User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

3.5 / 5

Value for Money

3.0 / 5

Customer Support

3.0 / 5

Functionality

3.0 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(9)

9

4 stars

(5)

5

3 stars

(5)

5

2 stars

(3)

3

1 stars

(7)

7

  • Pros

  • "The product is Easy to use, easy to set up, it has modifier groups, and it has a good detailed daily reports"

  • "It is very easy to set up a customer in the system. It is also very easy to find them. I also like that when I pull up a customer I can see what they owe us with out having to search."

  • "I like that it collects information about our attendance and makes it really easy to run reports so that we can find out how many people visited a certain exhibit"

  • Cons

  • "The system works way too​ slow sometimes. Touch screen is not responsive enough. It has missing functions."

  • "Probably the fact that it costs money. I guess I can't get it free, but it sure doesn't hurt to wish!"

  • "-Not Supported on Android / iOS / Mac OS -Requires Intermediate windows knowledge for setup. -Does not have the best cloud integration."

Browse Cash Register Express Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - -21 of 29 results

August 2018

Kyle from POS Nation

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Retail

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2018

Cash Register Express from a 20 Year Reseller

We've been selling this software (and many others) to cater to our retail clients and it is by far my favorite. If you have a retail business, and you don't want to ever question the capabilities of your POS software while also having the peace of mind that you're not over paying, pcAmerica's Cash Register Express (CRE) is everything you need. We offer a free buyers guide that will compare this software against many others, feel free to visit our website at any time so we can give you a tour!

Pros

-Easy to Use -Feature for Everything -Best Value (Other companies charge more for same features) -Supports Multiple Stores -Supports MANY Payment Processors -Supports Excel Import -Supports Hardware from all Industries (Under the counter scanner scales (as seen in grocery stores), Coin Dispensers, Caller ID, etc.)

Cons

-Not Supported on Android / iOS / Mac OS -Requires Intermediate windows knowledge for setup. -Does not have the best cloud integration.

February 2017

Melissa from Heritage Payment Solutions

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Retail

Time Used: Less than 2 years


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2017

Perfect for Liquor Stores

Pros

Cash register express has over 75 different reports that are available to view or print. This software is compatible with a large variety of credit card processors and equipment options to ensure compliant and secure processing. Great added feature such as card swipes for employee login, handheld scanner for efficient inventory management, scheduling features for your staff and plenty other funtions that will help reduce labor hours spent on payroll, consolidation and employee hours.

Cons

Cash register express has amazing functionality, but that can come at a high price. This is a PC based software solution, so depending on the size of your business or the number of pos stations needed, the initial cost may be significant. Some features such as 24/7 customer support and customized reports come at an extra charge as well. Since this software is so detailed, some functions such as inventory can become cumbersome and involve significant time to setup.

February 2017

Peter from The High Country Market

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Supermarkets

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

3.0

February 2017

Upgrades and

After conducting a lot of research, we decided to go with PC America Cash Register Express (CRE) when we opened our small grocery store in 2013. Set-up was easy the tech-support folks from POS Nation. We ran with a server, 2 touch screens, card swipe and pin pads, one scale, thermal printers, USB and Bluetooth scanners, and a customer display pole. Everything was fine for the first 2 years until we started getting software upgrades. We were advised to upgrade our pin-pad to the new standards. Waited until the end of the tourist season to upgrade, and then things went to hell in a hand-basket. Credit cards would not work... EBT cards failed... and our Loyalty Program has been dead for nearly 6 months with no fix in sight. I'm not sure what happened with PCA after they were acquired by Heartland, but it has been one disaster after another. Our Purchase Order screen was jacked-up for months on end. Eaches and Cases did not compute correctly. They supposedly fixed that with the last upgrade, but now our margins are screwed-up. I have no way of accurately knowing what our margin is now because our "cost averaging" is incorrect. Of course, this affects profit reports, tax reports, and the list goes on and on. This is typical PC software. It functions with many bugs and is NOT very intuitive. There is no rhyme or reason to the menus, and burrowing down just leads to dead-ends.

Pros

The software is stable in the sense that it has only crashed 2 - 3 times over the course of 4 years.

Cons

See above... Menus are NOT user-friendly. Upgrades are obviously NOT tested. Incompatible with many peripherals, and they try to force you into their hardware, which in turn forces you to their payment processor. Tech support is lacking since I purchased from a hardware provider, and PCA forces me to go through the middle-man.

October 2019

Deborah from Regina Farms

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Retail

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2019

Program and billing

I have learned to work with the little hiccups that I have come across using the program.

Pros

It is very easy to set up a customer in the system. It is also very easy to find them. I also like that when I pull up a customer I can see what they owe us with out having to search.

Cons

I do no like the fact that when I apply a payment to a customers account, I am unable to print a second receipt. This has caused some problems. Would love to be able to cancel the payment, which you can't do. You must refund it, which can cause problems with the accounting end.

Response from POS Nation

Replied October 2019

Thank you for the review, Deborah! We're happy that you're comfortable working with the system.

March 2017

Michael from Marshalls Creek Plumbing Supplies

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Retail

Time Used: Less than 12 months


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

1.0

March 2017

Complete wast of time & money.

I am the manager of Marshalls Creek Plumbing Supplies in Pa and we 1st purchased Cash Register Express from a PC America sales back in 2012. With this purchase were spec that inventory would be able to support scanners. Pc America sold use a Honeywell scanner and then after several months they (PC America) could not get it to work with their program. Several other problem came up and then we got a lawyer only to find out the salesman was and (ISO agent) not and employee of PC America. PC America told us that we were not the original owner as the product was sold trough a contractor (ISO agent). We abandoned the product & mothballed the equipment. It gets better! FASTFORWARD TO 2016 A Heartland salesman came for our credit processing business and through the conversation he told us that they now own PC America. After going over some of the above he said that if we want to get it up and running he would make it happen. Well we figured that we have the stuff we might as well try it. So we got it running and have a large part of the inventory installed ( no scanner though) and the owner went on vacation for a few months. I got the notice that the yearly service/tech support payment was due, we were not using the system for sales. I contacted the owner and he said that as long as we can keep installing the inventory keep going and he will make the payment when he gets back. We got the 2nd notice that payment was due and (guess what) the system will not boot up now. No error code it just will not start. I called PC America and they said it was just a coincidence (it happens he said) we don’t turn off your system because of nonpayment for support. However if you pay us the fee you will be up and running today. I contacted a IT guy we use and he said that he knows that PC America uses a time bomb in their program and if no contact with home base by a set date it shuts down. So much for ownership. Don’t deal with this company!

Pros

It seem to be easy to load in our inventory through Excel. The stations communicate with the main station very well.

Cons

No support, repeat no support. We were just loading in our inventory no sales yet. Support payment came due while owner on vacation & upon the email for the 2nd notice they system will not boot up. No error code it just will not start. PC America told us to By the support & we will be back up today. We purchase the software complete but they can still shut it down to blackmail you into paying more money.

June 2016

Joe from Bottom Shelf Liquor

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Wine and Spirits

Time Used: Less than 2 years


Ease-of-use

2.5

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

3.5

June 2016

Product is ok but lord help you if you need support

Pros

Software has nice features for a liquor store like age verification via scanning of drivers license. Nice granular permissions to enable you to give access to only what you want to to your team. Inventory controls are great.

Cons

Support!!!! Anytime you have an issue you end up on a call to a support desk in India. I do not have a problem with support desk being in India but the techs that you get are horrible. They are consistently speaking over you and instead of helping just want to prove you are an idiot in there eyes. They insist on the system and all users need to have administrator rights which is not secure. I fell like I have to fight to get anything fixed and leave the call felling frustrated and ready to give up and move to another vendor.

December 2017

Sam from Renard's Cheese

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Wholesale

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

3.0

December 2017

POS software review

Pros

Fairly easy and intuitive for our front line staff to use and understand. We have had the CRE for a few years now and meets most of our needs.

Cons

With the Pro version, we were not able to have both of our locations communicate with each other. We are hopeful an upgrade to Enterprise will make a difference.

April 2017

Christine from Northern Pines Greenery, Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Building Materials

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

April 2017

A good starter POS system for beginners

Pros

Very Easy to use Most Transactions work seamlessly Good system for those just starting out with a POS system

Cons

Not able to customize statements for accounts Sometimes puts weird numbers in the end of the day reports Does not warn you to open shift if you pull up an on hold

August 2017

John from HS Global Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Retail

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

1.0

August 2017

PC America - Great for 1 location and if you're on a budget

We moved on to Retail pro V9 after we opened our second store. Although we considered Counterpoint and Retail Edge as well.

Pros

Cheap Software and easy to use for someone not super techy. Good for a 1 location store that doesn't plan on expansion. Integrated well with Nitrosell. Nitrosell's back end made this lame software a bit more robust.

Cons

Software Database is basic, there is very low functionality with the software (you'll understand if you spend a couple months researching POS Software), and software is not expandable past 1 location even though they sell it like it is.

June 2017

Roberto from FUSCA Distributions

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Restaurants


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

2.0

Functionality

3.0

June 2017

Decent POS

Pros

Decent POS for beginers. Easey to use. Simple and straight forward, not too much clutter. Goog for firsy time users of POS systems

Cons

No good product support at all. Not at all....... Limited additional functions, like printing and custumized reports

September 2018

Brenda from Ms.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Museums and Institutions

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2018

Administrative Assistant

It is better than what we had, it has it's pro's and con's but all in all, it is a great addition to our Museum Store and Admissions.

Pros

I like that it collects information about our attendance and makes it really easy to run reports so that we can find out how many people visited a certain exhibit

Cons

We could not get a report that tells us how many visitors from different states and countries. It would really be nice to have something like that to refer to.

February 2017

Tilku from Jojo's Fish and Chips

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Restaurants

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2017

Restaurant ProExpress

Pros

The product is Easy to use, easy to set up, it has modifier groups, and it has a good detailed daily reports

Cons

Limited settings options such as printer setup, limited reporting, can't work if main PC is down, and poor customer service

August 2018

Nikki from Shag

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Retail

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2018

Made my life easier today

Pros

Easy to use and found it really easy to teach the basics to all our new employees. Everything is well organized and readily available with a click of a button. The tutorials online are a huge help on how to use and customer service is the best.

Cons

I don't have anything bad to say, most of our problems are user mistakes. If we do have a problem we call our tech support and they help.

December 2017

John from Musten & Crutchfield

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Supermarkets

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

2.0

December 2017

Worst POS on the Market

If you decide to purchase this software, you are in for long hours on hold with customer support and so many issues that you will wish you had never heard of PCAmerica.

Pros

GUI is nice and seems easy to use. Large buttons make it easy for employees to see and navigate the software.

Cons

Where to start... Quickbooks integration is a joke. You have to be in itemized transactions for the POS to adjust inventory. That means that EVERY single sale is entered into QB individually instead of entered as one line item for the day and inventory adjusted in bulk. I know they could do it because the end of day report has the inventory grouped together. If you use the handheld device for purchase orders, you will have to run the QB export multiple times in order to make the PO go over to QB. We use the vendor payout function, but when it pushes to QB, it enters the paid out as a check and not cash that was selected at the time of the payout. These are but a few, trust me, there are TONS more issues with the software. Support doesn't seem to know how the software works and tells you that that is how it works and there is nothing they can do about it.

February 2017

Serwa from Xclusive2Wear

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Apparel & Fashion

Time Used: Less than 12 months


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2017

Great Product!!

After months of using this software, I am more satisfied. It is a breeze to use and the manual is easy to follow. I enjoy the Youtube videos as well. I would definitely recommend this software program.

March 2018

Holly from JD Bay, LLC

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

1.0

Functionality

1.0

March 2018

Would not recommend!

We have had this program for 7 months. I do not even know where to start. Call support and they can't help you with the program you PAID for, you will be referred to a field tech to come out and charge you more for help. Endless excuse for money pit. Basically you will never be without a form of cost. You get a quick crash course and might as well spend your time training yourself online. If I wanted to be a support tech I would go to school for it! 1 week left and this program will be gone from my business!

Pros

The only part of this soft ware I like is the back end reporting portion allowing for quick break downs.

Cons

From a crash course in training, inaccurate inventory, making returns, correct size labels printing, the list goes on!

July 2017

Dawn from Southern Spirits & More

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Wine and Spirits

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

2.0

July 2017

Pretty good

Pros

This is my first software so I don't know any others. Overall it seems to work well and easy to use.

Cons

The only training you get is when you call them, the booklet that came with it does not meet my needs

December 2018

abdullah from Retail

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Retail

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

1.0

Functionality

1.0

December 2018

Bad customer service they dont know nothing about the system

bad software bad customer service bad treatment

Pros

we dont like the soware at all really bad software also get freeze most of the time also card reder fall most of the time

Cons

the don't answer you fast when you need help i dont recomnet them at all somtime dont ring the item correct

June 2014

Jason from So So Stop

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Retail

Time Used: Free Trial


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2014

We bought 3 POS stations from these guys!

Pros

Electronic Business Solutions were and still are extremely helpful when there is a problem or a question. Even after hours, they have folks there for support 24 hours a day/7 days a week. That goes a long way!

Cons

Probably the fact that it costs money. I guess I can't get it free, but it sure doesn't hurt to wish!

July 2014

Paul from The Smoke Shop II

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Retail

Time Used: Free Trial


Ease-of-use

4.5

Customer support

4.5

Functionality

5.0

July 2014

It's worth the price. I would suggest it to any business owner!

Pros

My account manager has been with me since day one. If I have a quick question, he is there. I may have to leave a voicemail; however, most of the time, I get a call back within minutes. Email is practically instant messaging.

Cons

The software is loaded with features, which makes it harder to navigate; however, you do get use to it after a few weeks.

June 2017

Megan from FC Medina's Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Restaurants

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

1.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

1.0

June 2017

PC America Has Lost It's Touch

I would never buy it again. I was a customer for 11 years. Very disappointed.

Pros

The cost used to be a pro. We just spent on an upgrade that did not fix any of our software problems.

Cons

PC America purposely makes you buy tech support for things that could easily be fixed by the user. You have to pay tech support to unlock a table for example.

September 2016

Roberta from Belle's Argyle Grocery

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Supermarkets

Time Used: Less than 12 months


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.5

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2016

Cash register exlpress

Pros

Logical to learn and use. Easy product setup and reporting features

Cons

Editing payroll hours is illogical and cumbersome.

July 2016

Catherine from Cafe Eclectic

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Restaurants

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

1.5

Value for money

1.5

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

1.5

July 2016

Terrible Customer Service! Beware!

Pros

Used for 8 years...... Have been told it is not the worst system...

Cons

Customer service!! Service representatives in India on weekends and at night. TERRIBLE!!!

November 2016

Chris from Sunset meadow Vineyards

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Retail

Time Used: Less than 6 months


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

November 2016

Decent but needs more flexibility

Overall system works well. Needs to allow more customization. Could be a little more user friendly on back of house.

December 2014

Tammy from Pockets Gas Stations

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Retail

Time Used: Free Trial


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2014

Thank you guys!

Pros

They have great customer service!

Cons

The pricing is what I like the least! However, nothing is free these days! I feel as the pricing was fair compared to the quality vs competitors.

December 2014

Ashley from Macy's

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Apparel & Fashion

Time Used: Free Trial


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

3.5

Functionality

4.5

December 2014

Review of the product

Pros

I like how easy it is to use and train others to use it. The UI is extremely user-friendly.

Cons

Sometimes it can shut down randomly or we have to reboot if the LAN jams up.

December 2014

Shannon from The Article Market

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Retail

Time Used: Free Trial


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2014

moneymaker

Pros

I like the quality, value, brand, and guarantee. It's excellent, fast, simple, and easy to use.

Cons

There's nothing I don't like about it.

May 2017

Fuat from Abi's Diner

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Restaurants

Time Used: Less than 6 months


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

3.0

May 2017

Slow but gets the job done.

Pros

It is a reliable system. In the 3 months i been using it, it has never crashed. It has some nice features.

Cons

The system works way too​ slow sometimes. Touch screen is not responsive enough. It has missing functions.

July 2014

Cheryl from Hibby's Sports Grille

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Restaurants

Time Used: Free Trial


Ease-of-use

2.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

1.0

July 2014

No Tech Support

Pros

It's easy to use when it is working.

Cons

Their tech support is based out of India and is terrible.