All BoardPro Reviews

1-25 of 690 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Kyle

5,001 - 10,000 employees

Used less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

Reviewed November 2021

Great value governance and Board management solution

User Profile

Craig

Verified reviewer

Accounting, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2020

Useful, practical, and easy to use.

Allows me to focus on my governance job.

PROS

BoardPro makes coordination and logistics of board meetings and papers easy for board members. All info in the same place and and not mucking about with lots of different systems and software.

CONS

As a user I have no major gripes. It works for me

Reason for choosing BoardPro

I use both these other tools in one other board role each. I currently use BoardPro for 3 boards. Diligent is good but expensive. Also seems to require more administrator skill and expertise to set up and use well. Not a big fan of BoardTrac. Seems a bit limited in functionality - but maybe I just haven't invested enough time to understand it and its features fully. And therein lies one of the reasons I like BoardPro - because I can spend most of my time and effort in just using it rather than learning how to use it. Very intuitive.

Vendor Response

Hi Craig, Thanks for writing such a comprehensive review for us. Have a great 2021. Regards The BoardPro team

Replied December 2020

Amber

Education Management, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2023

Perfect value for money option.

I think the customer service and overall experience with BoardPro is great. I would definitely recommend it to any business looking for a good value for money option. Excellent functionality and affordable enough to convince your CEO that the software is good value.

PROS

BoardPro is a fantastic product. I like the functionality of the software in that the minutes integrate actions and decisions directly into each register. The documents also look great. They aren't too clunky and they are laid out nicely.

CONS

I think the security settings could definitely be improved. Quite often there are papers that I would only like for the Board to see but I can't lock them down by individual paper and so I have to limit executive access to all papers and / or run a separate set of papers to remove the confidential papers. I also think that you should be able to add a paper under an agenda item instead of having to create another agenda item below as sometimes it will duplicate. For example, it would be great to drop the CEO's Report under a CEO section item rather than having to drop it down into e.g. 1.1.

Reason for choosing BoardPro

Best value for money product with the most functionality. Other software only exports pdf copies of papers for mark up which doesn't make sense to me. The whole point is the security of your documents.

Reasons for switching to BoardPro

There was no functionality at Boardable. I have also used Diligent (who I actually also highly rate) but it's too expensive for any organisation that I have worked for.

Blake

Non-Profit Organization Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2021

Outstanding

Happy! It's a fantastic system for board papers.

PROS

I like the fact that members of the Code Authority can vote on motions to changes to the work plan and vote on other items. The ability to set up meetings is seamless and easy, anyone can do it!

CONS

I wish we could hold live voting via Boardpro during our meetings.

Reason for choosing BoardPro

Easy to use.

Vendor Response

Hi Blake, thanks for your review. I have passed your comments on to our support team who will reach out to you. We do have a live meeting voting feature. They'll show you how to do that. Regards The BoardPro Team

Replied January 2021

Susanne

Non-Profit Organization Management, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2024

BoardPro - the Best

Extremely satisfied with the online support and would recommend highly.

PROS

I was a new user to Boardpro 18 months ago and found the support to be extremely helpful and the response times quick. I found the programme was easy to navigate and user friendly. Since I have started using BoardPro I have introduced another client to it and they have purchased it based on their own research and my recommendation. The set up was easy and the client is very happy with the training links.

CONS

At this stage I have not used any other programme apart from BoardPro as the system was set up prior to me starting to use it so cannot compare to others.

Neil

Sports, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2020

Board management solution that not only removes stress but adds real quality to governance

BoardPro helps me use my time more efficiently in preparation of Board meetings. Whereas our Board Packs in the past consisted of a range of separate documents that were at times not easy to work through, Board Pro automatically compiles a single pack that follows the Agenda sequence, and has a contents page. The ease of pulling minutes and decisions of prior meetings into future meetings saves a lot of valuable time, and helps us ensure that we do not miss important actions. Overall, our governance has developed significantly through just using BoardPro as our meeting platform.

PROS

Easy to use features, like using agenda templates, automatically adding due decisions, easy edits. Time-saving features - click through options for common tasks. Professional looking documents, and help provided to prepare documents. Secure storage of meeting and governance documents in a logical structure and single location. Ability to access meeting documents online or have it emailed to members. Very affordable pricing for a non-profit organisation.

CONS

Getting used to terminology (like 'roll back') and what it means. No ability for members to edit meeting documents collaboratively.

Reason for choosing BoardPro

Fantastic cost discount for a non-profit organisation. Familiarity of current Board members with BoardPro. Use of BoardPro by other hockey and sports boards, and positive references received.

Reasons for switching to BoardPro

We had security concerns over Dropbox as a Board management tool. Documents were stored in a somewhat effective file tree, but still consisted as a series of individual documents for a Board meeting, which made preparation for members difficult at times. We needed a solution that was easy to use, offered a single storage location that was secure, and helped us prepare more professional board documents. BoardPro ticked all of those boxes.

Vendor Response

Hi Neil, thanks for taking the time out of your day to write such a comprehensive review for BoardPro. Much appreciated. The BoardPro Team

Replied November 2020

John

Non-Profit Organization Management, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2020

Good governance enabler

Has made role as Chair so much simpler and meeting management more effective. Boardpro (the team) really responsive to queries, and the response is rapid. This also makes Boardpro a standout. I'm careful about recommending stuff to people, but I do mentoring on governance for not for profit organisations. I have no hesitation in advising them to get on to Boardpro. Not for profits are really reluctant to invest in overheads, but there is real value in the productivity gain in investing in this software. In my view, it also makes life easier for volunteer trustees, who deserve having their lives made easier given their freely-given time from busy lives.

PROS

Well thought through and designed. Provides a structured way to get information in front of Board members. Able to store Board files, and to search previous meeting documentation and decisions. Great automated task tracker, and terrific job of managing minutes. Ability to annotate papers useful, esp if using tablet or touch screen.

CONS

Search facility seems a bit hit and miss - does not seem to find documents unless title expressed accurately and in full.

Reason for choosing BoardPro

Diligent Boards appeared to be geared to large for profit organisations, and appeared to assume that all organisations have deep pockets. Alas, that is not true for not for profits.

Vendor Response

Hello John, Thanks for your comprehensive review and thanks again for joining the BoardPro family of users around the world. Regards The BoardPro team

Replied July 2020

Holly

Non-Profit Organization Management, 2-10 employees

Used monthly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2022

Intuitive affordable and brilliant Board management platform

I love BoardPro and highly recommend it to others looking for an easy to use, affordable, and robust Board platform. The few times I've needed help, the customer service team is the best I've ever worked with...not just for Board platforms either.

PROS

I love BoardPro! It's so nice to have a centralised place for our Board to access their agendas, board papers, calendar appointments, links for digital meetings, interest register, etc. As the Board secretary I found it easy to navigate and figure out on my own (although their customer service is the best I've ever received for any online platform I've used...not just in the board platform space either!). Taking minutes is easy, recording decisions and assigning actions is a breeze - and if I make a mistake, the roll back minutes feature is brilliant as I can roll back to a previous save point. We looked at several other Board platform options and the price point is very affordable in comparison. We've now expanded to include some of our sub-committees and it's a great feature to have access to.

CONS

The only branding item our comms team has asked for is to be able to upload our brand font so that PDFs that are exported are in our font - but that's not a huge priority for us. The functionality for the Board and myself (Board secretary) is so impressive.

Reason for choosing BoardPro

Free trial, easy to use, affordable, offered the features we were looking for, and customer service is the best I've ever worked with!

User Profile

Barry

Verified reviewer

Accounting, 201-500 employees

Used more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2020

User Friendly Board and Committee Meetings Sogtware

Good, I was an early adopter and seen it's functionality grow steadily over time - I am happy to recommend it for my clients and contacts to consider. Very good communication with the company.

PROS

I really like the ability to access all the areas via browser, add in notes to my copy of the papers, find past papers and actually generate / print a Board pack if I needed to. The responsivity of the help from the company is very good too.

CONS

Actually I struggle to think of anything material as a con.

Reason for choosing BoardPro

Diligent required Ipads and was targeted at the "big end of town" - entry level for BoardPro was much lower.

Vendor Response

Hi Barry, Thanks for writing a review for us and thanks for the many referrals you send us. Regards The BoardPro team

Replied November 2020

User Profile

Benjamin

Verified reviewer

Civic & Social Organization, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2019

Perfect for the small-medium not for profit board.

PROS

Intuitive. Simple. Easy to use. And probably more importantly saves board members (who are all voluntary) time and effort. This is why we choose BoardPro. Everything in one place. Everyone on the same page.

CONS

There are a couple of features I’d love to see implemented, and the great thing is that BoardPro has been super responsive to incorporating this feedback.

Reason for choosing BoardPro

BordPro was responsive and appropriate for a small not for profit organisation and board. It made the essential governance processes easy and well managed without being ‘corporate’ style and bloated.

Vendor Response

Hi Benjamin, Great to see your positive comments about BoardPro. Our roadmap features and functionality comes from our many clients around the world. The link below will take you to our ideas portal. https://ideas.boardpro.io/ Regards Sean McDonald

Replied October 2019

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2021

Non profits profit from BoardPro!

Very positive. Two organisations with sub committees also and all that use it love it!

PROS

Ease of use and the intuitive interface. Documents for meetings and governance all in one place.

CONS

Little slow to load when the connections are poor. Displaying documents could do with streamlining

Reason for choosing BoardPro

Expense and previous experience of our admin staff

Michelle

Non-Profit Organization Management, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2019

Does exactly what it says

- We have been trying to get our board members to transition from paper-based board packs to online for a while now and they have found BoardPro so easy to use that we have converted all our board to online. It has been a great time-saver for me as the administrator. Not only have we lessened the impact on the environment with not printing the documents but also the cost of printing and couriering the packs. - Questions are answered in a timely manner and the set webinar trainings are also a great feature. - Because of the success with our Board, we have also extended using BoardPro to two other committees.

PROS

- Ease of use. Uploading of documents without having to convert into a PDF a great time saver. - Easy to create agendas and move documents within the agenda sections. - Separate action items which can be emailed to those responsible and timely reminder emails also a great feature to enable items to be actioned.

CONS

- Cannot enter multiple entries under the Interest Registers for one person. Currently you have to make a new entry under each person (not ideal when board members have multiple interests). Governance Documents cannot be seen in the Ipad version. - Currently no spell-checker.

Reason for choosing BoardPro

As a non-for-profit organisation, cost was a big factor for our organisation. The easy functionality of using Boardpro (as an administrator and feedback from users) was also a factor in the decision making with our Board members. Our Board just wanted something they could open and user-friendly.

Maardi

Non-Profit Organization Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2022

Boardpro

Great, super easy to use once you have been introduced

PROS

This makes it so much easier as an administrator to manage. You can duplicate members over various groups

CONS

Waiting for customer support it, however once they are available, they are awesome

Reason for choosing BoardPro

Because the functions able us to track special votes and document management

Reasons for switching to BoardPro

They didnt provide what BP provides

Tim

Sports, 2-10 employees

Used monthly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2019

Board Pro is the way forward

Sports Administration has many differing levels of technology ability. Having one system that is simple to use helps user focus on the important matters at hand not worry about how to write and distribute information to the relevant stakeholders. The support has been great when we need it and overall the experience with Board Pro has been very positive.

PROS

It makes finding, taking and distributing minutes fast and efficient. It is not a problem to take minutes so there is a good rotation of minute takers. Organising the next meeting is a breeze and reminders make sure everyone is aware of where and when they need to meet. Action items are included into the minutes with a date so everyone can see what is on track what needs attention. All the governance documents are easily accessible as well which saves time and keeps everyone well organised.

CONS

It works well and takes a few meeting to get used to how the layout and system works.

Reason for choosing BoardPro

More cost effective and more personal support

Vendor Response

Hi Tim, That was awesome feedback. Thanks for taking so much time with your review. I have passed on your great comments to the development and support teams. Best Regards Sean McDonald

Replied October 2019

Mark

Non-Profit Organization Management, 11-50 employees

Used monthly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2020

Board Pro Review - Not-For-Profit

Excellent - it just works exactly as it says it does!

PROS

We can now update and publish Board Papers for Directors & Management seamlessly without cutting down more trees to print hard copies! The ability for everyone to annotate papers on their own devices - tablet, laptop, mobile - gives us all the flexibility that we need. We absolutely love the ability to preview documents with just one or two recipients before publishing to a wider group - overall, it's significantly reduced our time to put Board Papers together!

CONS

Sharing annotated notes among sub-groups may prove useful for us moving forward (e.g. Board or Management Committees).

Reason for choosing BoardPro

Best NFP fit for our organisation's needs in terms of features and pricing - NZ owned & operated was BIG plus factor too for us in terms of local support! (NB My disclaimer is that I know [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN], one of BoardPro's Governance Practice Advisory Board Members very well, having previously served on a Tech Start-Up Board with him.)

Vendor Response

Hi Mark, Thanks for taking the time to complete a comprehensive review. The 'notes sharing' function is on our roadmap. Regards The BoardPro team

Replied October 2020

Daryl

Education Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2019

Using BoardPro

BoardPro has reduced the time it used to take for me to compile meeting agendas. I can build agendas through the month and load relevant papers as they come to hand. Access to documentation by Board members is much easier. The decision register is very useful as it is no longer kept in a separate database programme. Also the interest register is in the same programme as other board information.

PROS

I compile agendas for several companies, committees and a trust. Using BoardPro has reduced the time these processes have taken significantly because the names of those who will be expected at the meeting are already available and so is my template for the meeting agendas. It is very easy to make changes as necessary. The Trustees, Directors and Committee members like the notification process that advises them when meeting papers are ready for them to view and when they have actions to complete. I also like that support from BoardPro is available quickly and ideas that users have to improve the features of the product are invited, considered and often implemented so that we all gain the benefit of better board papers.

CONS

Nothing really. A challenge can be that the programme is cloud based, so if access to the Internet is interrupted getting to the board papers can be difficult. Consequently, I always have a hard copy of the agenda available at each meeting and a way in which to record minutes that does not rely on the cloud. I have been using BoardPro for just over a year now and so far have only needed to employ my alternative method once.

Vendor Response

Hi Daryl, Thanks for your great feedback. We do have a companion IOS application for the iPad which you can download for free at the Apple store. I hope that helps. Regards Sean McDonald

Replied June 2019

Josie

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2019

Streamlined and Enhanced Accountabilitly

Overall Boardpro has been a hugely positive addition to the way we operate as an organisation. It has saved time but more importantly it has enhanced the engagement of the board with the information being sent. It has also reduced the paper waste.

PROS

The consistent approach to agendas, minutes and actions has made our meetings more successful. It has enhanced particularly the ability of the board to track actions, ensure minutes are approved, and ensure that we differentiate between decisions, notes, actions - when before they were sometimes confused. I really love that the board members get reminded to do their 'tasks' so that this is no longer a nag from the CEO (rather a nag from Board pro). It is also really helpful that all the documents are in one place, and on the cloud - so if a board member is joining the meeting from overseas it is no problem.

CONS

There are a few minor things like the fact that only one person can own an action - when often in our organisation there are multiple owners of actions. I also don't like that we can't back-date when an action has been completed - sometimes we forget to mark the actions as done so when we get around to it the date is not accurate (so not such a good audit trail of actions because of this). AS I say, minor.

Vendor Response

Hi Josie, Thanks for your comprehensive feedback. Our roadmap does include enhancements to BoardPro actions. Great to see the value we bring to your processes and people. Regards Sean McDonald

Replied November 2019

Jordan

Financial Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY