User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5 / 5

Value for Money

4.5 / 5

Customer Support

4.0 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(385)

385

4 stars

(227)

227

3 stars

(39)

39

2 stars

(3)

3

1 stars

(3)

3

  • Pros

  • "The ease of use and short learning time of this product is amazing."

  • "It is quick and basic. You can't expect high quality engineered designs but the purpose I use it for it is perfect."

  • "I like how it is very easy to understand and use, when I started using it I immediately learned how to use it. Not complicated at all."

  • Cons

  • "somehow limited on built in content, Requires plugins for rendering (though offers a great choice)"

  • "Exporting the files to some engineers has been troublesome, but overall easy to convert files and transfer to engineering."

  • "The overall layout is yet simple but it should have rendering extension within the software, which can make it complete. "

Browse SketchUp Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - 0 of 657 results

February 2019

Jeremy from Universal Creative

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Entertainment

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2019

SketchUp is the Ultimate!

I absolutely love it! I use Sketchup Pro for small projects but just love the detail I can get with the program giving me a full blown idea of what my models will look like before anything has been physically constructed.

Pros

What can I say, the first time that I heard about Sketchup Pro was a few years back when I was developing a Haunted House attraction believe it or not. I needed a 3D modeling software that could help give me and idea of what it would be like to walk through and build it before anything was purchased. It allowed me to go through and find holes in the design plan that would have been very costly if I did not simulate it later down the road. The ease of use is so easy, any one from absolute beginner to expert level CAD designer can plug and play into Sketchup Pro! I also want to mention that it is a FUN product to use as well and the amount of features is incredible! From the 3D wear house to being able to make 3D renderings turn into 2D schematics is such an amazing feature. I have enjoyed using sketch pro so much that I have even taken a few online courses on how to become better and it makes the software my go-to for all my modeling needs. Anyone from small real estate firms, architectural and engineering businesses, down to the home haunter like myself, Sketch Up Pro is the one stop shop for all of your needs!

Cons

I really enjoy Sketchup Pro so there really is not a whole lot that I can say that is a problematic about it. The one thing that does stick out (and may be its only flaw) is the price tag attached to it for one license is a little steep. Now, even though I say that, the value and ROI of Sketchup Pro far surpasses the initial price tag. It really comes down to what you want to use it for, but no matter the case, it really is worth every penny that you pay for it!

September 2020

Anees from Architecture & Planning

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2020

SketchUp - Unveil your imagination easily

Overall : ========== If you are using SketchUp for 3d models and building plan it’s a great software, and i find this too much user friendly and as easy as MS paint. But if u want to use this software for drawing sectional details and working drawings, u need to be an expert in getting output.

Pros

1) The biggest pro i like is less hardware demand i.e. You don’t need a heavy machine to use this software, a general configuration laptop does the work quite effectively unlike other softwares. You can import the finalized design in lumion and get a realistic render in no time and. 2) One good advantage of using SketchUp is the u can easily pull push the walls and apply the desired changes instantly and things gets finalized very fast. Whatever you want to imagine, you can apply instantly from painting to cladding to railing designs and wallpapers. 3) Being a designer, the biggest hurdle is the changes client wants, but in SketchUp the visualization and applying changes is super easy, you can sort it out in a meeting or two. It made around 30-40 percent increase in client understanding and project approval. 4) Another plus point i realized is the real time working screen is no less than a simple render other softwares have. And if you have time and know how to use SketchUp, you don’t need an interior designer for some scale projects as the library itself suggest you some great ideas.

Cons

1) The rendering part and you need to install different plugins for different works. 2) The library is great but limited, if u want to attach a luxury couch in the drawing room you will not have many great options. 3) Attaching a component to a certain place is bit time consuming as it takes at least 2 angles to see whether the component is fixed accurately or still have some space left here or there.

March 2020

Colby from Texas Woman's University

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Fine Art

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Functionality

2.0

March 2020

Sketchup Cloud Version

My review here is about the current, cloud-based free version of Sketchup, rather than the full version. But I will comment briefly on the full version. In general, Sketchup Pro is a good program for basic architectural modelling, and for the modelling of certain kinds of geometric forms, while having practically no functionality for organic modelling or sculpting. While the results can be 3D printed, the program was not designed for that purpose, and models should not be expected to be very precise or free of flaws. For many years, there was a downloadable free version that could do most of what the pro version could do, with the exception of "boolean" operations such as solid joining and subtraction. Several years ago it became harder to find the free version on the Sketchup site. Then the free version became a separate download and not available until one had tried the pro trial (the trial version used to default to a functional free version), and finally, the free option was switched to a cloud-based version. Presumably these changes have been made for financial reasons, but the end result is that we have a far more limited free version of the program, that is harder to use, and in my opinion less likely to attract users who would then switch to a paid version.

Pros

While this is a significant downgrade from the previous free versions, at least it is still free. I think it is an acceptable option for creating things like simple virtual rooms, or rectilinear shapes.

Cons

This is a substantially restricted version of Sketchup, and is harder to use in several ways. The user interface has been pared down, which makes the workspace visually cleaner, but makes it more difficult to find functions. Many of the most commonly used function icons are hidden behind other icons, and are only accessible by hovering and switching which one is on top. That makes it harder to teach newcomers how to use the software, since it adds multiple extra steps to tutorial instructions. Also, the choice of placing many functions in flyouts adds recurring pain points to the user experience, as one must continually swap out functions while working. All of this would be a moot point if there were a simple preference toggle that let one choose to have all functions display at once.

August 2020

Quinn from HEI

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2020

Fast, Easy Modeling With None of the Hassle

All in all, Sketchup’s purpose is for modeling subjects that pertain to architecture and structures, and to do so quickly. It can go into finer modeling subjects and it can do much, much more than just modeling, but not nearly as good as other programs can. If your needs are under a time constraint (such as most real-world job requirements) and you need to consistently model structures that don’t need a photo-realistic feel, Sketchup is the perfect tool for you.

Pros

Sketchup takes the complexity of modeling and design programs and delivers the power that you need but with none of the hassle. One of the best things about Sketchup is simply its ease of use. If you can think of a way to model something, you likely can within the program and if you can’t, there’s probably an extension built that you can download for that purpose. Additionally, Sketchup’s openness to new users is amazing. They have a free version which is still very powerful as well as numerous helpful training courses for users to explore. Finally, the programs inclusions of key tools makes it a game changer when compared to other programs. It has the ability to get specific and deep into the details of a model, should it be needed. But it really shines when your purpose is for fast modeling to give your audience that extra push. Sketchup provides tools that let you do just that, and do so quickly. Things like their Google Earth inclusion means that you can drop your model into a real world setting with very minimal working time.

Cons

It does, at times, feel like it has it has limitations, specifically when models get large and extremely detailed. It won’t matter how powerful your computer is, certain large models just won’t run well within the program. Also, features that are very important for my work either require separate programs or lots of extra work time to get right. Exporting into Adobe Illustrator is one of these workflow issues. You can export your Sketchup file into a 2D graphic, but there’s no easy way to do so if your model is dimensionally large as it won’t fit into your Illustrator file. Another pain point is finishing details. Sketchup allows you to play with lighting and textures, but sometimes their tools just are not enough. That’s required me to look further into other programs such as Blender.

June 2020

Timmy from Epic Software

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2020

Advanced Software for 3-D Rendering Rookies

Anytime a 2-d layout or 3-d model needs to be rendered with great detail, but faster than any computer-assisted designers are available, this program has been extremely useful. It allows us to greatly reduce our time spent wondering if a design will "work" and more time actually implementing and testing the design.

Pros

I loved that this software pulled no punches when it came to number of features or the complexity of the layering, tie-point, and drawing tools. There was nothing stopping me from doing a deep-dive in to advanced 3-d modeled surfaces besides the fact that the menus are expansive.

Cons

There are no tutorials with this software, and there is also very little explicit integration into other programs that deal with rendered files (such as Adobe, Photoshop, Illustrator, or AutoCAD software). I feel like this software operates on an island- nothing interfaces natively.

Reasons for Choosing SketchUp

AutoCAD would have been prohibitively expensive for the number of product licenses we required. Also it's too advanced for our purposes (sketching, rather than design).

August 2019

Jennifer from Architect

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2019

The modeling software with the most complete library

Especially when I want to model architectural interiors, sketchup is the best option, because it allows me to detail each scene with the most usual and unusual objects that I would find in it.

Pros

SketchUp has the most complete library of modeled objects. From complete projects, to the smallest details useful to set a model.

Cons

Sometimes SketchUp closes unexpectedly without saving automatic changes, which causes you to lose hours of work.

Reasons for Choosing SketchUp

I choose SketchUp for its wide and varied object library.

May 2020

Etienne from Etienne Saint-Denis

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Photography

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

3.0

May 2020

Great Library

I like it but I think it could be better

Pros

I like the vast choice of models from the library. I also like how much we can customize for the ease of use but I feel like it could be optimized it could be even easier

Cons

I think it should be even easier to work with Sketchup and they should include more tools so the user dont waste time trying to find plugin try them uninstall them, etc.

August 2020

Renier from Alza.cz

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Logistics and Supply Chain

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2020

SketchUp best to show your creativity, good to view and create 3D.

Overall experience it is very good software to show your creativity and very useful in planning and see the layouts and drawings. Very helpful for us in future projects to be able to visualize and see it in 3D. It is very helpful as it serve as our guide in doing projects.

Pros

What I like most about the Sketchup is you have the freedom to be creative create anything that you want. Very minimalist buttons and it very nice and very convenient for me as a user. I love it very much I do warehouse layout in 3D and also you can make even the smaller parts very easy to use.

Cons

Very demanding software for your computer you need a good PC with a good graphic card on it, because of the 3D that you draw the files getting larger. I hope that Sketchup integrate a extension that you don't need to download although you can download extensions that makes your file size smaller I hope that Sketchup integrate it with their software so you don't need to download extensions.

July 2020

Marco from Ompi North America - Stevanato Group

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Pharmaceuticals

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2020

3D design for everyone!

SketchUp revolutionized the approach to 3D design. Forget the complexity of old-school heavy 3D modeling software, you can shape your idea with SketchUp in minutes, from simple wood works, to complex architectural plans or articulated models, the work flow of this software is unbeated. The other disruptive feature is the access to warehouse with thousands (millions) of models shared by community users, that represents an infinite free resource to enhance your work.

Pros

- Extremely powerful, extremely easy - Almost no learning curve, ideal for non experienced users - Warehouse offers infinite possibilities to get ready to use models.

Cons

Low compatibility between versions, important updates makes your files not compatible with people with previous versions.

October 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2020

Almost Perfect Free Version

Quick and easy modeling at a $0 price point doesn't get much better.

Pros

The best part about SketchUp is that you can accomplish a lot with the free version. The ability to access their database of pre-created models for seemingly any material item is extremely useful when trying to create a model quickly.

Cons

There are certain simple features that would make the software much more user friendly that are only available with the paid version. When used they do make the software considerably easier to use, but so much can be accomplished with the free version that the paid version is almost not worth it.

April 2017

Ed o from MODUN CONSULTING

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Building Materials

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2017

3d design for everybody

1st time I heard about SKETCHUP was several years ago. I was looking for some fast sketching solution (preferable in 3d ) and search engine listed this program as near 1st position (and not a CAD). So, I clicked on the link and saw a fantastic piece of software. After some 8 or 9 years SKETCHUP is still on my computer. It's more poreful than several years before (form SKETCHUP 6, if I remember correctly), there are more materials, components and models (when 3d warehouse started it made a revolution of it's kind, enthusiast could show their models and companies could offer their products and services). Several things made me a follower/user of this program: simple to use, fast drawing, diferent type of finishing, cross-sections, user-friendly interface, diferent ways to achieve same results (by multyplaying or by dividing, by pulling or following,...), plenty of options and many special features that came during years. On of the first features was inserting a 3d object on GOOGLE EARTH (GOOGLE was a previous owner). That had a tremenduos effect and in short perid of time every city had many of landmarks made by SKETCHUP and inserted on maps. 3d warehouse was also an succesfull feature. Interesting feature, also, is "projection and perspective view". Changing this You can switch from "natural" 3d view to "geometrical" 3d view. This is MUST BE USED when You switch from designing to taking measures (hard to describe but imediately visible when used) Interesting feature, from a few version ago, is to match a photo. You simply load a photo (interior or exterior) and with help from program You model a 3d object, At the end You had a 3d model replica from photo with textures acquired from photo. If You are in real estate business, You understand what can be done regarding virtual demonstrations. Another nice feature is another warehouse - for extensions. With these addons You can have a completely different way of doing Your job, from drawing, designing or 3d printing. PRO version have some other usefull features that I like .DWG handling and several types of calculation, reporting (these are important part of my work with it) and exporting results. If You need a good sollution for 3d sketching, drawing or design, and You don't have time to learn a full CAD software this is software for You.

Pros

Simple tu use, fast drawing, starting 3d models and 3d warehouses, extensions, textures, importing of photos and materials, finishing, rendering options, drawing/sketching options, perspective changing, components and objects designing, friendly-used interface, cross-sections, active comunity,...

Cons

Many options are not visible or even expected. Without manual and (several) video tutorials many things that are simple to do You can't be done as they are not explained/offered. Switching axes sometimes is very irritating. Deleting a part of object sometimes cause un-expected results. Pushing/pulling sometimes cause small but irritating problems with surfaces.

February 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2019

Fast and easy 3D & 2D design software

SketchUp-Pro is generally easy to use, fast, convenient and much reliable. It has exposed me to newer designs and has allowed me to explore architecture even more. I’ll definitely go for the program over most other competitive software.

Pros

Most designers, regardless of their skill levels, find SketchUp-Pro one of the fastest and easiest CAD software programs for both creating and editing 3D & 2D designs. I bet this is mostly because of the thousands of models present in its intuitive toolbars and 3D Warehouse. What I like the most about the program are its customizable toolbars and large icons. These two features make it easy even for beginners. The software has no house wizard, but it still makes it simple to create all sorts of designs. It grants me access to the Trimble’s 3D warehouse. The Trimble’s 3D warehouse stocks thousands of models that I may download and use. This way I have access to lots of shared files together with a growing number of designs. The Program also has other built-in features such as the animations, lighting and textures effects. The Plugins are available to serve the purpose of advanced photorealistic rendering. In addition, the program offers built-in rendering styles. The software is compatible with an array of file types such as AutoCAD’s DXF and DWF files. It allows me to use the 3D printing image files, PDF and STL file. Some useful 2D CAD features include the layer manger and text & color editing. The layer, measurement and style toolbars make editing easier. I can quickly switch between different functions and correctly apply styles faster. In addition, other features such as import capabilities, macro recordings, and setup manager make the use of the program more convenient

Cons

Although the software offers architectural tools to promote building plans, SketchUp Pro lacks the house wizard and a wall tool. These two aspects would otherwise give the software a more powerful influence on architecture.

August 2018

Israel Jose from Freelance / Self-employed

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2018

Fastness, reliability and easy to use CAD

As a hydraulic engineer, and not an architect, I started using Sketchup Pro to make general designs and more for fun than need, then, when making work proposals, it became a fundamental tool thanks to the speed with which I could generate 3D decorative solids, with textures and lighting effects from simple 2D drawings.

Pros

Despite the fact, the almost all the CAD software are essentially very complex programs, the first and most I like of SketchUp ProCAD is its easiness of use, even for beginning designers. The Custom Tool Palette permit you to create custom palettes or menus with the tools and features that you can choose according to your needs, and if you no longer use or need any tool, you can simply delete them. Then we have the Drag and Drop functionality, that allows you to take blocks and symbols from the palettes and drag and drop them in your drawing, you can also use this function to toggle the order of the drawings within a project and move them to the position you want. Sketchup Pro has the most common and useful features, such as Measure Command Tool, simply select the object you want to measure, and the program will indicate its dimensions, area, volume of solids and even perform calculations such as the area of a solid minus the area of other solids that intercept or are located within it; also has Snap Tool; Layer Manager; Text Editing; Point Marker; Color Editing, and of course, one I really love, the Extrude 3D Models from 2D Designs, with which you can create a 3D model from a more complex 2D design, and to perform the inverse process generating 2D Designs from 3D Models. If you are a programmer, or not, Sketchup Pro comes with Macros that allows you to record and automate any process. The 3D Warehouse is one of the most useful resources, with which you will have a wide var

Cons

Within the cons, the photorealistic rendering provided by the software could give more striking results but they are also quite decent, and of course, another significant con is the lack of Wall Tool and House Wizard, and other architectural tools

May 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

May 2019

Review of Sketch up 2017

All round, it is a good and flexible software especially for beginners who'd like to just get started with architecture modelling software.

Pros

I really like that the software is very flexible. You can literally use it to perform any function pertaining to architectural drawings such as drawing plans, and sections especially with plug-in with a variety of functions you can perform such as builing walls, doors and windows as components etc. I like that you can import and export files ranging from 2D DWG TO 3D COLLADA. I also like that it has a very active community that can assist with any problems you may be facing with the software. I especially like that it intermittently autosaves for you incase of any mishaps that may occur along the line. You can also simply just drag in components and materials without any hassle.

Cons

I don't love the unexpected bugsplats and the fact that if I change the setting of one scene it affects the outline profile of the work. I think the zooming options needs a little work because sometimes it can be difficult to orbit around work without expecting it to enter into a surface all the time. I feel the snapping to edges might need a little work as well because sometimes its difficult to close polylines unless you zoom in critically.

August 2018

Ricardo from Estructuras Nabla4 S.A.S

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2018

A simple, but advanced tool for Architechtural and Engineering Design

Sketchup Pro is a must-have tool for any Architecture or Engineering designer. Its simple interface, along with its variety of options, allows you to create very professional designs that will allow you to win the client you want. As a Civil Engineer, I've used this software to create 3D models and plans for buildings, and I'm completely satisfied with the products this software allows me to create.

Pros

It is an easy-to-use but complete software that allows you to create many products required in an Engineering or Architecture Project, such as: - Detailed Construction Documents, such as plans, that are entirely essential for any project, and you can create them with many easy features that provides you a great aid to create a very professional set of plans. - 3D Renderings and Animations: In any Civil Engineering project is important to have a set of professional renderings, and this software does a great job with it. - It is a software that allows you to export your model to other specialized softwares in case that your model cannot be completed with this one. It also allows you to import as-drawn drawings so you can create your 3D model from a set of plans from other software. - Dynamic components, this feature allows you to safe plenty time when it comes to complex models. And last, but not least: - Extensions: they are some features that you can install into the interface of the software, you can download them from many websites. These Extensions allows you to do some tasks that the normal set of tools of the program doesnt allow you to do them. So, you can say it is like an upgrade.

Cons

I don't have many issues with this software, it is very complete and it has a very intuitive way to use and learn. My only con about this software could be that the Rendering motor may be not the best, but with the exporting tool, you can export to a 3D rendering specialized software, such as 3DS MAX, but that is not a problem for me.

January 2019

Sharon from Traditional Edge Designs

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Design

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

SketchUp Pro, The best and affordable space planning software

I was introducted to this back in school when I have to produced a residential project and I had not learned revit yet. I panicked, I search in vain to find a product to find a product that I could use to build my kitchen in 3D with fairly quickly. I was introduced SketchUP, I think it was version 7. I loved it so much I upgraded to pro. Now its the industry standard. Very easy to teach and make very impressive presentations with. Which makes me look good to my clients. Perfect for commercial and residential design. Highly recommended!

Pros

What did I not love about the software. You can learn it in about three hours; easy to build from. The furniture and textile library uses a lot of the same pieces you’d find in your favorite stores, thus it creates realistic space plans. The pro version you create professional plans and it integrates with AutoCAD, you can create a digital walk around in your 3D presentations. Works with the representatives color paint colors as well. You can change the style of how your presentation looks from hand drawn to very clean and linear.

Cons

The sheets take a bit of time to learn, but once you do they look very professsional. You need a separate rendering program to make it more realistic and they can be pricey.

November 2019

Danny from Lumber Traders, Inc.

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2019

Amazing tool for design and planning

We have used the product extensively for store design and planning out displays. Additionally we use the software to do quick illustrations to send to customers, rather than tacky hand drawn scans. This is a great piece of software and reasonably prices as far as CAD systems go. I would love to see subscription (monthly) based pricing, though.

Pros

The program is relatively intuitive if you have any familiarity with CAD software, but even if you're brand new there is a lot of content out there to help - Google is your friend! - Feature rich - Very stable program - Makes spatial planning for business design easy and accurate

Cons

While there is a lot of content out there that can be Googled, if you need more detailed assistance there is little 1st party product support; most items will be answered via online message boards. - Deeper features can be a bit convoluted - Sometimes a shape has a geometry error, but there is little help on how to fix

Reasons for Choosing SketchUp

More economical. Easier for beginners.

March 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2020

SketchUp - my favourite CAD tool!

Fantastic tool. Perhaps it is because I've tinkered with it since its early days, but I find it my go-to tool for any CAD projects. Perhaps it is for this reason that I have had such success with it in the classroom over the years. However, it is a shame that Trimble have changed their policy on SketchUp Pro for Educators - this has limited access to it in certain areas of the world.

Pros

I have loved SketchUp's approachability since it was a Google product. I find that the ability to play around and create something really quickly is a real hook into getting students enthused and excited about using and learning the product. It can be used from Students to Hobbyists to Professionals: everyone can get benefit from the Platform - especially now that it has its online browser-based Free version that has Microsoft Office 365 SSO as well as Google (important if you are in a country that has banned Google!). There are GREAT Tutorials available for all skill levels; we are particularly impressed with the ones made available for Education at the K(4)-12 level.

Cons

Personally, it has really impacted me that SketchUp Pro is no longer made available to Educators for free. I have multiple projects that were designed on SU Pro and these are no longer easily accessed or worked on. (It IS possible through uploading and downloading through the 3D Warehouse, but this is a pain and does not work well in cases of bigger projects.)

November 2017

Manuel Alberto from Promec Ingenieros, C.A.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2017

User-Friendly, Fun To Use & Versatile

i shortened time of work it took me days to make a 3d model but now i just invest at much four or five ours and the i can start rendering that helps me with the clients normally you ask for two weeks to complete a job but now i can do it in a week

Pros

I've been using SketchUp everyday in my line of work for over three years now. It is one of the easiest CAD programs I've used/learned as well as one with some of the best support and communities I've participated in. There are tons of models in the 3D warehouse to learn from or integrate into your own creations. It's for more than just architectural and interior design; I've even used it for animations, pattern making and film! More importantly, I'm still able to import/export files types outside of SketchUp's. It accepts dwgs, dxf.

Cons

It's too basic at times, so any detailed things you would have to use another program. it also does not look quite as professional, as the graphics are a little lacking. I usually make the 3-d model and then I bring it into photoshop to render for a better look.

March 2020

Aditya from Davies Design Build

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

March 2020

Good for Architects.. Bad for Civil Engineers

I have been using this for at least 3 years. Why do I like this ? Because it the best for rendering and getting a visibly beautiful output of my design. I usually use AutoCAD and Revit for detailed modeling and construction detailing. But whenever I need to present my model to someone, I use rendered sketches and views to convey the idea.

Pros

This is the most flexible software for modeling. If you dream about it, you can model/design it. Its that simple. Architects love this software because it gives them the freedom to design whatever they think. It has fewer constraints. Its different render engines give us way too realistic output compared to other modeling software like AutoCAD.

Cons

I can say this is NOT a SMART software. why? Because- 1) It's not Building Information Modelling compatible- you cant use data in any BIM tool. 2) Components built in this does not have properties as other software as Revit has.- Its just good for 'looks' 3) Import/Export to other platforms is not available.- Interoperability is poor for data transfer

May 2018

Stephen from Neth & Son Inc.

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2018

Great product which makes 3D modeling a breeze!

Drafting, planning, and assistance with project management

Pros

The 3D modeling components are very user-friendly, and super easy to use. Any novice drafter can learn this program rather quickly with minimal instruction. This product also allows you to turn your 3D models into 2D plans by importing them to a secondary "Layout" program. Trimble Sketchup Pro comes as a product suite with 3 individual programs, but transferring your models between them is a fairly simple and fast process. Each program has a different function from modeling, plan design, and graphic design components. Sketchup is also integrated with built-in shading modules, access to the Sketchup library with access to hundreds of thousands of communal models, and additional "plug-ins" which allows you to add more functionality to your modeling tools. Their customer support is also very accommodating and responsive.

Cons

The "maps" function is far less than stellar since Trimble's contract with Google expired.. If you are looking to import an existing building footprint using this function, you will end up with an extremely grainy and tiny map graphic. Also, from time to time, glitches will occur with other imported graphics in their "Layout" program which causes the need for those graphics to be uploaded once again.

April 2018

Fredy from Archteuno

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2018

Awesome software.

It made our workflow way easier 10+ ago with no turning back to previous software used.

Pros

Easy to use, the learning curve is way shorter than any other 3d software I've used, great compatibility with most of the professional software out there. Has an awesome community of users and developers that make it even greater (with their extensions). Been using it for more than 10+ years. For Us, it replaced Autocad altogether (if you team it up with Sketchup Layout - that comes included with Sketchup Pro). Level of detail can be controlled up to 0.000000 mm Or (1/64") Works great making 3D models for 3d printing as well (if you use some of the available extensions)

Cons

I believe the free version is no longer available as a standalone software (you need a browser now) Might be too expensive for a hobbyist but not if used for work. Gets slow if the geometry is too complex or if you don't know how to use components

April 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2020

SketchUp saved my life!!

Pros

I LOVE SketchUp!!! I have used so many 3D softwares but this one takes the cake. Not only is it easy to use, it also looks SO good when rendered with the correct software. I have used Revit in the past, and when it comes to design planning and space planning Sketchup just looks so much better every time, I think compared to others Sketchup has so many more options and the ability to add finishes is so much easier and importing furniture is also so easy. Another thing I love is how easy it is to build furniture, every time I do I am so happy with the result. SketchUp is the one!

Cons

The only thing that I wish sketch had was a 2D view of the floor plan and the ability to make elevations and things like that, but other than that I love it.

January 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

SketchUp Pro

I use SketchUp on a daily basis as an exhibit designer, booth designer and interior designer. I also do several home projects on a regular basis with it. I really love SketchUp Pro and the warehouse makes it incredibly easy to add and build models using pre-built geometry. You can even modify other peoples drawings to make them match your design. This is a great and simple to learn / use software.

Pros

I love that you can quickly build awesome models to scale and create beautiful renderings with many various plugins. This software wasn't always a big hitter but I think companies are starting to see it's potential. Sketchup Pro has some additional features that make it nicer than make such as being able to save and export to DWG. Overall it's a great software that I love using.

Cons

I wish there was a decent rendering engine built into this software. It is simply lacking in that area but other than that, with plugins like VRay, Keyshot Etc, you can create beautiful renderings quickly.

August 2019

Majeed Mohammed from Unicad

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2019

Most Easier

Pros

It's Really Simple And Quick to Use. Because Other Related softwares Are Taking To much of Time To Create object. Everyone Can Easily Learn this Software without trouble.And OuTput Also Too Gud For Spend Money to this Software

Cons

It has some Trouble One of that, An Obejct should Be GROUP before make Another object On that If not When Move an object Everything will Stretch and Collapse. But little amount trouble on y Have this Software I hope it will be Fixed coming Updates. That will be very helpfull

March 2020

Jason from Charles County Public Schools

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Primary/Secondary Education

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2020

Free, but it's gone downhill.

In general, I love SketchUp and will use it for most of my rendering needs. If you want to make fast renders quickly and for free, and if you're not making working drawings, then SketchUp is enough. There is a reason you see it on HGTV when they design kitchens and are showing the clients their ideas, but you don't see it on the corners of their working drawings.

Pros

I love the price (free) and how easy it is to use SketchUp. I currently use it to explain 3D objects to my drafting students or to explain what something will look like when we're done. I sometimes use it for demonstrating geometry concepts, too. Back when I was a draftsman for a small design-build firm, I exclusively used SketchUp for all drafting and document production (in conjunction with Microsoft Word). I am a big fan of their warehouse of items for if you are trying to populate a house with furniture or a street with cars.

Cons

A few years ago, SketchUp switched to being mostly cloud and less of a downloadable program. While this is mostly good since I can access my files on any computer with the internet, its layout changed and it is much harder to find the tools you want to use. It used to be that lines and edges were sharp and I could edit cleanly and easily in MSPaint, but the online version of SketchUp doesn't render the same way and it has made my freelancing as a draftman more difficult. Also, SketchUp is not great at generating documents and printing to scale compared to Autodesk Inventor. Lastly, they don't use true curves for cirlces and arcs which saves RAM but can be good or bad when rendering.

February 2018

Mario from The Eisen Group

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2018

Great software for not just for professionals but everyone

Overall, it is a must learn software because of how easy is to learn it and the possibilities you have with it

Pros

It is not just a professionals tool as many bloggers and students use it in a daily basis for creating almost everything they can think of. For example, I just say last week a blog of a person who was doing a sketchup model for her desk so that she could build it, and it provided everything she needed. Me as an architect, I use it a lot to do 3D modeling in order to visualize the buildings before construction. With the Pro version you have the opportunity to do section cuts and even set a "sheet set" for your drawings. The pro of Sketchup is that as it is free of use (free version) there's also a library called "google warehouse" where you can upload/download models from anyone (who uploads theirs) and use it as if it was created by you, and all of this, for free.

Cons

I would love Sketchup to be more like a professional software and have more tools to help you design properly and detail things like a BIM software but because of the reasons I listed above, I think Sketchup should stay focusing as a "free" software and anyone can use it.

October 2018

Hentry from EDEN BUILDERS

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2018

SIMPLE AND POWERFUL

Architectural drawings.. modeling

Pros

Sketchup is really easy to use.. and has the basic features for a 3D modeling software.. Backed up by great community, plugins and extensions. it is very easy to do basic modeling and it has a large collection of free models in 3D warehouse. it can work along most of the render engines and give realistic results in minimum effort. Layout is also great for doing 2D works .. it is clean.. simple and gives cool results when compared with different styles

Cons

sketchup lacks capability to do animations. I wish if i could do basic animations(without any plugins) and modeling complex objects is difficult.. like organic structures. sometime its seems to crash on heavy projects. and when there is lots of plugins installed it takes some time to set up after launching

August 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2019

Sketchup

Pros

Sketchup is how I started my career and I still use it almost every day. Its strong points are creating geometry on the fly and pulling from the extensive model warehouse that has almost everything you'd ever need. It's also so user-friendly, someone can easily pick up the program and start using it within a couple of weeks proficiently.

Cons

I don't like the way geometry can't be smoothed to the extent other software can do it. In other words, with bends and curves, it's sometimes hard to make them clean in Sketchup to where the textures and UV maps won't be messed up when I export to something like Unreal engine. If you're exporting from Sketchup, you have to be prepared to do a lot of cleanups if you want a high-quality mesh to visualize with photo-real textures and lighting.

November 2017

IVAYLO from ISB ART

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2017

Amazing easy to use and practice software platform for drawings and technical 3D and 2D drawing.

3D amazing models of our buildings all over the world in amazing fast way easy to set up and edit after even in Google Earth.

Pros

Fast performance and easy visualizated needed 3D drawing fast to edit and most important a lot of options to sinchronizate with other software platforms as you can work together with autoCAD and 3D max. It make the platform very reliable nd convinient for most of us and it is strongly recommend to all architects and drafters now days. Like to start in second done the work in hours and send my new file or upload on Google Earth address and after save it in .KMZ popular file. A lot of modern options to share and to posited the object directly to Google Earth.

Cons

Fast performance makes the application the best decision for the modern Architects and Constructors.

August 2020

hanady from architect

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2020

User-friendly software

Its my first choice to create fast and easy 3d models since I first began working on 3d modeling at University.

Pros

Skecth up is a simple and quick software for modeling compared to other 3d modeling softwares especially for first time 3d modelers. The work area is not complex and easy to learn. It also provides a wide library of 3d components in the SketchUp Warehouse and very useful extensions in the SketchUp Extension Warehouse which make modeling tasks much easier. And once the work is done, it could be easily exported in other softwares.

Cons

It can be more difficult to create specified details for complex projects on Sketch up comparing to other similar softwares. The files can sometimes be very heavy especially when adding multiple components that the software crashes.

March 2018

Nick from Mobile Appfitters

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

March 2018

Great for rapid prototyping and education for kids

Pros

Fast and easy to use. Without any prior 3D modeling experience, I was able to download the software, watch a getting started video, then I was up and running! I created a prototype for a customer and won their business. This is also a fantastic platform for introducing kids to 3D modeling. There are plenty of models available for kids to modify and print out. It gets them very excited for engineering.

Cons

On occasion, it looks like I've removed a portion of material, say for a screw hole in an enclosure, but it's not really gone. It looks like it's gone in the preview, but it prints out fully filled in. If you're designing a 3D model that has voids or through holes, ensure all lines are properly connected, otherwise you'll print unwanted material.

August 2018

Fraser from Selkirk Planning & Design

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2018

A Great 3D Design Software

My experience has been amazing. I've been able to design a plan and quickly generate 3D views of entire cities. Moving beyond just designing in plan view, to designing in 3D makes the designs much easier for people to understand and buy into.

Pros

You can generate 3D models quickly and generally or zoom into specific details. I use it for large 3D models of cities and neighbourhoods and it can be done really easily and quickly. The open source ruby plugins means you can find almost anything to help you do what you want. I have about 50 that do everything from drop and grade roads to terrain, generate buildings, populate forests and sidewalks with components, pull in open street data to build a 3D context model, and more. The 3D model library puts tens of thousands of free 3D components at your fingertips, which makes it easy to populate a model quickly. A great online community can also help you figure out any modelling challenges.

Cons

SketchUp Layout is still not nearly as easy to use as other vector graphics programs for final drawings. Not being able to group layers and easily lock layers from the layers panel can be challenging.

September 2018

Rao from Joyce Design Partnership

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2018

Best 3d modelling software out there !

Overall experience is 5/5 ! have used it for almost all my projects not just for the clients but also for understanding the volume of the space and the dynamics of designing within a space !

Pros

you dont have to be a software junkie or highly skilled person to start using, learning and 3d modelling in Sketchup ! Perhaps one of the most easy to use/ user-friendly softwares out there ! Been using this software for all my interior projects paired up with some plugins for renders and the result has been exceptional. Happy clients are the best !

Cons

the only con is you most certainly need to learn this software in and out if you have to create organic designs (curves and angled geometry in design). Some commands that help you develop these curves in your design output will surely need expertise !

September 2018

Eric from AECOM

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

3.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2018

3D Rendering Made Easy with SketchUp Pro

I use SketchUp Pro in my work as an urban planner and designer to show our clients what new street improvements would look like in the real world. I am able to render a street with new lanes, vehicles, bus stops, etc in SketchUp and match that model to a photo of the street. This allows elected officials and city staff to quickly see what a street will look like if the recommended changes take effect. This helps sell our work and pushes it to the next stage.

Pros

Users can make fantastically complicated and highly detailed 3D renderings using SketchUp that have the ability to impress clients. SketchUp is relatively easy to use for this type of software and most users will be able to pick it up fairly quickly. Personally, I use SketchUp to render changes to an existing landscape using the Match Photo tool. This allows my clients to quickly visualize what the recommended change will look like in real life. There are a large number of guides and tutorials available to help teach this software to newcomers.

Cons

SketchUp can be a tricky to use because everything is laid out in 3D. This can make orienting yourself to the correct plane difficult. Some of the controls are counter intuitive and do not match up with other drawing software (like Adobe Illustrator) which can lead to mistakes. The final exports delivered from SketchUp have a low quality look to them and need to be imported to Photoshop to achieve a more real looking effect. These are not deal breaking issues and can be solved easily with some practice.

June 2020

Frederic from Frédéric De Clercq

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2020

The best for 3D desiging

It is great for visualisation of architecture and workd super fast! customers are snappier to sign the contract if they see what they will get.

Pros

Does not matter if you are beginner or advanced user... It is so fun and free to experiment with in the beginning, and you can make your models as complex as you want too as advanced user. This is just a program I love! it can be used in alot of professional fields: Architecture, games, movies, etc...

Cons

Because it is so free and creative it lacks abit in case of going technicaly in detail of a model like for example an engine... the delivered "Layout" software is far from perfect, it can be frustrating the dimensions are not that easy sometimes to place as if you were compare that with autocad.

Reasons for Choosing SketchUp

The ease of use

January 2020

Ana from Neenan

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2020

Easy to model concepts into 3D quickly

Overall it is a fast and easy tool, but due to the simplicity It has its limits and should not be relied on for measuring or using beyond conceptual massing and design. There are bugs and flaws that can make it cumbersome to use once your file gets large.

Pros

The best thing about this is that it is easy to use. It is based off of point, line, plane, extrusion methodology, so it is easy to use lines to create the geometry you are envisioning. It is fairly easy to edit geometry as well with the same use of lines to divide up planes or extrude further. Each plane can receive its own material, and it is easy to create materials and load in entourage to populate your model. The program can also create scenes to help walk others through your model, and load into presentation software Layout which imports views to a selected scale to create printable sheets.

Cons

The point line plane extrusion method is intended to make the creation process fast, but sometimes it can get messy. It is easy to unknowingly draw in the wrong xyz direction, or have multiple overlapping lines that are fractions of an inch off, or not be able to connect lines to make a plane for the same reasons. These reasons make editing difficult. I also wish the visualization aspect was more up to date and had more options, such as importing your own background image to use in a view or a CAD file site plan to use as a ground level. It seems it could be more all encompassing as a schematic design tool.

July 2018

Paul from Inseego Corp. (formerly Novatel Wireless, Inc)

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2018

The thing I love about SketchUp is that it makes sense.

Pros

When I first started using SketchUp, I was impressed at how everything was where I expected it to be. I had used really high-end CAD systems, and some lower-end ones, and they didn't quite feel like second nature...ever. SketchUp is one of those tools that simply does. You look in a place you think an option should be, and it is. Great set of tools, for all. As a hobby woodworker, this software is awesome.

Cons

There is something to be said about having an open development system and a large community. The problem is, community plugins are rarely tested on more than a few system. This led me to download tools and find they just didn't work as expected. Stick to the stock tools, or those made by the company.

July 2018

philip from golden stone productions

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Graphic Design

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

1.0

July 2018

got ripped off by Trimble

I'm a profession illustrator and I've used sketchup since it's inception. I just discovered this underhanded move that Trimble used. I'm so mad I might file a claim for what I paid for the software and ask for a refund.

Pros

easy to use 3d modeling software that's getting ruined by the current owner. Trimble for whatever reason, can't use Google's images/map data in sketchup, so they disabled the features in 2016 versions and older and tell people who already paid for software to pay another amount to upgrade to be able to use a feature it was sold with when you bought it.

Cons

Bought sketchup pro and just discovered that as of last year they disabled the "add location" feature. So I paid for a feature that they just disabled. Now, in order to use a feature I ALREADY PAID FOR!, I have to pay for a maintenance plan to upgrade to the latest version of the software to use an inferior version of the feature THAT I ALREADY PAID FOR! I will NEVER, EVER, EVER give Trimble a single penny of my money. Just a down right greedy, evil decision to just yank a feature from people who paid good money for a product.

May 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2018

Extremely easy to learn and use, great for developing small projects

Pros

By far, my favorite thing about SketchUp Pro is how easy it is to learn, and how quickly you can start building complex designs after only minimal training. Compared to other CAD applications that I have used, SketchUp Pro is by far the most user friendly. The interface is very intuitive and easy to learn, and using the software feels almost natural after using it for only a short while. The object library makes it even more attractive, as you can easily add objects into your projects that are to scale and are often extremely detailed and well developed. Even if a particular object is not to scale, you can easily resize it to fit your needs. The extensive size of the library means that there are many popular items available, so depending on what you are designing, you may be able to find the exact item that will be going into a particular space, allowing you to see exactly what something will look like in real life.

Cons

Some operations within the software are not quite as intuitive as I would like. In particular, subtracting or trimming one object from another is often quite difficult and can take several attempts to get right. Additionally, I've found that the quality and variety of textures that are included with the program to be a bit lacking. It would be great to have more variety and some high res textures that could be used to really make a design pop.

August 2018

Kanav from Studio Anew Architecture

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2018

An Architect's Tool, value for Money & Time

Overall i would say it's a amazing software little bit of refinement is always good. the more you use the more you will love this software.

Pros

As a young architect with freshly minted new ideas & spontaneous generation in this fast moving world sketchUp is amazing companion. There are many good things which i would like to mention are: 1. Usability, very easy to use for beginners. 2. Compatibility, importing drawings from other software never a problem. 3. Smart Software, it just thinks for you, creating new ideas is a easy task in it, some tools like sandbox tool are some good tool which can enhance your concept & ideas 4. Shadow & Geo-location tool makes it different software from others.

Cons

Nothing is perfect in this world, but we have to keep on improving that's what human nature is all about, so there are just few things which can be improved as per my usage. 1. Material can be improved, little bit of ageing and sharpness or hardness of tools can be very helpful 2. Sometime it just crashes suddenly that's very irritating

July 2018

Alejandro from Premier Sports Performance

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2018

Powerful but high learning curve

The ability to design and plan small projects such as building a floating bunk bed for my kids to large projects such as planning every square in of a gym to insure space usage and equipment fitting at a new location.

Pros

I love the endless possibilities of the software. It allowed you to do almost anything you want , from a small project such as making plans for a loft bed to planning facilies, buildings and more. I love the ever growing shared Library of objects to use and already made plans to help you not starting from scratch or gaining inspiration from. True to google way the product over delivers in quality and functionality.

Cons

As powerful as this software is it could be a little more user friendly. The ability and power to truly be able to sketch anything exactly as you want it comes with a price and that is ease of use. Commonly used simple things such as walls can sometimes be challenging to put and the ability to just create a room with dimensions is non existent . One has to create wall by wall. This is also affected by flooring being difficult to put in top in a way that if you edit or delete the flooring ( such as rug) you don't affect or delete the floor underneath it. I am sure many of these problems come because of the relatively short time of use and as a byproduct of making the software powerful enough to bring any dreams and ideas to paper.

May 2018

Ovadias from Consejo Federal de Gobierno

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2018

I use this software very often in my daily tasks as an architect

We can mention a number of benefits that have among them is the ease of use since it is very instuitive, the visualization of planes, the amount of tools you have and those that you can incorporate, in addition to being able to download it without any cost. amount of help he has among other things

Pros

This softarwe is very complete you can design your base plan and then do a survey in 3d is very intuitive and easy to use besides incorporating a library with all the objects you need for your project, for example windows doors car seats adapted to all Disciplines, you can also import your plane and perform the survey that is to mention some of the many things you can do. You can also visit the site that you designed to render that are spectacular. It is compatible with other operating systems and now with the launch of WineHQ we can run it on Linux Ubuntu

Cons

The limitation that I find is that you have to have a good computer to be able to run it, this is with respect to the disk and processor memory, it consumes a lot of resources, especially when rendering.

June 2019

Cody from Design Collective Inc

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

2.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2019

Sketchup Pro -

Sketchup pro is a great tool to quickly and easily model concepts and ideas although it is still not the best for documentation and presentations on it's own. In many cases, the free version is enough but it is possible to successfully design, present, and document projects with it.

Pros

Sketchup Pro does everything that the free version of Sketchup does and more. It provides better presentation quality graphics, drawing sheet setups through Layout, terrain modeling, and simply operates more professionally than the free version. If you need to use sketchup for large, complex, models and want to use it through the entire design process, sketchup pro might be a good choice. In general, modeling in sketchup is one of the best ways to quickly and easily show ideas large or small.

Cons

For large projects many AEC firms already utilize documentation and visualization programs that are more industry specific. In this case, the sketchup pro version comes with many features that are not necessary and the free version would be more than enough for their needs.

January 2018

Donnie from Hunzinger Construction

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2018

Sketchup is a great tool for preliminary modeling and visualization. Very intuitive and easy to use!

As a general contractor, Sketchup allows us to present models to our clients in simple and intuitive ways without giving them too much information. We have used Sketchup a number of times to create quality graphics for our presentations when selling work as well.

Pros

Sketchup does a great job making something complicated, like 3D modeling, and making it extremely simple. I know some friends with no experience in modeling that have picked this up intuitively. The Pro version allows integrations into other software like Autodesk Revit which increases the value. There are also a number of plugins that allow you to create quality renderings, walkthroughs, animations, and so much more!

Cons

Sketchup is great for preliminary design and visualization but in when the design process gets farther along, it cannot keep up very well. There's no data assigned to Sketchup elements which keeps the model size down but you can't do anything with it other than visualize. There's nothing necessarily wrong with this... It's just a limitation of the software.

May 2020

Muhammad from Lahore Biennale Foundation

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Arts and Crafts

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2020

Why Sketchup is easy to Learn?

From my academics to professional life I have mastered the software and done several interior projects, it is simple and you can learn it on your own. You can draw and create anything from the line in this software. I would highly recommend this for students and architects to use this instead of drawing something.

Pros

A great approach to create 3D design and sketches. The software which has both elements of design 2D and 3D at the same time, with an additional extension of getting the renders which are more real in the end. I have been using it for Interior design, Construction of Buildings with real material, landscape designs etc. One of the advantage ones can have with this software is the Google Sketchup warehouse which has almost everything from a needle to plane, readymade models but may size may vary. I would recommend all the artists and architects to use the software in order to draw the sketch of the project or proposal.

Cons

The overall layout is yet simple but it should have rendering extension within the software, which can make it complete.

May 2018

David from Health Facilities Consulting

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2018

I wish i had had this software when i was starting my career.

The ability to rapidly produce models for study, and the extensive palette of tools provides the ability to enhance basic models to presentation-quality products.

Pros

Sketchup Pro is easy to use, and while it works most effectively in 3D, it can also be used to generate traditional two-dimensional production documents. It is relatively simple to create a basic structure, then use the array of tools to manipulate and modify the object. With the large number of 3rd party add-ons, dozens of additional features can be applied to a model. Pricing is much more reasonable than the leading CADD software, and the company offers a free version which, while it has fewer features than the Pro version, still provides an excellent tool for anyone who needs CADD software.

Cons

At this time, I have no negatives regarding this software. Since i began using it 14 years ago, each yearly upgrade has improved the performance, and users have continued to contribute add-ons to provide more features and refinements.

March 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2019

SketchUp Pro works Professionally - love it!

I maintain my entire business structure with SketchUp. It's help me create a huge home-based business and I would not even consider switching to another platform.

Pros

Being able to build 2D prints from 3D models creates accurate documents. The software is not automated like standard CAD. I prefer this as it keeps me up to speed with current codes; that is, I have to know what I'm doing, the software isn't doing it for me.

Cons

I would like to see some continued development of the construction document side of the program called LayOut. It is excellent currently yet I feel it should continue to be advanced. Progress has slowed since Google sold the company.

June 2018

Tania Tamara from UDONE

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2018

SketchUp is 2D and 3D drawing application to create, visualize and communicate construction projects

Pros

It is used in graphic design for three-dimensional modeling based on faces. For environments of architecture, civil engineering, industrial design, stage design, video games or movies. It is very easy to learn and fast that you can start to create complex designs after a minimum training. The program includes a video tutorial to learn step by step how you can design and model your own environment. It also allows to conceptualize and model 3D images of buildings, cars, people and any object or article imagined by the designer or draftsman and includes a gallery of objects, textures and images ready to download.

Cons

It is so intuitive and easy that this reduces the use of this program for more complicated tasks, that is, only the experts could use it.

August 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2020

Decent if you have the time

SketchUp has endless possibilities for creators, but could be a bit more user friendly and faster. Takes too long to even open the add-ons, but is still a good program for aspiring designers.

Pros

I love that there are so many options and so many things you can create in SketchUp. Among other softwares, it has a smoother interface and is easier to learn, if you are dedicated to learning the program. They offer the program to students and educators for way cheaper than retail price, which is very nice for students to get in and learn how to operate SketchUp before having to pay the full price. Still a learning curve, but a good place to start for someone who has no experience in CAD.

Cons

You absolutely need a computer mouse to use the program, trying to navigate and create without one is near to impossible. Add- ons like the " Warehouse" , while very helpful and cool, can be extremely laggy. Takes forever to load in an item, and difficult to place.

Displaying 1 - 50 of 657 reviews