All Dwolla Reviews

1-25 of 42 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Alexander

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2022

Plug-and-play integration, Fast go-live

At Glean, our goal is to power finance teams to spend intelligently - analyzing the rich data that is available in invoices and other documents to help companies understand what they're spending on and opportunities to both save and supercharge their business. We offer a modern, smart AP process built on a foundation of insights and analytics - which means payments is a core component of the product. We set out to find a B2B payments partner, and Dwolla's expertise combined with years of experience in the space made them a perfect fit. The integration was plug-and-play, the support has been excellent, and we were able to go-live very quickly - providing our customers with an easy-to-use and effective payments experience through our partnership. Having a partner means that you also benefit from their roadmap as well - in our case, having the flexibility of increasing our ACH limits, turning on next-day payments, and exploring new rails like RTP, are all ways that Dwolla continues to innovate and make us look really good with our customers.

PROS

- They have a battle-tested product, with years of B2B payments expertise - The integration was plug-and-play, allowing us to go-live with a very aggressive time-table - Their support is fantastic, and is always available if we have questions - They are constantly release new features and continuing to innovate, which we directly benefit from (allowing us to offer a best-in-class payments experience)

CONS

- Dashboard UI is a bit unintuitive for users - Would be nice to have more automation in the KYB process

Susan

Financial Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2023

Above-and-Beyond Customer Service

Honestly? Nothing. They are remarkable.

PROS

Dwolla has been with our startup up from the start. They serve as the backbone and primary translator of payments between accounts as defined by our users. Whenever we've made changes or had new ideas to explore, Dwolla has enthusiastically sat at the table to brainstorm ways to support us. They are the definition of a true partner.

CONS

Honestly. Nothing. We have partnered with Dwolla for over 7 years and have not experienced anything but satisfaction.

Reason for choosing Dwolla

Because of their approach to partnering with us. We went to their offices to share our vision, mission and model for empowering consumers to live, give and save with purpose. They have always worked with us on pricing at each changing stage of our business.

Richard

Computer Software, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2021

Dwolla Pay as You Go option has been a nightmare for us.

90% negative at this point.

PROS

Payment facilitation between our clients and their clients.

CONS

I was happy to learn that Dwolla had recently added a “pay as you go” option. This would allow our clients to now send payments to their clients as a referral incentive. We obviously don’t want to spend $2k/mo for their “scale”package as we will gradually be processing more and more payments over time. Therefore we decided to start with the “pay as you” go option and then planned to migrate once we were doing a higher volume of payments. We built out everything required with api’s and learned they needed us to submit an application before we could submit our mobile apps to the apple App Store. We submitted that several weeks ago and needed them to respond on an urgent timeline as our clients had urgent needs for their mobile apps to be released. We have contacted their support with zero response and have let them know of the urgency of the situation and it’s been crickets. (It’s still just sitting in their queue) Anyway, hoping to salvage a relationship here, as we like the functionality. Just incredibly disappointed with the customer service options.

Vendor Response

Mr Bitton, Thank you for reaching out to Dwolla and sharing the issues you have experienced. We are sorry that we have failed to connect with you recently and look forward to providing you with a better experience. An account representative has reached out to the email address on file. The Dwolla Team

Replied April 2021

Doris

Financial Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2024

Dwolla, a reliable payment option

The experience is a 10 in our book. API integration and customer service is at the top within our vendor relationships.

PROS

Their customer service and notifcations. Reliability of the product.

CONS

The speed of transfers- Particularly weekend tranfers. Consumers want rapid payments.

Brian

Real Estate, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2021

Dwolla is a great payment processing partner for ACH Payments

Dwolla has been the most helpful and customer service focused vendor I have ever worked with. This is no exaggeration, I am in regular contact with our customer success rep who responds regularly with in minutes of asking a question. Additionally, I have frequently been asked to contribute to discussions with their product teams and roadmap teams. I believe Dwolla truly values their customers opinions and feedback, they have always been quick to respond to any questions or concerns, and are frequently proactive when reaching out to ask my opinion on new features and functionality.

PROS

The number one pro for Dwolla is their customer service, we typically get answers in minutes when we have questions about anything in their API, or a question about a payment that was processed. Dwolla's API Documentation, and support documents are top notch easy to read, and easy to understand.

CONS

There isn't much, I could say that I don't like about the software, but the admin dashboard portal could use a little attention to make it more robust. However Dwolla is in the process of making improvements to this area, and they even reach out to me and other customers to find out how they can best improve the Dashboard.

Reason for choosing Dwolla

Dwolla was the only product that offered transfer limits, and pricing that was in line with our business needs.

Vendor Response

Brian, We wanted to send a sincere thank you for leaving a robust review that outlines your team's experience with Dwolla and our services. We appreciate your continued contributions to helping us better service you and our other clients. We are never done. Our team of professionals looks forward to working closely with you!

Replied December 2021

Gray

Financial Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2022

Great product if it fits your specific needs.

Dwolla has been a wonderful and key integration to our product. They fill in a gap in the market of being a low-cost, reliable, secure and scalable solution for needing to do many ACH transfers via api. They also have really strong customer service which I can't express enough how impactful that has been for us.

PROS

Really great customer service which is the biggest differentiator for us. Also, extremely low cost per transaction, and an api-first approach that fits our needs. API is well-documented, has good uptime, good rate limits, and good response times. KYC verification is also a well-done and reliable layer once you iron out with customer service the process of handling outliers. They also have some helpful integrations with other platforms.

CONS

There is limited functionality in their dashboard which is fine, but there are many things that can only be done through the api so prepare to build out a lot of internal-only api calls. Also, bank to bank transfers flow through a digital wallet layer which is in some ways helpful and in other ways a little harder to handle in terms of tracking status and handling status updates.

Aalok

Financial Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2018

Great software, great API, marred by mixed quality customer service

Overall the experience is good. Using Dwolla as a system for sending and receiving automated payments via ACH is the primary goal and purpose. Having implemented the API, we have achieved those goals. Also having our customers go through verification and becoming verified customer records solves a major point for us as well. That said, the negative points come into play when something goes awry and you need support, or someone to talk to, and the only thing you can do is put a message in the slack channel and wait ...

PROS

There are many things about the system that are great. The API and the documentation are excellent. The API is extremely robust, and the platform itself is easily navigable to perform actions manually. The ability to vet users by creating verified customer records is excellent as well. The initial sales conversation is great as well, and pretty much all expectations are answered. Even afterwards, having dedicated account managers and a dedicated slack channel are great.

CONS

Getting through the legal review is an arduous process. Afterwards, support through the slack channel is a bit slow. There is no phone based support. After the phone conversations with sales, you cannot call them back for support. There is no phone based customer support. There is no phone based technical support.

Ricky

Financial Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2021

Good information

Fantastic, it’s been a enormous support to our project

PROS

Consistently, robust, flexible! Prepared for challenging

CONS

We feeling so good with this software because always adapt to our needs

Reason for choosing Dwolla

100% I choose Dwolla over stripe

Vendor Response

Ricky, Thank you for your review of the Dwolla API. We appreciate you sharing your personal experience with our product and look forward to our continued work together. - The Dwolla Team

Replied December 2021

Nicholas

Marketing and Advertising, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2020

Dwolla Review Nick Day

Dwolla has been great in the four years I have been using it as our payment software.

PROS

Dwolla is the payment software I use to receive and send payments for work related services. We pay contractors and part time employees through Dwolla as it is easier to keep track of.

CONS

If dwolla could transfer money quicker that would be better because currently it takes about a week after your payment gets submitted to see it in your bank.

Reason for choosing Dwolla

Free to use and easier to manage

Jessica

Retail, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2020

Saved me a ton of time!

PROS

I was spending a ton of time issuing payments to our customers each week. We needed a solution that would integrate easily into our existing flow and Dwolla fit the bill. It was easy to implement and our customers are enjoying a more streamlined process for receiving their payments. Dwolla has also provided us with a more flexible payout timeline as customers are requesting their payouts rather than me issuing them on a predefined timeline. We are seeing balances sit for longer periods of time as customers wait for a higher balance prior to requesting a payout. This is a win-win for both sides.

CONS

Most of our customers have not heard about Dwolla so it has taken a bit of educating them to ensure the payment process is safe and secure.

Micah

Financial Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2022

Customer Support has room for improvement

The support team is not very cooperative.

PROS

We are a fan of all the services that Dwolla provides.

CONS

The customer support process could be improved. It would be nice to see a list of issues we have reported in the past. I have reported some serious issues in the past, where the support rep has told me that everything is working as normal, when in fact there were issues. It seems that the average Dwolla support rep is not very interested in providing support. It is time consuming to explain how Dwolla works to a Dwolla rep.

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed October 2018

Features good for leasing companies, ok for startups

Customer service has been prompt, but mistakes have still been made by the dwolla team in processing some transactions. The dev team at Dwolla has been very helpful and have offered very good advice. The price is below the competition but not sure the hassle to our customers is worth the savings.

PROS

The software allows for ACH transfers in a API at a reasonable cost.

CONS

API document had several errors that we had to inform Dwolla about, also not as easy to integrate as advertised. Since I believe their clients are generally leasing or real estate companies, the checks they do on our customers is not ideal. Dwolla said they regularly send customers below the age of 26 in document or retry status, for a tech app, those customers will never come back due to the hassle of the dwolla process.

Mike

Pharmaceuticals, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2021

Easy to Integrate and Work With

PROS

The API services provided by Dwolla have been reliable. In the 3 years we have used them since going live we have not had any major system issues and have had no downtime in our solutions due to any service outages from Dwolla

CONS

No major cons. We had a challenging and new use case for them to implement and didn't have any major issues when deploying

Brittany

Farming, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed March 2019

User Experience

Overall, Dwolla does what we need right now and has been great with supporting our business transactions; however, I do worry about scaling with Dwolla's limited external user support.

PROS

I like how Dwolla interfaces with our platform and streamlines our payment process for customers.

CONS

The verification process can take awhile and if there's an issue with user's verification (i.e. blurry document image, mismatched information, etc.) Dwolla doesn't notify the the user and help explain the issue. There's still a lot involvement on our side (as Dwolla's customer) to look into the issue, troubleshoot it and help the user make the correction). Overall, Dwolla doesn't really account for user errors. I'm hoping this functionality is in Dwolla's product roadmap, because I can't imagine scaling our business using Dwolla with it's current functionality . Also, the micro deposit verification method and time it takes to transact a payment from one customer to another seems too long when there is clearly the technology with other products to do even instant payments. Any way to tighten this window would be ideal.

Anoop

Farming, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2019

API was too granular. Customer service was fantastic.

The customer service was fantastic. Shoutout to @coolstorycory.

PROS

Was able to get transfers working the way we needed it to work.

CONS

Not enough abstraction. Was exposed to - and had to deal with - too much detail. The API was waay too granular. On each "webhook", had to do multiple calls to the api to resolve various attributes associated with the transaction. Biggest issue was that it took some doing to resolve subsequent webhooks to find out which "parent" transaction the webhook was for.

Richard

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2022

Excellent Software

PROS

Very easy to use. User interface is great and very intuitive. Customer service is very helpful and responsive as well

CONS

Initial implementation with our system was a tedious process but that is usually the case with financial software like this

Christie

Insurance, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2020

Super fast integration

PROS

Dwolla's new Pay as You Go set up is a great way to implement ACH payments quickly and without having to commit to any annual contracts. We were able to get integrated in about a week's time, and the solution has scaled alongside our business nicely.

CONS

The PAYG feature is new, so initially the cost structure was quite high. We ended up staying because of the PAYG option.

Alexander

Retail, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY