All LawPay Reviews

1-25 of 110 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Christopher

Verified reviewer

Law Practice, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2021

PAYed

PROS

What can one say about a product that literally gets you paid faster? Simplifies our relationships with our clients makes their lives frictionless makes our lives processing payments seamless.

CONS

Maybe a point off the fees but really it does its job exceptionally well it's seamless there's nothing bad about it. The client service is excellent.

Rachel

Law Practice, 2-10 employees

Used monthly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2019

Simple and functional

LawPay makes it super easy for us to take card payments. It replaced PayPal, which isn't suited to the kind of accounting we have. LawPay is specifically designed to work with legal bookkeeping software.

PROS

LawPay blends seamlessly with Cosmolex, so we can process card payments from the software we actually use daily. LawPay automatically generates invoices which we can email to customers. The only time we actually have to go to the LawPay website is to process a refund, which I think we've done once in the approximately three years we've used this software.

CONS

The card swipe function seems redundant to me, but that could just be the nature of our business. It's faster for me to type in card information than swipe - not really a complaint, just a personal preference.

Reasons for switching to LawPay

LawPay worked with our bookkeeping software and made taking card payments much more streamlined.

Curtis

Law Practice, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2019

If you use it right can make it very easy to accept payment

Customer payments. It is a great solution if your business is sending out invoices. The fees that they take whether debt or credit are pretty high.

PROS

The dashboard is good and intuitive. Easy to send out bills and invoices. The payment links are easy to follow and probably the best feature of LawPay.

CONS

The canned emails are not great. You need to re-write with your own specific message or better yet copy the link and send it in an email or as a link in your invoices. The fees are very high and I hate that they send the statements in the mail and they are not accessible online.

Reasons for switching to LawPay

Less intuitive for clients. LawPay when you do the work is easy for clients to pay.

Jennifer

Law Practice, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2024

Overall Love LawPay, 1 Fix

Please help Farrar Law Firm get this 3% processing fee automatically added to all payments made through LawPay. Overall LawPay is wonderful.

PROS

The convenience, the streamlined program allows us to quickly send invoices out for replenishment retainers, I can take payment during client meetings with ease. I'm able to access historical data with no problems. Overall every firm should offer LawPay.

CONS

My only criticism is that LawPay does not automatically add the 3% fee for Farrar Law Firm. I have personally utilized LawPay at multiple firms and this was included at those offices. It is currently up to the staff or the client to figure out what the 3% is and add it up, which has caused problems for us in the past when client's forget and simply pay the figure. Our firm has lost money having to forfeit that 3% because our client didn't know any better or we didn't have a chance to inform them prior to them making the payment.

Arthur

Law Practice, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2019

Wonderful product for getting paid

Fantastic tool. I plan on continuing to use this product as long as I can.

PROS

The ease of setting up this product and the ease of use is second to none. The added bonus is that the associated service fee makes sure that we don't have to spend any more money than is necessary to facilitate a transaction.

CONS

There is really not a whole lot to complain about concerning this product. At first, the user interface was a little tricky to figure out; however, once they updated the software, it cured all problems.

Reasons for switching to LawPay

The service charge from the original product was too much, and the interface was not very user friendly.

Cori

Law Practice, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2022

LawPay saves our firm time and money

LawPay provides an easy way for our firm to get paid, because the interface is so user-friendly, both for our clients and for the firm. Everything is taken care of and transparent when the software is set up, and it takes no time to learn and use. What really makes LawPay superior though is their customer service. Anytime I have a question or want to know how to do something, all I do is call the customer service number and immediately I am connected to a live person in the U.S. who knows where I'm calling from after I give them my name. I never have to wait on hold or answer questions that are as confusing as LSAT logic questions just to get an answer to my question. Also, the person I speak with, even if it's a different one each time, is always able to give me a quick answer or provide an easy to understand explanation.

PROS

It is easy to learn and use and the customer service is second to none.

CONS

Wish there were more ways to customize the reports with specific information

Reason for choosing LawPay

It is specifically for law firms and provides IOLTA account protection and integration

Douglas

Legal Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2024

Excellent Product

A great company that has truly increased our productivity and profits

PROS

Ease of use Increased our bottom line Forward thinking company

CONS

Slightly difficult to reconcile payments with deposits into our account

Reasons for switching to LawPay

Other product was terrible and confusing.

Angie

Law Practice, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2024

My experience with LawPay

It has been a very helpful tool in making collections much faster and smoother for our firm. It is 100% better than using the old school credit card machines, and this gives our clients the ability to do this on their own and at their convenience, whether our firm is open or not.

PROS

It is very quick and easy to take a payment from a client. It is very easy so send them a direct link to pay and easy to link to our website to make a payment and direct them there to complete the process.

CONS

Some clients complain about the limits of making echeck payments. It is a bit complicated how the payments are batched together from the credit card companies when they hit our bank, but I don't think LawPay can control that much, if at all.

Amy

Legal Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2024

LawPay makes payment processing a breeze!

PROS

It's intuitive, easy and quick. Good user-face ease, graphics, and dashboards. Features like QuickBill, mobile payments, and Card Vault provide options to automate and reduce barrier to payment. Additionally, content, webinars and activities update users with new updates and features.

CONS

I cannot think of any drawbacks, truly a recommendable product/service in my mind.

Randel

Law Practice, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2024

The Best Payment Processor an Attorney Could Hope For

Overall, LawPay is an excellent invoice and payment processor. They deposit funds into my accounts promptly and their partnership with Affirm offers an excellent option for payment plans should my clients want them. LawPay is the best option I've found in the payment processor industry.

PROS

LawPay works specifically with attorneys in a way that anticipates and addresses issues unique to the practice of law. The invoices that are sent to clients are pleasant and enable the client to pay with very little friction on their end thereby ensuring prompt payments.

CONS

Scheduling payment plans is a bit cumbersome. I would prefer a more straightforward workflow to schedule payment plans.

Andrew

Law Practice, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2022

Efficient, intuitive credit card processing.

Excellent. The extra time for transferring funds is offset by the integration with out law firm management software and the elimination of extra processing.

PROS

Credit card processing is intuitive. This is especially helpful for the staff that only do occasional entries. Credit Card processing is integrated with the law management software, hence, the credit card processing and the recording to the client account is accomplished in one transaction.

CONS

It takes 48 hours to get the funds into our bank account. This is an extra 24 hours over our previous processor.

Reason for choosing LawPay

Only LawPay offered the integration with our law firm management software.

Reasons for switching to LawPay

The previously used product was an efficient and reliable product; however, it does not integrate with the law firm management software. LawPay does . This means that, with LawPay, we do one transaction to accomplish both the credit card processing and the recording to our client accounts.

Robert

Law Practice, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2019

A great asset for any law practice

Overall a great resource for any practitioner--but especially a solo looking for an affordable and modern solution for merchant processing.

PROS

The flexibility of use of the merchant processor by far is its best asset--from emailing invoices to clients for them to pay via a secure webpage to automated payments for payment plans. Also, the option of linking Lawpay to both operating and trust (IOLTA) accounts is great.

CONS

No option for charging credit/debit cards outside the United States--it is unfortunate that Lawpay has not yet created an option for practices that rely on clients that are foreign nationals or are temporarily abroad. The other more inconvenience more than anything else is that Lawpay's merchant fees are not accessible on the web portal, rather, you have to rely on monthly statements by mail (or check bank statements).

Stephanie

Law Practice, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2022

LawPay Eases Your Mind

PROS

The integration with Clio is very useful for keeping records. Overall it is an easy to use payment platform for both my workplace and our customers. The transaction records are also very easy to understand, and the search feature makes work easier for those who keep records.

CONS

LawPay's integration with Clio could use improvement. Clio seems to have a hard time with keeping up-to-date statuses of things like refunds or payments not linked to a bill sent out from Clio.

Alicia

Law Practice, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2019

Easiest Way for Lawyers to Process Cards

LawPay doesn't have all the features as other processors like Square and Stripe. But with a little creativity (and their customer support is willing to work with you and give you ideas), you can make LawPay work for your practice. Best of all, it works seamlessly with Clio, which makes taking payments from clients who are already established with invoicing very easy.

PROS

Law Pay is the easiest way to process credit cards for lawyers. It's easy to designate between trust accounting and my other accounts. I am never worried that it will be wrong. The funds process pretty quickly. It works seamlessly with Clio.

CONS

You cannot download your monthly statements from the web portal, which is very annoying and makes accounting more difficult. You also cannot sync it with your accounting software. You also cannot do card checks without charging (such as getting a card to secure a free consultation). So it's not a sophisticated software.

Kristi

Law Practice, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2023

Easy Integration to Smokeball

PROS

We invoice through smokeball and then use Lawpay to actually process the payments. Clients pay online, it's a simple process. The clients even have the option to get a loan to pay the bill.

CONS

When we had to integrate a second account - we had to put our clients card information again

Margurite

Legal Services, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2021

Such an easy tool! Nearly impossible to make mistakes!

Our office uses LawPay to allow clients to pay bills, retainers, etc. It has been a great tool in simplifying payment processes and cutting down on lag time, operator and user error, and improving the efficiency of the office. Highly recommend!

PROS

I love how easy it is to make a payment or receive a payment with LawPay. It has been such a lifesaver for the office, because clients can easily pay bills without worrying that a check has been lost in the mail or misrouted, etc. Such a great tool!

CONS

I don't actually have any complaints! I really like the software, and I think anytime I have come across an issue, it was actually in how it was set up for the office and not inherent in the software.

Sidney

Law Practice, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2019

Lawpay

Law pay is so simple to use and fantastic.

PROS

I like that a receipt is automatically emailed to the client and to the attorneys of the firm upon payment being made.

CONS

Clients have said they would like to be able to save payment methods to use each month when they make payments and the software doesn’t allow for that.

Troy

Law Practice, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2022

Amazing Customer Service and Ease of Use

They have consistently improved their software and they've always been responsive to our needs. I would highly recommend. We have used them for years and have had no reason to switch. We really liked their law credit financing option for clients when they rolled out a trial program for it, we would definitely use it again if they implemented it.

PROS

Lawpay looks and feels very professional. We were using square before, which was okay, but lawpay's knowledge of the profession and handling of transactions into iolta trust accounts sets them apart from other services.

CONS

The transaction fees can get pricey, but lawpay seems to be within the industry average.

Hannah

Law Practice, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2020

Great!

Great credit card software.

PROS

Easy to input info. Easy to track payments. Easy to send links to LawPay to clients for credit card payments. Clients express ease of use also.

CONS

For me there are no downsides, its very easy to use.

April

Law Practice, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2022

I love LawPay

We switched to LawPay almost a year ago after trying several different payment processing options. LawPay is by far the easiest to use. The dashboard shows the most recent transactions within the last 30 days. It even tells us in advance when someone's card is about to expire or the account has been closed so that we have the opportunity to reach out to them prior to their scheduled payment date. Additionally, it provides easy to read reports. I am very happy with LawPay.

PROS

Ease of Use Recurrent processing Ease to understand reporting

CONS

There is nothing I don't like about this software