All Helcim Reviews

1-23 of 23 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Chaya

Retail, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2021

Simply great merchant services

i absolutely love using Helcim. i have used many other platforms in previous jobs, and not one matches the level of customer service which Helcim provides. coupled with the fairly easy to use system and setup, I believe Helcim is one of the best, definitley the best for the price point, which I was just informed has been removed!

PROS

fairly easy to set up and use, although if I didnt have experience setting up pos systems it might have been slightly more challenging. in my opinion the absolute best part of Helcim is their customer service. whenever I hit a bump in the road, I just called customer service and an agent was able to walk me through it.

CONS

i dont have any real cons that come to mind. maybe additional features when customizing invoices and receipts would be a cool option.

Reason for choosing Helcim

from my research Helcim seemed like the best option. plain and simple. having used square, and lightspeed in the past, I knew that i was not a fan of their systems even though they were highly rated. I wanted to try something new and what was most important to me when doing my research was the customer service aspect as I have found in the past this is where most of the merchant companies severely lack. Helcim appeared to be the best reviewed for that aspect and I am thrilled to say they have not disappointed.

Vendor Response

Thank you, Chaya, for expressing your feelings about Helcim's unique value in the merchant services industry. We feel the same! Customer service, low fees, and high value for you and your business are what drive our mission - that merchants would love everything you experience as you partner with Helcim.

Replied May 2021

Leah

Arts and Crafts, 1 employee

Used monthly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2021

Good software -- slightly confusing user interface, but terrific support staff.

So far, really good. The support staff are TERRIFIC -- I had to call a couple of times to figure out how to do things, but they were very fast and efficient at getting me rolling and moving ahead, and were very professional and polite.

PROS

Once I understood how to do things, it all worked out very well.

CONS

The user interface is a bit confusing, and sometimes seems like the processes are a bit redundant.

Reason for choosing Helcim

Less expensive, and a business friend recommended them. So far, I'm really liking the support, low fees, and most of the user screens.

Reasons for switching to Helcim

PayPal was really frustrating me: impossible to reach support staff at all, and when I did, they were surly and rude. They charge a fortune for the service per transaction, and won't help you do anything or fix anything without a 10 to 14 day delay in the mix. On top of that, I couldn't deal with US customers without making them pay a wire transfer fee. And to boot, transfers to my bank account took several days each time unless I paid an extra fee. After three years of this, I decided enough was enough and started shopping around.

Vendor Response

We're happy you switched to Helcim and we're proud to serve you, Leah!

Replied April 2021

Kelly

Luxury Goods & Jewelry, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed May 2021

Terrible card terminal, but a fantastic company!

PROS

I've done quite a bit of shopping around and have yet to find any card processing company that has lower or more comprehensive rates. On the rare occasion I or my staff have had to call customer service, we've had a very short wait to talk with a live person, and our issue was always easily remedied. I also appreciate that Helcim customer support were always careful to not share my personal information with my staff.

CONS

By far, my least favorite thing about using Helcim has been the card terminal itself. I've use a couple different ones, and they're rather clunky and tricky for our clients to use. Even walking our client through each step, they'd still often make a mistake and have to start over because they'd hit the wrong button.

Reason for choosing Helcim

Recommendation from a fellow business owner, great processing rates.

Reasons for switching to Helcim

I couldn't bare having my clients leaving with their last impression of their experience at my studio being frustration. Changing to a more intuitive terminal with a touchscreen has also drastically raised how much clients tip us.

Vendor Response

We're glad to hear your customer service experience was top notch while enjoying low rates. Thank you for sharing, Kelly. Also, thank you for your feedback on the card terminal. You give us guidance on how to improve as we seek to improve the transaction experience for merchants and their customers. We have new terminals launching soon with more upgrades and options for merchants coming in the future.

Replied June 2021

Donald

Retail, 2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2021

Ease of Payments

We are brand new to this product but have used mobile software in the past, while the other software works o.k. their customer service leaves a lot to be desired, I called on my very first day of using this product and the customer service was outstanding, [SENSITIVE CONTENT] was amazing, very patient, answered my questions and walked me through all the different services offered. In 20 years of processing credit cards I have never had such an incredible experience. I know it was my first day and my first experience with their customer service but my mom also told me "if your relationship (business or personal) starts off bad it will most likely end bad" based off this I'm confident my relationship with Helcim is going to be outstanding

PROS

The application and approval process was quick and easy, had approval with 24 hours

CONS

A little more difficult to navigate around until you get used to it. Does not offer same day funding like most other mobile applications.

Reason for choosing Helcim

Price / customer service

Reasons for switching to Helcim

Pricing / customer service

Vendor Response

We're so proud to provide our merchants top shelf customer service. Thank you so much, Donald, for sharing your experience after switching to Helcim!

Replied August 2021

Paul

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2021

Customer Service second to none

My credit card reader was displaying a fault message so I reached out to the Helcim team to find a solution. I talked to [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] in the Customer Service department and he immediately had an answer to solve my problem. [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] walked me through the replacement process, made the necessary calls to get a new unit and most importantly kept me updated to his progress. The replacement unit was delivered to me less than 24 hours after my initial call to Helcim. Now that’s service !!! The Helcim team has set standards in customer service that more companies could take valuable lessons from.

PROS

The software is an integral part of my business and is reliable, well thought out and has an easy to understand interface for myself and for my customer when they are paying.

CONS

The software has been well thought out. No issues.

Vendor Response

Being an integral, reliable partner for your business is core to how Helcim strives to partner with you. Thanks for sharing your feedback Paul!

Replied April 2021

megan

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed September 2022

Complete mess

This company created a complete mess for me in the end, but even from the very start there were so many issues and I was constantly contacting support. The main issue however was when I processed a declined transaction a second time (because I thought I may have done something wrong the first time), and they froze my account AND CANCELLED THOUSANDS OF DOLLARS IN TRANSACTIONS because it triggered some kind of fraud alert. They didn't even send cancellation notifications to my clients or me, so I had to trust that these transactions were actually cancelled and had to contact all my clients to explain the situation and ask them to pay again using a different method. I still don't have access to my account with Helcim, even though I responded to all of their verification emails and communicated with their team on numerous accounts. I wasted a huge amount of time and damaged my reputation with my clients due to Helcim's poor way of dealing with the situation

PROS

I liked their lower fees than Stripe, Square, etc

CONS

Many implementation issues, and they cancelled thousands of dollars in transactions without a decent explanation or resolution of the issue.

Reasons for switching to Helcim

I switched from stripe due to lower fees, but now I'm going back

Vendor Response

Hello Megan, Thank you for your feedback, we're sorry for any inconvenience caused. We can see from our notes that a member of our Trust and Safety team reached out to address the concerns you outlined in your review. The fraud alert was triggered due to a number of details specific to that transaction. As a financial service, we take the financial security of our merchants and their customers very seriously and from time to time this may mean we need to perform additional due diligence. Our team works hard to be proactive in these situations in reaching out to the business with further information and to work quickly to resolve these issues. We understand this process may have been frustrating and wish you and your business all the best. - The Helcim team

Replied November 2022

Carla

Retail, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2021

Always There

Sales are increased with having Debit/Credit so easily available. When you phone you always get a live, breathing body.

PROS

Plug it in and away you go. We are a seasonal business so have to reorder every year. This year I forgot to order called in a mad panic. Within 4 days the machine was here, plugged in and processing sales.

CONS

Do not come with a manual or any instructions.

Reason for choosing Helcim

Pricing, customer service, support

Reasons for switching to Helcim

Pricing, customer service, support

Vendor Response

We're glad to see Helcim is working for you in speed and savings, Carla. We appreciate your recommendation!

Replied May 2021

Eleanor

Construction, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2021

Great Customer Support

Anytime I have had occasion to speak with support, they have always been most helpful.

PROS

The software is easy to use, easy to understand.

CONS

Can't really think of anything that I don't like.

Reason for choosing Helcim

Overall pricing and no need to have hardware to process credit cards.

Vendor Response

Thank you for your recommendation, Eleanor!

Replied May 2021

Katy

Financial Services, 10,000+ employees

Used monthly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2022

Do everything in one place

PROS

The terminals you get are reliable and payment issues are very rate. Helcim also supports a subscription method. You can set-up accepting pre-paid cards easily.

CONS

I can see how the processing fees can be a deterrent to a lot of people. I think Helcim is a great product, but too expensive at the current pricing.

Vendor Response

Hi Katy, Thank you so much for reaching out! We're so happy you're enjoying using our card reader and platform features. Thank you for the feedback on our pricing model, we use interchange plus pricing which means that we charge the wholesale pricing set by the card types themselves plus a small margin on top. This means you're only ever paying based on the card brand and types that your customers are using. This pricing model saves business owners on average 22% compared to flat rate models. If you have any questions about this at all please don't hesitate to either email our team on help@helcim.com or by calling +1 877-643-5246. Thank you so much again for choosing to partner with us! - The Helcim team

Replied November 2022

Al

Arts and Crafts, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed May 2021

Easy to use and great tech support

Great.

PROS

Ease of use and pricing. Also low fees!!

CONS

Trouble linking receipt printer to tablet.

Reason for choosing Helcim

Low fees.

Vendor Response

We appreciate your feedback, Al. Thank you!

Replied May 2021

Eloisa

Retail, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed November 2022

long time customer review

PROS

It was easy to use and it was a Canadian company

CONS

I have been a long time customer of Helcim since 2017 and chose them because they supported small business and are Canadian. I had never realized there was a problem with this company until I tried to close my account with them more recently...I have been paying a monthly fee of $20 which I had assumed was my current Helcim account that we had asked to close recently in [SENSITIVE CONTENT]. I spoke with someone in August and was told the account would be closed. In [SENSITIVE CONTENT] I realized I was still being charged for this account. I called Helcim again asking them why the account had not been closed and why I had been charged every month for a service that we were no longer using. To which I was told that they'd made an error but would reimburse my money asap and that my account was finally closed. At the time, In addition to this I also discovered that I was also being charged an additional monthly fee for another account we used to have that was supposed to be closed in 2018 !? it was closed at the time because we stopped using physical terminals for debit cards and switched to a single virtual account. When I asked the agent about being reimbursed for this charge he said he'd get back to me and never did... I have been charged every month since 2018 for an account that didn't exist anymore !!!!???? And I'm still being charged again this month [SENSITIVE CONTENT] for the account I had asked to be closed in [SENSITIVE CONTENT]... disappointed.

Reason for choosing Helcim

because they were a canadian company that seemed decent for small business

Vendor Response

Hi Eloise, Thank you for your feedback, we're sorry for any frustration and inconvenience caused. Our team has been in touch to confirm that the compensation for your account remaining open for 2 months with us will be reimbursed to you by the end of this month. In regards to the account you've been charged for since 2018, it appears this was with a separate payments company and not associated with Helcim in any way. We recommend you reach out to them in order to get this matter resolved. We're sorry to lose you as one of our merchant partners and wish you and your business all the best going forward. The Helcim team

Replied November 2022

Michael

Media Production, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed July 2023

Avoid Helcim!

Helcim terminals can be connected via USB to a PC, or connected via Bluetooth to a smartphone. At first, we connected them to our PCs, but the printers were never able to print correct receipts. They printed incorrectly formatted receipts that were very hard to read and interspersed with random garbage. We were assured by Helcim that they were working on a solution. But solutions never came and we would go weeks without hearing anything, and when I'd contact them again, we would just get more canned emails telling us to uninstall/reinstall/update/reset.... but to no avail. After a few months of being forced to print receipts on our regular full page printer, we were directed by Helcim to try using a IOS smartphone connected to the terminal and printer via Bluetooth. This worked, Yay! But this involved asking staff to use their personal phones. Understandably, not all were willing to do this, so our Vancouver location printer went unused. But printer problems were only part of the headaches. The Helcim app, required near constant updating, and always lost it's connection if another transaction wasn't done within ~30 min. We would often have our clients wait while the app had to reconnect to the terminal (often 1-3 min!). Lastly, I was never able to connect my OnePlus Android phone to the terminal or printer, so when my employee with his Apple phone was away, I had to log in to the PC and print large receipts.

PROS

Unfortunately, not much at this point.

CONS

Their terminals and printers are painful to use.

Reason for choosing Helcim

Canadian company and competitive prices

Ravineel

Non-Profit Organization Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2021

Amazing Customer Support

My overall experience using the software is amazing. Even when I get stuck in issues, a quick call to customer support and getting in touch with a representative can help alleviate many troubles.

PROS

The software offers a lot of flexibility and features for our organization to use in various processes that we have established.

CONS

I really don't have anything I dislike about the software.

Vendor Response

Helcim is proud to provide your organization flexibility and valuable features. We're proud to partner with The Film and Video Arts Society of Alberta; thanks for submitting your feedback, Ravi!

Replied May 2021

Les

Automotive, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2021

Helcim is best value for our needs

When needed, customer support is very prompt and friendly, always seem to be available when you might need assistance

PROS

Everything one may normally need is there in the menu, sometimes tech support is needed, but usually just to show you where to go to get what you need.

CONS

Have not found one thing I dislike about this software.

Reason for choosing Helcim

I feel very strongly that the pricing is fair

Reasons for switching to Helcim

Very fair pricing, prompt set-up and on going excellent customer service

Vendor Response

Thank you for your commendation, Les!

Replied May 2021

Amy

Architecture & Planning, 2-10 employees

Used monthly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2021

Excellent Customer Service

I had a couple of ‘how-to’ questions so I contacted Helcim. The agent was helpful and professional making sure I had the I needed and offering to talk me through how to make the changes myself if I needed to in the future! He was terrific! Thank have recommended Helcim to other business owners because their service is exceptional- from the software, to support team to pricing- they cannot be beat!

PROS

The software is very intuitive and works well on our pc and on our iPad tablet for trade shows. We can process transactions with ease and confidence!

CONS

Our invoice template looks great but the footer statement thanking the customer for their business always rolls over to the next page. I would like to adjust the page margins just a little so it will fit on the invoice page. There may be a way but I haven’t figured it out yet. Or a ‘fit to 1 page’ option would be great!

Vendor Response

Hello Amy, It's amazing to know that Helcim is helping your business be flexible in receiving payments. We love to hear how our team has helped you. And thank you for recommending Helcim! Your Helcim Guru will be in touch shortly to assist you with adjusting the format of your invoices. Thank you for your feedback, Amy! The Helcim Team

Replied February 2021

Ed

Retail, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2021

The Best

wish I had found Helcim years ago!

PROS

Easy to use, Transparent fees, Great support, Cut the cost buy 60% from the last processor,

CONS

Could not be integrated with my POS .

Reason for choosing Helcim

Cost

Reasons for switching to Helcim

Cost

Vendor Response

Saving your business money is what Helcim is all about - so you are in the best position to compete and thrive! Thanks for sharing, Ed.

Replied May 2021

David

Food & Beverages, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2021

Excellent Customer Support

PROS

For the most part Heclim's feature set covers what we need - where they really hit it out of the park is with support. Have always received prompt and useful technical assistance from their team.

CONS

We have a fairly complex environment and so Helcim doesn't do everything we need from it but that is overcome with supplementary software.

Vendor Response

David, thank you so much for sharing your experience with Helcim!

Replied July 2021

David

Religious Institutions, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING: