All PDF Studio Reviews

1-25 of 59 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Luca

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2021

Super complete, fast and powerful PDF editor

PROS

Easy to edit a pdf, do everything I did with Acrobat Pro without a problem Very fast and include a lot a functionality, maybe more than Adobe

CONS

Integration with onedrive not fully working on my ubuntu

Reasons for switching to PDF Studio

I use linux on my workstation, Adobe doesn't support gnu/linux OS

Ray

Research, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed August 2020

PDF Studio 2019- solid choice for Linux users, researchers, who want a cross-platform solution.

PDF Studio is reliable tool for annotating PDFs. It is fast, easy to use, has a good UI that allows users to switch between the tradition menu bar and a ribbon bar. I use it daily for reducing the size of PDFs and converting them to png image formats for distribution.

PROS

It is truly cross-platform- I used it on my Linux, Windows, and Apple systems without any problem. Its one of the few PDF editors for Linux. It's easy to use- the menu is well designed and its much easier to find the tools I need than Adobe Acrobat with its convoluted odd menu system. It has reliable OCR built into the software and good tools for optimizing PDFs (reducing size) and for saving as image files (jpeg, png, tiff, etc).

CONS

It cannot open dynamic XFA forms, but considering that most non-Adobe PDF editors can't read them, its not unusual. Dynamic XFA forms are uncommon PDF forms render drawing and layout information. Even Adobe products don't properly support them. Unfortunately, our office used these forms regularly.

Reason for choosing PDF Studio

PDF Studio was the first to offer a native Linux version. The developer, Qoppa Software responds very quickly to all requests, bug reports, and suggestions. Support is outstanding.

George

Research, 2-10 employees

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed April 2024

killed my screen on installation

really terrible

PROS

nothing it did not work

CONS

Caused my screen to go black on installation and would not uninstall in safety mode. I had to manually delete the program files.

Robert

Consumer Electronics, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2023

Finally a PDF editor that is fast and smooth even on huge architectural drawing.

Fantastic. Because of the tab tool bar interface, I can find tools I did not know existed and try them and because of the tap tool bar, it is not overly cluttered.

PROS

Love the interface and ease of finding the tools.

CONS

App does not respect my Logi Options mouse settings. Zooms to fast with mouse wheel.

Reasons for switching to PDF Studio

Acrobat is too slow and sluggish and because they’re trying to make this clean interface. All the tools require several clicks deep to get to them.

User Profile

Anil

Verified reviewer

Information Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2022

Complete PDF editing suite

PDF Studio has a user-friendly design and is the finest alternative to Adobe Acrobat. It is quick, simple to use, and has a nice user interface.

PROS

It is the best PDF editor and converter available with a low-cost perpetual license. It have optical character recognition capabilities. The best thing is that it is cross-platform and works flawlessly on Linux, Windows, and Macbooks.

CONS

I've never had any big issues using PDF Studio. However, the OCR tool did not always recognize the text.

User Profile

Nikolaos

Verified reviewer

Market Research, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2021

One of the best pdf editors for Linux

In my company we need to use the same tools over different operating systems for security purposes and also for a universal approach to the solutions we provide. However, we have user machines running in windows and remote servers running Linux. As far as I know this is the best PDF solutions that runs smoothly across different OS platforms.

PROS

PDF Studio enables editing in Mac and most importantly Linux OS. It is much cheaper that Adobe Acrobat and has quality signing options. It has optical character recognition features even for non OCR documents.

CONS

I have never encountered any serious problems with PDF Studio and never wanted to do something that this editor couldn't do. In my opinion, what could be done differently is reduce the RAM and CPU consumption of this software.

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2023

Pdf

a tool we use every day to read fichesir pdf

PROS

a good tool for converting text, images, formatting to pdf format

CONS

it will have to offer a lot of editing functionality

User Profile

Surya

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed April 2021

Best PDF Editor & Converter with perpetual license

My overall experience is pleasant, and it is one of the best alternative if you are finding a perpetual license based pdf editor.

PROS

The best thing about Qoppa PDF studio is that it comes with one time purchase/perpetual license and it provides all the features which are expected of a pdf editor.

CONS

There is no PDF to PPT (Power point Presentation) conversion option, they must improve the GUI, and auto update is of very slow download speed.

Reason for choosing PDF Studio

Because of the low cost.

Reasons for switching to PDF Studio

Because these softwares are subscription based, and subscription is very costly.

User Profile

Yosimar

Verified reviewer

Used less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2018

Pay for the full version, you wont get a watermark and its worth it

Other than the watermark it leaves on the free version and the lack of customization, this is an excellent PDF software, and I can totally recommend it.

PROS

This is a great alternative for someone who needs a good PDF reader, that is fast, allows for pdf editing and most of all that has an electronic signing feature, which is the one I mostly use when sending notes to my patients. It is worth to note that it is extremely easy to use.

CONS

I would really love if this software allowed for more customization of its workspace since its graphic interface its not the best i've seen, also the watermark you get when using the free version is kind of a downer.

User Profile

Jamie

Verified reviewer

Used daily for free trial

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2018

Intuitive and comfortable

Linux compatibility, not Adobe. Nothing against Adobe, but I don't need to spend that much money and go through the licensing nightmare for just a few occasional edits.

PROS

Smooth transition from Acrobat, same functionality. Installation on Linux was trouble-free, was running OCR on a document within about 30 seconds.

CONS

Have not found any negatives so far. Honestly, the only negative that I can see is that it is not free. Libre Office is open source and is every bit as powerful as MS Office

Emil

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2023

PDF Studio: A Review of its features and limitations

I have mixed feelings about the software. On one hand, the software has great features such as creating, editing, and annotating PDFs, creating PDF forms, merging and splitting PDFs, adding and editing bookmarks, links, headers, and footers, adding and editing digital signatures and export PDFs to multiple formats. The interface is user-friendly. However, it can be expensive, the interface can be cluttered, may require a powerful computer, may have limited compatibility with mobile devices, may have certain features limited in functionality, may have unresponsive customer support and may require additional plug-ins. It may also experience crashes or freezing and may be slow when working with large files. I would recommend trying the trial version before making a purchase to see if it meets your specific needs.

PROS

Its features have really wowed me. My work has become much more effective because I can easily create, edit, and annotate PDFs. For me, being able to create PDF forms is a game-changer because it eliminates the need for other software to perform this function. Another excellent feature is the ability to split and merge PDF files. I also value the addition and editing of Bates numbers, watermarks, headers, links, and headers and footers. Another benefit is having the option to add and edit digital signatures. Additionally, it is very helpful to have the choice to export PDFs to a variety of formats, including Word, Excel, and HTML. Easy navigation is provided by the user-friendly interface. All in all, if you need a dependable PDF editing program, I heartily suggest PDF Studio.

CONS

Although PDF Studio has some excellent features, it also has some drawbacks, which I recently discovered. Comparatively speaking to other PDF editing software available on the market, the price of the program is high. Some users may find the interface frustrating due to how cluttered and challenging it is to navigate. Some users might find it problematic that the software might need a powerful computer to function properly. While using the software, I occasionally crashed or experienced freezing, which is not ideal. Additionally, it only works partially with mobile devices, which could be problematic for users who need to edit PDFs on the go. Additionally, some features may only have limited functionality, which may not be acceptable to all users. Some users may have issues because the customer service is not very helpful and the software occasionally freezes or crashes. For certain features, it might also need additional plug-ins. When working with large files, some users may complain that the software is slow. This software might not be very helpful for users who only need to edit a few PDFs on occasion. Overall, PDF Studio has some fantastic features that are very helpful, but it also has its share of issues that may deter some users from using it. Before making a purchase, I advise trying the trial version to ensure that it satisfies your unique requirements.

Kev

Environmental Services, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2023

Does not work on Mac Studio M1 Pro

I used it daily for years and then upon upgrading last year it continually disappoints. Since I had used it for a long time and spent a lot of time and effort with customer support to try and get the 2022 version running properly, I figured that the 2023 offering would have fixed all the issues that I had highlighted to the Quoppa people, but no, it's exactly the same.

PROS

Great feature set. Adn ability to use scaled drawings and measurements

CONS

Back in 2012 (PDF Studio 12) it was fully reliable, but the recent iterations (2022 and 2023) do not work on Mac Studio M1 Max computer. Simple copy / paste errors, can't delete some annotations, print to JPG often misses some annotations, so exported jpg's are incomplete, can't re-order objects (send to back or bring to front does not work)

Reason for choosing PDF Studio

Price

John

Online Media, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2022

Professional Top-notch PDF Studio

PDF Studio has become an integral part of our daily routine, enabling us to quickly and easily read all of the relevant data science notes. It has everything you need to read PDFs and Word documents before sending them off to be processed by other businesses. With its help, the drawings are annotated.

PROS

Create PDFs from Word documents, images, and scanned documents with the help of PDF Studio. In my experience using it on a regular basis, it is more than adequate for the PDF-related tasks you describe. Marking up your drawings is a breeze, and you can lock all comments so that nobody but you can make changes to them. In addition, the vault function is useful. This program can be accessed from any device with an internet connection, including phones, tablets, laptops, and even Whatsapp and email.

CONS

The only thing I don't like about it is that it doesn't come with every watermark header and footer needed for construction drawings. I've done a ton of work on this that PDF-XChange can't. We believe the prices are reasonable all around.

Michael

Internet, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2022

A Good Alternative To More Expensive PDF Softwares

PROS

We use this as an alternative to more expensive softwares that require a subscription. Besides a few polish issues, it meets everyone of our needs with pdf documents.

CONS

The UI is outdated and it's hard to convince people who have used other softwares to use this one instead, but that's not the fault of the product.

Kwok

Financial Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2018

An almost completely paperless office!

Combining image files, spreadsheets, Word docs in to one clean PDF file. Big savings on paper, printer ink and the whole hassle of shredding!

PROS

Qoppa PDF Studio 12 Pro has helped us become virtually paperless. We're able to combine a range of documents from image files to word docs into one single PDF file. No more printing and scanning of client documents. Giving us big savings on paper and ink (and all the time, cost and mess of shredding!). Simple to use. Great customer support. No need to take confidential documents around with you to carry on working on them.

CONS

Due to different sized documents being combined some pages appear smaller than others. This can be adjusted by enlarging the page but would be great if all pages appeared the same size - which they do if the PDF file is printed.

Nick

Accounting, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed November 2022

Affordable and great customer services but difficult to use

PROS

The app is cheaper than others and the customer services is great with quick response to inquiries.

CONS

It's really difficult to use, especially if you have used Acrobat before. Text addition: you can't change the font type or size. Once you have added the text, you cannot edit it any more. With Acrobat, I simply double clicked on the added text to edit it.Signature: The signature photo is always on top of the text so it has to resize to fit in the box without covering the line.Convert PDF to Excel: It cannot convert to Excel properly. Mostly it put all the data into a single cell.I haven't tried other tools yet but such above tools make me disappointed.

Reasons for switching to PDF Studio

The cost for Acrobat is too high for us

Cristian

Education Management, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2022

Great Tool with Great Features

PROS

It is more affordable, the tools are easy to find and easy to use, easy to convert to different formats.

CONS

You can't move the text that you are writing in the text. PDFFiller, for example, you can move the text box and by just clicking on top of the text box at anytime, the box becomes available and ready to edit the text. Here, once I finish writing, I can't change the text or move the text around or edit the text. I have to go back and start all over again. It's the only thing that I saw that I didn't like.

Reasons for switching to PDF Studio

Price, more features, accessibility.

Helia

Higher Education, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5