All Confluence Reviews

1-25 of 3,324 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Chris

Hospital & Health Care, 51 - 200 employees

Used less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

Reviewed November 2020

Great way to share content and track project goals and outcomes

User Profile

Vinod

Verified reviewer

Shipbuilding, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2023

Modern day Knowledge Management Repository

It has greatly improved our team's ability to create, organize, and share information effectively. The platform's features such as real-time collaboration, version control, and content organization have enhanced our productivity and streamlined our workflows. While there may be some areas for improvement, such as more advanced formatting options and task management capabilities, the user-friendly interface and intuitive design have made it relatively easy to navigate and use. Additionally, the availability of integrations and Atlassian's support resources have helped us integrate Confluence with our existing business processes, further enhancing its value. Overall, Confluence has been an essential tool in facilitating knowledge sharing and enhancing collaboration within our organization.

PROS

Confluence is a powerful collaboration tool that offers several impactful features. Its most impactful features include the ability to create and organize content, collaborate in real-time, and have version control for easy tracking and reverting of changes. With a user-friendly interface and intuitive design, Confluence is generally considered easy to use, allowing users to navigate, create, and edit content seamlessly. As for integration with existing business processes, Confluence provides various integrations and APIs that make integration with other tools and systems relatively straightforward. It offers flexible options for customizations, allowing businesses to tailor the tool to their specific needs and workflows, thus facilitating a smooth integration process with existing business processes.

CONS

As an end user of Confluence, I find the tool to be quite robust for collaboration, but there are a few features that I feel could be improved or added. For instance, I would appreciate more advanced formatting options, better task management capabilities, and improved visualization options for data. Additionally, I must admit that certain aspects of the product, such as complex permissions settings and the learning curve associated with advanced features, can be difficult to use initially. When it comes to integrating Confluence with our existing business processes, the level of difficulty can vary based on the complexity of our processes and the specific integrations required. In some cases, it has been challenging and has required additional configuration or development efforts, but Atlassian does provide resources, documentation, and support to help facilitate the integration process.

Reason for choosing Confluence

Those are planning tool but confluence come with JIRA tool as KM application.

Reasons for switching to Confluence

Less features in Workday

User Profile

Sarah

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2023

A superior collaborative workspace

The platform is accessible to anyone and has an open interface, letting our company set up collaborative spaces where staff can collaborate productively on a wide range of projects. It's reliable, and it made it easy to increase our property holdings. It may not be necessary to invest time and resources into teaching employees how to use Confluence because it may be extremely user-friendly.

PROS

Confluence's suite of team communication tools is crucial to any effort to increase output. It's a lot dependable and much cheaper than other options. It's essential equipment for anyone seeking total control over their team's overall performance.

CONS

It's a steep learning curve for our less tech-savvy customers to become proficient at working on our websites. The fact that the support staff is exclusively fluent in English may also be an inconvenience for some consumers. Integration with Azure DevOps is a little bit of a challenge.

Reasons for switching to Confluence

With Confluence's transparent workspace, teams can jointly develop, evaluate, and settle on plans to keep the work moving forward. Confluence allows you to embed spreadsheets, include diagrams, display design prototypes, and link with popular tools like Google Drive and Salesforce on the same page.

Lucien

Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2024

Confluence is a robust tool for world-class engineering/product teams to create

Confluence is a critical tool for significant documentation from an engineering/product standpoint. I don't think it will be the only tool fast agile businesses will use for documentation but it is still best in class for engineering functions.

PROS

Confluence is the most trusted documentation player in the game. We use Jira for our engineering task management so naturally, the seamless vertical integration between the two tools is excellent. Confluence has an excellent template library and perhaps most importantly, the performance is always reliable. We can't use tools like ClickUp due to bugs and performance issues for long significant PRDs. The collaboration on confluence is excellent and permissions around editing is also important.

CONS

Confluence is quite clunky (much like Jira). The ability to edit isn't as easy as ClickUp or Notion and that can get frustrating when you're trying to make changes quickly.

User Profile

Aleksandr

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2021

Wouldn't recommend at the moment, but things may quickly change.

It was good. Not it is just too big and heavy even for a big companies. May be the root of this impression is that Confluence doesn't feel as a seamless system. May be this is because there a different application for different tasks and while this is exactly what you expect using a tool per task, this is somehow plays against Confluence. On the bright side, this is a part of a bigger ecosystem, it is reliable, it has nice support, it is constantly changes to good. May be because it is pricy. Overall, I'd never get back to it, though Jira is still one of the best tools out there.

PROS

It is somewhat hard to speak about Confluence pros without constantly resorting to integration with other Atlassian products. Confluence was a first haven for a lot of companies and developers, it is safe to say that most of us started their meeting with information systems world with Confluence. It offers some sort if hierarchy for documents, crossreferences, editing. Confluence is offers a number of connectors to other products, and what is of most importance here is that confluence has a set of tools to build statistical data into user-friendly representation. Confluence is a part of Atlassian ecosystem and this is something to keep in mind, because this is the direction developers are pushing you. Confluence may be deployed on premises which is a significant distinction from many other products. It is costly but there is a comprehensive set of documentation, reliable techsupport. Confluence is a handy management tool for it is capable of collecting, digesting and representing a data from various sources. Say, you may render server status page, Jira's taks flow, gantt diagram and all of them will be live. Confluence is quite reliable system and I can not say I can remember a single bug while using it. Mobile and desktop apps for the most platform are there. It has notification, chats, email listings etc.

CONS

To start with it is pricy. It is slow. The editor is hugely outdated. It pushes you toward other Atlassian products and while the ecosystem itself is not bad, this is not something you'd want these days. Basically, it represents too much of vendor lock and there are a lot of much better substitutions. And the overall design is stuck in 2010. It is heavy, leak, slow. User paths through different usage scenarios could use a hand of able UI designer.

Elaina

Accounting, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed February 2024

It's decent and gets the job donw

It's alright and gets the job done. If it's only use was task management I'm sure it would be amazing. They've got a ways to go as far as the Knowledge base looks.

PROS

I like that it has all the required features of document management and IT loves that it connects well and integrates with their systems

CONS

The look of the website from the user standpoint is a bit bland. It looks "clunky" and outdated compared to more modern user interfaces.

Reason for choosing Confluence

This was considered but didn't have all the necessary features of knowledgebase management we required.

Reasons for switching to Confluence

I loved Document 360. The user interface was amazing for an incredible price compared to places that charge a "per-user" fee. We switched so that we could integrate into the task management side of our IT Team.

Ramesh

Financial Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2024

Confluence

Overall Confluence is easy to user, lgith weight and great for document management.

PROS

Lightweight browser-based tool. Easy to use. Has lots of integration with other tools such as Lucid Chart, etc.

CONS

Confluence can improve on small things such as: 1) accidental clicks, for example, accidental click on a table header sorts the table rows without the user's content. 2) When 2 or more people edit a page, it alerts that I will overwrite other users' changes. But the other user was idle and did no updates. Confluence can detect and tell me what updates the other user is doing so that I can see and understand.

Calvin

Automotive, 501-1,000 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2024

Confluence - User Knowledge base

I do not find myself going back to our knowledge base very often because I am typically part of the initial user training on new products and I take my own notes, But that is the beauty of the product. Even after long gaps in using the software I am able to go back into it and be productive and that is what I want in a knowledge base tool.

PROS

Its ease of use and low barriers of entry

CONS

Confluence is just a little different in how it accomplish a task, when compared to SharePoint, which means that a user well versed in SharePoint may struggle a little more than a newbie, just because they need to unlearn a few processes, which often makes those long term SharePoint users a little disenchanted by the product, but once they get over the learning curve, user acceptance on the product is very high.

Reasons for switching to Confluence

Recommended by one of our business partners.

Derrick

Program Development, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2024

Simplifying Team Collaboration

PROS

It helps me create, organize, and work together with my team smoothly. For example, when we have a project, I can quickly create a page to outline our goals, share it with my team, and everyone can edit and add their ideas easily.

CONS

When I'm working on a big project with lots of images and text, it can take a while for the page to load, slowing down my progress.

Wannes

Information Technology and Services, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2024

Easy to use knowledge base system

the best tool I've used so far for creating a knowledge base

PROS

We love how easy it is to add pages and edit the structure of already made information pages

CONS

the global search field searches in all published pages and would be easier to limit the search to the current project. but we fixed that by adding a custom search field to our own home page.

Reasons for switching to Confluence

Confluence was more modern user interface and more easy to use for non IT minded people

Anonymous

10,000+ employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2024

Great Tool for Documentation

I've used Confluence as a software engineer to produce technical documentation as well as integrate that with Jira. It's a great documentation tool.

PROS

It is easy to track updates and share information to team members and folks outside our team within our company.

CONS

It can be a bit complex when it comes to formatting appropriately on a page.

Ajesh

Information Technology and Services, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2019

Finest Documentation platform

Confluence gave better documentation compared tot he old text files so that more readable format. The integration of images and diagrams make the documentation more user friendly.

PROS

Confluence gives best documentation platform for your projects. We can categorize based on different projects and sub projects. we can create links to another pages which is very useful to route to another document without searching for it. we can see all the documents related one project in one section. It gives you wide range of features to include images and diagrams to make the documentation more useful. We can also subscribe to the pages so that anyone make any changes we get notified.

CONS

Confluence needs more integration with the CICD tools available in the market to make more automated documentation. confluence needs to provide to create diagrams for documentation so that users dont need to go for external software for that.

Reason for choosing Confluence

In confluence I can categorize based on projects and sub projects and I can see all the documents for that project and select based on the priorities. But in google docs we need to we need to keep a separate index for each documents and the docs are separate. we need to browse through the google docs to go to next one.

Hossein

Computer Software, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2022

Keep everything in one place, best KMS in software projects!

We are using Confluence for more than 4 years and in multiple projects and compnaes. I can say this too is awesome and although still have lots of space for improvement, but the current version is truly reliable for enterprise-level companies.

PROS

Easy to use and high integration level with other Atlassian tools is the most interesting part of Confluence. There are more powerful software out there, but none of them has this integration level in a full bundle that Atlassian offers.

CONS

Managing tables (with a huge amount of data) is not easy here, so usually, we prefer to attach excel files, but if it was more powerful in managing sheets, definitely we like it more!

Reason for choosing Confluence

Better integration with other Atlassian tools that we use during our daily work in the company.

Reasons for switching to Confluence

Better document and file management system, Higher access level management system. Better price and very better ease of use.

Ashish

Financial Services, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2022

Best tool for Project Management in Industry

Confluence helped to decommission code check in tools like SVN and fileshare in organization. Verison control feature always helps to mitigate any risk during release and build deployment activities. It saved enough time and human efforts for data n file managments for multiple projects. Confluence turned to be life savior for many projects in cost effctive model.

PROS

Confluence is very user friendly so no need to spend time and money on employee training and learning. It is time saving tool in agile project lifecycle reducing heavy documentation and support. Better customer support compared to other vendors and softwares. Cost effective and resilient for Risk management and project planning activities.

CONS

Build deployment sometimes take time and version controlling mechanism require better practice for stability

Reason for choosing Confluence

Easy,user friendly,cost effective and version control ability to mitigate project risk

Reasons for switching to Confluence

Efficiency and ease of use for confluence is better than Jira. It can be integrated to different sources for data management. Easy to work within Service Now platform compatibilty with Confluence

Anonymous

10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2023

Great Tool for Content Organization and Management

We have been using Confluence as a main software for content management. We use it for all our project related documentation like high level business requirements, enhancement requests, technical specs, meeting notes, project roadmaps etc. It seamlessly integrates with JIRA, which makes it such a great tool to be used by AGILE teams. Overall, Confluence is a very robust and powerful tool and it provides a central place for all your documentation.

PROS

Confluence is a great tool for having all your documentation and knowledge in one place. You can create wiki pages for each topic and group these pages under 'Spaces'. Multiple team members can work on one page simultaneously. It captures a detailed audit trail on the changes made at a page level. You can have strong control on the content publishing by defining a robust review and approval process. It has a robust search functionality and it seamlessly integrates with JIRA, MS Teams and other third party tools.

CONS

One major issue with Confluence is that when multiple people are working on one page simultaneously, then you need to refresh the page in order to see the changes made by others. Also, the access control can be complex and glitchy sometimes.I would love if the user interface for Confluence is improved.

Reasons for switching to Confluence

Confluence is much better in terms of access control, search and overall content organization. Every team used to manage their content in SharePoint or Google drive in their own way and there was no standardization followed by multiple teams. Confluence helped us in bringing all the documentation in one place.

User Profile

Linda

Verified reviewer

Hospital & Health Care, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2023

Excellent knowledge base and group collaboration platform

I appreciate the simplicity of the Confluence platform because it has been really helpful to my company. The intuitive design makes it simple to disseminate internal communications and choices made in meetings.

PROS

It's the greatest centralized location for everyone involved in a project or at a company to store, share, and retrieve information and data. It's helpful for teamwork because it's simple to edit, it syncs with Jira, and it can provide useful visual representations of data.

CONS

The design of Confluence just seems archaic and cumbersome to me. It's also difficult to allow access, and to copy and paste across other applications like Microsoft Office.

Reasons for switching to Confluence

I've found Confluence to be helpful for streamlining the process of developing SOPs and encouraging collaborative brainstorming. Since it is hosted remotely, I don't have to worry about keeping it up to date or bothering our IT department.

Florea

Information Technology and Services, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2023

Excelent tool with good Admins and Users

I personally had a wonderful experience with Confluence, it was a easy one link way to add most resources required (Gantt charts , project plans, date/time for Program Management timelines and mixed together you get a easy to use tool that is great at its core but with heavy customization it becomes even more awesome).You can basically start from a white blank page and end up doing a project charter with 2 attached Gantt charts, with 3 Children pages and 7 Pie Charts.

PROS

It is easily accessible and you have loads of feature to customize your knowledge(renging from Tables , custom built Boards and even Linking tickets makes it a very straight forward solution for knowledge capture) pages or project management files , tools are easy to integrate and work with (highly recommend a cooperation with Jira , as they work very well togather.)

CONS

Administration part can be a pain from time to time , unless you know exactly what roles are correct , it can become a bit confusing .

Reason for choosing Confluence

Past experience working with it on multiple companies.

User Profile

Catherine

Verified reviewer

Public Policy, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2018

It should be taken seriously

As I mentioned before, I use it as a company wide manual where all employees have to leaf through it whenever they have a question on a certain procedure and if they have any changes they'd like to make to any old methods then they are encouraged to make the edits to keep the company knowledge up to speed.

PROS

Confluence is great for creating company manuals or documenting company procedures. Think of it as a formal business blog or a wiki where you can keep a record of anything from basic tables outlining company info to company policies which can then be shared with the rest of the employees so that they can in turn, learn and input their own observations and knowledge. It organizes the pages for you and it makes it easy for anyone to search, edit and add new pages to keep the knowledge growing. At my company, we use it as a manual and all new employees have to read through it as part of their training. It allows you to add photos or videos to document special past events or to just simply make the page more interesting. The formatting ribbon looks similar to Microsoft word's so if you have experience with using a Word document then it should be no problem using the different types of formating options and if you have no experience then you'll get the hang of it pretty soon as it's fairly easy to deduce what each button does. I love how it is able to save any edits you make to a page and it doesn't publish it until you are ready so you are able to make new pages and edit old ones at your own pace and once you are done you can click on "publish". It alows you to restrict what other people can and cannot edit, it sends notifications to those who have a user in your account. I would recommend it.

CONS

The interface could use more color or some pizzazz as it looks pretty dull and it reminds me of an electric appliance manual: gray and boring to the point that you feel like throwing it away but then you are too afraid to do so because you may never know when you might need it. But then again, I use it as a company manual so I can't do much there, I'm guessing if you want something prettier then go get a blogging account but Confluence gets straight to the point and it should be taken seriously.

User Profile

Janosch

Verified reviewer

Internet, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY