All Bitwarden Reviews

1-25 of 164 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Renato

Retail, 501 - 1,000 employees

Used less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

Reviewed April 2022

Password management

User Profile

Tamas Hunor

Verified reviewer

Motion Pictures and Film, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2023

Best password manager

Based on the price the value is exceptional. Bitwarden is part of my workflow a long time ago.

PROS

Beside the fact that Bitwarden is completely open source and validated by security companies, it has a ton of functionality that really improves security at home and within an organization.

CONS

I can't really tell a lot. Sometimes I had to initiate the sync manually when I had to use the password between devices, but that is usually rare.

Reason for choosing Bitwarden

Opensource and much more cost-effective

Reasons for switching to Bitwarden

We were looking for a more complete solution organization wide

User Profile

Alson

Verified reviewer

Information Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2023

The best free password manager out there

It's easy to use, easy to onboard with such an important feature (password management) and at the same time extremely cost-efficient.

PROS

BitWarden is free, and has the ability to allow you to self-host it in your own premises. This is a feature a lot of password managers do not give. It's usually either local or on their cloud. Bitwarden is the only one that allow you to host it locally on-premise.

CONS

The UI is a little dated and not as polished. Using it is also a little bit wonky, having a separate plugin and the standalone software is a bit confusing too.

Reason for choosing Bitwarden

1Password is a paid software, Bitwarden is free.

Reasons for switching to Bitwarden

LastPass had security breaches in the past that were quite serious. Also, BitWarden has more free features.

Martynas

Shipbuilding, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2023

Bitwarden short term user review

Overall i am happy i found it. Helped to manage my passwords along many devices.

PROS

The best thing for me was to have all my passwords at one place. Don't need to remember or recover them.

CONS

There are some drawbacks. When i log in in the new device, i always have to chose region. It is not bolded or clearly visible, so when entering password often get message "bad password". But it is because i try to log in to a wrong region account. It could be clearer. And the thing with Fitek system i mentioned before.

Anonymous

1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2021

Great FREE open source password manager with similar functionalities to the paid competitors'

Does all that I need it to do and more, I will definitely be using if for years to come.

PROS

- Simple, intuitive, easy to use software that has a great security reputation (open source!) so you can sleep well at night knowing your passwords are safe - Wide compatibility between iOS, Mac, Android, Windows, different browsers etc meaning you can easily access your passwords anywhere - Supports biometrics meaning you can quickly log in and access your passwords - Extra features like secured notes, password generator, autofill etc which are all added value in a free software - Small annual fee to support developers will also grant you extra features, but these are just extras and not necessary

CONS

- Password generation could be more smooth so that it autofills, instead of having to copy the generated password and then after x amount of seconds the clipboard clears due to security measures and then you've lost your newly generated password. I would prefer it autofilling the newly generated password - On Android app, be able to select passwords directly in the field instead of having to enter the vault and select them there, fewer steps would make it even quicker

Reasons for switching to Bitwarden

Lastpass was becoming annoying to use due to them trying to force everyone to pay by only allowing you to access your vault on one device. I use my Mac and Android daily, so being able to use my password manager on multiple devices was crucial, and I couldn't justify paying for Lastpass when such a great, free alternative was available

Brian

Libraries, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2023

Very solid and configurable

Overall, very happy with Bitwarden as a product and have always received great support from them.

PROS

The availability on virtually every platform is very welcome. The ability to configure many things is useful.

CONS

The interface has never been given much love, and has never really changed. It's very utilitarian, and not always intuitive. I think it could be friendlier.

Reasons for switching to Bitwarden

KeePass is a great product for an individual, but not really useful when needing to share and sync passwords.

Anonymous

11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2021

Great user experience and simple management

PROS

Password encryption - end 2 end encryption of passwords so they cannot be stolen from Bitwarden servers. Shared collections for team secrets - document passwords, server access, etc. Secure password message - send password to other user securely

CONS

Yubikey MFA support only in premium version. Letdown but not a dealbreaker

Reason for choosing Bitwarden

end to end encryption, great browser extension, ease of use.

Reasons for switching to Bitwarden

Better for organization - collections, shared passwords, identities.

User Profile

Ho'omana Nathan

Verified reviewer

Higher Education, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2021

The best password manager I've used by a wide margin

I use Bitwarden many times a day, every day, for various applications (password generation, storage, filling, etc), and it just works for every application. Can't recommend it strongly enough!

PROS

Bitwarden has a clean interface, it's super simple to use, it's open-source, it's free, it never tries to pressure you into upgrading, it syncs beautifully across all kinds of devices, and it integrates great with Android's autofill feature.

CONS

I have no complaints at all about Bitwarden. So far, there's nothing I don't like.

Reasons for switching to Bitwarden

LastPass worked well, but recently started requiring Premium in order to use it on multiple devices. Bitwarden has the same functionality for free.

User Profile

Edwyn

Verified reviewer

Internet, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2021

Once I knew about this LastPass alternative, I never tried any other alternative!

My experience has been awesome since day one I tried it! The transition from LastPass to Bitwarden was done very quickly and just like that I switched to this one without any issues, also I get used to the UI/UX very quickly, as iin any case t isn't difficult to understand it either. I highly recommend this tool!

PROS

This is the best alternative for LastPass I've ever found and I love the fact that it is open-source! After LastPass changed their terms for Free users I started to see for similar tools as an alternative that would fit my needs, then I started to saw a lot of opinions and reviews over the internet, so I tried it and immediately loved it! Also the transition from LastPass to Bitwarden was very smooth and quickly! After 2 mins all of my passwords were imported successfully to Bitwarden, I highly recommend this one!

CONS

Probably the UI/UX could improve a bit more, other than that this product is awesome! Actually, a refreshed UI/UX would just be a plus, as the service itself totally worth it!

Reasons for switching to Bitwarden

LastPass changed their terms for Free users, these new terms were very limited for Free users so I decided to seek for a Free alternative and from there I totally love Bitwarden.

Rakawi

Verified reviewer

Graphic Design, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2021

Current Best Password Manager

Bitwarden does what it sets out to do really well as a password manager. Being open-sourced means greater security as anyone can check the codes and report any potential issues, bugs or exploits. This is really important as you have to trust the software to keep your valuable information safe and sound, something not all of its competitors can provide.

PROS

Bitwarden is an open-sourced password manager that lets you remember and manage the many different logins you have. It lets you generate complex passwords that are difficult to guess even for other computers, which means greater account security and in the event that one of your password does get leaked, none of your other accounts will be compromised since you should already be using different passwords for different sites.

CONS

The greatest hassle of using Bitwarden is that you'll need to manually click on the Bitwarden extension icon to start the auto-fill process, something which other competitors may have better ways to deal with this.

Reasons for switching to Bitwarden

Policy changes to the software after being acquired by LogMeIn, a company with a number of questionable and shady practices.

User Profile

Belmin

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2023

My choice for password management

I use it daily for managing my password as well as licenses for some software.It works very well, it synchronizes almost in real-time and has a great browser add-on.

PROS

Strong security and good synchronization feature.The add-on for Chrome and Edge works nicely.

CONS

Lacking premium features and big concern about losing the main password (impossible to access without it).

Reasons for switching to Bitwarden

Hosted on cloud and synchronized in real-time.

Brian

Libraries, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2022

Solid value, solid features

Overall, we have had a pleasant experience with Bitwarden. They actively develop and they are responsive to support needs. But I do wish they would work on more options to customize for your needs.

PROS

I appreciate this being open source and audited by a third party. There are many, many features that cover most aspects of password/identity management. There are so many options for client access, it's amazing.

CONS

The types of entries are somewhat limiting. You can store secure notes, credit cards, and logins. It would be nice if you could create custom options or import other templates, which is something that competitors have. Because of that, you occasionally have to shoehorn into a category that isn't quite accurate. For example, adding a Wi-Fi network. It doesn't fit the way Login is presented and using a Secure Note makes it difficult to quickly copy the info back out. Also, I really wish they would clean up the organization and collection paradigm. It's really confusing and always the first place users end up stumbling trying to figure things out.

Reason for choosing Bitwarden

Both functionality and their willingness to work with us were the biggest factors in choosing Bitwarden.

Reasons for switching to Bitwarden

Needed more/better sharing options.

Eli

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2021

Extremely Impressed By the Free Product

BitWarden helps to configure and manage secure credentials on all of the sites that I use. It is highly recommended.

PROS

After the Password Manager that I previously used switched to a more expensive pricing model, I decided to try BitWarden and I am glad that I did. It has all the security and password management functions I was looking for, including 2FA for account login.

CONS

It very rarely happens, but sometimes username and password forms cannot be filled as expected. There is a very rare problem and doesn't happen nearly enough to impact my opinion on the product.

Reason for choosing Bitwarden

BitWarden pricing is much more attractive.

Reasons for switching to Bitwarden

LastPass decreased the features of the free product. BitWarden has more functionality then I had with BitWarden.

Nico

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2022

Amazing Passwordmanager

I switched from LastPass about two years ago and i don't miss a thing. The Software is extremely small in size, has amazing encryption options, is blazingly fast and gets updated regularely.

PROS

It is extremely easy to setup, holds an unlimited amount of passwords (i currently have saved around 400) and let's you create even credit card pre-fills or save Adresses. So i usually can directly login to a website and let Bitwarden fill out everything else with just a few clicks.

CONS

On mobile devices sometimes Bitwarden's Trigger doesn't work. That's usually when an In-App Browser is used and Bitwarden can't destinct between the shown Browser Page and the App. So in such cases you usually have to go to the Vault directly and copy your credentials to your clipboard.

Reasons for switching to Bitwarden

Because LastPass charged for using more than one device simultaneously, which i thought was an absolut flop for any private individual who just wanted to keep their passwords safe.

Mark

Religious Institutions, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2021

Uncluttered and Secure

Bitwarden quickly became my password manager of choice. The browser add-on is quickly accessible and I can fill in passwords with a minimum of fuss. An excellent free option and much better than my previous paid software.

PROS

Bitwarden has a clear and easy to navigate interface. It enables easy access to passwords without distracting from higher priority tasks. Its simplicity is its strength.

CONS

I regularly have problems updating to the next version using the update prompts within the software. For this reason, I download updates directly from the website.

Reason for choosing Bitwarden

I was surprised that a free password manager offered simplicity and clarity over a paid product. The learning curve for Bitwarden was easy, independent checks confirm its secure, and it integrates well into my browser.

Reasons for switching to Bitwarden

Password Depot offered features which I either did not need or fully understand how to use. I'd used the product over a few versions and consistently had trouble implementing some of the options.

Jeffrey

Telecommunications, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2022

Bitwarden - A fantastic password manager that provides a cross platform solution.

Having used this product for years I could not be happier. As an administrator who works on hundreds of systems it is critical that I have a single source to access all those individual credentials.

PROS

Cross platform solution that provides password access accross IOS, Windows, Linux, Android and more.

CONS

I cannot think of a single con with this software package other than we have to depend upon the parent company to live up to its obligation to keep our passwords and data secure. That said they have yet to give a reason to doubt their ability to do so.

Reasons for switching to Bitwarden

Loved lastpass until they had data breaches, then I made the switch.

Neil

Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2022

Your First Choice of Password Managers

Easy to use and very less subscription fee. Free users are able to sync across multiple platforms and don't have restrictions on device limitations. High value of money.

PROS

Bitwarden is a highly reliable encrypted password manager. Its organization function allows you to share specific passwords across your team members, which extended team collaboration. The Premium version also supports embedded 2FA, so it helps you to log into any 2FA enables sites even faster.

CONS

Autosave password on browsers is not as smart as Lastpass.

Reasons for switching to Bitwarden

Bitwarden provides similar functions and cheeper on subscription.

Chris

Banking, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2021

Bitwarden's Free Version is Excellent

PROS

I have currently only used the Bitwarden free version. It has an awesome set of features and I would highly recommend it as a password manager.

CONS

I switched from Lastpass. It had a feature that would scan all your saved passwords and provide you with recommendations of passwords that might be considered insecure. I liked this featured and so far have not seen anything similar in BitWarden.

Reasons for switching to Bitwarden

Lastpass changed some policies that made their product much more restrictive without upgrading to a more expensive plan.

Benjamin

Verified reviewer

E-Learning, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2021

Central tool

Feels good having a reliable way to manage strong passwords. I've gotten to interface with some of their devs and they seem like a great bunch trying to make a great product. I have faith in the long term viability and success of integrating this product into everything we do.

PROS

Works well, security first development mentality, constantly improving. Other than an initial learning curve of integrating a proper password manager into my networked life, it's one of those things I kind of forget that I'm even using.

CONS

Security key on mobile is still "soon". Growing pains means difficulty prioritizing feature requests with a smaller team. Some edge cases can result in surprises, but nothing I couldn't fix with history. Biggest complaint is around prompting to save or update credentials. Seems like many websites don't follow conventions or standards and Bitwarden does not have as comprehensive of exceptions as some alternatives.

Anonymous

51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2022

The best free password manager in the market

I always tought using a passowrd manager would be a hassle, but it wasn't. I've been using it for many years now and don't even give it any tought; Bitwarden is just a seamless part of my personal and professional workflows. I even suggested it to coworkers and family members who are less tech savy then I am and it worked very well for them as well.

PROS

I absolutely love the simplicity and ease of setup of Bitwarden. It is so simple to use and is very stripped down of unnecessary features. I also love the fact that it is open source, which all security software should be in my opinion. It offers certainly the best free tier of any other provider, so if you don't intend to pay for a password manager or don't need any other advanced features, it is certainly the best.

CONS

I believe Bitwarden lacks certain features that other providers offer in their paid tiers (and that is why I am still not a paying client). I also believe the two-factor authentication options should be more broad, as none of the ones avaliable work for me.

Justin

Individual & Family Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING: