. We have also had experience with BestNotes before.

October 2020

Jay from Community Behavioral Health Solutions

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2020

Superb Customer Support

The best part is that now I don't worry when I can't figure something out because the Tech Support team is so good, and friendly, and understanding - I know that we are going to figure it out together. I call frequently and I have NEVER been disappointed. In an age where customer service is becoming an oxymoron, BestNotes has restored my faith!

Pros

Overall it is pretty flexible and easy to use, and is a very good value for the price. There are some limitations, and it is not always intuitively obvious how to do certain things, but the customer support is superb, and once the support team explains how to do things, I am finding the software easier and easier to use.

Cons

Sometimes it is difficult to figure out how to do seemingly relatively simple things, such as print a document or scan/email files without technical support. Additionally, the file size constraints can be a limitation when working with government agencies who have extremely large patient files

Reasons for Choosing BestNotes

Our decision to purchase BestNotes happened before I joined the company so I am not sure what specific products were considered, but my understanding is that the decision was made due to our small size and the cost savings

Response from BestNotes

Replied October 2020

Hi Jay! Thanks for your review! I will pass on your kind words to our support team :) I'm looking forward to showing you our new version of BestNotes when it's ready. We've done a tremendous amount of work to make things simple and intuitive. The best part is that we're going to grandfather your current rate in so we won't have to pay more for the core product. Please stay tuned!

June 2019

Michelle from InnerSourced Solutions, LLC

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Mental Health Care

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

2.0

June 2019

You Get What You Pay For

I really wanted to love BestNotes but I regretted my decision straight away. Having the trial was useless because the system is cumbersome but I thought it was just me. Thus stuck with in site of my concern, hoping things would get easier/better but that never happened. Lesson learned for selecting them based on a non-clinician referral who clearly didn't know any better. BestNotes reps acknowledge that little has changed with the platform in the past 15 years (since its inception) and it shows. They insist a new product is underway although they have no information on when it will be released. Think this said to merely pacify customers. I assume they gain and keep some customers due to the low price but using the software is like stepping into a time warp. I'd rather pay more money for a modern, user friendly system that can be used across device and is truly web based rather than a low price for a grossly outdated system. This EHR needs a complete overall!

Pros

The price for this EHR is phenomenal and BestNotes has the potential to be great. I like that you can add your own customized forms. The scripted treatment plan goals are better than most as they are measurable (but BestNotes did take some short cuts by simply repeating the same goals over and over).

Cons

As many users have been indicating since 2016, BestNotes is looks like something from the 1900's. Thus the systems uses a lot of odd symbols from the 1990's (such as a floppy disk).There seems to be no consistency with font size across pages. Some of the templates have typos. Minor clients that require parental signature consent forms is ridiculously complicated. They systems uses a lot of their own made up acronyms that are confusing. Many of the videos/self help guides are outdated or otherwise irrelevant. It is clunky, grossly outdated, has an ugly interface, and is not intuitive. This system is not web based, you have to download the software application on your computer, the client portal is practically useless since clients cant self schedule or pay a bill there, and have to contract with a third party for billing thereby increasing your costs. Sadly, the staff are nice enough but can be a bit condescending if you cant quickly make sense out of the madness that is BestNotes that they have normalized.

Response from BestNotes

Replied June 2019

Thanks for your feedback Michelle. I'm sorry you had such a painful experience. Respectfully, there are a few points that I would like to clarify. First, you mentioned that documentation can be confusing and clunky. It's true that BestNotes is customizable to a fault and we've taken some significant steps to make things easier. We hired a clinical director and after 3 years of Research/Development, we've released an entire set of behavioral health and addiction treatment focused documentation (from Admission to Discharge) that considers Joint Commission, CARF, Payer and common State/County regulations. The best part is that we keep this documentation updated for you. As regulations change, so does your documentation one less thing to worry about! Unfortunately, Capterra only have gives us 1000 characters to reply to your feedback. Quickly, BestNotes is entirely web-based, includes a lot of internal billing tools and we haven't stopped developing our current version.

August 2020

Christina from Straight Walk Family Services, Inc

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Individual & Family Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2020

"Bang for your Buck"

As an outpatient therapist, this system allows is so user friendly and to have the customer support to help make forms that was already in place and not charge is a wonderful experience.

Pros

This software allows you to easily navigate the system. Easy to understand and straight forward. Your able to still use your same consumer forms instead of paper its now electronic.

Cons

When we first started we were unable to send patient forms to clients. You can't bill directly from the system. 2019 North Carolina states we had to be able to exchange information to other companies and BestNotes did not allow that feature at that time.

Reasons for Choosing BestNotes

Cost, the features that BestNotes offer is amazing and the system is easy to navigate.