Review Highlights

Overall Rating

4.75

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5

Customer Support

5

Value for money

4.5

Functionality

4.5


Pros and Cons

  • icon"PowerDMS is very user friendly, flexible, easy to access and uncluttered like some of its competition."
  • icon"Easy to access all official documents and directives in one location; online trainings easy to use and navigate."
  • icon"Excellent resources if I need assistance. I have had some one on one training with the support staff and she is fantastic."
  • icon"At the beginning it was difficult to grasp. With the tools provided and support problems were alleviated quickly."
  • icon"Honestly, the initial log in process is a major pain; and the first few correspondences from PowerDMS went straight to my spam box."
  • icon"Lack of IT help for moving files. Inability to print more than 1 page."

Have you used PowerDMS and would like to share your experience with others?

Write a review

All PowerDMS Reviews

1-25 of 293 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Jason

Company size: 1 employee

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

January 2022

Great system for policy management, workflows, and training documentation

Jason

Verified reviewer

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Law Enforcement

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

April 2021

Great system for policy management, workflows, and training documentation

We have been using the programs for quite some time. This is really been a game changer for our department and ensures that we get timely information to all of our employees.

Pros

Easy to use and manage. This is a much needed program to manage policies, reference manuals, and important documents.

Cons

Mobile version needs improvement. I also wish the program would speak with Google calendar so that sign ups would transfer over.

Reasons for choosing PowerDMS

N/A

Reasons for switching to PowerDMS

Better system

Anonymous

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

October 2017

Great web-based software to manage policies, documents, forms, and training. Free mobile app.

This software got us better organized, especially in the area of our policy manual. Prior to discovering PowerDMS, we used a printed policy manual for each officer. When policies were updated or added, copies had to be printed for every officer and they were responsible to remove the old policy from their manual and replace it with the new copy. Nobody every knew if they had the most current version. Same with forms as they seem to constantly change and everyone had their own electronic copy of the forms but are they using the current forms. With PowerDMS, there is only one copy of each policy / form, and it is always the most current, and the old forms are archived. PowerDMS is very user friendly and you can search by simply typing a key word. The search not only looks at the title of the document, but also searches the content of that document which is very beneficial.

Pros

PowerDMS is a very powerful program that saves time. It is easy to search for and find exactly what you are looking for. I would recommend this to any law enforcement agency looking to better manage their policy manual, forms, and track their training. We even use PowerDMS to conduct training in certain areas. They system can be set up to annually send out a reminder that training is needed in a particular area, the user can enroll at their own convenience to take the course. The testing can be scored automatically by the software and the training record logged all without an instructor having to lecture or record anything. The officers love it because they don't have to come in on their time off to take a class, and can complete it while they are on-duty, which also saves the agency in paying overtime. PowerDMS solicits input from users to further improve upon the program.

Anonymous

Company size: 51-200 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

August 2018

Great way to easily share documents

Great way to share documents with employees who are out in the field and to reduce hard copies.

Pros

We use Power DMS to push documents out to employees in our police department. As the majority of those are patrol officers who do not have an office or a desktop computer, but rather work out of their patrol cars and mobile computers, it can be challenging to ensure they receive required documents. This software allows us to push it out to their mobile computers and we can verify that they've received it by requiring their acknowledgement.

Cons

We really haven't had any problems with this software and would not hesitate to recommend it. We've successfully used for a long time.

Anonymous

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

October 2017

PowerDMS provides the agency with a multi-faceted tool to track policies, procedures, and training.

The greatest benefit to PowerDMS for the agency is associated with the accreditation process. The ability to track policies and procedures while creating electronic assessments saves the agency time and money.

Pros

PowerDMS is an easy tool to learn. The more that you use the program the better it is. We are now able to successfully track policies, procedures and training in one program which includes the ability to track changes and verify signatures.

Cons

The timeout aspect for Administrators can be problematic however; this is a minor issue. The second minor issue is that although the training videos provide a lot of information, they can sometimes move too fast.

Jason

Verified reviewer

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

April 2019

We can't imagine life before PowerDMS

Our company uses PowerDMS for more and more each day. For several years we have used it as a working repository for SOP documents. We are now utilizing it more thoroughly to cut down on paper; consolidate multiple departments' documents into one centralized (easy to access) web-based location; and send documents through complicated approvals processes without the risk of lost forms/paper. PowerDMS's customer service is stellar. Every single time we have a question (small or large; user error or major IT functionality), their customer service team is helpful, timely, and friendly. I can't say enough good things about their service team.

Pros

Easy to use, Intuitive, Simple interface

Cons

Learning curve for first-time users, Limited reporting

Anonymous

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

November 2017

I'm a new user, and the customer support is the best of the best

Ease of managing our standard operating procedures in one database, accessible to all.

Pros

I like the compartmentalization of components that you can link together to create your own program within a program

Cons

The lack of immediate help access attached to each component. I appreciate the support offered - which is highly detailed, but accessible help modules at least with a mini-explanation of the specific function would be great. For example. Setting a status date - a mini help file could be attached to the word "status" with an explanation and/or tip

Anonymous

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

February 2020

ease of use plus functionality

The biggest benefit has been the reduced paperwork and time involved in searching for the tools were use to do our jobs.

Pros

PowerDMS is very user friendly, flexible, easy to access and uncluttered like some of its competition.

Cons

There didn't seem o be any significant problems with this software. If I had to say anything negative, the mass of information available can make it complicated to find and remove previous information during updates or weed through to obtain desired effects.

User Profile

Riley

Verified reviewer

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Government Administration

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

March 2018

Game Changer

Our documents are now organized and saved in one local location. Makes it much easier to see the changes that were made.

Pros

Easy to collaborate on documents such as policies and procedures, as well as keep track of training records and expiration.

Cons

Some of the accreditation aspects are not the easiest or make the most sense. During our mock assessment, it was tricky to get everyone set up in the system.

Lori

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Retail

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

September 2016

Game Changer

Using the PowerDMS system has made communication about policy changes so much more efficient. Now, instead of passing information through layers of management, we can connect directly with our employees. It also has allowed us to distribute documents that are unique to certain groups of employees - all with no paper filing to personnel files! This system has been very well received in our company. It gives managers and employees the ability to keep up to date & find information easily.

Pros

The user interface is simple and easy to understand; the system allows for multi-state document management (state specific policies/notices can be distributed easily); a paperless solution means no filing; it allows for easy collaboration on policy changes; and the ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC customer support!!

Cons

I wish there were clearer distinctions for document security between front line managers/admin users and policy developers. In order to run reports on whether an employee has signed a currently published version of a policy, your security also allows you the ability to see current draft versions.

Kristen

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Law Enforcement

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

August 2017

PowerDMS streamlines processes, reduces paperwork and stress in project management.

Simple and straightforward project management. We're always thinking of new ways to use and apply PowerDMS in our organization.

Pros

The features in PowerDMS are well-planned. There is very little extraneous features, and the features that are provided are to a purpose and specific functionality. Learning about those features is incredibly simple, thanks to an excellent on-line support/help system with videos and step-by-step instructions, complemented by agent assistance just a click away with their very handy chat function. I really cannot rave enough about their customer service.

Cons

The hardest thing I've encountered with PowerDMS is convincing colleagues to let go of their death grasp on various paper documents and files and shift to this program to manage project/document creation, review and implementation from beginning to end. With PowerDMS we have an extraordinary tool, but we're too attached to doing things the way we've always done them to fully embrace the ease and convenience PowerDMS brings to the table.

Kathy

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

October 2016

Best decision our organization has ever made!

We looked for vendors with a reputation for providing great customer support. Then, we asked to use the software for a trial period or for a demonstration. PowerDMS offers an accreditation component which allows you to crosswalk our policies with AAAHC standards. This made our accreditation survey this past year go extremely smoothly. This solution allows us to have all our policies in one location. It also automatically archives our revisions, captures electronic signatures, can be used for training by creating courses and is easy to use. We are currently creating credential files in PowerDMS.

Pros

It's easy to use and makes my job easier.

Cons

You have to download a policy and save it outside of the PowerDMS environment if you need to send it electronically to someone. Since PowerDMS offers the email option or new message option, it should allow you to attach a document in that message.

Lori

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

December 2016

LOVE POWERDMS

PowerDMS has been a great tool for our agency. It is helped us organize our policies and streamline our audit process. It has been an essential green initiative in our agency to go paperless. We have yet to fully explore all PowerDMS can offer our agency so I am sure that there is a lot more for us to experience once we divulge.

Pros

The customer service is great and the audit tool (assessments) have helped simplify my job. Less paper, easier, for our auditor and for locating information and policy updates.

Cons

Some of the functions do not work as efficiently as they could with our agency intentions. I would love to see more roles in Assessments options or the option to assign to a specific user and not a group.

frank

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

September 2021

Power DMS vs Sharepoint

To go from Sharepoint to Power DMS was like night and day. Searching for a document or policy was dreadful in the past, with Power DMS, its a breeze.

Pros

The ease in which to search and locate documents or policies is superior to other software.

Cons

The list pulled up of possible matches when searching by keyword or phrase can be ambiguous and or long.

Ryan

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Law Enforcement

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

November 2016

Excellent Document Management Software

I have been a master administrator in PowerDMS for several years. I was at my agency prior to PowerDMS implementation, and I can tell you with firsthand knowledge that PowerDMS simplifies our management of policies, forms, training and training records, and our law enforcement accreditation program. PowerDMS also provides a handy app that makes it easy to look up policies on the go, or to see if there are any items in your inbox that need attention. I work in PowerDMS every day and I love it.

Pros

Ease of use, multiple platforms (desktop and app), terrific documentation for training records and accreditation management.

Cons

The app has limited usability.

Rich

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Law Enforcement

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

March 2021

One-stop Shop for Internal Documents

Overall, PowerDMS has been a great tool to keep track of policies, notices and other internal documentation that never had a single home. Finding things is a lot easier than it used to be.

Pros

My favorite part about PowerDMS is how robust its change-tracking capabilities are. Our policies change often, but it's also important to be able to refer back to the policy that was in effect at the time of an incident. Tracking training and certification is a huge help too.

Cons

Probably the learning curve. Super simple for regular users, but on the administration side figuring out how to create workflows and courses took some time.

Reasons for choosing PowerDMS

Because it integrates with our accrediting body's standards and evaluation process.

James

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Law Enforcement

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5