All PhotoWorks Reviews

1-25 of 31 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Brittanny

Photography, 1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2022

Great Product

PROS

I have gone back and forth between PhotoWorks and PhotoShop. I prefer PhotoWorks. The ease of use and features are much less cumbersome. PhotoWorks does everything I need and more.

CONS

At this time I have not found any cons in my use of PhotoWorks.

Reasons for switching to PhotoWorks

Adobe was difficult to use and expensive.

William

Civic & Social Organization, 1 employee

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2022

PhotoWorks has tools like you find in expensive software.

The other photo editing program I experimented with told me of layers. I understood the concept to a point. PhotoWorks probably uses the layer concept but the tasks I done so far I didn't have to rely on understanding which layer did what in the overall edited photo

PROS

I can accomplish the same task that I did in much $$$ programs in LESS TIME and with videos on how to make the picture butter than it was. If I run into a new problem, so far there has been videos showing me how to make it happen. Therefore being MUCH easier to use. I also like the way it places the term "edited" on the saved product, definitly helps when I go back to make more edits

CONS

You pay for what you get and I MOST wanted a program that could eliminate objects in the photo and not have to do the "trial and error" method OVER and OVER. On the first day I understood how to remove an object and replace with a nearby object. PhotoWorks does have limitations ... OR tools that I haven't found yet. You get into doing what you need done and move on, so it's possible it's not the software's fault.

Reasons for switching to PhotoWorks

Over the years I learned how to remove objects with Photoshop Elements 9, then moved to Elements 2018, and I STILL never received the product "how to" videos even they were supposed to be available. It was learn a trick or two from a friend or do the trial & error method. I have enjoyed PhotoWorks very much

Vendor Response

Hi William, thank you very much for your review! Glad that you found our tutorials very useful. If you lack certain functionality in our software, feel free to send us your feedback - we're open to new ideas, and will try to implement them in future updates.

Replied June 2022

Selmer

Writing and Editing, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed July 2022

Review

PROS

Nothing really, not worth the money that I paid for it.

CONS

Hard to use this software for the purpose I need.

Reasons for switching to PhotoWorks

Trying to find a quality product.

Vendor Response

Hi Selmer! I am very sorry it was hard for you to get the desired result with our software. Have you contacted our tech support? They should help you find the easiest way to apply the needed edits to your photo.

Replied July 2022

Richard

Photography, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2022

Hobbyist's Review, written by " Rick's Wildlife Photography"

Not in business use but the the experience has been good.

PROS

As an experienced amateur wildlife photographer hobbyist and now 74yrs old I can do so many things with PhotoWorks, not only to just improve my results, but to do fun and interesting things with my photos without having to have an in depth knowledge of all the time consuming and confusing technical no how required to use programs such as Photoshop. Obviously from the earlier sign in details you required and the choices therein , your review request is perhaps not really aimed at retired persons or amateur photographers however your program is an absolute treasure for the likes of us, and there are a lot of us out here. As with all things worthwhile practice makes perfect but, for example, it is even possible to eventually, after repetitively altering already altered photos, to come up with a family photo showing five generations all in the one photo that looks totally realistic and genuine. I love your program folks.

CONS

I've been too busy enjoying the software at this stage that I haven't noticed any particular dislikes.

Reasons for switching to PhotoWorks

I switched from a program that was far too complex when I can achieve exactly what I want here without the underlying knowledge of the science behind it.

Richard

Photography, 1 employee

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2022

PhotoWorks Review

When support is requested. Support will respond once. I've had serious issued and support failed/refuses to respond. This definitely a serious issue. Because of the poor support, I'm considering changing to another product. This issue is not just with Photoworks but also with SmartShow 3D.

PROS

Photoworks is a very easy app to use. It almost has all the same features of Photoshop but with the easy of use.

CONS

After the last version update, the changing the sky feature would not work and crashed the software/

Reason for choosing PhotoWorks

Photoworks has better functionality, easy of use, very good AI.

Reasons for switching to PhotoWorks

Easy of use and the AI works very well.

Vendor Response

Thank you for your feedback, Richard! Can I have the number of your support ticket? I'll check why you haven't received a reply, and we'll help you with the sky replacement issue.

Replied July 2022

Heather

Construction, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2021

For small business owners

Overall, quick to learn with tutorials and videos. Easy to use beyond learning. I liked the background remover - used the tutorial, and then it was like magic to remove!

PROS

I was able to learn quickly how to insert our logo and add it to images via overlay. Important for our remodeling and construction before/after pictures. We like adding our logo, so our photos can be trusted (and owned) as our work. It is important to brand!

CONS

I was excited about the "batch" view - but it would not let me save our unique logo file. You can create and save a "signature" template - which must be created (and not imported) within the software. [I had wanted to add our logo as overlay on a batch of pictures, and am only able to do so on individual images.]

Reasons for switching to PhotoWorks

Full adobe photoshop is expensive - and I do not need ALL of those features.

Vendor Response

Hi Heather, thank you so much for your review, and for the comment on adding logos! I've forwarded this to the project manager, so we might add the option of importing a custom logo and saving it as a template in future updates.

Replied September 2021

Anonymous

1 employee

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed November 2021

PhotoWorks is OK

I use for basic images.

PROS

The best of PhotoWorks are: Ease of use, good tools and user friendly.

CONS

The worst of PhotoWorks are: Performance, in some tools the app takes long time to respond.

M. Jo Wendorff

Public Safety, 1 employee

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2021

Want to Save Dark Photos??

Love the ease of Photoworks. The Learning curve is great. Staff offers help with any questions when purchasing. I really enjoy moving the bars (sharpness, etc. ) & seeing immediate changes on the photo!

PROS

I absolutely love this program. It has saved me many hours of set up & retaking photos. I am NOT a pro. I am volunteered (or volunteer) to do photos of projects for groups. My camera did not respond, many pictures were very dark & I was physically sick. I searched the net, found PhotoWorks, and did a few tests with some of the darkest pictures. I honestly could not believe the results! I bought the program the same day ( early Christmas present to me)!! i mam thrilled! have used PhotoWorks more time than i thought i would, always wit6h great results.

CONS

Haven't found any negatives yet! add on I wish the disc of the program would have cost a bit less. I bought it (I did not want to take any chances on losing PhotoWorks)

R Scott

Design, 1 employee

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2022

A truly excellent tool that is actually easy to learn and to use

I just enjoy using it and their Customer Service is great!!

PROS

This photo app is as user friendly and intuitive as the the more expensive editors are confusing and intimidating> I really enjoy it!

CONS

It would be nice to have more flexibility in terms of text and frames. But these are minor minor issues and theyhelped me find easy solutions.

David

Photography, 1 employee

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2022

A+++ photo software

PROS

I found the sliders very easy to use. The color to black and white ..The cropping is smooth as well

CONS

the updates from one version to another has a cost involved

Reason for choosing PhotoWorks

I use several pieces of software to reach my goal..no on program does it all

Chris

Information Technology and Services, 1 employee

Used monthly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed September 2021

A good solid package that needs further improvement

Overall I like PhotoWorks, but I have decided not to use it until the issues summarised above have been resolved.

PROS

I need photo editing software for personal use to clean up thousands of old 35mm colour slides that I have digitised. My goal is simply to remove defects from the images, e.g. incorrect exposure, colour balance and blemishes, not to add special effects. I compared PhotoWorks version 10.0 with Adobe Photoshop Elements version 18.0. Both have easy-to use auto enhancement features that produce similar results. However PhotoWorks offers more granular manual correction of individual image attributes, which enables good results to be obtained from problem images, eg very under- or over-exposed. The only retouching option I have used is the Healing Brush, which allows blemished due to dust, fibres, mold, etc to be corrected. PhotoWorks performs well at this. The PhotoWorks team was very responsive when I requested an option to add templates for visible captions on images.

CONS

Performance is disappointingly slow when PhotoWorks applies corrections to images - typically with lag times of 1 or more seconds - which makes the removal of a large number of blemishes time-consuming. One of my must-have requirements is the ability to add visible captions to each photo using a consistent format (font, size, colour, opacity, position on canvas, etc). The PhotoWorks Text Templates option goes some way towards providing this, but does not yet offer consistent caption positioning, nor the ability to alter a caption once the image has been saved. The opacity option also needs improvement.

Reason for choosing PhotoWorks

Although I have purchased a licence for Photoworks version 10.0, I am continuing to use PhotoShop Elements until the issues summarised above have been resolved.

Gerry

Music, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2021

PhotoWorks - my thoughts

Very user friendly, easy to learn, great tools and time savers

PROS

I got Photoworks very recently and have used it quite a bit, since I had some important face swapping  photo work I needed to do. Photoworks is very user friendly and easy to figure out and the videos are extremely helpful. I also have had GIMP a long time, which is a very complex graphics program. It's much more difficult to do the work on GIMP. I'm now using both programs together on my pics.  GIMP can pretty much do anything, but it's very difficult to learn and I must say there are certain things on PhotoWorks that are incredible time savers that would take forever on GIMP like the photo touch up tools that can zero in on the face or the complete photo. You can very quickly try about 20 variations until you find the best one. If you're looking for a program that's easy to learn and also powerful in certain features, PhotoWorks may be the best choice.

CONS

Can't save the workspace to continue on another day. No manual, only tutorials

Aldemir

Photography, 1 employee

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2023

Edição em lote

Como faço edição em lote, preciso de muito hardware, pricipalmente processador e memória

PROS

variedade de recursos, inovador, facil e rápido

CONS

não usa a GPU e precisa de muito hardware

Reason for choosing PhotoWorks

custo x benefício

Reasons for switching to PhotoWorks

novidades, facilidade e variedade de recursos

Vendor Response

Hi Aldemir! Thank you for your feedback! Glad that you found the program useful. Please note that you can turn on the GPU usage feature by checking the "Use GPU" option under the View tab.

Replied April 2023

Anonymous

1 employee

Review Source: GetApp
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed September 2022

PhotoWorks tut nicht was die Software tun sollte

Schlecht! Der Support is arrogant und ignoriert das Problem, wissen wieso, deshalb kann man es auch nicht testen.

PROS

Nichts, weil die Software nicht funktioniert hat.

CONS

Die Bereichsreperatur-Pinsel konnte man nur in der Kaufversion benutzen, und genau dieses benötigte ich in der Testfase. Dafür gekauft und war eine Katze im Sack, da sie nicht ordentlich funktioniert hat.

Reasons for switching to PhotoWorks

PhotoWorks nicht tut was sie tun soll.

Vendor Response

Hi! We are extremely sorry about the difficulties you had with our software. The Healing Brush feature should be available for testing in the free version. Could you let us know the number of your support ticket? We'll check the details of the problem, and we'll surely find a solution for you.

Replied October 2022

maria cristina

Accounting, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2022

Excelente Herramienta

Recuperación de fotos de mucho valor para mi. Con excelentes resultados

PROS

Su fácil uso y buen resultado. Es una buena alternativa a Photoshop y otros software parecidos que son mas profesionales.

CONS

que debería tener mas opciones juntas como Glory por ejemplo todo en uno

Vendor Response

Thank you for your feedback Maria! We'll try to add more photo restoration options in future updates.

Replied June 2022

Reginald

Photography, 1 employee

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2022

Photoworks Is a Great Alternative to Photoshop for Basic Image Editing

I love using this product because I get great results very fast. I've never had an issue with the software such as glitches, freezing, erratic results, etc. There are tutorials on how to use the software but it is so intuitive that instructions really aren't needed to get the gist of a menu option upon first use.

PROS

It's user friendly, easier to learn than other photo editing software, and it's priced just right.

CONS

I do have Photoshop and it has a multitude of plug-in assets, actions, templates, filters, fonts, and more that Photoworks doesn't have at this moment.

Vendor Response

Hi Reginald! Thank you for the review and your suggestion. We've already created additional effects, clipart, and backgrounds for PhotoWorks, and we are already working on more add-ons.

Replied July 2022

Phillip

Consumer Electronics, 1 employee

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2022

Software quality and performance

For most common graphic and photo editing, this software is sufficient and powerful enough to sastify my works for personal or business purposes.

PROS

Integrated most useful and common features for photo editing work. These features are powerful enough to sastify your photo editing results.

CONS

This software is for editing with single layer photo. For multiple-layer graphic editing and generating work, more powerful software like Photoshop would be needed.

Reasons for switching to PhotoWorks

It doesn't have enough photo editing features I need for a good price value.

Vendor Response

Thank you for the detailed review, Philip! We are already thinking on the multiple layer editing, and this feature may be added in one of the future updates.

Replied July 2022

Adel

Higher Education, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2021

Simple and cheap photo editing

I use Photoworks to manipulate photos for patients and procedures before projecting them to students. It is simple, with clean interface and does the job with ease.

PROS

Very simple interface, does the needed jobs in photo-editing with ease. It has also, plenty of online tutorials.

CONS

Raw files need a many manual corrections before becoming usable.

Ian

Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY