User Review Highlights

Overall Rating

4.43

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

4

Customer Support

4.5

Value for money

4.5

Functionality

4.5

  • icon"PaperCut is clearly built by modern geeks that get it."
  • icon"It also has a ton of features, even though we don't take advantage of all of them at this time. It's great that you can put up messages to users when they print or create print budgets if needed."
  • icon"Very great support regarding implementation via ITS. Saves so much paper and resources --> great for environment and everyone who ever had problems in finding his print in the printer."
  • icon"Despite having a detailed audit for print jobs, there is no way built in to re-send those jobs if they fail (we wrote our own)."
  • icon"The only problem I have encountered using this software is it can be delayed. The paper cut box doesn’t always pop up."
  • icon"For example, if a print job is ordered but suppose the printer is not working, PaperCut will still process the transaction and charge you accordingly. This really hurts students who are on a budget."

All PaperCut Reviews

1-25 of 56 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Ramin (Remi)

Company size: 11 - 50 employees

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

January 2022

PaperCut Review

User Profile

Ian

Verified reviewer

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2019

Great product

We've been using PaperCut for just over a year, replacing our previous system, PCounter. After the initial setup, we haven't experienced many issues but when we have, their support has been great. From a support perspective it has enabled us to carefully track usage and issues, complete with automatically generated summary reports on a monthly basis.

Pros

Excellent reports Huge amount of customisation Support for multiple departments for users Useful integration with multi-function devices

Cons

Despite having a detailed audit for print jobs, there is no way built in to re-send those jobs if they fail (we wrote our own).

Reasons for switching to PaperCut

While PCounter had served us well for many years, it just couldn't match the features and speed of PaperCut.

Steven

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Primary/Secondary Education

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

May 2020

PaperCut - small enterprise

Installing PaperCut has permitted our organization to restrict usage of our printers to authorized persons only. We can also easily identify instances of excessive printing. Folks are no longer printing out 500 page cookbooks or encyclopedias in full color.

Pros

This software provides our users with the ability to send their print jobs to a default printer and retrieve that job from any printer on the network. That convenience alone is probably the best feature of this application for our users. The software is easy to set up and maintain. It can be configured to draw basic user information from Active Directory and you can manually enter individual accounts for persons who may not have an AD account. The application tracks printed pages for each user which can be beneficial for internal accounting purposes. Users can release print jobs by logging into the printer using the printer's touchscreen panel, or with their employee ID badge. PaperCut provides the badge readers.

Cons

We have experienced issues with with the ability of our users to print documents when different printers have had different versions of PaperCut firmware installed. It seems that the PaperCut software needs to have all printers using the same firmware version which must be appropriate for the specific version of the PaperCut software.

Winter

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Law Practice

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

March 2020

Do not purchase this product!

We've realized no benefit from the product. We've only realized a tremendous loss on our investment and continue to do so.

Pros

The product stops working constantly. Since we have had this product the only thing consistent about it, is that it won't work and that we will lose money on lost counts of print/copy charges. The response for repair is slow and often is a temporary fix. I will never be able to recover the money lost on this product. I would absolutely advise a small business owner to avoid this product. There are no pros, only cons.

Cons

If the product worked as advertised that would be an improvement. When the product doesn't work, it also impedes one's ability to use the printers.

Rob

Verified reviewer

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

March 2018

Does what it needs to but no fun to manage.

We know who printed what and can type that into an invoice for them.

Pros

Users are in control of their own expenditure. Works across printing and photocopying. Linux, MacOS and Windows for server and users.

Cons

Doesn't catch USB dongle printing on Ricoh MFD. Made by developers for developers, no thought is given to UX. Lack of integrations and cloud service. Google Cloud print integration stinks to set up and so hard to use you won't want to roll it out to users. You have to be comfortable editing text files to take full advantage of features. No integration with invoicing software indicates the company's focus is not on administration.

Mark

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

July 2022

PaperCut Leading the industry

I have used PaperCut for 7+ years. Overall it is a great product that is well supported and constantly developed.

Pros

One of the best features of PaperCut is their support channels, they are very helpful. There isn't a lot you can't control or capture with PaperCut by default and then there is the scripting engine where you can do everything. The newest feature is Cloud Print A+++, just need a better way to deploy it

Cons

Scanning, it's really easy to set up but you are limited to a single location per scan action. Also annoys me when each time I do a scan it goes back to the home page.

Andy

Verified reviewer

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Media Production

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

February 2020

Great Print Management Platform

PaperCut is pretty much everything we need in a print service. There are a few features that we don't have on our level of the platform, but it's been great for managing our printing and copying needs among all end users.

Pros

It gives a lot of information about our various print jobs, printers and copiers, and the users that do the printing and copying. There isn't a whole lot of maintenance. It also has a ton of features, even though we don't take advantage of all of them at this time. It's great that you can put up messages to users when they print or create print budgets if needed. It also is a great way to track people that are overusing printing rights like color.

Cons

We had some trouble getting it to work with recently adopted Macs. There are some features that are only available with a client on end user machines, but that's not a deal breaker.

User Profile

Andre C.

Verified reviewer

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Consumer Electronics

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

August 2018

PaperCut - Feature Rich, Incredible Value

Pros

This is the most feature-rich print management and cost recovery solution available. It is easy-to-use, quick to deploy, and simple to maintain. Really helps keep printing costs down and modify employee printing/copying behavior. They offer a free 40-day trial as well!

Cons

Absolutely nothing. PaperCut has an incredible Knowledge Base that helps us find the answers to nearly all of our questions.

User Profile

Daniel

Verified reviewer

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Legal Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

February 2018

Quality product and web-based management which makes things much easier!

Pros

This software pulls from Active Directory and is web-based to manage. It makes simple tasks very simple and is extremely user-friendly.

Cons

The customer support is a bit slow and recently ran into a licensing issue that locked down our software entirely. It also has a bad habit of, for no reason at all, creating users without copy tracking enabled which defeats the purpose in our environment.

User Profile

Mithila

Verified reviewer

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer & Network Security

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

December 2019

Best Print management solution

Great product for keep the track of printing and the total costs. Easy to manage printers and users and permissions. Paper wastage is can be minimum.

Pros

Print server audit reports are the best and been able to integrate with RFID cards makes easier to reduce the wastage of papers. When the users go to the printer they can see the actual costs to print what ever they sent to print.

Cons

Configuration is a bit handful. Need some knowledge in installing and configuring it with the customization needed as per the organization needs.

Vytautas

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Accounting

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

June 2022

PaperCut is our product

Pros

Very stable software .Easy to use with many needed functions.

Cons

Sometimes it is hard to configure some functions.

Karen

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

September 2020

Papercut in the School Setting

I wish we'd never added Papercut. Whatever we were using before was MUCH more teacher friendly. Papercut has been mostly frustrating to use. Papercut does not have issues every day, but when it does, they make my job very difficult.

Pros

Our school district starting using papercut a few years ago. I suppose, because it was convenient for those who worked in different settings and to track copier usage. It is convenient to be able to use any copier in the building to print something from my computer. This is really the only advantage I've experienced as opposed to being able to print to a designated copier before.

Cons

There are A LOT of things I do not like about papercut and most of them I've sent on to my IT people to share. However, I've not seen anything change in 2 years. There is no work around when internet is down. The copier becomes nonfunctional. This is a HUGE problem in schools because when internet is down, we often need to make paper copies to continue to do the lessons we had planned to do online. Also, the settings are not all functional. For instance, it defaults to 2 sided copies and I cannot print from my computer to the copier for one sided copies. This is an issue if I'm printing personalized, confidential information such as grade reports. Also, my experience has been that it seems to glitch a lot. I will put in for it to copy 35 copies and it runs 1.

Anupama

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

February 2019

PaperCut - Pros & Cons

I use PaperCut almost daily and I really like it. The look and the feel of the software is top-notch. It doesn't feel like just any software. I think it just needs to figure out a way to maintain good communication with the printer.

Pros

PaperCut is an exceptionally nice software that allows you to print for a price. I think the most amazing thing about PaperCut for me is that it estimates and discourages your paper use constantly, which I really appreciate. The way this software has been conceptualized really is amazing because it is so detailed for a software that is made to print! It shows your transaction history, recent print jobs, and even jobs pending release. Personally, I am very fond of PaperCut. I even like its logo; I think it's well-designed.

Cons

I don't like the fact that there is no two-way communication with PaperCut. For example, if a print job is ordered but suppose the printer is not working, PaperCut will still process the transaction and charge you accordingly. This really hurts students who are on a budget. I wish they came up with an idea to ensure that the software charges people only when the printer actually prints the paper.

Robert

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

July 2019

Amazing Product, Built by Amazing Geeky People, No other product can touch it

Pros

PaperCut is clearly built by modern geeks that get it. They understand what users want, and build it. The software isn't some dated stodgy offering - it's fresh, packed with features, looks fantastic, is reliable, flexible, and super well documented. The culture really shows through! I wish all software was this good. +Follow-Me Printing +Google CloudPrint +Apple AirPrint +Web Print +Email to Print +Works with virtually any device, printer, MFP, copier +Awesome web interface +Easy upgrades +Great support +Constant development progress +Google Integration including SSO

Cons

-Some MFPs have better support than others

Reasons for choosing PaperCut

It was very much, far superior in features, interface, support, etc.

Reasons for switching to PaperCut

The older product, while good, didn't offer the same (vast) feature set

Nebojsa

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

December 2020

Papercut MF School Ambient

This is must have software when you need to control user printing in the ambients that have many users.

Pros

This software is one of the most complete printing management software. It help reduce cost in printing, and helps ecological sustainability. It saves lots of paper, and its managment controller helps having control of the entire printing system.

Cons

The initial implementation is not that easy, and adding more devices also. The price is a bit higher, but it pays back.

Reasons for choosing PaperCut

The software is one of the pioneers in the industry, and it is built on clients recommendations and the requirements.

Anonymous

Company size: 201-500 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

November 2019

Excellent Printing Management

We were hoping to reduce the number of documents that we printing. This product was crucial in meeting those goals.

Pros

I truly like that this software makes you think twice about printing by displaying the total cost to print your request. Budgeting allows you to charge printing jobs to specific departments. The built in reminders that you can print double-sided or in black and white to save money are helpful as well.

Cons

There are few things that I can think of that I would change about the product. It occasionally freezes and needs to be reset or has issues opening when used via a VPN. These issues are minor and infrequent.

Anonymous

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY