All OutSystems Reviews

1-25 of 371 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Manish

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2019

Best RAD (Rapid Application Tool) available in the market

I was core .Net developer but when i learned this tool development become fun for me and you feel craving for learning more n more every day. Community is so helpful and full of experts who always motivates you to achieve the best. In few years, i am become tech lead in this technology and passed the professional certification as well. we are in a position to deliver the enterprise level application in few months & customize any feature in few hours. It's flexible enough to implement your ideas into reality.

PROS

You don't need to be technically expert to work on this tool, its easy to learn, if you are logical & having development experience in any technology - all tutorials with practical implementation & study material are available online over the Outsystems Portal. Easy to implement the responsive design with complex features using ready made template & tools available over the forge library. Community with Outsystems experts is 24x7 is available to help you. You will always get best solutions through this community & expert advice's as well. Development is fun with Outsystems, if you have ever worked in .Net or Java you can easily compare the features offered by this Tool like consuming & exposing API's, Integrating with Other systems, Asynchronous services like Timers to process the heavy job or large amount of data. In terms of security, you don't need to take care mush about it, platform itself take care of most the things by simply enabling & disabling it at platform level. In terms of performance, you can easily maintain the multi-tenant application with tons of records. Flexible enough to customize and reuse. Having the option to create your own component using .Net extensions and compile the same in your environment and use it in form of action/functions. No need to have separate Dev-ops team, Outsytems provide the Lifetime Inbuilt tool to manage the release and deployment at single robust platform, also provide the concrete analytical report of production environment.

CONS

There are few restriction while using Outsystems Platform like you cannot play with systems entities or core platform components. Sometimes, it become challenge to migrate data or application from one platform to Outsystems. Performance & scaling can only be achieved only if you are expert in Outsystems otherwise it's difficult to achieve the bench mark for large application.

Reasons for switching to OutSystems

It's fun to work in Outsystems and easy implementation because of available features. It saves your time as compared to any other technology. In today's world time is money and if you want to save it, Outsytems is best option. And most important you will never feel like boring because platform is growing every year and releasing eye catching features every year.

Jane

Legal Services, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2019

Great to use if you can get past implementation

Overall good - the international scale of the business and partner means that we can look to create a global centre of excellence using a single product

PROS

Easy to use to build attractive apps quickly

CONS

Difficult to do an on premise implementation and dealt with disaster recovery

Reason for choosing OutSystems

Easier to work with and more professional. True global scale and experience particularly compared to Fliplet. Interesting roadmap.

Anonymous

201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed November 2018

Suficient

We are using Outsystems to create insurance related apps.

PROS

You can build basic sw in little time SoC is easy to implement Easy to monitor issues

CONS

Search functionality isn't user friendly It "crashes" too many times, specially when detaching eSpace tabs(originating another instance of outsystems) Has the number of components grow inside, lets say an action, the "messier" looks

Jeroen

Utilities, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2019

A great software tool to develop applications, with many new features to come!

I have been using OutSystems from August 20, this year (2019), a bit more than two months now. The way the web courses train you to be an OutSystems developer have been great. In no-time I was put on different projects to start developing.

PROS

Creating applications with such ease, modifying and republishing all the way to production has never been more easy.

CONS

The transparency on the ideas that are supposedly 'on their watchlist', I would like some more information/insight on this.

Reasons for switching to OutSystems

Job switching, my current company uses OutSystems. A new start, a new adventure. The time it took me to 'get started' really astounded me. I can already create great applications.

Curt

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used less than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

Reviewed March 2016

Outsystems Platform for Agile Development

I was hired for a project to help convert a license and permit system from a legacy mainframe system (my expertise) to a web based system. The original plan was to use a Common Off-The-Shelf (COTS) product to do this but realized that the legacy solution was so specific to this organization that it would have taken many millions of dollars to customize the system. When looking for alternatives I found Outsystems and was able to quickly put together a prototype and plan that would give them all the capabilities they needed at a reasonable cost and time.

PROS

1) Learning curve is very quick - after watching the videos I was productive within two weeks. 2) DevOps is built-in - many developers never think about the additional issues and concerns related to deploying fixes and improvements to a working application. The DevOps capabilities of the Outsystems platform removes these concerns. 3) Extensibility is a huge issue with any platform and Outsystems delivers completely in this area. From the Forum components that are available to the ability to write your own extensions in .Net or Java, there is nothing you cannot do with the platform. 4) No lock-in - many enterprise customers are concerned with being committed to a platform 'forever'. The Outsystems no lock-in capability eliminates these concerns.

CONS

1) The built-in menu system is weak - while it's adequate for simple menus it can't do anything complicated. For example, implementing a Mega Menu type of menu is challenging though anything can be implemented with some work. 2) Outsystems is very receptive to ideas from the community but there's no way to know when/if those ideas will ever get implemented - some of the best ideas have been around for over 5 years with no feedback from Outsystems. A rough roadmap of what will be implemented in the future (with no guarantees) would help me plan work to take advantage of those features. 3) Pricing has been a sore point in the community for quite some time. While a base price is listed on their web site, the base price would rarely cover a full enterprise application. Also, pricing is geared to enterprise clients making it almost impossible to be used for small applications.

Vendor Response

Thanks you for taking the time to write such a comprehensive review Curt - it's because of users like you that tell us what is working and what should be improved that our product and company continue to grow and evolve. Thank you.

Replied August 2016

User Profile

Juan Manuel

Verified reviewer

Logistics and Supply Chain, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2020

How we Survived and Then Thrived Through the COVID Crisis with Outsystems

It's been really good experience. We have been working with Outsystems for more than 5 years. At the beginning we had some doubts but now, we do have lots of apps including core business apps. Honestly, without Outsystems, I just cannot imagin how can we would face covid crisis. The market in Mexico changed dramatically, and we needed to create 8 Apps from the scratch in just a few weeks. We were able to do it and Release them to Production. Right now, we are still being market leaders in our Industry.

PROS

Is extreamly easy to: write or reuse code, integrate with different sort or services or platforms, develop a single mobile app and submit it to different platform stores, review Architecture and code best practices and. Also, it has a wide learning portal in which you can find all the training courses COMPLETELY FREE. Because of that, is really easy to onboard rookie developers with not knowledge in Outsystems .

CONS

At the beginning, I did not feel very comfortable with Support team but, now, they got really better. We have a weekly meeting in which we can follow up all of our tickets and issues. The response time is very good.

User Profile

Jon

Verified reviewer

Telecommunications, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2019

So much capability, while still being easy to use

There's so much available to use and so much acceleration available we heavily rely on this platform every day in our organization. Users who are note developers are very pleased with the speed at which we can deliver, the look and feel and how easy it is to give feedback to us as well.

PROS

In short, what I titled above. There is so much available to take advantage of from connectors, prebuilt integrations, screen design accelerators and even user feedback options. There's almost nothing I want that isn't already a part of Outsystems, and if there is I can use custom code integrations as well! I don't know if our team will ever have enough time or project to explore all Outsystems has to offer.

CONS

Some of the training was lacking for some advanced components at first (api creation, etc). That has improved with more training options, but also building more accelerators into the tool. (i.e. enter the url end point and it can automatically create functions and variables for you)

Reason for choosing OutSystems

They were clearly the most comprehensive product, which is what we were looking for.

Reasons for switching to OutSystems

Outdated, and limited functionality

Remco

Verified reviewer

Oil & Energy, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used less than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

Reviewed March 2016

Best experience ever with a development environment

I've used the Outsystems platform for more than 8 years now. Over the years you can see the quality of the platform and speed of development improving. I use the product to improve business processes and to reduce human interaction during processes by automation of repetitive tasks. The problems that can't be solved by the platform directly can always be solved by using a 3rd party extension that can be integrated into the platform. Outsystems can handle all types of applications from single user to large usergroups (more than 3000 concurrent users accessing the same application). I've not yet seen a competitor of Outsystems that works as good or better and has the same or better support (from the company as well as the community). So for me this is still the platform to work with.

PROS

There is not just one thing I like about the Outsystems Platform. I like the ease -of-use to build applications and the speed of deployment to production, The out-of-the-box Analytics to monitor the performance, the quality of the supportdesk and the active community.

CONS

The only thing that I don't like about the platform is the mystery around new versions. I would love to see a roadmap with a timeline for new functionalities and bugfixes. In relation to this I would also like to see from the Development Team which Ideas that are posted on the forum are put on the backlog and which will never be delivered.

Vendor Response

Remco, thank you so much for your review and for ranking OutSystems so high compared to the the competition. We strive to continually deliver better product and services and to really partner with our customers, therefore we really appreciate your support.

Replied August 2016

Balaji

Information Technology and Services, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2023

Low code and No code platform

PROS

I have been using outsystems more than 3 years, its a rapid application development tool, any one can be a good developer in short time of period, and they providing good documents to understand the product. Monitoring and maintaince and deployment are so simple. Evey year they updating the products with new features and i love the new ODC concepts in outsystems.

CONS

I dont have any dislikes, they are in right direction.

User Profile

Aravind

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2023

Why OutSystems Lowcode Platform is on top?

OutSystems support is one of the best timely and quality support i have ever seen. I have lost data in production one time, then support team came into picture and got the data back with their effort.Thanks to that/.

PROS

OutSystems allows us to add new features easily as a plug and play. even though of the addon or plugin is different technology, we can still integrate them with OutSystems .

CONS

They can improve their API features like allowing multiple types as input in REST.

Travis

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2019

The software delivery platform that is all about BUSINESS VALUE!

I have been in the low-code/RAD space for over 16 years, even developing and selling a RAD tool that was targeted at a specific vertical, and nothing checks all the boxes like OutSystems. It is a large system, and it needs to be. When I read how people identify Price as a Con, I felt that they had missed the point. Sure, OutSystems is not inexpensive but the value provided far outweighs the cost, especially to the business users! The time saved by the platform solving your IT problems will most likely cover the cost of the OutSystems License. Simply put, OutSystems takes care of the IT problems and allows you to spend a lot more time with the business solving real business problems!

PROS

I want to talk about the platform! Organizations spend millions of dollars trying to maintain information such as master data, application lists, component usage (jQuery) etc., or the developers and architects must pull this information together in a mad scramble, while interrupting many projects. In seconds, OutSystems can not only identify which applications are using any object, it will also show where it is being used. How many application documents to you think exist that have never been opened after the sign-off? Millions? Multiply that by the hours spent creating them. Millions of wasted hours providing zero business value. OutSystems is the documentation! The OutDoc app is real time app documentation. If you do not like the look of the OutDoc report, change it! Ask your users what drives more value to them: IT people solving IT problems by creating rarely used documents? Or, would they prefer the platform take care of the IT problems while you spend much more time helping them solve real business problems? One Click Deployments: Gone are the days where you spend hours or sometimes days deploying and promoting your applications through each environment every few months. 4 Layer Canvas promotes proper architecture to ensure current and future applications are scalable and maintainable. The Discovery app will identify architecture issues. Without proper architecture and reusable components, you cannot even think about DevOps.

CONS

Lacking the ability to encourage highest quality apps in the Forge App Store. Many of the apps in the Forge App Store are easy to use, very helpful and well documented. However, many of the apps lack documentation or examples, making them very difficult to get full value. Compounding the problem, this often results in having to ask the community how to properly use the app, which is now impacting other people. Many people will say the apps are free, “stop complaining”. I argue that they can be far from free and I would be willing to purchase a well-documented app if I knew it would save time. This might lead to a nice competition within the app store where everyone can win. Searching the content on OutSystems.com needs to be fixed! OutSystems has A LOT of documentation, but the site does a bad job searching it, especially if your search criteria has more than one word. Although in the last couple of days, the search has improved so it is possible this was a addressed. OutSystems isn't perfect, but from a big picture perspective we are splitting hairs at this point. Besides, how many hours of IT projects are spent splitting hairs? The few items mentioned above are fixable and what is great about OutSystems is we can add them to the Ideas list for OutSystems to consider in a future release.

Esther

Management Consulting, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2016

Development Game Changer

The business landscape has rapidly moved to digital operations. To be successful your business needs not just to be resilient, but also to embrace a resilient culture. The technology that supports business operations should be agile enough to embrace the continuous changing market landscape and enable business to move at the speed of change. The Outsystems platform reduces development time by up to 75% and accelerate time-to-market by a factor of three. This provided our organization to cost effectively implement locally developed solutions and other businesses in a significant shortened time. Our main focus is now more on the user interface and interaction, which provides the value expected.

PROS

The speed to develop and making changes to applications developed Development is done logically with very limited hard coding Ease to develop mobile applications and submissions to the app stores Ease to use the native features of devices Built in change management and control of the development and release process with a one-click publish feature Built in security features in the platform Excellent support and community forums Technical aspects very well documented and user friendly The true change and debugging features are invaluable Notification and guidance on dependencies for changes made to modules Cloud hosting option The investment by Outsystems to provide annually new features, functionalities and keeping up to date with technology trends and providing their customers with the tools to easily stay abreast Pre-build modules provided, which eliminates the need to develop commonly used functionality

CONS

Cost in South Africa is expensive due to weak currency and exchange rates Difficult for developers used to hard coding to change their way of thinking to grasp how the platform works. However, this is not a flaw of the platform, but rather a change required in the mindset of traditional developers.

Sujan

Verified reviewer

Hospitality

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2018

Excellent software and very well thought about the end to end process of software development

Eliminates lot of issues encountered in traditional software development. Helps to build really quality applications. Piece of mind after deploying to production.:D

PROS

-Easy to use and built in ui and template gets people up and running in few mins. -Structured development -Built in widgets prevents developers from developing the same components again and again (like pagination, menu bars, navigation and many more) -Focus on solving business problems instead of technical challenges -Code reuse is encouraged as AOs are tied to licensing -Deployment is nothing to worry about. Database scripts, versioning of code and migration all taken care by the platform -Refactoring is piece of cake with TrueChange. -Developing CRUD applications is a breeze but complicated applications can also be developed with ease. -Monitoring and logging taken care by default no setup is needed.

CONS

-Although custom code can be written via integration studio, it would nice if we could write code inside of the service studio itself. -Some features like event based programming or reflection or looping fields of an object could be supported as out of the box features -Updating shared extensions will result in all the applications (that are using the extension) being redeployed -For the mobile apps, it will be good if the apps converted to purely native. (only an opinion) -Could have licensing for individuals (free lancers) :D

HÉLDER

Used free trial

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

Reviewed March 2016

Simple and Powerful!

Build applications fast powerful, change them even faster, accelerating the development with existing resources, simplify the process of change Integrate with all existing systems and data sources and maintain order with the management and analysis The cost to make a change to an application during development increases exponentially with time, complexity and versions With agile methods becoming standard, application development has become a continuous exercise in change quick Productivity OutSystems platform was built to be fast so you can start working immediately Are obtained in applications in less time and with less risk than traditional solutions Speed and Code Combining visual modeling with your code to deliver high-quality applications at the speed your business demands Extending a powerful modeling environment in all layers from the UI to the complex logic for modeling and database processes With a JavaScript UI code, your own CSS classes, Java or C # code, APIs multiple database technologies Development of Multi-Channel It helps reduce the time and cost of development once for all devices Can be created beautiful and advanced UIs that perform well on all platforms, devices and the Web Get engaging experiences with drag and drop simplicity with Open Platform open platform that provides standards-based code and accumulates with extensibility You can extend the visual models with standard or custom code such as JavaScript, Java, C#, SQL, CSS and HTML Integrate with any external database and use APIs rest or SOAP web services for integration with their existing mission-critical systems Enterprise-Grade Platform It is scalable, allowing you to build and manage large portfolios of applications, created by teams of developers working on separate modules simultaneously Scale applications linearly as they grow from hundreds of millions of users It generates highly secure code that passes the audits of large financial and government institutions stricter safety reduced costs Significantly more time, money and resources are often spent on maintenance of an application than is spent on application development To save time and simplify the tasks that are done quickly and simultaneously tested so that the process is easy and fast No Lock-in Most platforms on the market can only be used and changed with the platform built OutSystems is the only platform that offers non-lock in truly can separate Java applications or C#.

Ravi

Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2017

Very Good Product. Very Fast Development.

This product is one of the best cutting edge tool in the market for Rapid Application Development. This product shines if you to want to create web applications or mobile applications in a fast paced manner. There is some learning curve involved if you want to do lot of customizations on the front end but back end business logic implementation should be a piece of cake with lot of training material (videos and documentation) available on outsystem.com

PROS

Rapid Web and Mobile Application Development. You can create a basic web application or mobile application within minutes. Managing Deployments has never been so easy. Managing security framework for an application has never been so easy. Managing environments infrastructure, Load balancing, Elasticity, DB setup and object creation has never been so easy. There are lots of good features that platform provides will definitely overcome some of the cons listed below.

CONS

Heavy customizations in cloud environment is not possible. For example if you want to enable CDC options or Full Text Search Options in SQL Server is not possible.

Christian

Information Technology and Services, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2017

Positively suprised; and that is still going on

Working / developing / creating with the OutSystems platform for a year now .. Sceptic as I always am about the promise of low-code and then "getting a lot of magic" ... OutSystems does a very good job in actually keeping their promise. Yes there is a learning curve but you get into it very fast. Yes it is more for developers than for business people ... but we can now both work together much faster in creating something we need / like. Also very impressed with the deployment process. It is a breeze. And I actually perform updates without sleepless nights because the platform helps me check several dependencies during development but also at deployment time. By the way .... this is platform not a tool. You can use the platform to support companies with a lot of users .. it is serious shit ;-) Only thing that is difficult to get an idea of is what type of license you need. For my client we had to buy additional points because we needed more ... that is of course a bummer ... so OutSystems if you are reading this ... this would help customers ... getting a better estimate of the license they need. But the pro's out weigh the con's by far. Good luck choosing your next platform!

PROS

See my review ... And let's not forget the amazing community that has been very helpfull ... it is alive and kicking

CONS

See my review; difficult to get an idea of the license you need as a starting company

Anonymous

51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2018

Development Platform that brings a new experience and speed of delivery

PROS

really like the idea of being more focused on the business than in the code, but at the same time, if we want/need to be innovative and push our geek-side to create new components and integrations, we can also do it rapidly, using all the C# / Java / Javascript / ... capabilities. This, allied with the greater stakeholder engagement and satisfaction, the fast time to market, speed of change and full lifecycle maintenance and great community and support, are all keys to several successful projects on all kind of industries, top companies and all over the world.

CONS

What I like least about Outsystems is the fact that the licensing price is too high and it could help more the smaller and medium businesses.

Justin

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used less than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE