User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

3.5 / 5

Value for Money

3.5 / 5

Customer Support

4.5 / 5

Functionality

4.0 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(8)

8

4 stars

(8)

8

3 stars

(2)

2

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(1)

1

  • Pros

  • "Once you set it up it is super easy to use. Sadly, they are getting rid of the Transfer function which is a nice feature."

  • "Was able to get transfers working the way we needed it to work."

  • "Reliable platform that you can integrate with ease."

  • Cons

  • "Well, the set up is a bit clunky, and sometimes my tenants don't know how to make it work. But overall it is good."

  • "The onboarding process was a bit cumbersome. "

  • "supposedly the product I will use will be ended in November. It was difficult to get a clear determination about that via customer support. didn't seem like they were reading the question i asked."

Browse Dwolla Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - -31 of 19 results

December 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

Scalable service with fantastic customer service

An amazing support team that over delivers on an amazing customer experience.

Pros

Reliable platform that you can integrate with ease.

Cons

Nothing wrong with using Dwolla to date!

October 2018

Aalok from EnergyFunders

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2018

Great software, great API, marred by mixed quality customer service

Overall the experience is good. Using Dwolla as a system for sending and receiving automated payments via ACH is the primary goal and purpose. Having implemented the API, we have achieved those goals. Also having our customers go through verification and becoming verified customer records solves a major point for us as well. That said, the negative points come into play when something goes awry and you need support, or someone to talk to, and the only thing you can do is put a message in the slack channel and wait ...

Pros

There are many things about the system that are great. The API and the documentation are excellent. The API is extremely robust, and the platform itself is easily navigable to perform actions manually. The ability to vet users by creating verified customer records is excellent as well. The initial sales conversation is great as well, and pretty much all expectations are answered. Even afterwards, having dedicated account managers and a dedicated slack channel are great.

Cons

Getting through the legal review is an arduous process. Afterwards, support through the slack channel is a bit slow. There is no phone based support. After the phone conversations with sales, you cannot call them back for support. There is no phone based customer support. There is no phone based technical support.

October 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

October 2018

Features good for leasing companies, ok for startups

Customer service has been prompt, but mistakes have still been made by the dwolla team in processing some transactions. The dev team at Dwolla has been very helpful and have offered very good advice. The price is below the competition but not sure the hassle to our customers is worth the savings.

Pros

The software allows for ACH transfers in a API at a reasonable cost.

Cons

API document had several errors that we had to inform Dwolla about, also not as easy to integrate as advertised. Since I believe their clients are generally leasing or real estate companies, the checks they do on our customers is not ideal. Dwolla said they regularly send customers below the age of 26 in document or retry status, for a tech app, those customers will never come back due to the hassle of the dwolla process.

March 2019

Brittany from Tillable

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Farming

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

March 2019

User Experience

Overall, Dwolla does what we need right now and has been great with supporting our business transactions; however, I do worry about scaling with Dwolla's limited external user support.

Pros

I like how Dwolla interfaces with our platform and streamlines our payment process for customers.

Cons

The verification process can take awhile and if there's an issue with user's verification (i.e. blurry document image, mismatched information, etc.) Dwolla doesn't notify the the user and help explain the issue. There's still a lot involvement on our side (as Dwolla's customer) to look into the issue, troubleshoot it and help the user make the correction). Overall, Dwolla doesn't really account for user errors. I'm hoping this functionality is in Dwolla's product roadmap, because I can't imagine scaling our business using Dwolla with it's current functionality . Also, the micro deposit verification method and time it takes to transact a payment from one customer to another seems too long when there is clearly the technology with other products to do even instant payments. Any way to tighten this window would be ideal.

March 2019

Anoop from Tillable

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Farming

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2019

API was too granular. Customer service was fantastic.

The customer service was fantastic. Shoutout to @coolstorycory.

Pros

Was able to get transfers working the way we needed it to work.

Cons

Not enough abstraction. Was exposed to - and had to deal with - too much detail. The API was waay too granular. On each "webhook", had to do multiple calls to the api to resolve various attributes associated with the transaction. Biggest issue was that it took some doing to resolve subsequent webhooks to find out which "parent" transaction the webhook was for.

October 2018

Matthew from Cotton Bureau

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Retail

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2018

Great tool for a specific use case

We use Dwolla for simple receive-only ACH payments. We hate ACH in general but Dwolla is one of the few ways to do it in a simple way without massive amounts of Know-Your-Customer overhead.

Pros

It accomplishes what we need without getting in the way or making assumptions about how we want to do business.

Cons

The cost. Dealing with contracts instead of a self serve sign-up process.

October 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2018

Great Service with Room to Improve

Bottom line, would not be in business if it were not for Dwolla <3 Our plan is to have over 100,000 payments per week spread all over the US, and this could NOT happen without Dwolla.

Pros

Once you set it up it is super easy to use. Sadly, they are getting rid of the Transfer function which is a nice feature.

Cons

Seems like there should be a Freemium model for startups with less that 100 transactions per month, then have a 100 to 1,000 price; 1,001 to 5,000 transactions per month price, and then an all you can eat price.

March 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2019

Equitymultiple - CM

Great customer service

Pros

I like the the api intergrationwith my application

Cons

My biggest fault with the software is lack of interest bearing accounts

September 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2018

It's okay to use it

Pros

Well I use it with my property management software. The rates are okay, tenants set up their accounts and send rent via this portal. So it works for us okay.

Cons

Well, the set up is a bit clunky, and sometimes my tenants don't know how to make it work. But overall it is good.

October 2018

Samuel from Loanwell

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Airlines/Aviation

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2018

Dwolla Review

Pros

Simple well documented API. Good project management kickoff support.

Cons

Cost. A lot of questions about business model and usage which I understand but slowed down testing and initial review.

March 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

2.0

March 2019

Basic level ACH transfer tool

Pros

It solves our most critical problem which is electronic payments.

Cons

Limitations in functionality. We have had to build out different tools to support the limitations. The product doesn't fit our specific needs all that well.

August 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2018

smooth transfers to independent contractors

Pros

no nonsense method of paying . i like how fees are based on the amount sent, as opposed to a flat rate

Cons

supposedly the product I will use will be ended in November. It was difficult to get a clear determination about that via customer support. didn't seem like they were reading the question i asked.

October 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2018

Excellent Customer Support

Great experience overall. Our lead PM was a pleasure to work with. Highly recommended.

Pros

The software is easy to integrate with existing systems and is flexible enough to accommodate a wide variety of uses and functions.

Cons

The onboarding process was a bit cumbersome.

July 2017

Lizzette from Construction

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2017

Really helps

Pros

What I like about this app is that it saves me from having to go to the bank or amscot for a money order.

October 2018

Chanddeep from Karmic Labs

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2018

Unused but valuable

Pros

I liked the customer support from the team the best. Dwolla's team was always there to guide us through.

Cons

Length of time (it's also on us to complete) for implementation

October 2017

bette from Red Door Realty

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

October 2017

Nice Platform

Pros

Nice platform to transfer funds with clients, very easy to use with clients, good reporting features

Cons

Takes 3 - 4 business days, plus additional days with holidays to transfer funds with clients. Would like to see quicker transfer options. More options for property managers to transfer funds from tenant to owner without higher fees

October 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2018

Great software for making payment

Our experience with Dwolla is great overall.

Pros

We like the fact that we're able to make direct deposit payment in USD using Dwolla API.

Cons

We had some issues setting up the new API because of confusing documentation in some parts, but those were quickly resolved by Dwolla's amazing support team!

October 2018

Bronson from Food & Beverages

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Wholesale

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

1.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

1.0

October 2018

Stay away

I recieved money that was only recievabke through dwolla. So I Setup an account. To my dismay there were practically no major commerce site that used dwolla as a payment option and the only way to withdraw funds was to link bank account, stay away

Pros

It is simple to use I guess, it is easy to start and setup an account

Cons

It isn’t usable anywhere. Virtually no site that the average person visits uses dwolla as an acceptable payment method.

October 2018

Trevor from Chip In Inc.

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2018

Good alternative to Stripe

Pros

Easily integrates with Plaid. Useful sandbox mode for testing scenarios.

Cons

Some information in the API and references is spread all over and difficult to find without reading everything word for word.