User Reviews Overview

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(21)

21

4 stars

(11)

11

3 stars

(0)

0

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(0)

0

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.0 / 5

Value for Money

4.0 / 5

Customer Support

4.5 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Browse Capture One Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - -18 of 32 results

February 2020

User Profile Picture

Rigger from Aliantec 200

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Design

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2020

capture a new target

I used other photo editing software but decided to take a chance and switch to Capture One. Its simplicity helped me adapt although I miss some functions of the programs I left.

Pros

The interface is very simple, minimalist. It has more advanced functions than competing software, even integrates functions of several of these software

Cons

You still need to incorporate some functions of other photography software, and as for the default developer settings, it is still in diapers

Reasons for Choosing Capture One

by references

Reasons for Switching to Capture One

I read good references of the program and decided to change, the program I used did not dominate it completely

Response from Capture One

Replied March 2020

Thank you for your review and your recommendation. Please also be aware that the Capture One Enterprise version has Enterprise features only e.g. Barcode scanner integration, workflow support etc.

September 2021

Mikko from Photography

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Photography

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2021

Brilliant photo editing, RAW conversion and photo library software

It is relatively easy to achieve understanding of the basic features of Capture One, however fully understanding and learning powerful editing tools takes time and practise to master, so there is a learning curve, but it is rewarding to see how much editing can be done already at this non-destructive stage. Because brush and mask tools in Capture One are so comprehensive it has become rare occasion or need to do editing with Photoshop. One can even use/launch some of the plugins (Topaz/On1) straight from the C1, but without exception files are converted to TIFF format and no longer RAW files when returning to Capture One. From the start I liked interphase and features better than Lightroom or CamereRaw and I also preferred how C1 handles Sony and Nikon RAW files as compared to LR.

Pros

One of the key features that stands out in Capture One is its multiple ways of editing colours. There is even a special feature for fine tuning skin colours, but it can be used for all sorts other colour edits. Two other highly useful tools are ability to do edits in layers and use masks for targeted editing. One can build masks from colour selections into separate editing layers with ease. Program is highly customisable to better suit own needs and editing workflow. One small feature that I really really like is an ability write annotations or small notes into photos/files. These are priceless when there are several weeks in between edits, I mean it is easier to remember where the edit was left and what was planned do for it, if there are some instructions written in photo etc. and those notes/annotations do not show in final exported version of the photo. Ability to duplicate files and copy/paste settings to multiple files are also great feature.

Cons

Camera specific ICC profiles (i.e Portrait, Landscape etc.) are missing for Sony ARW RAW files in Capture One Pro 20, instead there is only a generic camera profile for a camera say for A7RIII. For Nikon NEF RAW files such camera specific ICC profiles are there and they are many times much easier & convenient starting point for edits. Maybe version 21 of C1 Pro have fixed this and problem might be at the Sony end of things. Another annoying thing is very limited amount supported lenses for lens profiles. Here however latest Sony GM glass is well supported. Software is quite expensive and one has to purchase styles separately (and they are expensive as well) if that is something you might consider as important. There are some basic styles included, but not very many.

Reasons for Choosing Capture One

After trying C1 out I just liked end results, features, controls and workflow better.

Reasons for Switching to Capture One

I still have Lightroom, but rarely use it as a desktop app (I use mobile app from time to time). The way one can do quite complex non-destructive edits in C1 using layers is just much more flexible workflow than what used to be in LR. I also like colours and quality of files that I can get out from CaptureOne better compared LR. However, I must admit that roundtrips to Photoshop are easier to do with LR. Plus one is not forced into subscription model with C1 (but must say that upgrades are rather expensive with Capture One versions as well).

May 2020

wyclife from Resilience Action International

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2020

A resourceful photo editing solution

Pros

The most useful part of this software is the ease of integration with most of the popular camera brands such as Canon.

Cons

Well, other than the price being a bit on the higher end compared to the competition, the software has features that really need improvement and these features include Edge detection which does work well with low-end camera sets.

November 2021

Patryk from Doktrum

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Photography

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

November 2021

(almost)reliable software

In my opinion, the program does the job, although I also believe that there should be more options (eg export).

Pros

As a user, I like the speed and stability of this program. I had no problem with slow loading of thumbnails, even with thousands of files. During the time I have been using this program, it has never stopped working unnoticed.

Cons

The program does not support hdr stacking and panoramas (yet). There's lack of plug-ins at current time, and only few export options (jpg, tiff, png).

Reasons for Switching to Capture One

I needed reliability.

June 2021

Slash from Bowies16

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Business Supplies and Equipment

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2021

excellent tool for photography

With this program I felt more comfortable working and I got used to it and its benefits, it has a very good graphics engine and its tools are advanced but easy to use.

Pros

is a program that runs smoothly and that features many tools that make working on photos easier.

Cons

It is not cheap and buying the latest version every year can be expensive and the latest updates have been reducing the brightness of the program.

Reasons for Switching to Capture One

the issue was whether to make a single purchase or pay a subscription and also capture one is more fluid in the equipment I have.

March 2020

User Profile Picture

Muegbeyogho from Ncourage studios

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Photography

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2020

The best Raw processor software ever

Its worth every dime spent.

Pros

the color science, The ability to stack layers and build effects, the icc profile etc.

Cons

It lacks camera calibration sliders like Lightroom does have.

Response from Capture One

Replied March 2020

Thank you for your review and your recommendation. Please also be aware that the Capture One Enterprise version has Enterprise features only e.g. Barcode scanner integration, workflow support etc.

August 2021

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2021

I love it

Pros

The raw processing is excellent, and there’s so much it allows me to do. It’s the core of my image management as well as basic editing.

Cons

It would be nice to not have to go into Photoshop, but that’s a different tool. Capture One does what it does very well.

July 2021

User Profile Picture

Klemen from 1plan Majda Vidic Karo s.p.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2021

Fast, consistent RAW editor with excellent output

At first C1 was my goto RAW editor for Fuji XT4. Later we tried to launch editing outsourcing services. We have choosen C1 because of consistency between different cameras.

Pros

My camera is Fuji, and C1 is specially good for Fuji camera's. I also like layers. Think of best mix of PhotoShop and LightRoom.

Cons

Anamorphic pictures can only squeze up to 25%. Why limit that feature in the first place? WebP output would be nice. Specially with Google taking speed as ranking factor.

Reasons for Switching to Capture One

Luminar did not have native support for XT4 therefore editing was slow and results were not that good. Luminar was good fo individual editing, but working process for editing large amount of photos was just not great.

May 2021

User Profile Picture

Sandro Roberto from ACOPAMEC

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Civic & Social Organization

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2021

Organização de fotos e inovação é com o Capture One Enterprise

Pros

Possibilidade de organização de fotos de maneira fácil, criativa e funcional. Melhorias, edição das fotos deixando a qualidade melhor possível. Catalogação de fotos antigas de maneira que seja encontrad muito facilmente. Estamos utilizando a ferramenta para finalmente conseguirmos arquivar de maneira prática as fotos da instituição. Não tínhamos uma solução que nos desse essa opção e o Capture One Enterprise faz isso de maneira brilhante

Cons

Uma pequena lentidão no momento de leitura dos albuns de fotos disponiveis, mas depois do primeiro uso funciona plenamente

May 2020

User Profile Picture

Yasiru from The AI Team

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2020

Capture one : Making the photo editing great !

Overall experience is very good. Capture one has given me a centralized solution for managing and editing my photos very easily with great features.

Pros

One of the best features I liked about Capture one is their sophisticated user interface. Even though it is sophisticated user interface is very user friendly too. And another one is Tethered capture where it gives users the ability to shoot photos directly to their computers.

Cons

I wish there is a free tier where there are less features so the beginners who starting their career will be able to use this without worrying about the finance.

January 2021

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

3.0

January 2021

Bulk photo editing made easier; not perfect, but better

Though it is not a perfect solution, Capture One definitely has helped us increase efficiency and speed in getting from photo conception to final product.

Pros

Capture One sped up the time between photo acquisition and ready to go photo solutions for our organization. It made photo editing on a large scale much easier.

Cons

Capture One's interface is a bit clunky in areas and becomes difficult to navigate.

April 2020

User Profile Picture

Prince Billy Graham from Dgtong

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2020

Great experience

Pros

There are lots of functions and the user interface is very friendly and gives the ability to modify user interface.

Cons

The plans are a bit expensive. The documentation is not well organized.

April 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2020

Capture One Software Review

I've been using Capture One for quite a few months now, after switching from a similar photo editing software. I love the highly customizable user interface, which made using this software a lot easier for me as a new user. I'm happy I made the switch to Capture One with its many great features.

Pros

You can add searchable keywords, tags or ratings to images, which makes organising and looking for images very fast and easy. Capture One offers a broad range of tools, manual as well as automatic ones, to adjust color gradients, correct potential lens defects and fix exposure issues. The interface is highly customizable, which is particularly practical for beginners. You also get a choice of either an ongoing subscription to the software or a perpetual license, which many other programs do not offer.

Cons

Capture One only offers limited support for older, lower-end and less popular cameras. The level of performance regarding image previews and final versions is also lower than that of similar softwares.

Response from Capture One

Replied April 2020

Thank you for your review and your recommendation. Please also be aware that the Capture One Enterprise version has Enterprise features only e.g. Barcode scanner integration, workflow support etc.

May 2020

Hristo from STUDIO MO

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Photography

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2020

After you get accustomed ,using it becomes second nature

Pros

The setting seem pre-tailored to my lens and helped me drastically improve the quality of my images . The folder organization within the program is neat and you can easily maneuver and drastically reduce the time you spend on non-essential tasks . It is very sensitive to the different needs of different camera types and supports all of them ( at least all of the ones I have tried ) .

Cons

There was definitely a learning curve to overcome at the beginning . The price can also be discouraging for small businesses. But after a while you find it was well worth it .

June 2021

Andrew from Andrew Heeley Photography

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Photography

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2021

Trialling C1 and impressed thus far

We're just trialling Capture One at present but are impressed with its features.

Pros

Styles stack, works wonders for applying different elements instead of overall presets and they're extremely flexible. It has non-destructive layered editing which is more complex than LightRoom but a lot more dynamic.

Cons

It's VERY complex. Coming from LightRoom to C1 is a big jump in UI/UX. There's a lot of learning to do but the results speak for themselves.

Reasons for Choosing Capture One

Better licencing options. Better features.

Reasons for Switching to Capture One

Cost of Adobe CC is difficult to stomach. Features are a bit lack lustre.

December 2020

User Profile Picture

arehman from Sui Northern Gas Pipelines Limited

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Oil & Energy

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2020

Refined & Balanced color management photo editing Solution

Its a great opportunity for the professional image processing, customization and editing personnel.

Pros

It covers a wide range of photo editing features which is required by any photo expert but its color corrections are the best to mention here. HDR management works such that even after the photo has been captured HDR still works. Secondly for a new photo editor its a good place to learn the basics and specific photo customizations.

Cons

My personal experience with this photo editing soliton is very good. What I would suggest to make a little interactive iconic interface.

April 2020

User Profile Picture

Tania from CareerBuilder

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2020

Great photo editing software!

Pros

Love this software! As a hobby photographer I am now able to organize and consolidate all my photos in one place. I love that I am also able to easily use it with both my Nikon and Canon cameras.

Cons

The annual plan is a bit expensive and limits the number of users on each plan so if you’re running a business this might be something to evaluate to see if it’s cost worthy.

January 2021

User Profile Picture

Javed from Sui Northern Gas Pipelines Limited

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Oil & Energy

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2021

Numerous editing options are precise lighting controls

My personal experience with capture one is good. I also recommend it.

Pros

It has been very long from start to get Professional quality photo edits. It's interface also depicts graphs which enhance the editing capabilities. A wide range of image inputs including camera support is also offered.

Cons

This software may also include video editing features.

August 2020

Felipe from SpeedRS

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Internet

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2020

Good quality in photo editing

We use it at work to edit equipment photos and then put them up for sale on the company's sales channels

Pros

It starts with an easy and very simple interface. In addition, the interface is to customize.All interface functions are simple and easy to understand. The tool offers some automatic updates to adjust color and some possible problems with the photo image

Cons

Some functions are limited to low-cost or even older cameras, which I believe would be the most negative point

April 2020

Luis Miguel from Universita di Genova

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Education Management

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2020

So easy to use, helped me a lot with my projects

Just great software, I would recommend it.

Pros

The fact that I could easily managed a big volume of photo for my personal photography projects. And also they gave me a month free, which is always great!.

Cons

So far everything has been going really smoothly.

March 2020

Fabio from http://www.afvideoproduzioni.info/

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Media Production

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2020

valid alternative to the usual programs

Pros

For some time now I have decided to try it and place it alongside the usual and classic photo editing program (out of respect I don't name it but you know which one it is). it is much more advanced in terms of color management

Cons

some commands can be improved, and not yet up to the competition

Response from Capture One

Replied April 2020

Thank you for your review and your recommendation. Please also be aware that the Capture One Enterprise version has Enterprise features only e.g. Barcode scanner integration, workflow support etc.

October 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2020

Um poderoso editor de imagens RAW

O programa tem uma ótima ferramenta de captura de imagens, é um bom porto seguro para quem precisa deste serviço.

Pros

O programa tem um poderoso capturador de RAW, uma boa interface e a renderização das cores das imagens são incríveis.

Cons

A UI pode ser complicada de entender, o que dificulta a experiência do usuário um pouco.

December 2020

User Profile Picture

Chansa from afroginger

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Broadcast Media

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2020

Capture One Enterprise

Pros

Interface is easy to navigate, great for editing bulk pictures especially for a newbie photographer

Cons

the intial cost of the software is quite high,

April 2020

Peter from Catholic Relief Services

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2020

Capture one enterprise

Good

Pros

Great services, they are very good with listening customer care

Cons

None, as I haven't found anything so bad

April 2020

User Profile Picture

Sheikh from Gyanjam Ltd

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2020

Best suited photo production solutions for studios and professionals

I've found Capture One as a viable option for a team of professionals working together in an e-commerce industry with medium level of production volume. We found the tools quite interesting and thorough.

Pros

For studios working on high demands, the utilities Capture One provides can help optimize resources up to the next level. Even growing professionals who are willing to go the extra mile can benefit from the thorough and deep photo production tools received from Capture One.

Cons

In terms of cost, Capture One can seem a hurdle smaller studios or fresh professionals find not optimal for adding to their collection of tools. They are good tools that could have been made available for such studios on a budget by providing cheaper tiers.

April 2020

User Profile Picture

Sheikh Sakib Ishrak from Samsung R&D Institute Bangladesh

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Consumer Electronics

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2020

Great Choice for Professional Editing

Overall Capture One Enterprise is a great option for small professional teams to work cooperatively. Hobbyists, Indie Creators and Studios can use the advanced enterprise features to improve their workflow.

Pros

Has lot of functionalities and features to get the best photo processing output. UI is simple and customizable. Works smoothly in mid range hardware as well. Raw converter tools are useful. Exporting is easy. Basic Color editor and layered annotations are handy.

Cons

Beginners might face some difficulties using it optimally. Documentations and tutorials can be improved. The price is a bit higher than expectation. Advanced features like Auto Mask, Edge Detection, Advanced Layer Masking can be enhanced further.

April 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2020

Photoshop has competition.

Pros

The ease of use of this product was clear right from the get-go as even my colleagues without any experience editing photos used this without much issue.

Cons

It's missing a few components, but it's a solid purchase right now. I wish to see it updated with more options in the future.

April 2020

User Profile Picture

Dragos from IT

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2020

Minimal software with easy to use features

Pros

I like the minimalistic aproach and easy to get into, i used another similar software but it was way harder to use and learn. Pretty handy for a small company.

Cons

It could do with more features that other softwares have, plus it is pretty expensive.

April 2020

Taurai from rusiqe

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Market Research

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2020

Photo Editing Made Easy

Pros

I don't have those photoshop skills that can make an image look alive, but when publishing my work, with the help of cap 1, they stand out.

Cons

I wish they had a low featured free version for super lite users.

October 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2020

Good option for photo editing

I don't think it is the best one available, but it get things done.

Pros

I had it for personal use, as I'm a hobby photographer. It was a good software to edit and manage my collection.

Cons

It could be cheaper and I think UI improvements are necessary.

April 2020

Joshua from Medical college of Wisconsin

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2020

Once you use it you won't go back

A great program that really elevated my photography hobby.

Pros

Capture one is a great program for everything pictures. It really helped me to streamline my photo taking process from transferring the photos to editing. It has made it so much easier to actually edit my photos and get a finished product instead of unedited photos just sitting on my PC.

Cons

The program has so many functions that it was a bit overwhelming at first.

April 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2020

Lots of Metadata

Overall useful software that really helps get work done fast. The ability to get all the additional tagging is very useful for client projects.

Pros

Very useful to have all the metadata tagging available in this. Highly customizable easy-to-use interface. Color rendition and color correction instruments are great.

Cons

Lack of compatibility with photoshop. Limited support for low-end cameras.