User Review Highlights

Overall Rating

4.33

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

4

Customer Support

4.5

Value for money

4

Functionality

4

  • icon"Once you set it up it is super easy to use. Sadly, they are getting rid of the Transfer function which is a nice feature."
  • icon"I was spending a ton of time issuing payments to our customers each week. We needed a solution that would integrate easily into our existing flow and Dwolla fit the bill."
  • icon"Reliable platform that you can integrate with ease."
  • icon"Was exposed to - and had to deal with - too much detail. The API was waay too granular."
  • icon"Therefore we decided to start with the “pay as you” go option and then planned to migrate once we were doing a higher volume of payments."
  • icon"I dislike that micro deposits can take a little longer than expected to post some days."

Browse all Dwolla Reviews

  • Have you used Dwolla and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a Review

Apply Filters:

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

Showing 1 - 25 of 40 reviews

Alexander

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

January 2022

Plug-and-play integration, Fast go-live

At Glean, our goal is to power finance teams to spend intelligently - analyzing the rich data that is available in invoices and other documents to help companies understand what they're spending on and opportunities to both save and supercharge their business. We offer a modern, smart AP process built on a foundation of insights and analytics - which means payments is a core component of the product. We set out to find a B2B payments partner, and Dwolla's expertise combined with years of experience in the space made them a perfect fit. The integration was plug-and-play, the support has been excellent, and we were able to go-live very quickly - providing our customers with an easy-to-use and effective payments experience through our partnership. Having a partner means that you also benefit from their roadmap as well - in our case, having the flexibility of increasing our ACH limits, turning on next-day payments, and exploring new rails like RTP, are all ways that Dwolla continues to innovate and make us look really good with our customers.

Pros

- They have a battle-tested product, with years of B2B payments expertise - The integration was plug-and-play, allowing us to go-live with a very aggressive time-table - Their support is fantastic, and is always available if we have questions - They are constantly release new features and continuing to innovate, which we directly benefit from (allowing us to offer a best-in-class payments experience)

Cons

- Dashboard UI is a bit unintuitive for users - Would be nice to have more automation in the KYB process

Gray

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

July 2022

Great product if it fits your specific needs.

Dwolla has been a wonderful and key integration to our product. They fill in a gap in the market of being a low-cost, reliable, secure and scalable solution for needing to do many ACH transfers via api. They also have really strong customer service which I can't express enough how impactful that has been for us.

Pros

Really great customer service which is the biggest differentiator for us. Also, extremely low cost per transaction, and an api-first approach that fits our needs. API is well-documented, has good uptime, good rate limits, and good response times. KYC verification is also a well-done and reliable layer once you iron out with customer service the process of handling outliers. They also have some helpful integrations with other platforms.

Cons

There is limited functionality in their dashboard which is fine, but there are many things that can only be done through the api so prepare to build out a lot of internal-only api calls. Also, bank to bank transfers flow through a digital wallet layer which is in some ways helpful and in other ways a little harder to handle in terms of tracking status and handling status updates.

Richard

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

4

March 2021

Dwolla Pay as You Go option has been a nightmare for us.

90% negative at this point.

Pros

Payment facilitation between our clients and their clients.

Cons

I was happy to learn that Dwolla had recently added a “pay as you go” option. This would allow our clients to now send payments to their clients as a referral incentive. We obviously don’t want to spend $2k/mo for their “scale”package as we will gradually be processing more and more payments over time. Therefore we decided to start with the “pay as you” go option and then planned to migrate once we were doing a higher volume of payments. We built out everything required with api’s and learned they needed us to submit an application before we could submit our mobile apps to the apple App Store. We submitted that several weeks ago and needed them to respond on an urgent timeline as our clients had urgent needs for their mobile apps to be released. We have contacted their support with zero response and have let them know of the urgency of the situation and it’s been crickets. (It’s still just sitting in their queue) Anyway, hoping to salvage a relationship here, as we like the functionality. Just incredibly disappointed with the customer service options.

Response from Dwolla

Mr Bitton, Thank you for reaching out to Dwolla and sharing the issues you have experienced. We are sorry that we have failed to connect with you recently and look forward to providing you with a better experience. An account representative has reached out to the email address on file. The Dwolla Team

Replied April 2021

Doris

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

June 2022

WILLPORT comments

Overall, we are a happy customer.

Pros

Customer service is excellent. Always have a great support team. The software was easy to implement and use.

Cons

We were finally able to install same day ACH which helped us stay competitive. The DWOLLA drivers lisc uploads do not work well and fail due to "blurry"80 % of the time. This is a major customer service complaint. Due to fraud, we layered in another system PASSBASE which does a better job at screening. WE wish we could set personal transfer limits. THe platform is set at a 3k limit, but we have users that could be raised with no fraud risk.

Reasons for choosing Dwolla

We could build the user experience around the platform (Like scheduling future payments or recurring payments. You can add a voice message to your money transfer).

Micah

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

4

April 2022

Customer Support has room for improvement

The support team is not very cooperative.

Pros

We are a fan of all the services that Dwolla provides.

Cons

The customer support process could be improved. It would be nice to see a list of issues we have reported in the past. I have reported some serious issues in the past, where the support rep has told me that everything is working as normal, when in fact there were issues. It seems that the average Dwolla support rep is not very interested in providing support. It is time consuming to explain how Dwolla works to a Dwolla rep.

Richard

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

March 2022

Excellent Software

Pros

Very easy to use. User interface is great and very intuitive. Customer service is very helpful and responsive as well

Cons

Initial implementation with our system was a tedious process but that is usually the case with financial software like this

Joe

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Retail

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

March 2022

Dwolla

Pros

The ease of integration matched with the low cost to process multiple ACH payments twice a week make this a great product.

Cons

The inability to process IAT or international payments.

Alexander

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Retail

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

July 2022

Dwolla is an incredible platform for ACH Processing

I would highly recommend Dwolla for ACH processing. They have a very robust platform and incredible customer support.

Pros

Dwolla has superb APIs for processing ACH payments of our customers. They also have the very best customer support. They have rapid turnaround and I know that when I send them a query I will get an immediate answer. I have used their competitors and their customer support was none existent.

Cons

I would like better reporting tools on their site.

Reasons for switching to Dwolla

Customer support and integration APIs.

Anonymous

Company size: 11-50 employees

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2018

Great Service with Room to Improve

Bottom line, would not be in business if it were not for Dwolla <3 Our plan is to have over 100,000 payments per week spread all over the US, and this could NOT happen without Dwolla.

Pros

Once you set it up it is super easy to use. Sadly, they are getting rid of the Transfer function which is a nice feature.

Cons

Seems like there should be a Freemium model for startups with less that 100 transactions per month, then have a 100 to 1,000 price; 1,001 to 5,000 transactions per month price, and then an all you can eat price.

Anonymous

Company size: 11-50 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

December 2019

Scalable service with fantastic customer service

An amazing support team that over delivers on an amazing customer experience.

Pros

Reliable platform that you can integrate with ease.

Cons

Nothing wrong with using Dwolla to date!

Brian

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

December 2021

Dwolla is a great payment processing partner for ACH Payments

Dwolla has been the most helpful and customer service focused vendor I have ever worked with. This is no exaggeration, I am in regular contact with our customer success rep who responds regularly with in minutes of asking a question. Additionally, I have frequently been asked to contribute to discussions with their product teams and roadmap teams. I believe Dwolla truly values their customers opinions and feedback, they have always been quick to respond to any questions or concerns, and are frequently proactive when reaching out to ask my opinion on new features and functionality.

Pros

The number one pro for Dwolla is their customer service, we typically get answers in minutes when we have questions about anything in their API, or a question about a payment that was processed. Dwolla's API Documentation, and support documents are top notch easy to read, and easy to understand.

Cons

There isn't much, I could say that I don't like about the software, but the admin dashboard portal could use a little attention to make it more robust. However Dwolla is in the process of making improvements to this area, and they even reach out to me and other customers to find out how they can best improve the Dashboard.

Reasons for choosing Dwolla

Dwolla was the only product that offered transfer limits, and pricing that was in line with our business needs.

Response from Dwolla

Brian, We wanted to send a sincere thank you for leaving a robust review that outlines your team's experience with Dwolla and our services. We appreciate your continued contributions to helping us better service you and our other clients. We are never done. Our team of professionals looks forward to working closely with you!

Replied December 2021

Aalok

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2018

Great software, great API, marred by mixed quality customer service

Overall the experience is good. Using Dwolla as a system for sending and receiving automated payments via ACH is the primary goal and purpose. Having implemented the API, we have achieved those goals. Also having our customers go through verification and becoming verified customer records solves a major point for us as well. That said, the negative points come into play when something goes awry and you need support, or someone to talk to, and the only thing you can do is put a message in the slack channel and wait ...

Pros

There are many things about the system that are great. The API and the documentation are excellent. The API is extremely robust, and the platform itself is easily navigable to perform actions manually. The ability to vet users by creating verified customer records is excellent as well. The initial sales conversation is great as well, and pretty much all expectations are answered. Even afterwards, having dedicated account managers and a dedicated slack channel are great.

Cons

Getting through the legal review is an arduous process. Afterwards, support through the slack channel is a bit slow. There is no phone based support. After the phone conversations with sales, you cannot call them back for support. There is no phone based customer support. There is no phone based technical support.

Ricky

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

December 2021

Good information

Fantastic, it’s been a enormous support to our project

Pros

Consistently, robust, flexible! Prepared for challenging

Cons

We feeling so good with this software because always adapt to our needs

Reasons for choosing Dwolla

100% I choose Dwolla over stripe

Response from Dwolla

Ricky, Thank you for your review of the Dwolla API. We appreciate you sharing your personal experience with our product and look forward to our continued work together. - The Dwolla Team

Replied December 2021

Nicholas

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

November 2020

Dwolla Review Nick Day

Dwolla has been great in the four years I have been using it as our payment software.

Pros

Dwolla is the payment software I use to receive and send payments for work related services. We pay contractors and part time employees through Dwolla as it is easier to keep track of.

Cons

If dwolla could transfer money quicker that would be better because currently it takes about a week after your payment gets submitted to see it in your bank.

Reasons for choosing Dwolla

Free to use and easier to manage

Jessica

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Retail

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

September 2020

Saved me a ton of time!

Pros

I was spending a ton of time issuing payments to our customers each week. We needed a solution that would integrate easily into our existing flow and Dwolla fit the bill. It was easy to implement and our customers are enjoying a more streamlined process for receiving their payments. Dwolla has also provided us with a more flexible payout timeline as customers are requesting their payouts rather than me issuing them on a predefined timeline. We are seeing balances sit for longer periods of time as customers wait for a higher balance prior to requesting a payout. This is a win-win for both sides.

Cons

Most of our customers have not heard about Dwolla so it has taken a bit of educating them to ensure the payment process is safe and secure.

Mike

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Pharmaceuticals

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2021

Easy to Integrate and Work With

Pros

The API services provided by Dwolla have been reliable. In the 3 years we have used them since going live we have not had any major system issues and have had no downtime in our solutions due to any service outages from Dwolla

Cons

No major cons. We had a challenging and new use case for them to implement and didn't have any major issues when deploying

Brittany

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Farming

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

March 2019

User Experience

Overall, Dwolla does what we need right now and has been great with supporting our business transactions; however, I do worry about scaling with Dwolla's limited external user support.

Pros

I like how Dwolla interfaces with our platform and streamlines our payment process for customers.

Cons

The verification process can take awhile and if there's an issue with user's verification (i.e. blurry document image, mismatched information, etc.) Dwolla doesn't notify the the user and help explain the issue. There's still a lot involvement on our side (as Dwolla's customer) to look into the issue, troubleshoot it and help the user make the correction). Overall, Dwolla doesn't really account for user errors. I'm hoping this functionality is in Dwolla's product roadmap, because I can't imagine scaling our business using Dwolla with it's current functionality . Also, the micro deposit verification method and time it takes to transact a payment from one customer to another seems too long when there is clearly the technology with other products to do even instant payments. Any way to tighten this window would be ideal.

Anoop

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Farming

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE