User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5 / 5

Value for Money

4.5 / 5

Customer Support

4.5 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(16)

16

4 stars

(11)

11

3 stars

(0)

0

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(0)

0

  • Pros

  • "Support is fantastic and responsive. They have continually improved their software. Automation capabilities have changed how we produce. "

  • "It took me less than two months to set it up and go live. It is one of the easiest MIS or ERP systems in the market. The initial cost is incredibly slow, it is very affordable product."

  • "Automation for processing print jobs. Support is awesome and they are always upgrading and tweaking the system to provide additional functionality."

  • Cons

  • "Not a lot of complaints; few minor issues but that's common with software."

  • "Very limited on XML commands for storefront templates. An available option for internal accounting codes (cost centers) that allows you to turn off purchase order fields would be nice. "

  • "Would like different licensing options. Would like a stronger inventory module which I know is in development "

Browse PressWise Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - -23 of 27 results

December 2017

Matthew from Moxy Ox

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Printing

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2017

As moxy ox has grown, our scaling has been made easier with additional modules offered by PressWise.

1 Cost monitoring 2 Order tracking 3 Online customer ordering 4 Daily reporting 5 Sales tracking 6 Inventory control 7 Shipping made easy 8 Auto batching 9 Client correspondence monitoring 10 Major time savings across entire team

Pros

The fact that PressWise is always moving forward, adding new features and listens to their customers' needs is what keeps me with them. Even when I'm being a pain in the butt customer, I know they would gladly hop on a call to help out or shoot a quick video to step me through a process I can't grasp. My team contacts the PressWise team through the easy ticket system so that I don't have to answer everything for them.

Cons

Exporting accounting information has been our toughest challenge. Integrating it into the accounting software we were already using. We have created a work around, but still not ideal.

June 2020

Joseph from Studio54 Print

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Printing

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2020

It's like it was developed by someone who had worked in the print industry ;)

Very Happy :)

Pros

The Storefront, the shipping module, the ability to work in multiple windows simultaneously. Top of the list though is their support! Fast and effective response.

Cons

You need to run a CRM separately. Presswise should partner with a CRM provider and create an all in one Web-to-Print/MIS/CRM system.

Reasons for Choosing PressWise

The MIS and the Storefronts are one integrated system. If you take out the actual production of the item ordered, everything from client purchase (online) to product shipment can all be completed with minimal input. With our old system we would receive an email letting us know that an order was placed online, we would have to log in, get the info, create an order in our MIS, download and save the art files, produce the product, manual input the shipping info in UPS or FedEx, update the invoice, create a packing list, and then send an email of completion with tracking info to client. Presswise does all of this for us. :)

Reasons for Switching to PressWise

Franchise contract ending

Response from SmartSoft

Replied July 2020

Thanks for the kind words. Your dedicated team has been amazing to work with too. You came with a clear plan to get up and running and have been a pleasure to work with. Here's to many years ahead working together.

July 2019

Greg from Potter's Printing, Inc.

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Printing

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2019

Why Presswise

We have been using presswise for eight years now and were one of the early adopters. They have continued to listen to end users and are still improving the functionality of their product.

Pros

Complete package, from automated email notifications, imposition, shipping, to accounting . A full service CRM with unlimited storefronts and private branding with custom catalogues.

Cons

Custom impositions are somewhat complex compared to other impositions options available.

Response from SmartSoft

Replied July 2019

Thanks so much for your review, Greg. Yes, you have been with us for many years and watched us evolve as we get feedback and request for features from our customers. Always happy to get more suggestions on how we can help you improve efficiency and get the most out of PressWise!

May 2020

Anthony from Village Print and Media

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Printing

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2020

Great partnerships are hard to find

Its been five years since we started using PressWise and we have seen so many upgrades to the original system. We have been working with the same people on the development team and have become accustomed to adapting to process. Very flexible and accommodating with all questions and issues and quick resolutions when needed.

Pros

I've been working with their team from day one and they have been very accommodating and responsive. It allows us to create our own products and workflows and has a detailed reporting structure.

Cons

There are so many different departments that factored into our decisions on what should be built in the workflow. The implementation tracker helped with this.

Reasons for Choosing PressWise

There were many reason. The price was affordable, we had the ability to build our own workflows and products, tracking inventory, working with vendors and hosting it ourselves. Paying a monthly user charge is a big plus also. It allows us to maintain a budget within reason.

Response from SmartSoft

Replied May 2020

Thank you so much for your kind words. I remember the day Corry welcomed you onboard and not long after you had Michael visit your site for training. He came back full of praise for you and your team and I knew it would be a great fit. Here's to many more years serving your business. Tony

July 2019

Matt from BCT Atlanta

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Printing

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2019

Presswise

I feel that Presswise overall has been an excellent choice. It has the look and feel of a high dollar management system for a reasonable price. Customer service is very knowledgeable and respond to questions quickly. Updates and upgrades come often. Up time on the cloud based system has been near 100% for me. Transition has been a bit painful, as we came from a system that was developed in the 1980's, but we have gotten through and our users love the change!

Pros

Ease of use, order status tracking and auto batching and queue to our presses are the main pros that drew us to to the software. Also, customer service was very good in helping decision making. The people here know thei product.

Cons

There is no ability to combine invoices and ship. Shipping multiple invoices on the same shipment is un-wieldy. We ship a lot of small orders and ship them in the same package, but each order generates it's own invoice and if you don't stop it, it will generate it's own shipping label

Reasons for Choosing PressWise

Ease of use

Reasons for Switching to PressWise

Our software was old and didn't allow for many funtions that we need.

Response from SmartSoft

Replied August 2019

Thank you for your feedback, Matt. I am sharing your kind words about our support with the team. We're constantly looking to find ways to make PressWise work better for out clients so I'll be sharing your specific request for combining invoices with our product management team. We're very happy to be working with BCT and look forward to a long and mutually beneficial business relationship!

June 2020

Jason from Ultimax Inc

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Printing

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2020

Do not work very well for Wide Format jobs

I work in a small wide format shop and we used PressWise for a good six months before deciding to go with another piece of software. The main reason being that PressWise does not handle wide format impositioning very well at the time of this review.

Pros

If you are a small press shop that does a lot of digital and offset, this is one of the better options out there for you. The Customer Support and overall work flow of this software is just great. This is an especially great software of you are a straight digital shop for sure. One of the key benefits I liked is that it has so many pre-built layouts for a good 90 percent of your digital needs and it's very good at ganging up different jobs into the same medias.

Cons

It's not very good if you need to put wide format jobs into your work flow as it's mostly designed for offset and digital. If you do want to use PressWise in a work environment that has wide format involved, you will need to find a wide format imposition software solution to add to your workflow.

Reasons for Switching to PressWise

Our previous software was custom made.

Response from SmartSoft

Replied June 2020

Hi Jason: Thanks for your considered response. We were disappointed to hear at the time that PressWise did not live up to your expectations when it came to impositioning your wide format jobs. The life of an MIS is an evolutionary one, and given that we have many customers running their wide format work through PressWise we have continued to evolve in that area. I believe it was early 2019 when our companies ceased working together, and I remember it being a very amicable process. I told Raji at the time to keep in touch and hope that some day you will give PressWise a second look. All the very best with your business and I hope you haven't been too heavily impacted by the current economic conditions created by the pandemic. Tony

July 2019

Joe from Bobkat Printing

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Printing

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2019

Saves Money on Office help.

Pros

Ease of use. Starting with a quote, order, proof, batching for press is so simple. Makes getting jobs done from start to finish very efficient.

Cons

Job Tickets, Need different style job tickets for different jobs. Not enough options for changing the file layout on batched jobs. Needs to be able to batch same size items multble up without creating a new product and batch layouts.

Response from SmartSoft

Replied July 2019

Thank you for your kind feedback Joe. I have passed on your comments on the job ticket to our product management team for review. Thanks again for being a PressWise customer!

November 2018

Cameron from CopyTec

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Printing

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2018

Presswise Review

Pros

This program has allowed my company to grow rapidly while maintaining a good workflow. Creating accurate estimates and orders is easier to manage and maintain.

Cons

There are a lot of features, its hard to know how to use all of them.

Response from SmartSoft

Replied November 2018

Great to hear that PressWise is doing exactly what it is supposed to do - making your life easier, while helping you grow your business. Also, to help you get even more out of PressWise, we have multiple training options, including prerecorded webinars on a wide range of topics, one-on-one web training, or even on-site training visits. We¿ll get in touch to let you know more. Thanks!

November 2018

Michael from Thaddeus Stevens College of Technology

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2018

Moving Curriculum Forward

PressWise has been an amazing tool and experience for students at Thaddeus Stevens College in the Graphic Communications and Printing Technology department. It has pushed our curriculum into the in-demand skills of estimating, customer service and print production management.

Pros

PressWise is simple and intuitive to use. The documentation to learn the system is amazing. I was very well supported by the entire PressWise team. I love that it's cloud based so I can access jobs at any time.

Cons

I honestly do not have any gripes with PressWise. It's been able to be tailored to everything we have wanted to do with it. I couldn't be more pleased with it.

Response from SmartSoft

Replied November 2018

We are happy to hear those words, Michael. It has been an absolute pleasure to work with you.

November 2018

Jim from WhiteOak

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Printing

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2018

Excellent Cloud Solution

PressWise has allowed our company to reduce the touches required to get jobs into production. We have integrated Pressero with PressWise. With this setup, we are able to have the orders injected directly into PressWise with all of the product specifications. The files are automatically transferred, and as long as there is a product tied to an imposition template, production has a pre-imposed file ready to go. On the rare occasion that I need to contact support, they are friendly, knowledgeable, and very responsive. Simply put, this is an excellent product.

Pros

Easy migration from previous solution API for connecting external applications Outstanding customer support Frequent updates/improvements Excellent documentation Responsive to specific needs

Cons

Updates sometimes contain obvious bugs that should have been caught before release

Response from SmartSoft

Replied November 2018

Thank you so much for your kind words Jim - we believe our support staff is second to none so it is always nice to hear customers echo that belief.

May 2018

David from WhiteOak

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Printing

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2018

PressWise has streamlined our daily workflow and saved us money.

Pros

The workflow has allowed us to bypass the prepress department for many orders...both internal and via storefronts....saving us money and getting the product produced faster.

Cons

This is a user license product so you must purchase enough licenses for the number of users you expect to be operating at one time.

Response from SmartSoft

Replied July 2018

There are two main schools of thought when it comes to SaaS licensing methods: Named and Concurrent. While some SaaS services require you to purchase a license for each user, whether they use the software or not, we felt that allowing clients to only buy enough licenses for concurrent users was a more cost-efficient way to go. Let's say you have 25 employees. With the "Named" method, you need to purchase 25 licenses. Because it is unlikely all employees will need to access the software at the same time, with the Concurrent model, you may only need to buy 10 seats. When someone logs out, it frees up a seat for someone else to log in. For example, if you need to buy 20 seats, it is still more cost effective than buying 25. I hope this helps and thank you for your feedback.

November 2018

Ken from H & H Imaging, Inc

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Printing

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2018

Best product out there

Pros

We have used presswise for 10 years now. The biggest plus for us was ease of use. Keeping track of jobs is its biggest strength. Automated emails to our clients saves a ton of time for our CSR's. We also like the pagination features. We are both a Indigo shop and we have a large format department which we were able to integrate into the software. BIG Thankyou to the staff for helping us grow smoothly.

Cons

Can't think of anything but I will add something if I do.

Response from SmartSoft

Replied November 2018

Thank YOU Ken! It has been great to see you grow alongside us over the past 10 years. Here's to 10 more years of success!

April 2019

Nikki from The Print Quarter

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Printing

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

PressWIse has helped us be more profitable when supplying many small jobs

We are a local printing company, and as such we receive many small jobs to print with small quantities. The time taken to set up a job directly reduces the profit involved, and often completely removes the profit. PressWise automates these jobs, so the only real time taken is invoicing and trimming. As such, we have now made these small jobs profitable and it really helps our business.

Pros

I most like about PressWise that it automates jobs for us. We are a local company that print many small jobs, and the transactional time taken setting up each job eats into our profits, or makes jobs unprofitable. But the automation in PressWise has made it so small jobs do not take much time to set up.

Cons

We've had some incompatibility problems with PDF files, but the support were very quick to fix the issue.

November 2019

Patrick from Printing

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Printing

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2019

Outstanding Product

Excellent company to work with. In addition, the sales and support staff are very quick to respond and very helpful and knowledgeable.

Pros

Excellent Product which has met our needs when many other products have not. Has helped get control of a chaotic print facility. Simplified scheduling, billing, shipping and many other components of our print facility. It has also increased Customer Satisfaction through the job notifications and Portal.

Cons

I really don't have any dislikes, the product does exactly what it says. It does take some time to setup properly so do not underestimate the time needed to do this correctly.

Response from SmartSoft

Replied November 2019

Thank you for the kind words, Patrick. Always great for the team to get such positive feedback for all the hard work they put in. We look forward to working with you for many years to come.

November 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2018

Slade Print

PressWise has allowed us to streamline our order entry and work-flow processes. The system allows for up to date visibility of orders throughout all departments, which has allowed us to approach our production process in an entirely new way.

Pros

PressWise is very intuitive, it has proven easy to use for long-term employees, new hires, and production personnel who were previously not asked to use the business software.

Cons

The back end is a little clunky, the amount of screens and clicks it takes to properly close out an order can be cumbersome.

Response from SmartSoft

Replied November 2018

Thanks for your great feedback. We are always looking at ways to make our customers' workflow as efficient as possible, and the best way to do that is to listen to your suggestions. Please contact our support team to let us know where you think we can make it even better and we'll be more than happy to consider your ideas for future upgrades.

December 2017

Randy from ION Print Solutions

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Printing

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

December 2017

The admin side is really good with lots of tools. Storefront experience could use some tuning.

Integrated storefront and estimator on a remote system.

Pros

The developers are constantly working on features and issues. Support has been quite good. Using the Cloud service eliminates maintaining servers and network services. Supports every OS and browser that I use equally well. Very knowledgeable people behind this system.

Cons

Missing features for storefront users as far as customization and product templates. Would like to see a little more freedom in areas like Job Tickets. Sometimes updates have severely affected our templates and other areas of the system. A longer beta cycle may be necessary.

June 2018

Rick from Fenway Group

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Printing

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2018

Best software company I have ever worked with. Helped us transform the paradigm of how we produce

Pros

Support is fantastic and responsive. They have continually improved their software. Automation capabilities have changed how we produce.

Cons

Would like different licensing options. Would like a stronger inventory module which I know is in development

Response from SmartSoft

Replied July 2018

We love the feedback Rick and yes, we are developing some new inventory tools. Please email corryc@presswise.com with your dream licensing options and we will see what we can do for you.

November 2018

Howard from Stafford Printing

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Printing

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2018

User since 2010

Implementing PW 100% has allowed SP to eliminate job jackets, saving many hours of labor, and have jobs come in from web portals directly to press. We've saved a small fortunate in labor and become more efficient in operations.

Pros

Cloud based, support, web to print features.

Cons

Not a lot of complaints; few minor issues but that's common with software.

Response from SmartSoft

Replied November 2018

Great to hear PressWise is working as planned, Howard. Thanks for the kind words and your ongoing support.

June 2018

Lee from MegaSolutions

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Printing

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2018

We have been with them since the beginning. They have helped our business to run more cost-effective

automation thereby reducing costs

Pros

Automation for processing print jobs. Support is awesome and they are always upgrading and tweaking the system to provide additional functionality.

Cons

Interface is not user friendly compared to other systems. Some functionalities require workarounds.

Response from SmartSoft

Replied July 2018

We hear you and appreciate the feedback Lee. We are rolling out minor UI updates to PressWise as we develop a fresh new UI.

December 2017

Debbie from Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2017

It does everything. Storefront to imposition to shipping. Easy to use with 100's of options!

Freed up time for the graphic designers and made the customer experience easier.

Pros

I love the knowledge base and implementation tracker! Support is awesome! I've never worked with another company that when I send a support request, they respond in an hour with a video addressed to me showing my system and what fix they made or recommend.

Cons

Very limited on XML commands for storefront templates. An available option for internal accounting codes (cost centers) that allows you to turn off purchase order fields would be nice.

December 2017

larry from murphy printing

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Printing

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2017

It took a while to set up but once it was, I didn't have to do much tweaking

As mentioned in the "Pros" - the ability to get jobs into the system, proof out, proof approved and imposed file in 30 minutes or less. This is key to getting the order into the print flow with short lad times.

Pros

attaching the artwork and getting a proof to the client in a matter of minutes (for mast orders). Once the order is approved, getting the imposed files to the pressroom.

Cons

There are not many bugs that I have noticed, so kudos to the techs. There are some features that I would like, such as the ability to edit invoice and job ticket fields - positions, size of type, etc... / Packing lists - they should have the date of the shipment on them. I have never seen a software that doesn't do this.

December 2017

Keith from Hemlock Printers

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Printing

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2017

Great product for automating print production.

Pros

We have used the PressWise API to aggregate orders from multiple storefronts. Storefronts orders are injected into an automated workflow from prepress to shipping and invoicing. It works as advertised.

Cons

Integration with shipping carriers is a challenge for Canadian users. Looking forward to see the Purolator API integration.

December 2017

Ian from Direct Response

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2017

Great product, great support

Pros

Great tech support, tech support is always willing to go the extra mile and is very responsive. Presswise has loads of functionality with new features added all the time.

Cons

Not really a criticism but the software has a broad range of functionality so it takes some time to learn about and implement all the available features.

December 2017

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2017

Easy to setup and use

Pros

It took me less than two months to set it up and go live. It is one of the easiest MIS or ERP systems in the market. The initial cost is incredibly slow, it is very affordable product.

Cons

There are many bugs and some of them have not been fixed; there is no account function so we have to export the data to Quickbooks for accounting

January 2017

Debbi from ImageSet

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2017

Very powerful software that gets better all the time

We're an all-digital shop with multiple Indigo presses as well as wide format and mailing services who purchased PressWise 5 years ago to automate our workflow. The program has been a non-stop progression of new features and capabilities. The tech support is outstanding. I typically get a reply within 30 minutes to questions, and they're always available for phone consultation. Best of all, they listen to customers and are extremely responsive in adding features I've recommended. In the 5 years, we've had it, the system has only been down on a few occasions, and those were only for a few minutes. Occasionally I'll discover a bug, but, it has usually been fixed immediately. As with all software, it does have its negatives. Pricing tables are somewhat tedious to set up; handling multi-item orders in the quote is awkward, and there is no automated way to quote custom outsourced work. But I've been told these issues are being worked on and are new developments are forthcoming. But overall, for a smaller to medium-sized shop looking to automate workflow and estimating for a very reasonable price, it's a fantastic solution.

May 2016

Michael from ZUZA Marketing Asset Management

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

May 2016

Production Automation and Excellent Customer Service

We are moving forward at a very rapid rate with PressWise. Optimizing all areas of the company, and continuing to see how far we can automate our processes. I do want to let you know that we really appreciate all that PressWise team does everyday to help us become successful. They are all very professional, knowledgeable, and willing to roll their sleeves up to help us whenever we ask.

April 2017

JJ from IMS Printing & Signs

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2017

The brain of our organization!

We love PressWise. We have nick named it the "brain of our organization". The software is great but the support is even better. I would highly recommend checking this product out for your printing company.