All Overleaf Reviews

1-25 of 28 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Mustafa

Verified reviewer

Higher Education, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2021

Best online tool for Latex

It is the best text editing online cloud I have ever used.

PROS

The best feature of overleaf is perhaps its autofill function.

CONS

Sometimes it fails to recompile relatively larger documents.

Danai

Computer Software, 1 employee

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2021

Overleaf makes Latex easy for everyone

I started using Overleaf 2 years ago while searching for collaboration document creation tools. At first I was scared of transitioning to LaTeX, because I wasn't familiar with it. However, Overleaf has a very user - friendly environment and makes LaTeX easy for everyone! I have to mention that I never had to google a single question on how to use Overleaf, even on day one. Also, their data-driven autocomplete makes you comfortable with LaTeX in a very small amount of time! After a couple of times using Overleaf, I felt completely comfortable with both the environment and the language and I haven't stopped using it since then!

PROS

I started using Overleaf for my university reports and now I can't imagine myself using a different software for document creation. One of my favorite features is the autocomplete of latex commands. It makes it easy for everyone to use it even if they haven't used latex before and saves you a lot of time typing. It is also very easy to use when collaborating with others, since you can simultaneously edit the same file and view their changes real time without pressing any button. Finally, Overleaf has an incredible documentation. A great example of this is that every Latex-related search query in Google returns an answer on Overleaf's documentation page.

CONS

One of the limiting aspects of Overleaf is the small number of free collaborators. Even though you can send the edit link to any number of people, you can only add one collaborator by their email for free and thus have the project at their home page. Also, sometimes the pdf render takes weirdly long to finish, but it always looks good!

Reasons for switching to Overleaf

I used to work on group projects with Google Docs by Google, since it is one of the most popular collaboration tools available for free. However, there was a very limited amount of templates and it was hard to find a suitable one, not to mention creating one from scratch. Overleaf on the other hand offers a vast number of templates for a variety of purposes. Also, it is very easy to customize them and bring them to your needs. In addition to that, it allows real time collaboration, and also features an amazing data-driven autocomplete that saves you a lot of time!

Boryana

Financial Services, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2024

Powerful tool, not exactly intuitive

PROS

Once you get the hang of it, it’s is a really powerful tool for editing text, formulas and references. In addition to it, it has plenty of good templates which will do just fine for any academic style piece of work. It can also produce presentations.

CONS

Having used Word for most of my work, Overleaf is much less intuitive. The presentations I have managed to produce have style wise have a very 1995 look.

Reasons for switching to Overleaf

For academic writing and use of good referencing editor.

Anonymous

501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2022

Best tool to prepare research papers for scientific publications

In a word, Overleaf makes my life easy while preparing articles for publication. Simply a best tool for researcher's around the world.

PROS

To prepare research article, overleaf helps to prepare the document quickly by providing ready made journal or conference templates. Just need to customize them. Also for preparing CV overleaf is a great tool to anyone who looking for jobs.

CONS

It's fully online and cost is relatively high for students. It needs to be affordable to everyone so that anyone could use the full of this tool. Writing equation is difficult.

Reasons for switching to Overleaf

I sued excel earlier for financial report making and somehow while searching in net I got overleaf to make any documents in more convenient way.

Zahra

Higher Education, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2023

Overleaf is an excelent for preparing reports, papers, assignements, and online collaboration

Overall, I am totally happy with Overleaf. I believe it is the best software for preparing docuemtns with version control, and reviewing it. It is very affordabel and it helps you to save a lot of time. Moreover, your data is not going to be lost. It is always stored in a cloud storage and you can access it through Internet.

PROS

I love working with Overleaf. I always use it for my work, and there are so many advantages it offers. Here I will mention a couple of them:The version control feature in Overleaf is great. You can always prepare your doment with automatic version control for specific conferences, journals. It also provide so many templates for preparing presentations. I use Overleaf now to prepare presentations instead of using Microsoft Power Point. Also, you can always control permission/access of users. Sometimes I share my document as a read-only doc to my colleagues just because I do not want them to edit it on their own. Another feature I find very useful is the history of changes it provides. I cna always see what changes/modifications the users applied to the document. Writing equations, and adding biblography files to Overleaf is very easy. The final document that Overleaf generate is very readable and perfect. I recommend using Overleaf to professionals who need a docuement preparation and collaboration application.

CONS

I do not have many dislikes. The only things I can mention are as follows:The number of collaborators you are allowed to invite will depend on the plan you are part of. You can not share your document to more that 3 collaborators in Overleaf free version. However, the paid version totally worth it if you prepare docuements more often at work. You do not have the option of working on the docuement offline. You always need access to the internet and a browser like firefox, microsoft edge, etc to open Overleaf.

Hossein

Higher Education, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2023

Overleaf is an excelent online tool for preparing professional documents

Overall, I am fully satisfied with Overleaf. I use it all the time for preparing scientific documents, sharing them with other colleagues, proofreading documents, and generating appropriate PDF files for conferences and journals. It is a great online toolsuite. I recommend it to everyone, especially to researchers, students, and professors.

PROS

Overleaf features autocorrection, which is very useful for docuement preparation. You can prepare a neat PDF file out of your LaTex document in no time. It includes lots of templates for writing CVs, resumes, white papers, scientific conference papers, journals, etc. It helps you be more productive, and write more efficiently. Also, you can create your bibliography database in Overleaf; you can edit, modify, or change this bibliography file whenever. You can always save all your data in the tool, and access it through internet to apply modifications or changes later. It is also a free tool.

CONS

I do not have any specific dislike about Overleaf. The only thing I can mention is that the user needs to write in LaTex format in Overleaf. Therefore, novice users might find it hard to use it. It would be better if it was more user-friendly, and it could provide easy manuals.

Anonymous

1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2022

Document creation and formatting with no hassle

PROS

The tool offers ease of use for the creation of documents. The formatting of documents is fairly simple. You don't need to struggle with the tool. Easy to learn and use. No installation is needed. Just click and start your work. The best latex platform to do tasks in collaboration. Keep a good track of changes in the team. Latex teamwork using the Overleaf is the best option. All the templates are available online. No need to download any sort of templates or Latex packages. All the changes are seamlessly being saved simultaneously.

CONS

There is no offline version available to create documents. You cannot track changes or update changes that are done offline. There is no feature that syncs offline changes when you go online.

Reasons for switching to Overleaf

Ease of use of Overleaf

Anonymous

201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2022

Overleaf for writing thesis

PROS

As a graduate student, I have found Overleaf to be an indispensable tool for writing and collaborating on research papers. The ability to easily share and edit documents with my co-authors has made the writing process much smoother and more efficient. I also appreciate the intuitive interface and the wide range of templates available for formatting our papers.

CONS

I have found that the platform can be slow and unresponsive at times, which can be frustrating when trying to make quick edits to a document. Additionally, the free version of the software has limited features and storage, which can be limiting for users with large or complex projects.

Aamir

Research, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2022

Professional document writing

I have been using overleaf for more than 4 years now. the overall experience with Overleaf is really good. I have used Overleaf for technical reports and other technical documentation. Overleaf never disappointed me.

PROS

1) Document generation and editing have become so easy with Overleaf. 2) The ability to follow the template of specific conferences and institutes in LaTex is really amazing. 3) The opportunity of saving work in an online environment. 4) The ability to access all the documents from anywhere.

CONS

1) Initially, Overleaf can be overwhelming for beginners. 2) Pseudocode writing is really difficult with overleaf. 3) Mathematical equations and tables are difficult.

Anonymous

1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2023

Save time and money using Overleaf, a great document generating/editing tool

Overall, I am happy with Overleaf. I use the free version for adding collaborators to my scientific papers. They can modify, comment, and edit the document simultaneously. Also, I use Overleaf for generating CVs, resumes, and study plans.

PROS

The most useful feature that Overleaf provides is the document sharing feature. Several users can connect simultaneously and edit/modify the docuement. It saves your data in a cloud, and you can access it whenever you want for modification. You can compile your document into a PDF version that is suitable for submission to conferences and journals. It provides various templates and example documents that I find useful. You can be more efficient and productive using Overleaf.

CONS

I can not think of any essential dislikes. The only thiong I can mention is that the free version of Overleaf has limitations. You can only share your doments with limited number of users in the free version. The premium version is kind of pricy for students and personal use.

Syed Najaf Haider

Education Management, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2022

Overleaf - a best tool for research papers writing

Overall experience is good and I would recommend to other friends and colleagues.

PROS

It is free of cost and has a very user-friendly interterface. The best part of overleaf is its online version where one easily share his/her work with other colleagues. In case of syntax help, short code scripts can be easily found from the website.

CONS

Need to work on debugging feature for error handling. Sometimes face problems while generating pdf with lots of figures. For smooth running, one needs to avoid spacing in the names of the figures. For example, figures with name 'Fig 1.eps' will now show up in the pdf unless its name is changed to 'Fig1.epd'.

Reasons for switching to Overleaf

Because Overleaf provides more features and tools such as its online version, through which i can share my work with others.

Rakib Hasan

Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2022

Best Latex tool for writing journal or conference articles in online

I am highly pleased with the performance of Overleaf in my research paper writing purposes. It serves as a daily tool for any researcher around the globe.

PROS

As an active researcher, I like to use Overleaf online for preparing my research papers. It gives me a lot of flexibility to control the version, customize the document, to add all kinds of components to the document. Therefore I didn't find any alternative to Overleaf.

CONS

It needs an active internet connection all the time. Sometimes the server didn't respond. Therefore, make some delays to update the files. The cloud server should be better in the future.

Reasons for switching to Overleaf

For better user experience.

christ

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2022

The most complete and easy to use LATEX editor

I have been using this since I was in university taking advanced pure mathematics proof based classes where vast majority of assignments require me to write math proof using LATEX on this platform and I still use it even until today where I work as a product engineer where I regularly use it for brief documentation of production process flow and procedure. My overall impression with Overleaf has been mostly positive due to its easy to use dashboard and efficient tools to create Latex document. Occasionally, I also use other feature to convert document form, etc.

PROS

What I like the most from Overleaf is its user friendly interface and high quality editor tools even for me who was not familiar with LATEX syntax/format before. Particularly, the feature which allows the user to write the LATEX on the left side of the screen while seeing the output on the right side of the screen which enables me to write few lines then compile it so on and so forth in order to detect documentation error early in the process. In addition to that, Overleaf also has a great and useful feature to allow sharing the file with other users however it keeps the security and privacy fully protected

CONS

Despite the fact that Overleaf has a lot to offer, however, I had an issue with its error correcting feature/ error handling, when I attempt to compiled it but if failed, nevertheless, there was not clear explanation or hint to highlighted the LATEX error exactly. This might be pretty concerning especially for users with limited knowledge in Latex.

Sohan

Apparel & Fashion, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2022

A great writing tool for journal articles.

Overall I am thankful to the provider for give me this opportunity to write the review of this software. It is undoubtedly best software and never down. It works online fully and you can track your co authors easily from remote location. Multiple author can be work at the same time only if you order this

PROS

Mainly researchers like me using this as an alternative of actual Latex software this is because Latex is complex to use and overleaf is easy to use

CONS

It is fully online and paid software so academic software like this should be freely available

Reasons for switching to Overleaf

Getting better experience

Badr Eddine

Computer Software, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2021

Overleaf review

Global experience: I have created countless reports and presentations over many years of use. This software has helped me a lot in my years of study. It is in which I wrote my homework and carried out my project presentations and it is also the software in which I was able to carry out my study projects. It takes a little practice to really master it, but once you’ve spent quality time working with this software, you can do great things.

PROS

Benefits: Overleaf is a simple tool for reporting and editing presentations with an interface that is “what you see is what you get”. It is also a software for writing courses, articles, graduation reports use a lot by students and mathematics teachers. It also makes it easy to write mathematical formulas with codes that are quite simple to write and syntax that is quite easy to learn. It is in this case very versatile, which allows users to do much more than articles and presentations. It makes it possible to make graphs and diagrams.

CONS

Disadvantages: Like all typing and writing software, Overleaf has its eccentricities. It could be more user-friendly, which is where some of the competing writing and presentation applications well. It is absolutely not good for the creation of original art or illustrations.

Anonymous

1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2023

Un outil magnifique pour écrire en LATEX

Overleaf a été d'une aide précieuse pour moi lorsque j'ai commencé à apprendre LaTeX. Meilleure plateforme recommandée pour les débutants.

PROS

Les fonctionnalités d'Overleaf sont excellentes. Il est facile à utiliser. La fonction en ligne d'Overleaf permet à plusieurs contributeurs d'un même projet de travailler simultanément sur ce dernier. On peut voir le document de résultat en le compilant immédiatement. J'apprécie beaucoup les tutoriels simples et efficaces sur leur site. Ses tutoriels sont interminables et très instructifs avec des exemples.

CONS

Mon expérience avec Overleaf a été incroyable mais nous ne recevons pas souvent des suggestions utiles et devons donc faire des essais fréquents, ce qui entraîne une perte de temps. La fonction de correction grammaticale n'est pas très utile.

Muhammad

Higher Education, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2022

The best LaTex based tool for scientific and professional writing

My experience with Overleaf is very good. I have been using Overleaf for 1.5 years now. I have used Overleaf for report writing. I am also writing my master's thesis using Overleaf.

PROS

The ability to perfectly follow a template of a scientific conference and journals (IEEE, Elsevier, etc.) The ability to save work in an online space that can be accessed from anywhere in the world No hassle in editing and formatting documents (as is the case with PDF files) File sharing with a group of people who can proofread and edit the document

CONS

Generating tables is somewhat complex in LaTex and Overleaf. Sometimes too many suggestions can be a bit too much for experienced users however very helpful for beginners Continuous internet connectivity

Man Yi

Research, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2022

A convenient online LaTeX editor and compiler

Everyone I have collaborated with is very positive about Overleaf. So am I. I am using it regularly.

PROS

Since I started using Overleaf, I don't have offline LaTeX editor installed in my computer any more. Collaboration in writing articles together with my colleagues is the main reason why I use Overleaf. I cannot think of a better alternative for such collaborative work, especially during the pandemic when we had to work from home. Overleaf is not only easy to use, it also provides other functionalities such as track changes, history and notes that greatly enhance my LaTeX editing experience. Templates are available and easy to save into personal folders.

CONS

Like all other online platforms, Overleaf cannot be accessed offline. When internet connection is not stable, the edit may not be saved.

Alexandros

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY