User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5 / 5

Value for Money

4.5 / 5

Customer Support

4.5 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(235)

235

4 stars

(96)

96

3 stars

(9)

9

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(1)

1

  • Pros

  • "I love the accessibility of the product and the ability to see the devices with ease and no confusion. Awesome with updates and making sure that everything is working as smooth as possible. "

  • "Easy deployment and management along with great asset tracking"

  • "Very fast to support MDM features from Apple. Great support and training. "

  • Cons

  • "Configuration profiles are a mess, but it’s being worked on. Also, please implement more FRs!"

  • "It can be difficult to work through bugs without using sometimes tedious workarounds. The community is helpful, though. "

  • "a little difficult to learn, if you've never used an MDM before, but it's not too bad once you get it set up"

Browse Jamf Pro Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - 0 of 341 results

September 2019

Daniel from TSOLife

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Individual & Family Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

the best MDM for Apple devices

using to manage multiple iPads at multiple locations and keep software up to date

Pros

Works seamlessly with Apple devices and software, easy to deploy, easy to manage multiple devices in multiple locations.

Cons

a little difficult to learn, if you've never used an MDM before, but it's not too bad once you get it set up

Reasons for Choosing Jamf Pro

price, better integration with Apple devices

October 2019

Andrew from Elkhart Community Schools

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

Best Management Software on the Market!

Pros

This software allows you to manage several computers as well as iPads from it's friendly user interface. We've implemented it successfully in our schools (over 20 locations) and it is a tremendous help. We've been able to use this software to deploy programs and applications without having to hand install them on multiple computers/iPads..it's a HUGE time saver.

Cons

There really isn't too much to not like about this software. Their support team is friendly/knowledgeable, they stand by their product, and it is easy to use.

February 2020

Mike from Epson America, Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Consumer Electronics

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

1.0

Functionality

1.0

February 2020

Terrible User Experience - Would Not Recommend to Admins and Companies

I think our admins use it as a user administration tool for corporate security, but it's super inefficient and highly frustrating to use. It actually makes my work processes super inefficient, because i'm constantly batting weird errors and frustrating password resets.

Pros

Nothing. The software is meant to be a sort of user management software for companies, but the user experience is one of the worst I have experienced in my life.

Cons

The running processes bog down your work machine and the security reset protocol (at least for my organization) is very frustrating. It doesn't work, our passwords need to be reset every 90 days, and we're supposed to get a notification to do this, but it doesn't happen, so every 90 days, I physically go to see our internal IT department. In addition, the process runs constantly, so it drains your battery.

February 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2020

There is just no better for MacOS

Easy and pain free. I can now manage my fleet of apple devices with out any hickups. Report generating hasnt been easier too!

Pros

The layout and use interface is fantastic and intuitive. I implemented Jamf pro blind, relying on the support team and good old documentation to help me out. The support team was fantastic and also teached me how to accomplish various tasks on the platform

Cons

Its very expensive with a mandatory training program. I don think its nessesary and i was able to negotiate out of it.

December 2019

Isaac from Mann Consulting

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

Best software for managing macs hands down

We’re managing and securing thousands of customer Macs with this software.

Pros

Jams Pro always provides 0 day support, we use it to manage our customers fleets. At least 50 instances managing 20,000 devices total. They always provide the latest features from apple without any delay or wait like other MDM vendors.

Cons

There are a number of legacy features or manual setup steps that can be confusing. Also some of the features assume Active Directory which isn’t alway common with most organizations.

Reasons for Choosing Jamf Pro

Better mac support, hands down.

September 2019

Jay from Church of Jesus Christ

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

The best in Apple Device Management

Trying to make sure that everyone was running the latest software, aware of new updates, etc was always a nightmare until Jamf Pro. With Jamf Pro, most all of those problems go away and you have a simple to use, streamlined process to manage all of your Apple devices.

Pros

Jamf Pro makes it incredibly easy to manage all of your enterprise Apple devices. With a few simple clicks, your users can update their computer inventory, install new trusted apps and make sure that their system is up-to-date and secure. Just as Jamf's website says, they automate the easy things and make the hard things easy!

Cons

There's not much negative to say about Jamf Pro. It will only be as helpful as your IT team makes it, but if they invest some time in it, your device management will never be easier.

December 2019

Myron from Compass Foundation

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

Powerful software with lackluster UX

Jamf has been great to work with, but their pricing is not cheap and their mandatory $5,000 upfront training costs seem a bit absurd. Training should be optional in my opinion, especially for companies already familiar with other MDMs (or forced to switch because Jamf bought out another company we were already using and forcing people to migrate to Jamf)

Pros

Jamf and Apple have had a special relationship for several years now, and they are usually the first vendor to support new features and operating system releases. Jamf fully supports all available MDM APIs, and is extremely full-featured.

Cons

There will be a certain level of complexity in any MDM software of this caliber, and Jamf is no different. It's meant for organization IT admins and support staff, not the average user. However, the UI / UX in Jamf could use a lot of improvement. Coming from Xinca (which they bought out), the ease-of-use difference is striking, and not in a positive way. Xinca was just as full-featured, but was easier to use in a lot of ways. Editing a device record? Better make sure you click the little grey Save button in the upper right corner and not the giant blue Done buttton at the bottom right if you want your work to be saved. There are many quirks like the one just mentioned that make me wish they would take the Xinca UX team and give them a year with a big budget to clean up the Jamf workflow UX.

September 2019

Jayne from Graham ISD

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Primary/Secondary Education

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

JAMF for Schools

JAMF helps us deploy our devices to our students each year with updated software and credentials. Managing both laptops and iPads are a breeze. I especially like being able to send Apps to selected devices/teachers or schools. It makes management so much more efficient and effective.

Pros

JAMF is like having another employee! As a heavily infused Apple technology district, we rely on JAMF to deploy, organize, report, update, etc. our devices.

Cons

JAMF is pricey, but considering what all it does for us, we can justify the expense. Unless you pay for training, very little is given. More Education support/training would be very helpful.

November 2019

Larry from Nih

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Government Administration

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2019

Jamf Pro

Pros

How easy it is to use and that it just works

Cons

Need more reporting tools for macs and software

November 2019

Jaqueline from Etsy

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2019

Jamf!!!

Pros

I love the ability to customize and the ability to create a phenomenal end user experience. Creating policies/configurations that align with my companies goals, ensuring security and provide an easy user experience in self service. Providing details, descriptions for the users.

Cons

VPP applications don’t alway work. increasingly not being pulled down to our Mac laptops.

September 2017

Alison from The Prairie School

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2017

Good value, and features, but the flow of the site leads to confusion.

We use Jamf to push applications, restrict certain features and streamline the setup process of our iPads. Jamf allows us to give students the App Store so that they can perform updates, while still preventing (discouraging) them from downloading non-school applications through a lock-down configuration. We also use Jamf to block several things, the ability to apply passcodes and the fingerprint lock. We also use it to shorten the setup process for students by excluding some of the setup screens.

Pros

I like the freedom there is to create configuration profiles, and manage groups. One of the features that we utilize the most are smart groups, to either organize mobile devices or to regulate iPad security (prohibit students from downloading apps, while still keeping the App Store available to them, and see who has downloaded restricted apps that we do not want to "publicize" to the point they will put them on their phones. I do like the fact that a group of people can each be working in the same area, such as the same Configuration Profile, and we can still function, other software that we use only allow one user for the organization at once prohibiting multitasking. One of the biggest reasons we continue to use this software rather than migrate the remaining portion of our organization to Mosyle (which offers quite a bit for free), is the customer support.

Cons

One thing that stands out is the organization of the product. Due to the varied ways to administer devices and applications, there are a few different screens to use. We have found that we have to visit several pages to accomplish one task, such as automatic update of apps in the system, to be pushed out into Self Service to groups. We have since switched from codes to Managed and found it less cumbersome, but having to visit student pages as well as the VPP assignments when there are changes that are not immediately pushed out has made the learning curve for some members of the department steeper than it needs to be. We have occasionally experienced support advice that seemed like checking off a checklist of things to try before delving deeper into issues. We understand, having frequently done this with Apple and even our own users, however, sometimes, it seems like the checklist is more important than looking at the whole issue. Finally, not quite a con, but we do not currently use Jamf for our Computers or Apple TVs because of the cost to benefit ratio not being justifiable. We keep things fairly open and would only really just use it to aid in set-up and some push of applications and updates, but not exhaustive.

August 2017

Jason from Lakeville ISD 194

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2017

Jamf is a growing company with a great product and amazing support, really listen to customers!

I could not do my job without this software. We are very limited in staff, time and money. Without Jamf Pro, we would not be able to effectively manage the fleet of iPads, MacBooks, iMacs and Apple TVs we have.

Pros

Jamf is a growing company with a great product and amazing support, really listens to customers! Pros: Jamf has been doing this the longest when it comes to Mac and iOS device management. They are a relatively small, yet growing company with Midwest values, that really cares about helping organizations succeed with Apple. They stand behind their product and their support is phenomenal! They are passionate about giving back to the communities they are based in (Chippewa Valley, Minneapolis, and offices around the world). They put on the worlds largest user conference for Apple IT admins and they have the largest user help knowledge base, jamfnation.com. They also provide same day or prior support of major OS and iOS releases. They are constantly refining the product and adding new features to it. If you have an issue, Jamf support will bend over backwards to help you, even if you're not a paying customer. They care that much about you and the product. Also, the soon to be released version 10 will bring many needed changes to the UI.

Cons

Jamf Pro is not the cheapest, but you get what you pay for. For instance it allows me to manage 6k+ iPads and over 2200 Macs, iMacs and Apple TVs with a very small staff. The money we pay for the solution is more than made up in the ability to manage all of these devices successfully and with a limited staff. That being said, like all software, Jamf Pro has issues. Sometimes these can be major issues. However, Jamf is quick to throw dedicated support at these issues and works hard to fix them. As mentioned above, they are growing for sure and there will be some growing pains along with this growth. The update to the UI cannot come fast enough. Would like to actually be able to pull usable metrics and reports from the product. The logging errors could use more of an update or hotlinks to resolutions (feature request maybe?), but this is more for on-prem hosting. Overall though, it's a great product with a great company and team behind it!

August 2017

Mike from NWFSC

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Government Administration

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2017

Pretty good management system for Macs. Don't even consider LANDesk.

Because it is a MDM solution that actually works, with reliable uptime and easy maintenance requirements, I am the hero for having pushed for JAMFPro.

Pros

Fairly easy to figure out what it takes to make it work if you are of average intelligence for this sort of thing. In my case, it was difficult, until I figured it out. Patch management was the priority for us and it turns you have to be a little creative in trying to get the information extracted from the Macs (depending on the application) in order to determine if it needs to be patched. In another words, it's not as turnkey as much as I was led to believe. Support at JAMFNation is fantastic. Those folks have tackled most of the problems and that's where I located the scripts and other nuances required to make it work. No other resource like it. Newbies and super rockstars all contribute to make things work. JAMF staff also helpful. Make sure you contribute too!

Cons

For me personally, the required Jumpstart training you need to purchase didn't work so well. Did not know enough about what I was doing to ask intelligent questions. After the training, fighting the learning curve began. There are no step-by-step procedures (or friendly user manual) to help a newbie get the system up and running. Mind you I say this as a complete novice and not a very smart one at that.

December 2018

Alan from Wieden + Kennedy

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2018

Great Mac management software

Overall the experience has been extremely positive and I would definitely recommend Jamf, they are the best in the business. My only negative would be that they sometimes seem more interested in implementing new features than addressing known issues.

Pros

Jamf Pro is a very powerful tool with a rich feature set. There is a learning curve but the training available is excellent, providing you are in a region it is available. We manage a global fleet of Macs and use a hosted cloud instance which allows us to install software, perform updates and just generally manage our Macs no matter where our users are. The Self Service app gives our users the ability to install software when it suits them or run fixes to known issues without having to contact IT.

Cons

Support can be a bit slow at times, as we have a hosted instance when we call support we are often told we have to wait for someone from the cloud team to take a look and get back to us. Also since updating to v10 we have had performance issues because of a product issue which could be resolved by throwing more resources at the server but as we do not host it we do not have the control to do that. Apparently the problem has been addressed in the next release.

September 2017

Craig from University of Colorado Boulder

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2017

Good Product, Good Experience

The ability to manage a fleet of MacOS and iOS devices.

Pros

Jamf Pro works really well for managing a fleet of MacOS and iOS devices. The management console is easy to navigate and the feature set is clear. The ability to segregate administrators by using Sites is a nice feature for us. Integration with Apple's services is quite good and easy to maintain. We split our infrastructure across multiple hosts (database on one machine, a management point is on one host, the managed devices on another) is key for us. Also nice that the infrastructure runs on multiple OSes, we run ours on RHEL.

Cons

The issue was related to communication and to bug checking during an update. One update broke access to Active Directory based security groups. This broke many of our workflows for distributed administrators. Customer support was good for initial triage, but follow-up communication was poor. The issue was fixed in two later updates but we were not told that the issue was fixed. We thought it had been fixed but we had to call Jamf and explicitly ask for confirmation. Would have been nice if Jamf had proactively followed up on a support case to let us know the problem was resolved.

October 2018

Mike from sgsco

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2018

A partner and software and training that gives my staff super powers.

We are able to secure, provision, manage and support Mac users 24/7 and around the globe with this tool. We estimate we save 15 technicians and 8 full time support engineers and can use that funding and time to take on projects the business needs rather than manually managing our infrastructure and application suite. This is a massive difference in ability and why I feel JAMF gives my staff super powers to do more with less and raise the quality of our support all the while.

Pros

Jamf Pro is so powerful and simple and focused on letting us succeed, it's in a class of its own. We've been in production for 6 years with major staff turnover and this company has continued to support us despite many chances where we might have dropped the ball. Professional services, quality of the code and stability of the platform are major factors that have made it successful in our specific challenging environment.

Cons

There is no downside we have faced. Release cycle is faster than we need, training and communications are above par for SAAS and functionality and value makes it a must renew each time we renew and re-evaluate MDM solutions.

October 2018

Jax from Bonsai

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2018

The best for Apple device management

It is the best out there for Apple MDMs. That said, the field is still pretty bad. Not all of the issues are with Jamf, as Apple has certainly bungled a few things, like Apple School Manager. But if you're committed to the Apple way of life, Jamf is absolutely the only way to go, and has certainly made things easier on me since we switched from a competitor.

Pros

It does everything you need it to in terms of managing whatever you buy from Apple, with a focus on as much automation for mass deployment as possible. Since they focus on Apple, they have all the latest features available as soon as possible.

Cons

When things break, they can break badly, and a lot of solutions involve running command line scripts and requesting service restarts from support, so if you aren't willing to dig into these sorts of things, it might be difficult for you when support gives you this type of solution. Also, their marketing can be very deceptive, with their analysis on costs phrased as to make apples-to-oranges comparisons and obfuscate their competition's benefits.

October 2018

Mark from Watermark Community Church

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2018

Macs Managed

We have used this product for 5 years and have loved it. It allows us to focus on our people and not worry about Did that printer get installed? We know it is going to happen. We can automate a ton of stuff and not worry about it. We know it will work and we can manipulate thousands of computers in seconds in real time.

Pros

It does everything that Apple lets them do. Save money and time by having less IT support staff and your staff feels like they have the power to manage themselves and not need to reach out to IT and feel frustrated when it takes too long to respond. The community is a huge plus as you can normally get hard questions answered by pros who are happy to help at no charge. Support is great as well. Things do break, but they are there to help.

Cons

Cost is a factor as it is continuing to go up. It can be very complex and hard to understand some of the more useful features as there are a ton of hoops to jump through to get everything working and if something breaks it can take a while to figure it out.

August 2017

David from Bellevue Public Schools

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Primary/Secondary Education

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2017

I've been a huge fan of Jamf since we started using it about five years ago!

Ease of management for laptops and iPads, amazing product support when issues arise, and even though I'm not the money guy it appears to be well worth what we do pay and includes tiered levels so that as we increase the number of devices in our district we pay a little less per unit. I also love JNUC as an educational and networking resource.

Pros

It's terrifically easy to use. The absolute best thing about it, however, is that other people think I'm a wizard at how quickly they get results when they need something. They can literally request an app and in most cases have it assigned within less than 2 minutes of me getting notification.

Cons

The Java component. I know it's necessary for some reason or another, but java has been an absolute terror for us in the district for various reasons (not all related to Jamf). That said, yesterday our java version on the JSS server updated all by itself and things went south very quickly. A quick support chat session with Jamf and we were back up and running after reverting to the old java.

April 2019

Gary from OutterEdge Limited

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

Jamf Pro Review

I haven't found anything truly comparable. I just wish Apple would have done what JAMF does out of the box for Apple products.

Pros

Jamf is simply one of the best management platforms to manage Apple devices. This include macOS and iOS devices. You can push anything out to these units from software installs to printers. I use mine to perform zero touch installs for my users. They get their MacBook Airs. They are already joined to the domain as they take the shrink wrap off the box. This is possible due to the close relationship Apple and JAMF has. It does take some setup to get there though.

Cons

It is expensive. They just started to enforce their 50 unit minimum. They charge a boot camp fee to get you setup which is extremely expensive but it is worth it. JAMF is powerful and you want a good foundation in order for it to be effective. You have to be willing to put the work in and learn it for it to be beneficial.

September 2017

Pete from ItemMaster, Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Internet

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2017

Supporting a rapidly growing Internet startup in multiple locations

Doubled size of Mac fleet in nine months while simultaneously improving app standardization, device security, and offering end users the ability to proactively manage their own systems - as the single IT resource for the organization.

Pros

Easily write, test, and implement policies to proactively support Mac desktop and laptop users Zero-day support for Apple software and hardware releases Simple DEP and VPP integration with excellent documentation Outstanding customer support Large and active user community with a strong commitment to sharing solutions and ideas

Cons

STILL no effective built-in software patching tools Long-standing UI quirks and obsolete JSS interface Not enough functionality to track changes over time (show me adoption rates of new software titles for a given smart group, etc) Rudimentary support for user notifications still requires extensive scripting to be effective Mandatory JumpStart training a waste of money for experienced Jamf admins

September 2017

Kevin from University of Oregon Advancement

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2017

JAMF made supporting macOS/iOS devices enjoyable...and that was not an easy feat.

We were able to reach device management parity with our Windows environment. Reduced IT staff time needed to perform one-off administration of macOS/iOS devices.

Pros

Flexibility, extent of system management capabilities, technical support, ability to create "sites" for de-centralized IT teams that allow them to administer their own devices. Really, the list of what it can do goes on and on. We run SCCM for management of our Windows devices. JAMF allows us to reach management parity for macOS/iOS devices.

Cons

Some high level computer management functions (packages, scripts, printers, etc) are centralized and cannot not wholly distributed/de-centralized to departmental IT teams (eg. each IT team will see and potentially be able to change these items). Not an issue with the software itself, but a challenge and consideration we had to take into account when implementing in our unique support environment.

October 2017

Emily from Large Retailer

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Retail

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2017

I've been working with Jamf products for 4+ years

We use it to manage 2000+ Macs. I can't imagine being able to do our job and offer first-class support to our Mac population without it.

Pros

I love how Jamf leverages native Apple technology, services, resources, and features to best manage Apple devices. User Experience has improved greatly and looks like it'll be even better with version 10 launching later this year.

Cons

I think the biggest holdup for Jamf products right now, for me and my priorities, are how configuration profiles are built and applied using the GUI. A lot of funky stuff happens when you have payloads split across different profiles, and Jamf's MDM doesn't seem to be able to create profiles with only the settings you want applied and not other things in other tabs. It's cause a lot of headache for a lot of admins not having considerations like this well-documented somewhere. It falls a lot on the community to sort out the intricacies.

March 2019

Sean from Commonwealth//McCann

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2019

Could not do my job without this tool

We manage 350 users with two help desk people. This is only possible with JAMF.

Pros

Whenever I have a need, it seems that JAMF has the tools in place for me to come up with a solution. We can essentially do whatever we need to do for our Apple users with JAMF. People think it's magic that we can remotely install customized software builds for them instantaneously. Users are blown away when they walk into my office and without touching their computer I can tell them the last time they restarted, or how much hard disk space they have left. This is an insanely powerful set of tools which we use daily, and without it we'd need to hire more IT staff to manage the workload!

Cons

I honestly can't think of any. If anything, JAMF is so powerful that I know that there are features that I'm not tapping into!

April 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2019

Makes Managing Apple a Breeze

Overall the product has allowed us to deploy approximately 2000 ipads to various elementary schools with very little issue. We are able to nearly have a zero-touch deployment with them which saves us on man hours. We have been able to roll this out with a very small team, and Jamf allows us to lock down the iPads for our education environment with ease. Support has been a solid when we have had issues and can't recommend it more. You won't be disappointed.

Pros

Well rounded with many features. It integrated well with Apples School Manager product and allows us to pull in student data to it. Makes our 1:1 environment easy to manage and a lot less stressful.

Cons

The one major con for us has been its reporting features. It does have the ability to give you a lot of information, but it is not intuitive nor user friendly when creating reports. Perhaps some canned pre-made reports would be advised.

March 2018

Ross from Aberdeen Public Schools

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2018

Best MDM that we've used!

JAMF has made my life so much easier managing a large amount of devices with very little need to physically touch the device. It just works and the support is awesome!

Pros

All encompassing. It works great for all of our iOS devices and allows us to run our environment with "zero touch" to over 500 devices, (soon to be over 2000). We primarily use it for Apple iPad management, but we do have a few Macs on premises and have been slowly adding them in to the mix. Once the initial setup is done, it just works. Any time that we have had issues, my personal "JAMF Buddy" is only an email or call away, and our issues are resolved in a timely manner.

Cons

Not a lot not to like. Probably my biggest complaint, which I've slowly been losing is that the UI can sometimes be a bit annoying. Reports also could be a bit more intuitive, although you can get a report for such a wide variety of items, but there is a learning curve. Maybe some premade reports or something to go off of would be nice.

July 2018

Jeff from East Aurora School District 131

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2018

Expansive, Confusing at first, Full control

Pros

The software is amazing at controlling Apple devices, it allows for an expansive way of sorting and searching such as an audit system but also how you can manipulate those sorts and add/remove or restrict, it allows for "lost mode" batch naming, app pushing and all the typical controls you rely on in a Single mac or IOS device but allows for it in a massive scale, we manage over 15,000 devices using this software and will continue to add more,

Cons

There have been many times we have gone to JAMF themselves in search of a remedy of issues we had no control over, these have been sorted out very quickly. The software can be daunting to look at when you first begin to utilize it and in some cases confusing. How an app or software can be managed from device to device can change with each update requiring a new policy or script to manage the device/app/software. All of these issues have been sorted out by the amazing customer service provided by JAMF

August 2017

Steve from Suffolk County Community College

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2017

JAMF Pro has changed our Mac Management experience. It provides us ease to do whatever we need.

Manageability. Oversight. Consistency. Peace of Mind. A great product and support team.

Pros

I thoroughly enjoy using JAMF to do what we need through either its on board functionality or through integrating other solutions to work along with JAMF Pro in creating a suitable workflow or solution. JAMF is easy to use, understand, logical, graphically pleasing and overall a fantastic software.

Cons

I would like to be able to update a software package in a policy, and have other policies also update the software package automatically if they were using the original package I wanted to upgrade. For example, if I had 5 policies which involved Firefox 54, and then Firefox 54.1 comes out, I don't want to have to go to all the policies and update the package. I would like for the package if selected to update through all the policies at once.

September 2017

Jesse from Jive Communications

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2017

Best MDM we've used, and the price is just right!

Automation, reduced workload, more chances to be Proactive versus reactive, valuable work experience.

Pros

What we can do is near limitless. The automation is something we are still working on, but for a business thats entering the enterprise world, this is an absolute must before things get out of hand. We started using Jamf while we were still only 300+ employees, and now we are coming up on 700, and having the data on all our macs in one spot is awesome. Now that we can make the worry of deployments a thing of the past, it gives me time to work on being PROACTIVE, versus REACTIVE.

Cons

Because the software can do so much, I'm sometimes surprised at the things it can't do. Example. when Prestages get changed from one MDM server to another on accident, you lose your entire scope. Luckily, the customer service is great, and we were able to recover data. Just a shame that it lost the data in the first place. and that I couldn't recover it on my own with built in methods.

October 2019

Dora from University of Richmond

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2019

Jamf Pro

The customer service is top notch and they will help you quickly sort things out.

Pros

Mobile Device Management is a requirement these days, especially if managing Apple products. Jamf Pro is a comprehensive suite that covers all support. It is accessible to all skill level, from a department director managing tablets to the system administrator writing scripts to manage a fleet of laptops.

Cons

The interface can be overwhelming to a novice user. Things can quickly become confusing and overlapping services can make troubleshooting the problem complicated.

July 2018

Chris from Union Public Schools

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

1.0

July 2018

Fantastic MDM for Apple OS and IOS Devices

Ease of use, customization and customer support are the best. This product was designed for Apple products and that is where is shines.

Pros

What I love most about Jamf is the ease of use. The first couple of iterations while workable, did not do what we needed in the education field. What was the saving grace, was the customer support. They came up with work arounds for us until IOS 10 hit. This makes adding software to our district IPads a snap as well as policies for the student use. As for support, I ALWAYS get someone who contacts me within a couple of hours of submitting a ticket.

Cons

My main problem is that there is no find my device or location tracking as with other MDM's. We have thousands of student IPads and a lot of disappearing on a daily basis. This would be a great feature to have.

October 2017

Richard from Kelly Services

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2017

We can now have a full you of and control of our client machines

Total control of our clients

Pros

Having ultimate control of our client machines gives us the Peace of Mind of knowing that our machines are being used with the functions that they were intended to. Being able to install apps and remove ass and change configurations at a moment's notice since our business and makes us a much more efficient organization when it comes to managing our client devices

Cons

I am hard-pressed to come up with the concert this product sure there are some features that I would like to see but the support is top-notch the product does what it says it will do and every iteration is just a wonderful improvement from the last version. I like that releases are not bugging. I like the support is still available. I like that they support the user groups

October 2017

Sean from The PC & MacHelp Centers

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Networking

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2017

JAMF Pro revolutionized the way we manage Macs in our company. Less engineering and more client time

The best benefit is limiting time I have to spend with assisting my Helpdesk with issues by pointing them to pre-built packages and policies in our JSS. Also Self service has drastically reduced the amount of help desk tickets, clearing up the noise for us to focus on more essential tasks.

Pros

I love the intuitive Smart Grouping and Inventory collection. We've tried numerous tools for our Mac deployments and JAMF was the only one that gave us the information we needed in a clear and concise format. It is an essential tool for our day to day workflow.

Cons

While the Inventory and MDM offerings of JAMF Pro are unrivaled it would be beneficial to see better RMM functionality and MSP support. In our environment we have to rely and JAMF and other solutions (i.e. Addigy) for in-the-moment RMM support. I would love to see active client connections to run script remediations and Terminal commands directly and/or integration with a remote control solution like ScreenConnect or TeamViewer.

July 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2018

Good all-in-one

Inventory and asset tracking, single location to manage all macs, lots of community support

Pros

jamf has an advantage of having MDM and policy/self-service built-in to one, and it manages macOS and iOS in the same platform. There are a lot of things that jamf does really well, and being one of the larger platforms it has a great community around it.

Cons

jamf has a lot of limitations and does some things poorly. They have grown in their release cycle which has helped with Apple's quickly changing landscape, but there's still a lot that is customized. Often you don't know there's a limitation until you're in the weeds and realize that jamf doesn't do it at all or doesn't do it well. Our environment (and most) have a lot of customization in order for it to run smoothly

October 2018

Dana from Boone Community School District

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2018

JAMF Pro for all things Apple

We have several MacBook Pros that needed to be managed, including pushing out software, printers, etc. It was a fantastic resource for our staff who aren't admins of their devices to be able to get them what they needed.

Pros

I LOVE the ease of this product when needing to manage a large number of Apple Devices. I also think that they have a wonderful user conference, and great community that are very willing to share trials, tribulations and triumphs. Classes to get certified are great and those leading them are knowledgeable and thorough.

Cons

I don't like all of the changes with managing iPads year after year and the difficulty there was transitioning when they were first able to "managed", however, I believe that was mostly Apple's fault, not the fault of JAMF.

September 2017

Landon from National Geographic Society

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2017

My experience as Jamf user and Jamf administrator has been excellent.

Pros

At this point I can't imagine managing Macs any other way. The power, the usability. I love it all.

Cons

Lately I've found myself a bit frustrated with Jamf Support. It seems each time I call or e-mail it takes a few rounds of back-and-forth to explain some of the ins and outs of our particular JSS. I realize this is probably a byproduct of no longer having a dedicated support tech, but it's frustrating that the tech I'm speaking with doesn't immediately see a note or something indicating that I have a dedicated hosted instance (we have a DNS re-direct in place so at a glance our URL indicates that we might have an on-prem instance). This is more of a nitpick than a real criticism, though, as my issues are still always resolved by support!

September 2017

Craig from Starz | A Lionsgate Company

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2017

JamfPro has become my Go-To Enterprise management framework for Mac OS.

Pros

Support. That is the fulcrum for me, and Jamf's support is top notch. They address concerns, resolve issues and duly consider feature requests. You don't get the feeling that you are a faceless clone adrift in a sea of needy nerds.

Cons

There are some areas that still exist from the early days and they stub their toes on it occasionally. That is not an uncommon experience in the world of the MacAdmin. The difference with JAMF is that they are A.) Aware that these areas exist, 2.) They have a roadmap that generally drives the product towards the adoption of Apples latest tech and III.) are sympathetic to those that still rely on the legacy behavior to support older deployments and other edge cases.

July 2017

Eric from Emerson College

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2017

JAMF Pro makes Mac management easy

This product makes us wish we had a Windows variant. Everything is easier thanks to it. Imaging, policies, asset management.

Pros

I love the information that is placed at your fingertips. I love the control you are given over the Apple devices in your company. JAMF Pro makes handling your user's machines a breeze. Self Service allows users to install their own software without your aide. Configuration Profiles allow for ease of management and total lockdown if necessary. The ability to have users set up their own printers is a support tech's dream.

Cons

We've had issues with the success rate of combining it with DEP in order to have a 0 touch experience. Sometimes it works and other times it does not or needs some pushing to get it going. The dream would be getting to the point that is advertised. The user gets their machine, logs in, and away they go. All on their own.

October 2017

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2017

Great experiences with Jamf over the past few years but there are quality issues creeping in

Pros

The best in class MDM management that allows us to get really creative with how we serve our user base. The API is flexible and allows our developers to use Jamf in collaboration with a number of other tools.

Cons

Quality control around recent releases, where the push to meet new Apple functionality seems to come at the expense of function of existing features. A more robust test and release process is needed. Feature requests can languish for a long time with seemingly no traction. The Self Service app until the Jamf 10 preview wasn't a great user experience. Configuration profiles are clunky when they offer multiple options and can disable features accidentally.

August 2017

Sean from AIM Academy

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2017

Makes managing mac computers easy and intuitive

The ability to manage all my macs almost without interaction.

Pros

The scalability of the software. You can manage 100 macs or 100,000 macs with this super easy to use MDM. It also has a diverse network of Mac Admins who constantly post creative solutions to expand Jamf Pro's capabilities far beyond what is already provided for you.

Cons

I would say that if you are new to mac administration it will take a little to get used to how the different parts interact with the mac. The other thing to remember too is a lot of the functionality of Jamf is allowed by Apple, meaning that sometimes Jamf is a little constrained due to what Apple allows you to manage with an MDM.

October 2017

John from Aquinas College

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2017

Jamf have been a first class company to work with from the initial engagement through to completeion

Jamf helps us do more with left and adds real tangible value to the Apple devices used by the people who earn and learn at our College!

Pros

The Jamf product clearly has its roots as a software that was thoughtfully designed by System Administrators themselves who understand IT shop workflows.

Cons

The marketplace is crowded and there is a lot of competition. In some cases the competition is able to offer most cost effective solutions. This can make the Jamf solution a more difficult sell to management. The typical offset technique is that Jamf focuses exclusively on the Apple ecosystem and therefor it is unquestionably the best at dealing with our organizations fleet of Apple products.

March 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2019

Great MDM for iPads

Pros

We use Jamf Pro to manage the 1:1 iPads in our district. I like that the company is responsive to our needs and is there to help us in a crisis. I also like the degree of control we have over our iPads. We are able to lock out unwanted apps or features. We are also able to reduce the time it takes to provision new iPads for students.

Cons

I wish we would receive a clearer message about when and how we should upgrade our Jamf Pro server. The upgrades come out, but we are advised not to update. This is understandable, but we don't receive a followup on when to update. This is more of an annoyance than a con.

October 2018

Torreya from California College of the Arts

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2018

Getting used to it

To be honest, it's been super frustrating getting set up, but still we have arrived at a place where for us it's mostly working, and brings us to a place where we have better reporting and updating powers, which is worth it. We've also had problems with iOS management where options we need are greyed out and we don't know why and no one has been able to help us. We've also had a bunch of problems with high sierra compatibility.

Pros

It does give us a lot of flexibility and power in managing our 500 lab machines and 300 staff machines

Cons

There are a lot of ways of doing things, so it's been difficult for us to arrive at the BEST way to do things in our environment, and difficult to get help setting that up.

May 2019

Max from SparkCognition

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

A must have for asset management for Mac Systems

We needed a way to manage laptops for local and remote employees as well as push updates and software such as antivirus and Office. We had between 100-200 Apple laptops to manage and it was hard to do one by one. And the new hire process was slow to setup laptops without this software. After a few weeks of learning how to use JAMF we could order a laptop from Apple through our company e-commerce store and have it shipped to office or a remote employee and it would be setup, joined to AD, software installed, etc. right out of the shrink wrap. Can’t image using anything else now, but does have a steep learning curve.

Pros

Best way to ensure all Macs are up to date, ready to go with business required software installed. Works straight out of the shrink wrap.

Cons

Very steep learning curve. Lots of short scripts to install different software. They do have a good CS team to help onboard you and check back in if you need help. But expect to spend the first week or two learning how to get it to do what you want. Don’t expect to learn how to deploy this without designating a lot time on learning it.

April 2018

Sam from Light

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2018

JAMF PRO - scalable & customizable to fit any environment.

Pros

I like the scalability of this software (i.e. you can start with as little as 50 users and scale this into the tens of thousands. JAMF Pro is also very customizable and can be made to fit into any existing environment. Support is top-notch and only requires an active support agreement, which is required to run JAMF Pro and receive updates.

Cons

I least like the jumpstart requirement when purchasing this software for the first time at a new company. The on-prem version also requires quite a bit of patching and maintenance, though this can be overcome by opting to go with their cloud version.

September 2017

Chad from The PC & MacHelp Centers

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2017

The product has gotten better but still, lacks a few key features.

A bit more controll over our apple MSP environments.

Pros

Geat implementation of mac management all around. Great at being on time with apple updates and in tune with what Apple is releasing. Solid performance for the most part. Clear leader in apple management.

Cons

No way to screen share on demand. No way to see live what is happening. Third party updates are not simple to patch without tons of configuration and changes. Even on the new jamf pro 10 its still not seamless. Lots of time wasted on updates. OS updates and distribution are not very good and in some cases impossible. Reporting is non-existent.

January 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

Consistently reliable MDM solution

I was initially drawn to Jamf by the sheer number of times I found myself on JamfNation forums while searching for answers to a problem with my existing MDM. Jamf has proven one of most fully-features solutions I've worked with, has very regular updates to their product improving and refining their feature set, and as noted above, has one of the most knowledgeable and helpful online communities I've encountered. As a recent bonus, their acquisition of the Nomad utility for macOS makes binding and mobile accounts a thing of the past.

Pros

Feature depth, customer support, forums, and now Nomad integration

Cons

A bit pricier than I'd like, and tough to get a personal touch from support at their size.

October 2017

David from School District of Newberry County

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2017

Make your life easier, use Jamf Pro.

Hands-off Apple management = a happier life!

Pros

This software allows me (one person in a K12 environment) to manage 1200 iPads without having to touch a single one of them. It allows me to create groups based on buildings/grade level/classes/etc. and assign different configurations to all of them without having to travel to the site.

Cons

There is so much to do that the software can be a bit daunting at first, BUT the classes that Jamf offers on its software (CCT/CCA/CCE) are extremely well-run and educational. If you use the software, do yourself and your folks a favor and take the classes.

September 2017

Maurissa from JHUAPL

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2017

Can't imagine managing Macs without it

Pros

It's the most comprehensive management software and makes my job a lot easier when it comes to helping our end users get what they need and have a good experience in the process. I also like how much the community input matters and new feature requests are added all the time.

Cons

I don't like their support structure as much as I used to since now there are teams rather than specific people assigned to an organization. Sometimes it's harder to get the answers you need since the support engineer isn't as familiar with your organization's setup as they previously would have been.

September 2017

Terence from Loyola High School

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2017

An essential tool to managing Apple devices in our school.

The restrictions mostly from Apple that limit what can be done from within Jamf Pro to manage both our macs and iOS devices. Jamf Pro is capable of doing more but often Apple simply doesn't allow it to do so.

Pros

What I like most about Jamf Pro is it's overall power and capabilities. With a small support staff for a large number of devices, Jamf Pro allows us to perform and automate a lot of tasks that would have otherwise required hundreds of man hours to complete. It also allows us to provide Self Service options to our users which lowers IT operating costs. I can't imagine doing my job without Jamf Pro.

Displaying 1 - 50 of 341 reviews