My Vision Express (Eye Care Leaders) Software

3.65 / 5 (36)

About My Vision Express (Eye Care Leaders)


My Vision Express is an integrated electronic health records (EHR) and practice management solution created specifically for optometrists and opticians. The solution helps to manage charting, practice organization, optical point of sale and overall patient care.

My Vision Express offers an interactive platform to design workflows that align with a variety of practices. The built-in scheduler allows staff and physicians to schedule appointments by location, doctor or slot availability. The solution also includes billing and inventory management capabilities as well as optical point of sale to track the sales process for contact lenses, eyewear and other non-prescription products.

My Vision Express’ patient management feature helps manage patient records, categorize information, maintain prescription history and more. Physicians can securely communicate with their patients and staff via text messages, emails and voice calls.

My Vision Express works for all sizes including single-doctor office, multi-location chain or integration with hospital medical systems.



Read More

Supported Operating System(s):

Mac OS, Web browser (OS agnostic), Windows 8

36 Reviews of My Vision Express (Eye Care Leaders)

Average User Ratings

Overall

3.65 / 5 stars

Ease-of-use

3.5

Value for money

3.5

Customer support

3.5

Functionality

3.5

Ratings Snapshot

5 stars

(13)

4 stars

(8)

3 stars

(6)

2 stars

(5)

1 stars

(4)

Likelihood to Recommend

Not likely

Very likely

Filter reviews by:

Sort by: Most Helpful | Most Recent

Showing 1-20 of 36 reviews

Do you use this product?Write a review

May 2017

Mary from Mary A. Grant, O.D.

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2017

Great customer service. Great tech support. Great training. Great system. Value based.

Pros

The system does what I need it to do when I need it to do it. It's fast, efficient, precise, customizable and the tech support has been just as responsive. Unlike other EHR/EMR systems I researched, MVE worked with me on cost and let me add modules as I realized I needed them. The big companies have a set price for a set system (all or nothing out the door). I have now purchased almost every module that MVE offers and because I was allowed to experience each module separately I gained the skills and confidence to drive this system efficiently. I am just now beginning to appreciate the agility and resilience of the MVE programs. The onboarding team (your trainers) are the best in the business, as far as my staff and I are concerned. We call, they answer. I'm not giving up our trainer's name because he is the best of the best. He actually can work this system to its max and makes learning fun and simple. He remotes into our system and not only demonstrates the modules but makes us repeat the scenarios while he is logged in. He let's me show him all the damage I've done with the "customizer" button. And the best part - after hitting all the wrong buttons, deleting essential programs, and creating chaos in the name of "just because I can", the MVE team steps in and restores order and functionality; usually within a couple of hours depending on what time we call/email. MVE has the best video tutorials out there in addition to the live help.

Cons

"Gigo" garbage in - garbage out. If you don't take time and really learn how to manipulate MVE you will be dissatisfied. Thinking that you are going to buy this and it will magically read your mind will lead to big unhappiness. Like any AI (it will give back what you put in).

May 2017

Jonathan from Abba Eye Care

Company Size: 201-500 employees


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2017

Great for Customization

Even through the changes within their organization, My Vision Express and Insight Software have maintained a strong business relationship with us, an Enterprise account. As I'm the primary contact for our business relationship, I'm very grateful for our representatives and their knowledge in the software.

Pros

Very customizable, especially if you have an onsite staff member who is advanced in SQL troubleshooting. We use the local install, so we can typically troubleshoot most issues in-house. Whenever we come across a feature that's not available to be customized, we will contact our Enterprise rep to submit the enhancement request. Great working relationship between our organizations too.

Cons

Granted, MVE has many training resources available to our company before anyone here knew what MVE is. Once we started to mold our processes to reflect our internal policies, we got to work with our rep to make changes to our processes, but there are many items that cannot be hidden (in the customizer) from our end-users. This presents the need for a lot of in-depth training that takes time and money.

May 2017

Gerry from Doctors Eyecare

Company Size: 11-50 employees


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2017

Great Full Set of Features, Powerful communication tools for patient contact (text, call, email) but less than ideal support.

Certain support people are really good, training videos very good, but some support needs to be improved badly. The thing is, read the reviews and most company's support is pretty awful.

Pros

Can run in the cloud or run on your own server. What we do is run our own cloud and use Remote Desktop to access the program on our own MS Server. This is tremendous and powerfully flexible option that few PMS systems allow. The inventory is great, the reports are fine. Overall more good than bad. Great integration with all pre-test instruments.

Cons

The time to open the scheduler is frustrating!!!!!! This is the weakest point. I also wish the product was written on the Postgre SQL or the MYSQL database. as the MS-SQL they use is only OK. Also the hidden cost of it (free till 10,000 records I think) and the speed of it leaves something to be desired.

May 2017

Alisha from Blink Eyewear

Company Size: 11-50 employees


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2017

Easy to use with many great features

Easy and clean program to work with. Easy for new staff to learn. They are always improving their features. Overall very good. I heavily researched all the programs available and this was bar far the best.

Pros

Orders module makes it easy to place orders.
Exam module is quick to navigate and flows well through out an exam.
Support is normally good at getting back to you. Easier if you use their Live Chat feature.
Love the time clock feature for staff to clock in and out.
Messages module works well to leave notes for other staff/doctors (but it isn't an instant messenger system)

Cons

Reporting Portal - loads slowly. Would like better metrics reporting such as gross revenue per patient etc (metrics from the Management & Business Academy report).

Calendar takes a long time to load, but when loaded, it works fine. Calendar only shows 5 doctors at a time, have to use the drop down menu to show the other doctors each time you open the calendar. (We have up to 7 or 8 schedules that we need to see simultaneously).

May 2017

Steven from Eye Care Center of Ocala

Company Size: 11-50 employees


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2017

Best EMR for eye care

I bought this software in 2009 and have never considered changing.

Pros

Easy to customize, they are always pro-active about updating the software, there's a lot of functionality and integration with equipment. Compared to other optometry EMRs this is by far the easiest to use.

Cons

It used to be hard to get a hold of technical support but it's a lot better now. I think they hired a lot of new support people. Also the support is local.

February 2018

Lesley from Regina J. Elkins, OD, LLC

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source


Ease-of-use

2.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

2.0

February 2018

Manager

Pros

It will work most of the time as a practice management software. I say most of the time, because sometimes that does not work, and payments and social security numbers are lost.

Cons

This software is a terrible electronic healthcare software. Every year we have tried to attest to meaningful use (now MIPS) and the software does not work. For example, for 2017's reporting period, we were told at the beginning of 2017 we would be able to report clinical quality measures through a registry. Then, in the last quarter of 2017, we were told to use the MyVisionExpress' CQM report. We spent hours and hours trying to get our report to generate numbers. MVE staff tied up our server for hours trying to fix errors. Then in January 2018 we were told we have to submit CQM's via claims during 2017. This is the way it has been every year. We want to avoid a negative payment adjustment from Medicare, but MyVisionExpress is not capable of staying up-to-date on Medicare's requirements.

November 2018

Tonya from Moran Eye Center

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Review Source


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

3.0

November 2018

Continue to struggle with getting support in a timely manner

I would NOT recommend this product simply due to the lack of support when issues arise. We input HIGH priority tickets and don't hear anything back for weeks or months. The turnover in staff causes their support to be inexperienced because they are still so new and being trained.

Pros

The program has many great features, and possibilities. Integration with Frames Data is quite helpful.

Cons

Anytime a new version is released, it breaks other features and we cannot get timely support to get our issues fixed.
When we need a feature fixed or added, it takes months to resolve, if it ever gets resolved.
We are being told there is no one to help us set up new reports or train us on the Reporting Tool, as all of their staff that built the program have left the company.
We have not been able to get the requested information to integrate with Epic, despite multiple requests over 12+ months.

April 2018

Melissa from St Croix Vision Center

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

April 2018

My Vision Express is a great software

Pros

I only used this particular software at my old clinic and it was great. Very easy to use and a cost effective choice for our small business.

Cons

At the time of using My Vision Express I didn't really have any complaints, until I started at my new clinic and we were using another software. There were many features available with the new software that My Vision Express did not offer.

October 2018

Ryan from Luxury Eyesight LLC

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source


Ease-of-use

1.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

1.0

October 2018

MVE is NOT for Mac Users

Pros

In theory it seems to be easier to use than most other vision software programs. Customer Support is mostly there.

Cons

If you are a Mac user than it sucks. I do not know why they would not make this compatible with Apple computers, who is still using a PC?! If you are adamant about using a Mac than Parallels (Boot Camp) is a must as it will allow you to switch between Mac and Microsoft instead of using the Microsoft Remote Desktop App. This Remote Desktop is constantly lagging and crashing. If you are using a Mac and you want to do an eye exams quickly or checking someone out efficiently than this probably isn't for you. If MVE would make a Mac version by someone other than a doctor rather someone who knows user friendly capabilities than you wouldn't hear a peep out of me. Customer Support is there but they take a very long time to fix anything.

April 2019

Melissa from St Croix Vision Center

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality