All Stax Reviews

1-25 of 34 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Matt

Verified reviewer

Marketing and Advertising, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed December 2019

We save $1,000's on fees with FattMerchant

Their support is great. I've had dozens of questions and they always get back to me. And they send your payments super fast. Great experience overall.

PROS

Flat rate pricing! Oh man, this is a breath of fresh air. After using stripe and square to process payments we have absolutely loved the simplified pricing structure that Fattmerchant uses. Only paying interchange fees and a fixed monthly rate saves us $100's each month.

CONS

The integrations are weak. We've had to build a few workarounds to get fattmerchant to work with our tech stack but it's been worth it.

Reasons for switching to Stax

Pricing and better customer service. It's nice to work with real humans.

William

Hospitality, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2021

The price is good but it has been a change for me now that they are getting more popular.

It started out as a pleasant surprise but the last year has not been as good. Their business is expanding at a serious pace and they are adding features for the price increases but I do not find value for me or my business in the new features.

PROS

The costs are good and the billing is straightforward. The customer service has been very good but has been slipping the last few years. I referred about 4 other local businesses in my area to Fattmerchant over the years.

CONS

The price keeps going up and I am a 4-month seasonal hospitality business that has been seriously affected by the pandemic. I also know that all prices go up, however, I was told in the beginning that I was in early for their company and my price would stay the same. Whether or not that was a sales tactic so I would give them a chance 5 years ago I do not know. I remembered that statement. A few months ago I got blindsighted with a big increase in my monthly cost. They are working on it but it is 3 months and it is still not resolved. It still is a low-cost merchant provider compared to others but I have a regional restaurant buying club alternative that has been begging me to give them a chance so I may because of this issue.

Reason for choosing Stax

The cost and the phone support was very good during the signup process. I also had an issue within the first few weeks and they straightened it out immediately which made me give them a longer chance. It has been 5 years with them.

Kevon

Accounting, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed April 2024

Don’t use stax

Twice a year I think about looking for a new company but stay because sometimes I’m too lazy to do the work transition to a different company. Customer support when you reach them is OK PCI‘s terrible.

PROS

It’s as good as some of its competitors.

CONS

Customer support and PCI mostly PCI customer support is not convenient though

Reason for choosing Stax

Because I thought it would be better and less expensive … it’s neither but the sales team did well

Reasons for switching to Stax

Because I thought it would be better and less expensive. It’s not markedly either.

Alex

Commercial Real Estate, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed March 2024

Terrible customer service

PROS

I signed up with Payment Depot over 10 years ago with my first business and they were great. I have had multiple companies that utilized payment depot however since Stax bought Payment depot the customer service is non existent. Holds can be hours with no resolution for minor issues that should take 5 min to resolve. Customer service agents have to communicate via email with each other from remote locations. Highly ineffective business model.

CONS

Non existent customer service. Being left on hold for hours at a time.

Randy

Chemicals, 1 employee

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2019

Easy to Use - Customer Service On Point

Being able to keep cards on file and charge them after my lawn services are complete is a lifesaver. It keeps me from having to bill each customer, or chase my money down from now on. Also, the way they charge you for accepting credit cards is extremely clear and one reason I went with them. The larger I get, the more affordable FattMerchant will be as well, since the main cost each month is the flat monthly fee that will never change for you once you sign-up with them.

PROS

Fattmerchant is so easy to use, even to me who has never really used a credit card processor to speak of. The software hasn't been without flaw, but what I like is anytime an issue has come up I email the small team at FattMerchant and they get back to me quickly and work to fix the problem and then update me on their progress. Maybe someday when they get really big this won't be the case, but for right now I am really impressed with their response and customer service. I've already recommended this to one of my friends and will be recommending it more in the future. Plus they give incentives for recommending them, which is nice.

CONS

I wish they had a way where I could send someone a form and not an invoice to collect a card number. I wouldn't even need to be able to see the entire number, but if it could just collect it to be charged in the future. Right now the only way I have to collect a card number is either have the customer pay the first invoice, or have them call me and collect it over the phone, which I don't like. This is really the only thing I wish they would find a solution for though.

Jeff

Apparel & Fashion, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed November 2023

Worst with dealing with Chargebacks

PROS

It works for payment processing works for the most part

CONS

Customer service, especially chargebacks, is horrendous. They use IQ for support which is offshore and they give bad information, don't know how to handle and the system is junk as you cannot respond

Reasons for switching to Stax

Poor customer service from the payment clearing house

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed July 2023

Worst customer service experience

We switched to Stax Payment in sometime in the Spring, attracted by their competitive rates and promising software. But shortly after commencing transactions, our account was put under review, initiating a weeks-long process of supplying requested business documents via email. This froze the majority of our collected funds, causing significant cash flow issues for our small business. We were finally approved after a phone conversation with a representative.Two months later, while I was on vacation, our account was flagged. Despite numerous attempts to contact Stax, including leaving voicemails for the representative who had previously helped us and reaching out to our initial sales rep, we received no response. Ultimately, they terminated our account. This has caused us to scramble to set up another payment processing system. If we were not in a position to have some flexibility in the matter of payment processing, I cannot imagine how we would continue to run our business at the moment. If you are a smaller business that values customer and account support, look elsewhere!

PROS

Software is straightforward and they offered competitive rates.

CONS

Customer and account support. Lack of communication.

Pam

Consumer Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed December 2023

Ripped us out of $20,000

Terrible. Can't talk to anyone when you call other than an answering service who creates a ticket.

PROS

Nothing good to say about it. They were good until they weren't

CONS

Still withholding funds from 11 days ago. Didn't warn me or tell me why until I left multiple support tickets. They needed me to do something to update THEIR new bank info and didn't tell me in advance. Still owe me $20,000 saying it will fund "early next week"

Rebecca

Veterinary, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2019

Great Company

We went from 1 owner to the next. They made the transaction from 1 to the other easy. And the fees are great. My CPA was impressed with how much we saved.

PROS

Easy to use. Customer support was great.

CONS

I Dont have one. No complaints, even when it was a minor issue they fixed it.

Cobren

Consumer Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2019

Professional

The software is amazing; But more than that it is the customer service I have received. the last thing I wanted in a merchant was someone that was inefficient, ineffective and hard to reach. I got NONE of that from Fattmerchant. They treat me like they have a huge privilege in handling my money. That is pretty much unheard of in this industry.

PROS

This software is great. Easy to use, intuitive, and comprehensive with information that matters to you. The thing I like the most about it is the ability to send customers a link to pay there invoice to there phone or email. Great Software

CONS

I have had no issues with this software at this time.

Steve

Hospitality, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed May 2022

Horrible Customer Service - Stay Away!

Negative -100

PROS

10 years ago when we wet up the account it was the price structure.

CONS

They surprisingly increased our monthly fee structure without warning from $49 per month to $199 for 6 Merchant Accounts. No communication back with concern over this matter. No call back no emails back. I tried to cancel and they still charged me for 4-6 months after wards. Still battling to get a refund 7 months after the fact.

Reasons for switching to Stax

Customer Service and Price

Don

Recreational Facilities and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed July 2023

Some Ease of Use but to many problems

Converted from an existing system. Was clear that we needed daily batches and had to work with our current POS system, pricing was Stax Monthly Membership Fee and Wholesale Merchant fee's plus fee per transactions. Stax confirmed in writing yes to everything. Never worked with our POS, Fee's are significantly higher than quoted, batching does not at all match daily transactions processed, dates are intermixed so hard to reconcile. = No support, people will not even talk to you.

PROS

The Stax on line terminal seams to function well. The employees who use this feature have been pleased.

CONS

Reporting is poor, trying to get batch reports and data to reconcile with is horrible (multiple dates and devises are mixed together.). No body wants to work with you to solve problems.

Steve

Retail, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2023

FALSE pricing structure for processing

Customer service is horrible! For example I called twice today to speak with a rep about issues. On hold for about 20-30 mins each time. You are the 4th caller in line .. followed by 2nd caller in line .... followed by your next caller & then ........ NO Representatives to take your call. Please submit your issue online. Which I did 3 times before.

PROS

The processing is supposed to be straight forward & provide a free card machine BUT .....

CONS

BEWARE!!! Their fees are completely misleading!! Been processing with them for a few months now & besides the $99 monthly fee be prepared for ... Chargeback service fee, Monthly Location Fee ...PCI Compliance Fee & something called Minimum Bill Adjustment. We process an $45-60K per month. Look somewhere else in my opinion as I am doing right now.

Shivani

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed July 2023

worst payment processor

I would never use or recommend this company. So dishonest.

PROS

GREAT SALESPEOPLE who give you a song and dance, BUT so very dishonest

CONS

The fee structure was grossly misrepresented. I was told my account was closed in April 2023. They keep taking funds out of my account despite their associate sending me an email stating that my account is closed. Total liars and so dishonest.

Doug

Insurance, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed February 2023

The Fort @ Exit 18 LLC

Your company uses very sly business practices and you should be ashamed of the way your procedures are marketed. You provide a quote and then proceed to start the business without consent of the consumer!!!! I would say that that would be FRAUD in ANY STATE !!! Not to mention that you can't even get ahold of the person that originally quoted the account and get an answering service!!!! I will mention your company to many of my businesses to stay clear of your company!!!

PROS

The woman that quoted us was very nice and upfront and provided us with a competitive quote.

CONS

The company literally moved forward without even our consent. We were upfront with the person who provided the quote and were still gathering additional quotes. I called the number on the e-mail and you get an ANSWERING SERVICE!!!! Noone EVER called me back and got an e-mail stating they will remove our business from their company!! BE VERY AWARE THIS COMPANY HAS LOW MORALS AND VERY UNETHICAL BUSINESS PRACTICES. I WOULDN'T RECOMMEND THIS COMPANY TO MY WORST ENEMY!! TERRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE AND BUSINESS ETHICS AS A WHOLE!!!! BUYER BEWARE!!!!!!

Jonathan

Retail, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed October 2022

Terrible service, fraudulent billing

PROS

Nothing since Staxx payment took over, this used to be a better service before.

CONS

Terrible service and literally fraudulent billing, they're refusing to refund us thousand of dollars after an explicit cancellation request.

Lin

Restaurants, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed April 2023

Terrible system, worst client support

PROS

Not even the fee for the payment we lost.

CONS

No account representative, no Client support

Michael

Professional Training & Coaching, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING: