User Review Highlights

Overall Rating

4.13

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

4

Customer Support

4

Value for money

4

Functionality

4

  • icon"Easy to create different content for different GROUPS of audiences. Helps to bring together different functionalities (e.g. top down messages and communities) in the same place."
  • icon"GSuite integration, ease of use and set up. Overall functionalities."
  • icon"I also love the permissions features. Managing content is also a breeze with the permissions workflow and the timing features on content are wonderful."
  • icon"Lumapps reminds me a lot of Facebook in its design and some functions. I as a user am used to (or spoiled with) the speed and power in Facebook, which Lumapps lack."
  • icon"A few confusing features and somewhat limited in the UX."
  • icon"The editor is horrible, the search is useless, It doesn't autoscale to your resolution, support is non-existent, you cannot tag groups or individuals on posts. MySpace would be an upgrade over this."

All LumApps Reviews

1-25 of 39 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Anonymous

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

March 2020

Became an accidental SME in this

Positive, I get a lot of praise for things I build

Pros

G-suite integration, ability to host files in a multitude of formats

Cons

It is so hard for everyone at my company to learn how to use that I am constantly bugged about it, even though this is not my full time role.

Response from LumApps

We're delighted to hear you enjoy our product. Thank you for using LumApps! We are always happy to receive your feedback to inspire our product vision and roadmap. We are currently working to implement new tutorials to help guide users and make LumApps a smoother and easier to use experience. We are also in the process of simplifying the interface for users to publish content. Please don't hesitate to contact our Customer Success team with more feedback or suggestions for making our product even better, and stay tuned for future updates which will make LumApps a more powerful tool for you and your team.

Replied March 2020

Timothy

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

April 2020

Migrating content, updating content

It allowed us to design a Visual Identity compliant site which Google Sites didn't. It has some good features and some annoying oversights / issues.

Pros

It took a bit of used to as a non-IT person when migrating from an old Google Sites instance. But the original set of widgets met our needs.

Cons

Deprecated widgets seem to suit you rather than us. Old Google Sites had a Table of Contents which allowed you to link to a specific item on a page, this doesn't exist in Lumapps. Moving widgets in Edit mode requires multiple drag and drop actions and/or reducing Browser size to perform. The Style settings are not good - can't delete old trial setting and can't update a setting you have saved. No scrolling text widget or functionality. The drop down lists in the left hand panel are set to a number of options then stop displaying so you have to type the first letter of option you want for them to show.

Reasons for choosing LumApps

See above for Google Suite. Atlassian layout was considered too rigid for an intranet.

Reasons for switching to LumApps

When Google introduced the new Google Sites, it was much less adaptable than the old sites and there was a limit on themes. As a Creative agency, this was a blocker.

Response from LumApps

We're delighted to hear you enjoy our product. Thank you for using LumApps! We are always happy to receive your feedback to inspire our product vision and roadmap. We are currently working to implement new tools and simplifying the interface to make editing content in LumApps a smoother and easier to use experience, along with new tutorials to help guide users. Please don't hesitate to contact our Customer Success team with more feedback or suggestions for making our product even better, and stay tuned for future updates which will make LumApps a more powerful tool for you and your team.

Replied April 2020

Aina

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

March 2020

LumApps, the less intuitive tool for both users & administrators

Pros

Perhaps that there are a lot of widgets... which at the end ends up being a handicap because some of them are not useful and can't be never used.

Cons

- Not a responsive website. It's a nightmare to design an image and post it so that you can see it ok in every device! - They told us there would be an app coming soon 2 years ago and we are still waiting. The company where I work has a lot of employees that work in production centers and don't have a computer, so in the end, we still communicate mostly via offline. - Sometimes, there are errors while creating a page that are inexplicable. That means that help from technicians is needed but they take to long to sort out the problem. - You lose a lot of time uploading content. I am also the web admin of another website and it takes me less than half of the time to publish something on that website than on lumapps. One of the main reasons is because Lumapps is not really prepared for multilanguage. - When there are a lot of people logging in at the same time the connection is really slow and sometimes the website doesn't even respond. - It is difficult to connect it with Google Analytics. In our case, we have 7 UA codes and 2 GTM codes on Lumapps and the technicians don't know where they come from... The analytics from Lumapps is also really poor...

Response from LumApps

Thank you for your feedback! We are sorry to hear that our product did not meet all your expectations. We are always happy to receive your feedback to help improve our product and solve your challenges. We are working closely with GCP and Azure teams to optimize the platform and create a faster and smoother experience. Our Customer Success team will be reaching out to you to try to resolve these issues, as well as collect more feedback or suggestions.

Replied April 2020

Nate

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Retail

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

August 2019

Easy Breezy – For Admins and Users Alike!

Overall, working with LumApps every day is a breeze. It is nowhere near as difficult or arcane as other platforms I have used or administered. The LumApps team is full of nice and helpful people as well.

Pros

As an administrator, I love how easy it is for end-users to use and navigate. Even if they don't take the time to navigate through the top-line navigation we have established or take the time to really learn the site, they can find things very easily with the powerful search tool. Likewise, the ability to create easy-to-use lists or newsfeed widgets also improves the user experience. The native Google drive integration is also stellar – if we have stakeholders who frequently change reference materials, it is easy for them to manage a google drive folder I share with them rather than have them come to me daily with changes. The changes they make in the google folder are automatically reflected on the LumApps page with the corresponding files widget, with no intervention necessary from me. Finally, the ability to create email newsletters within LumApps is AMAZING! I use that feature twice weekly.

Cons

The page-building interface can sometimes be very slow and very RAM-intensive, bringing page editing to a crawl.

Reasons for choosing LumApps

Ease of use for both the administrators and – most especially – for the end-users.

Reasons for switching to LumApps

Our intranet was long overdue for a total overhaul. We had also grown exponentially since we started using Google Sites, and our resources and information library had also swelled. We needed a more powerful, more engaging, and easier-to-use product.

Response from LumApps

We're delighted to hear you enjoy our product. Thank you for using LumApps! We are always happy to receive your feedback to inspire our product vision and roadmap. Regarding performance issues, we are working closely with GCP and Azure teams to optimize the platform and create a faster and smoother experience. Please don't hesitate to contact our Customer Success team with more feedback or suggestions for making our product even better, and stay tuned for future updates which will make LumApps a more powerful tool for you and your team.

Replied January 2020

Nurichsan

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

September 2019

Social Intranet Made Easy

As partner, I have managed to implement the platform to roughly 5k+ users. I can safely say that they are happy about what LumApps can offer. However some bugs are still giving problem. One of them is the grid system on content creation.

Pros

Consistency and simplicity. It is easy to use, though some aspect requires some basic web development knowledge.

Cons

Some minor bugs and very slow improvement for feature via updates.

Response from LumApps

We're delighted to hear you enjoy our product. Thank you for using LumApps! We are always happy to receive your feedback to inspire our product vision and roadmap. We are currently working to implement new tutorials to help guide users and make LumApps a smoother and easier to use experience. We are also in the process of simplifying the interface for users to publish content. Please don't hesitate to contact our Customer Success team with more feedback or suggestions for making our product even better, and stay tuned for future updates which will make LumApps a more powerful tool for you and your team.

Replied January 2020

Anke

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Executive Office

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

August 2019

Participate!

It perfectly fits into the GoogleSuite world Imerys entered!

Pros

Get teams together in a dedicated Group (subject, project, language) and enter into dialogue, share files - just connect people.

Cons

I am missing a manual for the Imerys version we use. Some of the functions are hard to find for unexperienced users (open comments below articles in groups e.g.)

Reasons for switching to LumApps

Company decision

Response from LumApps

We're delighted to hear you enjoy our product. Thank you for using LumApps! We are always happy to receive your feedback to inspire our product vision and roadmap. We are currently working to implement new tutorials to help guide users and make LumApps a smoother and easier to use experience. We are also in the process of simplifying the interface for users to publish content. Please don't hesitate to contact our Customer Success team with more feedback or suggestions for making our product even better, and stay tuned for future updates which will make LumApps a more powerful tool for you and your team.

Replied January 2020

Shane

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Staffing and Recruiting

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

March 2020

GREAT PRODUCT OVERALL BUT GET READY FOR SOME QUIRKS AND KINKS

With LumApps? Great. But the implementation consulting firm you forced us into was horrible, disappointing and they are just plain bad at their jobs. If I had to go back and make the decision myself, that would be a deal-breaker. Forcing us into a $30K implementation consulting firm contract that did nothing to help was like setting money on fire. Totally useless and disappointing.

Pros

I love the design of the product. I'm a sucker for Google Material Design. I also love the permissions features. Managing content is also a breeze with the permissions workflow and the timing features on content are wonderful.

Cons

I understand that the software has to be rigid in many ways because of the permissions but designing in the software requires way too much CSS. Simple features like choosing the layout of your sub-menus, custom colors, or basic layout is clunky or non-existent. The end-user experience is great but it feels like little thought went into the administrative user experience. Overall, that is disappointing.

Response from LumApps

We're delighted to hear you enjoy our product. Thank you for using LumApps! We are always happy to receive your feedback to inspire our product vision and roadmap. We are currently working to implement new tutorials to help guide users and make LumApps a smoother and easier to use experience. We are also in the process of simplifying the interface for users to publish content. Please don't hesitate to contact our Customer Success team with more feedback or suggestions for making our product even better, and stay tuned for future updates which will make LumApps a more powerful tool for you and your team.

Replied April 2020

User Profile

Shelonda

Verified reviewer

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

March 2020

Bringing Our Company Together

When our team members were surveyed, their top two complaints centered around the company's inability to leave behind old silos and bring the best together. We are making strides in this area and simply seeing synergies because there is now a common place to communicate. We have most recently launched our new combined Values and Culture Statement for the company via our digital workspace on LumApps and it has given it a "home" that highlights all the current team member stories being showcased.

Pros

The ability to have one platform for communication and collaboration across an enterprise, built via acquisition, with 20,000+ team members in 30+ countries.

Cons

The ability to customize images is a bit cumbersome, but it also takes a shift in mindset in how/why your company creates imagery with relation to communication.

Response from LumApps

We're delighted to hear you enjoy our product. Thank you for using LumApps! We are always happy to receive your feedback to inspire our product vision and roadmap. Please don't hesitate to contact our Customer Success team with more feedback or suggestions for making our product even better, and stay tuned for future updates which will make LumApps a more powerful tool for you and your team.

Replied March 2020

Mia

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Environmental Services

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

3

March 2020

Review of LumApps

Maybe it's a cultural thing, but I am frustrated with their customer service and turnaround time for a ticket. If I make a feature request like 'my html table is not showing up right on mobile', the answer is never 'let us see how we can fix that'. The answer is usually 'you aren't using the platform correctly' or 'we don't believe that is important to a user.' Then, if the request goes into development, the answer is 'I will be unable to give any kind of date when you can expect this feature to be fixed.' It's a real turn off. It almost seems like Lumapps is only focused on building what they think is cool on their own timeline. The customer's needs just aren't a priority. For this reason alone, I am not sure if I could be confident recommending this to another potential customer. Jeez, just be open to our suggestions and timely about fixing them, and communicating with us when they will be fixed. Also, a 6-week sprint is not a sprint. It's a fast walk, and it is not agile.

Pros

It's pretty and reasonably easy to use.

Cons

We're getting lots and lots of feature requests. Usually not big lifts (I think one of the biggest asks we've had involves QR codes), but things like making the HTML responsive in mobile.

Response from LumApps

We're delighted to hear you enjoy our product. Thank you for using LumApps! We are always happy to receive your feedback to inspire our product vision and roadmap. Please don't hesitate to contact our Customer Success team with more feedback or suggestions for making our product even better, and stay tuned for future updates which will make LumApps a more powerful tool for you and your team.

Replied March 2020

User Profile

Tristan

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

September 2019

LumApps is extremely customisable!

LumApps can be used for so much -- we've seen that it can be extremely customised and built out into something completely new as well as

Pros

LumApps is extremely customisable and full featured. It not only allows people to fully customise the look and feel of their site/intranet, but it also allows them to model page types, how data interacts, and how people may be able to interact with the site. There are levels of administration and management that allow viewers to behave differently from contributors. Admins may create new possibilities for their users.

Cons

LumApps can be difficult to wrangle under control because of the feature set. There are so many things to configure, manage, customise, adjust, and create that it can be tough to know where to focus. It takes training and experience to roll this out well.

Reasons for choosing LumApps

Google Sites doesn't have an API and isn't very extensible. LumApps allowed us to build out other things.

Response from LumApps

We're delighted to hear you enjoy our product. Thank you for using LumApps! We are always happy to receive your feedback to inspire our product vision and roadmap. We are currently working to implement new tutorials to help guide users and make LumApps a smoother and easier to use experience. We are also in the process of simplifying the interface for users to publish content. Please don't hesitate to contact our Customer Success team with more feedback or suggestions for making our product even better, and stay tuned for future updates which will make LumApps a more powerful tool for you and your team.

Replied January 2020

POOJA

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

March 2020

Lumapps a boon to Tech industry

It is great as it helped a lot to the organisation activities and managing different activities in an organised ay through communities.

Pros

The versatility of connecting and source of information being working in diverse locations. The functionalities and ease to use the platform being on admin side also is very smooth. Love making and migrating our sites to lumapps pages. They are more user friendly and helpful.

Cons

Considering a lot of functionalities being involved would look for a better UI on admin side.

Reasons for choosing LumApps

Lumapps was the best fit 4 years ago and still to our company and user requirements.

Response from LumApps

We're delighted to hear you enjoy our product. Thank you for using LumApps! We are always happy to receive your feedback to inspire our product vision and roadmap. Please don't hesitate to contact our Customer Success team with more feedback or suggestions for making our product even better, and stay tuned for future updates which will make LumApps a more powerful tool for you and your team.

Replied March 2020

Sean

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

March 2020

Great Intranet

They have been a great company to work with, and the product just works, always. In the rare case that there's an issue, the support team at Lumapps is awesome!

Pros

We loved how it works seamlessly with Google

Cons

Complex system with little to know practical examples for us "non coders" out there.

Reasons for switching to LumApps

We needed to break out of the "Franchise" space when it came to our tech stack, and Lumapps fit the bill for Intranet. It's integration capabilities and our ability to manage all users and roles in G Suite were driving reasons.

Response from LumApps

We're delighted to hear you enjoy our product. Thank you for using LumApps! We are always happy to receive your feedback to inspire our product vision and roadmap. We are currently working to implement new tutorials to help guide users and make LumApps a smoother and easier to use experience. We are also in the process of simplifying the interface for users to publish content. Please don't hesitate to contact our Customer Success team with more feedback or suggestions for making our product even better, and stay tuned for future updates which will make LumApps a more powerful tool for you and your team.

Replied March 2020

Valentin

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

September 2019

LumApps experience

Pros

This software allow us to build very modern intranets without any coding skills. The social aspect is very appreciated for employees because of smart features such as communities. LumApps is an innovative company, they are realeasing news features and improvements every 6 weeks for all of their customers.

Cons

Sometimes it's difficult to know that some interesting features are available inside the product because they are "hidden". Hoppefully the LumApps support is very reactive and can help us when we have question or issues.

Response from LumApps

We're delighted to hear you enjoy our product. Thank you for using LumApps! We are always happy to receive your feedback to inspire our product vision and roadmap. Please don't hesitate to contact our Customer Success team with more feedback or suggestions for making our product even better, and stay tuned for future updates which will make LumApps a more powerful tool for you and your team.

Replied January 2020

Octassy

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2019

Simple and powerful collaborative platform

Improving internal communications, efficiency, it is nice to have socmed-like work environment.

Pros

This software can simplify our way of work. It natively integrated with G Suite applications, so i can see apps in one page. It's very efficient. It also has many widgets options for integrate.

Cons

I would be happy if we can use Hangout Chat to chat with co-workers directly from LumApps page.

Response from LumApps

We're delighted to hear you enjoy our product. Thank you for using LumApps! We are always happy to receive your feedback to inspire our product vision and roadmap. Regarding the Hangouts Chat integration: unfortunately Google does not provide the Hangouts API used to make that type of integration into the LumApps platform, and thus we are unable to integrate Hangouts directly into the LumApps Interface. Please don't hesitate to contact our Customer Success team with more feedback or suggestions for making our product even better, and stay tuned for future updates which will make LumApps a more powerful tool for you and your team.

Replied January 2020

Justin

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Food & Beverages

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

March 2020

So Easy to Use

Great experience. The development team with LumApps were so great to work with, especially Misha.

Pros

The ease of use to publish a page or post is incredible. It took less than 8 hours to create a new department page for marketing.

Cons

I with notifications had better reporting on the back end to see exactly who got the notifications.

Reasons for choosing LumApps

Look and feel was the best as well as ease of use.

Reasons for switching to LumApps

Sharepoint was not easy to use.

Response from LumApps

We're delighted to hear you enjoy our product. Thank you for using LumApps! We are always happy to receive your feedback to inspire our product vision and roadmap. Please don't hesitate to contact our Customer Success team with more feedback or suggestions for making our product even better, and stay tuned for future updates which will make LumApps a more powerful tool for you and your team.

Replied March 2020

Claudia

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Building Materials

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT