User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.0 / 5

Value for Money

4.0 / 5

Customer Support

4.5 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(63)

63

4 stars

(35)

35

3 stars

(3)

3

2 stars

(1)

1

1 stars

(0)

0

  • Pros

  • "The dashboards are very clear, it helps us to look for errors in our apis easily. Apart from that, it is great that you can create custom dashboards"

  • "The implementation is easy. Let you know in real time if your server is down or is failing. The best tool I found. It's always sending mails when the server fails in any way."

  • "Great web monitoring tool if you have the time to dig into all the options and settings. The user interface is really professional and good looking and the charts and graphs are well thought out."

  • Cons

  • "The usability could be improved in some areas, the custom dashboard features are powerful but the syntax can be hard to work with."

  • "Datadog is not very easy to use at the beginning and it needs a little bit of investigation but it is worth to learn it."

  • "The User interface generally is good but in some instances can be a bit too technical to use."

Browse Datadog Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - 0 of 102 results

September 2019

Mauricio from Thirdlove

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Retail

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

Great platform for logs analysis and cloud monitoring

Choosing to use Datadog made my work so much easier to accomplish. The logs analysis is one of the best thing that I can have in order to monitor my projects performance and health. This tool performs well and it is really useful. Real time logging works well. Definitely a must have.

Pros

I think that the best features that Datadog has is that you can track and follow logs in real time, something really important to have if your project is live. I like the idea of creating custom views of sets of logs (with custom filters, data parsing and a lot more) and that you can share them with your team.

Cons

It is a bit complicated to set for the first time. Is not quite easy to use or know at first about all the available features that Datadog has. Interface is tricky and can be a blocker sometimes. Following that, if your fields are not mapped in the right way, filters are not that useful.

August 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2019

Analytics tool which helps customers and users always get the product you want them to get

Overall, having Datadog monitor our apps' performance and customers/users' pain points is invaluable. It's an amazing tool which lets us identify bottlenecks and better serve our users. Although the initial learning curve of utilizing Datadog's plethora of data analytics tools is steep, it's well worth the effort and price as there is much value to the metrics Datadog provides.

Pros

Datadog is probably one of the most notable analytics tool out there for large companies. It's easy to track users' flow in terms of what routes they're hitting, when they hit a snag and 404, or other metrics like how performant certain requests are which allows us to identify bottlenecks and get rid of them immediately.

Cons

There is a steep learning curve I will say with this software and needs an expert to help lead tutorials or sessions to get the ball rolling with new tool users. Although there are many built in functionalities and easily customizable features, it can be overwhelming and hard to pinpoint exactly what type of analytics you're looking for. It's one of those softwares where you have to play around with it to get the stars to align and find a model or metric that works best for your customers and use cases.

Reasons for Choosing Datadog

Datadog seemed to be more data intensive and specifically geared towards products like ours which really relied on app throughput, performance, and availability. Getting our product straight to the user, in a quick and efficient manner, is our priority and Datadog helps clear any blockers or issues that gets in the way of that.

September 2017

Dmitry from Trucker Pat

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

2.0

September 2017

It looks very sleek but default integrations won't show you much, so a lot of customization needed.

It allowed us to jumpstart our monitoring. But in the end we had to switch to a different SaaS provider, even though it costs little bit more, and it's not so well known and widely marketized.

Pros

I liked it very much. So nice to have that event stream and subscriptions. And it's very easy to share your findings with colleagues.

Cons

Default setup is just empty. These plugins they list as available will give you only so very basic info, that it's totally worthless. We had to write our own plugins for each and every service and part of our system. And the support team ignored my questions regarding future improvements in Kubernetes plugin.

September 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2020

A robust, but complicated tool.

We primarily use DataDog as a monitoring and communication tool. Alerts are sent out daily to a wide variety of users and non-users to keep them up to date on what is happening, when it happened and when it was recovered.

Pros

It has a great UI feature. It offers a variety of integrations with other third party software. Communication e-mail reports are valuable, even to non-users of the tool.

Cons

It can get very expensive to use and can be extremely complicated to use. There is a steep learning curve to try to get users up to speed with the needed functionality of the tool.

October 2019

Ankush from zendesk

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

Datadog Review

Overall it's great monitoring/visualizing tool for any organization and I'd recommend, it would have been great if it had great learning resources to explore it more.

Pros

- The filter functionality is great which lets you filter out errors for quick analysis, can easily create custom dashboards. - Great Visualizations, easy to set up dashboards/monitors with options do maths like ratios, rates, average, interval. - It can be easily integrated with other apps like Slack to set alerts for failed jobs. -

Cons

- A slow learning curve, lack of resources on how to get useful functionality from UI or APIs. - UI sometimes be bit slower although not bad if you've integrated with multiple external apps.

January 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2020

Great for working with AWS

We have been using DataDog to monitor our lambda logs for errors as well as keep track of load and uptime on various RDS and EC2/Fargate instances. The multiple account setup can be a bit flakey at times but overall the product works well and has a consistent interface

Pros

The log imports from AWS work really well and are much faster at searching than using AWS Cloudwatch. I find it easy day to day to search for items in logs, especially after implementing a few log transformers

Cons

initial setup gets a bit confusing sometimes, and it was easier to change the logging format of our code than to implement lots of parsers to make the log interpretation better

Reasons for Choosing Datadog

better / easier integration with our current development stack

March 2020

Satbyul from Goodlugg

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2020

Clear graphs and easy to set up

Used the open URL to add dashboard to a large monitor on our workspace to easily spot spikes.

Pros

Really simple set up to monitor our full stack environment. Dashboard is very clear and suitable for both technical and non-technical stakeholders.

Cons

Nothing really. Migrating to any product can be challenging but setup was pretty simple and no key functionality absent.

August 2019

Rayla from Iowa State University

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Functionality

3.0

August 2019

I was hoping this would be a Splunk alternative

Pros

Datadog is useful for visualizing and monitoring your cloud applications. If you have agents on you devices, it can analyze a ton of information coming in and show it to you, but that's where it ends, at least, as far as I could figure out in my free trial.

Cons

I was very hopeful of this software, but I didn't want to throw agents from a product I've never used before on my servers and instances, so I tried to upload a data pull ( about 500,000 log entries) to Datadog, to see what it could do, but there's no way to upload a csv/txt file to the software. It has to be via agents on your services. I know that metadata would be missing from a csv, but it seems like a major oversight to not be able to accept a csv of logs for a new user to experiment at low risk.

Reasons for Choosing Datadog

My company decided to stay with Splunk and not switch to Datadog. It has a lot more capabilities.

April 2020

M. Serhat from Babbel

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: E-Learning

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2020

Monitoring with great detail

I have been using Datadog for 1 year now and I am quite happy with the product. I both used and implemented this product for low-traffic open-source projects and high-traffic enterprise projects. For both scenarios, my experience was quite positive.

Pros

Rich features, well-documented functionality, easy to use UI, being able to create custom dashboards that can integrate with hundreds of tools.

Cons

Custom dashboard creation is a little bit tricky. There is a learning curve for building your dashboard in the beginning, but after spending a day or two - you can create dashboards as you always imagined.

September 2020

Hassan from iCompaas llc

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer & Network Security

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2020

All in One Cloud Security Solution

It's really helpful to monitor your development and production environment under one platform provided you know how to configure it effectively.

Pros

The vast no of integration you can do with your cloud, whether its AWS Azure or Google, is phenomenal. The pre installed dashboards really help to set it up quickly. The notebook feature is quite useful too, if you are not ready to spend much on dashboards. Overall, nice all in one solution to capture logs from cloud and analyze them.

Cons

The metric creation process is not very easy. If you want to create metrics from logs, it gets more complicated.

May 2019

Caroline from Sage

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

Powerful tool for monitoring business applications

Datadog has been really efficient and useful since through its implementation you can monitor all business applications and thus be aware of its operation whether the same is appropriate or not and if not, you can take the appropriate measures so that the same is again the appropriate performance, that is why having this tool is a great advantage at the business level.

Pros

Datadog is a tool that I like for several reasons, because implementing it does not require technical knowledge, has a series of metrics that allow you to read whether the performance of applications or servers is appropriate or not, so if you find a failure or something out of the ordinary in these applications the user immediately receives alerts that notify him of this problem so that it can be resolved in the shortest possible time, these alerts being received at any time since Datadog works continuously 24/7 and the best thing is that it is a software that is very easy to use and implement, in addition to being extremely flexible because it allows you to choose the monitoring parameters that you want to apply.

Cons

Datadog is not a perfect tool because it has some drawbacks and is that the more applications are integrated with this software the performance or speed of information delivery tends to slow down which should not be since the integrations are to improve even more the performance of said tool.

January 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2018

Great service for monitoring

Pros

Datadog provides a way of having a lot of information about your systems, clusters and infrastructure in only one site, being able to analyze valuable data for your company. It is possible to create alarms and notifications when overpassing some threshold or value, for example, when a service is down in your systems of when the CPU gets a high percentage of usage. It integrates pretty well with tons of services and systems, such as Amazon Web Services, Apache, Nginx, several databases, and a long etcetera. Also, it is possible to send notifications to apps like Slack or Hipchat.

Cons

Datadog is not very easy to use at the beginning and it needs a little bit of investigation but it is worth to learn it.

June 2018

Jahiezer from Apok, C.A.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2018

one of the best software for monitoring in the market

Pros

This software allows to monitoring all you need and also can find lots of solutions for a high gama of cases. by using this app i be able to see the problems that me and my team have, so we can solve it by utilizing all the data that datadog provides. Works in differents OS and that make things more easy

Cons

The proces to instal and put in march this softwre can be a nightmare if you have not experience, it is really complicated. Though the software have nice tools, the price is not the best in the market, is posible to find something good for lowes price if you know what are you loking for. And finally haved some problem with some data transfer working with this app but i really dont konw what was the razon why

May 2019

Neyda Jose from Paxata

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2019

Powerful tool for the analysis and monitoring of applications

Datadog is a very useful tool because it is known if the applications, servers or hots are working as they should or if not, we will be aware to prevent further damage solving the problem in the shortest time possible.

Pros

This tool called Datadog I love mainly because it is really efficient and very useful because it allows through it you can carry out a monitoring of the performance of applications in a very simple way, being this through the reading of metrics that are really simple to understand and issue very detailed information that is useful to diagnose the cause and thus be able to solve the problem in the shortest time possible, also is available 24/7 so in case of any fault send immediately a mail informing the same and the best thing is that it has a clean interface, intuitive and easy to use without having technical knowledge to manage it.

Cons

One of its drawbacks is that when it is integrated with a large number of tools it can become heavy, which causes the information to be slowed down.

February 2019

Diego from Ascendant Compliance Management

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Investment Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2019

Great server monitoring

They monitor everything we run at our company and we recently moved logging to them too. Very happy with support, had to ask them several questions over the years and they always know what I'm looking for.

Pros

The metrics navigator, you start by picking a metric or server, and it then tells you all the information it is collecting from it, so you can start designing your monitoring dashboards and see the data that will appear as you go

Cons

There are times where a chart would omit certain spikes, due to the way they aggregate values. But a quick email to support and they'll give you the settings you need to adjust not to miss such events, even when you look at a chart for the month

June 2019

Damian from Virtkick

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2019

DataDog is one of our must-haves

Pros

It's got everything that's needed for infrastructure and application monitoring and alerting. It also fits extremely well into our Infrastructure-as-Code paradigm where everything we set up is kept in a git repository as a Terraform project. DataDog is what we recommend and implement for our clients, and provides more useful features than Sensu.

Cons

Metrics and monitors don't render correctly on mobile phones. It's totally unusable in portrait mode, and barely usable in landscape mode.

May 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2019

Monitor full stack app performance with Datadog

Pros

For our AWS deployment, we use Datadog for application performance and server monitoring as well as synthetic HTTP tests . DataDog enables real-time information and measuring engineering-specific metrics and allows you to control how you trace and diagnose data. If you are looking to track the time it takes for a web hook to fire after an asynchronous request has been made, you can store the time the request has been sent in your database and when the webhook fires for that request, measure the delta and send it to DataDog. DataDog integrates with Slack, which allows for alerts on average and max thresholds.

Cons

Datadog has a mature product but features are limited, the tool feels dated and the UI is very plain.

March 2019

Kevin from SpringAhead

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Internet

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2019

Great metrics and monitoring

Overall Datadog has given us great insight into what is going on with our server infrastructure, it has opened our eyes to some issues we weren't aware of. On top of that it's helped send alerts when things are going wrong.

Pros

Datadog has integrations with pretty much every main software service you can think of. It has pretty robust support for Windows machines and the custom metrics support is great, so you can track anything you'd like.

Cons

The usability could be improved in some areas, the custom dashboard features are powerful but the syntax can be hard to work with.

December 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

Datadog Sniffs Out Problems Fast

Datadog is an amazing cloud monitoring solution that provides great insight and alerting for our platform.

Pros

Datadog provides a great, easy-to-use and extensible interface for displaying data out of your own systems, providing you the insight to sniff out issues as they arise.

Cons

No matter how many integrations Datadog builds in, there will always be gaps, and some of those gaps hit our needs. As such, we need to use several monitoring solutions to cover our whole platform.

April 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2019

Many integration options and plethora of dashboards and visualizations

Dependable and reliable solution.

Pros

Configuring monitoring tools is not always trivial, half of the battle is making sure metrics are flowing. Datadog is very flexible when it comes to sending metrics to their cloud. You can use collectD, statsd, file beats, or the 84523982 other options. Our orchestration software already had an option to enable Datadog collection. Once the data is in place, you need to figure out what metrics are relevant. Datadog has a number of pre-built dashboards tweaked for popular software systems. If you are using something homegrown, they can provide recommendations and optimizations after enough data has been ingested. API and documentation are top notch and we were able to build integrations quite easily.

Cons

Datadog is purely cloud-based system so there's no on-prem option, only SaaS. Depending on your company, this may be a deal-breaker since all of your metrics data is hosted in the cloud. Since it's a SaaS based service, it won't be easy to move data to another service. Occasionally web UI will bog down but it's fairly performant for the most part.

January 2020

Ciprian from 4Property

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2020

Great web monitoring tool

Pros

Great web monitoring tool if you have the time to dig into all the options and settings. The user interface is really professional and good looking and the charts and graphs are well thought out.

Cons

It requires a bit of server tinkering, which I wasn't familiar with. Not really a minus.

February 2017

Kevin from SpringAhead

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Accounting

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2017

Great view of our server environment

Datadog has great support for a variety of different third party systems - Windows machines, linux machines, AWS instances, pretty much anything you can imagine. You can easily slice and dice stats on a good looking dashboard. Provides a good one stop view of your environment.

Pros

Datadog's Windows support is great, the Windows agent supports detailed IIS and MSSQL statistics. Their RabbitMQ support is good as well - providing good insight into queues. Customizable dashboards are very handy as well.

Cons

The User interface generally is good but in some instances can be a bit too technical to use.

October 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2019

Next-Gen Cloud Monitoring solution

Excellent cloud monitoring solution which gives good visibility across multiple cloud applications.

Pros

Feature-rich cloud monitoring solution which works across multiple cloud providers (AWS, Azure, etc)

Cons

It takes a bit of time to get familiar with the admin portal user interface.

February 2018

Ravikiran from SHARP Software Development India

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2018

Best monitoring cloud service available in the market

Easy to monitor and easy to share with notebook feature Watch the statistics from virtually anywhere

Pros

Easy to monitor and get analytics We can monitor inside any stack, any app, at any scale, anywhere Supports multiple dashboards Notebooks help you to share the data

Cons

More options some time confuses Help documentation needs improvement Some times dashboards are very complex to understand

October 2017

Vince from IPI

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2017

Datadog Cloud Monitoring Review

Pros

I noticed that this monitoring system is very flexible, you can track pretty much any metric, which is great. Great integration with many services like AWS, Chef, Couchbase, JVM, HAProxy, MySQL etc. Dashboard functionality is easy. Comes with UI, UI is simply designed but supports all the key functionalities that you would expect from a counter services, and to be able to create dashboard based on counters.

Cons

Noticed that the more data you have, the slower response Datadog service will become, when you query the service. Query a specific counter, as well as when the counter contains high dimensional data, which is normal, we haven't yet tested what is the upper limit for how much data it can decently handle. But we have been very satisfied using Datadog, and we feel that it should be enough for small to mid size company.

February 2018

Denis from DBI

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2018

Datadog as Perfect monitoring tool.

Pros

Perfect monitoring tool. You can monitor your infrastructure as on premise as in the cloud by monitoring performance counters of different applications and collecting information from logs. You can monitor your infrastructure as in real time mode or just receiving alerts for example to email. It allows you to use different ready solutions with predefined logic for to monitor even different software such as: SQL Server, MySQL and so on. It can be integrated with different products such as slack, where you can receive different alerts and where slacks bot can perform setuped actions. You can create different dashboards for your convenience.

Cons

No suitable for all cloud services, for example if you're going to monitor your infrastructure in Azure it would be better to use Azure's Log Analytics. This solution is not for non-experienced users and required time to learn it . Features used in free price tiers very limited for example no alert capabilities.

September 2019

Javier from Facebook

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2019

Best Monitoring Tool Out There - We Couldn't Survive Without It

Overall it underpins our day-to-day work and acts as a dashboard to keep our performance on track and the site up and running.

Pros

The visibility is great and it allows us to keep a close eye on the performance of our infrastructure - we know in real time when something changes of is starting to slow down. We can track users or cohorts of users and identify any issues right away. We can also group those issues and track metrics over time to ensure that we are improving our metrics as a team.

Cons

It can take a while to figure out and because it holds a lot of data, the costs can add fairly quickly.

December 2018

Jessica from Instructure

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2018

Helpful monitoring tool

I'm not a DevOps engineer by any means; just a member of a customer support organization. However, I use Datadog to quickly check in on reports of downtime or slow page loads from our customers, and can quickly gather the information I need to confirm those reports, to see if any issues are still occurring that need a quick resolution.

Pros

Datadog is very helpful in reviewing the status of apps and servers for our system. It's easy to see how things are doing at a glance, reviewing when an issue started/ended, etc.

Cons

The software isn't intuitive to the newest user, unless they are familiar with with the setup and maintenance of cloud frameworks; but that's not important, as it's meant for those users in the first place. It's quick enough to learn for your own purposes if you're only there to see the current status at a glance.

May 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2018

One of the default server monitor tools in my list.

Pros

The best about datadog is the simplicity. Ranging from the dashboard to the addons everything is done smoothly and in a proper manner. The pricing is very fair and the free tier allows many to explore it's possibilities.

Cons

The dashboard could expand a bit more, also the ping are quite inconsistent. I have tested them together with other services and datadog throws more false negatives than other tools.

February 2018

Joaquín from Meli

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2018

Very good experience

Pros

The dashboards are very clear, it helps us to look for errors in our apis easily. Apart from that, it is great that you can create custom dashboards

Cons

Somethings, when you have a lot of apps is very difficult to find the dashboard that you really want.

October 2017

Kumara from Sharp Software Development India Pvt Ltd

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2017

Datadog is the perfect choice to monitor the performance of a cloud-based application

Pros

t integrates so well with Amazon Web Services and all sorts of software, it's very easy to set up and get started quickly I had Datadog monitoring everything in the infrastructure. Datadog's Windows support is great, the Windows agent supports detailed IIS and MSSQL statistics

Cons

Metric types take time to understand Sometimes it is very difficult to understand the graph report and it is bit technical to use The various metric types require a little bit of reading and understanding. You'll need to choose the appropriate type when submitting data, or else it'll be tough to make sense of it later.

March 2018

Daniel from UTEL Universidad

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2018

Using for monitoring multiple servers health

Let me know every time when my server is down. Great monitoring tool.

Pros

The implementation is easy. Let you know in real time if your server is down or is failing. The best tool I found. It's always sending mails when the server fails in any way.

Cons

Should have mobile app or mobile notifications. If you are not in the programming field you should get someone. The code is easy to implement but if you don't know the right place to call at the right function (assuming you have datadog code on a lib of your system) you wont get the data you need or in the way you need it.

March 2018

Tracey from Professional Freelancer Available For Remote, Contract, Part-Time Or Other Opportunities

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2018

Easy to get going and sorted and set up. Consistent and reliable software package

Pros

At the initial install of the trial I loved it. Its all we required in an app of this nature with a sys monitoring system and an API. Made life a lot simpler for the business needing this software I was advising. They are very happy with it and continue to use it now.

Cons

No real cons that spring to mind. A great product. I would recommend starting with a list of what you need from software, then what you would like then a nice to have list. See how many ticks this software gets. Compare it to at least two pieces of other software of the same nature before making your final decision. This is what I recommend for any piece of software. Also, check out their own forms of customer support, and social media sites to see what other customers have had to say about the software.

February 2018

Filip from Castle Intelligence

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2018

Essential tool for infrastructure and application monitoring

Pros

Datadog is one of my favorite tools in every day work. Some of my favorites include: - great API, - very flexible and informative dashboards, - great integrations with various providers and application, which greatly improve visibility, - a lot of libraries (eg. ruby-kafka) which integrate with Datadog, - easy to deploy in numerous ways, ie. Kubernetes, ECS, Ansible.

May 2020

Samantha from Shopify

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2020

Incredible program

Overall experience is awesome! Would absolutely recommend this to other professionals.

Pros

I use DataDog a ton throughout my day to monitor customer service queues and it’s amazing. Would not be able to do my job the same without the real time info and insights it offers.

Cons

So far nothing! I’ve thoroughly enjoyed using the software and have not experienced any significant issues.

January 2019

Andrey from AtoS IT Sokutions and Services

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2019

Not bad solution for monitoring dynamic environmets in DevOps projects

Can be useful in dynamically changing environments, for example cloud deployments with CI\CD pipelines

Pros

Lots of pre-configured solution for different aspects of infrastructure and applications. Rich reporting capabilities

Cons

A bit too expansive for log analitics and basic monitoring solution. Creation of your own solutions is possible but very hard to learn for new users

February 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2018

An excellent monitoring service packed with features at a very affordable price

Pros

The integration is fantastic, allowing me to see what's going on at a high level. It's extremely nice to be able to tap into their API from anywhere & install their agent on any server. Along with all that one great feature is to prevent unexpected bills from pulling too many instances, saving me a ton of money.

Cons

Moving graphs can be difficult due to space when you try to move them horizontally but vertically is fine. Pulling in graphs, while simple, can still be difficult to use when resizing & color coordinating, but it's minor.

February 2018

Nidhi from Ooyala

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

February 2018

Best tool for monitoring

Pros

Along with monitoring , it provides great alerting. It can easily be integrated with slack or Pagerduty. Gives detailed log of events. Provides easily understandable graphs .

Cons

It takes little time to understand how to set up things with datadog. It's not every intuitive. It takes a bit of understanding to be able to configure the alerts.

November 2017

harmandeep singh from New York University

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2017

Smart tool for cloud monitoring

Pros

Extremely easy to get up and running A great system monitoring tool, which syncs up with AWS Good notifications, metric collector mechanism Mute all alerts with 1 click during upgrades and maintenance

Cons

It only integrates with AWS in public cloud platforms Not very mobile friendly A little pricey for log analysis

May 2020

Ken from H2

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2020

Simplified Cloud Monitoring for all environments

Excellent solutions for our infrastructure with the opportunity to add more features in the future.

Pros

Super simple to set up the metrics pipeline. Install the respective agent (manually or automation), configure integrations, and away we go. Datadog comes with a plethora of dashboards, integrations, alerting, and many more. There is a rich API which allows you to easily access your data for true day 2 operations. Documentation is well written and complete for the most part. Datadog also offers many additional features such as APM, log management, security monitoring, etc. You can try out the product for free as there are free tiers available.

Cons

Only available in the cloud, if you are in an air gapped situation, you are out of luck. Pricing can get confusing as there are multiple tiers per feature set.

January 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2018

I very useful app to get realtime metrics

Pros

- very simple to send metrics - great dashboards to display info - easier to create monitors - we can summarize al monitors and composite too - Simple to integrate with other apps

Cons

- Not have rate limiter to control some bad metrics - Not have a mobile app, in some case can be faster to get some alerts

April 2018

Sachin from Wayfair

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2018

Pretty easy to deal with and the best in the market

Pros

The setup of this tool is pretty much given and hassle free. The best thing i chose it for my company is that it syncs up with cloud (Azure, AWS, Google) easily and the graphs and the metrics display are applaudable.

Cons

Compatibility with the mobile platform is what i am looking for next in the line, hopefully they do that. And security is also a big question mark. And if the prices come down a bit, that will be a huge plus for them.

August 2019

Luis Miguel from Ooyala

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2019

Datadog is a great tool to monitor your systems.

I used Data Dog as a QA engineer to monitor the health of the system on a daily basis.

Pros

* User-friendly UI. * chart gives meaningful information. * It has real-time metrics.

Cons

* It is a great tool, it takes some technical skills to understand and configure the tool.

January 2019

Gaurav from WebEngage

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

One of the great tool to maintain your infra

have made our infra management easy.

Pros

Datadog is very good for monitoring the applications and the host infrastructure. We have used it for lots of purpose for maintaining the infra like maintaining the kafka servers where we can plug this and can easily see the performance of kafka, it's offset value for different different consumers and lot more. Apart from this, we can also see the application performance with this.

Cons

Only one negative to say, it is difficult to start with this, writing the query to fetch the details and to do analysis is not easy. You need to learn it.

April 2018

Derrick from Alphapod

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2018

Great tool for SaaS Monitoring

Pros

Reliable, easy to integrate, supports all important types of monitors and events, fast UI. You can easily setup your dashboard for important metrics.

Cons

Learning Curve is a high. Overwhelming amount of information to search through in order to start using the product.

September 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2018

Great title for monitoring tool

Pros

First of all I like the Name of this software and its Logo! So cute! Besides that this is a great monitoring tool. It is cloud based solution, it keeps present and historical data, so you can analyze if there are some problems or logs in your system and then fix them. Datadog integrates very well into other systems.

Cons

You must be a bit experienced user to install and configurate this software. It is not so easy to build your own solutions if you need. You have to contact customer support too often during first steps, aithough contact center is good and helpful.

July 2014

Eric from SimpleReach

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Internet

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: GetApp


July 2014

Monitoring Made Simple

After setting up Datadog, the value was immediately apparent. The instrumentation provided out of the box changed hours of troubleshooting to find the source of a problem in to minutes. While it used to take days or weeks to set up instrumentation, Datadog provides tools that make setup and installation simple. We use Chef at SimpleReach and in about 10 minutes, I had Datadog monitoring everything in the infrastructure. Spent a few minutes creating alerts for application metrics and turned what used to be a few weeks of work into a few hours. Coming from a systems administration background, I can't say enough good things about Datadog.

Pros

Easy setup. Wide range of integrations with common applications. Easy to create custom graphs and metrics on the fly.

Cons

If you don't already have your applications instrumented with statsd, then it can a little catching up. Also, their default set of metrics limits you to 100 metrics per server (which can be changed easily).

October 2017

ramesh from Sharp Software

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2017

Datadog is the perfect choice to monitor about the performance of a cloud based application

Pros

1. The metrics for RDS CPU monitoring is very useful 2. Easy to check the graph during sometime with Show option

Cons

1. Metric types takes time to understand 2. Sometimes it is very difficult to understand the graph report and it is bit technical to use

April 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2020

Great Data Monitoring and Visualization

Overall, very easy to get set up and begin monitoring data. we realized immediate returns after being able to identify problem areas and potential bottlenecks.

Pros

The ability to filter and monitor data is definitely the highlight for me. The easy to setup dashboards as well as the built-in options are a huge plus. Integrations and monitoring/alerting options are also worth taking advantage of.

Cons

There's not much that I can complain about so far. There is a bit of a learning curve in understanding the toolset because there are lots of features to take advantage of.

November 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2018

Powerful monitoring and analytics platform

Pros

There are lots of integrations especially for AWS product but also with the server agent you can get insights to metrics from the whole stack. Also the custom metric reporting is very easy to do with their SDK.

Cons

The cost can become a cause for concern if you are not careful with what data you send to Datadog. However there are lots of tools to keep an eye it.

Displaying 1 - 50 of 102 reviews